Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CIVIL PROCEDURE
(735 ILCS 5/) Code of Civil Procedure.

735 ILCS 5/9-109.7

    (735 ILCS 5/9-109.7)
    Sec. 9-109.7. Stay of enforcement; drug related action. A judgment for possession of the premises entered in an action brought by a lessor or lessor's assignee, if the action was brought as a result of a lessor or lessor's assignee declaring a lease void pursuant to Section 11 of the Controlled Substance and Cannabis Nuisance Act, may not be stayed for any period in excess of 7 days by the court. Thereafter the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately. The sheriff or other lawfully deputized officers shall execute an order entered pursuant to this Section within 7 days of its entry, or within 7 days of the expiration of a stay of judgment, if one is entered.
(Source: P.A. 90-557, eff. 6-1-98.)

735 ILCS 5/9-110

    (735 ILCS 5/9-110) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-110)
    Sec. 9-110. Judgment for whole premises - Stay of enforcement. If it appears on the trial that the plaintiff is entitled to the possession of the whole of the premises claimed, judgment for the possession thereof and for costs shall be entered in favor of the plaintiff. However, if the action is brought under Article IX of this Code and is based upon a breach of a contract entered into on or after July 1, 1962 for the purchase of such premises, the court, by order, may stay the enforcement of the judgment for a period not to exceed 60 days from the date of the judgment, or if the court finds that the amount unpaid on the contract is less than 75% of the original purchase price, then the court shall stay the enforcement of the judgment for a period of 180 days from the date of the judgment. The court may order a stay of less than 180 days (but in no event less than 60 days) if it is shown that the plaintiff, prior to the filing of the action under Article IX of this Act, granted the defendant previous extensions of time to pay the amounts due under the contract, or for other good cause shown. If during such period of stay the defendant pays the entire amount then due and payable under the terms of the contract other than such portion of the principal balance due under the contract as would not be due had no default occurred and costs and, if the contract provides therefor, reasonable attorney's fees as fixed by the court, and cures all other defaults then existing, the contract shall remain in force the same as if no default had occurred. The relief granted to a defendant by this Section shall not be exhausted by a single use thereof but shall not be again available with respect to the same contract for a period of 5 years from the date of such judgment. Whenever defendant cures the default under the contract pursuant to this Section, the defendant may within the period of stay file a motion to vacate the judgment in the court in which the judgment was entered, and, if the court, upon the hearing of such motion, is satisfied that such default has been cured, such judgment shall be vacated. Unless defendant files such motion to vacate in the court or the judgment is otherwise stayed, enforcement of the judgment may proceed immediately upon the expiration of such period of stay and all rights of the defendant in and to the premises and in and to the real estate described in the contract are terminated.
    Nothing herein contained shall be construed as affecting the right of a seller of such premises to any lawful remedy or relief other than that provided by Part 1 of Article IX of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 85-907.)

