Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/6-207

    (625 ILCS 5/6-207) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-207)
    Sec. 6-207. Secretary of State may require reexamination or reissuance of a license.
    (a) The Secretary of State, having good cause to believe that a licensed driver or person holding a permit or applying for a license or license renewal is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to hold a license or permit, may upon written notice of at least 5 days to the person require the person to submit to an examination as prescribed by the Secretary.
    Refusal or neglect of the person to submit an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound evaluation or submit to or failure to successfully complete the examination is grounds for suspension of the person's license or permit under Section 6-206 of this Act or cancellation of his license or permit under Section 6-201 of this Act.
    (b) The Secretary of State, having issued a driver's license or permit in error, may upon written notice of at least 5 days to the person, require the person to appear at a Driver Services facility to have the license or permit error corrected and a new license or permit issued.
    Refusal or neglect of the person to appear is grounds for cancellation of the person's license or permit under Section 6-201 of this Act.
    (c) The Secretary of State, having issued a driver's license or permit to a person who subsequently becomes ineligible to retain that license or permit as currently issued, may, upon written notice of at least 5 days to the person, require the person to appear at a Driver Services facility to have the license or permit corrected and a new license or permit issued.
    (d) The Secretary of State, having good cause to believe that a driver's license or permit was issued based on invalid, fictitious, or fraudulent documents, may upon written notice of at least 5 days require the person to appear at a Driver Services facility to present valid documents for verification of identity. Refusal or neglect of the person to appear shall result in cancellation of the person's license or permit.
    (e) Under 49 C.F.R. 383.73, if the Secretary of State receives credible information that a CLP or CDL was issued and fraud was committed relating to the issuance of the CLP or CDL, the Secretary shall require the CLP or CDL holder to re-submit to all testing required for the issuance of the CLP or CDL (written, pre-trip, skills, and road exams). Upon written notification by the Secretary, the holder shall have 5 days to submit to re-examination. Failure to appear or successfully complete the examination shall result in the cancellation of the CLP or CDL under Section 6-201 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 98-176 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 and Section 10 of P.A. 99-414 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-208

    (625 ILCS 5/6-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-208)
    Sec. 6-208. Period of suspension - application after revocation.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided by this Code or any other law of this State, the Secretary of State shall not suspend a driver's license, permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the highways for a period of more than one year.
    (b) Any person whose license, permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the highways has been revoked shall not be entitled to have such license, permit, or privilege renewed or restored. However, such person may, except as provided under subsections (d) and (d-5) of Section 6-205, make application for a license pursuant to Section 6-106 (i) if the revocation was for a cause that has been removed or (ii) as provided in the following subparagraphs:
        1. Except as provided in subparagraphs 1.3, 1.5, 2,
    
3, 4, and 5, the person may make application for a license (A) after the expiration of one year from the effective date of the revocation, (B) in the case of a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, after the expiration of 3 years from the effective date of the revocation, or (C) in the case of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or a similar provision of a law of another state relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph 1 of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code relating to aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, if the violation was the proximate cause of a death, after the expiration of 2 years from the effective date of the revocation or after the expiration of 24 months from the date of release from a period of imprisonment as provided in Section 6-103 of this Code, whichever is later.
        1.3. If the person is convicted of a second or
    
subsequent violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, in which the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a combination of these offenses, arising out of separate occurrences, that person may not make application for a driver's license until:
            (A) the person has first been issued a
        
restricted driving permit by the Secretary of State; and
            (B) the expiration of a continuous period of
        
not less than 5 years following the issuance of the restricted driving permit during which the person's restricted driving permit is not suspended, cancelled, or revoked for a violation of any provision of law, or any rule or regulation of the Secretary of State relating to the required use of an ignition interlock device.
        1.5. If the person is convicted of a violation of
    
Section 6-303 of this Code committed while his or her driver's license, permit, or privilege was revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state, the person may not make application for a license or permit until the expiration of 3 years from the date of the conviction.
        2. If such person is convicted of committing a second
    
violation within a 20-year period of:
            (A) Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar
        
provision of a local ordinance;
            (B) Paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code
        
or a similar provision of a local ordinance;
            (C) Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or
        
the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide; or
            (D) any combination of the above offenses
        
committed at different instances;
    then such person may not make application for a license
    
until after the expiration of 5 years from the effective date of the most recent revocation. The 20-year period shall be computed by using the dates the offenses were committed and shall also include similar out-of-state offenses and similar offenses committed on a military installation.
        2.5. If a person is convicted of a second violation
    
of Section 6-303 of this Code committed while the person's driver's license, permit, or privilege was revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state, the person may not make application for a license or permit until the expiration of 5 years from the date of release from a term of imprisonment.
        3. However, except as provided in subparagraph 4, if
    
such person is convicted of committing a third violation or any combination of the above offenses, including similar out-of-state offenses and similar offenses committed on a military installation, contained in subparagraph 2, then such person may not make application for a license until after the expiration of 10 years from the effective date of the most recent revocation.
        4. Except as provided in paragraph (1.5) of
    
subsection (c) of Section 6-205 and subparagraph (F) of paragraph 3 of subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code, the person may not make application for a license if the person is convicted of committing a fourth or subsequent violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, Section 11-401 of this Code, Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or a combination of these offenses, similar provisions of local ordinances, similar out-of-state offenses, or similar offenses committed on a military installation.
        4.5. A bona fide resident of a foreign jurisdiction
    
who is subject to the provisions of subparagraph 4 of this subsection (b) may make application for termination of the revocation after a period of 10 years from the effective date of the most recent revocation. However, if a person who has been granted a termination of revocation under this subparagraph 4.5 subsequently becomes a resident of this State, the revocation shall be reinstated and the person shall be subject to the provisions of subparagraph 4.
        5. The person may not make application for a license
    
