Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CORRECTIONS
(730 ILCS 5/) Unified Code of Corrections.

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-70

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-70)
    Sec. 5-4.5-70. SENTENCE PROVISIONS; ALL MISDEMEANORS. Except as otherwise provided, for all misdemeanors:
    (a) SUPERVISION; ORDER. The court, upon a plea of guilty or a stipulation by the defendant of the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt, may defer further proceedings and the imposition of a sentence and may enter an order for supervision of the defendant. If the defendant is not barred from receiving an order for supervision under Section 5-6-1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-1) or otherwise, the court may enter an order for supervision after considering the circumstances of the offense, and the history, character, and condition of the offender, if the court is of the opinion that:
        (1) the defendant is not likely to commit further
    
crimes;
        (2) the defendant and the public would be best served
    
if the defendant were not to receive a criminal record; and
        (3) in the best interests of justice, an order of
    
supervision is more appropriate than a sentence otherwise permitted under this Code.
    (b) SUPERVISION; PERIOD. When a defendant is placed on supervision, the court shall enter an order for supervision specifying the period of supervision, and shall defer further proceedings in the case until the conclusion of the period. The period of supervision shall be reasonable under all of the circumstances of the case, and except as otherwise provided, may not be longer than 2 years, unless the defendant has failed to pay the assessment required by Section 10.3 of the Cannabis Control Act (720 ILCS 550/10.3), Section 411.2 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act (720 ILCS 570/411.2), or Section 80 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act (720 ILCS 646/80), in which case the court may extend supervision beyond 2 years. The court shall specify the conditions of supervision as set forth in Section 5-6-3.1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-3.1).
    (c) NO REQUIRED BIRTH CONTROL. A court may not impose a sentence or disposition that requires the defendant to be implanted or injected with or to use any form of birth control.
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-75

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-75)
    Sec. 5-4.5-75. PETTY OFFENSES; SENTENCE. Except as otherwise provided, for a petty offense:
    (a) FINE. A defendant may be sentenced to pay a fine not to exceed $1,000 for each offense or the amount specified in the offense, whichever is less. A fine may be imposed in addition to a sentence of conditional discharge or probation. See Article 9 of Chapter V (730 ILCS 5/Ch. V, Art. 9) for imposition of additional amounts and determination of amounts and payment.
    (b) PROBATION; CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE. Except as provided in Section 5-6-2 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-2), a defendant may be sentenced to a period of probation or conditional discharge not to exceed 6 months. The court shall specify the conditions of probation or conditional discharge as set forth in Section 5-6-3 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-3).
    (c) RESTITUTION. A defendant may be sentenced to make restitution to the victim under Section 5-5-6 (730 ILCS 5/5-5-6).
    (d) SUPERVISION; ORDER. The court, upon a plea of guilty or a stipulation by the defendant of the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt, may defer further proceedings and the imposition of a sentence and may enter an order for supervision of the defendant. If the defendant is not barred from receiving an order for supervision under Section 5-6-1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-1) or otherwise, the court may enter an order for supervision after considering the circumstances of the offense, and the history, character, and condition of the offender, if the court is of the opinion that:
        (1) the defendant is not likely to commit further
    
crimes;
        (2) the defendant and the public would be best served
    
if the defendant were not to receive a criminal record; and
        (3) in the best interests of justice, an order of
    
supervision is more appropriate than a sentence otherwise permitted under this Code.
    (e) SUPERVISION; PERIOD. When a defendant is placed on supervision, the court shall enter an order for supervision specifying the period of supervision, and shall defer further proceedings in the case until the conclusion of the period. The period of supervision shall be reasonable under all of the circumstances of the case, and except as otherwise provided, may not be longer than 2 years. The court shall specify the conditions of supervision as set forth in Section 5-6-3.1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-3.1).
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-80

