Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/6-512

    (625 ILCS 5/6-512) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-512)
    Sec. 6-512. Unlawful operation of a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to a non-Illinois issued CLP or CDL. No person, after becoming a domiciliary of this State for 30 days or more, shall drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways of this State pursuant to the authority of a CLP or CDL issued by any other State or foreign jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-512.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-512.5)
    Sec. 6-512.5. Commercial Learner's Permit or CLP.
    (a) The content of the CLP shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
        (1) A CLP shall be distinctly marked "Commercial
    
Learner's Permit" or "CLP" and that it is invalid unless accompanied by the underlying driver's license issued by the State of Illinois;
        (2) the full legal name and the Illinois domiciliary
    
address (unless it is a non-domiciled CLP) of the person to whom the CLP is issued;
        (3) a physical description of the person including
    
gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
        (4) date of birth;
        (5) the Illinois driver's license number assigned by
    
the Secretary of State;
        (6) the person's signature;
        (7) an indicator showing that the CLP was issued by
    
the State of Illinois;
        (8) the date of issuance and the date of expiration
    
of the CLP;
        (9) the class or type of commercial vehicle or
    
vehicles which the person is authorized to drive together with any endorsement or restriction.
    (b) If the CLP is a non-domiciled CLP, it must contain the prominent statement that the permit is a "Non-domiciled Commercial Learner's Permit" or "Non-domiciled CLP".
    (c) Applicant Record Check. Prior to issuing, renewing, upgrading, or transferring a CLP, the Secretary of State shall obtain, review, and maintain upon issuance, renewal, upgrade, or transfer the driver applicant's driving record as required by 49 C.F.R. Parts 383 and 384 and the United States Secretary of Transportation.
    (d) Notification of Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) Issuance and Self-Certification. Within 10 days after issuing a CLP, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of that fact, and provide all information required to ensure identification of the person. The Secretary shall also post the driver's self-certification for the type of driving operations to the CDLIS driver record.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-513

    (625 ILCS 5/6-513) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-513)
    Sec. 6-513. Commercial Driver's License or CDL. The content of the CDL shall include, but is not limited to the following:
        (a) A CDL shall be distinctly marked "Commercial
    
Driver's License" or "CDL". It must include, but is not limited to, the following information:
            (1) the full legal name and the Illinois
        
domiciliary address (unless it is a non-domiciled CDL) of the person to whom the CDL is issued;
            (2) a color photograph of the person;
            (3) a physical description of the person
        
including gender, height, weight, color of eyes, and hair color;
            (4) date of birth;
            (5) a CDL or file number assigned by the
        
Secretary of State;
            (6) the person's signature;
            (7) the class or type of commercial vehicle or
        
vehicles which the person is authorized to drive together with any endorsements or restrictions;
            (8) the name of the issuing state;
            (9) the issuance and expiration dates of the CDL;
        
and
            (10) the restriction code "V" if the driver has
        
been issued a medical variance.
        (a-5) If the CDL is a non-domiciled CDL it must
    
contain the prominent statement that the license is a "Non-domiciled Commercial Driver's License" or "Non-domiciled CDL".
        (b) Applicant Record Check. Prior to issuing,
    
renewing, upgrading, or transferring a CDL, the Secretary of State shall obtain, review, and maintain upon issuance, renewal, upgrade, or transfer the driver applicant's driving record as required by 49 C.F.R. Part 383 and Part 384 and the United States Secretary of Transportation.
        (c) Notification of Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
    
Issuance and Self-Certification. Within 10 days after issuing a CDL, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of that fact, and provide all information required to ensure identification of the person. The Secretary shall also post the driver's self-certification for the type of driving operations to the CDLIS driver record.
        (c-5) Change in driver identification information.
    
Within 10 days of any change of driver identification information on any CDL holder, the Secretary of State must notify the Commercial Driver License Information System of the change.
        (d) Renewal. Every person applying for a renewal of a
    
CDL must complete the appropriate application form required by this Code and any other test deemed necessary by the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 97-208, eff. 1-1-12; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-514

    (625 ILCS 5/6-514) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-514)
    Sec. 6-514. Commercial driver's license (CDL); commercial learner's permit (CLP); disqualifications.
    (a) A person shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 12 months for the first violation of:
        (1) Refusing to submit to or failure to complete a
    
test or tests to determine the driver's blood concentration of alcohol, other drug, or both while driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, while driving a non-CMV; or
        (2) Operating a commercial motor vehicle while the
    
alcohol concentration of the person's blood, breath or urine is at least 0.04, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in the person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act as indicated by a police officer's sworn report or other verified evidence; or operating a non-commercial motor vehicle while the alcohol concentration of the person's blood, breath, or urine was above the legal limit defined in Section 11-501.1 or 11-501.8 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in the person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act as indicated by a police officer's sworn report or other verified evidence while holding a CLP or CDL; or
        (3) Conviction for a first violation of:
            (i) Driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if the
        
driver is a CLP or CDL holder, driving a non-CMV while under the influence of alcohol, or any other drug, or combination of drugs to a degree which renders such person incapable of safely driving; or
            (ii) Knowingly leaving the scene of an accident
        
while operating a commercial motor vehicle or, if the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, while driving a non-CMV; or
            (iii) Driving a commercial motor vehicle or, if
        
the driver is a CLP or CDL holder, driving a non-CMV while committing any felony; or
            (iv) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while the
        
person's driving privileges or driver's license or permit is revoked, suspended, or cancelled or the driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle; or
            (v) Causing a fatality through the negligent
        
operation of a commercial motor vehicle, including but not limited to the crimes of motor vehicle manslaughter, homicide by a motor vehicle, and negligent homicide.
            As used in this subdivision (a)(3)(v), "motor
        
vehicle manslaughter" means the offense of involuntary manslaughter if committed by means of a vehicle; "homicide by a motor vehicle" means the offense of first degree murder or second degree murder, if either offense is committed by means of a vehicle; and "negligent homicide" means reckless homicide under Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof under subdivision (d)(1)(F) of Section 11-501 of this Code.
        If any of the above violations or refusals occurred
    
while transporting hazardous material(s) required to be placarded, the person shall be disqualified for a period of not less than 3 years; or
        (4) (Blank).
    (b) A person is disqualified for life for a second conviction of any of the offenses specified in paragraph (a), or any combination of those offenses, arising from 2 or more separate incidents.
    (c) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for life if the person either (i) uses a commercial motor vehicle in the commission of any felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance or (ii) if the person is a CLP or CDL holder, uses a non-CMV in the commission of a felony involving any of those activities.
    (d) The Secretary of State may, when the United States Secretary of Transportation so authorizes, issue regulations in which a disqualification for life under paragraph (b) may be reduced to a period of not less than 10 years. If a reinstated driver is subsequently convicted of another disqualifying offense, as specified in subsection (a) of this Section, he or she shall be permanently disqualified for life and shall be ineligible to again apply for a reduction of the lifetime disqualification.
    (e) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 2 months if convicted of 2 serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, non-CMV while holding a CLP or CDL, or any combination thereof, arising from separate incidents, occurring within a 3 year period, provided the serious traffic violation committed in a non-CMV would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges. However, a person will be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 4 months if convicted of 3 serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, non-CMV while holding a CLP or CDL, or any combination thereof, arising from separate incidents, occurring within a 3 year period, provided the serious traffic violation committed in a non-CMV would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges. If all the convictions occurred in a non-CMV, the disqualification shall be entered only if the convictions would result in the suspension or revocation of the CLP or CDL holder's non-CMV privileges.
    (e-1) (Blank).
    (f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, any driver disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle, pursuant to this UCDLA, shall not be eligible for restoration of commercial driving privileges during any such period of disqualification.
    (g) After suspending, revoking, or cancelling a CLP or CDL, the Secretary of State must update the driver's records to reflect such action within 10 days. After suspending or revoking the driving privilege of any person who has been issued a CLP or CDL from another jurisdiction, the Secretary shall originate notification to such issuing jurisdiction within 10 days.
    (h) The "disqualifications" referred to in this Section shall not be imposed upon any commercial motor vehicle driver, by the Secretary of State, unless the prohibited action(s) occurred after March 31, 1992.
    (i) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle in accordance with the following:
        (1) For 6 months upon a first conviction of paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (2) For 2 years upon a second conviction of paragraph
    
(2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the second conviction is a violation of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3).
        (3) For 3 years upon a third or subsequent conviction
    
of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the third or subsequent conviction is a violation of paragraph (2) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3).
        (4) For one year upon a first conviction of paragraph
    
(3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code.
        (5) For 3 years upon a second conviction of paragraph
    
(3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the second conviction is a violation of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or (b-5).
        (6) For 5 years upon a third or subsequent conviction
    
of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-5) or any combination of paragraphs (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsections (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 of this Code within a 10-year period if the third or subsequent conviction is a violation of paragraph (3) of subsection (b) or (b-5).
    (j) Disqualification for railroad-highway grade crossing violation.
        (1) General rule. A driver who is convicted of a
    
violation of a federal, State, or local law or regulation pertaining to one of the following 6 offenses at a railroad-highway grade crossing must be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for the period of time specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection (j) if the offense was committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle:
            (i) For drivers who are not required to always
        
stop, failing to slow down and check that the tracks are clear of an approaching train or railroad track equipment, as described in subsection (a-5) of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (ii) For drivers who are not required to always
        
stop, failing to stop before reaching the crossing, if the tracks are not clear, as described in subsection (a) of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (iii) For drivers who are always required to
        
stop, failing to stop before driving onto the crossing, as described in Section 11-1202 of this Code;
            (iv) For all drivers, failing to have sufficient
        
space to drive completely through the crossing without stopping, as described in subsection (b) of Section 11-1425 of this Code;
            (v) For all drivers, failing to obey a traffic
        
control device or the directions of an enforcement official at the crossing, as described in subdivision (a)2 of Section 11-1201 of this Code;
            (vi) For all drivers, failing to negotiate a
        
crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance, as described in subsection (d-1) of Section 11-1201 of this Code.
        (2) Duration of disqualification for railroad-highway
    
grade crossing violation.
            (i) First violation. A driver must be
        
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than 60 days if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had no convictions for a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j).
            (ii) Second violation. A driver must be
        