or permit if the person is convicted of a third or subsequent violation of Section 6-303 of this Code committed while his or her driver's license, permit, or privilege was revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state.
    Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, all persons referred to in this paragraph (b) may not have their privileges restored until the Secretary receives payment of the required reinstatement fee pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 6-118.
    In no event shall the Secretary issue such license unless and until such person has had a hearing pursuant to this Code and the appropriate administrative rules and the Secretary is satisfied, after a review or investigation of such person, that to grant the privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the highways will not endanger the public safety or welfare.
    (c) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 99-290, eff. 1-1-16; 99-296, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-208.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-208.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-208.1)
    Sec. 6-208.1. Period of statutory summary alcohol, other drug, or intoxicating compound related suspension or revocation.
    (a) Unless the statutory summary suspension has been rescinded, any person whose privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways has been summarily suspended, pursuant to Section 11-501.1, shall not be eligible for restoration of the privilege until the expiration of:
        1. twelve months from the effective date of the
    
statutory summary suspension for a refusal or failure to complete a test or tests to determine the alcohol, other drug, or intoxicating compound concentration under Section 11-501.1, if the person was not involved in a motor vehicle accident that caused personal injury or death to another; or
        2. six months from the effective date of the
    
statutory summary suspension imposed following the person's submission to a chemical test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, the presence of cannabis as listed in the Cannabis Control Act with a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration as defined in paragraph 6 of subsection (a) of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound in such person's breath, blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, pursuant to Section 11-501.1; or
        3. three years from the effective date of the
    
statutory summary suspension for any person other than a first offender who refuses or fails to complete a test or tests to determine the alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound concentration pursuant to Section 11-501.1; or
        4. one year from the effective date of the summary
    
suspension imposed for any person other than a first offender following submission to a chemical test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more pursuant to Section 11-501.1, the presence of cannabis as listed in the Cannabis Control Act with a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration as defined in paragraph 6 of subsection (a) of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, or any amount of a drug, substance or compound in such person's blood, other bodily substance, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; or
        5. (Blank).
    (b) Following a statutory summary suspension of the privilege to drive a motor vehicle under Section 11-501.1, driving privileges shall be restored unless the person is otherwise suspended, revoked, or cancelled by this Code. If the court has reason to believe that the person's driving privilege should not be restored, the court shall notify the Secretary of State prior to the expiration of the statutory summary suspension so appropriate action may be taken pursuant to this Code.
    (c) Driving privileges may not be restored until all applicable reinstatement fees, as provided by this Code, have been paid to the Secretary of State and the appropriate entry made to the driver's record.
    (d) Where a driving privilege has been summarily suspended or revoked under Section 11-501.1 and the person is subsequently convicted of violating Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, for the same incident, any period served on statutory summary suspension or revocation shall be credited toward the minimum period of revocation of driving privileges imposed pursuant to Section 6-205.
    (e) A first offender who refused chemical testing and whose driving privileges were summarily revoked pursuant to Section 11-501.1 shall not be eligible for a monitoring device driving permit, but may make application for reinstatement or for a restricted driving permit after a period of one year has elapsed from the effective date of the revocation.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) (Blank).
    (h) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 98-122, eff. 1-1-14; 98-1015, eff. 8-22-14; 98-1172, eff. 1-12-15; 99-467, eff. 1-1-16; 99-697, eff. 7-29-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-208.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-208.2)
    Sec. 6-208.2. Restoration of driving privileges; persons under age 21.
    (a) Unless the suspension based upon consumption of alcohol by a minor or refusal to submit to testing has been rescinded by the Secretary of State in accordance with item (c)(3) of Section 6-206 of this Code, a person whose privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways has been suspended under Section 11-501.8 is not eligible for restoration of the privilege until the expiration of:
        1. Six months from the effective date of the
    
suspension for a refusal or failure to complete a test or tests to determine the alcohol concentration under Section 11-501.8;
        2. Three months from the effective date of the
    
suspension imposed following the person's submission to a chemical test which disclosed an alcohol concentration greater than 0.00 under Section 11-501.8;
        3. Two years from the effective date of the
    
suspension for a person who has been previously suspended under Section 11-501.8 and who refuses or fails to complete a test or tests to determine the alcohol concentration under Section 11-501.8; or
        4. One year from the effective date of the
    
suspension imposed for a person who has been previously suspended under Section 11-501.8 following submission to a chemical test that disclosed an alcohol concentration greater than 0.00 under Section 11-501.8.
    (b) Following a suspension of the privilege to drive a motor vehicle under Section 11-501.8, full driving privileges shall be restored unless the person is otherwise disqualified by this Code.
    (c) Full driving privileges may not be restored until all applicable reinstatement fees, as provided by this Code, have been paid to the Secretary of State and the appropriate entry made to the driver's record. The Secretary of State may also, as a condition of the reissuance of a driver's license or permit to an individual under the age of 18 years whose driving privileges have been suspended pursuant to Section 11-501.8, require the applicant to participate in a driver remedial education course and be retested under Section 6-109.
    (d) Where a driving privilege has been suspended under Section 11-501.8 and the person is subsequently convicted of violating Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, for the same incident, any period served on that suspension shall be credited toward the minimum period of revocation of driving privileges imposed under Section 6-205.
    (e) Following a suspension of driving privileges under Section 11-501.8 for a person who has not had his or her driving privileges previously suspended under that Section, the Secretary of State may issue a restricted driving permit after at least 30 days from the effective date of the suspension.
    (f) Following a second or subsequent suspension of driving privileges under Section 11-501.8, the Secretary of State may issue a restricted driving permit after at least 12 months from the effective date of the suspension.
    (g) (Blank).
    (h) Any restricted driving permit considered under this Section is subject to the provisions of item (e) of Section 11-501.8.
(Source: P.A. 92-248, eff. 8-3-01.)

625 ILCS 5/6-209

    (625 ILCS 5/6-209) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-209)
    Sec. 6-209. Notice of Cancellation, Suspension or Revocation - Surrender and Return of License. The Secretary of State upon cancelling, suspending or revoking a license or permit shall immediately notify the holder thereof in writing and shall require that such license or permit shall be surrendered to and retained by the Secretary of State. However, upon payment of the reinstatement fee set out in subsection (g) of Section 6-118 at the end of any period of suspension of a license the licensee, if not ineligible for some other reason, shall be entitled to reinstatement of driving privileges and the return of his license if it has not then expired; or, in case it has expired, to apply for a new license.
(Source: P.A. 81-462.)

