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 1        AN ACT in relation to public employee benefits.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Pension  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 17-119 as follows:

 6        (40 ILCS 5/17-119) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 17-119)

 7        Sec.  17-119.  Automatic annual increase in pension. Each

 8    teacher retiring on or after September 1, 1959,  is  entitled

 9    to  the  annual increase in pension, defined herein, while he

10    is receiving a pension from the Fund.

11        1.  The term "base pension" means a  service  retirement,                                                                  _

12    reversionary,   duty  disability,  or  disability  retirement      _________________________________

13    pension in the amount  fixed  and  payable  at  the  date  of

14    retirement of a teacher.

15        2.   The  annual increase in pension shall be at the rate

16    of 1 1/2% of base pension. This increase shall first occur in

17    January of the year next following the first  anniversary  of

18    retirement. At such time the Fund shall pay the pro rata part

19    of  the  increase  for  the period from the first anniversary

20    date to the date of the first increase in pension.  Beginning

21    January 1, 1972, the rate of annual increase in pension shall

22    be  2%  of  the  base pension. Beginning January 1, 1979, the

23    rate of annual increase in pension shall be 3%  of  the  base

24    pension.  Beginning  January  1,  1990,  all automatic annual

25    increases payable under this Section shall be calculated as a

26    percentage of the total pension payable at the  time  of  the

27    increase,  including  all  increases previously granted under

28    this Article, notwithstanding Section 17-157.

29        3.  An increase in pension shall be granted only  if  the

30    retired teacher is age 60 or over. If the teacher attains age

31    60  after  retirement, the increase in pension shall begin in
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 1    January of the year following the 61st birthday. At such time

 2    the Fund also shall pay the pro rata  part  of  the  increase

 3    from  the  61st  birthday  to  the  date of first increase in

 4    pension.

 5        In addition to other increases which may be  provided  by

 6    this  Section,  on  January  1,  1981  any  teacher  who  was

 7    receiving  a  retirement pension on or before January 1, 1971

 8    shall have his retirement pension then being  paid  increased

 9    $1 per month for each year of creditable service.  On January

10    1,  1982,  any  teacher  whose retirement pension began on or

11    before January 1, 1977, shall  have  his  retirement  pension

12    then  being  paid  increased  $1  per  month for each year of

13    creditable service.

14        On January 1, 1987, any teacher whose retirement  pension

15    began  on  or  before January 1, 1977, shall have the monthly

16    retirement pension increased by an amount  equal  to  8¢  per

17    year  of  creditable  service  times the number of years that

18    have elapsed since the retirement pension began.

19    (Source: P.A. 90-566, eff. 1-2-98.)

20        Section 90.  The State Mandates Act is amended by  adding

21    Section 8.25 as follows:

22        (30 ILCS 805/8.25 new)

23        Sec.  8.25.  Exempt  mandate.  Notwithstanding Sections 6          _________________________________________________________

24    and 8 of this Act, no reimbursement by the State is  required      _____________________________________________________________

25    for  the  implementation  of  any  mandate  created  by  this      _____________________________________________________________

26    amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly.      ____________________________________________

27        Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon

28    becoming law.
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