735 ILCS 5/9-111

    (735 ILCS 5/9-111) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-111)
    Sec. 9-111. Condominium property.
    (a) As to property subject to the provisions of the "Condominium Property Act", approved June 20, 1963, as amended, when the action is based upon the failure of an owner of a unit therein to pay when due his or her proportionate share of the common expenses of the property, or of any other expenses lawfully agreed upon or the amount of any unpaid fine, and if the court finds that the expenses or fines are due to the plaintiff, the plaintiff shall be entitled to the possession of the whole of the premises claimed, and judgment in favor of the plaintiff shall be entered for the possession thereof and for the amount found due by the court including interest and late charges, if any, together with reasonable attorney's fees, if any, and for the plaintiff's costs. The awarding of reasonable attorney's fees shall be pursuant to the standards set forth in subsection (b) of this Section 9-111. The court shall, by order, stay the enforcement of the judgment for possession for a period of not less than 60 days from the date of the judgment and may stay the enforcement of the judgment for a period not to exceed 180 days from such date. Any judgment for money or any rent assignment under subsection (b) of Section 9-104.2 is not subject to this stay. The judgment for possession is not subject to an exemption of homestead under Part 9 of Article XII of this Code. If at any time, either during or after the period of stay, the defendant pays such expenses found due by the court, and costs, and reasonable attorney's fees as fixed by the court, and the defendant is not in arrears on his or her share of the common expenses for the period subsequent to that covered by the judgment, the defendant may file a motion to vacate the judgment in the court in which the judgment was entered, and, if the court, upon the hearing of such motion, is satisfied that the default in payment of the proportionate share of expenses has been cured, and if the court finds that the premises are not presently let by the board of managers as provided in Section 9-111.1 of this Act, the judgment shall be vacated. If the premises are being let by the board of managers as provided in Section 9-111.1 of this Act, when any judgment is sought to be vacated, the court shall vacate the judgment effective concurrent with the expiration of the lease term. Unless defendant files such motion to vacate in the court or the judgment is otherwise stayed, enforcement of the judgment may proceed immediately upon the expiration of the period of stay and all rights of the defendant to possession of his or her unit shall cease and determine until the date that the judgment may thereafter be vacated in accordance with the foregoing provisions, and notwithstanding payment of the amount of any money judgment if the unit owner or occupant is in arrears for the period after the date of entry of the judgment as provided in this Section. Nothing herein contained shall be construed as affecting the right of the board of managers, or its agents, to any lawful remedy or relief other than that provided by Part 1 of Article IX of this Act.
    This amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly is intended as a clarification of existing law and not as a new enactment.
    (b) For purposes of determining reasonable attorney's fees under subsection (a), the court shall consider:
        (i) the time expended by the attorney;
        (ii) the reasonableness of the hourly rate for the
    
work performed;
        (iii) the reasonableness of the amount of time
    
expended for the work performed; and
        (iv) the amount in controversy and the nature of the
    
action.
(Source: P.A. 91-196, eff. 7-20-99; 92-540, eff. 6-12-02.)

735 ILCS 5/9-111.1

    (735 ILCS 5/9-111.1)
    Sec. 9-111.1. Lease to bona fide tenant. Upon the entry of a judgment in favor of a board of managers for possession of property under the Condominium Property Act, as provided in Section 9-111 of this Act, and upon delivery of possession of the premises by the sheriff or other authorized official to the board of managers pursuant to execution upon the judgment, the board of managers shall have the right and authority, incidental to the right of possession of a unit under the judgment, but not the obligation, to lease the unit to a bona fide tenant (whether the tenant is in occupancy or not) pursuant to a written lease for a term which may commence at any time within 8 months after the month in which the date of expiration of the stay of judgment occurs. The term may not exceed 13 months from the date of commencement of the lease. The court may, upon motion of the board of managers and with notice to the dispossessed unit owner, permit or extend a lease for one or more additional terms not to exceed 13 months per term. The board of managers shall first apply all rental income to assessments and other charges sued upon in the action for possession plus statutory interest on a monetary judgment, if any, attorneys' fees, and court costs incurred; and then to other expenses lawfully agreed upon (including late charges), any fines and reasonable expenses necessary to make the unit rentable, and lastly to assessments accrued thereafter until assessments are current. Any surplus shall be remitted to the unit owner. The court shall retain jurisdiction to determine the reasonableness of the expense of making the unit rentable.
(Source: P.A. 98-996, eff. 1-1-15.)

735 ILCS 5/9-112

    (735 ILCS 5/9-112) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-112)
    Sec. 9-112. Judgment for part of premises. If it shall appear that the plaintiff is entitled to the possession of only a part of the premises claimed, the judgment shall be entered for that part only and for costs, and for the residue defendant shall be dismissed.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-113

    (735 ILCS 5/9-113) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-113)
    Sec. 9-113. Joinder of several tenants. Whenever there is one lease for the whole of certain premises, and the actual possession thereof, at the time of the filing of the action, is divided in severalty among persons with, or other than the lessee, in one or more portions or parcels, separately or severally held or occupied, all or so many of such persons, with the lessee, as the plaintiff may elect, may be joined as defendants in one action, and the recovery against them, with costs, shall be several, according as their actual holdings are judicially determined.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-114

