Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
CRIMINAL OFFENSES720 ILCS 5/Art. 20
(720 ILCS 5/) Criminal Code of 2012.
(720 ILCS 5/Art. 20 heading)
720 ILCS 5/20-1
(720 ILCS 5/20-1)
(from Ch. 38, par. 20-1)
Arson; residential arson; place of worship arson.
(a) A person commits arson when, by means of fire or explosive, he or she
(1) Damages any real property, or any personal
property having a value of $150 or more, of another without his or her consent; or
(2) With intent to defraud an insurer, damages any
property or any personal property having a value of $150 or more.
Property "of another" means a building or other property, whether real
or personal, in which a person other than the offender has an interest
which the offender has no authority to defeat or impair, even though the
offender may also have an interest in the building or property.
(b) A person commits residential arson when he or she, in the course of committing arson, knowingly damages, partially or totally, any building or structure that is the dwelling place of another.
(b-5) A person commits place of worship arson when he or she, in the course of committing arson, knowingly damages, partially or totally, any place of worship.
Arson is a Class 2 felony. Residential arson or place of worship arson is a Class 1 felony.
(Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13.)
720 ILCS 5/20-1.1
(720 ILCS 5/20-1.1)
(from Ch. 38, par. 20-1.1)
(a) A person commits
aggravated arson when in the course of committing arson he or she
damages, partially or totally, any building or
structure, including any adjacent building or
structure, including all or any part of a school building, house trailer,
vehicle, or railroad car, and (1) he knows or reasonably should know that
more persons are present therein or (2) any person suffers
great bodily harm, or permanent disability or disfigurement
as a result of the fire or explosion or (3) a fireman,
policeman, or correctional officer who is present at the scene acting in the line
of duty is injured as a result of the fire or explosion.
For purposes of this Section, property "of another" means a building or
whether real or personal, in which a person other than the offender has an
the offender has no authority to defeat or impair, even though the offender may
an interest in the building or property; and "school building"
means any public or private preschool, elementary or secondary school,
community college, college, or university.
(b) Sentence. Aggravated arson is a Class X felony.
(Source: P.A. 93-335, eff. 7-24-03; 94-127, eff. 7-7-05; 94-393, eff. 8-1-05.)
720 ILCS 5/20-1.2
(720 ILCS 5/20-1.2)
(Source: P.A. 90-787, eff. 8-14-98. Repealed by P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13.)