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 1        AN ACT concerning nuclear safety.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The Illinois Nuclear Safety Preparedness  Act

 5    is amended by changing Section 4 as follows:

 6        (420 ILCS 5/4) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4304)

 7        Sec.  4.  Nuclear  accident  plans; fees. Persons engaged

 8    within this State in the production of electricity  utilizing

 9    nuclear  energy,  the  operation of nuclear test and research

10    reactors,  the  chemical  conversion  of  uranium,   or   the

11    transportation,  storage  or possession of spent nuclear fuel

12    or high-level radioactive waste shall pay fees to  cover  the

13    cost  of  establishing  plans  and  programs to deal with the

14    possibility of nuclear accidents.  Except as provided  below,

15    the fees shall be used exclusively to fund those Departmental

16    and  local  government activities defined as necessary by the

17    Director to implement and maintain  the  plans  and  programs

18    authorized by this Act.  Local governments incurring expenses

19    attributable  to  implementation and maintenance of the plans

20    and  programs  authorized  by  this  Act  may  apply  to  the

21    Department for compensation  for  those  expenses,  and  upon

22    approval  by  the Director of applications submitted by local

23    governments,   the   Department   shall   compensate    local

24    governments   from   fees   collected   under  this  Section.

25    Compensation for local governments shall include $250,000  in

26    any  year  through  fiscal year 1993, $275,000 in fiscal year

27    1994 and fiscal year 1995,  $300,000  in  fiscal  year  1996,

28    $400,000  in  fiscal  year  1997, and $450,000 in fiscal year

29    1998 and thereafter.  Appropriations  to  the  Department  of

30    Nuclear Safety for compensation to local governments from the

31    Nuclear  Safety  Emergency  Preparedness Fund provided for in
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 1    this Section shall not exceed $650,000 per State fiscal year.

 2    Expenditures from these appropriations shall not exceed, in a

 3    single State fiscal year, the annual compensation amount made

 4    available to local governments under this Section, unexpended

 5    funds made available for local government compensation in the

 6    previous fiscal year, and funds recovered under the  Illinois

 7    Grant  Funds  Recovery  Act  during  previous  fiscal  years.

 8    Notwithstanding   any   other  provision  of  this  Act,  the

 9    expenditure limitation for fiscal year 1998 shall include the

10    additional $100,000 made available to local  governments  for

11    fiscal  year  1997  under  this  amendatory Act of 1997.  Any

12    funds within these  expenditure  limitations,  including  the

13    additional $100,000 made available for fiscal year 1997 under

14    this  amendatory  Act  of 1997, that remain unexpended at the

15    close of business on June 30, 1997, and on June  30  of  each

16    succeeding  year,  shall be excluded from the calculations of

17    credits  under  subparagraph  (3)  of  this   Section.    The

18    Department   shall,   by   rule,  determine  the  method  for

19    compensating  local  governments  under  this   Section.   In

20    addition, a portion of the fees collected may be appropriated

21    to  the  Illinois  Emergency Management Agency for activities

22    associated with preparing and implementing plans to deal with

23    the effects of nuclear accidents. The appropriation shall not

24    exceed $500,000 in any year preceding fiscal year  1996;  the

25    appropriation  shall not exceed $625,000 in fiscal year 1996,

26    $725,000 in fiscal year 1997, and  $775,000  in  fiscal  year

27    1998 and thereafter. The fees shall consist of the following:

28        (1)  A  one-time  charge  of  $590,000  per nuclear power

29    station in this State  to  be  paid  by  the  owners  of  the

30    stations.

31        (2)  An  additional  charge of $240,000 per nuclear power

32    station for which a  fee  under  subparagraph  (1)  was  paid

33    before June 30, 1982.

34        (3)  Through  June 30, 1982, an annual fee of $75,000 per
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 1    year for each nuclear power reactor for  which  an  operating

 2    license  has been issued by the NRC, and after June 30, 1982,

 3    and through June 30, 1984 an annual fee of $180,000 per  year

 4    for each nuclear power reactor for which an operating license

 5    has  been  issued  by  the  NRC, and after June 30, 1984, and

 6    through June 30, 1991, an annual fee  of  $400,000  for  each

 7    nuclear power reactor for which an operating license has been

 8    issued  by the NRC, to be paid by the owners of nuclear power

 9    reactors operating in this State. After June  30,  1991,  the

10    owners  of  nuclear  power  reactors  in this State for which

11    operating licenses have been issued by the NRC shall pay  the

12    following fees for each such nuclear power reactor: for State

13    fiscal  year  1992,  $925,000;  for  State  fiscal year 1993,

14    $975,000; for State fiscal year 1994; $1,010,000;  for  State

15    fiscal year 1995, $1,060,000; for State fiscal years 1996 and

16    1997, $1,110,000; for State fiscal year 1998, $1,314,000; for

17    State  fiscal  year  1999,  $1,368,000; for State fiscal year

18    2000, $1,404,000; for State fiscal year 2001, $1,696,455; and                                                                ___

19    for State fiscal  year  2002  and  subsequent  fiscal  years,                                    ______________________________

20    $1,730,636.; for State fiscal year 2003 and subsequent fiscal                _                 --------------------------------------------------

21    years,  $1,757,727.   Within  120  days  after the end of the      -------------------

22    State fiscal year, the Department shall determine,  from  the

23    records  of the Office of the Comptroller, the balance in the

24    Nuclear Safety Emergency  Preparedness  Fund.   If  When  the                                                      __                                                          ----

25    balance  in  the  fund,  less  any  fees collected under this

26    Section  prior  to  their  being  due  and  payable  for  the

27    succeeding fiscal year or  years,  exceeds  $400,000  at  the

28    close  of  business on June 30, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997,

29    or and 1998, or exceeds $500,000 at the close of business  on      __         ---

30    June 30, 1999 or and June 30 of any each succeeding year, the                    __                ___                       ---                ----

31    excess  shall  be  credited  to  the  owners of nuclear power

32    reactors who  are  assessed  fees  under  this  subparagraph.