625 ILCS 5/6-210

    (625 ILCS 5/6-210) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-210)
    Sec. 6-210. No operation under foreign license during suspension or revocation in this State. Any resident or nonresident whose drivers license or permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked as provided in this Act shall not operate a motor vehicle in this State:
        (1) during the period of such suspension, except as
    
permitted by a restricted driving permit issued under the provisions of Section 6-206 of this Act; or
        (2) after such revocation until a license is obtained
    
when and as permitted under this Act, except as permitted by a restricted driving permit issued under the provisions of Section 6-205 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 92-16, eff. 6-28-01.)

625 ILCS 5/6-211

    (625 ILCS 5/6-211) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-211)
    Sec. 6-211. Secretary of State to Administer Act-Notices Required.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall administer the provisions of this Chapter and may make and enforce rules and regulations relating to its administration.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall either provide or prescribe suitable forms requisite or deemed necessary by him for the purposes of this Chapter.
    (c) Whenever under the provisions of this Chapter the Secretary of State is required to give notice to any person such notice shall be deemed to have been served either when personally delivered or when deposited in the United States mail, in a sealed envelope, with postage prepaid, addressed to the party affected thereby at his last known residence or place of business.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/6-212

    (625 ILCS 5/6-212) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-212)
    Sec. 6-212. Court Review. The provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all amendments and modifications thereof, and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, shall apply to and govern all proceedings for the judicial review of final administrative decisions of the Secretary of State hereunder.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. VIOLATION OF LICENSE PROVISIONS

625 ILCS 5/6-301

    (625 ILCS 5/6-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-301)
    Sec. 6-301. Unlawful use of license or permit.
    (a) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
        1. To display or cause to be displayed or have in his
    
possession any cancelled, revoked or suspended license or permit;
        2. To lend his license or permit to any other person
    
or knowingly allow the use thereof by another;
        3. To display or represent as his own any license or
    
permit issued to another;
        4. To fail or refuse to surrender to the Secretary of
    
State or his agent or any peace officer upon his lawful demand, any license or permit, which has been suspended, revoked or cancelled;
        5. To allow any unlawful use of a license or permit
    
issued to him;
        6. To submit to an examination or to obtain the
    
services of another person to submit to an examination for the purpose of obtaining a drivers license or permit for some other person.
    (b) Sentence.
        1. Any person convicted of a violation of this
    
Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be sentenced to a minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service, preferably at an alcohol abuse prevention program, if available.
        2. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent
    
violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        3. In addition to any other sentence imposed under
    
paragraph 1 or 2 of this subsection (b), a person convicted of a violation of paragraph 6 of subsection (a) shall be imprisoned for not less than 7 days.
    (c) This Section does not prohibit any lawfully authorized investigative, protective, law enforcement or other activity of any agency of the United States, State of Illinois or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
    (d) This Section does not apply to licenses and permits invalidated under Section 6-301.3 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 92-647, eff. 1-1-03; 92-883, eff. 1-13-03.)

625 ILCS 5/6-301.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-301.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-301.1)
    Sec. 6-301.1. Fictitious or unlawfully altered driver's license or permit.
    (a) As used in this Section:
        1. "A fictitious driver's license or permit" means
    
any issued license or permit for which a computerized number and file have been created by the Secretary of State or other official driver's license agency in another jurisdiction which contains false information concerning the identity of the individual issued the license or permit.
        2. "False information" means:
            (A) Any information concerning an individual's
        
legal name, address, sex, date of birth, or social security number that (i) falsifies all or in part the actual identity of the individual issued the license or permit, (ii) in the case of information concerning an address, is information concerning a non-existent address that is used to obtain the license or permit, or (iii) is any combination of items (i) and (ii) of this subparagraph (A).
            (B) Any photograph that falsifies all or in part
        
the actual identity of the individual issued the license or permit.
        3. "An unlawfully altered driver's license or permit"
    
means any issued license or permit for which a computerized number and file have been created by the Secretary of State or other official driver's license agency in another jurisdiction which has been physically altered or changed in such a manner that false information appears upon the license or permit.
        4. "A document capable of defrauding another"
    
includes, but is not limited to, any document by which any right, obligation, or power with reference to any person or property may be created, transferred, altered, or terminated.
        5. "An identification document" means any document
    
made or issued by or under the authority of the United States Government, the State of Illinois, or any other state or political subdivision thereof, or any other governmental or quasi-governmental organization which, when completed with information concerning the individual, is of a type intended or commonly accepted for the purpose of identification of an individual.
        6. "Common carrier" means any public or private
    
provider of transportation, whether by land, air, or water.
    (b) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
        1. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit;
        2. To knowingly possess, display, or cause to be
    
displayed any fictitious or unlawfully altered driver's license or permit for the purpose of obtaining any account, credit, credit card, or debit card from a bank, financial institution, or retail mercantile establishment;
        3. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit with the intent to commit a theft, deception, or credit or debit card fraud in violation of any law of this State or any law of any other jurisdiction;
        4. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit with the intent to commit any other violation of any law of this State or any law of any other jurisdiction for which a sentence to a term of imprisonment in a penitentiary for one year or more is provided;
        5. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit while in possession without authority of any document, instrument, or device capable of defrauding another;
        6. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit with the intent to use the license or permit to acquire any other identification document;
        7. To knowingly issue or assist in the issuance of
    
any fictitious driver's license or permit;
        8. To knowingly alter or attempt to alter any
    
driver's license or permit;
        9. To knowingly manufacture, possess, transfer, or
    
provide any identification document whether real or fictitious for the purpose of obtaining a fictitious driver's license or permit;
        10. To knowingly use any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit to purchase or attempt to purchase any ticket for a common carrier or to board or attempt to board any common carrier;
        11. To knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered driver's license or permit if the person has at the time a different driver's license issued by the Illinois Secretary of State or other official driver's license agency in another jurisdiction that is suspended or revoked.
    (c) Sentence.
        1. Any person convicted of a violation of paragraph 1
    
of subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be sentenced to minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service, preferably at an alcohol abuse prevention program, if available. A person convicted of a second or subsequent violation shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        2. Any person convicted of a violation of paragraph 3
    
of subsection (b) of this Section who at the time of arrest had in his possession two or more fictitious or unlawfully altered driver's licenses or permits shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        3. Any person convicted of a violation of any of
    
