Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. ABANDONED, LOST,
STOLEN OR UNCLAIMED VEHICLES

625 ILCS 5/4-201

    (625 ILCS 5/4-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-201)
    Sec. 4-201. Abandonment of vehicles prohibited.
    (a) The abandonment of a vehicle or any part thereof on any highway in this State is unlawful and subject to penalties as set forth under Penalty Section 4-214 of this Chapter.
    (b) The abandonment of a vehicle or any part thereof on private or public property, other than a highway, in view of the general public, anywhere in this State is unlawful except on property of the owner or bailee of such abandoned vehicle. A vehicle or any part thereof so abandoned on private property shall be authorized for removal, by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction, after a waiting period of 7 days or more, or may be removed immediately if determined to be a hazardous dilapidated motor vehicle under Section 11-40-3.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code. A violation of subsections (a) or (b) of this Section is subject to penalties as set forth under Section 4-214 of this Chapter.
    (c) A towing service may begin to process an unclaimed vehicle as abandoned by requesting a record search by the Secretary of State up to 10 days after the date of the tow, or any later date acceptable to the Secretary of State. This subsection (c) shall not apply to vehicles towed by order or authorization of a law enforcement agency.
(Source: P.A. 90-330, eff. 8-8-97.)

625 ILCS 5/4-202

    (625 ILCS 5/4-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-202)
    Sec. 4-202. Abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicle notification to law enforcement agencies.
    When an abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicle comes into the temporary possession or custody of a person in this State, not the owner of the vehicle, such person shall immediately notify the municipal police when the vehicle is within the corporate limits of any city, village or town having a duly authorized police department, or the State Police or the county sheriff when the vehicle is outside the corporate limits of a city, village or town. Upon receipt of such notification, the municipal police, State Police or county sheriff will authorize a towing service to remove and take possession of the abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicle. The towing service will safely keep the towed vehicle and its contents, maintain a record of the tow as set forth in Section 4-204 for law enforcement agencies, until the vehicle is claimed by the owner or any other person legally entitled to possession thereof or until it is disposed of as provided in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 78-858.)

625 ILCS 5/4-203

    (625 ILCS 5/4-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-203)
    Sec. 4-203. Removal of motor vehicles or other vehicles; Towing or hauling away.
    (a) When a vehicle is abandoned, or left unattended, on a toll highway, interstate highway, or expressway for 2 hours or more, its removal by a towing service may be authorized by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction.
    (b) When a vehicle is abandoned on a highway in an urban district 10 hours or more, its removal by a towing service may be authorized by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction.
    (c) When a vehicle is abandoned or left unattended on a highway other than a toll highway, interstate highway, or expressway, outside of an urban district for 24 hours or more, its removal by a towing service may be authorized by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction.
    (d) When an abandoned, unattended, wrecked, burned or partially dismantled vehicle is creating a traffic hazard because of its position in relation to the highway or its physical appearance is causing the impeding of traffic, its immediate removal from the highway or private property adjacent to the highway by a towing service may be authorized by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction.
    (e) Whenever a peace officer reasonably believes that a person under arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance is likely, upon release, to commit a subsequent violation of Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, the arresting officer shall have the vehicle which the person was operating at the time of the arrest impounded for a period of not more than 12 hours after the time of arrest. However, such vehicle may be released by the arresting law enforcement agency prior to the end of the impoundment period if:
        (1) the vehicle was not owned by the person under
    
arrest, and the lawful owner requesting such release possesses a valid operator's license, proof of ownership, and would not, as determined by the arresting law enforcement agency, indicate a lack of ability to operate a motor vehicle in a safe manner, or who would otherwise, by operating such motor vehicle, be in violation of this Code; or
        (2) the vehicle is owned by the person under arrest,
    
and the person under arrest gives permission to another person to operate such vehicle, provided however, that the other person possesses a valid operator's license and would not, as determined by the arresting law enforcement agency, indicate a lack of ability to operate a motor vehicle in a safe manner or who would otherwise, by operating such motor vehicle, be in violation of this Code.
    (e-5) Whenever a registered owner of a vehicle is taken into custody for operating the vehicle in violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or Section 6-303 of this Code, a law enforcement officer may have the vehicle immediately impounded for a period not less than:
        (1) 24 hours for a second violation of Section 11-501
    
of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or Section 6-303 of this Code or a combination of these offenses; or
        (2) 48 hours for a third violation of Section 11-501
    
of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or Section 6-303 of this Code or a combination of these offenses.
    The vehicle may be released sooner if the vehicle is owned by the person under arrest and the person under arrest gives permission to another person to operate the vehicle and that other person possesses a valid operator's license and would not, as determined by the arresting law enforcement agency, indicate a lack of ability to operate a motor vehicle in a safe manner or would otherwise, by operating the motor vehicle, be in violation of this Code.
    (f) Except as provided in Chapter 18a of this Code, the owner or lessor of privately owned real property within this State, or any person authorized by such owner or lessor, or any law enforcement agency in the case of publicly owned real property may cause any motor vehicle abandoned or left unattended upon such property without permission to be removed by a towing service without liability for the costs of removal, transportation or storage or damage caused by such removal, transportation or storage. The towing or removal of any vehicle from private property without the consent of the registered owner or other legally authorized person in control of the vehicle is subject to compliance with the following conditions and restrictions:
        1. Any towed or removed vehicle must be stored at the
    
site of the towing service's place of business. The site must be open during business hours, and for the purpose of redemption of vehicles, during the time that the person or firm towing such vehicle is open for towing purposes.
        2. The towing service shall within 30 minutes of
    
completion of such towing or removal, notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction of such towing or removal, and the make, model, color and license plate number of the vehicle, and shall obtain and record the name of the person at the law enforcement agency to whom such information was reported.
        3. If the registered owner or legally authorized
    
person entitled to possession of the vehicle shall arrive at the scene prior to actual removal or towing of the vehicle, the vehicle shall be disconnected from the tow truck and that person shall be allowed to remove the vehicle without interference, upon the payment of a reasonable service fee of not more than one half the posted rate of the towing service as provided in paragraph 6 of this subsection, for which a receipt shall be given.
        4. The rebate or payment of money or any other
    
valuable consideration from the towing service or its owners, managers or employees to the owners or operators of the premises from which the vehicles are towed or removed, for the privilege of removing or towing those vehicles, is prohibited. Any individual who violates this paragraph shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
        5. Except for property appurtenant to and obviously a
    
part of a single family residence, and except for instances where notice is personally given to the owner or other legally authorized person in control of the vehicle that the area in which that vehicle is parked is reserved or otherwise unavailable to unauthorized vehicles and they are subject to being removed at the owner or operator's expense, any property owner or lessor, prior to towing or removing any vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner or other legally authorized person in control of that vehicle, must post a notice meeting the following requirements:
            a. Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph
        
a.1 of this subdivision (f)5, the notice must be prominently placed at each driveway access or curb cut allowing vehicular access to the property within 5 feet from the public right-of-way line. If there are no curbs or access barriers, the sign must be posted not less than one sign each 100 feet of lot frontage.
            a.1. In a municipality with a population of less
        
than 250,000, as an alternative to the requirement of subparagraph a of this subdivision (f)5, the notice for a parking lot contained within property used solely for a 2-family, 3-family, or 4-family residence may be prominently placed at the perimeter of the parking lot, in a position where the notice is visible to the occupants of vehicles entering the lot.
            b. The notice must indicate clearly, in not less
        
than 2 inch high light-reflective letters on a contrasting background, that unauthorized vehicles will be towed away at the owner's expense.
            c. The notice must also provide the name and
        
current telephone number of the towing service towing or removing the vehicle.
            d. The sign structure containing the required
        
notices must be permanently installed with the bottom of the sign not less than 4 feet above ground level, and must be continuously maintained on the property for not less than 24 hours prior to the towing or removing of any vehicle.
        6. Any towing service that tows or removes vehicles
    
and proposes to require the owner, operator, or person in control of the vehicle to pay the costs of towing and storage prior to redemption of the vehicle must file and keep on record with the local law enforcement agency a complete copy of the current rates to be charged for such services, and post at the storage site an identical rate schedule and any written contracts with property owners, lessors, or persons in control of property which authorize them to remove vehicles as provided in this Section. The towing and storage charges, however, shall not exceed the maximum allowed by the Illinois Commerce Commission under Section 18a-200.
        7. No person shall engage in the removal of vehicles
    
from private property as described in this Section without filing a notice of intent in each community where he intends to do such removal, and such notice shall be filed at least 7 days before commencing such towing.
        8. No removal of a vehicle from private property
    
shall be done except upon express written instructions of the owners or persons in charge of the private property upon which the vehicle is said to be trespassing.
        9. Vehicle entry for the purpose of removal shall be
    
allowed with reasonable care on the part of the person or firm towing the vehicle. Such person or firm shall be liable for any damages occasioned to the vehicle if such entry is not in accordance with the standards of reasonable care.
        10. When a vehicle has been towed or removed pursuant
    
to this Section, it must be released to its owner or custodian within one half hour after requested, if such request is made during business hours. Any vehicle owner or custodian or agent shall have the right to inspect the vehicle before accepting its return, and no release or waiver of any kind which would release the towing service from liability for damages incurred during the towing and storage may be required from any vehicle owner or other legally authorized person as a condition of release of the vehicle. A detailed, signed receipt showing the legal name of the towing service must be given to the person paying towing or storage charges at the time of payment, whether requested or not.
    This Section shall not apply to law enforcement, firefighting, rescue, ambulance, or other emergency vehicles which are marked as such or to property owned by any governmental entity.
    When an authorized person improperly causes a motor vehicle to be removed, such person shall be liable to the owner or lessee of the vehicle for the cost or removal, transportation and storage, any damages resulting from the removal, transportation and storage, attorney's fee and court costs.
    Any towing or storage charges accrued shall be payable by the use of any major credit card, in addition to being payable in cash.
        11. Towing companies shall also provide insurance
    
coverage for areas where vehicles towed under the provisions of this Chapter will be impounded or otherwise stored, and shall adequately cover loss by fire, theft or other risks.
    Any person who fails to comply with the conditions and restrictions of this subsection shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500.
    (g)(1) When a vehicle is determined to be a hazardous dilapidated motor vehicle pursuant to Section 11-40-3.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code or Section 5-12002.1 of the Counties Code, its removal and impoundment by a towing service may be authorized by a law enforcement agency with appropriate jurisdiction.
    (2) When a vehicle removal from either public or private property is authorized by a law enforcement agency, the owner of the vehicle shall be responsible for all towing and storage charges.
    (3) Vehicles removed from public or private property and stored by a commercial vehicle relocator or any other towing service authorized by a law enforcement agency in compliance with this Section and Sections 4-201 and 4-202 of this Code, or at the request of the vehicle owner or operator, shall be subject to a possessor lien for services pursuant to the Labor and Storage Lien (Small Amount) Act. The provisions of Section 1 of that Act relating to notice and implied consent shall be deemed satisfied by compliance with Section 18a-302 and subsection (6) of Section 18a-300. In no event shall such lien be greater than the rate or rates established in accordance with subsection (6) of Section 18a-200 of this Code. In no event shall such lien be increased or altered to reflect any charge for services or materials rendered in addition to those authorized by this Act. Every such lien shall be payable by use of any major credit card, in addition to being payable in cash.
    (4) Any personal property belonging to the vehicle owner in a vehicle subject to a lien under this subsection (g) shall likewise be subject to that lien, excepting only: child restraint systems as defined in Section 4 of the Child Passenger Protection Act and other child booster seats; eyeglasses; food; medicine; perishable property; any operator's licenses; any cash, credit cards, or checks or checkbooks; any wallet, purse, or other property containing any operator's license or other identifying documents or materials, cash, credit cards, checks, or checkbooks; and any personal property belonging to a person other than the vehicle owner if that person provides adequate proof that the personal property belongs to that person. The spouse, child, mother, father, brother, or sister of the vehicle owner may claim personal property excepted under this paragraph (4) if the person claiming the personal property provides the commercial vehicle relocator or towing service with the authorization of the vehicle owner.
    (5) This paragraph (5) applies only in the case of a vehicle that is towed as a result of being involved in an accident. In addition to the personal property excepted under paragraph (4), all other personal property in a vehicle subject to a lien under this subsection (g) is exempt from that lien and may be claimed by the vehicle owner if the vehicle owner provides the commercial vehicle relocator or towing service with proof that the vehicle owner has an insurance policy covering towing and storage fees. The spouse, child, mother, father, brother, or sister of the vehicle owner may claim personal property in a vehicle subject to a lien under this subsection (g) if the person claiming the personal property provides the commercial vehicle relocator or towing service with the authorization of the vehicle owner and proof that the vehicle owner has an insurance policy covering towing and storage fees. The regulation of liens on personal property and exceptions to those liens in the case of vehicles towed as a result of being involved in an accident are exclusive powers and functions of the State. A home rule unit may not regulate liens on personal property and exceptions to those liens in the case of vehicles towed as a result of being involved in an accident. This paragraph (5) is a denial and limitation of home rule powers and functions under subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution.
    (6) No lien under this subsection (g) shall: exceed $2,000 in its total amount; or be increased or altered to reflect any charge for services or materials rendered in addition to those authorized by this Act.
    (h) Whenever a peace officer issues a citation to a driver for a violation of subsection (a) of Section 11-506 of this Code, the arresting officer may have the vehicle which the person was operating at the time of the arrest impounded for a period of 5 days after the time of arrest. An impounding agency shall release a motor vehicle impounded under this subsection (h) to the registered owner of the vehicle under any of the following circumstances:
        (1) If the vehicle is a stolen vehicle; or
        (2) If the person ticketed for a violation of
    
subsection (a) of Section 11-506 of this Code was not authorized by the registered owner of the vehicle to operate the vehicle at the time of the violation; or
        (3) If the registered owner of the vehicle was
    
neither the driver nor a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the violation or was unaware that the driver was using the vehicle to engage in street racing; or
        (4) If the legal owner or registered owner of the
    
vehicle is a rental car agency; or
        (5) If, prior to the expiration of the impoundment
    
period specified above, the citation is dismissed or the defendant is found not guilty of the offense.
(Source: P.A. 96-1274, eff. 7-26-10; 96-1506, eff. 1-27-11; 97-779, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/4-204

    (625 ILCS 5/4-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-204)
    Sec. 4-204. Police tows; reports, release of vehicles, payment. When a vehicle is authorized to be towed away as provided in Section 4-202 or 4-203:
    (a) The authorization, any hold order, and any release shall be in writing, or confirmed in writing, with a copy given to the towing service.
    (b) The police headquarters or office of the law officer authorizing the towing shall keep and maintain a record of the vehicle towed, listing the color, year of manufacture, manufacturer's trade name, manufacturer's series name, body style, Vehicle Identification Number, license plate year and number and registration sticker year and number displayed on the vehicle. The record shall also include the date and hour of tow, location towed from, location towed to, reason for towing and the name of the officer authorizing the tow.
    (c) The owner, operator, or other legally entitled person shall be responsible to the towing service for payment of applicable removal, towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs associated with a vehicle towed or held under order or authorization of a law enforcement agency. If a vehicle towed or held under order or authorization of a law enforcement agency is seized by the ordering or authorizing agency or any other law enforcement or governmental agency and sold, any unpaid removal, towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs shall be paid to the towing service from the proceeds of the sale. If applicable law provides that the proceeds are to be paid into the treasury of the appropriate civil jurisdiction, then any unpaid removal, towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs shall be paid to the towing service from the treasury of the civil jurisdiction. That payment shall not, however, exceed the amount of proceeds from the sale, with the balance to be paid by the owner, operator, or other legally entitled person.
    (d) Upon delivery of a written release order to the towing service, a vehicle subject to a hold order shall be released to the owner, operator, or other legally entitled person upon proof of ownership or other entitlement and upon payment of applicable removal, towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/4-205

    (625 ILCS 5/4-205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-205)
    Sec. 4-205. Record searches.
    (a) When a law enforcement agency authorizing the impounding of a vehicle does not know the identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other legally entitled person, that law enforcement agency will cause the vehicle registration records of the State of Illinois to be searched by the Secretary of State for the purpose of obtaining the required ownership information.
    (b) The law enforcement agency authorizing the impounding of a vehicle will cause the stolen motor vehicle files of the State Police to be searched by a directed communication to the State Police for stolen or wanted information on the vehicle. When the State Police files are searched with negative results, the information contained in the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) files will be searched by the State Police. The information determined from these record searches will be returned to the requesting law enforcement agency for that agency's use in sending a notification by certified mail to the registered owner, lienholder and other legally entitled persons advising where the vehicle is held, requesting a disposition be made and setting forth public sale information. Notification shall be sent no later than 10 business days after the date the law enforcement agency impounds or authorizes the impounding of a vehicle, provided that if the law enforcement agency is unable to determine the identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled to ownership of the impounded vehicle within a 10 business day period after impoundment, then notification shall be sent no later than 2 days after the date the identity of the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled to ownership of the impounded vehicle is determined. Exceptions to a notification by certified mail to the registered owner, lienholder and other legally entitled persons are set forth in Section 4-209 of this Code.
    (c) When ownership information is needed for a towing service to give notification as required under this Code, the towing service may cause the vehicle registration records of the State of Illinois to be searched by the Secretary of State, and in such case, the towing service also shall give notice to all lienholders of record within the time period required for such other notices.
    The written request of a towing service, in the form and containing the information prescribed by the Secretary of State by rule, may be transmitted to the Secretary of State in person, by U.S. mail or other delivery service, by facsimile transmission, or by other means the Secretary of State deems acceptable.
    The Secretary of State shall provide the required information, or a statement that the information was not found in the vehicle registration records of the State, by U.S. mail or other delivery service, facsimile transmission, as requested by the towing service, or by other means acceptable to the Secretary of State.
    (d) The Secretary of State may prescribe standards and procedures for submission of requests for record searches and replies via computer link.
    (e) Fees for services provided under this Section shall be in amounts prescribed by the Secretary of State under Section 3-821.1 of this Code. Payment may be made by the towing service using cash, any commonly accepted credit card, or any other means of payment deemed acceptable by the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 95-838, eff. 8-15-08.)

625 ILCS 5/4-206

    (625 ILCS 5/4-206) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-206)
    Sec. 4-206. Identifying and tracing of vehicle ownership by Illinois State Police. When the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled to the possession of a vehicle cannot be identified from the registration files of this State or from the registration files of a foreign state, if applicable, the law enforcement agency having custody of the vehicle shall notify the State Police, for the purpose of identifying the vehicle owner or other person legally entitled to the possession of the vehicle. The information obtained by the State Police will be immediately forwarded to the law enforcement agency having custody of the vehicle for notification purposes as set forth in Section 4-205 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 82-363.)

625 ILCS 5/4-207

    (625 ILCS 5/4-207) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-207)
    Sec. 4-207. Reclaimed vehicles; expenses.
    (a) Any time before a vehicle is sold at public sale or disposed of as provided in Section 4-208, the owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled to its possession may reclaim the vehicle by presenting to the law enforcement agency having custody of the vehicle proof of ownership or proof of the right to possession of the vehicle.
    (b) No vehicle shall be released to the owner, lienholder, or other person under this Section until all towing, storage, and processing charges have been paid.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/4-208

    (625 ILCS 5/4-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-208)
    Sec. 4-208. Disposal of unclaimed vehicles.
    (a) In cities having a population of more than 500,000, whenever an abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicle, or vehicle determined to be a hazardous dilapidated motor vehicle pursuant to Section 11-40-3.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code, remains unclaimed by the registered owner, lienholder or other legally entitled person for a period of 18 days after notice has been given under Sections 4-205 and 4-206 of this Code, if during that 18 days the possessor of the vehicle has sent an additional notice by first class mail to the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled person, the vehicle shall be disposed, pursuant to the provisions of the "Municipal purchasing act for cities of 500,000 or more population", to a person licensed as an automotive parts recycler, rebuilder or scrap processor under Chapter 5 of this Code. With respect to any vehicle that has been booted, impounded, or both in accordance with subsection (c) of Section 11-208.3, a city with a population over 500,000 may establish a program whereby the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled person is entitled to any proceeds from the disposition of the vehicle, less any reasonable storage charges, administrative fees, booting fees, towing fees, and parking and compliance fines and penalties.
    (b) Except as provided in Section 4-208 for cities with more than 500,000 inhabitants, when an abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicle 7 years of age or newer remains unclaimed by the registered owner, lienholder or other legally entitled persons for a period of 30 days after notice has been given as provided in Sections 4-205 and 4-206 of this Code, the law enforcement agency or towing service having possession of the vehicle shall cause it to be sold at public auction to a person licensed as an automotive parts recycler, rebuilder or scrap processor under Chapter 5 of this Code or the towing operator which towed the vehicle. Notice of the time and place of the sale shall be posted in a conspicuous place for at least 10 days prior to the sale on the premises where the vehicle has been impounded. At least 10 days prior to the sale, the law enforcement agency where the vehicle is impounded, or the towing service where the vehicle is impounded, shall cause a notice of the time and place of the sale to be sent by certified mail to the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons. Notice as provided in Sections 4-205 and 4-206 of this Code and as provided in this subsection (b) shall state the time and place of sale and shall contain a complete description of the vehicle to be sold and what steps must be taken by any legally entitled person to reclaim the vehicle.
    (c) If an abandoned, lost, stolen, or unclaimed vehicle displays dealer plates, notice under this Section and Section 4-209 of this Code shall be sent to both the dealer and the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons.
    (d) In those instances where the certified notification specified in Sections 4-205 and 4-206 of this Code has been returned by the postal authorities to the law enforcement agency or towing service, the sending of a second certified notice will not be required.
(Source: P.A. 94-650, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/4-209

    (625 ILCS 5/4-209) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-209)
    Sec. 4-209. Disposal of unclaimed vehicles more than 7 years of age; disposal of abandoned or unclaimed vehicles without notice.
    (a) When the identity of the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons of an abandoned, lost, or unclaimed vehicle of 7 years of age or newer cannot be determined by any means provided for in this Chapter, the vehicle may be sold as provided in Section 4-208 without notice to any person whose identity cannot be determined.
    (b) When an abandoned vehicle of more than 7 years of age is impounded as specified by this Chapter, or when any such vehicle is towed at the request or with the consent of the owner or operator and is subsequently abandoned, it will be kept in custody or storage for a minimum of 10 days for the purpose of determining the identity of the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons and contacting the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons by the U. S. Mail, public service or in person for a determination of disposition; and, an examination of the State Police stolen vehicle files for theft and wanted information. At the expiration of the 10 day period, without the benefit of disposition information being received from the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons, the vehicle may be disposed of in either of the following ways:
        (1) The law enforcement agency having jurisdiction
    
will authorize the disposal of the vehicle as junk or salvage.
        (2) The towing service may sell the vehicle in the
    
manner provided in Section 4-208 of this Code, provided that this paragraph (2) shall not apply to vehicles towed by order or authorization of a law enforcement agency.
    (c) A vehicle classified as an antique vehicle, expanded-use antique vehicle, custom vehicle, or street rod may however be sold to a person desiring to restore it.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/4-209.1

    (625 ILCS 5/4-209.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-209.1)
    Sec. 4-209.1. Disposal of hazardous dilapidated motor vehicles. Any hazardous dilapidated motor vehicle impounded pursuant to the provisions of this Article and Section 11-40-3.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code, whether impounded at a public facility or on the property of private towing service, shall be kept in custody for a period of 10 days for the purpose of determining the identity of the registered owner or lienholder and contacting such owner or lienholder, if known, by regular U.S. Mail. At the expiration of the 10-day period, without benefit of disposition information being received from the registered owner or lienholder, the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction will authorize the disposal of the vehicle as junk.
(Source: P.A. 86-460.)

625 ILCS 5/4-209.2

    (625 ILCS 5/4-209.2)
    Sec. 4-209.2. Collection of unpaid charges. In an action to collect towing, storage, and processing charges that remain unpaid after disposition of a vehicle towed or relocated under this Code, the towing service may recover reasonable collection costs.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/4-210

    (625 ILCS 5/4-210) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-210)
    Sec. 4-210. Police reports after vehicle is reclaimed or disposed of. When a vehicle in the custody of a law enforcement agency is reclaimed by the registered owner, lienholder or other legally entitled person, or when the vehicle is sold at public sale or otherwise disposed of as provided in this Chapter, a report of the transaction will be maintained by that law enforcement agency for a period of one year from the date of the sale or disposal.
(Source: P.A. 82-363.)

625 ILCS 5/4-211

    (625 ILCS 5/4-211) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-211)
    Sec. 4-211. Disposition of proceeds of sale of unclaimed vehicles.
    (a) When a vehicle located within the corporate limits of a city, village or town is authorized to be towed away by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction and disposed of as set forth in this Chapter, the proceeds of the public sale or disposition after the deduction of towing, storage and processing charges shall be deposited in the treasury of such city, village or town.
    (b) When a vehicle located outside the corporate limits of a city, village or town is authorized to be towed away by a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction and disposed of as set forth in this Chapter, the proceeds of the public sale or disposition, after deducting towing, storage and processing costs shall be deposited in the county treasury of the county where the vehicle was located at the time of the tow.
    (c) The provisions of this Section shall not apply to vehicles disposed of or sold at public sale under subsection (k) of Section 4-107 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 83-830.)

625 ILCS 5/4-212

    (625 ILCS 5/4-212) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-212)
    Sec. 4-212. Ownership documents for vehicles after public sale - removal of liens. When an applicant for a salvage certificate or junking certificate under this Chapter presents to the Secretary of State proof that he has purchased or acquired a vehicle at a public sale as authorized by this Chapter and such fact is certified to by the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the public sale of a vehicle, the Secretary of State shall issue a salvage certificate or junking certificate for the vehicle upon receipt of the statutory fee and a properly executed application for a salvage certificate or junking certificate. The salvage certificate or junking certificate issued by the Secretary of State under this Section shall be free of any lien that existed against the vehicle prior to the time the vehicle was acquired by the applicant under this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 85-951.)

625 ILCS 5/4-212.1

    (625 ILCS 5/4-212.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-212.1)
    Sec. 4-212.1. In cities with more than 500,000 inhabitants, the corporate authorities may, by ordinance, designate any department of municipal government to do any of the following:
    (1) To perform any of the duties and functions specified for law enforcement agencies in subsection (a) of Section 4-205 and in Sections 4-201, 4-203, 4-204, 4-206, 4-207, 4-208, 4-209, 4-210, 4-211 and 4-212; and
    (2) To authorize a towing service to remove and take possession of abandoned, lost, stolen or unclaimed vehicles, in the manner that municipal police may make such authorization pursuant to Section 4-202; and
    (3) To send notifications as required under subsection (b) of Section 4-205.
(Source: P.A. 86-947.)

625 ILCS 5/4-213

    (625 ILCS 5/4-213) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-213)
    Sec. 4-213. Liability of law enforcement officers, agencies, and towing services.
    (a) A law enforcement officer or agency, a department of municipal government designated under Section 4-212.1 or its officers or employees, or a towing service owner, operator, or employee shall not be held to answer or be liable for damages in any action brought by the registered owner, former registered owner, or his legal representative, lienholder or any other person legally entitled to the possession of a vehicle when the vehicle was processed and sold or disposed of as provided by this Chapter.
    (b) A towing service, and any of its officers or employees, that removes or tows a vehicle as a result of being directed to do so by a law enforcement officer or agency or a department of municipal government or its officers or employees shall not be held to answer or be liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs in the course of the removal or towing of a vehicle or its contents (i) on a limited access highway in a designated Incident Management Program that uses fast lane clearance techniques as defined by the Department of Transportation or (ii) at the direction of a peace officer, a highway authority official, or a representative of local authorities, under Section 11-402 or 11-404 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-407, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/4-214

    (625 ILCS 5/4-214) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-214)
    Sec. 4-214. Violations of Section 4-201.
    (a) Any person who violates Section 4-201 of this Code or who aids and abets in that violation:
        (1) shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $200; and
        (2) shall be required by the court to make a
    
disposition on the abandoned or unclaimed vehicle and pay all towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs pursuant to Section 4-203, subsections (a) and (e).
    (b) When a vehicle is abandoned, it shall be presumed that the last registered owner is responsible for the abandonment and shall be liable for all towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs, less any amounts realized in the disposal of the vehicle. The last registered owner's liability for storage fees may not exceed a maximum of 30 days' storage fees.
    The presumption established under this subsection may be rebutted by a showing that, prior to the time of the tow:
        (1) a report of vehicle theft was filed with respect
    
to the vehicle; or
        (2) the vehicle was sold or transferred and the last
    
registered owner provides the towing service with the correct identity and address of the new owner at the time of the sale or transfer.
    If the presumption established under this subsection is rebutted, the person responsible for theft of the vehicle or to whom the vehicle was sold or transferred is liable for all towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/4-214.1

    (625 ILCS 5/4-214.1)
    Sec. 4-214.1. Failure to pay fines, charges, and costs on an abandoned vehicle.     (a) Whenever any resident of this State fails to pay any fine, charge, or cost imposed for a violation of Section 4-201 of this Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, the clerk shall notify the Secretary of State, on a report prescribed by the Secretary, and the Secretary shall prohibit the renewal, reissue, or reinstatement of the resident's driving privileges until the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full. The clerk shall provide notice to the owner, at the owner's last known address as shown on the court's records, stating that the action will be effective on the 46th day following the date of the above notice if payment is not received in full by the court of venue.
    (b) Following receipt of the report from the clerk, the Secretary of State shall make the proper notation to the owner's file to prohibit the renewal, reissue, or reinstatement of the owner's driving privileges. Except as provided in subsection (d) of this Section, the notation shall not be removed from the owner's record until the owner satisfies the outstanding fine, charge, or cost and an appropriate notice on a form prescribed by the Secretary is received by the Secretary from the court of venue, stating that the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full. Upon payment in full of a fine, charge, or court cost which has previously been reported under this Section as unpaid, the clerk of the court shall present the owner with a signed receipt containing the seal of the court indicating that the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full, and shall forward immediately to the Secretary of State a notice stating that the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full.
    (c) Notwithstanding the receipt of a report from the clerk as prescribed in subsection (a), nothing in this Section is intended to place any responsibility upon the Secretary of State to provide independent notice to the owner of any potential action to disallow the renewal, reissue, or reinstatement of the owner's driving privileges.
    (d) The Secretary of State shall renew, reissue, or reinstate an owner's driving privileges which were previously refused under this Section upon presentation of an original receipt which is signed by the clerk of the court and contains the seal of the court indicating that the fine, charge, or cost has been paid in full. The Secretary of State shall retain the receipt for his or her records.
(Source: P.A. 95-621, eff. 6-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/4-215

    (625 ILCS 5/4-215)
    Sec. 4-215. Rebuilt vehicles; clean titles. Persons licensed under Section 5-301 of this Code may obtain a certificate of title that does not bear the notation "REBUILT" from a certificate of purchase when the damage to the vehicle is 25% or less of its market value, there has been no structural damage to the vehicle, there is no history of a salvage certificate, and the vehicle has undergone a salvage inspection by the Secretary of State and a safety inspection under Section 13-101 of this Code. The application for a certificate of title shall contain an affirmation under penalty for perjury that the vehicle on the date of the application is not damaged in excess of 25% of its market value, has no structural damage, and has no history of salvage.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 4 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. VEHICLE RECYCLING BOARD

625 ILCS 5/4-300

    (625 ILCS 5/4-300) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-300)
    Sec. 4-300. Definitions.
    For the purposes of this Article, the following word shall have the meaning ascribed to it as follows:
    Board. The Vehicle Recycling Board of the State of Illinois, acting directly or through its duly authorized officers and agents.
(Source: P.A. 78-857.)