    (735 ILCS 5/9-114) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-114)
    Sec. 9-114. Judgment against plaintiff. If the plaintiff voluntarily dismisses the action, or fails to prove the plaintiff's right to the possession, judgment for costs shall be entered in favor of the defendant.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-115

    (735 ILCS 5/9-115) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-115)
    Sec. 9-115. Dismissal as to part. The plaintiff may at any time dismiss his or her action as to any one or more of the defendants, and the jury or court may find any one or more of the defendants liable, and the others not liable, and the court shall thereupon enter judgment according to such finding.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-116

    (735 ILCS 5/9-116) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-116)
    Sec. 9-116. Pending appeal. If the plaintiff appeals, then, during and notwithstanding the pendency of such appeal, the plaintiff is entitled to enforce, or accept from the defendant or from any person claiming under him or her, performance of all obligations imposed upon such defendant by the terms of any lease, contract, covenant or agreement under which the defendant claims the right to possession, or by law, as if such appeal has not been taken, without thereby affecting the appeal or the judgment appealed from, and without thereby creating or reinstating any tenancy or other relationship of the parties. However, if the result of the prosecution of such appeal and entry of final judgment is that the defendant was obligated to the plaintiff during the pendency thereof in a different form, manner or amount than that in which any payment or payments made under the provision of this Section was or were enforced or accepted, or in a different form, manner or amount than that adjudged in any judgment entered by any court in any other proceedings instituted by virtue of the provisions of this Section during the pendency of the appeal, such payment or payments shall be deemed to have been made to apply in the form, manner and amount resulting or arising from the prosecution of such appeal, on account of the defendant's obligation.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-117

    (735 ILCS 5/9-117) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-117)
    Sec. 9-117. Expiration of judgment. No judgment for possession obtained in an action brought under this Article may be enforced more than 120 days after judgment is entered, unless upon motion by the plaintiff the court grants an extension of the period of enforcement of the judgment. Plaintiff's notice of motion shall contain the following notice directed to the defendant:
        "The plaintiff in this case, (insert name), obtained
    
an eviction judgment against you on (insert date), but the sheriff did not evict you within the 120 days that the plaintiff has to evict after a judgment in court. On the date stated in this notice, the plaintiff will be asking the court to allow the sheriff to evict you based on that judgment. You must attend the court hearing if you want the court to stop the plaintiff from having you evicted. To prevent the eviction, you must be able to prove that (1) the plaintiff and you made an agreement after the judgment (for instance, to pay up back rent or to comply with the lease) and you have lived up to the agreement; or (2) the reason the plaintiff brought the original eviction case has been resolved or forgiven, and the eviction the plaintiff now wants the court to grant is based on a new or different reason; or (3) that you have another legal or equitable reason why the court should not grant the plaintiff's request for your eviction."
    The court shall grant the motion for the extension of the judgment of possession unless the defendant establishes that the tenancy has been reinstated, that the breach upon which the judgment was issued has been cured or waived, that the plaintiff and defendant entered into a post-judgment agreement whose terms the defendant has performed, or that other legal or equitable grounds exist that bar enforcement of the judgment. This Section does not apply to any action based upon a breach of a contract entered into on or after July 1, 1962, for the purchase of premises in which the court has entered a stay under Section 9-110; nor shall this Section apply to any action to which the provisions of Section 9-111 apply; nor shall this Section affect the rights of Boards of Managers under Section 9-104.2.
(Source: P.A. 99-753, eff. 1-1-17.)

735 ILCS 5/9-118

    (735 ILCS 5/9-118) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-118)
    Sec. 9-118. Emergency housing eviction proceedings.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Cannabis" has the meaning ascribed to that term in the Cannabis Control Act.
    "Narcotics" and "controlled substance" have the meanings ascribed to those terms in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act.
    (b) This Section applies only if all of the following conditions are met:
        (1) The complaint seeks possession of premises that
    
are owned or managed by a housing authority established under the Housing Authorities Act or privately owned and managed.
        (2) The verified complaint alleges that there is
    
direct evidence of any of the following:
            (A) unlawful possessing, serving, storing,
        