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-80)
    Sec. 5-4.5-80. BUSINESS OFFENSES; SENTENCE. Except as otherwise provided, for a business offense:
    (a) FINE. A defendant may be sentenced to pay a fine not to exceed for each offense the amount specified in the statute defining that offense. A fine may be imposed in addition to a sentence of conditional discharge. See Article 9 of Chapter V (730 ILCS 5/Ch. V, Art. 9) for imposition of additional amounts and determination of amounts and payment.
    (b) CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE. A defendant may be sentenced to a period of conditional discharge. The court shall specify the conditions of conditional discharge as set forth in Section 5-6-3 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-3).
    (c) RESTITUTION. A defendant may be sentenced to make restitution to the victim under Section 5-5-6 (730 ILCS 5/5-5-6).
    (d) SUPERVISION; ORDER. The court, upon a plea of guilty or a stipulation by the defendant of the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt, may defer further proceedings and the imposition of a sentence and may enter an order for supervision of the defendant. If the defendant is not barred from receiving an order for supervision under Section 5-6-1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-1) or otherwise, the court may enter an order for supervision after considering the circumstances of the offense, and the history, character, and condition of the offender, if the court is of the opinion that:
        (1) the defendant is not likely to commit further
    
crimes;
        (2) the defendant and the public would be best served
    
if the defendant were not to receive a criminal record; and
        (3) in the best interests of justice, an order of
    
supervision is more appropriate than a sentence otherwise permitted under this Code.
    (e) SUPERVISION; PERIOD. When a defendant is placed on supervision, the court shall enter an order for supervision specifying the period of supervision, and shall defer further proceedings in the case until the conclusion of the period. The period of supervision shall be reasonable under all of the circumstances of the case, and except as otherwise provided, may not be longer than 2 years. The court shall specify the conditions of supervision as set forth in Section 5-6-3.1 (730 ILCS 5/5-6-3.1).
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-85

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-85)
    Sec. 5-4.5-85. UNCLASSIFIED OFFENSES; SENTENCE.
    (a) FELONY. The particular classification of each felony is specified in the law defining the felony. Any unclassified offense that is declared by law to be a felony or that provides a sentence to a term of imprisonment for one year or more is a Class 4 felony.
    (b) MISDEMEANOR. The particular classification of each misdemeanor is specified in the law or ordinance defining the misdemeanor.
        (1) Any offense not so classified that provides a
    
sentence to a term of imprisonment of less than one year but in excess of 6 months is a Class A misdemeanor.
        (2) Any offense not so classified that provides a
    
sentence to a term of imprisonment of 6 months or less but in excess of 30 days is a Class B misdemeanor.
        (3) Any offense not so classified that provides a
    
sentence to a term of imprisonment of 30 days or less is a Class C misdemeanor.
    (c) PETTY OR BUSINESS OFFENSE. Any unclassified offense that does not provide for a sentence of imprisonment is a petty offense or a business offense.
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-90

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-90)
    Sec. 5-4.5-90. OTHER REMEDIES NOT LIMITED. This Article does not deprive a court in other proceedings of the power to order a forfeiture of property, to suspend or cancel a license, to remove a person from office, or to impose any other civil penalty.
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-95

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-95)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-3)
    Sec. 5-4.5-95. GENERAL RECIDIVISM PROVISIONS.
    (a) HABITUAL CRIMINALS.
        (1) Every person who has been twice convicted in any
    
state or federal court of an offense that contains the same elements as an offense now (the date of the offense committed after the 2 prior convictions) classified in Illinois as a Class X felony, criminal sexual assault, aggravated kidnapping, or first degree murder, and who is thereafter convicted of a Class X felony, criminal sexual assault, or first degree murder, committed after the 2 prior convictions, shall be adjudged an habitual criminal.
        (2) The 2 prior convictions need not have been for
    
the same offense.
        (3) Any convictions that result from or are
    
connected with the same transaction, or result from offenses committed at the same time, shall be counted for the purposes of this Section as one conviction.
        (4) This Section does not apply unless each of the
    
following requirements are satisfied:
            (A) The third offense was committed after July 3,
        