625 ILCS 5/4-301

    (625 ILCS 5/4-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-301)
    Sec. 4-301. State policy. The General Assembly finds that abandoned and derelict vehicles: constitute a safety hazard and a public nuisance; are detrimental to the health, safety and welfare of the general public by harboring disease, providing breeding places for vermin, inviting plundering, creating fire hazards, and presenting physical dangers to children and others; produce scenic blights which degrade the environment and adversely affect land values and the proper maintenance and continuing development of the State of Illinois and all of its subdivisions; represent a resource out of place and an energy loss to the Illinois economy, and require state and local governmental attention, in conjunction with any federal governmental attention, in order to assure the expeditious removal and recycling of these abandoned and derelict vehicles.
    The General Assembly declares therefore, that it is the policy of the State of Illinois, to:
    1. Prohibit the abandonment of vehicles and the retention of derelicts, and to enforce such prohibition by law while reminding vehicle owners of their own individual responsibility to dispose of such vehicles;
    2. Encourage the development of procedures and techniques to facilitate the expeditious removal of abandoned and derelict vehicles from public or private premises;
    3. Encourage the State of Illinois and all of its political subdivisions, in cooperation with the federal government and the private sector of our State, and in cooperation with other states of the United States, to recover and recycle the resource represented by abandoned and derelict vehicles to the fullest extent practicable.
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)

625 ILCS 5/4-302

    (625 ILCS 5/4-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-302)
    Sec. 4-302. Vehicle Recycling Board. There is hereby created the Vehicle Recycling Board of the State of Illinois composed of the Secretary of Transportation, the Director of State Police, the Director of Public Health, the Director of the Environmental Protection Agency, the Superintendent of State Troopers or their designated representatives. The Governor shall designate the Chairman and Secretary of the Board.
    The Board shall appoint an advisory committee, of no less than 10 members, to include an official representative of the Office of the Secretary of State as designated by the Secretary; and other appropriate representatives from such sources as: statewide associations of city, county and township governing bodies; knowledgeable successful leaders from the auto recycling private sector; the State associations of chiefs of police, county sheriffs, police officers; and State agencies having a direct or indirect relationship with vehicle recycling.
(Source: P.A. 84-25.)

625 ILCS 5/4-303

    (625 ILCS 5/4-303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-303)
    Sec. 4-303. Tenure, vacancies and expenses. State officers and their designated representatives on the Board and representatives of the State agencies serving on the advisory committee, shall serve without additional compensation and their necessary expenses shall be borne by the State office or agency represented. Members of the advisory committee shall be reimbursed for their necessary expenses in their attendance to meetings and functions as required by the Board.
    The Board shall employ such personnel as deemed necessary by the Board to implement and administer this Act and any expenses incurred in its administration may be incurred and expended only within and pursuant to the appropriations made by the General Assembly.
    The records of the Board shall be subject to audit by the Auditor General.
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)

625 ILCS 5/4-304

    (625 ILCS 5/4-304) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-304)
    Sec. 4-304. Implementation and administration of policy. The Board shall consider and adopt such programs as are designed to implement and administer the policies hereinbefore expressed and within the appropriations provided for by the General Assembly.
    In adopting such programs, the Board shall take into consideration the programs of the federal government in the same field, so as to assure full coordination therewith and that the State of Illinois does not duplicate federal actions and programs. The programs to be considered by the Board shall in addition be designed to:
        1. Effect the efficient removal of abandoned vehicles
    
from the highways, streets, roads, other public property, as well as from private property within Illinois.
        2. Effect the efficient removal of abandoned and
    
derelict vehicles from private property to be junked, salvaged, recycled, or reclaimed, to wrecking, recycling or salvaging facilities, or to a temporary impoundment or area collection center.
        3. Effect efficient recycling or scrap processing of
    
retired vehicles and the salvaging of usable parts.
        4. Permit the restoration of antique and historic
    
vehicles by private persons or agencies.
        5. Work with other State agencies to effect the
    
efficient and effective recycling of solid and liquid motor vehicle waste, including motor vehicle drain oil, derived in the recycling of a motor vehicle.
        6. Recoup the costs of removal and disposal of
    
abandoned and derelict vehicles from vehicle owners, land owners and persons who abandon or discard such vehicles and from other suitable sources.
        7. Promote and publicize individual responsibility of
    
vehicle owners for their personal disposal of unwanted and discarded vehicles and develop an effective promotional campaign to show owners how to properly dispose of such vehicles; and the legal consequences of not doing so.
        8. Provide State coordination, expertise and
    
assistance to all local units of government, as needed, seeking legislative remedy where appropriate regarding: vehicle detitling procedure; impoundment time periods; the legal restrictions unnecessarily delaying vehicle disposal; and, to promote and advance the technology, growth and development of the legitimate auto recycling industry to the end that this industry can effectively recycle all vehicles annually retired and accumulated in Illinois with a minimum of assistance from the State or its subdivisions.
    The Board is empowered to negotiate and enter into reciprocal agreements with other states and State and federal agencies, in furtherance of the provisions of this Act, as amended; provided, however, that no such reciprocal agreement may be entered into without the approval and authorization of the State body legally required to approve such agreements.
    The Board shall make rules, regulations and by-laws, not inconsistent with this Act or any other law of this State, as to its own organization and conduct and for the implementation and administration of this Act.
    The Board is further empowered to enter into an agreement with any State agency represented on the Board, to carry out the administration of the abandoned and derelict vehicle abatement program of the Board, and to make such funds available as may be found necessary by the Board, as appropriated by the General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 90-655, eff. 7-30-98; 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

625 ILCS 5/4-305

    (625 ILCS 5/4-305) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-305)
    Sec. 4-305. Inventory, collection and disposal facilities. If not otherwise economically practicable, the Board may provide by contract with private persons or agencies, or with political subdivisions of the State of Illinois and all local governmental units of government, for the inventory, collection and disposal or any portion thereof, of abandoned and derelict vehicles to wrecking, salvage or recycling plants, or, provide facilities for the collection and proper disposal of any vehicle under the provisions of this Act, as amended.
    The Board may further formulate a program, statewide or within prescribed areas, for the inventory and collection of abandoned and derelict vehicles and to provide for their junking, salvage or recycling. In all cases, the Board shall coordinate such program with each affected State agency, local governmental unit, and local law enforcement agencies.
    The Board may further subsidize political subdivisions of this State, local governmental units and local law enforcement agencies for their costs, provable by audit and not otherwise recoverable from any proceeds derived from any sale of abandoned and derelict vehicles, in collecting, storing and disposing of such vehicles during a reimbursement period set by the Board.
    Any expenditure of funds hereunder shall be subject to audit by the Auditor General, within the appropriations for this purpose by the General Assembly, and may be made only in the event that cost-analysis and program efficiency show that such reimbursement subsidy is justified. No owner of any abandoned or derelict vehicle shall in any way, receive any funds hereunder. This shall not, however, prohibit the Board from examining the strategy of paying owners of discarded vehicles a limited sum for delivering their vehicles to a collection point when scrap prices are depressed; and bringing emergency measures such as this to the attention of the General Assembly for its consideration at a later time.
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)

625 ILCS 5/4-306

    (625 ILCS 5/4-306) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-306)
    Sec. 4-306. Federal aid. The Board is authorized and empowered to do all things necessary and proper to fully cooperate with any agency of the United States in the administration of any federal act relating to abandoned and derelict vehicles or the recycling or scrapping of vehicles now in effect or hereafter enacted for the purpose of appropriation of funds for the payment to or toward the junking, salvaging, recycling or scrapping of retired and discarded vehicles.
    Whenever federal funds are expended to provide for the payment to or toward the junking, salvaging, recycling or scrapping of such vehicles, the amount received as reimbursement therefor shall be paid into the fund or trust fund in the State Treasury from which such expenditure was made.
(Source: P.A. 81-653.)

625 ILCS 5/4-307

    (625 ILCS 5/4-307) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-307)
    Sec. 4-307. Funding and fees. (a) The programs initiated by the Board shall be funded by appropriations by the General Assembly to the Board. In addition to any fees enacted by the General Assembly, the Board shall recommend additional and optional methods of financing such programs to the end that the programs shall become self-sufficient.
    (b) In addition to any provisions made by the General Assembly, the Board shall recommend incentives to induce the junking of abandoned and derelict vehicles not suitable for rebuilding or restoring as antiques or historic vehicles. The Board may further recommend a subsidy to implement Section 4-305.
(Source: P.A. 84-470.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 heading)
CHAPTER 5. DEALERS, TRANSPORTERS, WRECKERS AND REBUILDERS

625 ILCS 5/5-100

    (625 ILCS 5/5-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-100)
    Sec. 5-100. Definitions. For the purposes of this Chapter, the following words shall have the meanings ascribed to them as follows:
    "Additional place of business" means a place owned or leased and occupied by the dealer in addition to its established place of business, at which the dealer conducts or intends to conduct business on a permanent or long term basis. The term does not include an area where an off site sale or exhibition is conducted. The Secretary of State shall adopt guidelines for the administration and enforcement of this definition by rule.
    "Display exhibition" means a temporary display of vehicles by a dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102, at a location at which no vehicles are offered for sale, that is conducted at a place other than the dealer's established and additional places of business.
    "Established place of business" means the place owned or leased and occupied by any person duly licensed or required to be licensed as a dealer for the purpose of engaging in selling, buying, bartering, displaying, exchanging or dealing in, on consignment or otherwise, vehicles and their essential parts and for such other ancillary purposes as may be permitted by the Secretary by rule. It shall include an office in which the dealer's records shall be separate and distinct from any other business or tenant which may occupy space in the same building except as provided in Section 5-101.1. This office shall not be located in a house trailer, residence, tent, temporary stand, temporary address, room or rooms in a hotel or rooming house, nor the premises occupied by a single or multiple unit residence. The established place of business of a scrap processor shall be the fixed location where the scrap processor maintains its principal place of business. The Secretary of State shall, by rule and regulation, adopt guidelines for the administration and enforcement of this definition, such as, but not limited to issues concerning the required hours of operation, describing where vehicles are displayed and offered for sale, where books and records are maintained and requirements for the fulfillment of warranties. A dealer may have an additional place of business as defined under this Section.
    "Motor vehicle financing affiliate" means a business organization registered to do business in Illinois that, pursuant to a written contract with either (1) a single new or used motor vehicle dealer or (2) a single group of new or used motor vehicle dealers that share a common ownership within the group, purchases new or used motor vehicles on behalf of the dealer or group of dealers and then sells, transfers, or assigns those motor vehicles to the dealer or group of dealers. The motor vehicle financing affiliate must be incorporated or organized solely to purchase new or used vehicles on behalf of the new or used motor vehicle dealer or group of dealers with which it has contracted, shall not sell motor vehicles at retail, shall perform only those business functions related to the purchasing of motor vehicles and selling, transferring, or assigning those motor vehicles to the dealer or group of dealers. The motor vehicle financing affiliate must be licensed under the provisions of Section 5-101.1 and must not be licensed as a new or used motor vehicle dealer.
    "Off site sale" means the temporary display and sale of vehicles, for a period of not more than 7 calendar days (excluding Sundays), by a dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102 at a place other than the dealer's established and additional places of business.
    "Relevant market area", for a new vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-101 and for a used vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-102, means the area within 10 miles of the established or additional place of business of the dealer located in a county with a population of 300,000 or more, or within 15 miles if the established place of business is located in a county with a population of less than 300,000.
    "Trade show exhibition" means a temporary display of vehicles, by dealers licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102, or any other person as defined in subsection (c) of Section 5-102.1, at a location at which no vehicles are offered for sale that is conducted at a place other than the dealer's established and additional places of business. In order for a display exhibition to be considered a trade show exhibition, it must be participated in by at least 3 dealers, 2 of which must be licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102; and a trade show exhibition of new vehicles shall only be participated in by licensed new vehicle dealers at least 2 of which must be licensed under Section 5-101.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98; 91-415, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-100-1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-100-1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-100-1)
    Sec. 5-100-1. Findings and Purpose. The General Assembly finds that: (1) crimes involving the theft of vehicles and their parts have risen steadily over the past years, with a resulting loss of millions of dollars to the residents of this State; (2) essential to the criminal enterprise of vehicle theft operations is the ability of thieves to transfer or sell stolen vehicles or their parts through legitimate commercial channels, making them available for sale to the automotive industry; (3) vehicle dealers, scrap processors, automotive parts recyclers, repairers and rebuilders who comprise the vast majority of the persons engaged in the automotive business in this State are frequently exposed to pressures and influences from motor vehicle thieves; (4) elements of organized crime are constantly attempting to influence businessmen engaged in the sale and repair of motor vehicles so as to further their own criminal interests; and (5) close and strict government regulation of vehicle dealers, scrap processors, automotive parts recyclers, repairers and rebuilders will provide a system of tracking the flow of vehicles and their essential parts and therefore significantly reduce the numbers of vehicle-related thefts in this State. It is, therefore, the intent of the General Assembly to establish a system of mandatory licensing and record keeping which will prevent or reduce the transfer or sale of stolen vehicles or their parts within this State.
    It further is the intent of the General Assembly that government agencies work in cooperation with vehicle dealers, scrap processors, automotive parts recyclers, repairers and rebuilders, utilizing their professional expertise in the development and execution of programs and strategies to reduce vehicle-related crime and maximize consumer protection while ensuring a healthy business climate for the legitimate automotive industry.
(Source: P.A. 85-572.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. DEALERS

625 ILCS 5/5-101

    (625 ILCS 5/5-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-101)
    Sec. 5-101. New vehicle dealers must be licensed.
    (a) No person shall engage in this State in the business of selling or dealing in, on consignment or otherwise, new vehicles of any make, or act as an intermediary or agent or broker for any licensed dealer or vehicle purchaser other than as a salesperson, or represent or advertise that he is so engaged or intends to so engage in such business unless licensed to do so in writing by the Secretary of State under the provisions of this Section.
    (b) An application for a new vehicle dealer's license shall be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath, on such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain:
        1. The name and type of business organization of the
    
applicant and his established and additional places of business, if any, in this State.
        2. If the applicant is a corporation, a list of its
    
officers, directors, and shareholders having a ten percent or greater ownership interest in the corporation, setting forth the residence address of each; if the applicant is a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association, a trust, or any similar form of business organization, the name and residence address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee, or manager.
        3. The make or makes of new vehicles which the
    
applicant will offer for sale at retail in this State.
        4. The name of each manufacturer or franchised
    
distributor, if any, of new vehicles with whom the applicant has contracted for the sale of such new vehicles. As evidence of this fact, the application shall be accompanied by a signed statement from each such manufacturer or franchised distributor. If the applicant is in the business of offering for sale new conversion vehicles, trucks or vans, except for trucks modified to serve a special purpose which includes but is not limited to the following vehicles: street sweepers, fertilizer spreaders, emergency vehicles, implements of husbandry or maintenance type vehicles, he must furnish evidence of a sales and service agreement from both the chassis manufacturer and second stage manufacturer.
        5. A statement that the applicant has been approved
    
for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act by the Department of Revenue: Provided that this requirement does not apply to a dealer who is already licensed hereunder with the Secretary of State, and who is merely applying for a renewal of his license. As evidence of this fact, the application shall be accompanied by a certification from the Department of Revenue showing that that Department has approved the applicant for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act.
        6. A statement that the applicant has complied with
    
the appropriate liability insurance requirement. A Certificate of Insurance in a solvent company authorized to do business in the State of Illinois shall be included with each application covering each location at which he proposes to act as a new vehicle dealer. The policy must provide liability coverage in the minimum amounts of $100,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property. Such policy shall expire not sooner than December 31 of the year for which the license was issued or renewed. The expiration of the insurance policy shall not terminate the liability under the policy arising during the period for which the policy was filed. Trailer and mobile home dealers are exempt from this requirement.
        If the permitted user has a liability insurance
    
policy that provides automobile liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any 2 or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property, then the permitted user's insurer shall be the primary insurer and the dealer's insurer shall be the secondary insurer. If the permitted user does not have a liability insurance policy that provides automobile liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any 2 or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property, or does not have any insurance at all, then the dealer's insurer shall be the primary insurer and the permitted user's insurer shall be the secondary insurer.
        When a permitted user is "test driving" a new
    
vehicle dealer's automobile, the new vehicle dealer's insurance shall be primary and the permitted user's insurance shall be secondary.
        As used in this paragraph 6, a "permitted user" is a
    
person who, with the permission of the new vehicle dealer or an employee of the new vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned and held for sale or lease by the new vehicle dealer which the person is considering to purchase or lease, in order to evaluate the performance, reliability, or condition of the vehicle. The term "permitted user" also includes a person who, with the permission of the new vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned or held for sale or lease by the new vehicle dealer for loaner purposes while the user's vehicle is being repaired or evaluated.
        As used in this paragraph 6, "test driving" occurs
    
when a permitted user who, with the permission of the new vehicle dealer or an employee of the new vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned and held for sale or lease by a new vehicle dealer that the person is considering to purchase or lease, in order to evaluate the performance, reliability, or condition of the vehicle.
        As used in this paragraph 6, "loaner purposes" means
    
when a person who, with the permission of the new vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned or held for sale or lease by the new vehicle dealer while the user's vehicle is being repaired or evaluated.
        7. (A) An application for a new motor vehicle
    
dealer's license shall be accompanied by the following license fees:
            (i) $1,000 for applicant's established place of
        
business, and $100 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; but if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the license fee shall be $500 for applicant's established place of business plus $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. All moneys received by the Secretary of State as license fees under this subparagraph (i) prior to applications for the 2004 licensing year shall be deposited into the Motor Vehicle Review Board Fund and shall be used to administer the Motor Vehicle Review Board under the Motor Vehicle Franchise Act. Of the money received by the Secretary of State as license fees under this subparagraph (i) for the 2004 licensing year and thereafter, 10% shall be deposited into the Motor Vehicle Review Board Fund and shall be used to administer the Motor Vehicle Review Board under the Motor Vehicle Franchise Act and 90% shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
            (ii) Except for dealers selling 25 or fewer
        
automobiles or as provided in subsection (h) of Section 5-102.7 of this Code, an Annual Dealer Recovery Fund Fee in the amount of $500 for the applicant's established place of business, and $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; but if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the fee shall be $250 for the applicant's established place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. For a license renewal application, the fee shall be based on the amount of automobiles sold in the past year according to the following formula:
                (1) $0 for dealers selling 25 or less
            
automobiles;
                (2) $150 for dealers selling more than 25 but
            
less than 200 automobiles;
                (3) $300 for dealers selling 200 or more
            
automobiles but less than 300 automobiles; and
                (4) $500 for dealers selling 300 or more
            
automobiles.
            License fees shall be returnable only in the
        
event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. Moneys received under this subparagraph (ii) shall be deposited into the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund.
        (B) An application for a new vehicle dealer's
    
license, other than for a new motor vehicle dealer's license, shall be accompanied by the following license fees:
            (i) $1,000 for applicant's established place of
        
business, and $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; but if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the license fee shall be $500 for applicant's established place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. Of the money received by the Secretary of State as license fees under this subparagraph (i) for the 2004 licensing year and thereafter, 95% shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
            (ii) Except as provided in subsection (h) of
        
