92 HJ0036 LRB9208643RHrh

1 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The members of the General Assembly are honored
- 3 to recognize milestone achievements in college sports in the
- 4 State of Illinois; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Wabash Valley College Warriors Men's
- 6 Basketball team won the National Junior College Athletic
- 7 Association Division I National Championship Tournament on
- 8 Saturday March 24, 2001, and finished a superb season with a
- 9 record of 36 wins and 1 loss; they are also Great Rivers
- 10 Athletic Conference, Region 4 and District 4 Champs; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Wabash Valley College, ranked number 3 in the
- 12 final N.J.C.A.A. poll, is the first school in Illinois
- 13 history to achieve this title of N.J.C.A.A. National
- 14 Champions; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Wabash Valley College defeated Allegany
- 16 Community College of Maryland, 89 to 83, in the Championship
- 17 Game in Hutchinson, Kansas; and
- 18 WHEREAS, On their way to winning the Championship, Wabash
- 19 Valley College won the opening first-round game against
- 20 Barton Co. Community College of Kansas by the score of 90 to
- 21 77; the Warriors were lead in scoring by freshman, Antwain
- 22 Barbour with 25 points, and sophomore, Darren Tarver with 22
- 23 points; and
- 24 WHEREAS, In the Quarterfinal game, Wabash Valley College
- 25 depended on an exciting come from behind rally to tie the
- 26 game as well as a well-played over-time period to defeat
- 27 Schoolcraft College of Michigan by the score of 94 to 86; the
- 28 Warriors were lead again in scoring by freshman, Antwain
- 29 Barbour with 25 points, and sophomore, Darren Tarver with 22
- 30 points; and
- 31 WHEREAS, Wabash Valley College played number one ranked

- 1 Dixie State College of Utah in the Semifinal game; in a very
- 2 competitive game, where the two teams experienced several
- 3 ties and lead changes, Wabash Valley College prevailed the
- 4 winner by the score of 76 to 73; leading the way for the
- 5 Warriors were sophomore, Darren Tarver with 21 points, and
- 6 freshman, Antwain Barbour with 19 points; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Wabash Valley College became the National
- 8 Champions with a win over Allegany by the score of 89 to 83;
- 9 the leaders on the court for the Warriors were sophomore,
- 10 Darren Tarver with 23 points, freshman, Antwain Barbour with
- 11 21 points, freshman, Omari Westley with 18 points, and Johnny
- 12 Hollingsworth with 15 points; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The members of the Wabash Valley Warriors are
- 14 Michael Betts, Chaz Briggs, Hiram Fuller, John King, Darren
- 15 Tarver, Antwain Barbour, Andre Charles, Herman Davis, Kyle
- 16 Foster, Andrew Harlie, C.J. Hill, Johnny Hollingsworth, and
- Omari Westley; the coach is Jay Spoonhour; the assistants are
- 18 Jesse Watkins and Clyde Buck; and the team manager is Chris
- 19 Spade; therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 21 NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
- 22 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that we congratulate the Wabash
- 23 Valley College Men's Basketball team on winning the National
- 24 Junior College Athletic Association Division I National
- 25 Championship Tournament; and be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 27 presented to each member of the Wabash Valley Men's
- 28 Basketball team as an expression of our esteem.