1980.
            (B) The third offense was committed within 20
        
years of the date that judgment was entered on the first conviction; provided, however, that time spent in custody shall not be counted.
            (C) The third offense was committed after
        
conviction on the second offense.
            (D) The second offense was committed after
        
conviction on the first offense.
        (5) Anyone who, having attained the age of 18 at the
    
time of the third offense, is adjudged an habitual criminal shall be sentenced to a term of natural life imprisonment.
        (6) A prior conviction shall not be alleged in the
    
indictment, and no evidence or other disclosure of that conviction shall be presented to the court or the jury during the trial of an offense set forth in this Section unless otherwise permitted by the issues properly raised in that trial. After a plea or verdict or finding of guilty and before sentence is imposed, the prosecutor may file with the court a verified written statement signed by the State's Attorney concerning any former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section rendered against the defendant. The court shall then cause the defendant to be brought before it; shall inform the defendant of the allegations of the statement so filed, and of his or her right to a hearing before the court on the issue of that former conviction and of his or her right to counsel at that hearing; and unless the defendant admits such conviction, shall hear and determine the issue, and shall make a written finding thereon. If a sentence has previously been imposed, the court may vacate that sentence and impose a new sentence in accordance with this Section.
        (7) A duly authenticated copy of the record of any
    
alleged former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section shall be prima facie evidence of that former conviction; and a duly authenticated copy of the record of the defendant's final release or discharge from probation granted, or from sentence and parole supervision (if any) imposed pursuant to that former conviction, shall be prima facie evidence of that release or discharge.
        (8) Any claim that a previous conviction offered by
    
the prosecution is not a former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section because of the existence of any exceptions described in this Section, is waived unless duly raised at the hearing on that conviction, or unless the prosecution's proof shows the existence of the exceptions described in this Section.
        (9) If the person so convicted shows to the
    
satisfaction of the court before whom that conviction was had that he or she was released from imprisonment, upon either of the sentences upon a pardon granted for the reason that he or she was innocent, that conviction and sentence shall not be considered under this Section.
    (b) When a defendant, over the age of 21 years, is convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 felony, after having twice been convicted in any state or federal court of an offense that contains the same elements as an offense now (the date the Class 1 or Class 2 felony was committed) classified in Illinois as a Class 2 or greater Class felony and those charges are separately brought and tried and arise out of different series of acts, that defendant shall be sentenced as a Class X offender. This subsection does not apply unless:
        (1) the first felony was committed after February 1,
    
1978 (the effective date of Public Act 80-1099);
        (2) the second felony was committed after conviction
    
on the first; and
        (3) the third felony was committed after conviction
    
on the second.
    A person sentenced as a Class X offender under this subsection (b) is not eligible to apply for treatment as a condition of probation as provided by Section 40-10 of the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act (20 ILCS 301/40-10).
(Source: P.A. 99-69, eff. 1-1-16.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-3)
    Sec. 5-4.5-95. GENERAL RECIDIVISM PROVISIONS.
    (a) HABITUAL CRIMINALS.
        (1) Every person who has been twice convicted in any
    
state or federal court of an offense that contains the same elements as an offense now (the date of the offense committed after the 2 prior convictions) classified in Illinois as a Class X felony, criminal sexual assault, aggravated kidnapping, or first degree murder, and who is thereafter convicted of a Class X felony, criminal sexual assault, or first degree murder, committed after the 2 prior convictions, shall be adjudged an habitual criminal.
        (2) The 2 prior convictions need not have been for
    
the same offense.
        (3) Any convictions that result from or are
    
connected with the same transaction, or result from offenses committed at the same time, shall be counted for the purposes of this Section as one conviction.
        (4) This Section does not apply unless each of the
    
following requirements are satisfied:
            (A) The third offense was committed after July 3,
        