Section 5-102.7 of this Code, an Annual Dealer Recovery Fund Fee in the amount of $500 for the applicant's established place of business, and $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; but if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the fee shall be $250 for the applicant's established place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. Moneys received under this subparagraph (ii) shall be deposited into the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund.
        8. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a 10% or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, a partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager or other principals in the business have not committed in the past 3 years any one violation as determined in any civil, criminal or administrative proceedings of any one of the following Acts:
            (A) The Anti Theft Laws of the Illinois Vehicle
        
Code;
            (B) The Certificate of Title Laws of the Illinois
        
Vehicle Code;
            (C) The Offenses against Registration and
        
Certificates of Title Laws of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (D) The Dealers, Transporters, Wreckers and
        
Rebuilders Laws of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (E) Section 21-2 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or
        
the Criminal Code of 2012, Criminal Trespass to Vehicles; or
            (F) The Retailers' Occupation Tax Act.
        9. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a 10% or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager or other principals in the business have not committed in any calendar year 3 or more violations, as determined in any civil, criminal or administrative proceedings, of any one or more of the following Acts:
            (A) The Consumer Finance Act;
            (B) The Consumer Installment Loan Act;
            (C) The Retail Installment Sales Act;
            (D) The Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Sales
        
Act;
            (E) The Interest Act;
            (F) The Illinois Wage Assignment Act;
            (G) Part 8 of Article XII of the Code of Civil
        
Procedure; or
            (H) The Consumer Fraud Act.
        10. A bond or certificate of deposit in the amount of
    
$20,000 for each location at which the applicant intends to act as a new vehicle dealer. The bond shall be for the term of the license, or its renewal, for which application is made, and shall expire not sooner than December 31 of the year for which the license was issued or renewed. The bond shall run to the People of the State of Illinois, with surety by a bonding or insurance company authorized to do business in this State. It shall be conditioned upon the proper transmittal of all title and registration fees and taxes (excluding taxes under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act) accepted by the applicant as a new vehicle dealer.
        11. Such other information concerning the business of
    
the applicant as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe.
        12. A statement that the applicant understands
    
Chapter One through Chapter Five of this Code.
    (c) Any change which renders no longer accurate any information contained in any application for a new vehicle dealer's license shall be amended within 30 days after the occurrence of such change on such form as the Secretary of State may prescribe by rule or regulation, accompanied by an amendatory fee of $2.
    (d) Anything in this Chapter 5 to the contrary notwithstanding no person shall be licensed as a new vehicle dealer unless:
        1. He is authorized by contract in writing between
    
himself and the manufacturer or franchised distributor of such make of vehicle to so sell the same in this State, and
        2. Such person shall maintain an established place of
    
business as defined in this Act.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall, within a reasonable time after receipt, examine an application submitted to him under this Section and unless he makes a determination that the application submitted to him does not conform with the requirements of this Section or that grounds exist for a denial of the application, under Section 5-501 of this Chapter, grant the applicant an original new vehicle dealer's license in writing for his established place of business and a supplemental license in writing for each additional place of business in such form as he may prescribe by rule or regulation which shall include the following:
        1. The name of the person licensed;
        2. If a corporation, the name and address of its
    
officers or if a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association or any similar form of business organization, the name and address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager;
        3. In the case of an original license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee;
        4. In the case of a supplemental license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee and the additional place of business to which such supplemental license pertains;
        5. The make or makes of new vehicles which the
    
licensee is licensed to sell.
    (f) The appropriate instrument evidencing the license or a certified copy thereof, provided by the Secretary of State, shall be kept posted conspicuously in the established place of business of the licensee and in each additional place of business, if any, maintained by such licensee.
    (g) Except as provided in subsection (h) hereof, all new vehicle dealer's licenses granted under this Section shall expire by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked or cancelled under the provisions of Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (h) A new vehicle dealer's license may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee required herein, and submission of proof of coverage under an approved bond under the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act" or proof that applicant is not subject to such bonding requirements, as in the case of an original license, but in case an application for the renewal of an effective license is made during the month of December, the effective license shall remain in force until the application is granted or denied by the Secretary of State.
    (i) All persons licensed as a new vehicle dealer are required to furnish each purchaser of a motor vehicle:
        1. In the case of a new vehicle a manufacturer's
    
statement of origin and in the case of a used motor vehicle a certificate of title, in either case properly assigned to the purchaser;
        2. A statement verified under oath that all
    
identifying numbers on the vehicle agree with those on the certificate of title or manufacturer's statement of origin;
        3. A bill of sale properly executed on behalf of such
    
person;
        4. A copy of the Uniform Invoice-transaction
    
reporting return referred to in Section 5-402 hereof;
        5. In the case of a rebuilt vehicle, a copy of the
    
Disclosure of Rebuilt Vehicle Status; and
        6. In the case of a vehicle for which the warranty
    
has been reinstated, a copy of the warranty.
    (j) Except at the time of sale or repossession of the vehicle, no person licensed as a new vehicle dealer may issue any other person a newly created key to a vehicle unless the new vehicle dealer makes a copy of the driver's license or State identification card of the person requesting or obtaining the newly created key. The new vehicle dealer must retain the copy for 30 days.
    A new vehicle dealer who violates this subsection (j) is guilty of a petty offense. Violation of this subsection (j) is not cause to suspend, revoke, cancel, or deny renewal of the new vehicle dealer's license.
    This amendatory Act of 1983 shall be applicable to the 1984 registration year and thereafter.
(Source: P.A. 97-480, eff. 10-1-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-450, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/5-101.1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-101.1)
    Sec. 5-101.1. Motor vehicle financing affiliates; licensing.
    (a) In this State no business shall engage in the business of a motor vehicle financing affiliate without a license to do so in writing from the Secretary of State.
    (b) An application for a motor vehicle financing affiliate's license must be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State and shall contain all of the following:
        (1) The name and type of business organization of the
    
applicant and the applicant's established place of business and any additional places of business in this State.
        (2) The name and address of the licensed new or used
    
vehicle dealer to which the applicant will be selling, transferring, or assigning new or used motor vehicles pursuant to a written contract. If more than one dealer is on the application, the applicant shall state in writing the basis of common ownership among the dealers.
        (3) A list of the business organization's officers,
    
directors, members, and shareholders having a 10% or greater ownership interest in the business, providing the residential address for each person listed.
        (4) If selling, transferring, or assigning new motor
    
vehicles, the make or makes of new vehicles that it will sell, assign, or otherwise transfer to the contracting new motor vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2).
        (5) The name of each manufacturer or franchised
    
distributor, if any, of new vehicles with whom the applicant has contracted for the sale of new vehicles and a signed statement from each manufacturer or franchised distributor acknowledging the contract.
        (6) A statement that the applicant has been approved
    
for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act by the Department of Revenue. This requirement does not apply to a motor vehicle financing affiliate that is already licensed with the Secretary of State and is applying for a renewal of its license.
        (7) A statement that the applicant has complied with
    
the appropriate liability insurance requirement and a Certificate of Insurance that shall not expire before December 31 of the year for which the license was issued or renewed with a minimum liability coverage of $100,000 for the bodily injury or death of any person, $300,000 for the bodily injury or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property. The expiration of the insurance policy shall not terminate the liability under the policy arising during the period for which the policy was filed. Trailer and mobile home dealers are exempt from the requirements of this paragraph. A motor vehicle financing affiliate is exempt from the requirements of this paragraph if it is covered by the insurance policy of the new or used dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2).
        (8) A license fee of $1,000 for the applicant's
    
established place of business and $250 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. However, if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the license fee shall be $500 for the applicant's established place of business and $125 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. These license fees shall be returnable only in the event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State.
        (9) A statement incorporating the requirements of
    
paragraphs 8 and 9 of subsection (b) of Section 5-101.
        (10) Any other information concerning the business of
    
the applicant as the Secretary of State may prescribe.
        (11) A statement that the applicant understands
    
Chapter 1 through Chapter 5 of this Code.
    (c) Any change which renders no longer accurate any information contained in any application for a motor vehicle financing affiliate's license shall be amended within 30 days after the occurrence of the change on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, accompanied by an amendatory fee of $2.
    (d) If a new vehicle dealer is not listed on the application, pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b), the motor vehicle financing affiliate shall not receive, possess, or transfer any new vehicle. If a new motor vehicle dealer is listed on the application, pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b), the new motor vehicle dealer can only receive those new cars it is permitted to receive under its franchise agreement. If both a new and used motor vehicle dealer are listed on the application, pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b), only the new motor vehicle dealer may receive new motor vehicles. If a used motor vehicle is listed on the application, pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b), the used motor vehicle dealer shall not receive any new motor vehicles.
    (e) The applicant and dealer provided pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b) must be business organizations registered to conduct business in Illinois. Three-fourths of the dealer's board of directors must be members of the motor vehicle financing affiliate's board of directors, if applicable.
    (f) Unless otherwise provided in this Chapter 5, no business organization registered to do business in Illinois shall be licensed as a motor vehicle financing affiliate unless:
        (1) The motor vehicle financing affiliate shall only
    
sell, transfer, or assign motor vehicles to the licensed new or used dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b).
        (2) The motor vehicle financing affiliate sells,
    
transfers, or assigns to the new motor vehicle dealer listed on the application, if any, only those new motor vehicles the motor vehicle financing affiliate has received under the contract set forth in paragraph (5) of subsection (b).
        (3) Any new vehicle dealer listed pursuant to
    
paragraph (2) of subsection (b) has a franchise agreement that permits the dealer to receive motor vehicles from the motor vehicle franchise affiliate.
        (4) The new or used motor vehicle dealer listed on
    
the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b) has one established place of business or supplemental places of business as referenced in subsection (g).
    (g) The Secretary of State shall, within a reasonable time after receipt, examine an application submitted pursuant to this Section and, unless it is determined that the application does not conform with the requirements of this Section or that grounds exist for a denial of the application under Section 5-501, grant the applicant a motor vehicle financing affiliate license in writing for the applicant's established place of business and a supplemental license in writing for each additional place of business in a form prescribed by the Secretary, which shall include all of the following:
        (1) The name of the business licensed;
        (2) The name and address of its officers, directors,
    
or members, as applicable;
        (3) In the case of an original license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee; and
        (4) If applicable, the make or makes of new vehicles
    
which the licensee is licensed to sell to the new motor vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b).
    (h) The appropriate instrument evidencing the license or a certified copy, provided by the Secretary of State, shall be kept posted conspicuously in the established place of business of the licensee.
    (i) Except as provided in subsection (h), all motor vehicle financing affiliate's licenses granted under this Section shall expired by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted, unless revoked or canceled at an earlier date pursuant to Section 5-501.
    (j) A motor vehicle financing affiliate's license may be renewed upon application and payment of the required fee. However, when an application for renewal of a motor vehicle financing affiliate's license is made during the month of December, the effective license shall remain in force until the application is granted or denied by the Secretary of State.
    (k) The contract a motor vehicle financing affiliate has with a manufacturer or franchised distributor, as provided in paragraph (5) of subsection (b), shall only permit the applicant to sell, transfer, or assign new motor vehicles to the new motor vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b). The contract shall specifically prohibit the motor vehicle financing affiliate from selling motor vehicles at retail. This contract shall not be considered the granting of a franchise as defined in Section 2 of the Motor Vehicle Franchise Act.
    (l) When purchasing of a motor vehicle by a new or used motor vehicle dealer, all persons licensed as a motor vehicle financing affiliate are required to furnish all of the following:
        (1) For a new vehicle, a manufacturer's statement of
    
origin properly assigned to the purchasing dealer. For a used vehicle, a certificate of title properly assigned to the purchasing dealer.
        (2) A statement verified under oath that all
    
identifying numbers on the vehicle agree with those on the certificate of title or manufacturer's statement of origin.
        (3) A bill of sale properly executed on behalf of the
    
purchasing dealer.
        (4) A copy of the Uniform Invoice-transaction report
    
pursuant to Section 5-402.
        (5) In the case of a rebuilt vehicle, a copy of the
    
Disclosure of Rebuilt Vehicle Status pursuant to Section 5-104.3.
        (6) In the case of a vehicle for which a warranty has
    
been reinstated, a copy of the warranty.
    (m) The motor vehicle financing affiliate shall use the established and supplemental place or places of business the new or used vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b) as its established and supplemental place or places of business.
    (n) The motor vehicle financing affiliate shall keep all books and records required by this Code with the books and records of the new or used vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b). The motor vehicle financing affiliate may use the books and records of the new or used motor vehicle dealer listed on the application pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b).
    (o) Under no circumstances shall a motor vehicle financing affiliate sell, transfer, or assign a new vehicle to any place of business of a new motor vehicle dealer, unless that place of business is licensed under this Chapter to sell, assign, or otherwise transfer the make of the new motor vehicle transferred.
    (p) All moneys received by the Secretary of State as license fees under this Section shall be deposited into the Motor Vehicle Review Board Fund and shall be used to administer the Motor Vehicle Review Board under the Motor Vehicle Franchise Act.
    (q) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, a motor vehicle financing affiliate shall comply with all provisions of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 91-415, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-102