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than 120 days if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had one other conviction for a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) that was committed in a separate incident.
            (iii) Third or subsequent violation. A driver
        
must be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for not less than one year if the driver is convicted of a violation described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) and, in the three-year period preceding the conviction, the driver had 2 or more other convictions for violations described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (j) that were committed in separate incidents.
    (k) Upon notification of a disqualification of a driver's commercial motor vehicle privileges imposed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, in accordance with 49 C.F.R. 383.52, the Secretary of State shall immediately record to the driving record the notice of disqualification and confirm to the driver the action that has been taken.
    (l) A foreign commercial driver is subject to disqualification under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-122, eff. 1-1-14; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-1172, eff. 1-12-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-515

    (625 ILCS 5/6-515) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-515)
    Sec. 6-515. Prohibitions against a person driving a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both in such person's system.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Code, a person shall not drive a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both in such person's system.
    (b) A person who drives a commercial motor vehicle while having any alcohol, other drug, or both, in such person's system or who refuses to submit to or fails to complete an alcohol or other drug test or tests pursuant to Section 6-517, as evidenced by the issuance of a Sworn Report by a police officer, must be placed "out-of-service" for at least 24 hours.
    (c) The police officer shall provide the Secretary of State with a copy of all Sworn Reports issued pursuant to this UCDLA.
    (d) The "out-of-service" referred to in this Section shall not be entered to the record of any Illinois commercial motor vehicle driver, by the Secretary of State, unless the prohibited action or actions occurred after March 31, 1992.
(Source: P.A. 88-212.)

625 ILCS 5/6-516

    (625 ILCS 5/6-516) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-516)
    Sec. 6-516. Implied consent requirements for commercial motor vehicle drivers.
    (a) Effective April 1, 1992, any person who drives a commercial motor vehicle upon the highways is hereby deemed to have given consent to submit to a test or tests, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, of such person's breath, blood or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol, or other drugs, in such person's system.
    (b) A test or tests may be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer, who after stopping or detaining the commercial motor vehicle driver, has probable cause to believe that driver was driving a commercial motor vehicle while having alcohol or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in such driver's system.
    (c) Effective April 1, 1992, any person who operates a school bus at the time of an accident involving the school bus is hereby deemed to have given consent to submit to a test or tests to be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, of the driver's breath, blood or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol, or other drugs, in the person's system.
(Source: P.A. 95-355, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/6-517

    (625 ILCS 5/6-517) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-517)
    Sec. 6-517. Commercial driver; implied consent warnings.
    (a) Any person driving a commercial motor vehicle who is requested by a police officer, pursuant to Section 6-516, to submit to a chemical test or tests to determine the alcohol concentration or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in such person's system, must be warned by the police officer requesting the test or tests that a refusal to submit to the test or tests will result in that person being immediately placed out-of-service for a period of 24 hours and being disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than 12 months; the person shall also be warned that if such person submits to testing which discloses an alcohol concentration of greater than 0.00 but less than 0.04 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, such person shall be placed immediately out-of-service for a period of 24 hours; if the person submits to testing which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, such person shall be placed immediately out-of-service and disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of at least 12 months; also the person shall be warned that if such testing discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08, or more or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, in addition to the person being immediately placed out-of-service and disqualified for 12 months as provided in this UCDLA, the results of such testing shall also be admissible in prosecutions for violations of Section 11-501 of this Code, or similar violations of local ordinances, however, such results shall not be used to impose any driving sanctions pursuant to Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    The person shall also be warned that any disqualification imposed pursuant to this Section, shall be for life for any such offense or refusal, or combination thereof; including a conviction for violating Section 11-501 while driving a commercial motor vehicle, or similar provisions of local ordinances, committed a second time involving separate incidents.
    A person requested to submit to a test shall also acknowledge, in writing, receipt of the warning required under this Section. If the person refuses to acknowledge receipt of the warning, the police officer shall make a written notation on the warning that the person refused to sign the warning. A person's refusal to sign the warning shall not be evidence that the person was not read the warning.
    (b) If the person refuses or fails to complete testing, or submits to a test which discloses an alcohol concentration of at least 0.04, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the law enforcement officer must submit a Sworn Report to the Secretary of State, in a form prescribed by the Secretary, certifying that the test or tests was requested pursuant to paragraph (a); that the person was warned, as provided in paragraph (a) and that such person refused to submit to or failed to complete testing, or submitted to a test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (c) The police officer submitting the Sworn Report under this Section shall serve notice of the CDL disqualification on the person and such CDL disqualification shall be effective as provided in paragraph (d). In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, is established by subsequent analysis of blood or urine collected at the time of the request, the police officer shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of such notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of such notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to such person's domiciliary address as shown on the Sworn Report and the CDL disqualification shall begin as provided in paragraph (d).
    (d) The CDL disqualification referred to in this Section shall take effect on the 46th day following the date the Sworn Report was given to the affected person.
    (e) Upon receipt of the Sworn Report from the police officer, the Secretary of State shall disqualify the person from driving any commercial motor vehicle and shall confirm the CDL disqualification by mailing the notice of the effective date to the person. However, should the Sworn Report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the confirmation of the CDL disqualification shall not be mailed to the affected person or entered into the record, instead the Sworn Report shall be forwarded to the issuing agency identifying any such defect.
(Source: P.A. 99-467, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-518

    (625 ILCS 5/6-518) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-518)
    Sec. 6-518. Notification of traffic convictions.
    (a) Within 5 days after receiving a report of an Illinois conviction, or other verified evidence, of any driver who has been issued a CLP or CDL by another State or has been issued a foreign commercial driver's license, for a violation of any law or local ordinance of this State, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than parking violations, committed in any motor vehicle, the Secretary of State must notify the driver licensing authority which issued such CLP or CDL of said conviction.
    (b) Within 5 days after receiving a report of an Illinois conviction, or other verified evidence, of any driver from another state who is licensed or unlicensed or holds a foreign non-commercial driver's license, for a violation of any law or local ordinance of this State, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than parking violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle, the Secretary of State must notify the driver licensing authority which issued the person's driver's license of the conviction.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176); 98-722, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-519

    (625 ILCS 5/6-519) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-519)
    Sec. 6-519. Driving Record Information To Be Furnished. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the Secretary of State shall furnish the following information regarding a commercial driver's driving record: all information on CDLIS driver records to the driver licensing administrator of any other State; all information on CDLIS driver records to the U.S. Department of Transportation; all information on the CDLIS driver record obtained on the CDLIS motor vehicle record to the affected driver or a motor carrier or prospective motor carrier requesting such information; all information on the CDLIS driver record obtained on the CDLIS motor vehicle record of a current or prospective driver to a motor carrier or prospective motor carrier requesting such information within 10 days of the request; and any other entity or person authorized to receive such information pursuant to Section 2-123 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-208, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/6-520

    (625 ILCS 5/6-520) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-520)
    Sec. 6-520. CDL disqualification or out-of-service order; hearing.
    (a) A disqualification of commercial driving privileges by the Secretary of State, pursuant to this UCDLA, shall not become effective until the person is notified in writing, by the Secretary, of the impending disqualification and advised that a CDL hearing may be requested of the Secretary if the stop or arrest occurred in a commercial motor vehicle.
    (b) Upon receipt of: the notice of a CDL disqualification not based upon a conviction; an out-of-service order; or notification that a CDL disqualification is forthcoming, the person may make a written petition in a form, approved by the Secretary of State, for a CDL hearing with the Secretary if the stop or arrest occurred in a commercial motor vehicle. Such petition must state the grounds upon which the person seeks to have the CDL disqualification rescinded or the out-of-service order removed from the person's driving record. Within 10 days after the receipt of such petition, it shall be reviewed by the Director of the Department of Administrative Hearings, Office of the Secretary of State, or by an appointed designee. If it is determined that the petition on its face does not state grounds upon which the relief may be based, the petition for a CDL hearing shall be denied and the disqualification shall become effective as if no petition had been filed and the out-of-service order shall be sustained. If such petition is so denied, the person may submit another petition.
    (c) The scope of a CDL hearing, for any disqualification imposed pursuant to paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (a) of Section 6-514, resulting from the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, shall be limited to the following issues:
        1. Whether the person was operating a commercial
    
motor vehicle;
        2. Whether, after making the initial stop, the police
    
officer had probable cause to issue a Sworn Report;
        3. Whether the person was verbally warned of the
    
ensuing consequences prior to submitting to any type of chemical test or tests to determine such person's blood concentration of alcohol, other drug, or both;
        4. Whether the person did refuse to submit to or
    
failed to complete the chemical testing or did submit to such test or tests and such test or tests disclosed an alcohol concentration of at least 0.04 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in the person's system;
        5. Whether the person was warned that if the test or
    
tests disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, such results could be admissible in a subsequent prosecution under Section 11-501 of this Code or similar provision of local ordinances; and
        6. Whether such results could not be used to impose
    