1980.
            (B) The third offense was committed within 20
        
years of the date that judgment was entered on the first conviction; provided, however, that time spent in custody shall not be counted.
            (C) The third offense was committed after
        
conviction on the second offense.
            (D) The second offense was committed after
        
conviction on the first offense.
        (5) Anyone who, having attained the age of 18 at the
    
time of the third offense, is adjudged an habitual criminal shall be sentenced to a term of natural life imprisonment.
        (6) A prior conviction shall not be alleged in the
    
indictment, and no evidence or other disclosure of that conviction shall be presented to the court or the jury during the trial of an offense set forth in this Section unless otherwise permitted by the issues properly raised in that trial. After a plea or verdict or finding of guilty and before sentence is imposed, the prosecutor may file with the court a verified written statement signed by the State's Attorney concerning any former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section rendered against the defendant. The court shall then cause the defendant to be brought before it; shall inform the defendant of the allegations of the statement so filed, and of his or her right to a hearing before the court on the issue of that former conviction and of his or her right to counsel at that hearing; and unless the defendant admits such conviction, shall hear and determine the issue, and shall make a written finding thereon. If a sentence has previously been imposed, the court may vacate that sentence and impose a new sentence in accordance with this Section.
        (7) A duly authenticated copy of the record of any
    
alleged former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section shall be prima facie evidence of that former conviction; and a duly authenticated copy of the record of the defendant's final release or discharge from probation granted, or from sentence and parole supervision (if any) imposed pursuant to that former conviction, shall be prima facie evidence of that release or discharge.
        (8) Any claim that a previous conviction offered by
    
the prosecution is not a former conviction of an offense set forth in this Section because of the existence of any exceptions described in this Section, is waived unless duly raised at the hearing on that conviction, or unless the prosecution's proof shows the existence of the exceptions described in this Section.
        (9) If the person so convicted shows to the
    
satisfaction of the court before whom that conviction was had that he or she was released from imprisonment, upon either of the sentences upon a pardon granted for the reason that he or she was innocent, that conviction and sentence shall not be considered under this Section.
    (b) When a defendant, over the age of 21 years, is convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 felony, except for an offense listed in subsection (c) of this Section, after having twice been convicted in any state or federal court of an offense that contains the same elements as an offense now (the date the Class 1 or Class 2 felony was committed) classified in Illinois as a Class 2 or greater Class felony, except for an offense listed in subsection (c) of this Section, and those charges are separately brought and tried and arise out of different series of acts, that defendant shall be sentenced as a Class X offender. This subsection does not apply unless:
        (1) the first felony was committed after February 1,
    
1978 (the effective date of Public Act 80-1099);
        (2) the second felony was committed after conviction
    
on the first; and
        (3) the third felony was committed after conviction
    
on the second.
    (c) Subsection (b) of this Section does not apply to Class 1 or Class 2 felony convictions for a violation of Section 16-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
    A person sentenced as a Class X offender under this subsection (b) is not eligible to apply for treatment as a condition of probation as provided by Section 40-10 of the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act (20 ILCS 301/40-10).
(Source: P.A. 99-69, eff. 1-1-16; 100-3, eff. 1-1-18.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-100

