Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

FAMILIES
(750 ILCS 5/) Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act.

750 ILCS 5/Pt. II

 
    (750 ILCS 5/Pt. II heading)
PART II
MARRIAGE

750 ILCS 5/201

    (750 ILCS 5/201) (from Ch. 40, par. 201)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 201. Formalities.) A marriage between a man and a woman licensed, solemnized and registered as provided in this Act is valid in this State.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 201. Formalities.) A marriage between 2 persons licensed, solemnized and registered as provided in this Act is valid in this State.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14.)

750 ILCS 5/202

    (750 ILCS 5/202) (from Ch. 40, par. 202)
    Sec. 202. Marriage License and Marriage Certificate.) (a) The Director of Public Health shall prescribe the form for an application for a marriage license, which shall include the following information:
    (1) name, sex, occupation, address, social security number, date and place of birth of each party to the proposed marriage;
    (2) if either party was previously married, his name, and the date, place and court in which the marriage was dissolved or declared invalid or the date and place of death of the former spouse;
    (3) name and address of the parents or guardian of each party; and
    (4) whether the parties are related to each other and, if so, their relationship.
    (b) The Director of Public Health shall prescribe the forms for the marriage license, the marriage certificate and, when necessary, the consent to marriage.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/203

    (750 ILCS 5/203) (from Ch. 40, par. 203)
    Sec. 203. License to Marry. When a marriage application has been completed and signed by both parties to a prospective marriage and both parties have appeared before the county clerk and the marriage license fee has been paid, the county clerk shall issue a license to marry and a marriage certificate form upon being furnished:
        (1) satisfactory proof that each party to the
    
marriage will have attained the age of 18 years at the time the marriage license is effective or will have attained the age of 16 years and has either the consent to the marriage of both parents or his guardian or judicial approval; provided, if one parent cannot be located in order to obtain such consent and diligent efforts have been made to locate that parent by the consenting parent, then the consent of one parent plus a signed affidavit by the consenting parent which (i) names the absent parent and states that he or she cannot be located, and (ii) states what diligent efforts have been made to locate the absent parent, shall have the effect of both parents' consent for purposes of this Section;
        (2) satisfactory proof that the marriage is not
    
prohibited; and
        (3) an affidavit or record as prescribed in
    
subparagraph (1) of Section 205 or a court order as prescribed in subparagraph (2) of Section 205, if applicable.
    With each marriage license, the county clerk shall provide a pamphlet describing the causes and effects of fetal alcohol syndrome. At least annually, the county board shall submit to the Illinois Department of Public Health a report as to the county clerk's compliance with the requirement that the county clerk provide a pamphlet with each marriage license. All funding and production costs for the aforementioned educational pamphlets for distribution to each county clerk shall be provided by non-profit, non-sectarian statewide programs that provide education, advocacy, support, and prevention services pertaining to Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.
(Source: P.A. 96-1323, eff. 1-1-11.)

750 ILCS 5/204

    (750 ILCS 5/204) (from Ch. 40, par. 204)
    Sec. 204. Medical information brochure. The county clerk shall distribute free of charge, to all persons applying for a marriage license, a brochure prepared by the Department of Public Health concerning sexually transmitted diseases and inherited metabolic diseases.
(Source: P.A. 86-884.)