any driver's license sanctions pursuant to Section 11-501.1.
    Upon the conclusion of the above CDL hearing, the CDL disqualification imposed shall either be sustained or rescinded.
    (d) The scope of a CDL hearing for any out-of-service sanction, imposed pursuant to Section 6-515, shall be limited to the following issues:
        1. Whether the person was driving a commercial motor
    
vehicle;
        2. Whether, while driving such commercial motor
    
vehicle, the person had alcohol or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act in such person's system;
        3. Whether the person was verbally warned of the
    
ensuing consequences prior to being asked to submit to any type of chemical test or tests to determine such person's alcohol, other drug, or both, concentration; and
        4. Whether, after being so warned, the person did
    
refuse to submit to or failed to complete such chemical test or tests or did submit to such test or tests and such test or tests disclosed an alcohol concentration greater than 0.00 or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    Upon the conclusion of the above CDL hearing, the out-of-service sanction shall either be sustained or removed from the person's driving record.
    (e) If any person petitions for a hearing relating to any CDL disqualification based upon a conviction, as defined in this UCDLA, said hearing shall not be conducted as a CDL hearing, but shall be conducted as any other driver's license hearing, whether formal or informal, as promulgated in the rules and regulations of the Secretary.
    (f) Any evidence of alcohol or other drug consumption, for the purposes of this UCDLA, shall be sufficient probable cause for requesting the driver to submit to a chemical test or tests to determine the presence of alcohol, other drug, or both in the person's system and the subsequent issuance of an out-of-service order or a Sworn Report by a police officer.
    (g) For the purposes of this UCDLA, a CDL "hearing" shall mean a hearing before the Office of the Secretary of State in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code, for the purpose of resolving differences or disputes specifically related to the scope of the issues identified in this Section relating to the operation of a commercial motor vehicle. These proceedings will be a matter of record and a final appealable order issued. The petition for a CDL hearing shall not stay or delay the effective date of the impending disqualification.
    (h) The CDL hearing may be conducted upon a review of the police officer's own official reports; provided however, that the petitioner may subpoena the officer. Failure of the officer to answer the subpoena shall be grounds for a continuance.
    (i) Any CDL disqualification based upon a statutory summary suspension or revocation resulting from an arrest of a CDL holder while operating a non-commercial motor vehicle, may only be contested by filing a petition to contest the statutory summary suspension or revocation in the appropriate circuit court as provided for in Section 2-118.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-382, eff. 8-23-07; 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-521

    (625 ILCS 5/6-521) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-521)
    Sec. 6-521. Rulemaking Authority.
    (a) The Secretary of State, using the authority to license motor vehicle operators under this Code, may adopt such rules and regulations as may be necessary to establish standards, policies and procedures for the licensing and sanctioning of commercial motor vehicle drivers in order to meet the requirements of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Act of 1986 (CMVSA); subsequent federal rulemaking under 49 C.F.R. Part 383 or Part 1572; and administrative and policy decisions of the U.S. Secretary of Transportation and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. The Secretary may, as provided in the CMVSA, establish stricter requirements for the licensing of commercial motor vehicle drivers than those established by the federal government.
    (b) By January 1, 1994, the Secretary of State shall establish rules and regulations for the issuance of a restricted commercial driver's license for farm-related service industries consistent with federal guidelines. The restricted license shall be available for a seasonal period or periods not to exceed a total of 180 days in any 12 month period.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) By July 1, 1995, the Secretary of State shall establish rules and regulations for the issuance and cancellation of a School Bus Driver's Permit. The permit shall be required for the operation of a school bus as provided in subsection (c), a non-restricted CDL with passenger endorsement, or a properly classified driver's license. The permit will establish that the school bus driver has met all the requirements of the application and screening process established by Section 6-106.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 98-726, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-522

    (625 ILCS 5/6-522) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-522)
    Sec. 6-522. Authority to Enter Agreements. The Secretary of State may enter into or make agreements, arrangements, or declarations to carry out the provisions of this UCDLA.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-523

    (625 ILCS 5/6-523) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-523)
    Sec. 6-523. Reciprocity.
    (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a person may drive a commercial motor vehicle in this State if the person has a valid CDL, non-domiciled CDL, CLP, or non-domiciled CLP issued by another State or foreign jurisdiction as long as that person has not been an established domiciliary of this State for 30 days or more.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall give out of state convictions full faith and credit and treat them for sanctioning purposes, under this UCDLA, just as if they occurred in this State.
    (c) A CLP or CDL issued by this State or any other state before the date on and after which the state is prohibited from issuing CLPs or CDLs under 49 C.F.R. Part 384, remains valid until its stated expiration date.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-524

    (625 ILCS 5/6-524) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-524)
    Sec. 6-524. Penalties.
    (a) Every person convicted of violating any provision of this UCDLA for which another penalty is not provided shall for a first offense be guilty of a petty offense; and for a second conviction for any offense committed within 3 years of any previous offense, shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
    (b) Any person convicted of violating subsection (b) of Section 6-506 of this Code shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000.
    (c) Any person or employer convicted of violating paragraph (5) of subsection (a) or subsection (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-506 shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $2,750 nor more than $25,000.
    (d) Any person convicted of violating paragraph (2) or (3) of subsection (b) or subsection (b-3) or (b-5) of Section 6-507 shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $2,750 nor more than $25,000 for a first conviction and not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000 for a second conviction.
(Source: P.A. 95-382, eff. 8-23-07; 96-544, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1080, eff. 7-16-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-525

    (625 ILCS 5/6-525) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-525)
    Sec. 6-525. Severability. The provisions of this UCLDA shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision of this UCLDA is declared to be contrary to the Constitutions of this State, or of the United States, such unconstitutionality shall not affect the validity of the remainder of this UCDLA.
(Source: P.A. 86-845.)

625 ILCS 5/6-526

    (625 ILCS 5/6-526)
    Sec. 6-526. Prohibition against texting.
    (a) A driver may not engage in texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
    (b) A motor carrier may not allow or require its drivers to engage in texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
    (c) For the purpose of this Section, when a person is operating a commercial motor vehicle, driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle on a highway, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor vehicle when the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and has halted in a location where the vehicle can safely remain stationary.
    (d) Texting while driving is permissible by a driver of a commercial motor vehicle when necessary to communicate with law enforcement officials or other emergency services.
(Source: P.A. 97-829, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-527

    (625 ILCS 5/6-527)
    Sec. 6-527. Using a hand-held mobile telephone.
    (a) A driver may not use a hand-held mobile telephone while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
    (b) A motor carrier may not allow or require its drivers to use a hand-held mobile telephone while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
    (c) For the purpose of this Section, driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle on a highway, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor vehicle when the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and has halted in a location where the vehicle can safely remain stationary.
    (d) Using a hand-held mobile telephone is permissible by a driver of a commercial motor vehicle when necessary to communicate with law enforcement officials or other emergency services.
(Source: P.A. 97-829, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VI

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VI heading)
ARTICLE VI. PENALTIES

625 ILCS 5/6-601

    (625 ILCS 5/6-601) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-601)
    Sec. 6-601. Penalties.
    (a) It is a petty offense for any person to violate any of the provisions of this Chapter unless such violation is by this Code or other law of this State declared to be a misdemeanor or a felony.
    (b) General penalties. Unless another penalty is in this Code or other laws of this State, every person convicted of a petty offense for the violation of any provision of this Chapter shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500.
    (c) Unlicensed driving. Except as hereinafter provided a violation of Section 6-101 shall be:
        1. A Class A misdemeanor if the person failed to
    
obtain a driver's license or permit after expiration of a period of revocation.
        2. A Class B misdemeanor if the person has been
    
issued a driver's license or permit, which has expired, and if the period of expiration is greater than one year; or if the person has never been issued a driver's license or permit, or is not qualified to obtain a driver's license or permit because of his age.
        3. A petty offense if the person has been issued a
    
temporary visitor's driver's license or permit and is unable to provide proof of liability insurance as provided in subsection (d-5) of Section 6-105.1.
    If a licensee under this Code is convicted of violating Section 6-303 for operating a motor vehicle during a time when such licensee's driver's license was suspended under the provisions of Section 6-306.3 or 6-308, then such act shall be a petty offense (provided the licensee has answered the charge which was the basis of the suspension under Section 6-306.3 or 6-308), and there shall be imposed no additional like period of suspension as provided in paragraph (b) of Section 6-303.
    (d) For violations of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance for which a violation is a petty offense as defined by Section 5-1-17 of the Unified Code of Corrections, excluding business offenses as defined by Section 5-1-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a violation of Section 15-111 or subsection (d) of Section 3-401 of this Code, if the violation may be satisfied without a court appearance, the violator may, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule, satisfy the case with a written plea of guilty and payment of fines, penalties, and costs equal to the bail amount established by the Supreme Court for the offense.
(Source: P.A. 97-1157, eff. 11-28-13; 98-870, eff. 1-1-15; 98-1134, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. DRIVER LICENSE COMPACT

625 ILCS 5/6-700

    (625 ILCS 5/6-700) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-700)
    Sec. 6-700. Definitions.
    As used in this compact:
    (a) "State" means a state, territory or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
    (b) "Home state" means the state which has issued and has the power to suspend or revoke the use of the license or permit to operate a motor vehicle.
    (c) "Conviction" means a conviction of any offense related to the use or operation of a motor vehicle which is prohibited by state law, municipal ordinance or administrative rule or regulation, or a forfeiture of bail, bond or other security deposited to secure appearance by a person charged with having committed any such offense, and which conviction or forfeiture is required to be reported to the licensing authority.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-701