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-100)
    Sec. 5-4.5-100. CALCULATION OF TERM OF IMPRISONMENT.
    (a) COMMENCEMENT. A sentence of imprisonment shall commence on the date on which the offender is received by the Department or the institution at which the sentence is to be served.
    (b) CREDIT; TIME IN CUSTODY; SAME CHARGE. Except as set forth in subsection (e), the offender shall be given credit on the determinate sentence or maximum term and the minimum period of imprisonment for the number of days spent in custody as a result of the offense for which the sentence was imposed. The Department shall calculate the credit at the rate specified in Section 3-6-3 (730 ILCS 5/3-6-3). Except when prohibited by subsection (d), the trial court shall give credit to the defendant for time spent in home detention on the same sentencing terms as incarceration as provided in Section 5-8A-3 (730 ILCS 5/5-8A-3). The trial court may give credit to the defendant for the number of days spent confined for psychiatric or substance abuse treatment prior to judgment, if the court finds that the detention or confinement was custodial.
    (c) CREDIT; TIME IN CUSTODY; FORMER CHARGE. An offender arrested on one charge and prosecuted on another charge for conduct that occurred prior to his or her arrest shall be given credit on the determinate sentence or maximum term and the minimum term of imprisonment for time spent in custody under the former charge not credited against another sentence.
    (c-5) CREDIT; PROGRAMMING. The trial court shall give the defendant credit for successfully completing county programming while in custody prior to imposition of sentence at the rate specified in Section 3-6-3 (730 ILCS 5/3-6-3). For the purposes of this subsection, "custody" includes time spent in home detention.
    (d) NO CREDIT; SOME HOME DETENTION. An offender sentenced to a term of imprisonment for an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subsection (c) of Section 5-5-3 (730 ILCS 5/5-5-3) or in paragraph (3) of subsection (c-1) of Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501) shall not receive credit for time spent in home detention prior to judgment.
    (e) NO CREDIT; REVOCATION OF PAROLE, MANDATORY SUPERVISED RELEASE, OR PROBATION. An offender charged with the commission of an offense committed while on parole, mandatory supervised release, or probation shall not be given credit for time spent in custody under subsection (b) for that offense for any time spent in custody as a result of a revocation of parole, mandatory supervised release, or probation where such revocation is based on a sentence imposed for a previous conviction, regardless of the facts upon which the revocation of parole, mandatory supervised release, or probation is based, unless both the State and the defendant agree that the time served for a violation of mandatory supervised release, parole, or probation shall be credited towards the sentence for the current offense.
(Source: P.A. 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10; 97-697, eff. 6-22-12.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-105

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-105)
    Sec. 5-4.5-105. SENTENCING OF INDIVIDUALS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 AT THE TIME OF THE COMMISSION OF AN OFFENSE.
    (a) On or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly, when a person commits an offense and the person is under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense, the court, at the sentencing hearing conducted under Section 5-4-1, shall consider the following additional factors in mitigation in determining the appropriate sentence:
        (1) the person's age, impetuosity, and level of
    
maturity at the time of the offense, including the ability to consider risks and consequences of behavior, and the presence of cognitive or developmental disability, or both, if any;
        (2) whether the person was subjected to outside
    
pressure, including peer pressure, familial pressure, or negative influences;
        (3) the person's family, home environment,
    
educational and social background, including any history of parental neglect, physical abuse, or other childhood trauma;
        (4) the person's potential for rehabilitation or
    
evidence of rehabilitation, or both;
        (5) the circumstances of the offense;
        (6) the person's degree of participation and specific
    
role in the offense, including the level of planning by the defendant before the offense;
        (7) whether the person was able to meaningfully
    
participate in his or her defense;
        (8) the person's prior juvenile or criminal history;
    
and
        (9) any other information the court finds relevant
    
and reliable, including an expression of remorse, if appropriate. However, if the person, on advice of counsel chooses not to make a statement, the court shall not consider a lack of an expression of remorse as an aggravating factor.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (c), the court may sentence the defendant to any disposition authorized for the class of the offense of which he or she was found guilty as described in Article 4.5 of this Code, and may, in its discretion, decline to impose any otherwise applicable sentencing enhancement based upon firearm possession, possession with personal discharge, or possession with personal discharge that proximately causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or death to another person.
    (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if the defendant is convicted of first degree murder and would otherwise be subject to sentencing under clause (iii), (iv), (v), or (vii) of subparagraph (c) of paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 5-8-1 of this Code based on the category of persons identified therein, the court shall impose a sentence of not less than 40 years of imprisonment. In addition, the court may, in its discretion, decline to impose the sentencing enhancements based upon the possession or use of a firearm during the commission of the offense included in subsection (d) of Section 5-8-1.
(Source: P.A. 99-69, eff. 1-1-16; 99-258, eff. 1-1-16; 99-875, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-110

