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 1        AN ACT in relation to vehicles.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 6-104 as follows:

 6        (625 ILCS 5/6-104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-104)

 7        Sec.   6-104.    Classification   of   Driver  -  Special

 8    Restrictions.

 9        (a)  A driver's license issued  under  the  authority  of

10    this  Act  shall  indicate  the  classification for which the

11    applicant therefor has qualified by examination  or  by  such

12    other  means  that  the  Secretary  of State shall prescribe.

13    Driver's license classifications shall be prescribed by  rule

14    or  regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State and such

15    may specify classifications as to operation of motor vehicles

16    of the first division, or of those of  the  second  division,

17    whether operated singly or in lawful combination, and whether

18    for-hire   or   not-for-hire,  and  may  specify  such  other

19    classifications as the Secretary deems necessary.

20        No person shall  operate  a  motor  vehicle  unless  such

21    person  has  a  valid license with a proper classification to

22    permit the operation of such vehicle, except that any  person

23    may operate a motorized pedalcycle if such person has a valid

24    current    Illinois    driver's    license,   regardless   of

25    classification.

26        (b)  No person who is under the age of 21  years  or  has

27    had  less than 1 year of driving experience shall drive:  (1)

28    in connection with the operation of  any  school,  day  camp,

29    summer  camp,  or nursery school, any public or private motor

30    vehicle for transporting children to or from any school,  day

31    camp,  summer  camp,  or  nursery  school,  or (2) any  motor

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



SB2164 Engrossed            -2-                LRB9216067DHmg

 1    vehicle  of  the  second  division  when  in  use   for   the

 2    transportation of persons for compensation.

 3        (c)  No  person who is under the age of 18 years shall be

 4    issued a license for the purpose of transporting property for

 5    hire,  or  for  the  purpose  of  transporting  persons   for

 6    compensation in a motor vehicle of the first division.

 7        (d)  No  person  shall  drive:   (1)  a  school  bus when

 8    transporting school children unless such person  possesses  a

 9    valid   school  bus  driver  permit  or  is  accompanied  and

10    supervised, for the specific purpose  of  training  prior  to

11    routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a

12    valid  school bus driver permit for at least one year; or (2)

13    any other vehicle owned or operated by or  for  a  public  or

14    private   school,   or  a  school  operated  by  a  religious

15    institution,  where  such  vehicle  is  being  used  over   a

16    regularly  scheduled  route for the transportation of persons

17    enrolled as a student in grade 12  or  below,  in  connection

18    with   any  activity  of  the  entities  unless  such  person

19    possesses a valid school bus driver permit.

20        (d-5)  No person may drive a bus that has been  chartered          _________________________________________________________

21    for  the  sole  purpose  of  transporting  students regularly      _____________________________________________________________

22    enrolled in grade 12  or  below  to  or  from  a  primary  or      _____________________________________________________________

23    secondary  school  or to or from a school activity unless the      _____________________________________________________________

24    person has a valid school bus driver permit  in  addition  to      _____________________________________________________________

25    any  other permit or license that is required to operate that      _____________________________________________________________

26    bus.  This subsection (d-5) does not apply to any bus  driver      _____________________________________________________________

27    employed by a public transportation provider.      _____________________________________________

28        (e)  No  person  shall drive a religious organization bus

29    unless such  person  has  a  valid  and  properly  classified

30    drivers license or a valid school bus driver permit.

31        (f)  No  person  shall  drive  a  motor  vehicle  for the

32    purpose  of  providing  transportation  for  the  elderly  in

33    connection with the  activities  of  any  public  or  private

34    organization  unless  such  person  has  a valid and properly
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 1    classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.

 2        (g)  No person shall drive a bus which meets the  special

 3    requirements  for  school  buses  provided in Section 12-801,

 4    12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code  for  the  purpose  of

 5    transporting  persons  18  years of age or less in connection

 6    with any youth camp licensed under the Youth Camp Act or  any

 7    child care facility licensed under the Child Care Act of 1969

 8    unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit

 9    or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of

10    training  prior  to  routine  operation of a school bus, by a

11    person who has held a valid school bus driver permit  for  at

12    least  one  year;  however,  a  person  who  has  a valid and

13    properly classified driver's license issued by the  Secretary

14    of  State  may  operate  a  school  bus  for  the  purpose of

15    transporting persons 18 years of age or  less  in  connection

16    with  any  such  youth  camp  or  child  care facility if the

17    "SCHOOL BUS" signs are covered  or  concealed  and  the  stop

18    signal  arm  and  flashing  signal  systems  are not operable

19    through normal controls.

20    (Source: P.A. 88-612, eff. 7-1-95.)
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