manufacturing, cultivating, delivering, using, selling, giving away, or trafficking in cannabis, methamphetamine, narcotics, or controlled substances within or upon the premises by or with the knowledge and consent of, or in concert with the person or persons named in the complaint; or
            (B) the possession, use, sale, or delivery of a
        
firearm which is otherwise prohibited by State law within or upon the premises by or with the knowledge and consent of, or in concert with, the person or persons named in the complaint; or
            (C) murder, attempted murder, kidnapping,
        
attempted kidnapping, arson, attempted arson, aggravated battery, criminal sexual assault, attempted criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, or criminal sexual abuse within or upon the premises by or with the knowledge and consent of, or in concert with, the person or persons named in the complaint.
        (3) Notice by verified complaint setting forth the
    
relevant facts, and a demand for possession of the type specified in Section 9-104 is served on the tenant or occupant of the premises at least 14 days before a hearing on the complaint is held, and proof of service of the complaint is submitted by the plaintiff to the court.
    (b-5) In all actions brought under this Section 9-118, no predicate notice of termination or demand for possession shall be required to initiate an eviction action.
    (c) When a complaint has been filed under this Section, a hearing on the complaint shall be scheduled on any day after the expiration of 14 days following the filing of the complaint. The summons shall advise the defendant that a hearing on the complaint shall be held at the specified date and time, and that the defendant should be prepared to present any evidence on his or her behalf at that time.
    If a plaintiff which is a public housing authority accepts rent from the defendant after an action is initiated under this Section, the acceptance of rent shall not be a cause for dismissal of the complaint.
    (d) If the defendant does not appear at the hearing, judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff shall be entered by default. If the defendant appears, a trial shall be held immediately as is prescribed in other proceedings for possession. The matter shall not be continued beyond 7 days from the date set for the first hearing on the complaint except by agreement of both the plaintiff and the defendant. After a trial, if the court finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the allegations in the complaint have been proven, the court shall enter judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff and the court shall order that the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately.
    (d-5) If cannabis, methamphetamine, narcotics, or controlled substances are found or used anywhere in the premises, there is a rebuttable presumption either (1) that the cannabis, methamphetamine, narcotics, or controlled substances were used or possessed by a tenant or occupant or (2) that a tenant or occupant permitted the premises to be used for that use or possession, and knew or should have reasonably known that the substance was used or possessed.
    (e) A judgment for possession entered under this Section may not be stayed for any period in excess of 7 days by the court. Thereafter the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately. The sheriff or other lawfully deputized officers shall give priority to service and execution of orders entered under this Section over other possession orders.
    (f) This Section shall not be construed to prohibit the use or possession of cannabis, methamphetamine, narcotics, or a controlled substance that has been legally obtained in accordance with a valid prescription for the personal use of a lawful occupant of a dwelling unit.
(Source: P.A. 94-556, eff. 9-11-05.)

735 ILCS 5/9-119

    (735 ILCS 5/9-119)
    Sec. 9-119. Emergency subsidized housing eviction proceedings.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "FmHA" means the Farmers Home Administration or a local housing authority administering an FmHA program.
    "HUD" means the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, or the Federal Housing Administration or a local housing authority administering a HUD program.
    "Section 8 contract" means a contract with HUD or FmHA which provides rent subsidies entered into pursuant to Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937 or the Section 8 Existing Housing Program (24 C.F.R. Part 882).
    "Subsidized housing" means:
        (1) any housing or unit of housing subject to a
    
Section 8 contract;
        (2) any housing or unit of housing owned, operated,
    
or managed by a housing authority established under the Housing Authorities Act; or
        (3) any housing or unit of housing financed by a loan
    
or mortgage held by the Illinois Housing Development Authority, a local housing authority, or the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development ("HUD") that is:
            (i) insured or held by HUD under Section
        
221(d)(3) of the National Housing Act and assisted under Section 101 of the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1965 or Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937;
            (ii) insured or held by HUD and bears interest at
        
a rate determined under the proviso of Section 221(d)(3) of the National Housing Act;
            (iii) insured, assisted, or held by HUD under
        