750 ILCS 5/205

    (750 ILCS 5/205) (from Ch. 40, par. 205)
    Sec. 205. Exceptions.
    (1) Irrespective of the results of laboratory tests and clinical examination relative to sexually transmitted diseases, the clerks of the respective counties shall issue a marriage license to parties to a proposed marriage (a) when a woman is pregnant at the time of such application, or (b) when a woman has, prior to the time of application, given birth to a child born out of wedlock which is living at the time of such application and the man making such application makes affidavit that he is the father of such child born out of wedlock. The county clerk shall, in lieu of the health certificate required hereunder, accept, as the case may be, either an affidavit on a form prescribed by the State Department of Public Health, signed by a physician duly licensed in this State, stating that the woman is pregnant, or a copy of the birth record of the child born out of wedlock, if one is available in this State, or if such birth record is not available, an affidavit signed by the woman that she is the mother of such child.
    (2) Any judge of the circuit court within the county in which the license is to be issued is authorized and empowered on joint application by both applicants for a marriage license to waive the requirements as to medical examination, laboratory tests, and certificates, except the requirements of paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of Section 212 of this Act which shall not be waived; and to authorize the county clerk to issue the license if all other requirements of law have been complied with and the judge is satisfied, by affidavit, or other proof, that the examination or tests are contrary to the tenets or practices of the religious creed of which the applicant is an adherent, and that the public health and welfare will not be injuriously affected thereby.
(Source: P.A. 94-229, eff. 1-1-06.)

750 ILCS 5/206

    (750 ILCS 5/206) (from Ch. 40, par. 206)
    Sec. 206. Records.) Any health certificate filed with the county clerk, or any certificate, affidavit, or record accepted in lieu thereof, shall be retained in the files of the office for one year after the license is issued and shall thereafter be destroyed by the county clerk.
(Source: P.A. 82-561.)

750 ILCS 5/207

    (750 ILCS 5/207) (from Ch. 40, par. 207)
    Sec. 207. Effective Date of License.) A license to marry becomes effective in the county where it was issued one day after the date of issuance, unless the court orders that the license is effective when issued, and expires 60 days after it becomes effective, provided that the marriage is not invalidated by the fact that the marriage was inadvertently solemnized in a county in Illinois other than the county where the license was issued.
(Source: P.A. 95-775, eff. 1-1-09.)

750 ILCS 5/208

    (750 ILCS 5/208) (from Ch. 40, par. 208)
    Sec. 208. Judicial Approval of Underage Marriages.) (a) The court, after a reasonable effort has been made to notify the parents or guardian of each underaged party, may order the county clerk to issue a marriage license and a marriage certificate form to a party aged 16 or 17 years who has no parent capable of consenting to his marriage or whose parent or guardian has not consented to his marriage.
    (b) A marriage license and a marriage certificate form may be issued under this Section only if the court finds that the underaged party is capable of assuming the responsibilities of marriage and the marriage will serve his best interest. Pregnancy alone does not establish that the best interest of the party will be served.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/209