paragraphs 2 through 11 of subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. A person convicted of a second or subsequent violation shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony.
    (d) This Section does not prohibit any lawfully authorized investigative, protective, law enforcement, or other activity of any agency of the United States, State of Illinois, or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
(Source: P.A. 96-1120, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-301.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-301.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-301.2)
    Sec. 6-301.2. Fraudulent driver's license or permit.
    (a) (Blank).
    (b) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
        1. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit;
        2. To knowingly possess, display or cause to be
    
displayed any fraudulent driver's license or permit for the purpose of obtaining any account, credit, credit card or debit card from a bank, financial institution or retail mercantile establishment;
        3. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit with the intent to commit a theft, deception or credit or debit card fraud in violation of any law of this State or any law of any other jurisdiction;
        4. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit with the intent to commit any other violation of any laws of this State or any law of any other jurisdiction for which a sentence to a term of imprisonment in a penitentiary for one year or more is provided;
        5. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit while in unauthorized possession of any document, instrument or device capable of defrauding another;
        6. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit with the intent to use the license or permit to acquire any other identification document;
        7. To knowingly possess without authority any
    
driver's license-making or permit-making implement;
        8. To knowingly possess any stolen driver's
    
license-making or permit-making implement or to possess, use, or allow to be used any materials, hardware, or software specifically designed for or primarily used in the manufacture, assembly, issuance, or authentication of an official driver's license or permit issued by the Secretary of State;
        9. To knowingly duplicate, manufacture, sell or
    
transfer any fraudulent driver's license or permit;
        10. To advertise or distribute any information or
    
materials that promote the selling, giving, or furnishing of a fraudulent driver's license or permit;
        11. To knowingly use any fraudulent driver's license
    
or permit to purchase or attempt to purchase any ticket for a common carrier or to board or attempt to board any common carrier. As used in this Section, "common carrier" means any public or private provider of transportation, whether by land, air, or water;
        12. To knowingly possess any fraudulent driver's
    
license or permit if the person has at the time a different driver's license issued by the Secretary of State or another official driver's license agency in another jurisdiction that is suspended or revoked.
    (b-1) It is a violation of this Section for any person to possess, use, or allow to be used any materials, hardware, or software specifically designed for or primarily used in the reading of encrypted language from the bar code or magnetic strip of an official Illinois driver's license issued by the Secretary of State. This subsection (b-1) does not apply if a federal or State law, rule, or regulation requires that the card holder's address be recorded in specified transactions or if the encrypted information is obtained for the detection or possible prosecution of criminal offenses or fraud. If the address information is obtained under this subsection (b-1), it may be used only for the purposes authorized by this subsection (b-1).
    (c) Sentence.
        1. Any person convicted of a violation of paragraph 1
    
of subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall be sentenced to a minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service, preferably at an alcohol abuse prevention program, if available.
        2. Any person convicted of a violation of any of
    
paragraphs 2 through 9 or paragraph 11 or 12 of subsection (b) of this Section or a violation of subsection (b-1) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. A person convicted of a second or subsequent violation shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony.
        3. Any person convicted of a violation of paragraph
    
10 of subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
    (d) This Section does not prohibit any lawfully authorized investigative, protective, law enforcement or other activity of any agency of the United States, State of Illinois or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
    (e) The Secretary may request the Attorney General to seek a restraining order in the circuit court against any person who violates this Section by advertising fraudulent driver's licenses or permits.
(Source: P.A. 93-667, eff. 3-19-04; 93-895, eff. 1-1-05; 94-239, eff. 1-1-06; 94-930, eff. 6-26-06.)

625 ILCS 5/6-301.3

    (625 ILCS 5/6-301.3)
    Sec. 6-301.3. Invalidation of a driver's license or permit.
    (a) The Secretary of State may invalidate a driver's license or permit:
        (1) when the holder voluntarily surrenders the
    
license or permit and declares his or her intention to do so in writing to the Secretary;
        (2) when the Secretary receives a certified court
    
order indicating the holder is to refrain from driving;
        (3) upon the death of the holder; or
        (4) as the Secretary deems appropriate by
    
administrative rule.
    (b) A driver's license or permit invalidated under this Section shall nullify the holder's driving privileges. If a license is invalidated under subdivision (a)(3) of this Section, the actual license or permit may be released to a relative of the decedent; provided, the actual license or permit bears a readily identifiable designation evidencing invalidation as prescribed by the Secretary.
    (c) If a driver is issued a citation for any violation of this Code or a similar local ordinance and the violation is the proximate cause of the death or Type A injury of another, the prosecuting authority may ask the court to enter an order invalidating the driver's license or permit under paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of this Section. For purposes of this Section, Type A injury has the meaning ascribed in Section 6-108.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 98-168, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-302

    (625 ILCS 5/6-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-302)
    Sec. 6-302. Making false application or affidavit - perjury.
    (a) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
        1. To display or present any document for the
    
purpose of making application for a driver's license or permit knowing that such document contains false information concerning the identity of the applicant;
        2. To accept or allow to be accepted any document
    
displayed or presented for the purpose of making application for a driver's license or permit knowing that such document contains false information concerning the identity of the applicant;
        3. To knowingly make any false affidavit or swear or
    
affirm falsely to any matter or thing required by the terms of this Act to be sworn to or affirmed.
    (b) Sentence.
        1. Any person convicted of a violation of this
    
Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        2. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent
    
violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony.
    (c) This Section does not prohibit any lawfully authorized investigative, protective, law enforcement or other activity of any agency of the United States, State of Illinois or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
(Source: P.A. 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)

