

HR1028 LRB100 21773 ALS 39427 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The LaSalle, Marshall, and Putnam County Regional 3 Office of Education honored over 150 educators, support staff, 4 and retirees at the 29th Annual Excellence in Education awards 5 banquet held May 4, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Three educators, E. Joseph Haywood, Moriah Mott, and Deb Nelson, received special honors for their modeling of excellence in education through demonstrating exceptional service to students and having a positive impact on education; and

WHEREAS, E. Joseph Haywood served as a classroom teacher and athletic trainer at Ottawa Township High School District #140; he worked through all of the high school sports seasons and the spring and summer out-of-season trainings, providing excellent athletic training care; he dedicated his 25-year career to classroom teaching; and

WHEREAS, Moriah Mott worked as a special education teacher and coordinator; currently, she is the Principal of McKinley Elementary School, Ottawa Elementary District #141, where she serves the students of McKinley through her outstanding leadership and dedication to the education of her students; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Deb Nelson retired after twelve years of service
- 2 as a special education teacher and 20 years as an
- 3 administrator; most recently, she served as the Principal of
- 4 LaSalle-Peru Township High School, District #120, and through
- 5 her dedication to the students and the staff, inspired them to
- 6 greatness; therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 8 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 9 congratulate the award winners of the 29th annual Excellence in
- 10 Education awards banquet and further express our gratitude to
- 11 all of the excellent educators, support staff, and retirees in
- 12 LaSalle, Marshall, and Putnam Counties; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 14 presented to E. Joseph Haywood, Moriah Mott, and Deb Nelson as
- 15 an expression of our gratitude for their excellence in
- 16 education.