    (625 ILCS 5/6-701) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-701)
    Sec. 6-701. Findings and Declaration of Policy.
        (a) The party states find that:
    1. The safety of their streets and highways is materially affected by the degree of compliance with state laws and local ordinances relating to the operation of motor vehicles.
    2. Violation of such a law or ordinance is evidence that the violator engages in conduct which is likely to endanger the safety of persons and property.
    3. The continuance in force of a license to drive is predicated upon compliance with laws and ordinances relating to the operation of motor vehicles, in whichever jurisdiction the vehicle is operated.
    (b) It is the policy of each of the party states to:
    1. Promote compliance with the laws, ordinances and administrative rules and regulations relating to the operation of motor vehicles by their operators in each of the jurisdictions where such operators drive motor vehicles.
    2. Make the reciprocal recognition of licenses to drive and eligibility therefor more just and equitable by considering the over-all compliance with motor vehicle laws, ordinances and administrative rules and regulations as a condition precedent to the continuance or issuance of any license by reason of which the licensee is authorized or permitted to operate a motor vehicle in any of the party states.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-702

    (625 ILCS 5/6-702) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-702)
    Sec. 6-702. Reports of Conviction.
    The licensing authority of a party state shall report each conviction of a person from another party state occurring within its jurisdiction to the licensing authority of the home state of the licensee. Such report shall clearly identify the person convicted; describe the violation specifying the section of the statute, code or ordinance violated; identify the court in which action was taken; indicate whether a plea of guilty or not guilty was entered, or the conviction was a result of the forfeiture of bail, bond or other security; and shall include any special findings made in connection therewith.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-703

    (625 ILCS 5/6-703) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-703)
    Sec. 6-703. Effect of Conviction.
    (a) The licensing authority in the home state, for the purposes of suspension, revocation or limitation of the license to operate a motor vehicle, shall give the same effect to the conduct reported, pursuant to Section 6-702, as it would if such conduct had occurred in the home state, in the case of convictions for:
    1. Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
    2. Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a narcotic drug, or under the influence of any other drug to a degree which renders the driver incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle;
    3. Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
    4. Failure to stop and render aid in the event of a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury of another.
    (b) As to other convictions, reported pursuant to Section 6-702, the licensing authority in the home state shall give such effect to the conduct as is provided by the laws of the home state.
    (c) If the laws of a party state do not provide for offenses or violations denominated or described in precisely the words employed in paragraph (a) of this Section, such party state shall construe the denominations and descriptions appearing in paragraph (a) hereof as being applicable to and identifying those offenses or violations of a substantially similar nature, and the laws of such party state shall contain such provision as may be necessary to ensure that full force and effect is given to this Section.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-704

    (625 ILCS 5/6-704) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-704)
    Sec. 6-704. Applications for new licenses. Upon application for a license to drive, the licensing authority in a party state shall ascertain whether the applicant has ever held, or is the holder of a license to drive issued by any other party state. The licensing authority in the state where application is made shall not issue a license to drive to the applicant if:
        1. The applicant has held such a license, but the
    
same has been suspended by reason, in whole or in part, of a violation and if such suspension period has not terminated.
        2. The applicant has held such a license, but the
    
same has been revoked by reason, in whole or in part, of a violation and if such revocation has not terminated, except that after the expiration of one year from the date the license was revoked, such person may make application for a new license if permitted by law. The licensing authority may refuse to issue a license to any such applicant if, after investigation, the licensing authority determines that it will not be safe to grant to such person the privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the public highways.
        3. The applicant is the holder of a license to drive
    
issued by another party state and currently in force unless the applicant surrenders this license, except that if an applicant is applying only for a non-domiciled commercial learner's permit or non-domiciled commercial driver's license, the applicant is not required to surrender the license issued by the applicant's state or country of domicile.
(Source: P.A. 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-705

    (625 ILCS 5/6-705) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-705)
    Sec. 6-705. Applicability of Other Laws.
    Except as expressly required by provisions of this compact, nothing contained herein shall be construed to affect the right of any party state to apply any of its other laws relating to the licenses to drive to any person or circumstance, nor to invalidate or prevent any driver license agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a nonparty state.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-706

    (625 ILCS 5/6-706) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-706)
    Sec. 6-706. Compact Administrator and Interchange of Information.
    (a) The head of the licensing authority of each party state shall be administrator of this compact for his state. The administrators, acting jointly, shall have the power to formulate all necessary and proper procedures for the exchange of information under this compact.
    (b) The administrator of each party state shall furnish to the administrator of each other party state any information or documents reasonably necessary to facilitate the administration of this compact.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-707

    (625 ILCS 5/6-707) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-707)
    Sec. 6-707. Entry into Force and Withdrawal.
    (a) This compact shall enter into force and become effective as to any state when it has enacted the same into law.
    (b) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the same, but no such withdrawal shall take effect until 6 months after the executive head of the withdrawing state has given notice of the withdrawal to the executive heads of all other party states. No withdrawal shall affect the validity or applicability by the licensing authorities of states remaining party to the compact of any report of conviction occurring prior to the withdrawal.
(Source: P.A. 76-1615.)

625 ILCS 5/6-708

    (625 ILCS 5/6-708) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-708)
    Sec. 6-708. Construction and Severability.
    (a) This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The provisions of this compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision of this compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the United States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person or circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this compact and the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any state party thereto, the compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining states and in full force and effect as to the state affected as to all severable matters.
    (b) As used in the compact, the term "licensing authority" with reference to this state, means the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State shall furnish to the appropriate authorities of any other party state any information or documents reasonably necessary to facilitate the administration of Sections 6-702, 6-703 and 6-704 of the compact.
    (c) The compact administrator provided for in Section 6-706 of the compact shall not be entitled to any additional compensation on account of his service as such administrator, but shall be entitled to expenses incurred in connection with his duties and responsibilities as such administrator, in the same manner as for expenses incurred in connection with any other duties or responsibilities of his office or employment.
    (d) As used in the compact, with reference to this state, the term "executive head" shall mean the Governor.
    (e) The phrase "manslaughter or negligent homicide," as used in subparagraph (1) of paragraph (a) of Section 6-703 of the compact includes the offense of reckless homicide as defined in Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or in any predecessor statute, as well as the offenses of second degree murder and involuntary manslaughter.
    The offense described in subparagraph (2) of paragraph (a) of Section 6-703 of the compact includes any violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or any similar provision of a local ordinance.
    The offense described in subparagraph (4) of paragraph (a) of Section 6-703 of the compact includes any violation of paragraph (a) of Section 11-401 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. VIII heading)
ARTICLE VIII. NONRESIDENT VIOLATOR COMPACT

625 ILCS 5/6-800

    (625 ILCS 5/6-800) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-800)
    Sec. 6-800. The Nonresident Violator Compact, hereinafter referred to as the Compact, is hereby enacted into law and entered into with all other jurisdictions legally joining therein.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-801

    (625 ILCS 5/6-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-801)
    Sec. 6-801. Findings, Declaration of Policy and Purpose. (a) The party jurisdictions find that:
    1. In most instances, a motorist who is cited for a traffic violation in a jurisdiction other than the motorist's home jurisdiction:
    (i) Must post collateral or bond to secure appearance for trial at a later date; or
    (ii) If unable to post collateral or bond, is taken into custody until the collateral or bond is posted; or
    (iii) Is taken directly to court for immediate disposition.
    2. A motorist receiving a traffic citation in the motorist's home jurisdiction is permitted, except for certain violations, to accept the citation from the officer at the scene of the violation, voluntarily deposit a valid driver's license and immediately continue after promising or being instructed to comply with the terms of the citation.
    3. The purpose of the practices described in subsections 1 and 2 of paragraph (a) is to ensure compliance with the terms of a traffic citation by the motorist who, if permitted to continue after receiving the traffic citation, could return to the motorist's home jurisdiction and disregard any duty under the terms of the traffic citation.
    4. The practice described in subsection 1 of paragraph (a) causes unnecessary inconvenience and, at times, a hardship for the motorist who is unable at the time to post collateral, furnish a bond, stand trial, or pay the fine, and thus is compelled to remain in custody until some arrangement can be made.
    5. The deposit of a driver's license as a bail bond, as described in subsection 2 of paragraph (a), is viewed with disfavor.
    6. The practices described herein consume an undue amount of law enforcement time.
    (b) It is the policy of the party jurisdictions to:
    1. Seek compliance with the laws, ordinances, and administrative rules and regulations relating to the operation of motor vehicles in each of the jurisdictions.
    2. Allow a motorist to accept a traffic citation for certain violations and proceed without delay whether or not the motorist is a resident of the jurisdiction in which the citation was issued.
    3. Extend cooperation to its fullest extent among the jurisdictions for obtaining compliance with the terms of a traffic citation issued in one jurisdiction to a resident of another jurisdiction.
    4. Maximize effective utilization of law enforcement personnel and assist court systems in the efficient disposition of traffic violations.
    (c) The purpose of the Compact is to:
    1. Provide a means through which the party jurisdictions may participate in a reciprocal program to effectuate the policies enumerated in paragraph (b) above in a uniform and orderly manner.
    2. Provide for the fair and impartial treatment of traffic violators operating within party jurisdictions in recognition of the motorist's right of due process and the sovereign status of a party jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-802

    (625 ILCS 5/6-802) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-802)
    Sec. 6-802. Definitions. In the Nonresident Violator Compact, the following words have the meanings indicated, unless the context requires otherwise.
    1. "Citation" means any summons, ticket, or other official document issued by a police officer for a traffic violation containing an order which requires the motorist to respond.
    2. "Collateral" means any cash or other security deposited to secure an appearance for trial, following the issuance by a police officer of a citation for a traffic violation.
    3. "Court" means a court of law or traffic tribunal.
    4. "Driver's license" means any license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle issued under the laws of this State.
    5. "Home Jurisdiction" means the jurisdiction that issued the driver's license of the traffic violator.
    6. "Issuing jurisdiction" means the jurisdiction in which the traffic citation was issued to the motorist.
    7. "Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
    8. "Motorist" means a driver of a motor vehicle operating in a party jurisdiction.
    9. "Personal recognizance" means an agreement by a motorist made at the time of issuance of the traffic citation that such motorist will comply with the terms of that traffic citation.
    10. "Police officer" means every officer authorized to make arrests and issue citations for traffic violations.
    11. "Secretary" means the Illinois Secretary of State.
    12. "Terms of the citation" means those options expressly stated upon the citation.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-803

    (625 ILCS 5/6-803) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-803)
    Sec. 6-803. Procedure for Issuing Jurisdiction. (a) When issuing a citation for a traffic violation, a police officer shall issue the citation to a motorist who possesses a valid driver's license issued by a party jurisdiction and shall not, subject to the exceptions noted in Section 6-306.4 of this Code and paragraph (b) of this Section require the motorist to post collateral to secure appearance, if the officer receives the motorist's personal recognizance to comply with the terms of the citation.
    (b) Personal recognizance is acceptable only if not prohibited by law. If mandatory appearance is required, it must take place according to law, following issuance of the citation.
    (c) Upon failure of a motorist to comply with the terms of a traffic citation, the appropriate official shall report the failure to comply, in a manner prescribed by the Secretary, to the licensing authority of the jurisdiction in which the traffic citation was issued. The report shall be made in accordance with procedures specified by the Secretary and shall contain information as specified by the Secretary as minimum requirements for effective processing by the home jurisdiction.
    (d) Upon receipt of the report, the Secretary shall transmit to the licensing authority in the home jurisdiction of the motorist the information in a form and content as contained in the Compact Manual.
    (e) The Secretary may not, except as provided under Section 6-306.4 of this Code, suspend the privileges of a motorist for whom a report has been transmitted, under the terms of this Compact, to another member jurisdiction.
    (f) The Secretary shall not transmit a report on any violation if the date of transmission is more than 6 months after the date on which the traffic citation was issued.
    (g) The Secretary shall not transmit a report on any violation where the date of issuance of the citation predates the most recent of the effective dates of entry for the two jurisdictions affected.
(Source: P.A. 84-1231.)

625 ILCS 5/6-804

    (625 ILCS 5/6-804) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-804)
    Sec. 6-804. Procedure for Home Jurisdiction. (a) Upon receipt of a report of a failure to comply from the Secretary, the licensing authority of the home jurisdiction shall notify the motorist and initiate a suspension action in accordance with the home jurisdiction's procedures to suspend the motorist's driver's license until satisfactory evidence of compliance with the terms of the traffic citation has been furnished to the Secretary. Due process safeguards will be accorded.
    (b) The Secretary shall maintain a record of actions taken and make reports to issuing jurisdictions as provided in the Compact Manual.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-805

    (625 ILCS 5/6-805) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-805)
    Sec. 6-805. Applicability of Other Laws. Except as expressly required by provisions of this Compact, nothing contained herein shall be construed to affect the right of any party jurisdiction to apply any of its other laws relating to licenses to drive to any person or circumstance, or to invalidate or prevent any driver license agreement or other cooperative agreement between a party jurisdiction and a nonparty jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-806

    (625 ILCS 5/6-806) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-806)
    Sec. 6-806. Compact Administrator Procedures. (a) For the purpose of administering the provisions of this Compact and to serve as a governing body for the resolution of all matters relating to the operation of this Compact, a Board of Compact Administrators is established. The Board shall be composed of one representative from each party jurisdiction to be known as the Compact Administrator. The Compact Administrator shall be appointed by the Secretary and will serve and be subject to removal in accordance with the laws of the jurisdiction represented. A Compact Administrator may provide for the discharge of duties and the performance of the functions as a Board Member to an alternate. An alternate may not be entitled to serve unless written identification notice has been given to the Board.
    (b) Each member of the Board of Compact Administrators shall be entitled to one vote. No action of the Board shall be binding unless taken at a meeting at which a majority of the total number of votes on the Board are cast in favor. Action by the Board shall be only at a meeting at which a majority of the party jurisdictions are represented.
    (c) The Board shall elect annually, from its membership, a Chairman and Vice Chairman.
    (d) The Board shall adopt bylaws, not inconsistent with the provisions of this Compact or the laws of a party jurisdiction, for the conduct of its business and shall have the power to amend and rescind its bylaws.
    (e) The Board may accept, for any of its purposes and functions under this Compact, any and all donations, grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials and services, conditional or otherwise, from any jurisdiction, the United States, or any other governmental agency, and may receive, utilize and dispose of the same.
    (f) The Board may contract with, or accept services or personnel from, any governmental or intergovernmental agency, person, firm, or corporation, or any private nonprofit organization or institution.
    (g) The Board shall formulate all necessary procedures and develop uniform forms and documents for administering the provisions of this Compact. All procedures and forms adopted pursuant to Board action shall be contained in the Compact Manual.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-807

    (625 ILCS 5/6-807) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-807)
    Sec. 6-807. Entry into Compact and Withdrawal. (a) This Compact shall become effective when it has been adopted by at least 2 jurisdictions.
    (b) Entry into the Compact shall be made by a Resolution of Ratification executed by the Secretary and submitted to the Chairman of the Board.
    1. The resolution shall be in a form and content as provided in the Compact Manual and shall include statements that in substance are as follows:
    (i) A citation of the authority by which the jurisdiction is empowered to become a party to this Compact.
    (ii) Agreement to comply with the terms and provisions of the Compact.
    (iii) That Compact entry is with all jurisdictions then party to the Compact and with any jurisdiction that legally becomes a party to the Compact.
    2. The effective date of entry shall be specified by the Secretary, but it shall not be before July 1, 1984 nor fewer than 60 days after notice has been given by the Chairman of the Board of Compact Administrators or by the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators that each party jurisdiction has received the Secretary's resolution.
    A withdrawal shall not take effect until 90 days after notice of withdrawal is given. The notice shall be directed to the Compact Administrator of each member jurisdiction. No withdrawal shall affect the validity of this Compact as to the remaining party jurisdictions.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-808

    (625 ILCS 5/6-808) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-808)
    Sec. 6-808. Exceptions. The provisions of this Compact shall not apply to parking or standing violations, highway weight limit violations, or to violations of law governing the transportation of hazardous materials.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-809

    (625 ILCS 5/6-809) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-809)
    Sec. 6-809. Amendments to the Compact. (a) This Compact may be amended from time to time. Amendments shall be presented in resolution form to the Chairman of the Board of Compact Administrators and may be initiated by one or more party jurisdictions.
    (b) Adoption of an amendment shall require endorsement of all party jurisdictions and shall become effective 30 days after the date of the last endorsement.
    (c) Failure of a party jurisdiction to respond to the Compact Chairman within 12 days after receipt of the proposed amendment shall constitute endorsement.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/6-810

    (625 ILCS 5/6-810) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-810)
    Sec. 6-810. Construction. This Compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes stated herein.
    If this Compact shall be held contrary to the Constitution of any jurisdiction party thereto, the Compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining jurisdictions.
(Source: P.A. 83-385.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. IX

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. IX heading)
ARTICLE IX. DRIVER'S LICENSE MEDICAL REVIEW LAW OF 1992

625 ILCS 5/6-900

    (625 ILCS 5/6-900) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-900)
    Sec. 6-900. Short title. This Article may be cited as the Driver's License Medical Review Law of 1992.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-901

    (625 ILCS 5/6-901) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-901)
    Sec. 6-901. Definitions. For the purposes of this Article:
    "Board" means the Driver's License Medical Advisory Board.
    "Medical examiner" or "medical practitioner" means:
        (i) any person licensed to practice medicine in all
    
its branches in the State of Illinois or any other state;
        (ii) a licensed physician assistant; or
        (iii) a licensed advanced practice nurse.
(Source: P.A. 99-173, eff. 7-29-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-902

    (625 ILCS 5/6-902) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-902)
    Sec. 6-902. Driver's License Medical Advisory Board; membership; terms; compensation; meetings.
    (a) There is established within the Office of the Secretary of State a Driver's License Medical Advisory Board consisting of at least 9 members appointed by the Secretary. Members' terms of service shall be set by the Secretary at his or her discretion. The members of the Board shall receive compensation from the Secretary at a rate per day designated by the Secretary for each day required for transacting business of the Board and shall be reimbursed for expenses reasonably incurred in the performance of their duties. The Secretary may also call in allied medical personnel to advise and consult with the Board. The Secretary shall select one of the members to act as Chairperson.
    (b) The Board, or any of its subdivisions, may meet at any place within the State and shall meet at the call of the Secretary as frequently as he or she deems necessary in order to properly discharge the functions prescribed by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-903

    (625 ILCS 5/6-903) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-903)
    Sec. 6-903. Standard for determining medical limitation; records.
    (a) The Secretary in cooperation with the Board shall establish standards for determining the degree to which a person's medical condition constitutes a limitation to the person's ability to operate a motor vehicle or causes the person to be a driving hazard.
    (b) The standards may include, but need not be limited to, the following:
        (1) Physical disorders characterized by momentary or
    
prolonged lapses of consciousness or control.
        (2) Disorders and impairments affecting the
    
cardiovascular functions.
        (3) Musculoskeletal disabilities and disorders
    
affecting musculoskeletal functions.
        (4) Vision and disorders affecting vision.
        (5) The use of or dependence upon alcohol or drugs.
        (6) The extent to which compensatory aids and devices
    
may be utilized.
        (7) Conditions or disorders that medically impair a
    
person's mental health.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-904

    (625 ILCS 5/6-904) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-904)
    Sec. 6-904. Referral of cases by the Secretary. The Secretary shall, when he or she has good cause to believe an individual by reason of a medical limitation would not be able to operate a motor vehicle safely, refer a case to the Board for consideration.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-905

    (625 ILCS 5/6-905) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-905)
    Sec. 6-905. Medical evaluations of individuals under review; scope of driving privileges; report to the Secretary.
    (a) Within the scope of the case request, as sent by the Secretary, a function of the Board shall be to make medical evaluations of the individual under review and determine what medical conditions exist that may impair the individual's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
    (b) Based on the medical evaluations and determination under subsection (a) and in accordance with established standards, the Board shall, among other things, indicate the scope of driving privileges that would enable the individual under review to operate a motor vehicle safely, including the extent to which compensatory aids and devices must be used and the need for ongoing review or evaluation.
    (c) The findings, determination, and recommendations of the Board or its subdivisions shall be forwarded to the Secretary who shall then take the action in accordance with the Board's recommendation.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-906

    (625 ILCS 5/6-906) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-906)
    Sec. 6-906. Request for a hearing.
    (a) After utilizing all possible review by the Board under this Act or any regulation promulgated by the Secretary, any person who has their driver's license restricted or canceled or is otherwise denied a license has a right to request a hearing under Section 2-118 of this Code. The request for a hearing shall be in writing.
    (b) The Secretary shall prescribe by rule and regulation the procedures to be followed at the hearing.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-907

    (625 ILCS 5/6-907) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-907)
    Sec. 6-907. Cooperation required of person under review.
    (a) In making an inquiry or conducting a hearing the Secretary or Board may require the person under review to:
        (1) Submit to a medical examination by a medical
    
examiner of the person's choice who is acceptable to the Secretary or Board.
        (2) Submit to a medical examination by an impartial
    
medical examiner after the person has submitted information from that person's own medical examiner.
        (3) Consent to make available to the Secretary or
    
Board all medical records pertaining to the reported conditions that may be necessary to aid the Board in formulating its findings and recommendations.
    (b) Any person under review who refuses to submit to an examination or to consent to provide information, or both, shall as a matter of law be considered unqualified to operate a motor vehicle until the individual complies with the Secretary's or Board's request and the Board is able to make its findings and recommendations, at which time the findings and recommendations shall control.
    (c) The results of any examination ordered or conducted by the Secretary or the Board shall be made available to the individual under review.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-908

    (625 ILCS 5/6-908) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-908)
    Sec. 6-908. Confidential information. As provided in subsection (j) of Section 2-123 of this Code, all information furnished to the Secretary or Board, the results of all examinations made at their direction, and all medical findings of the Board shall be confidential and for the sole use of the Board and the Secretary which may have access to the same for the purposes as set forth in this Act. Except as provided in this Section, no confidential information may be open to public inspection or the contents disclosed to anyone, except the person under review and then only to the extent necessary to comply with a request for discovery during the hearing process, unless so directed by a court of competent jurisdiction. If the Secretary receives a medical report regarding a driver that does not address a medical condition contained in a previous medical report, the Secretary may disclose the unaddressed medical condition to the driver or his or her physician, or both, solely for the purpose of submission of a medical report that addresses the condition.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-909

    (625 ILCS 5/6-909) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-909)
    Sec. 6-909. Rules and regulations; review under Administrative Review Law. The Secretary, in cooperation with the Board, shall administer and enforce this Act and shall have the power to make and institute reasonable rules and regulations as necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-910

    (625 ILCS 5/6-910) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-910)
    Sec. 6-910. Liability of persons for information supplied to Board or Secretary. No member of the Board, medical practitioner, clinic, hospital, or mental institution, whether public or private, shall be liable or subject to criminal or civil action for any opinions, findings, or recommendations, or for any information supplied to the Secretary or the Board regarding persons under review, or for reports required by this Act, except for willful and wanton misconduct.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-911

    (625 ILCS 5/6-911) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-911)
    Sec. 6-911. Information submitted by medical practitioners; police officers; State's attorneys; or members of the judiciary. Any qualified medical practitioner, commissioned police officer, State's attorney, or member of the judiciary acting in his or her official capacity may submit information to the Secretary relative to the medical condition of a person, including suspected chronic alcoholism or habitual use of narcotics or dangerous drugs, if the condition interferes with the person's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely. Persons reporting under this Section shall enjoy the same immunities granted members of the Board under Section 6-910.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/6-912

    (625 ILCS 5/6-912) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-112)
    Sec. 6-912. Severability. The provisions of this Article are severable under Section 1.31 of the Statute on Statutes.
(Source: P.A. 87-1249.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. X

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. X heading)
ARTICLE X. ENHANCED SKILLS DRIVING SCHOOLS
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1001

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1001)
    Sec. 6-1001. Enhanced skills driving schools.
    (a) As used in this Code, "enhanced skills driving school" means a school for teaching advanced driving skills, such as emergency braking, crash avoidance, and defensive driving techniques to licensed drivers for a fee, and does not mean a school for preparing students for examinations given by the Secretary of State.
    (b) No person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation shall operate an enhanced skills driving school unless issued a license by the Secretary. No enhanced skills driving school may prepare students for examinations given by the Secretary of State unless the school is also licensed under Article IV of Chapter 6 of this Code.
    (c) All behind-the-wheel instructions, practice, and experience offered by enhanced skills driving schools shall be on private property, such as race course facilities. The Secretary of State shall have the authority to inspect all facilities and to adopt rules to provide standards for enhanced skills driving school facilities. No behind-the-wheel instruction, practice, or experience may be given on public roadways.
    (d) The curriculum for courses and programs offered by enhanced skills driving schools shall be reviewed and approved by the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1002

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1002)
    Sec. 6-1002. Enhanced skills driving school qualifications. In order to qualify for a license to operate an enhanced skills driving school, each applicant must:
        (1) Be of good moral character;
        (2) Be at least 21 years of age;
        (3) Maintain bodily injury and property damage
    
liability insurance on motor vehicles while used in driving instruction, insuring the liability of the driving school, the driving instructors and any person taking instruction in at least the following amounts: $500,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and, subject to said limit for one person, $1,000,000 for bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident and the amount of $100,000 for damage to property of others in any one accident. Evidence of such insurance coverage in the form of a certificate from the insurance carrier shall be filed with the Secretary of State, and such certificate shall stipulate that the insurance shall not be cancelled except upon 10 days' prior written notice to the Secretary of State;
        (4) Have the equipment necessary to the giving of
    
proper instruction in the operation of motor vehicles; and
        (5) Pay to the Secretary of State an application fee
    
of $500 and $50 for each branch application.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1003

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1003)
    Sec. 6-1003. Display of license. Each enhanced skills driving school must display at a prominent place in its main office all of the following:
        (1) The State license issued to the school;
        (2) The names, addresses, and State instructors
    
license numbers of all instructors employed by the school; and
        (3) The addresses of each branch office and branch
    
classrooms.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1004

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1004)
    Sec. 6-1004. Qualifications of enhanced skills driving school instructors. In order to qualify for a license as an instructor for an enhanced skills driving school, an applicant must:
        (1) Be of good moral character;
        (2) Have never been convicted of driving while under
    
the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or a combination thereof; leaving the scene of an accident; reckless homicide or reckless driving;
        (3) Be physically able to operate safely a motor
    
vehicle and to train others in the operation of motor vehicles;
        (4) Hold a valid drivers license; and
        (5) Pay to the Secretary of State an application and
    
license fee of $70.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1005

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1005)
    Sec. 6-1005. Renewal of license; enhanced skills driving school. The license of each enhanced skills driving school may be renewed subject to the same conditions as the original license, and upon the payment of a renewal license fee of $500 and $50 for each renewal of a branch application.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1006

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1006)
    Sec. 6-1006. Renewal of license; enhanced skills driving school instructor. The license of each enhanced skills driving school instructor may be renewed subject to the same conditions of the original license, and upon the payment of annual renewal license fee of $70.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1007

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1007)
    Sec. 6-1007. Licenses; form and filing. All applications for renewal of an enhanced skills driving school license or instructor's license shall be on a form prescribed by the Secretary, and must be filed with the Secretary not less than 15 days preceding the expiration date of the license to be renewed.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1008

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1008)
    Sec. 6-1008. Instructor's records. Every enhanced skills driving school shall keep records regarding instructors, students, courses, and equipment, as required by administrative rules prescribed by the Secretary. Such records shall be open to the inspection of the Secretary or his representatives at all reasonable times.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1009

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1009)
    Sec. 6-1009. Denial, cancellation, suspension, revocation, and failure to renew license. The Secretary may deny, cancel, suspend or revoke, or refuse to renew any enhanced skills driving school license or any enhanced skills driving school instructor license:
        (1) When the Secretary is satisfied that the licensee
    
fails to meet the requirements to receive or hold a license under this Code;
        (2) Whenever the licensee fails to keep records
    
required by this Code or by any rule prescribed by the Secretary;
        (3) Whenever the licensee fails to comply with any
    
provision of this Code or any rule of the Secretary made pursuant thereto;
        (4) Whenever the licensee represents himself or
    
herself as an agent or employee of the Secretary or uses advertising designed to lead or which would reasonably have the effect of leading persons to believe that such licensee is in fact an employee or representative of the Secretary;
        (5) Whenever the licensee or any employee or agent of
    
the licensee solicits driver training or instruction in an office of any department of the Secretary of State having to do with the administration of any law relating to motor vehicles, or within 1,500 feet of any such office; or
        (6) Whenever the licensee is convicted of driving
    
while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or a combination thereof; leaving the scene of an accident; reckless homicide or reckless driving.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1010