33    Credits  shall  be  applied  against the fees to be collected

34    under this subparagraph for the subsequent fiscal year.  Each
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 1    owner shall receive as a credit that  amount  of  the  excess

 2    which  corresponds  proportionately  to  the amount the owner

 3    contributed to all fees collected under this subparagraph  in

 4    the fiscal year that produced the excess.

 5        (3.5)  The owner of a nuclear power reactor that notifies

 6    the  Nuclear  Regulatory  Commission  that  the nuclear power

 7    reactor has permanently ceased operations during State fiscal

 8    year 1998 shall pay the following fees for each such  nuclear

 9    power  reactor:  $1,368,000  for  State  fiscal year 1999 and

10    $1,404,000 for State fiscal year 2000.

11        (4)  A capital expenditure surcharge  of  $1,400,000  per

12    nuclear  power  station  in  this State, whether operating or

13    under construction, shall  be  paid  by  the  owners  of  the

14    station.

15        (5)  An  annual fee of $25,000 per year for each site for

16    which a valid operating license has been issued  by  NRC  for

17    the  operation  of an away-from-reactor spent nuclear fuel or

18    high-level radioactive waste storage facility, to be paid  by

19    the  owners  of  facilities  for the storage of spent nuclear

20    fuel or high-level  radioactive  waste  for  others  in  this

21    State.

22        (6)  A  one-time  charge of $280,000 for each facility in

23    this State housing a nuclear test and research reactor, to be

24    paid by the operator of the facility.  However,  this  charge

25    shall  not  be  required  to  be  paid  by  any tax-supported

26    institution.

27        (7)  A one-time charge of $50,000 for  each  facility  in

28    this State for the chemical conversion of uranium, to be paid

29    by the owner of the facility.

30        (8)  An annual fee of $150,000 per year for each facility

31    in this State housing a nuclear test and research reactor, to

32    be  paid  by  the  operator  of  the facility.  However, this

33    annual  fee  shall  not  be  required  to  be  paid  by   any

34    tax-supported institution.
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 1        (9)  An  annual fee of $15,000 per year for each facility

 2    in this State for the chemical conversion of uranium,  to  be

 3    paid by the owner of the facility.

 4        (10)  A  fee assessed at the rate of $2,500 per truck for

 5    each truck shipment and $4,500 for the first cask and  $3,000

 6    for  each  additional  cask  for  each rail shipment of spent

 7    nuclear fuel, high-level radioactive  waste,  or  transuranic

 8    waste received at or departing from any nuclear power station

 9    or   away-from-reactor   spent   nuclear   fuel,   high-level

10    radioactive  waste,  or transuranic waste storage facility in

11    this State to be paid by the shipper  of  the  spent  nuclear

12    fuel,  high  level  radioactive  waste, or transuranic waste.

13    Single cask truck shipments of  greater  than  250  miles  in

14    Illinois  are subject to a surcharge of $25 per mile over 250

15    miles for the first truck in each shipment.   The  amount  of

16    fees collected each fiscal year under this subparagraph shall

17    be   excluded   from   the   calculation   of  credits  under

18    subparagraph (3) of this Section.

19        (11)  A fee assessed at the rate of $2,500 per truck  for

20    each  truck shipment and $4,500 for the first cask and $3,000

21    for each additional cask for  each  rail  shipment  of  spent

22    nuclear  fuel,  high-level  radioactive waste, or transuranic

23    waste traversing the State to be paid by the shipper  of  the

24    spent   nuclear   fuel,  high  level  radioactive  waste,  or

25    transuranic waste. Single cask  truck  shipments  of  greater

26    than  250 miles in Illinois are subject to a surcharge of $25

27    per mile over 250 miles for the first truck in each shipment.

28    The amount of fees collected  each  fiscal  year  under  this

29    subparagraph  shall  be  excluded  from  the  calculation  of

30    credits under subparagraph (3) of this Section.

31        (12)  In  each  of  the  State  fiscal years 1988 through

32    1991,  in  addition  to  the  annual  fee  provided  for   in

33    subparagraph  (3),  a  fee of $400,000 for each nuclear power

34    reactor for which an operating license has been issued by the
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 1    NRC, to be paid by  the  owners  of  nuclear  power  reactors

 2    operating  in  this  State.  Within 120 days after the end of

 3    the State fiscal years ending June 30, 1988, June  30,  1989,

 4    June  30,  1990,  and  June  30,  1991,  the Department shall

 5    determine  the  expenses  of  the  Illinois  Nuclear   Safety

 6    Preparedness  Program  paid from funds appropriated for those

 7    fiscal years.  When the aggregate of all fees,  charges,  and

 8    surcharges  collected  under  this  Section during any fiscal

 9    year exceeds the  total  expenditures  under  this  Act  from

10    appropriations  for  that  fiscal  year,  the excess shall be

11    credited to the owners of  nuclear  power  reactors  who  are

12    assessed  fees under this subparagraph, and the credits shall

13    be applied against  the  fees  to  be  collected  under  this

14    subparagraph for the subsequent fiscal year. Each owner shall

15    receive   as   a  credit  that  amount  of  the  excess  that

16    corresponds  proportionately  to   the   amount   the   owner

17    contributed  to all fees collected under this subparagraph in

18    the fiscal year that produced the excess.

19    (Source: P.A. 90-34,  eff.  6-27-97;  90-601,  eff.  6-26-98;

20    91-47, eff. 6-30-99; 91-857, eff. 6-22-00.)

21        Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon

22    becoming law.

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE


