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 1        AN ACT in relation to vehicles.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 3-801 as follows:

 6        (625 ILCS 5/3-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-801)

 7        Sec. 3-801. Registration.

 8        (a)  Except  as  provided herein for new residents, every

 9    owner of any vehicle which shall be operated upon the  public

10    highways  of this State shall, within 24 hours after becoming

11    the owner or at such time as such vehicle becomes subject  to

12    registration  under  the  provisions  of this Act, file in an

13    office  of  the  Secretary  of  State,  an  application   for

14    registration  properly  completed and executed. New residents

15    need not secure registration until 30 days after establishing

16    residency in this State, provided  the  vehicle  is  properly

17    registered  in  another  jurisdiction.   By the expiration of

18    such 30 day statutory grace  period,  a  new  resident  shall

19    comply with the provisions of this Act and apply for Illinois

20    vehicle registration. All applications for registration shall

21    be  accompanied  by  all  documentation  required  under  the

22    provisions of this Act. The appropriate registration fees and

23    taxes  provided  for in this Article of this Chapter shall be

24    paid to the Secretary  of  State  with  the  application  for

25    registration  of  vehicles subject to registration under this

26    Act.

27        (b)  Any resident of this State, who has been serving  as

28    a  member  of the United States Armed Services outside of the

29    State of Illinois, need not secure registration until 45 days

30    after returning to this State, provided the vehicle  displays

31    temporary military registration.
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 1        (c)  When  an  application  is  submitted  by  mail,  the

 2    applicant  may  not submit cash or postage stamps for payment

 3    of fees or taxes due.  The Secretary in his  discretion,  may

 4    decline  to  accept a personal or company check in payment of

 5    fees or taxes. An application submitted to  a  dealer,  or  a

 6    remittance  made to the Secretary of State shall be deemed in

 7    compliance with this Section.

 8        (d)  For the purposes  of  this  Article  VIII  regarding          _________________________________________________________

 9    registration   and  license  fees,  vehicles  of  the  second      _____________________________________________________________

10    division weighing 8,000 pounds  or  less  and  not  used  for      _____________________________________________________________

11    commercial purposes may display registration plates issued to      _____________________________________________________________

12    first division vehicles.      ________________________

13    (Source: P.A. 85-1209.)

14        Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon

15    becoming law.
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