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-110)
    (This Section may contain text from a Public Act with a delayed effective date)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2023)
    Sec. 5-4.5-110. SENTENCING GUIDELINES FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH PRIOR FELONY FIREARM-RELATED OR OTHER SPECIFIED CONVICTIONS.
    (a) DEFINITIONS. For the purposes of this Section:
        "Firearm" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section
    
1.1 of the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act.
        "Qualifying predicate offense" means the following
    
offenses under the Criminal Code of 2012:
            (A) aggravated unlawful use of a weapon under
        
Section 24-1.6 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961, when the weapon is a firearm;
            (B) unlawful use or possession of a weapon by a
        
felon under Section 24-1.1 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961, when the weapon is a firearm;
            (C) first degree murder under Section 9-1 or
        
similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (D) attempted first degree murder with a firearm
        
or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (E) aggravated kidnapping with a firearm under
        
paragraph (6) or (7) of subsection (a) of Section 10-2 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (F) aggravated battery with a firearm under
        
subsection (e) of Section 12-3.05 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (G) aggravated criminal sexual assault under
        
Section 11-1.30 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (H) predatory criminal sexual assault of a child
        
under Section 11-1.40 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (I) armed robbery under Section 18-2 or similar
        
offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (J) vehicular hijacking under Section 18-3 or
        
similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (K) aggravated vehicular hijacking under Section
        
18-4 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (L) home invasion with a firearm under paragraph
        
(3), (4), or (5) of subsection (a) of Section 19-6 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (M) aggravated discharge of a firearm under
        
Section 24-1.2 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (N) aggravated discharge of a machine gun or a
        
firearm equipped with a device designed or used for silencing the report of a firearm under Section 24-1.2-5 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (0) unlawful use of firearm projectiles under
        
Section 24-2.1 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (P) manufacture, sale, or transfer of bullets or
        
shells represented to be armor piercing bullets, dragon's breath shotgun shells, bolo shells, or flechette shells under Section 24-2.2 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (Q) unlawful sale or delivery of firearms under
        
Section 24-3 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (R) unlawful discharge of firearm projectiles
        
under Section 24-3.2 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (S) unlawful sale or delivery of firearms on
        
school premises of any school under Section 24-3.3 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (T) unlawful purchase of a firearm under Section
        
24-3.5 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (U) use of a stolen firearm in the commission of
        
an offense under Section 24-3.7 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (V) possession of a stolen firearm under Section
        
24-3.8 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (W) aggravated possession of a stolen firearm
        
under Section 24-3.9 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (X) gunrunning under Section 24-3A or similar
        
offense under the Criminal Code of 1961;
            (Y) defacing identification marks of firearms
        
under Section 24-5 or similar offense under the Criminal Code of 1961; and
            (Z) armed violence under Section 33A-2 or similar
        
offense under the Criminal Code of 1961.
    (b) APPLICABILITY. For an offense committed on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 100th General Assembly and before January 1, 2023, when a person is convicted of unlawful use or possession of a weapon by a felon, when the weapon is a firearm, or aggravated unlawful use of a weapon, when the weapon is a firearm, after being previously convicted of a qualifying predicate offense the person shall be subject to the sentencing guidelines under this Section.
    (c) SENTENCING GUIDELINES.
        (1) When a person is convicted of unlawful use or
    
possession of a weapon by a felon, when the weapon is a firearm, and that person has been previously convicted of a qualifying predicate offense, the person shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment within the sentencing range of not less than 7 years and not more than 14 years, unless the court finds that a departure from the sentencing guidelines under this paragraph is warranted under subsection (d) of this Section.
        (2) When a person is convicted of aggravated unlawful
    
use of a weapon, when the weapon is a firearm, and that person has been previously convicted of a qualifying predicate offense, the person shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment within the sentencing range of not less than 6 years and not more than 7 years, unless the court finds that a departure from the sentencing guidelines under this paragraph is warranted under subsection (d) of this Section.
        (3) The sentencing guidelines in paragraphs (1) and
    