625 ILCS 5/6-303

    (625 ILCS 5/6-303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-303)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-149)
    Sec. 6-303. Driving while driver's license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a-5), any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on any highway of this State at a time when such person's driver's license, permit or privilege to do so or the privilege to obtain a driver's license or permit is revoked or suspended as provided by this Code or the law of another state, except as may be specifically allowed by a judicial driving permit issued prior to January 1, 2009, monitoring device driving permit, family financial responsibility driving permit, probationary license to drive, or a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or under the law of another state, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (a-3) A second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class 4 felony if committed by a person whose driving or operation of a motor vehicle is the proximate cause of a motor vehicle accident that causes personal injury or death to another. For purposes of this subsection, a personal injury includes any Type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A Type A injury includes severe bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
    (a-5) Any person who violates this Section as provided in subsection (a) while his or her driver's license, permit or privilege is revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar provision of a law of another state, is guilty of a Class 4 felony. The person shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation, as provided in Section 11-501 of this Code, to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound problem exists and the extent of the problem, and to undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate.
    (a-10) A person's driver's license, permit, or privilege to obtain a driver's license or permit may be subject to multiple revocations, multiple suspensions, or any combination of both simultaneously. No revocation or suspension shall serve to negate, invalidate, cancel, postpone, or in any way lessen the effect of any other revocation or suspension entered prior or subsequent to any other revocation or suspension.
    (b) (Blank).
    (b-1) Upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle during the time when the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was suspended by the Secretary of State or the driver's licensing administrator of another state, except as specifically allowed by a probationary license, judicial driving permit, restricted driving permit or monitoring device driving permit the Secretary shall extend the suspension for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension unless the suspension has already expired, in which case the Secretary shall be authorized to suspend the person's driving privileges for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension.
    (b-2) Except as provided in subsection (b-6), upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle when the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked by the Secretary of State or the driver's license administrator of any other state, except as specifically allowed by a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or the law of another state, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license for an additional period of one year from the date of such conviction indicating such person was operating a vehicle during such period of revocation.
    (b-3) (Blank).
    (b-4) When the Secretary of State receives a report of a conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle that was not equipped with an ignition interlock device during a time when the person was prohibited from operating a motor vehicle not equipped with such a device, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license to that person for an additional period of one year from the date of the conviction.
    (b-5) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service when the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state.
    (b-6) Upon receiving a report of a first conviction of operating a motor vehicle while the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license for an additional period of three years from the date of such conviction.
    (c) Except as provided in subsections (c-3) and (c-4), any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 10 consecutive days or 30 days of community service when the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:
        (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a
    
similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, any other drug or any combination thereof; or
        (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of
    
this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving personal injury or death; or
        (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
    
under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    Such sentence of imprisonment or community service shall not be subject to suspension in order to reduce such sentence.
    (c-1) Except as provided in subsections (c-5) and (d), any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be ordered by the court to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service.
    (c-2) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the court may impose on any person convicted a fourth time of violating this Section any of the following:
        (1) Seizure of the license plates of the person's
    
vehicle.
        (2) Immobilization of the person's vehicle for a
    
period of time to be determined by the court.
    (c-3) Any person convicted of a violation of this Section during a period of summary suspension imposed pursuant to Section 11-501.1 when the person was eligible for a MDDP shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.
    (c-4) Any person who has been issued a MDDP or a restricted driving permit which requires the person to operate only motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device and who is convicted of a violation of this Section as a result of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock device at the time of the offense shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.
    (c-5) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and shall serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if:
         (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and
        (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-1) Except as provided in subsections (d-2), (d-2.5), and (d-3), any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court.
    (d-2) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-2.5) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred while the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. The person's driving privileges shall be revoked for the remainder of the person's life; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d-3) Any person convicted of a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 180 days, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-3.5) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, and is eligible for an extended term, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d-4) Any person convicted of a tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, or fourteenth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-5) Any person convicted of a fifteenth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (e) Any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements, in addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.
    (f) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.
    (g) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 if the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:
        (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a
    
similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;
        (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of
    
this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;
        (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
    
under Section 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a law of another state; or
        (4) a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code
    
of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state.
(Source: P.A. 98-285, eff. 1-1-14; 98-418, eff. 8-16-13; 98-573, eff. 8-27-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 99-290, eff. 1-1-16.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-149)
    Sec. 6-303. Driving while driver's license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked.
    (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a-5), any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on any highway of this State at a time when such person's driver's license, permit or privilege to do so or the privilege to obtain a driver's license or permit is revoked or suspended as provided by this Code or the law of another state, except as may be specifically allowed by a judicial driving permit issued prior to January 1, 2009, monitoring device driving permit, family financial responsibility driving permit, probationary license to drive, or a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or under the law of another state, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (a-3) A second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class 4 felony if committed by a person whose driving or operation of a motor vehicle is the proximate cause of a motor vehicle accident that causes personal injury or death to another. For purposes of this subsection, a personal injury includes any Type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A Type A injury includes severe bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
    (a-5) Any person who violates this Section as provided in subsection (a) while his or her driver's license, permit or privilege is revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar provision of a law of another state, is guilty of a Class 4 felony. The person shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation, as provided in Section 11-501 of this Code, to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound problem exists and the extent of the problem, and to undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate.
    (a-10) A person's driver's license, permit, or privilege to obtain a driver's license or permit may be subject to multiple revocations, multiple suspensions, or any combination of both simultaneously. No revocation or suspension shall serve to negate, invalidate, cancel, postpone, or in any way lessen the effect of any other revocation or suspension entered prior or subsequent to any other revocation or suspension.
    (b) (Blank).
    (b-1) Upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle during the time when the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was suspended by the Secretary of State or the driver's licensing administrator of another state, except as specifically allowed by a probationary license, judicial driving permit, restricted driving permit or monitoring device driving permit the Secretary shall extend the suspension for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension unless the suspension has already expired, in which case the Secretary shall be authorized to suspend the person's driving privileges for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension.
    (b-2) Except as provided in subsection (b-6), upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle when the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked by the Secretary of State or the driver's license administrator of any other state, except as specifically allowed by a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or the law of another state, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license for an additional period of one year from the date of such conviction indicating such person was operating a vehicle during such period of revocation.
    (b-3) (Blank).
    (b-4) When the Secretary of State receives a report of a conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle that was not equipped with an ignition interlock device during a time when the person was prohibited from operating a motor vehicle not equipped with such a device, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license to that person for an additional period of one year from the date of the conviction.
    (b-5) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service when the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar provision of a law of another state.
    (b-6) Upon receiving a report of a first conviction of operating a motor vehicle while the person's driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary shall not issue a driver's license for an additional period of three years from the date of such conviction.
    (c) Except as provided in subsections (c-3) and (c-4), any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 10 consecutive days or 30 days of community service when the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:
        (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a
    
similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, any other drug or any combination thereof; or
        (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of
    
this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving personal injury or death; or
        (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
    