Section 202 or 236 of the National Housing Act;
            (iv) insured or held by HUD under Section 514 or
        
515 of the Housing Act of 1949;
            (v) insured or held by HUD under the United
        
States Housing Act of 1937; or
            (vi) held by HUD and formerly insured under a
        
program listed in subdivision (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v).
    (b) This Section applies only if all of the following conditions are met:
        (1) The verified complaint seeks possession of
    
premises that are subsidized housing as defined under this Section.
        (2) The verified complaint alleges that there is
    
direct evidence of refusal by the tenant to allow the landlord or agent of the landlord or other person authorized by State or federal law or regulations or local ordinance to inspect the premises, provided that all of the following conditions have been met:
            (A) on 2 separate occasions within a 30 day
        
period the tenant, or another person on the premises with the consent of the tenant, refuses to allow the landlord or agent of the landlord or other person authorized by State or federal law or regulations or local ordinance to inspect the premises;
            (B) the landlord then sends written notice to the
        
tenant stating that (i) the tenant, or a person on the premises with the consent of the tenant, failed twice within a 30 day period to allow the landlord or agent of the landlord or other person authorized by State or federal law or regulations or local ordinance to inspect the premises and (ii) the tenant must allow the landlord or agent of the landlord or other person authorized by State or federal law or regulations or local ordinance to inspect the premises within the next 30 days or face emergency eviction proceedings under this Section;
            (C) the tenant subsequently fails to allow the
        
landlord or agent of the landlord or other person authorized by State or federal law or regulations or local ordinance to inspect the premises within 30 days of receiving the notice from the landlord; and
            (D) the tenant's written lease states that the
        
occurrence of the events described in items (A), (B), and (C) may result in eviction.
        (3) Notice, by verified complaint setting forth the
    
relevant facts, and a demand for possession of the type specified in Section 9-104 is served on the tenant or occupant of the premises at least 14 days before a hearing on the complaint is held, and proof of service of the complaint is submitted by the plaintiff to the court.
    (c) When a complaint has been filed under this Section, a hearing on the complaint shall be scheduled on any day after the expiration of 14 days following the filing of the complaint. The summons shall advise the defendant that a hearing on the complaint shall be held at the specified date and time, and that the defendant should be prepared to present any evidence on his or her behalf at that time.
    (d) If the defendant does not appear at the hearing, judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff shall be entered by default. If the defendant appears, a trial shall be held immediately as is prescribed in other proceedings for possession. The matter shall not be continued beyond 7 days from the date set for the first hearing on the complaint except by agreement of both the plaintiff and the defendant. After a trial, if the court finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the allegations in the complaint have been proven, the court shall enter judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff and the court shall order that the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately.
    (e) A judgment for possession entered under this Section may not be stayed for any period in excess of 7 days by the court. Thereafter the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately. The sheriff or other lawfully deputized officers shall give priority to service and execution of orders entered under this Section over other possession orders.
(Source: P.A. 89-660, eff. 1-1-97.)

