Section 525.30  Cook County Intermediate Service Centers Outside of the City of Chicago


a)         The Cook County ISCs shall provide intermediate services as set forth in Section 525.10 to that portion of Cook County located outside of the city of Chicago.  For the purposes of this Part, the term "education service center", as used in Section 2‑3.62 of the School Code, is understood to be "Intermediate Service Center".  The ISCs and the school districts comprising each of them are:


1)         Intermediate Service Center 5 (i.e., North County ISC), including the area within the territorial boundaries of the following high school districts:


A)        Evanston Township High School District 202


B)        New Trier Township High School District 203


C)        Maine Township High School District 207


D)        Township High School District 211


E)        Township High School District 214


F)         Niles Township Community High School District 219


G)        Northfield Township High School District 225


2)         Intermediate Service Center 6 (i.e., West Cook County ISC), including the area within the territorial boundaries of the following high school districts:


A)        Oak Park and River Forest High School District 200


B)        J.S. Morton High School District 201


C)        Lyons Township High School District 204


D)        Riverside Brookfield Township High School District 208


E)        Proviso Township High School District 209


F)         Leyden Community High School District 212


G)        Ridgewood Community High School District 234


H)        Elmwood Park Community Unit District 401


3)         Intermediate Service Center 7 (i.e., South Cook County ISC), including the area within the territorial boundaries of the following high school districts:


A)        Thornton Township High School District 205


B)        Bloom Township High School District 206


C)        Lemont Township High School District 210


D)        Thornton Fractional Township High School District 215


E)        Argo Community High School District 217


F)         Community High School District 218


G)        Reavis Township High School District 220


H)        Rich Township High School District 227


I)         Bremen Community High School District 228


J)         Oak Lawn Community High School District 229


K)        Consolidated High School District 230


L)        Evergreen Park Community High School District 231


M)       Homewood Flossmoor Community High School District 233


b)         Each of the ISCs established pursuant to subsection (a) shall have a Governing Board consisting of 11 members, of whom 3 shall be public school teachers nominated by the local bargaining unit representatives to the existing Governing Board for appointment or election in accordance with that Board's bylaws and no more than 3 members from each of the following categories to include at least superintendents, school board members and a representative of higher education.  A member who changes category status shall be allowed to remain on the board only if the change does not violate the membership limits specified in this subsection (b).


1)         The members of the Governing Board who represent public school teachers, superintendents and board members shall be selected from school districts within the center's service area.


2)         The members of the Governing Board who represent higher education shall be selected from a degree-granting postsecondary institution whose campus lies within the area to be served.


3)         The members of the Governing Board who do not represent, are not employed by, or are not the designee of public school teachers, superintendents, school board members or higher education must reside within the area to be served by the center.


c)         Terms of office for Governing Board members shall be four years.  The method for filling vacancies on the Governing Board, including vacancies created by the expiration of members' terms, shall be determined by each center's Governing Board and shall be specified in its bylaws.


d)         Each Governing Board shall have the following duties and responsibilities:


1)         to select a chairperson, vice-chairperson and secretary;


2)         to review the budget for those services and programs provided pursuant to Section 525.10; and


3)         to employ a chief administrative officer.


e)         The chief administrative officer of each center shall have the following duties:


1)         be the employer of record for personnel who are necessary to carry out the functions of the center, and whose employment has been recommended to and approved by the Governing Board;


2)         submit recommendations to the Governing Board for the employment of personnel;


3)         provide direction and assistance to center staff pursuant to policies adopted by the Governing Board;


4)         supervise and evaluate center staff pursuant to policies adopted by the Governing Board;


5)         serve as fiscal agent with authority to receive and disburse funds within a budget adopted by and pursuant to approval by the Governing Board;


6)         make recommendations to the Governing Board regarding budget, personnel policies and decisions, and other matters as the Governing Board may delegate; and


7)         submit information and reports requested by the State Superintendent of Education.


f)         All meetings of the Governing Boards shall comply with the Open Meetings Act [5 ILCS 120].