under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    Such sentence of imprisonment or community service shall not be subject to suspension in order to reduce such sentence.
    (c-1) Except as provided in subsections (c-5) and (d), any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be ordered by the court to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service.
    (c-2) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the court may impose on any person convicted a fourth time of violating this Section any of the following:
        (1) Seizure of the license plates of the person's
    
vehicle.
        (2) Immobilization of the person's vehicle for a
    
period of time to be determined by the court.
    (c-3) Any person convicted of a violation of this Section during a period of summary suspension imposed pursuant to Section 11-501.1 when the person was eligible for a MDDP shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.
    (c-4) Any person who has been issued a MDDP or a restricted driving permit which requires the person to operate only motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device and who is convicted of a violation of this Section as a result of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock device at the time of the offense shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.
    (c-5) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and shall serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if:
         (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense; and
        (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-1) Except as provided in subsections (d-2), (d-2.5), and (d-3), any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court.
    (d-2) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-2.5) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred while the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense. The person's driving privileges shall be revoked for the remainder of the person's life; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d-3) Any person convicted of a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 180 days, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-3.5) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, and is eligible for an extended term, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (d-4) Any person convicted of a tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, or fourteenth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (d-5) Any person convicted of a fifteenth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if:
        (1) the current violation occurred when the person's
    
driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and
        (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred
    
while the person's driver's license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar out-of-state offense.
    (e) Any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements, in addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.
    (f) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.
    (g) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 if the person's driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:
        (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a
    
similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;
        (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of
    
this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;
        (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
    
under Section 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a law of another state; or
        (4) a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code
    
of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, relating to the offense of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof when the violation was a proximate cause of a death, or a similar provision of a law of another state.
(Source: P.A. 99-290, eff. 1-1-16; 100-149, eff. 1-1-18.)

625 ILCS 5/6-304

    (625 ILCS 5/6-304) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-304)
    Sec. 6-304. Permitting unauthorized person to drive.
    No person shall cause, authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or under his control to be driven upon any highway by any person who is not authorized hereunder or in violation of any of the provisions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/6-304.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-304.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-304.1)
    Sec. 6-304.1. Permitting a driver under the influence to operate a motor vehicle. No person shall knowingly cause, authorize, or permit a motor vehicle owned by, or under the control of, such person to be driven or operated upon a highway by anyone who is under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or combination thereof. This provision shall not apply to a spouse of the person who owns or has control of, or a co-owner of, a motor vehicle or to a bailee for hire.
    Any person convicted of violating this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 84-1394.)

625 ILCS 5/6-305

    (625 ILCS 5/6-305) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-305)
    Sec. 6-305. Renting motor vehicle to another.
    (a) No person shall rent a motor vehicle to any other person unless the latter person, or a driver designated by a nondriver with disabilities and meeting any minimum age and driver's record requirements that are uniformly applied by the person renting a motor vehicle, is then duly licensed hereunder or, in the case of a nonresident, then duly licensed under the laws of the State or country of his residence unless the State or country of his residence does not require that a driver be licensed.
    (b) No person shall rent a motor vehicle to another until he has inspected the drivers license of the person to whom the vehicle is to be rented, or by whom it is to be driven, and compared and verified the signature thereon with the signature of such person written in his presence unless, in the case of a nonresident, the State or country wherein the nonresident resides does not require that a driver be licensed.
    (c) No person shall rent a motorcycle to another unless the latter person is then duly licensed hereunder as a motorcycle operator, and in the case of a nonresident, then duly licensed under the laws of the State or country of his residence, unless the State or country of his residence does not require that a driver be licensed.
    (c-1) A rental car company that rents a motor vehicle shall ensure that the renter is provided with an emergency telephone number to personnel capable of fielding roadside assistance and other customer service inquiries, including the ability to provide the caller with the telephone number of the location from which the vehicle was rented, if requested by the caller. If an owner's manual is not available in the vehicle at the time of the rental, an owner's manual for that vehicle or a similar model shall be accessible by the personnel answering the emergency telephone number for assistance with inquiries about the operation of the vehicle.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) Subject to subsection (l), any person who rents a motor vehicle to another shall only advertise, quote, and charge a rental rate that includes the entire amount except taxes, a mileage charge, and airport concession charge, if any, which a renter must pay to hire or lease the vehicle for the period of time to which the rental rate applies. The person must provide, on the request of the renter, based on the available information, an estimated total of the daily rental rate, including all applicable taxes, fees, and other charges, or an estimated total rental charge, based on the return date of the vehicle noted on the rental agreement. Further, if the rental agreement does not already provide an estimated total rental charge, the following statement must be included in the rental agreement:
    "NOTICE: UNDER ILLINOIS LAW, YOU MAY REQUEST, BASED ON
    