    (625 ILCS 5/5-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-102)
    Sec. 5-102. Used vehicle dealers must be licensed.
    (a) No person, other than a licensed new vehicle dealer, shall engage in the business of selling or dealing in, on consignment or otherwise, 5 or more used vehicles of any make during the year (except house trailers as authorized by paragraph (j) of this Section and rebuilt salvage vehicles sold by their rebuilders to persons licensed under this Chapter), or act as an intermediary, agent or broker for any licensed dealer or vehicle purchaser (other than as a salesperson) or represent or advertise that he is so engaged or intends to so engage in such business unless licensed to do so by the Secretary of State under the provisions of this Section.
    (b) An application for a used vehicle dealer's license shall be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath, in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain:
        1. The name and type of business organization
    
established and additional places of business, if any, in this State.
        2. If the applicant is a corporation, a list of its
    
officers, directors, and shareholders having a ten percent or greater ownership interest in the corporation, setting forth the residence address of each; if the applicant is a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association, a trust, or any similar form of business organization, the names and residence address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager.
        3. A statement that the applicant has been approved
    
for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act by the Department of Revenue. However, this requirement does not apply to a dealer who is already licensed hereunder with the Secretary of State, and who is merely applying for a renewal of his license. As evidence of this fact, the application shall be accompanied by a certification from the Department of Revenue showing that the Department has approved the applicant for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act.
        4. A statement that the applicant has complied with
    
the appropriate liability insurance requirement. A Certificate of Insurance in a solvent company authorized to do business in the State of Illinois shall be included with each application covering each location at which he proposes to act as a used vehicle dealer. The policy must provide liability coverage in the minimum amounts of $100,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property. Such policy shall expire not sooner than December 31 of the year for which the license was issued or renewed. The expiration of the insurance policy shall not terminate the liability under the policy arising during the period for which the policy was filed. Trailer and mobile home dealers are exempt from this requirement.
        If the permitted user has a liability insurance
    
policy that provides automobile liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any 2 or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property, then the permitted user's insurer shall be the primary insurer and the dealer's insurer shall be the secondary insurer. If the permitted user does not have a liability insurance policy that provides automobile liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any person, $300,000 for bodily injury to or the death of any 2 or more persons in any one accident, and $50,000 for damage to property, or does not have any insurance at all, then the dealer's insurer shall be the primary insurer and the permitted user's insurer shall be the secondary insurer.
        When a permitted user is "test driving" a used
    
vehicle dealer's automobile, the used vehicle dealer's insurance shall be primary and the permitted user's insurance shall be secondary.
        As used in this paragraph 4, a "permitted user" is a
    
person who, with the permission of the used vehicle dealer or an employee of the used vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned and held for sale or lease by the used vehicle dealer which the person is considering to purchase or lease, in order to evaluate the performance, reliability, or condition of the vehicle. The term "permitted user" also includes a person who, with the permission of the used vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned or held for sale or lease by the used vehicle dealer for loaner purposes while the user's vehicle is being repaired or evaluated.
        As used in this paragraph 4, "test driving" occurs
    
when a permitted user who, with the permission of the used vehicle dealer or an employee of the used vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned and held for sale or lease by a used vehicle dealer that the person is considering to purchase or lease, in order to evaluate the performance, reliability, or condition of the vehicle.
        As used in this paragraph 4, "loaner purposes" means
    
when a person who, with the permission of the used vehicle dealer, drives a vehicle owned or held for sale or lease by the used vehicle dealer while the user's vehicle is being repaired or evaluated.
        5. An application for a used vehicle dealer's license
    
shall be accompanied by the following license fees:
            (A) $1,000 for applicant's established place of
        
business, and $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; however, if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the license fee shall be $500 for applicant's established place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. Of the money received by the Secretary of State as license fees under this subparagraph (A) for the 2004 licensing year and thereafter, 95% shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
            (B) Except for dealers selling 25 or fewer
        
automobiles or as provided in subsection (h) of Section 5-102.7 of this Code, an Annual Dealer Recovery Fund Fee in the amount of $500 for the applicant's established place of business, and $50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; but if the application is made after June 15 of any year, the fee shall be $250 for the applicant's established place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. For a license renewal application, the fee shall be based on the amount of automobiles sold in the past year according to the following formula:
                (1) $0 for dealers selling 25 or less
            
automobiles;
                (2) $150 for dealers selling more than 25 but
            
less than 200 automobiles;
                (3) $300 for dealers selling 200 or more
            
automobiles but less than 300 automobiles; and
                (4) $500 for dealers selling 300 or more
            
automobiles.
            License fees shall be returnable only in the
        
event that the application is denied by the Secretary of State. Moneys received under this subparagraph (B) shall be deposited into the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund.
        6. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a 10% or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager or other principals in the business have not committed in the past 3 years any one violation as determined in any civil, criminal or administrative proceedings of any one of the following Acts:
            (A) The Anti Theft Laws of the Illinois Vehicle
        
Code;
            (B) The Certificate of Title Laws of the Illinois
        
Vehicle Code;
            (C) The Offenses against Registration and
        
Certificates of Title Laws of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (D) The Dealers, Transporters, Wreckers and
        
Rebuilders Laws of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (E) Section 21-2 of the Illinois Criminal Code of
        
1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, Criminal Trespass to Vehicles; or
            (F) The Retailers' Occupation Tax Act.
        7. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a 10% or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager or other principals in the business have not committed in any calendar year 3 or more violations, as determined in any civil or criminal or administrative proceedings, of any one or more of the following Acts:
            (A) The Consumer Finance Act;
            (B) The Consumer Installment Loan Act;
            (C) The Retail Installment Sales Act;
            (D) The Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Sales
        
Act;
            (E) The Interest Act;
            (F) The Illinois Wage Assignment Act;
            (G) Part 8 of Article XII of the Code of Civil
        
Procedure; or
            (H) The Consumer Fraud Act.
        8. A bond or Certificate of Deposit in the amount of
    
$20,000 for each location at which the applicant intends to act as a used vehicle dealer. The bond shall be for the term of the license, or its renewal, for which application is made, and shall expire not sooner than December 31 of the year for which the license was issued or renewed. The bond shall run to the People of the State of Illinois, with surety by a bonding or insurance company authorized to do business in this State. It shall be conditioned upon the proper transmittal of all title and registration fees and taxes (excluding taxes under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act) accepted by the applicant as a used vehicle dealer.
        9. Such other information concerning the business of
    
the applicant as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe.
        10. A statement that the applicant understands
    
Chapter 1 through Chapter 5 of this Code.
        11. A copy of the certification from the prelicensing
    
education program.
    (c) Any change which renders no longer accurate any information contained in any application for a used vehicle dealer's license shall be amended within 30 days after the occurrence of each change on such form as the Secretary of State may prescribe by rule or regulation, accompanied by an amendatory fee of $2.
    (d) Anything in this Chapter to the contrary notwithstanding, no person shall be licensed as a used vehicle dealer unless such person maintains an established place of business as defined in this Chapter.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall, within a reasonable time after receipt, examine an application submitted to him under this Section. Unless the Secretary makes a determination that the application submitted to him does not conform to this Section or that grounds exist for a denial of the application under Section 5-501 of this Chapter, he must grant the applicant an original used vehicle dealer's license in writing for his established place of business and a supplemental license in writing for each additional place of business in such form as he may prescribe by rule or regulation which shall include the following:
        1. The name of the person licensed;
        2. If a corporation, the name and address of its
    
officers or if a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association or any similar form of business organization, the name and address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager;
        3. In case of an original license, the established
    
place of business of the licensee;
        4. In the case of a supplemental license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee and the additional place of business to which such supplemental license pertains.
    (f) The appropriate instrument evidencing the license or a certified copy thereof, provided by the Secretary of State shall be kept posted, conspicuously, in the established place of business of the licensee and in each additional place of business, if any, maintained by such licensee.
    (g) Except as provided in subsection (h) of this Section, all used vehicle dealer's licenses granted under this Section expire by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked or cancelled under Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (h) A used vehicle dealer's license may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee required herein, and submission of proof of coverage by an approved bond under the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act" or proof that applicant is not subject to such bonding requirements, as in the case of an original license, but in case an application for the renewal of an effective license is made during the month of December, the effective license shall remain in force until the application for renewal is granted or denied by the Secretary of State.
    (i) All persons licensed as a used vehicle dealer are required to furnish each purchaser of a motor vehicle:
        1. A certificate of title properly assigned to the
    
purchaser;
        2. A statement verified under oath that all
    
identifying numbers on the vehicle agree with those on the certificate of title;
        3. A bill of sale properly executed on behalf of such
    
person;
        4. A copy of the Uniform Invoice-transaction
    
reporting return referred to in Section 5-402 of this Chapter;
        5. In the case of a rebuilt vehicle, a copy of the
    
Disclosure of Rebuilt Vehicle Status; and
        6. In the case of a vehicle for which the warranty
    
has been reinstated, a copy of the warranty.
    (j) A real estate broker holding a valid certificate of registration issued pursuant to "The Real Estate Brokers and Salesmen License Act" may engage in the business of selling or dealing in house trailers not his own without being licensed as a used vehicle dealer under this Section; however such broker shall maintain a record of the transaction including the following:
        (1) the name and address of the buyer and seller,
        (2) the date of sale,
        (3) a description of the mobile home, including the
    
vehicle identification number, make, model, and year, and
        (4) the Illinois certificate of title number.
    The foregoing records shall be available for inspection by any officer of the Secretary of State's Office at any reasonable hour.
    (k) Except at the time of sale or repossession of the vehicle, no person licensed as a used vehicle dealer may issue any other person a newly created key to a vehicle unless the used vehicle dealer makes a copy of the driver's license or State identification card of the person requesting or obtaining the newly created key. The used vehicle dealer must retain the copy for 30 days.
    A used vehicle dealer who violates this subsection (k) is guilty of a petty offense. Violation of this subsection (k) is not cause to suspend, revoke, cancel, or deny renewal of the used vehicle dealer's license.
    (l) Used vehicle dealers licensed under this Section shall provide the Secretary of State a register for the sale at auction of each salvage or junk certificate vehicle. Each register shall include the following information:
        1. The year, make, model, style and color of the
    
vehicle;
        2. The vehicle's manufacturer's identification number
    
or, if applicable, the Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number;
        3. The date of acquisition of the vehicle;
        4. The name and address of the person from whom the
    
vehicle was acquired;
        5. The name and address of the person to whom any
    
vehicle was disposed, the person's Illinois license number or if the person is an out-of-state salvage vehicle buyer, the license number from the state or jurisdiction where the buyer is licensed; and
        6. The purchase price of the vehicle.
    The register shall be submitted to the Secretary of State via written or electronic means within 10 calendar days from the date of the auction.
(Source: P.A. 97-480, eff. 10-1-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-450, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/5-102.1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-102.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-102.1)
    Sec. 5-102.1. Permits for off site sales and exhibitions.
    (a) A licensed new or used motor vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102 shall not engage in any off site sale without an off site sale permit issued by the Secretary under this Section.
    The Secretary shall issue an off site sale permit to a dealer if:
        (1) an application therefor is received by the
    
Secretary prior to the beginning date of the proposed off site sale, accompanied by a fee of $25;
        (2) the applicant is a licensed new vehicle dealer or
    
used vehicle dealer in good standing; and
        (3) the Secretary determines that the proposed off
    
site sale will conform with the requirements imposed by law.
    However, in no event shall an off site sale permit be issued to any licensed new or used vehicle dealer for any off site sale to be conducted outside that dealer's relevant market area, as that term is defined in this Chapter, except that this restriction shall not apply to off site sales of motor homes or recreational vehicles.
    The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to self-contained motor homes, mini motor homes, van campers, and recreational trailers, including trailers designed and used to transport vessels or watercraft.
    An off site sale permit does not authorize the sale of vehicles on a Sunday.
    (b) Only a new or used vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102 may participate in a display exhibition and shall obtain a display exhibition permit issued by the Secretary under this Section.
    The Secretary shall issue a display exhibition permit to a dealer if:
        (1) an application therefor is received by the
    
Secretary prior to the beginning date of the proposed exhibition, accompanied by a fee of $10;
        (2) the applicant is a licensed new vehicle dealer or
    
used vehicle dealer in good standing; and
        (3) the Secretary determines that the proposed
    
exhibition will conform with the requirements imposed by law.
    A display exhibition permit shall be valid for a period of no longer than 30 days.
    (c) A licensed new or used motor vehicle dealer under Section 5-101 or 5-102, or any other person as defined in this Section, may participate in a trade show exhibition and must obtain a trade show exhibition permit issued by the Secretary under this Section.
    The Secretary shall issue a trade show exhibition permit if:
        (1) an application is received by the Secretary
    
before the beginning date of the proposed trade show exhibition, accompanied by a fee of $10;
        (2) the applicant is a licensed new vehicle dealer or
    
used vehicle dealer in good standing; and
        (3) the Secretary determines that the proposed trade
    
show exhibition shall conform with the requirements imposed by law.
    A trade show exhibition permit shall be valid for a period of no longer than 30 days.
    The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to self-contained motor homes, mini motor homes, van campers, and recreational trailers, including trailers designed and used to transport vessels or watercraft.
    The term "any other person" shall mean new or used vehicle dealers licensed by other states; provided however, a trade show exhibition of new vehicles shall only be participated in by licensed new vehicle dealers, at least 2 of which must be licensed under Section 5-101.
    (d) An Illinois or out-of-state licensed new or used trailer dealer, manufactured home dealer, motor home dealer, mini motor home dealer, or van camper dealer shall not engage in any off site sale or trade show exhibition without first acquiring a permit issued by the Secretary under this subsection. However, the provisions of this Section shall not apply to a licensed trailer dealer selling a mobile home or manufactured housing, as defined in the Illinois Manufactured Housing and Mobile Home Safety Act, if the manufactured housing or mobile home has utilities permanently attached. The Secretary shall issue a permit to an Illinois dealer if:
        (1) an application is received by the Secretary
    
before the beginning date of the proposed off site sale or trade show exhibition, accompanied by a fee of $25;
        (2) the applicant is a licensed new or used vehicle
    
dealer in good standing; and
        (3) the Secretary determines that the proposed off
    
site sale or trade show exhibition will conform with the requirements imposed by law.
    The Secretary shall issue a permit to an out-of-state dealer if the requirements of subdivisions (1), (2), and (3) of this subsection (d) are met and at least 2 licensed Illinois dealers will participate in the off site sale or trade show exhibition.
    A permit issued pursuant to this subsection shall allow for the sale of vehicles at either an off site sale or at a trade show exhibition. The permit shall be valid for a period not to exceed 30 days.
    (e) The Secretary of State may adopt rules regulating the conduct of off site sales and exhibitions, and governing the issuance and enforcement of the permits authorized under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 90-718, eff. 1-1-99; 90-774, eff. 8-14-98; 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

625 ILCS 5/5-102.5

    (625 ILCS 5/5-102.5)
    Sec. 5-102.5. Used vehicle dealer prelicensing education program courses.
    (a) An applicant for a license as a used vehicle dealer shall complete a minimum of 8 hours of prelicensing education program courses pursuant to this Section prior to submitting an application to the Secretary of State.
    (b) To meet the requirements of this Section, at least one individual who is associated with the used vehicle dealer as an owner, principal, corporate officer, director, or member or partner of a limited liability company or limited liability partnership shall complete the education program courses.
    (c) The education program courses shall be provided by public or private entities with an expertise in the area as approved by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State must approve course curricula and instruction, in consultation with the Illinois Department of Transportation and any private entity with expertise in the area in the Secretary of State's discretion.
    (d) Each person who successfully completes an approved prelicensing education program under this Section shall be issued a certificate by the education program provider of the course. The current certificate of completion, or a copy of the certificate, shall be posted conspicuously in the principal office of the licensee.
    (e) The provisions of this Section apply to all used vehicle dealers including, but not limited to, individuals, corporations, and partnerships, except for the following:
        (1) Motor vehicle rental companies having a national
    
franchise;
        (2) National motor vehicle auction companies;
        (3) Wholesale dealer-only auction companies;
        (4) Used vehicle dealerships owned by a franchise
    
motor vehicle dealer; and
        (5) Banks, credit unions, and savings and loan
    
associations.
(Source: P.A. 96-678, eff. 8-25-09.)