735 ILCS 5/9-120

    (735 ILCS 5/9-120)
    Sec. 9-120. Leased premises used in furtherance of a criminal offense; lease void at option of lessor or assignee.
    (a) If any lessee or occupant, on one or more occasions, uses or permits the use of leased premises for the commission of any act that would constitute a felony or a Class A misdemeanor under the laws of this State, the lease or rental agreement shall, at the option of the lessor or the lessor's assignee become void, and the owner or lessor shall be entitled to recover possession of the leased premises as against a tenant holding over after the expiration of his or her term. A written lease shall notify the lessee that if any lessee or occupant, on one or more occasions, uses or permits the use of the leased premises for the commission of a felony or Class A misdemeanor under the laws of this State, the lessor shall have the right to void the lease and recover the leased premises. Failure to include this language in a written lease or the use of an oral lease shall not waive or impair the rights of the lessor or lessor's assignee under this Section or the lease. This Section shall not be construed so as to diminish the rights of a lessor, if any, to terminate a lease for other reasons permitted under law or pursuant to the lease agreement.
    (b) The owner or lessor may bring a forcible entry and detainer action, or, if the State's Attorney of the county in which the real property is located or the corporation counsel of the municipality in which the real property is located agrees, assign to that State's Attorney or corporation counsel the right to bring a forcible entry and detainer action on behalf of the owner or lessor, against the lessee and all occupants of the leased premises. The assignment must be in writing on a form prepared by the State's Attorney of the county in which the real property is located or the corporation counsel of the municipality in which the real property is located, as applicable. If the owner or lessor assigns the right to bring a forcible entry and detainer action, the assignment shall be limited to those rights and duties up to and including delivery of the order of eviction to the sheriff for execution. The owner or lessor shall remain liable for the cost of the eviction whether or not the right to bring the forcible entry and detainer action has been assigned.
    (c) A person does not forfeit any part of his or her security deposit due solely to an eviction under the provisions of this Section, except that a security deposit may be used to pay fees charged by the sheriff for carrying out an eviction.
    (d) If a lessor or the lessor's assignee voids a lease or contract under the provisions of this Section and the tenant or occupant has not vacated the premises within 5 days after receipt of a written notice to vacate the premises, the lessor or lessor's assignee may seek relief under this Article IX. Notwithstanding Sections 9-112, 9-113, and 9-114 of this Code, judgment for costs against a plaintiff seeking possession of the premises under this Section shall not be awarded to the defendant unless the action was brought by the plaintiff in bad faith. An action to possess premises under this Section shall not be deemed to be in bad faith when the plaintiff based his or her cause of action on information provided to him or her by a law enforcement agency, the State's Attorney, or the municipality.
    (e) After a trial, if the court finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the allegations in the complaint have been proven, the court shall enter judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff and the court shall order that the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately.
    (f) A judgment for possession of the premises entered in an action brought by a lessor or lessor's assignee, if the action was brought as a result of a lessor or lessor's assignee declaring a lease void pursuant to this Section, may not be stayed for any period in excess of 7 days by the court unless all parties agree to a longer period. Thereafter the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately. The sheriff or other lawfully deputized officers shall execute an order entered pursuant to this Section within 7 days of its entry, or within 7 days of the expiration of a stay of judgment, if one is entered.
    (g) Nothing in this Section shall limit the rights of an owner or lessor to bring a forcible entry and detainer action on the basis of other applicable law.
(Source: P.A. 97-236, eff. 8-2-11.)

735 ILCS 5/9-121

    (735 ILCS 5/9-121)
    Sec. 9-121. Sealing of court file.
    (a) Definition. As used in this Section, "court file" means the court file created when a forcible entry and detainer action is filed with the court.
    (b) Discretionary sealing of court file. The court may order that a court file in a forcible entry and detainer action be placed under seal if the court finds that the plaintiff's action is sufficiently without a basis in fact or law, which may include a lack of jurisdiction, that placing the court file under seal is clearly in the interests of justice, and that those interests are not outweighed by the public's interest in knowing about the record.
    (c) Mandatory sealing of court file. The court file relating to a forcible entry and detainer action brought against a tenant under Section 9-207.5 of this Code or as set forth in subdivision (h)(6) of Section 15-1701 of this Code shall be placed under seal.
(Source: P.A. 98-514, eff. 11-19-13.)

735 ILCS 5/Art. IX Pt. 2

 
    (735 ILCS 5/Art. IX Pt. 2 heading)
Part 2. Recovery of Rent;
Termination of Certain Tenancies

735 ILCS 5/9-201

    (735 ILCS 5/9-201) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-201)
    Sec. 9-201. Recovery of rent. The owner of lands, his or her executors or administrators, may sue for and recover rent therefor, or a fair and reasonable satisfaction for the use and occupation thereof, by a civil action in any of the following instances:
    1. When rent is due and in arrears on a lease for life or lives.
    2. When lands are held and occupied by any person without any special agreement for rent.
    3. When possession is obtained under an agreement, written or verbal, for the purchase of the premises, and before a deed is given the right to possession is terminated by forfeiture or non-compliance with the agreement, and possession is wrongfully refused or neglected to be given upon demand, made in writing, by the party entitled thereto. All payments made by the vendee, or his or her representatives or assigns, may be set off against such rent.
    4. When land has been sold upon a judgment of court, when the party to such judgment or person holding under him or her, wrongfully refuses or neglects to surrender possession of the same, after demand, in writing, by the person entitled to the possession.
    5. When the lands have been sold upon a mortgage or trust deed, and the mortgagor or grantor, or person holding under him or her, wrongfully refuses or neglects to surrender possession of the same, after demand, in writing, by the person entitled to the possession.
(Source: P.A. 83-707.)