AVAILABLE INFORMATION, AN ESTIMATED TOTAL DAILY RENTAL RATE, INCLUDING TAXES, FEES, AND OTHER CHARGES, OR AN ESTIMATED TOTAL RENTAL CHARGE, BASED ON THE VEHICLE RETURN DATE NOTED ON THIS AGREEMENT."
    Such person shall not charge in addition to the rental rate, taxes, mileage charge, and airport concession charge, if any, any fee which must be paid by the renter as a condition of hiring or leasing the vehicle, such as, but not limited to, required fuel or airport surcharges, nor any fee for transporting the renter to the location where the rented vehicle will be delivered to the renter. In addition to the rental rate, taxes, mileage charge, and airport concession charge, if any, such person may charge for an item or service provided in connection with a particular rental transaction if the renter can avoid incurring the charge by choosing not to obtain or utilize the optional item or service. Items and services for which such person may impose an additional charge include, but are not limited to, optional insurance and accessories requested by the renter, service charges incident to the renter's optional return of the vehicle to a location other than the location where the vehicle was hired or leased, and charges for refueling the vehicle at the conclusion of the rental transaction in the event the renter did not return the vehicle with as much fuel as was in the fuel tank at the beginning of the rental. "Airport concession charge" means a charge or fee imposed and collected from a renter to reimburse the motor vehicle rental company for the concession fee it is required to pay to a local government corporate authority or airport authority to rent motor vehicles at the airport facility. The airport concession charge is in addition to any customer facility charge or any other charge.
    (g) Every person renting a motor vehicle to another shall keep a record of the registration number of the motor vehicle so rented, the name and address of the person to whom the vehicle is rented, the number of the license, if any, of said latter person, and the date and place when and where the license, if any, was issued. Such record shall be open to inspection by any police officer or designated agent of the Secretary of State.
    (h) A person licensed as a new car dealer under Section 5-101 of this Code shall not be subject to the provisions of this Section regarding the rental of private passenger motor vehicles when providing, free of charge, temporary substitute vehicles for customers to operate during a period when a customer's vehicle, which is either leased or owned by that customer, is being repaired, serviced, replaced or otherwise made unavailable to the customer in accordance with an agreement with the licensed new car dealer or vehicle manufacturer, so long as the customer orally or in writing is made aware that the temporary substitute vehicle will be covered by his or her insurance policy and the customer shall only be liable to the extent of any amount deductible from such insurance coverage in accordance with the terms of the policy.
    (i) This Section, except the requirements of subsection (g), also applies to rental agreements of 30 continuous days or less involving a motor vehicle that was delivered by an out of State person or business to a renter in this State.
    (j) A public airport may, if approved by its local government corporate authorities or its airport authority, impose a customer facility charge upon customers of rental car companies for the purposes of financing, designing, constructing, operating, and maintaining consolidated car rental facilities and common use transportation equipment and facilities, which are used to transport the customer, connecting consolidated car rental facilities with other airport facilities.
    Notwithstanding subsection (f) of this Section, the customer facility charge shall be collected by the rental car company as a separate charge, and clearly indicated as a separate charge on the rental agreement and invoice. Facility charges shall be immediately deposited into a trust account for the benefit of the airport and remitted at the direction of the airport, but not more often than once per month. The charge shall be uniformly calculated on a per-contract or per-day basis. Facility charges imposed by the airport may not exceed the reasonable costs of financing, designing, constructing, operating, and maintaining the consolidated car rental facilities and common use transportation equipment and facilities and may not be used for any other purpose.
    Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the charges collected under this Section are not subject to retailer occupation, sales, use, or transaction taxes.
    (k) When a rental car company states a rental rate in any of its rate advertisements, its proprietary computer reservation systems, or its in-person quotations intended to apply to an airport rental, a company that collects from its customers a customer facility charge for that rental under subsection (j) shall do all of the following:
        (1) Clearly and conspicuously disclose in any radio,
    
television, or other electronic media advertisements the existence and amount of the charge if the advertisement is intended for rentals at an airport imposing the charge or, if the advertisement covers an area with multiple airports with different charges, a range of amounts of customer facility charges if the advertisement is intended for rentals at an airport imposing the charge.
        (2) Clearly and conspicuously disclose in any print
    
rate advertising the existence and amount of the charge if the advertisement is intended for rentals at an airport imposing the charge or, if the print rate advertisement covers an area with multiple airports with different charges, a range of amounts of customer facility charges if the advertisement is intended for rentals at an airport imposing the charge.
        (3) Clearly and conspicuously disclose the existence
    
and amount of the charge in any telephonic, in-person, or computer-transmitted quotation from the rental car company's proprietary computer reservation system at the time of making an initial quotation of a rental rate if the quotation is made by a rental car company location at an airport imposing the charge and at the time of making a reservation of a rental car if the reservation is made by a rental car company location at an airport imposing the charge.
        (4) Clearly and conspicuously display the charge in
    
any proprietary computer-assisted reservation or transaction directly between the rental car company and the customer, shown or referenced on the same page on the computer screen viewed by the customer as the displayed rental rate and in a print size not smaller than the print size of the rental rate.
        (5) Clearly and conspicuously disclose and separately
    
identify the existence and amount of the charge on its rental agreement.
        (6) A rental car company that collects from its
    
customers a customer facility charge under subsection (j) and engages in a practice which does not comply with subsections (f), (j), and (k) commits an unlawful practice within the meaning of the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act.
    (l) Notwithstanding subsection (f), any person who rents a motor vehicle to another may, in connection with the rental of a motor vehicle to (i) a business renter or (ii) a business program sponsor under the sponsor's business program, do the following:
        (1) separately quote, by telephone, in person, or by
    
computer transmission, additional charges for the rental; and
        (2) separately impose additional charges for the
    
rental.
    (m) As used in this Section:
        (1) "Additional charges" means charges other than:
    
(i) a per period base rental rate; (ii) a mileage charge; (iii) taxes; or (iv) a customer facility charge.
        (2) "Business program" means:
            (A) a contract between a person who rents motor
        
vehicles and a business program sponsor that establishes rental rates at which the person will rent motor vehicles to persons authorized by the sponsor; or
            (B) a plan, program, or other arrangement
        
established by a person who rents motor vehicles at the request of, or with the consent of, a business program sponsor under which the person offers to rent motor vehicles to persons authorized by the sponsor on terms that are not the same as those generally offered by the rental company to the public.
        (3) "Business program sponsor" means any legal
    
entity other than a natural person, including a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, government, municipality or agency, or a natural person operating a business as a sole proprietor.
        (4) "Business renter" means any person renting a
    
motor vehicle for business purposes or, for any business program sponsor, a person who is authorized by the sponsor to enter into a rental contract under the sponsor's business program. "Business renter" does not include a person renting as:
            (A) a non-employee member of a not-for-profit
        
organization;
            (B) the purchaser of a voucher or other prepaid
        
rental arrangement from a person, including a tour operator, engaged in the business of reselling those vouchers or prepaid rental arrangements to the general public;
            (C) an individual whose car rental is eligible
        
for reimbursement in whole or in part as a result of the person being insured or provided coverage under a policy of insurance issued by an insurance company; or
            (D) an individual whose car rental is eligible
        