625 ILCS 5/5-102.7

    (625 ILCS 5/5-102.7)
    Sec. 5-102.7. Dealer Recovery Trust Fund.
    (a) The General Assembly finds that motor vehicle dealers that go out of business without fulfilling agreements to pay off the balance of their customers' liens on traded-in vehicles cause financial harm to those customers by leaving those customers liable for multiple vehicle loans and cause harm to the integrity of the motor vehicle retailing industry. It is the intent of the General Assembly to protect vehicle purchasers by creating a Dealer Recovery Trust Fund to reimburse these consumers.
    (b) The Dealer Recovery Trust Fund shall be used solely for the limited purpose of helping victims of dealership closings. Any interest accrued by moneys in the Fund shall be deposited and become part of the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund and its purpose. The sole beneficiaries of the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund are victims of dealership closings.
    (c) Except where the context otherwise requires, the following words and phrases, when used in this Section, have the meanings ascribed to them in this subsection (c):
    "Applicant" means a person who applies for reimbursement from the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund Board.
    "Board" means the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund Board created under this Section.
    "Dealer" means a new vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or a used vehicle dealer licensed under Section 5-102, excepting a dealer who primarily sells mobile homes, recreational vehicles, or trailers.
    "Fund" means the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund created under this Section.
    "Fund Administrator" means the private entity, which shall be appointed by the Board, that administers the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund.
    (d) Beginning October 1, 2011, each application or renewal for a new vehicle dealer's license and each application or renewal for a used vehicle dealer's license shall be accompanied by the applicable Annual Dealer Recovery Fund Fee under Section 5-101 or 5-102 of this Code. The fee shall be in addition to any other fees imposed under this Article, shall be submitted at the same time an application or renewal for a new vehicle dealer's license or used vehicle dealer's license is submitted, and shall be made payable to and remitted directly to the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund, a trust fund outside of the State Treasury which is hereby created. In addition, the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund may accept any federal, State, or private moneys for deposit into the Fund.
    (e) The Fund Administrator shall maintain a list of all dealers who have paid the fee under subsection (d) of this Section for the current year, which shall be available to the Secretary of State and the Board. The Secretary of State shall revoke the dealer license of any dealer who does not pay the fee imposed under subsection (d) of this Section. The Secretary of State and the Fund Administrator may enter into information sharing agreements as needed to implement this Section.
    (f) The Fund shall be audited annually by an independent auditor who is a certified public accountant and who has been selected by the Board. The independent auditor shall compile an annual report, which shall be filed with the Board and shall be a public record. The auditor shall be paid by the Fund, pursuant to an order of the Board.
    (g) The Fund shall be maintained by the Fund Administrator, who shall keep current records of the amounts deposited into the Fund and the amounts paid out of the Fund pursuant to an order of the Board. These records shall be made available to all members of the Board upon reasonable request during normal business hours. The Fund Administrator shall report the balance in the Fund to the Board monthly, by the 15th day of each month. For purposes of determining the amount available to pay claims under this Section at any meeting of the Board, the Board shall use the Fund Administrator's most recent monthly report. The Fund Administrator shall purchase liability insurance to cover management of the Fund at a cost not to exceed 2% of the balance in the Fund as of January 15th of that year.
    (h) In any year for which the balance in the Fund as of August 31st is greater than $3,500,000, the Fund Administrator shall notify the Secretary of State and the Secretary of State shall suspend collection of the fee for the following year for any dealer who has not had a claim paid from the Fund, has not had his or her license suspended or revoked, and has not been assessed any civil penalties under this Code during the 3 previous years.
    (i) Moneys in the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund may be paid from the Fund only as directed by a written order of the Board and used only for the following purposes:
        (i) to pay claims under a written order of the Board
    
as provided in this Section; or
        (ii) to reimburse the Fund Administrator for its
    
expenses related to the administration of the Fund, provided that the reimbursement to the Fund Administrator in any year shall not exceed 2% of the balance in the Fund as of January 15th of that year.
    (j) The Dealer Recovery Trust Fund Board is hereby created. The Board shall consist of the Secretary of State, or his or her designee, who shall serve as chair, the Attorney General, or his or her designee, who shall serve as secretary, and one person alternatively representing new and independent Illinois automobile dealers, selected collectively by the Attorney General, or his or her designee, and the Secretary of State, or his or her designee. The Secretary of State may propose procedures and employ personnel as necessary to implement this Section. The Board shall meet quarterly, and as needed, as directed by the chair. The Board may not pay out any claims before the balance deposited into the Fund exceeds $500,000. Board meetings shall be open to the public. The Board has the authority to take any action by at least a two-thirds majority vote.
    (k) The following persons may apply to the Board for reimbursement from the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund:
        (i) A retail customer who, on or after October 1,
    
2011, purchases a vehicle from a dealer who subsequently files for bankruptcy or whose vehicle dealer's license is subsequently revoked by the Secretary of State or otherwise terminated and, as part of the purchase transaction, trades in a vehicle with an outstanding lien to the dealer if lien satisfaction was a condition of the purchase agreement and the retail customer determines that the lien has not been satisfied;
        (ii) A retail customer who, on or after October 1,
    
2011, purchases a vehicle with an undisclosed lien from a dealer who subsequently files for bankruptcy or whose vehicle dealer's license is subsequently revoked by the Secretary of State or otherwise terminated;
        (iii) A dealer who, on or after October 1, 2011,
    
purchases a vehicle with an undisclosed lien from another dealer who subsequently files for bankruptcy or whose vehicle dealer's license is subsequently revoked by the Secretary of State or otherwise terminated.
    (l) To be considered by the Board, an applicant must submit his or her claim to the Board within 2 years after the date of the transaction that gave rise to the claim.
    (m) At each meeting of the Board, it shall consider all claims that are properly submitted to it on forms prescribed by the Secretary of State at least 30 days before the date of the Board's meeting. Before the Board may consider a claim against a dealer, it must make a written determination that the dealer has filed for bankruptcy under the provisions of 11 U.S.C. Chapter 7; that the Secretary of State has revoked his or her dealer's license; or that the license has been otherwise terminated. Once the Board has made this determination, it may consider the applicant's claim against the dealer. If a two-thirds majority of the Board determines that the dealer has committed a violation under subsection (k), it shall grant the applicant's claim. Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the maximum amount of any award for a claim under paragraph (i) of subsection (k) of this Section shall be equal to the amount of the unpaid balance of the lien that the dealer agreed to pay off on behalf of the applicant as shown on the bill of sale or the retail installment sales contract. The maximum amount of any claim under paragraph (ii) or (iii) of subsection (k) of this Section shall be equal to the amount of the undisclosed lien. However, no award for a claim under subsection (k) of this Section shall exceed $35,000.
    (n) If the balance in the Fund at the time of any Board meeting is less than the amount of the total amount of all claims awarded at that meeting, then all awards made at that meeting shall be reduced, pro rata, so that the amount of claims does not exceed the balance in the Fund. Before it reviews new claims, the Board shall issue written orders to pay the remaining portion of any claims that were so reduced, provided that the balance in the Fund is sufficient to pay those claims.
    (o) Whenever the balance of the Fund falls below $500,000, the Board may charge dealers an additional assessment of up to $50 to bring the balance to at least $500,000. Not more than one additional assessment may be made against a dealer in any 12-month period.
    (p) If the total amount of claims awarded against any dealer exceeds 33% of the balance in the Fund, the Board may permanently reduce the amount of those claims, pro rata, so that those claims do not exceed 33% of the balance in the Fund.
    (q) The Board shall issue a written order directing the Fund Administrator to pay an applicant's claim to a secured party where the Board has received a signed agreement between the applicant and the secured party holding the lien. The agreement must (i) state that the applicant and the secured party agree to accept payment from the Fund to the secured party as settlement in full of all claims against the dealer; and (ii) release the lien and the title, if applicable, to the vehicle that was the subject of the claim. The written order shall state the amount of the claim and the name and address of the secured party to whom the claim shall be paid. The Fund Administrator shall pay the claim within 30 days after it receives the Board's order.
    (r) No dealer or principal associated with a dealer's license is eligible for licensure, renewal or relicensure until the full amount of reimbursement for an unpaid claim, plus interest as determined by the Board, is paid to the Fund. Nothing in this Section shall limit the authority of the Secretary of State to suspend, revoke, or levy civil penalties against a dealer, nor shall full repayment of the amount owed to the Fund nullify or modify the effect of any action by the Secretary.
    (s) Nothing in this Section shall limit the right of any person to seek relief though civil action against any other person as an alternative to seeking reimbursement from the Fund.
(Source: P.A. 97-480, eff. 10-1-11; 98-450, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/5-103

    (625 ILCS 5/5-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-103)
    Sec. 5-103. (a) Every new vehicle manufacturer shall specify the delivery and preparation obligations of its vehicle dealers prior to delivery of new vehicles to retail buyers. A copy of the delivery and preparation obligations of its dealers shall be filed with the Secretary of State by every vehicle manufacturer and shall constitute the vehicle dealer's only responsibility for product liability as between the dealer and the manufacturer. A manufacturer's product or warranty liability to the dealer shall extend to any mechanical, body or parts defect constituting a breach of any express or implied warranty of the manufacturer. The manufacturer shall reasonably compensate any authorized dealer who rectifies a defect which constitutes a breach of any express or implied warranty of the manufacturer and for preparation and delivery obligations. Every dealer shall perform the preparation and get ready services specified by the manufacturer to be performed prior to the delivery of the new vehicle to the buyer.
    (b) The owner of the vehicle may cause the vehicle to be inspected according to this Section and have the original manufacturer's warranty reinstated if the vehicle is a theft recovery that has been salvaged and is recovered without structural damage or missing essential parts, excluding wheels, damage to the steering column, and radios provided the owner:
        (1) Submits the vehicle to a franchised dealer for a
    
complete inspection, including fluids, frame, essential parts, and other items deemed by the manufacturer as essential for verification of the condition of the vehicle at the time of recovery.
        (2) Submits a copy of the police recovery report to
    
the inspecting dealer.
        (3) Paid the inspection fee charged by the franchised
    
dealer.
    The manufacturer shall reinstate the original manufacturer's warranty if a vehicle is certified by a franchised dealer as having complied with the provisions of this Section. The manufacturer shall, in addition to reinstating the warranty, provide the owner with a written statement indicating that the original manufacturer's warranty has been reinstated.
    (c) Nothing in this Section shall affect a cause of action a buyer may have against a dealer or manufacturer under present applicable statutory or case law.
(Source: P.A. 92-458, eff. 8-22-01.)

625 ILCS 5/5-104

    (625 ILCS 5/5-104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-104)
    Sec. 5-104. (a) On and after January 1, 1976, each manufacturer of a 1976 or later model year vehicle of the first division manufactured for sale in this State, other than a motorcycle, shall clearly and conspicuously indicate, on the price listing affixed to the vehicle pursuant to the "Automobile Information Disclosure Act", (15 United States Code 1231 through 1233), the following, with the appropriate gasoline mileage figure:
    "In tests for fuel economy in city and highway driving conducted by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, this passenger vehicle obtained ....... miles per gallon of gasoline."
(Source: P.A. 79-747.)

625 ILCS 5/5-104.1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-104.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-104.1)
    Sec. 5-104.1. Informational labels on pickup trucks; penalty. (1) Every manufacturer of second division vehicles having a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less which are sold or offered for sale for use upon the public streets or highways within this State shall, prior to the delivery of the second division vehicle to an Illinois dealer, or on or prior to the introduction date of new models delivered to an Illinois dealer, securely affix to the windshield or side window of the second division vehicle a label upon which the manufacturer shall endorse clearly, distinctly and legibly true and correct entries disclosing information identical to and in the same manner as required on new first division vehicles. The label shall remain affixed to the second division vehicle until delivery of the second division vehicle to the ultimate purchaser. Any manufacturer who shall willfully fail to affix a proper label required by this Section or any person who shall willfully remove, alter or mutilate a label prior to delivery of the second division vehicle to the ultimate purchaser is guilty of a misdemeanor. This Section shall not apply to such second division vehicles for which the annual sales in Illinois of the previous model year were less than 200.
    (2) This Section shall apply to second division vehicles having a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less built after December 31, 1987.
(Source: P.A. 85-387.)

625 ILCS 5/5-104.2

    (625 ILCS 5/5-104.2)
    Sec. 5-104.2. Nonconforming vehicles; sale.
    (a) Every manufacturer shall be prohibited from reselling any motor vehicle that has been finally ordered, determined, or adjudicated as having a nonconformity under the New Vehicle Buyer Protection Act or a similar law of any state, territory, or country, and that the manufacturer repurchased or replaced because of the nonconformity, unless the manufacturer has corrected the nonconformity and issues a disclosure statement prior to resale stating that the vehicle was repurchased or replaced under the New Vehicle Buyer Protection Act or similar law of any other state, territory, or country; identifying the nonconformity; and warranting that the nonconformity has been corrected. The disclosure statement must accompany the vehicle through the first retail purchase.
    (b) "Nonconformity" refers to a new vehicle's failure to conform to all express warranties applicable to the vehicle, which failure substantially impairs the use, market value, or safety of the vehicle.
    (c) The disclosure statement referred to in subsection (a) shall be in substantially the same form as below:
"IMPORTANT
    Vehicle Identification Number (VIN): (Insert VIN Number);
    
Year: (Insert Year); Make (Insert Make); Model: (Insert Model). This vehicle was previously sold as new. It was subsequently ordered as having a nonconformity by final decision of court proceeding or State run arbitration. It was subsequently repurchased by its manufacturer because it did not conform to the manufacturer's express warranty and the nonconformity was not cured within a reasonable time as provided by Illinois law. The following nonconformities have been corrected (a minimum of 5 numbered lines shall be provided to describe the nonconformity or nonconformities)."
The customer shall sign the disclosure statement. This disclosure language shall be in at least 8-point type.
(Source: P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/5-104.3

    (625 ILCS 5/5-104.3)
    Sec. 5-104.3. Disclosure of rebuilt vehicle.
    (a) No person shall knowingly, with intent to defraud or deceive another, sell a vehicle for which a rebuilt title has been issued unless that vehicle is accompanied by a Disclosure of Rebuilt Vehicle Status form, properly signed and delivered to the buyer.
    (b) The Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe the format and information contained in the Disclosure of Rebuilt Vehicle Status form.
    (c) A violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 91-891, eff. 7-6-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-105

    (625 ILCS 5/5-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-105)
    Sec. 5-105. Investigation of licensee required. Every person seeking a license under Chapter 5 of this Act, as part of the application process, authorizes an investigation to determine if the applicant has ever been convicted of a crime and if so, the disposition of those convictions. This authorization shall indicate the scope of the inquiry and the agencies which may be contacted. Upon this authorization the Secretary of State may request and receive information and assistance from any Federal, State or local governmental agency as part of the authorized investigation. The Department of State Police shall provide information concerning any criminal convictions and their disposition brought against the applicant upon request of the Secretary of State when the request is made in the form and manner required by the Department of State Police. The information derived from this investigation, including the source of this information, and any conclusions or recommendations derived from this information by the Secretary of State shall be provided to the applicant or his designee. Upon request to the Secretary of State prior to any final action by the Secretary of State on the application, no information obtained from such investigation may be placed in any automated information system. Any criminal convictions and their disposition information obtained by the Secretary of State shall be confidential and may not be transmitted outside the Office of the Secretary of State, except as required herein, and may not be transmitted to anyone within the Office of the Secretary of State except as needed for the purpose of evaluating the application. All criminal convictions and their disposition and information obtained by the Division of Investigation shall be destroyed no later than 60 days after the Division of Investigation has made a final ruling on the application, and all rights of appeal have expired and pending appeals have been completed. The only physical identity materials which the applicant can be required to provide the Secretary of State are photographs or fingerprints. Only information and standards which bear a reasonable and rational relation to the performance of a licensee shall be used by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules and regulations for the administration of this Section. Any employee of the Secretary of State who gives or causes to be given away any confidential information concerning any criminal convictions and their disposition of an applicant shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 84-25.)

625 ILCS 5/5-106

    (625 ILCS 5/5-106) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-106)
    Sec. 5-106. No person may keep open, operate, or assist in keeping open or operating any established or additional place of business for the purpose of buying, selling, bartering, exchanging, or leasing for a period of 1 year or more, or offering for sale, barter, exchange, or lease for a period of 1 year or more, any motor vehicle, whether new or used, on the first day of the week, commonly called Sunday; provided, that this Section does not apply to the opening of an established or additional place of business on Sunday for the following purposes:
        (1) to sell petroleum products, tires or repair parts
    
and accessories;
        (2) to operate and conduct a motor vehicle repair
    
shop;
        (3) to supply services for the washing, towing or
    
wrecking of motor vehicles;
        (4) to participate in a trade show exhibition or
    
display exhibition by a dealer who has been granted a permit by the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 5-102.1 of this Article;
        (5) to sell motorcycles, motor driven cycles,
    
motorized pedalcycles when offered for sale by a dealer licensed under Sections 5-101 and 5-102 to sell only such motor vehicles;
        (6) to offer for sale manufactured housing;
        (7) to sell self-contained motor homes, mini motor
    
homes, van campers and recreational trailers when offered for sale by a dealer at an established or additional place of business where only such vehicles are displayed or offered for sale. This exemption includes dealers with off site sales or trade show exhibition permits issued pursuant to subsection (d) of Section 5-102.1 of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 89-551, eff. 1-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/5-107

    (625 ILCS 5/5-107) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-107)
    Sec. 5-107. Bond exemption. The following persons shall be exempt from the bond required in Sections 5-101 and 5-102: (1) Any person who has been continuously licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102 since calendar year 1983; (2) any licensee who as determined by the Secretary of State, has faithfully and continuously complied with conditions of the bond requirement for a period of 36 consecutive months.
    This exemption shall continue for each licensee until such time as he may be determined by the Secretary of State to be delinquent or deficient in the transmittal of title and registration fees or taxes.
    This amendatory Act of 1983 shall be applicable to the 1984 registration year and thereafter.
    A person whose license is cancelled due to the voluntary surrender of such license, who applies for a new license for the same license year or one license year after the license year of the cancelled license, will remain exempt under paragraph (1) above if the only break in the continuous licensure is caused by the cancellation due to the voluntary surrender of the license.
(Source: P.A. 88-158; 88-520.)