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1010)
    Sec. 6-1010. Judicial review. The action of the Secretary in canceling, suspending, revoking, or denying any license under this Article shall be subject to judicial review in the Circuit Court of Sangamon County or the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the provisions of the Administrative Review Law and the rules adopted pursuant thereto are hereby adopted and shall apply to and govern every action for judicial review of the final acts or decisions of the Secretary under this Article.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1011

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1011)
    Sec. 6-1011. Injunctions. If any person, firm, association, partnership, or corporation operates in violation of any provision of this Article, or any rule, regulation, order, or decision of the Secretary of State established under this Article, or in violation of any term, condition, or limitation of any license issued under this Article, the Secretary of State, or any other person injured as a result, or any interested person, may apply to the circuit court of the county where the violation or some part occurred, or where the person complained of has an established or additional place of business or resides, to prevent the violation. The court may enforce compliance by injunction or other process restraining the person from further violation and compliance.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1012

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1012)
    Sec. 6-1012. Rules and regulations. The Secretary is authorized to prescribe by rule standards for the eligibility, conduct, and operation of enhanced driver skills training schools, and instructors and to adopt other reasonable rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 96-740, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/6-1013

    (625 ILCS 5/6-1013)
    Sec. 6-1013. Deposit of fees. Fees collected under this Article shall be disbursed under subsection (g) of Section 2-119 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 heading)
CHAPTER 7. ILLINOIS SAFETY AND FAMILY
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. ADMINISTRATION

625 ILCS 5/7-100

    (625 ILCS 5/7-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-100)
    Sec. 7-100. Definition of words and phrases. Notwithstanding the definitions set forth in Chapter 1, for the purposes of this Chapter, the following words shall have the following meanings ascribed to them:
    Administrative order of support. An order for the support of dependent children issued by an administrative body of this or any other State.
    Administrator. The Department of Transportation.
    Arrearage. The total amount of unpaid support obligations.
    Authenticated document. A document from a court which contains a court stamp, showing it is filed with the court, or notarized, or is certified by the custodian of the original.
    Compliance with a court order of support. The support obligor is no more than an amount equal to 90 days obligation in arrears in making payments in full for current support, or in making periodic payments on a support arrearage as determined by a court.
    Court order of support. A judgment order for the support of dependent children issued by a court of this State, including a judgment of dissolution of marriage. With regard to a certification by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services under subsection (c) of Section 7-702, the term "court order of support" shall include an order of support entered by a court of this or any other State.
    Driver's license. A license or permit to operate a motor vehicle in the State, including the privilege of a person to drive a motor vehicle whether or not the person holds a valid license or permit.
    Family financial responsibility driving permit. A permit granting limited driving privileges for employment or medical purposes following a suspension of driving privileges under the Family Financial Responsibility Law. This permit is valid only after the entry of a court order granting the permit and issuance of the permit by the Secretary of State's Office. An individual's driving privileges must be valid except for the family financial responsibility suspension in order for this permit to be issued. In order to be valid, the permit must be in the immediate possession of the driver to whom it is issued.
    Judgment. A final judgment of any court of competent jurisdiction of any State, against a person as defendant for damages on account of bodily injury to or death of any person or damages to property resulting from the operation of any motor vehicle.
    Obligor. The individual who owes a duty to make payments under a court order of support.
    Obligee. The individual or other legal entity to whom a duty of support is owed through a court order of support or the individual's legal representatives.
(Source: P.A. 95-685, eff. 10-23-07.)

625 ILCS 5/7-101

    (625 ILCS 5/7-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-101)
    Sec. 7-101. Administration of Illinois Safety and Family Financial Responsibility Law. The Secretary of State and the Department, within the scope of their respective duties and powers under this Code, shall administer and enforce this Chapter and may make rules and regulations necessary for its administration and shall provide for hearings upon request of persons aggrieved by orders or acts of the Secretary of State, and the Department under this Section. However, the Secretary of State and the clerks of the circuit courts, within the scope of their respective duties and powers under this Code, shall administer and enforce Article VII of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 89-92, eff. 7-1-96.)

625 ILCS 5/7-102

    (625 ILCS 5/7-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-102)
    Sec. 7-102. Court Review. The provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all amendments and modifications thereof, and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, shall apply to and govern all proceedings for the judicial review of final administrative decisions of the Administrator or the Secretary of State hereunder.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. SECURITY FOLLOWING ACCIDENT

625 ILCS 5/7-201

    (625 ILCS 5/7-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-201)
    Sec. 7-201. Application of Article II. The Administrator as soon as practicable after the receipt of the report, required to be filed under Sections 11-406 and 11-410, of a motor vehicle accident occurring within this State and that has resulted in bodily injury or death of any person or that damage to the property of any one person in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) was sustained, shall determine:
        1. Whether Section 7-202 of this Code requires the
    
deposit of security by or on behalf of any person who was the operator or owner of any motor vehicle in any manner involved in the accident; and
        2. What amount of security shall be sufficient to
    
satisfy any potential judgment or judgments for money damages resulting from the accident as may be recovered against the operator or owner, which amount shall in no event be less than $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601).
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/7-201.1

    (625 ILCS 5/7-201.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-201.1)
    Sec. 7-201.1. If the Administrator has not received a report required to be filed under Sections 11-406 and 11-410, or if the information contained in a report is insufficient, the Administrator shall send to the person required to file the report a written request for the missing report or the missing information. The Administrator shall send such request no later than 45 days after the accident or 7 days after receiving information that such accident has occurred, whichever is later.
    If the request is sent to a driver involved in an accident, the request or an attachment thereto shall contain in bold print a warning that failure to comply with the request within 15 days may result in the suspension of the driver's license.
(Source: P.A. 84-797.)

625 ILCS 5/7-201.2

    (625 ILCS 5/7-201.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-201.2)
    Sec. 7-201.2. The Administrator, within 30 days after compiling sufficient information on a motor vehicle accident, shall certify to the Secretary of State the name of each owner and the name of each operator of any vehicle involved in the accident, his determination that security is required under this Code, and the amount of the security. The Administrator also shall supply to the Secretary of State a copy of any accident report requested by the Secretary.
    The Administrator shall send a copy of the certification to each person whose name is certified. The copy, or an attachment thereto, shall contain in bold print an explanation that, because the person did not furnish the Department of Transportation with evidence that he or she is insured or otherwise able to pay for damages resulting from the accident, the person's name has been forwarded to the Secretary of State for possible suspension of his or her driver's license.
(Source: P.A. 84-797.)

625 ILCS 5/7-201.3

    (625 ILCS 5/7-201.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-201.3)
    Sec. 7-201.3. Administrator to itemize potential claims. The Administrator shall send by mail to the person required to deposit security an itemization of each potential claim of personal injury or property damage and the name and address of each potential claimant within the knowledge of the Administrator and upon which the determination of the amount of security is based.
(Source: P.A. 84-797.)

625 ILCS 5/7-202

    (625 ILCS 5/7-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-202)
    Sec. 7-202. Exceptions to requirements of security. (a) The requirements as to security and suspension as provided by Sections 7-201 and 7-205 shall not apply:
    1. To the driver or owner if such owner had in effect at the time of such motor vehicle accident a liability policy covering such driver and owner with respect to the vehicle involved in such motor vehicle accident;
    2. To the driver, if not the owner of such vehicle, if there was in effect at the time of such motor vehicle accident a liability policy or bond with respect to the operation of motor vehicles not owned by the driver;
    3. To the driver or owner if the liability of such driver or owner for damages resulting from such motor vehicle accident is covered by any other form of liability insurance policy or bond;
    4. To the driver or owner, if such owner is qualified as a self-insurer as provided in Section 7-502;
    5. To the owner if such owner at the time of such motor vehicle accident was in compliance with Section 8-101 or Section 9-101;
    6. To the driver or owner if such owner at the time of such motor vehicle accident was in compliance with the Federal Revised Interstate Commerce Act (P.L. 95-473), as now or hereafter amended;
    7. To the owner if the vehicle involved in such motor vehicle accident was owned by the United States, this State or any political sub-division of this State, any municipality therein, or any local Mass Transit District;
    8. To the driver or the owner of a vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident wherein no injury or damage was caused to the person or property of any one other than such driver or owner;
    9. To the driver or the owner of a vehicle which at the time of the motor vehicle accident was parked, unless such vehicle was parked at a place where parking was at the time of the accident prohibited under any applicable law or ordinance;
    10. To the owner of a vehicle if at the time of the motor vehicle accident the vehicle was being operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who had been operating such motor vehicle without such permission;
    11. To the driver, if not the owner, of a commercial motor vehicle on which there was no liability policy or bond with respect to the operation of such vehicle in effect at the time of the motor vehicle accident when the driver was operating the vehicle in the course of the driver's employment and had no actual knowledge of such lack of a liability policy or bond prior to the motor vehicle accident.
    (b) If at the time of the motor vehicle accident, an owner or driver is covered by a motor vehicle liability policy or bond meeting the requirements of this Code, such owner or driver shall be exempt from suspension under Section 7-205 as to that motor vehicle accident, if the company issuing the policy or bond has failed, and such policy or bond was not effective at the time of the motor vehicle accident or any time thereafter, provided, that the owner or driver had no knowledge of the company's failure prior to the motor vehicle accident, and such owner or driver has secured within 30 days after learning of such failure another liability policy or bond meeting the requirements of the Code relating to future occurrences or motor vehicle accidents.
    As used in this paragraph, the words "failed" or "failure" mean that the company has suspended operations by order of a court.
(Source: P.A. 85-293.)

