Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.


()

705 ILCS 405/Art. V Pt. 3

 
    (705 ILCS 405/Art. V Pt. 3 heading)
PART 3. IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION PROCEDURES

705 ILCS 405/5-300

    (705 ILCS 405/5-300)
    Sec. 5-300. Legislative Declaration. The General Assembly recognizes that a major component of any continuum for delinquency prevention is a series of immediate interaction programs. It is the belief of the General Assembly that each community or group of communities is best suited to develop and implement immediate intervention programs to identify and redirect delinquent youth. The following programs and procedures for immediate intervention are authorized options for communities, and are not intended to be exclusive or mandated.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)

705 ILCS 405/5-301

    (705 ILCS 405/5-301)
    Sec. 5-301. Station adjustments. A minor arrested for any offense or a violation of a condition of previous station adjustment may receive a station adjustment for that arrest as provided herein. In deciding whether to impose a station adjustment, either informal or formal, a juvenile police officer shall consider the following factors:
        (A) The seriousness of the alleged offense.
        (B) The prior history of delinquency of the minor.
        (C) The age of the minor.
        (D) The culpability of the minor in committing the
    
alleged offense.
        (E) Whether the offense was committed in an
    
aggressive or premeditated manner.
        (F) Whether the minor used or possessed a deadly
    
weapon when committing the alleged offenses.
    (1) Informal station adjustment.
        (a) An informal station adjustment is defined as a
    
procedure when a juvenile police officer determines that there is probable cause to believe that the minor has committed an offense.
        (b) A minor shall receive no more than 3 informal
    
station adjustments statewide for a misdemeanor offense within 3 years without prior approval from the State's Attorney's Office.
        (c) A minor shall receive no more than 3 informal
    
station adjustments statewide for a felony offense within 3 years without prior approval from the State's Attorney's Office.
        (d) A minor shall receive a combined total of no more
    
than 5 informal station adjustments statewide during his or her minority.
        (e) The juvenile police officer may make reasonable
    
conditions of an informal station adjustment which may include but are not limited to:
            (i) Curfew.
            (ii) Conditions restricting entry into designated
        
geographical areas.
            (iii) No contact with specified persons.
            (iv) School attendance.
            (v) Performing up to 25 hours of community
        
service work.
            (vi) Community mediation.
            (vii) Teen court or a peer court.
            (viii) Restitution limited to 90 days.
        (f) If the minor refuses or fails to abide by the
    
conditions of an informal station adjustment, the juvenile police officer may impose a formal station adjustment or refer the matter to the State's Attorney's Office.
        (g) An informal station adjustment does not
    
constitute an adjudication of delinquency or a criminal conviction. Beginning January 1, 2000, a record shall be maintained with the Department of State Police for informal station adjustments for offenses that would be a felony if committed by an adult, and may be maintained if the offense would be a misdemeanor.
    (2) Formal station adjustment.
        (a) A formal station adjustment is defined as a
    
procedure when a juvenile police officer determines that there is probable cause to believe the minor has committed an offense and an admission by the minor of involvement in the offense.
        (b) The minor and parent, guardian, or legal
    
custodian must agree in writing to the formal station adjustment and must be advised of the consequences of violation of any term of the agreement.
        (c) The minor and parent, guardian or legal custodian
    
shall be provided a copy of the signed agreement of the formal station adjustment. The agreement shall include:
            (i) The offense which formed the basis of the
        
formal station adjustment.
            (ii) An acknowledgment that the terms of the
        
formal station adjustment and the consequences for violation have been explained.
            (iii) An acknowledgment that the formal station
        
adjustments record may be expunged under Section 5-915 of this Act.
            (iv) An acknowledgement that the minor
        
understands that his or her admission of involvement in the offense may be admitted into evidence in future court hearings.
            (v) A statement that all parties understand the
        
terms and conditions of formal station adjustment and agree to the formal station adjustment process.
        (d) Conditions of the formal station adjustment may
    
include, but are not limited to:
            (i) The time shall not exceed 120 days.
            (ii) The minor shall not violate any laws.
            (iii) The juvenile police officer may require the
        
minor to comply with additional conditions for the formal station adjustment which may include but are not limited to:
                (a) Attending school.
                (b) Abiding by a set curfew.
                (c) Payment of restitution.
                (d) Refraining from possessing a firearm or
            
other weapon.
                (e) Reporting to a police officer at
            
designated times and places, including reporting and verification that the minor is at home at designated hours.
                (f) Performing up to 25 hours of community
            
service work.
                (g) Refraining from entering designated
            
geographical areas.
                (h) Participating in community mediation.
                (i) Participating in teen court or peer court.
                (j) Refraining from contact with specified
            