625 ILCS 5/5-108

    (625 ILCS 5/5-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-108)
    Sec. 5-108. Vehicle Referral and Marketing Services. Nothing in this Code shall be construed to prohibit a credit union, as defined in the Illinois Credit Union Act, a bank, as defined in the Illinois Banking Act, or any firm, copartnership, association or corporation from advertising the sale of motor vehicles by licensed dealers or advertising motor vehicle purchase opportunities from licensed dealers, from referring potential purchasers of motor vehicles to licensed dealers, or from soliciting purchasers of motor vehicles for licensed dealers. However, any motor vehicle sale resulting from those activities may only be consummated by a dealer licensed under Section 5-101 or 5-102 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 87-380.)

625 ILCS 5/5-109

    (625 ILCS 5/5-109)
    Sec. 5-109. Manufacturers and Distributors; Fees.
    (a) "Manufacturer" means any person who manufactures or assembles new motor vehicles either within or without of this State.
    (b) "Distributor" means any person who distributes or sells new motor vehicles to new vehicle dealers, or who maintains distributor representatives in this State, and who is not a manufacturer.
    (c) Each manufacturer and distributor doing business in this State shall pay an annual fee of $1500 to the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 89-145, eff. 7-14-95; 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. TRANSPORTERS

625 ILCS 5/5-201

    (625 ILCS 5/5-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-201)
    Sec. 5-201. Transporters must apply for in-transit plates.
    (a) No person shall engage in this State in the business as a transporter until such person shall apply for and receive from the Secretary of State a generally distinctive set of two "in-transit license plates" for any vehicle so transported by him.
    (b) An application for a generally distinctive number under this Article shall be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath and in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain the name and business address of such person, the certificate, registration or permit number issued by the Illinois Commerce Commission and such other information concerning the business of the applicant as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe. If the applicant does not hold a certificate, registration or permit from the Illinois Commerce Commission to so transport, such application shall be denied.
    (c) An application for a generally distinctive set of two "in-transit license plates" shall be accompanied by the prescribed fee. Upon the payment of such license fee, such application shall be filed and recorded in the office of the Secretary of State. Thereupon the Secretary of State shall assign and issue to such person a generally distinctive number and without any further expense to him shall deliver to such person at his business address a certificate of registration in such form as the Secretary of State may prescribe and one set of two "in-transit license plates" with a number corresponding to the number of such certificate of registration. Such in-transit plates shall be used by such person only on vehicles transported, but not owned, by him.
    (d) Except as provided in sub-section (3) hereof, all certificates of registration and "in-transit plates" granted under this Section shall expire by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked under the provisions of Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (e) A certificate of registration under this Article may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee required herein as in the case of an original application, provided, however, that in case an application for renewal of an effective registration is made during the month of December, such existing registration shall remain in force until such application for renewal is granted by the Secretary of State.
    (f) Any person registered as a transporter under the Article may make application for additional duplicate sets of "in-transit plates" on such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe, from time to time to obtain as many duplicate sets of "in-transit plates" as he may desire upon payment of the prescribed fee for each set. Such duplicate plates shall bear the number of that person's original certificate of registration.
    (g) In case of loss or destruction of one license plate issued to a transporter under this Section such transporter may obtain a duplicate of the same by filing an affidavit to that effect with the Secretary of State, accompanied by the prescribed fee.
    (h) An original "in-transit plate" or a duplicate shall be attached to the front and rear of each vehicle so transported in this State; provided, that if one such vehicle is towing another such vehicle, one plate or duplicate plate shall be attached to the front of the towing vehicle and one such plate to the rear of the rearmost towed vehicle.
    (i) Anything in this Chapter to the contrary notwithstanding, the provisions of this Section shall not apply to a non-resident engaged in such business and using the public highways of this State if he has an "in-transit plate" or license from the State, foreign country or province, territory or federal district of which he is a resident and such State, country, province, territory or district grants a like exemption to residents of this State.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/5-202

    (625 ILCS 5/5-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-202)
    Sec. 5-202. Tow or Wrecker operators must register tow or wrecker vehicles. (a) No person in this State shall engage in the business of operating a tow truck or wrecker or operate a tow or wrecker vehicle until such person shall register any vehicle to be used for such purpose and apply for and receive from the Secretary of State a generally distinctive set of 3 "tow truck" plates for any towing or wrecker vehicle operated by him.
    (b) An application for registration for a generally distinctive set of 3 "tow truck" plates under this Article shall be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath and in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain the name and business address of such person, the vehicle identification number of the vehicle for which such application is made, proof of insurance as set forth in paragraph (d) of Section 12-606 of this Code, and such other information concerning the business of the applicant as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe.
    (c) The application for registration and a generally distinctive set of 3 "tow truck" plates shall be accompanied by the prescribed fee. Upon payment of such fee, such registration and application shall be filed and recorded in the office of the Secretary of State. Thereupon the Secretary of State shall assign and issue to such person a generally distinctive number for each vehicle and without further expense to him shall deliver to such person at his place of business address one set of 3 "tow truck" plates. Such "tow truck" plates shall be used by such person only on the vehicle for which application was made and the vehicle being towed, and are not transferable.
    (d) All "tow truck" plates granted under this Section shall expire by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked under the provisions of Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (e) One "tow truck" plate shall be attached to the front and rear of each registered vehicle, and one "tow truck" plate shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle being towed unless the towed vehicle displays a valid registration plate visible from the rear while being towed, so that the numbers and letter on the plate are clearly visible to any person following the vehicle being towed. However, illumination of the rear plate required by subsection (c) of Section 12-201 of this Code shall not apply to the third plate displayed on the towed vehicle. In addition, the vehicle registration plates assigned to the vehicle being towed shall be displayed as provided in Section 3-413 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 86-444; 86-565; 86-1028.)

625 ILCS 5/5-207

    (625 ILCS 5/5-207)
    Sec. 5-207. Licensing of towing services as dealers. Any towing service that sells or disposes of 5 or more vehicles in a calendar year to anyone other than a person licensed under Chapter 5 of this Code must also be licensed under Section 5-102 of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. USED PARTS DEALERS, SCRAP
PROCESSORS, AUTOMOTIVE PARTS
RECYCLERS AND REBUILDERS

625 ILCS 5/5-301

    (625 ILCS 5/5-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-301)
    Sec. 5-301. Automotive parts recyclers, scrap processors, repairers and rebuilders must be licensed.
    (a) No person in this State shall, except as an incident to the servicing of vehicles, carry on or conduct the business of an automotive parts recycler, a scrap processor, a repairer, or a rebuilder, unless licensed to do so in writing by the Secretary of State under this Section. No person shall rebuild a salvage vehicle unless such person is licensed as a rebuilder by the Secretary of State under this Section. No person shall engage in the business of acquiring 5 or more previously owned vehicles in one calendar year for the primary purpose of disposing of those vehicles in the manner described in the definition of a "scrap processor" in this Code unless the person is licensed as an automotive parts recycler by the Secretary of State under this Section. Each license shall be applied for and issued separately, except that a license issued to a new vehicle dealer under Section 5-101 of this Code shall also be deemed to be a repairer license.
    (b) Any application filed with the Secretary of State, shall be duly verified by oath, in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain:
        1. The name and type of business organization of the
    
applicant and his principal or additional places of business, if any, in this State.
        2. The kind or kinds of business enumerated in
    
subsection (a) of this Section to be conducted at each location.
        3. If the applicant is a corporation, a list of its
    
officers, directors, and shareholders having a ten percent or greater ownership interest in the corporation, setting forth the residence address of each; if the applicant is a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association, a trust, or any similar form of business organization, the names and residence address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager.
        4. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a ten percent or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager, or other principals in the business have not committed in the past three years any one violation as determined in any civil or criminal or administrative proceedings of any one of the following Acts:
            (a) The Anti-Theft Laws of the Illinois Vehicle
        
Code;
            (b) The "Certificate of Title Laws" of the
        
Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (c) The "Offenses against Registration and
        
Certificates of Title Laws" of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (d) The "Dealers, Transporters, Wreckers and
        
Rebuilders Laws" of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
            (e) Section 21-2 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or
        
the Criminal Code of 2012, Criminal Trespass to Vehicles; or
            (f) The Retailers Occupation Tax Act.
        5. A statement that the applicant's officers,
    
directors, shareholders having a ten percent or greater ownership interest therein, proprietor, partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager or other principals in the business have not committed in any calendar year 3 or more violations, as determined in any civil or criminal or administrative proceedings, of any one or more of the following Acts:
            (a) The Consumer Finance Act;
            (b) The Consumer Installment Loan Act;
            (c) The Retail Installment Sales Act;
            (d) The Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Sales
        
Act;
            (e) The Interest Act;
            (f) The Illinois Wage Assignment Act;
            (g) Part 8 of Article XII of the Code of Civil
        
Procedure; or
            (h) The Consumer Fraud Act.
        6. An application for a license shall be accompanied
    
by the following fees: $50 for applicant's established place of business; $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains; provided, however, that if such an application is made after June 15 of any year, the license fee shall be $25 for applicant's established place of business plus $12.50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that such application shall be denied by the Secretary of State.
        7. A statement that the applicant understands Chapter
    
1 through Chapter 5 of this Code.
        8. A statement that the applicant shall comply with
    
subsection (e) of this Section.
    (c) Any change which renders no longer accurate any information contained in any application for a license filed with the Secretary of State shall be amended within 30 days after the occurrence of such change on such form as the Secretary of State may prescribe by rule or regulation, accompanied by an amendatory fee of $2.
    (d) Anything in this chapter to the contrary, notwithstanding, no person shall be licensed under this Section unless such person shall maintain an established place of business as defined in this Chapter.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall within a reasonable time after receipt thereof, examine an application submitted to him under this Section and unless he makes a determination that the application submitted to him does not conform with the requirements of this Section or that grounds exist for a denial of the application, as prescribed in Section 5-501 of this Chapter, grant the applicant an original license as applied for in writing for his established place of business and a supplemental license in writing for each additional place of business in such form as he may prescribe by rule or regulation which shall include the following:
        1. The name of the person licensed;
        2. If a corporation, the name and address of its
    
officers or if a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association or any similar form of business organization, the name and address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager;
        3. A designation of the kind or kinds of business
    
enumerated in subsection (a) of this Section to be conducted at each location;
        4. In the case of an original license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee;
        5. In the case of a supplemental license, the
    
established place of business of the licensee and the additional place of business to which such supplemental license pertains.
    (f) The appropriate instrument evidencing the license or a certified copy thereof, provided by the Secretary of State shall be kept, posted, conspicuously in the established place of business of the licensee and in each additional place of business, if any, maintained by such licensee. The licensee also shall post conspicuously in the established place of business and in each additional place of business a notice which states that such business is required to be licensed by the Secretary of State under Section 5-301, and which provides the license number of the business and the license expiration date. This notice also shall advise the consumer that any complaints as to the quality of service may be brought to the attention of the Attorney General. The information required on this notice also shall be printed conspicuously on all estimates and receipts for work by the licensee subject to this Section. The Secretary of State shall prescribe the specific format of this notice.
    (g) Except as provided in subsection (h) hereof, licenses granted under this Section shall expire by operation of law on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked or cancelled under the provisions of Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (h) Any license granted under this Section may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee required herein as in the case of an original license, provided, however, that in case an application for the renewal of an effective license is made during the month of December, such effective license shall remain in force until such application is granted or denied by the Secretary of State.
    (i) All automotive repairers and rebuilders shall, in addition to the requirements of subsections (a) through (h) of this Section, meet the following licensing requirements:
        1. Provide proof that the property on which first
    
time applicants plan to do business is in compliance with local zoning laws and regulations, and a listing of zoning classification;
        2. Provide proof that the applicant for a repairer's
    
license complies with the proper workers' compensation rate code or classification, and listing the code of classification for that industry;
        3. Provide proof that the applicant for a rebuilder's
    
license complies with the proper workers' compensation rate code or classification for the repair industry or the auto parts recycling industry and listing the code of classification;
        4. Provide proof that the applicant has obtained or
    
applied for a hazardous waste generator number, and listing the actual number if available or certificate of exemption;
        5. Provide proof that applicant has proper liability
    
insurance, and listing the name of the insurer and the policy number; and
        6. Provide proof that the applicant has obtained or
    
applied for the proper State sales tax classification and federal identification tax number, and listing the actual numbers if available.
    (i-1) All automotive repairers shall provide proof that they comply with all requirements of the Automotive Collision Repair Act.
    (j) All automotive parts recyclers shall, in addition to the requirements of subsections (a) through (h) of this Section, meet the following licensing requirements:
        1. Provide a statement that the applicant purchases 5
    
vehicles per year or has 5 hulks or chassis in stock;
        2. Provide proof that the property on which all first
    
time applicants will do business does comply to the proper local zoning laws in existence, and a listing of zoning classifications;
        3. Provide proof that applicant complies with the
    
proper workers' compensation rate code or classification, and listing the code of classification; and
        4. Provide proof that applicant has obtained or
    
applied for the proper State sales tax classification and federal identification tax number, and listing the actual numbers if available.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/5-302

    (625 ILCS 5/5-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-302)
    Sec. 5-302. Out-of-state salvage vehicle buyer must be licensed.
    (a) No person in this State shall sell or offer at auction salvage vehicles to a nonresident who is not licensed in another state or jurisdiction.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) An out-of-state salvage vehicle buyer shall be subject to the inspection of records pertaining to the acquisition of salvage vehicles in this State in accordance with this Code and such rules as the Secretary of State may promulgate.
    (h) (Blank).
    (i) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 95-783, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. IV

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. IV heading)
ARTICLE IV. RECORDS REQUIRED TO BE KEPT