625 ILCS 5/7-203

    (625 ILCS 5/7-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-203)
    Sec. 7-203. Requirements as to policy or bond. No such policy or bond referred to in Section 7-202 shall be effective under this Section unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this State, except that if such motor vehicle was not registered in this State, or was a motor vehicle which was registered elsewhere than in this State at the effective date of the policy or bond, or the most recent renewal thereof, such policy or bond shall not be effective under this Section unless the insurance company or surety company, if not authorized to do business in this State, shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the Secretary of State to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon such policy or bond arising out of such motor vehicle accident. However, every such policy or bond is subject, if the motor vehicle accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of any one person in any one motor vehicle accident and, subject to said limit for one person, to a limit of not less than $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one motor vehicle accident, and, if the motor vehicle accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than $20,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one motor vehicle accident. The changes to this Section made by this amendatory Act of the 98th General Assembly apply only to policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2015.
    Upon receipt of a written motor vehicle accident report from the Administrator the insurance company or surety company named in such notice shall notify the Administrator within such time and in such manner as the Administrator may require, in case such policy or bond was not in effect at the time of such motor vehicle accident.
(Source: P.A. 98-519, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/7-204

    (625 ILCS 5/7-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-204)
    Sec. 7-204. Form and amount of security - Definition.
    (A) Any security required to be deposited under this Act shall be in the form as the Secretary of State may require by administrative rule, and in the amounts as the Administrator may determine to be sufficient to satisfy any judgment or judgments for damages against an operator or owner but in no case in excess of the limits specified in Section 7-203 of this Act in reference to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond nor for an amount less than $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601).
    (B) The person depositing security shall specify in writing the person or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, while at any time the deposit is in the custody of the Secretary of State or State Treasurer, the person depositing it may, in writing, amend the specification of the person or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made to include an additional person or persons; provided, however, that a single deposit of security shall be applicable only on behalf of persons, required to furnish security because of the same accident.
    (C) Within 10 days after any security required under the provisions of this Article is deposited with the Secretary of State, the Secretary shall send notice of the security deposit to the following, if known:
        1. To each owner and operator of any vehicle involved
    
in the accident that sustained damage in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601);
        2. To any person who sustained damage to personal or
    
real property in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601);
        3. To any person who was injured as a result of the
    
accident; and
        4. To the estate of any person killed as a result of
    
the accident.
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/7-205

    (625 ILCS 5/7-205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-205)
    Sec. 7-205. Failure to deposit security - Hearings and suspensions. The Secretary of State, within 15 days after receipt of the determination of the Administrator that a deposit of security is required under this Code, shall review all reports, documents and other pertinent evidence in his possession, and make a preliminary finding as to whether or not there is a reasonable possibility of a civil judgment being entered in a court of proper jurisdiction against the person so certified by the Administrator under this Code.
    (a) Upon a preliminary finding that there is such a reasonable possibility, the Secretary of State shall notify such person by mail that his driving privileges, driver's license or registration will be suspended 45 days after the date of the mailing of the notice unless the person can prove to the satisfaction of the Secretary of State that he has deposited or has had deposited and filed on his behalf the security required under this Code or, within 15 days of the mailing of such notice, requests a formal hearing to determine whether his driving privileges, driver's license or registration should be suspended or whether the Secretary should enter an order of exoneration, and that such hearing shall be scheduled within 45 days after the mailing of such notice in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Secretary of State.
    (b) Upon a preliminary finding that there is not such a reasonable possibility, the Secretary of State may elect to take no further action.
    (c) In the event an order of suspension so entered applies to a nonresident owner or driver, then the privilege of driving or using a motor vehicle within the territorial limits of this State shall be so suspended.
(Source: P.A. 84-797.)

625 ILCS 5/7-206

    (625 ILCS 5/7-206) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-206)
    Sec. 7-206. Release from liability. (a) A person shall be relieved from the requirement for deposit of security required by Section 7-201 in the event there shall be filed with the Secretary of State satisfactory evidence that the person who would otherwise be required to deposit security has been released from liability.
    (b) A covenant not to sue shall relieve the parties thereto as to each other from the security requirements of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/7-207

    (625 ILCS 5/7-207) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-207)
    Sec. 7-207. Adjudication of non-liability.
    A person shall be relieved from the requirement for deposit of security, required by Section 7-201 of this Act, in the event there shall be filed with the Secretary of State evidence satisfactory of a final adjudication of non-liability.
(Source: P.A. 77-327.)

625 ILCS 5/7-208

    (625 ILCS 5/7-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-208)
    Sec. 7-208. Agreements for payment of damages. (a) Any 2 or more of the persons involved in a motor vehicle accident subject to the provisions of Section 7-201 or their authorized representatives, may at any time enter into a written agreement for the payment of an agreed amount in installments, with respect to all claims for injuries or damages resulting from the motor vehicle accident.
    (b) The Secretary of State, to the extent provided by any such written agreement properly filed with him, shall not require the deposit of security and shall terminate any prior order of suspension, or, if security has previously been deposited, the Secretary of State shall immediately return such security to the depositor or an appropriate personal representative.
    (c) In the event of a default in any payment under such agreement and upon notice of such default the Secretary of State shall forthwith suspend the driver's license and registration, or nonresident's operating privileges, of such person in default which shall not be restored unless and until:
        1. Such person deposits and thereafter maintains
    
security as required under Section 7-201 in such amount as the Secretary of State may then determine,
        2. Two years have elapsed since the acceptance of the
    
notice of default by the Secretary of State and during such period no action upon such agreement has been instituted in any court having jurisdiction, or
        3. The person enters into a second written agreement
    
for the payment of an agreed amount in installments with respect to all claims for injuries or damages resulting from the motor vehicle accident.
(Source: P.A. 90-774, eff. 8-14-98.)

625 ILCS 5/7-209

    (625 ILCS 5/7-209) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-209)
    Sec. 7-209. Payment upon judgment. The payment of a judgment arising out of a motor vehicle accident or the payment upon such judgment of an amount equal to the maximum amount which could be required for deposit under this Article shall for the purposes of this Code be deemed satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/7-210

    (625 ILCS 5/7-210) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-210)
    Sec. 7-210. Termination of Security Requirement.
    The Secretary of State, if satisfied as to the existence of any fact which under Sections 7-206, 7-207, 7-208, or 7-209 would entitle a person to be relieved from the security requirements of this Article, shall not require the deposit of security by the person so relieved from such requirement and shall terminate any prior order of suspension in respect to such person, or if security has previously been deposited by such person, the Secretary of State shall immediately return such deposit to such person.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/7-211

    (625 ILCS 5/7-211) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-211)
    Sec. 7-211. Duration of suspension.
    (a) Unless a suspension is terminated under other provisions of this Code, the driver's license or registration and nonresident's operating privilege suspended as provided in Section 7-205 shall remain suspended and shall not be renewed nor shall any license or registration be issued to the person until:
        1. The person deposits or there shall be deposited
    
and filed on the person's behalf the security required under Section 7-201;
        2. Two years have elapsed following the date the
    
driver's license and registrations were suspended and evidence satisfactory to the Secretary of State that during the period no action for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident has been properly filed;
        3. Receipt of proper notice that the person has filed
    
bankruptcy which would include all claims for personal injury and property damage resulting from the accident; or
        4. After the expiration of 5 years from the date of
    
the accident, the Secretary of State has not received documentation that any action at law for damages arising out of the motor vehicle accident has been filed against the person.
    An affidavit that no action at law for damages arising out of the motor vehicle accident has been filed against the applicant, or if filed that it is not still pending shall be prima facie evidence of that fact. The Secretary of State may take whatever steps are necessary to verify the statement set forth in the applicant's affidavit.
    (b) The driver's license or registration and nonresident's operating privileges suspended as provided in Section 7-205 shall also remain suspended and shall not be renewed nor shall any license or registration be issued to the person until the person gives proof of his or her financial responsibility in the future as provided in Section 1-164.5. The proof is to be maintained by the person in a manner satisfactory to the Secretary of State for a period of 3 years after the date the proof is first filed.
(Source: P.A. 90-264, eff. 1-1-98; 91-80, eff. 7-9-99.)

625 ILCS 5/7-212

    (625 ILCS 5/7-212) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-212)
    Sec. 7-212. Authority of Administrator and Secretary of State to decrease amount of security. The Administrator may reduce the amount of security ordered in any case within one year after the date of the accident, but in no event for an amount less than $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601), if, in the judgment of the Administrator the amount ordered is excessive, or may revoke or rescind its order requiring the deposit of security in any case within one year after the date of the accident if, in the judgment of the Administrator, the provisions of Sections 7-202 and 7-203 excuse or exempt the operator or owner from the requirement of the deposit. In case the security originally ordered has been deposited the excess of the reduced amount ordered shall be returned to the depositor or his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding the provisions of Section 7-214. The Secretary of State likewise shall have authority granted to the Administrator to reduce the amount of security ordered by the Administrator.
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/7-213

    (625 ILCS 5/7-213) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 7-213)
    Sec. 7-213. Custody of security. Security deposited in compliance with the requirements of this Article shall be placed by the Secretary of State in the custody of the State Treasurer.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)