735 ILCS 5/9-202

    (735 ILCS 5/9-202) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-202)
    Sec. 9-202. Wilfully holding over. If any tenant or any person who is in or comes into possession of any lands, tenements or hereditaments, by, from or under, or by collusion with the tenant, wilfully holds over any lands, tenements or hereditaments, after the expiration of his or her term or terms, and after demand made in writing, for the possession thereof, by his or her landlord, or the person to whom the remainder or reversion of such lands, tenements or hereditaments belongs, the person so holding over, shall, for the time the landlord or rightful owner is so kept out of possession, pay to the person so kept out of possession, or his or her legal representatives, at the rate of double the yearly value of the lands, tenements or hereditaments so detained to be recovered by a civil action.
(Source: P.A. 83-707.)

735 ILCS 5/9-203

    (735 ILCS 5/9-203) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-203)
    Sec. 9-203. Holding over after notice. If any tenant gives notice of his or her intention to quit the premises which are held by him or her, at a time mentioned in such notice, at which time the tenant would have a right to quit by the lease, and does not accordingly deliver up possession thereof, such tenant shall pay to the landlord or lessor double the rent or sum which would otherwise be due, to be collected in the same manner as the rent otherwise due should have been collected.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

735 ILCS 5/9-204

    (735 ILCS 5/9-204) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-204)
    Sec. 9-204. Rent in arrears - Re-entry. In all cases between landlord and tenant, where one-half year's rent is in arrears and unpaid, and the landlord or lessor to whom such rent is due has the right by law to re-enter for non-payment thereof, such landlord or lessor may, without any formal demand or re-entry, commence an action of ejectment for the recovery of the demised premises. In case judgment is entered in favor of the plaintiff in the action of ejectment before the rent in arrearage and costs of the action are paid, then the lease of the lands shall cease and be determined, unless the lessee shall by appeal reverse the judgment, or by petition filed within 6 months after the entry of such judgment, obtain relief from the same. However, any tenant may, at any time before final judgment on the ejectment, pay or tender to the landlord or lessor of the premises the amount of rent in arrears and costs of the action, whereupon the action of ejectment shall be dismissed.
(Source: P.A. 82-280.)

735 ILCS 5/9-205

    (735 ILCS 5/9-205) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-205)
    Sec. 9-205. Notice to terminate tenancy from year to year. Except as provided in Section 9-206 and Section 9-207.5 of this Act, in all cases of tenancy from year to year, 60 days' notice, in writing, shall be sufficient to terminate the tenancy at the end of the year. The notice may be given at any time within 4 months preceding the last 60 days of the year.
(Source: P.A. 98-514, eff. 11-19-13.)

735 ILCS 5/9-206

    (735 ILCS 5/9-206) (from Ch. 110, par. 9-206)
    Sec. 9-206. Notice to terminate tenancy of farm land. Subject to the provisions of Section 16 of the Landlord and Tenant Act, in order to terminate tenancies from year to year of farm lands, occupied on a crop share, livestock share, cash rent or other rental basis, the notice to quit shall be given in writing not less than 4 months prior to the end of the year of letting. Such notice may not be waived in a verbal lease. The notice to quit may be substantially in the following form:
    To A.B.: You are hereby notified that I have elected to terminate your lease of the farm premises now occupied by you, being (here describe the premises) and you are hereby further notified to quit and deliver up possession of the same to me at the end of the lease year, the last day of such year being (here insert the last day of the lease year).
(Source: P.A. 97-913, eff. 1-1-13.)