persons.
        (e) A formal station adjustment does not constitute
    
an adjudication of delinquency or a criminal conviction. Beginning January 1, 2000, a record shall be maintained with the Department of State Police for formal station adjustments.
        (f) A minor or the minor's parent, guardian, or legal
    
custodian, or both the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, may refuse a formal station adjustment and have the matter referred for court action or other appropriate action.
        (g) A minor or the minor's parent, guardian, or legal
    
custodian, or both the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, may within 30 days of the commencement of the formal station adjustment revoke their consent and have the matter referred for court action or other appropriate action. This revocation must be in writing and personally served upon the police officer or his or her supervisor.
        (h) The admission of the minor as to involvement in
    
the offense shall be admissible at further court hearings as long as the statement would be admissible under the rules of evidence.
        (i) If the minor violates any term or condition of
    
the formal station adjustment the juvenile police officer shall provide written notice of violation to the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian. After consultation with the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, the juvenile police officer may take any of the following steps upon violation:
            (i) Warn the minor of consequences of continued
        
violations and continue the formal station adjustment.
            (ii) Extend the period of the formal station
        
adjustment up to a total of 180 days.
            (iii) Extend the hours of community service work
        
up to a total of 40 hours.
            (iv) Terminate the formal station adjustment
        
unsatisfactorily and take no other action.
            (v) Terminate the formal station adjustment
        
unsatisfactorily and refer the matter to the juvenile court.
        (j) A minor shall receive no more than 2 formal
    
station adjustments statewide for a felony offense without the State's Attorney's approval within a 3 year period.
        (k) A minor shall receive no more than 3 formal
    
station adjustments statewide for a misdemeanor offense without the State's Attorney's approval within a 3 year period.
        (l) The total for formal station adjustments
    
statewide within the period of minority may not exceed 4 without the State's Attorney's approval.
        (m) If the minor is arrested in a jurisdiction where
    
the minor does not reside, the formal station adjustment may be transferred to the jurisdiction where the minor does reside upon written agreement of that jurisdiction to monitor the formal station adjustment.
    (3) Beginning January 1, 2000, the juvenile police officer making a station adjustment shall assure that information about any offense which would constitute a felony if committed by an adult and may assure that information about a misdemeanor is transmitted to the Department of State Police.
    (4) The total number of station adjustments, both formal and informal, shall not exceed 9 without the State's Attorney's approval for any minor arrested anywhere in the State.
(Source: P.A. 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)

705 ILCS 405/5-305

    (705 ILCS 405/5-305)
    Sec. 5-305. Probation adjustment.
    (1) The court may authorize the probation officer to confer in a preliminary conference with a minor who is alleged to have committed an offense, his or her parent, guardian or legal custodian, the victim, the juvenile police officer, the State's Attorney, and other interested persons concerning the advisability of filing a petition under Section 5-520, with a view to adjusting suitable cases without the filing of a petition as provided for in this Article, the probation officer should schedule a conference promptly except when the State's Attorney insists on court action or when the minor has indicated that he or she will demand a judicial hearing and will not comply with a probation adjustment.
    (1-b) In any case of a minor who is in custody, the holding of a probation adjustment conference does not operate to prolong temporary custody beyond the period permitted by Section 5-415.
    (2) This Section does not authorize any probation officer to compel any person to appear at any conference, produce any papers, or visit any place.
    (3) No statement made during a preliminary conference in regard to the offense that is the subject of the conference may be admitted into evidence at an adjudicatory hearing or at any proceeding against the minor under the criminal laws of this State prior to his or her conviction under those laws.
    (4) When a probation adjustment is appropriate, the probation officer shall promptly formulate a written, non-judicial adjustment plan following the initial conference.
    (5) Non-judicial probation adjustment plans include but are not limited to the following:
        (a) up to 6 months informal supervision within the
    
family;
        (b) up to 12 months informal supervision with a
    
probation officer involved which may include any conditions of probation provided in Section 5-715;
        (c) up to 6 months informal supervision with release
    
to a person other than a parent;
        (d) referral to special educational, counseling, or
    
other rehabilitative social or educational programs;
        (e) referral to residential treatment programs;
        (f) participation in a public or community service
    
program or activity; and
        (g) any other appropriate action with the consent of
    
the minor and a parent.
    (6) The factors to be considered by the probation officer in formulating a non-judicial probation adjustment plan shall be the same as those limited in subsection (4) of Section 5-405.
    (7) Beginning January 1, 2000, the probation officer who imposes a probation adjustment plan shall assure that information about an offense which would constitute a felony if committed by an adult, and may assure that information about a misdemeanor offense, is transmitted to the Department of State Police.
    (8) If the minor fails to comply with any term or condition of the non-judicial probation adjustment, the matter shall be referred to the State's Attorney for determination of whether a petition under this Article shall be filed.
(Source: P.A. 98-892, eff. 1-1-15.)