for reimbursement in whole or in part as a result of the person purchasing motor vehicle repair services from a person licensed to perform those services.
(Source: P.A. 97-595, eff. 8-26-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-305.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-305.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-305.1)
    Sec. 6-305.1. Unlawful subleasing of a motor vehicle. (a) It is unlawful for any person who is not a party to a lease contract, conditional sale contract, or security agreement which transfers any right or interest in a motor vehicle to:
    (1) obtain or exercise control over a motor vehicle and then sell, transfer, assign, or lease the motor vehicle to another person without first obtaining written authorization from the secured creditor, lessor, or lienholder for the sale, transfer, assignment, or lease if he receives compensation or other consideration for the sale, transfer, assignment, or lease of the motor vehicle; or
    (2) assist, cause, or arrange the actual or purported sale, transfer, assignment, or lease of a motor vehicle to another person without first obtaining written authorization from the secured creditor, lessor, or lienholder for the sale, transfer, assignment, or lease if he receives compensation or other consideration for assisting, causing, or arranging the sale, transfer, assignment, or lease of the motor vehicle.
    (3) this subsection shall not apply to any employee acting upon request of his employer.
    (b) Any person who violates the provisions of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (c) Notwithstanding any other remedy or relief to which a person is entitled, anyone suffering damage as a result of a violation of this Section may bring an action to recover or obtain actual damages, equitable relief, including, but not limited to, an injunction or restitution of money and property, reasonable attorney's fees and costs, and any other relief the court deems proper.
(Source: P.A. 86-748.)

625 ILCS 5/6-305.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-305.2)
    Sec. 6-305.2. Limited liability for damage.
    (a) Damage to private passenger vehicle. A person who rents a motor vehicle to another may hold the renter liable to the extent permitted under subsections (b) through (d) for physical or mechanical damage to the rented motor vehicle that occurs during the time the motor vehicle is under the rental agreement.
    (b) Limits on liability: vehicle MSRP $50,000 or less. The total liability of a renter under subsection (a) for damage to a motor vehicle with a Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of $50,000 or less may not exceed all of the following:
        (1) The lesser of:
            (A) Actual and reasonable costs that the person
        
who rents a motor vehicle to another incurred to repair the motor vehicle or that the rental company would have incurred if the motor vehicle had been repaired, which shall reflect any discounts, price reductions, or adjustments available to the rental company; or
            (B) The fair market value of that motor vehicle
        
immediately before the damage occurred, as determined in the customary market for the retail sale of that motor vehicle; and
        (2) Actual and reasonable costs incurred by the loss
    
due to theft of the rental motor vehicle up to $2,000; provided, however, that if it is established that the renter or an authorized driver failed to exercise ordinary care while in possession of the vehicle or that the renter or an authorized driver committed or aided and abetted the commission of the theft, then the damages shall be the actual and reasonable costs of the rental vehicle up to its fair market value, as determined by the customary market for the sale of that vehicle.
    For purposes of this subsection (b), for the period prior to June 1, 1998, the maximum amount that may be recovered from an authorized driver shall not exceed $6,000; for the period beginning June 1, 1998 through May 31, 1999, the maximum recovery shall not exceed $7,500; and for the period beginning June 1, 1999 through May 31, 2000, the maximum recovery shall not exceed $9,000. Beginning June 1, 2000, and annually each June 1 thereafter, the maximum amount that may be recovered from an authorized driver shall be increased by $500 above the maximum recovery allowed immediately prior to June 1 of that year.
    (b-5) Limits on liability: vehicle MSRP more than $50,000. The total liability of a renter under subsection (a) for damage to a motor vehicle with a Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of more than $50,000 may not exceed all of the following:
        (1) the lesser of:
            (A) actual and reasonable costs that the person
        
who rents a motor vehicle to another incurred to repair the motor vehicle or that the rental company would have incurred if the motor vehicle had been repaired, which shall reflect any discounts, price reductions, or adjustments available to the rental company; or
            (B) the fair market value of that motor vehicle
        
immediately before the damage occurred, as determined in the customary market for the retail sale of that motor vehicle; and
        (2) the actual and reasonable costs incurred by the
    
loss due to theft of the rental motor vehicle up to $40,000.
    The maximum recovery for a motor vehicle with a Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of more than $50,000 under this subsection (b-5) shall not exceed $40,000 on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly. On October 1, 2016, and for the next 3 years thereafter, the maximum amount that may be recovered from an authorized driver under this subsection (b-5) shall be increased by $2,500 above the prior year's maximum recovery. On October 1, 2020, and for each year thereafter, the maximum amount that may be recovered from an authorized driver under this subsection (b-5) shall be increased by $1,000 above the prior year's maximum recovery.
    (c) Multiple recoveries prohibited. Any person who rents a motor vehicle to another may not hold the renter liable for any amounts that the rental company recovers from any other party.
    (d) Repair estimates. A person who rents a motor vehicle to another may not collect or attempt to collect the amount described in subsection (b) or (b-5) unless the rental company obtains an estimate from a repair company or an appraiser in the business of providing such appraisals on the costs of repairing the motor vehicle, makes a copy of the estimate available upon request to the renter who may be liable under subsection (a), or the insurer of the renter, and submits a copy of the estimate with any claim to collect the amount described in subsection (b) or (b-5). In order to collect the amount described in subsection (b-5), a person renting a motor vehicle to another must also provide the renter's personal insurance company with reasonable notice and an opportunity to inspect damages.
    (d-5) In the event of loss due to theft of the rental motor vehicle with a MSRP more than $50,000, the rental company shall provide reasonable notice of the theft to the renter's personal insurance company.
    (e) Duty to mitigate. A claim against a renter resulting from damage or loss to a rental vehicle must be reasonably and rationally related to the actual loss incurred. A rental company shall mitigate damages where possible and shall not assert or collect any claim for physical damage which exceeds the actual costs of the repair, including all discounts or price reductions.
    (f) No rental company shall require a deposit or an advance charge against the credit card of a renter, in any form, for damages to a vehicle which is in the renter's possession, custody, or control. No rental company shall require any payment for damage to the rental vehicle, upon the renter's return of the vehicle in a damaged condition, until after the cost of the damage to the vehicle and liability therefor is agreed to between the rental company and renter or is determined pursuant to law.
    (g) If insurance coverage exists under the renter's personal insurance policy and the coverage is confirmed during regular business hours, the renter may require that the rental company must submit any claims to the renter's personal insurance carrier as the renter's agent. The rental company shall not make any written or oral representations that it will not present claims or negotiate with the renter's insurance carrier. For purposes of this Section, confirmation of coverage includes telephone confirmation from insurance company representatives during regular business hours. After confirmation of coverage, the amount of claim shall be resolved between the insurance carrier and the rental company.
(Source: P.A. 99-201, eff. 10-1-15.)