    (750 ILCS 5/209) (from Ch. 40, par. 209)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 209. Solemnization and Registration.)
    (a) A marriage may be solemnized by a judge of a court of record, by a retired judge of a court of record, unless the retired judge was removed from office by the Judicial Inquiry Board, except that a retired judge shall not receive any compensation from the State, a county or any unit of local government in return for the solemnization of a marriage and there shall be no effect upon any pension benefits conferred by the Judges Retirement System of Illinois, by a judge of the Court of Claims, by a county clerk in counties having 2,000,000 or more inhabitants, by a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, or in accordance with the prescriptions of any religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, provided that when such prescriptions require an officiant, the officiant be in good standing with his religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group. Either the person solemnizing the marriage, or, if no individual acting alone solemnized the marriage, both parties to the marriage, shall complete the marriage certificate form and forward it to the county clerk within 10 days after such marriage is solemnized.
    (b) The solemnization of the marriage is not invalidated by the fact that the person solemnizing the marriage was not legally qualified to solemnize it, if either party to the marriage believed him to be so qualified or by the fact that the marriage was inadvertently solemnized in a county in Illinois other than the county where the license was issued.
(Source: P.A. 95-775, eff. 1-1-09.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 209. Solemnization and Registration.)
    (a) A marriage may be solemnized by a judge of a court of record, by a retired judge of a court of record, unless the retired judge was removed from office by the Judicial Inquiry Board, except that a retired judge shall not receive any compensation from the State, a county or any unit of local government in return for the solemnization of a marriage and there shall be no effect upon any pension benefits conferred by the Judges Retirement System of Illinois, by a judge of the Court of Claims, by a county clerk in counties having 2,000,000 or more inhabitants, by a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, or in accordance with the prescriptions of any religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, provided that when such prescriptions require an officiant, the officiant be in good standing with his or her religious denomination, Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group. Either the person solemnizing the marriage, or, if no individual acting alone solemnized the marriage, both parties to the marriage, shall complete the marriage certificate form and forward it to the county clerk within 10 days after such marriage is solemnized.
    (a-5) Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require any religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, to solemnize any marriage. Instead, any religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group is free to choose which marriages it will solemnize. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a refusal by a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group, or any minister, clergy, or officiant acting as a representative of a religious denomination or Indian Nation or Tribe or Native Group to solemnize any marriage under this Act shall not create or be the basis for any civil, administrative, or criminal penalty, claim, or cause of action.
    (a-10) No church, mosque, synagogue, temple, nondenominational ministry, interdenominational or ecumenical organization, mission organization, or other organization whose principal purpose is the study, practice, or advancement of religion is required to provide religious facilities for the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony of a marriage if the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony is in violation of its religious beliefs. An entity identified in this subsection (a-10) shall be immune from any civil, administrative, criminal penalty, claim, or cause of action based on its refusal to provide religious facilities for the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony of a marriage if the solemnization ceremony or celebration associated with the solemnization ceremony is in violation of its religious beliefs. As used in this subsection (a-10), "religious facilities" means sanctuaries, parish halls, fellowship halls, and similar facilities. "Religious facilities" does not include facilities such as businesses, health care facilities, educational facilities, or social service agencies.
    (b) The solemnization of the marriage is not invalidated by the fact that the person solemnizing the marriage was not legally qualified to solemnize it, if either party to the marriage believed him or her to be so qualified or by the fact that the marriage was inadvertently solemnized in a county in Illinois other than the county where the license was issued.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14.)

750 ILCS 5/210

    (750 ILCS 5/210) (from Ch. 40, par. 210)
    Sec. 210. Registration of Marriage Certificate.) Upon receipt of the marriage certificate, the county clerk shall register the marriage. Within 45 days after the close of the month in which a marriage is registered, the county clerk shall make to the Department of Public Health a return of such marriage. Such return shall be made on a form furnished by the Department of Public Health and shall substantially consist of the following items:
    (1) A copy of the marriage license application signed and attested to by the applicants, except that in any county in which the information provided in a marriage license application is entered into a computer, the county clerk may submit a computer copy of such information without the signatures and attestations of the applicants.
    (2) The date and place of marriage.
    (3) The marriage license number.
(Source: P.A. 85-1307.)

750 ILCS 5/211

    (750 ILCS 5/211) (from Ch. 40, par. 211)
    Sec. 211. Reporting.) In transmitting the required returns, the county clerk shall make a report to the Department of Public Health stating the total number of marriage licenses issued during the month for which returns are made, and the number of marriage certificates registered during the month.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/212

    (750 ILCS 5/212) (from Ch. 40, par. 212)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 212. Prohibited Marriages.
    (a) The following marriages are prohibited:
        (1) a marriage entered into prior to the dissolution
    
of an earlier marriage of one of the parties;
        (2) a marriage between an ancestor and a descendant
    
or between a brother and a sister, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption;
        (3) a marriage between an uncle and a niece or
    
between an aunt and a nephew, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood;
        (4) a marriage between cousins of the first degree;
    
however, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if:
            (i) both parties are 50 years of age or older; or
            (ii) either party, at the time of application for
        
a marriage license, presents for filing with the county clerk of the county in which the marriage is to be solemnized, a certificate signed by a licensed physician stating that the party to the proposed marriage is permanently and irreversibly sterile;
        (5) a marriage between 2 individuals of the same sex.
    (b) Parties to a marriage prohibited under subsection (a) of this Section who cohabit after removal of the impediment are lawfully married as of the date of the removal of the impediment.
    (c) Children born or adopted of a prohibited or common law marriage are the lawful children of the parties.
(Source: P.A. 94-229, eff. 1-1-06.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-597)
    Sec. 212. Prohibited Marriages.
    (a) The following marriages are prohibited:
        (1) a marriage entered into prior to the dissolution
    
