1 2 3	STATE OF ILLINOIS NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY SENATE
4	Senate Resolution No. 517
5 6	Offered by Senator Philip, President of the Senate; and Senators Demuzio and Jacobs
7	WHEREAS, Combat is inherently dangerous, for both ground
8	forces and aircrews; in a combat environment, aircrews are
9	called upon to make split-second, life or death decisions;
10	and
11	WHEREAS, Combat operations on the ground and in the air
12	in a war zone can be chaotic and complete information on the
13	location of both friendly and hostile forces is often
14	unavailable; and
15	WHEREAS, Major William Umbach and Major Harry Schmidt
16	were the pilots in a friendly-fire incident involving
17	Canadian ground forces on April 17, 2002 in Afghanistan; and
18	WHEREAS, Neither pilot had reliable information on the
19	disposition of enemy or friendly forces on the ground or of
20	live-fire exercises being conducted by coalition forces; and
21	WHEREAS, Both Major Schmidt and Major Umbach believed
22	that they were taking ground fire from an unknown source and
23	that they were required to suppress that fire in
24	self-defense; and
25	WHEREAS, Friendly fire accidents have been present in
26	every major conflict and have always been considered a tragic
27	part of warfare; and
28	WHEREAS, These two pilots are highly qualified and
29	experienced and both are members of the Illinois Air National
30	Guard; therefore, be it

1	RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SECOND GENERAL
2	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that together with
3	Governor George Ryan, the VFW Northenders Post Number 10302
4	of Springfield, and many other individuals and organizations,
5	we stand in support of Major Umbach and Major Schmidt; and be
6	it further
7	RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
8	presented to President George W. Bush, Commander in Chief,
9	General Richard B. Myers, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of
10	Staff, General John P. Jumper, Chief of Staff of the United
11	States Air Force, and the VFW Northenders Post Number 10302.
1.0	
12	Adopted by the Senate, December 5, 2002.
13	
$\frac{13}{14}$	President of the Senate