705 ILCS 405/5-310

    (705 ILCS 405/5-310)
    Sec. 5-310. Community mediation program.
    (1) Program purpose. The purpose of community mediation is to provide a system by which minors who commit delinquent acts may be dealt with in a speedy and informal manner at the community or neighborhood level. The goal is to make the juvenile understand the seriousness of his or her actions and the effect that a crime has on the minor, his or her family, his or her victim and his or her community. In addition, this system offers a method to reduce the ever-increasing instances of delinquent acts while permitting the judicial system to deal effectively with cases that are more serious in nature.
    (2) Community mediation panels. The State's Attorney, or an entity designated by the State's Attorney, may establish community mediation programs designed to provide citizen participation in addressing juvenile delinquency. The State's Attorney, or his or her designee, shall maintain a list of qualified persons who have agreed to serve as community mediators. To the maximum extent possible, panel membership shall reflect the social-economic, racial and ethnic make-up of the community in which the panel sits. The panel shall consist of members with a diverse background in employment, education and life experience.
    (3) Community mediation cases.
        (a) Community mediation programs shall provide one or
    
more community mediation panels to informally hear cases that are referred by a police officer as a station adjustment, or a probation officer as a probation adjustment, or referred by the State's Attorney as a diversion from prosecution.
        (b) Minors who are offered the opportunity to
    
participate in the program must admit responsibility for the offense to be eligible for the program.
    (4) Disposition of cases. Subsequent to any hearing held, the community mediation panel may:
        (a) Refer the minor for placement in a
    
community-based nonresidential program.
        (b) Refer the minor or the minor's family to
    
community counseling.
        (c) Require the minor to perform up to 100 hours of
    
community service.
        (d) Require the minor to make restitution in money or
    
in kind in a case involving property damage; however, the amount of restitution shall not exceed the amount of actual damage to property.
        (e) Require the minor and his or her parent,
    
guardian, or legal custodian to undergo an approved screening for substance abuse or use, or both. If the screening indicates a need, a drug and alcohol assessment of the minor and his or her parent, guardian, or legal custodian shall be conducted by an entity licensed by the Department of Human Services, as a successor to the Department of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse. The minor and his or her parent, guardian, or legal custodian shall adhere to and complete all recommendations to obtain drug and alcohol treatment and counseling resulting from the assessment.
        (f) Require the minor to attend school.
        (g) Require the minor to attend tutorial sessions.
        (h) Impose any other restrictions or sanctions that
    
are designed to encourage responsible and acceptable behavior and are agreed upon by the participants of the community mediation proceedings.
    (5) The agreement shall run no more than 6 months. All community mediation panel members and observers are required to sign the following oath of confidentiality prior to commencing community mediation proceedings:
            "I solemnly swear or affirm that I will not
        
divulge, either by words or signs, any information about the case which comes to my knowledge in the course of a community mediation presentation and that I will keep secret all proceedings which may be held in my presence.
            Further, I understand that if I break
        
confidentiality by telling anyone else the names of community mediation participants, except for information pertaining to the community mediation panelists themselves, or any other specific details of the case which may identify that juvenile, I will no longer be able to serve as a community mediation panel member or observer."
    (6) The State's Attorney shall adopt rules and procedures governing administration of the program.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)

705 ILCS 405/5-315

    (705 ILCS 405/5-315)
    Sec. 5-315. Teen court. The county board or corporate authorities of a municipality, or both, may create or contract with a community based organization for teen court programs.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)

705 ILCS 405/5-325

    (705 ILCS 405/5-325)
    Sec. 5-325. Reports to the State's Attorney. Upon the request of the State's Attorney in the county where it is alleged that a minor has committed a crime, any school or law enforcement agency that has knowledge of those allegations shall forward information or a report concerning the incident to the State's Attorney, provided that the information is not currently protected by any privilege recognized by law or by decision, rule, or order of the Illinois Supreme Court.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)

705 ILCS 405/5-330

    (705 ILCS 405/5-330)
    Sec. 5-330. State's Attorney's discretion to prosecute. Nothing in this Article shall divest the authority of the State's Attorney to file appropriate charges for violations of this Article if he or she has probable cause to believe that the violations have occurred.
(Source: P.A. 90-590, eff. 1-1-99.)