of an earlier marriage, civil union, or substantially similar legal relationship of one of the parties, unless the parties to the marriage are the same as the parties to a civil union and are seeking to convert their civil union to a marriage pursuant to Section 65 of the Illinois Religious Freedom Protection and Civil Union Act;
        (2) a marriage between an ancestor and a descendant
    
or between siblings, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption;
        (3) a marriage between an uncle and a niece, between
    
an uncle and a nephew, between an aunt and a nephew, or between an aunt and a niece, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood;
        (4) a marriage between cousins of the first degree;
    
however, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if:
            (i) both parties are 50 years of age or older; or
            (ii) either party, at the time of application for
        
a marriage license, presents for filing with the county clerk of the county in which the marriage is to be solemnized, a certificate signed by a licensed physician stating that the party to the proposed marriage is permanently and irreversibly sterile;
        (5) (blank).
    (b) Parties to a marriage prohibited under subsection (a) of this Section who cohabit after removal of the impediment are lawfully married as of the date of the removal of the impediment.
    (c) Children born or adopted of a prohibited or common law marriage are the lawful children of the parties.
(Source: P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14.)

750 ILCS 5/213

    (750 ILCS 5/213) (from Ch. 40, par. 213)
    Sec. 213. Validity.) All marriages contracted within this State, prior to the effective date of this Act, or outside this State, that were valid at the time of the contract or subsequently validated by the laws of the place in which they were contracted or by the domicile of the parties, are valid in this State, except where contrary to the public policy of this State.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/213.1

    (750 ILCS 5/213.1)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 1, 2014)
    Sec. 213.1. Same-sex marriages; public policy. A marriage between 2 individuals of the same sex is contrary to the public policy of this State.
(Source: P.A. 89-459, eff. 5-24-96. Repealed by P.A. 98-597, eff. 6-1-14)

750 ILCS 5/214

    (750 ILCS 5/214) (from Ch. 40, par. 214)
    Sec. 214. Invalidity of Common Law Marriages.) Common law marriages contracted in this State after June 30, 1905 are invalid.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/215

    (750 ILCS 5/215) (from Ch. 40, par. 215)
    Sec. 215. Penalty.) Unless otherwise provided by law, any person who violates any provision of Part II of this Act is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/216

    (750 ILCS 5/216) (from Ch. 40, par. 216)
    Sec. 216. Prohibited Marriages Void if Contracted in Another State.) That if any person residing and intending to continue to reside in this state and who is disabled or prohibited from contracting marriage under the laws of this state, shall go into another state or country and there contract a marriage prohibited and declared void by the laws of this state, such marriage shall be null and void for all purposes in this state with the same effect as though such prohibited marriage had been entered into in this state.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/217

    (750 ILCS 5/217) (from Ch. 40, par. 217)
    Sec. 217. Marriage by Non-residents - When Void.) No marriage shall be contracted in this state by a party residing and intending to continue to reside in another state or jurisdiction if such marriage would be void if contracted in such other state or jurisdiction and every marriage celebrated in this state in violation of this provision shall be null and void.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/218

    (750 ILCS 5/218) (from Ch. 40, par. 218)
    Sec. 218. Duty of Officer Issuing License.) Before issuing a license to marry a person who resides and intends to continue to reside in another state, the officer having authority to issue the license shall satisfy himself by requiring affidavits or otherwise that such person is not prohibited from intermarrying by the laws of the jurisdiction where he or she resides.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)

750 ILCS 5/219

    (750 ILCS 5/219) (from Ch. 40, par. 219)
    Sec. 219. Offenses.) Any official issuing a license with knowledge that the parties are thus prohibited from intermarrying and any person authorized to celebrate marriage who shall knowingly celebrate such a marriage shall be guilty of a petty offense.
(Source: P.A. 80-923.)