(2) of this subsection (c) apply only to offenses committed on and after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 100th General Assembly and before January 1, 2023.
    (d) DEPARTURE FROM SENTENCING GUIDELINES.
        (1) At the sentencing hearing conducted under Section
    
5-4-1 of this Code, the court may depart from the sentencing guidelines provided in subsection (c) of this Section and impose a sentence otherwise authorized by law for the offense if the court, after considering any factor under paragraph (2) of this subsection (d) relevant to the nature and circumstances of the crime and to the history and character of the defendant, finds on the record substantial and compelling justification that the sentence within the sentencing guidelines would be unduly harsh and that a sentence otherwise authorized by law would be consistent with public safety and does not deprecate the seriousness of the offense.
        (2) In deciding whether to depart from the
    
sentencing guidelines under this paragraph, the court shall consider:
            (A) the age, immaturity, or limited mental
        
capacity of the defendant at the time of commission of the qualifying predicate or current offense, including whether the defendant was suffering from a mental or physical condition insufficient to constitute a defense but significantly reduced the defendant's culpability;
            (B) the nature and circumstances of the
        
qualifying predicate offense;
            (C) the time elapsed since the qualifying
        
predicate offense;
            (D) the nature and circumstances of the current
        
offense;
            (E) the defendant's prior criminal history;
            (F) whether the defendant committed the
        
qualifying predicate or current offense under specific and credible duress, coercion, threat, or compulsion;
            (G) whether the defendant aided in the
        
apprehension of another felon or testified truthfully on behalf of another prosecution of a felony; and
            (H) whether departure is in the interest
        
of the person's rehabilitation, including employment or educational or vocational training, after taking into account any past rehabilitation efforts or dispositions of probation or supervision, and the defendant's cooperation or response to rehabilitation.
        (3) When departing from the sentencing guidelines
    
under this Section, the court shall specify on the record, the particular evidence, information, factor or factors, or other reasons which led to the departure from the sentencing guidelines. When departing from the sentencing range in accordance with this subsection (d), the court shall indicate on the sentencing order which departure factor or factors outlined in paragraph (2) of this subsection (d) led to the sentence imposed. The sentencing order shall be filed with the clerk of the court and shall be a public record.
    (e) This Section is repealed on January 1, 2023.
(Source: P.A. 100-3, eff. 1-1-18.)

730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-990

    (730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-990)
    Sec. 5-4.5-990. PRIOR LAW; OTHER ACTS; PRIOR SENTENCING.
    (a) This Article 4.5 and the other provisions of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly consolidate and unify certain criminal sentencing provisions and make conforming changes in the law.
    (b) A provision of this Article 4.5 or any other provision of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly that is the same or substantially the same as a prior law shall be construed as a continuation of the prior law and not as a new or different law.
    (c) A citation in this Code or in another Act to a provision consolidated or unified in this Article 4.5 or to any other provision consolidated or unified in this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly shall be construed to be a citation to that consolidated or unified provision.
    (d) If any other Act of the General Assembly changes, adds, or repeals a provision of prior law that is consolidated or unified in this Article 4.5 or in any other provision of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly, then that change, addition, or repeal shall be construed together with this Article 4.5 and the other provisions of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly.
    (e) Sentencing for any violation of the law occurring before the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly is not affected or abated by this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)

730 ILCS 5/Ch. V Art. 5

 
    (730 ILCS 5/Ch. V Art. 5 heading)
ARTICLE 5. AUTHORIZED DISPOSITIONS

730 ILCS 5/5-5-1

    (730 ILCS 5/5-5-1)
    Sec. 5-5-1. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 84-1450. Repealed by P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09.)