625 ILCS 5/5-401.2

    (625 ILCS 5/5-401.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-401.2)
    Sec. 5-401.2. Licensees required to keep records and make inspections.
    (a) Every person licensed or required to be licensed under Section 5-101, 5-101.1, 5-102, 5-301 or 5-302 of this Code, shall, with the exception of scrap processors, maintain for 3 years, in a form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe, at his established place of business, additional place of business, or principal place of business if licensed under Section 5-302, the following records relating to the acquisition or disposition of vehicles and their essential parts possessed in this State, brought into this State from another state, territory or country, or sold or transferred to another person in this State or in another state, territory, or country.
        (1) The following records pertaining to new or used
    
vehicles shall be kept:
            (A) the year, make, model, style and color of the
        
vehicle;
            (B) the vehicle's manufacturer's identification
        
number or, if applicable, the Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number;
            (C) the date of acquisition of the vehicle;
            (D) the name and address of the person from whom
        
the vehicle was acquired and, if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of such person;
            (E) the signature of the person making the
        
inspection of a used vehicle as required under subsection (d) of this Section, if applicable;
            (F) the purchase price of the vehicle, if
        
applicable;
            (G) the date of the disposition of the vehicle;
            (H) the name and address of the person to whom
        
any vehicle was disposed, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-State dealer's license number of that dealer;
            (I) the uniform invoice number reflecting the
        
disposition of the vehicle, if applicable; and
            (J) The sale price of the vehicle, if applicable.
        (2) (A) The following records pertaining to used
    
essential parts other than quarter panels and transmissions of vehicles of the first division shall be kept:
            (i) the year, make, model, color and type of such
        
part;
            (ii) the vehicle's manufacturer's identification
        
number, derivative number, or, if applicable, the Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number of such part;
            (iii) the date of the acquisition of each part;
            (iv) the name and address of the person from whom
        
the part was acquired and, if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of such person; if the essential part being acquired is from a person other than a dealer, the licensee shall verify and record that person's identity by recording the identification numbers from at least two sources of identification, one of which shall be a drivers license or State identification card;
            (v) the uniform invoice number or out-of-state
        
bill of sale number reflecting the acquisition of such part;
            (vi) the stock number assigned to the essential
        
part by the licensee, if applicable;
            (vii) the date of the disposition of such part;
            (viii) the name and address of the person to whom
        
such part was disposed of and, if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that person;
            (ix) the uniform invoice number reflecting the
        
disposition of such part.
        (B) Inspections of all essential parts shall be
    
conducted in accordance with Section 5-402.1.
        (C) A separate entry containing all of the
    
information required to be recorded in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of this Section shall be made for each separate essential part. Separate entries shall be made regardless of whether the part was a large purchase acquisition. In addition, a separate entry shall be made for each part acquired for immediate sale or transfer, or for placement into the overall inventory or stock to be disposed of at a later time, or for use on a vehicle to be materially altered by the licensee, or acquired for any other purpose or reason. Failure to make a separate entry for each essential part acquired or disposed of, or a failure to record any of the specific information required to be recorded concerning the acquisition or disposition of each essential part as set forth in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subsection (a) shall constitute a failure to keep records.
        (D) The vehicle's manufacturer's identification
    
number or Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number for the essential part shall be ascertained and recorded even if such part is acquired from a person or dealer located in a State, territory, or country which does not require that such information be recorded. If the vehicle's manufacturer's identification number or Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number for an essential part cannot be obtained, that part shall not be acquired by the licensee or any of his agents or employees. If such part or parts were physically acquired by the licensee or any of his agents or employees while the licensee or agent or employee was outside this State, that licensee or agent or employee was outside the State, that licensee, agent or employee shall not bring such essential part into this State or cause it to be brought into this State. The acquisition or disposition of an essential part by a licensee without the recording of the vehicle identification number or Secretary of State identification number for such part or the transportation into the State by the licensee or his agent or employee of such part or parts shall constitute a failure to keep records.
        (E) The records of essential parts required to be
    
kept by this Section shall apply to all hulks, chassis, frames or cowls, regardless of the age of those essential parts. The records required to be kept by this Section for essential parts other than hulks, chassis, frames or cowls, shall apply only to those essential parts which are 6 model years of age or newer. In determining the model year of such an essential part it may be presumed that the identification number of the vehicle from which the essential part came or the identification number affixed to the essential part itself acquired by the licensee denotes the model year of that essential part. This presumption, however, shall not apply if the gross appearance of the essential part does not correspond to the year, make or model of either the identification number of the vehicle from which the essential part is alleged to have come or the identification number which is affixed to the essential part itself. To determine whether an essential part is 6 years of age or newer within this paragraph, the model year of the essential part shall be subtracted from the calendar year in which the essential part is acquired or disposed of by the licensee. If the remainder is 6 or less, the record of the acquisition or disposition of that essential part shall be kept as required by this Section.
        (F) The requirements of paragraph (2) of subsection
    
(a) of this Section shall not apply to the disposition of an essential part other than a cowl which has been damaged or altered to a state in which it can no longer be returned to a usable condition and which is being sold or transferred to a scrap processor or for delivery to a scrap processor.
    (3) the following records for vehicles on which junking certificates are obtained shall be kept:
        (A) the year, make, model, style and color of the
    
vehicle;
        (B) the vehicle's manufacturer's identification
    
number or, if applicable, the Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number;
        (C) the date the vehicle was acquired;
        (D) the name and address of the person from whom the
    
vehicle was acquired and, if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that person;
        (E) the certificate of title number or salvage
    
certificate number for the vehicle, if applicable;
        (F) the junking certificate number obtained by the
    
licensee; this entry shall be recorded at the close of business of the fifth business day after receiving the junking certificate;
        (G) the name and address of the person to whom the
    
junking certificate has been assigned, if applicable, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that dealer;
        (H) if the vehicle or any part of the vehicle is
    
dismantled for its parts to be disposed of in any way, or if such parts are to be used by the licensee to materially alter a vehicle, those essential parts shall be recorded and the entries required by paragraph (2) of subsection (a) shall be made.
    (4) The following records for rebuilt vehicles shall be kept:
        (A) the year, make, model, style and color of the
    
vehicle;
        (B) the vehicle's manufacturer's identification
    
number of the vehicle or, if applicable, the Secretary of State or Illinois Department of State Police identification number;
        (C) the date the vehicle was acquired;
        (D) the name and address of the person from whom the
    
vehicle was acquired, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that person;
        (E) the salvage certificate number for the vehicle;
        (F) the newly issued certificate of title number for
    
the vehicle;
        (G) the date of disposition of the vehicle;
        (H) the name and address of the person to whom the
    
vehicle was disposed, and if a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that dealer;
        (I) The sale price of the vehicle.
    (a-1) A person licensed or required to be licensed under Section 5-101 or Section 5-102 of this Code who issues temporary registration permits as permitted by this Code and by rule must electronically file the registration with the Secretary and must maintain records of the registration in the manner prescribed by the Secretary.
    (b) A failure to make separate entries for each vehicle acquired, disposed of, or assigned, or a failure to record any of the specific information required to be recorded concerning the acquisition or disposition of each vehicle as set forth in paragraphs (1), (3) and (4) of subsection (a) shall constitute a failure to keep records.
    (c) All entries relating to the acquisition of a vehicle or essential part required by subsection (a) of this Section shall be recorded no later than the close of business on the seventh calendar day following such acquisition. All entries relating to the disposition of a vehicle or an essential part shall be made at the time of such disposition. If the vehicle or essential part was disposed of on the same day as its acquisition or the day thereafter, the entries relating to the acquisition of the vehicle or essential part shall be made at the time of the disposition of the vehicle or essential part. Failure to make the entries required in or at the times prescribed by this subsection following the acquisition or disposition of such vehicle or essential part shall constitute a failure to keep records.
    (d) Every person licensed or required to be licensed shall, before accepting delivery of a used vehicle, inspect the vehicle to determine whether the manufacturer's public vehicle identification number has been defaced, destroyed, falsified, removed, altered, or tampered with in any way. If the person making the inspection determines that the manufacturer's public vehicle identification number has been altered, removed, defaced, destroyed, falsified or tampered with he shall not acquire that vehicle but instead shall promptly notify law enforcement authorities of his finding.
    (e) The information required to be kept in subsection (a) of this Section shall be kept in a manner prescribed by rule or regulation of the Secretary of State.
    (f) Every person licensed or required to be licensed shall have in his possession a separate certificate of title, salvage certificate, junking certificate, certificate of purchase, uniform invoice, out-of-state bill of sale or other acceptable documentary evidence of his right to the possession of every vehicle or essential part.
    (g) Every person licensed or required to be licensed as a transporter under Section 5-201 shall maintain for 3 years, in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe, at his principal place of business a record of every vehicle transported by him, including numbers of or other marks of identification thereof, the names and addresses of persons from whom and to whom the vehicle was delivered and the dates of delivery.
    (h) No later than 15 days prior to going out of business, selling the business, or transferring the ownership of the business, the licensee shall notify the Secretary of State that he is going out of business or that he is transferring the ownership of the business. Failure to notify under this paragraph shall constitute a failure to keep records.
    (i) (Blank).
    (j) A person who knowingly fails to comply with the provisions of this Section or knowingly fails to obey, observe, or comply with any order of the Secretary or any law enforcement agency issued in accordance with this Section is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor for the first violation and a Class A misdemeanor for the second and subsequent violations. Each violation constitutes a separate and distinct offense and a separate count may be brought in the same indictment or information for each vehicle or each essential part of a vehicle for which a record was not kept as required by this Section.
    (k) Any person convicted of failing to keep the records required by this Section with intent to conceal the identity or origin of a vehicle or its essential parts or with intent to defraud the public in the transfer or sale of vehicles or their essential parts is guilty of a Class 2 felony. Each violation constitutes a separate and distinct offense and a separate count may be brought in the same indictment or information for each vehicle or essential part of a vehicle for which a record was not kept as required by this Section.
    (l) A person may not be criminally charged with or convicted of both a knowing failure to comply with this Section and a knowing failure to comply with any order, if both offenses involve the same record keeping violation.
    (m) The Secretary shall adopt rules necessary for implementation of this Section, which may include the imposition of administrative fines.
(Source: P.A. 91-415, eff. 1-1-00; 92-773, eff. 8-6-02.)

625 ILCS 5/5-401.3

    (625 ILCS 5/5-401.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-401.3)
    Sec. 5-401.3. Scrap processors required to keep records.
    (a) Every person licensed or required to be licensed as a scrap processor pursuant to Section 5-301 of this Chapter shall maintain for 3 years, at his established place of business, the following records relating to the acquisition of recyclable metals or the acquisition of a vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl which has been acquired for the purpose of processing into a form other than a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl which is possessed in the State or brought into this State from another state, territory or country. No scrap metal processor shall sell a vehicle or essential part, as such, except for engines, transmissions, and powertrains, unless licensed to do so under another provision of this Code. A scrap processor who is additionally licensed as an automotive parts recycler shall not be subject to the record keeping requirements for a scrap processor when acting as an automotive parts recycler.
        (1) For a vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl
    
acquired from a person who is licensed under this Chapter, the scrap processor shall record the name and address of the person, and the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of such person on the scrap processor's weight ticket at the time of the acquisition. The person disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl shall furnish the scrap processor with documentary proof of ownership of the vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl in one of the following forms: a Certificate of Title, a Salvage Certificate, a Junking Certificate, a Secretary of State Junking Manifest, a Uniform Invoice, a Certificate of Purchase, or other similar documentary proof of ownership. The scrap processor shall not acquire a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl without obtaining one of the aforementioned documentary proofs of ownership.
        (2) For a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl
    
acquired from a person who is not licensed under this Chapter, the scrap processor shall verify and record that person's identity by recording the identification of such person from at least 2 sources of identification, one of which shall be a driver's license or State Identification Card, on the scrap processor's weight ticket at the time of the acquisition. The person disposing of the vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl shall furnish the scrap processor with documentary proof of ownership of the vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl in one of the following forms: a Certificate of Title, a Salvage Certificate, a Junking Certificate, a Secretary of State Junking Manifest, a Certificate of Purchase, or other similar documentary proof of ownership. The scrap processor shall not acquire a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl without obtaining one of the aforementioned documentary proofs of ownership.
        (3) In addition to the other information required on
    
the scrap processor's weight ticket, a scrap processor who at the time of acquisition of a vehicle, junk vehicle, or vehicle cowl is furnished a Certificate of Title, Salvage Certificate or Certificate of Purchase shall record the Vehicle Identification Number on the weight ticket or affix a copy of the Certificate of Title, Salvage Certificate or Certificate of Purchase to the weight ticket and the identification of the person acquiring the information on the behalf of the scrap processor.
        (4) The scrap processor shall maintain a copy of a
    
Junk Vehicle Notification relating to any Certificate of Title, Salvage Certificate, Certificate of Purchase or similarly acceptable out-of-state document surrendered to the Secretary of State pursuant to the provisions of Section 3-117.2 of this Code.
        (5) For recyclable metals valued at $100 or more, the
    
scrap processor shall, for each transaction, record the identity of the person from whom the recyclable metals were acquired by verifying the identification of that person from one source of identification, which shall be a valid driver's license or State Identification Card, on the scrap processor's weight ticket at the time of the acquisition and by making and recording a photocopy or electronic scan of the driver's license or State Identification Card. Such information shall be available for inspection by any law enforcement official. If the person delivering the recyclable metal does not have a valid driver's license or State Identification Card, the scrap processor shall not complete the transaction. The inspection of records pertaining only to recyclable metals shall not be counted as an inspection of a premises for purposes of subparagraph (7) of Section 5-403 of this Code.
        This subdivision (a)(5) does not apply to electrical
    
contractors, to agencies or instrumentalities of the State of Illinois or of the United States, to common carriers, to purchases from persons, firms, or corporations regularly engaged in the business of manufacturing recyclable metal, in the business of selling recyclable metal at retail or wholesale, or in the business of razing, demolishing, destroying, or removing buildings, to the purchase by one recyclable metal dealer from another, or the purchase from persons, firms, or corporations engaged in either the generation, transmission, or distribution of electric energy or in telephone, telegraph, and other communications if such common carriers, persons, firms, or corporations at the time of the purchase provide the recyclable metal dealer with a bill of sale or other written evidence of title to the recyclable metal. This subdivision (a)(5) also does not apply to contractual arrangements between dealers.
    (b) Any licensee who knowingly fails to record any of the specific information required to be recorded on the weight ticket required under any other subsection of this Section, or Section 5-401 of this Code, or who knowingly fails to acquire and maintain for 3 years documentary proof of ownership in one of the prescribed forms shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and subject to a fine not to exceed $1,000. Each violation shall constitute a separate and distinct offense and a separate count may be brought in the same complaint for each violation. Any licensee who commits a second violation of this Section within two years of a previous conviction of a violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
    (c) It shall be an affirmative defense to an offense brought under paragraph (b) of this Section that the licensee or person required to be licensed both reasonably and in good faith relied on information appearing on a Certificate of Title, a Salvage Certificate, a Junking Certificate, a Secretary of State Manifest, a Secretary of State's Uniform Invoice, a Certificate of Purchase, or other documentary proof of ownership prepared under Section 3-117.1(a) of this Code, relating to the transaction for which the required record was not kept which was supplied to the licensee by another licensee or an out-of-state dealer.
    (d) No later than 15 days prior to going out of business, selling the business, or transferring the ownership of the business, the scrap processor shall notify the Secretary of that fact. Failure to so notify the Secretary of State shall constitute a failure to keep records under this Section.
    (e) Evidence derived directly or indirectly from the keeping of records required to be kept under this Section shall not be admissible in a prosecution of the licensee for an alleged violation of Section 4-102(a)(3) of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-253, eff. 1-1-08; 95-979, eff. 1-2-09.)

625 ILCS 5/5-401.4

    (625 ILCS 5/5-401.4)
    Sec. 5-401.4. Purchase of beer kegs by scrap processors.
    (a) A scrap processor may not purchase metal beer kegs from any person other than the beer manufacturer whose identity is printed, stamped, attached, or otherwise displayed on the beer keg, or the manufacturer's authorized representative.
    (b) The purchaser shall obtain a proof of ownership record from a person selling the beer keg, including any person selling a beer keg with an indicia of ownership that is obliterated, unreadable, or missing, and shall also verify the seller's identity by a driver's license or other government-issued photo identification. The proof of ownership record shall include all of the following information:
        (1) The name, address, telephone number, and
    
signature of the seller or the seller's authorized representative.
        (2) The name and address of the buyer, or consignee
    
if not sold.
        (3) A description of the beer keg, including its
    
capacity and any indicia of ownership or other distinguishing marks appearing on the exterior surface.
        (4) The date of transaction.
    (c) The information required to be collected by this Section shall be kept for one year from the date of purchase or delivery, whichever is later.
(Source: P.A. 95-253, eff. 1-1-08; 95-979, eff. 1-2-09.)

625 ILCS 5/5-402

    (625 ILCS 5/5-402) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-402)
    Sec. 5-402. Use of Department of Revenue Uniform Invoice for vehicle. Every person licensed as a new vehicle dealer, as a used vehicle dealer, or as a motor vehicle financing affiliate shall issue a Uniform Invoice with respect to each transaction wherein he disposes of a vehicle, except that where, in the same transaction, a vehicle dealer transfers more than one vehicle to another vehicle dealer for the purpose of resale, such seller for resale may issue one Uniform Invoice to the purchaser covering all the vehicles involved in that transaction and may report the transfer of all the vehicles involved in that transaction to the Department on the same Uniform Invoice-transaction reporting return form. Every person licensed as a rebuilder shall likewise issue a Uniform Invoice with respect to each transaction wherein he disposes of a rebuilt or restored vehicle. Such Uniform Invoice shall be the same document as the transaction reporting return referred to in Section 3 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act. Such Uniform Invoice shall contain complete financial details of the transaction in such form as shall be prescribed by the Department of Revenue. Such Uniform Invoice shall include an affidavit by both the seller and the buyer that any trade-in title has been properly assigned from the buyer to the seller and that all information on the Uniform Invoice-transaction reporting return is true and accurate.
(Source: P.A. 91-415, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-402.1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-402.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-402.1)
    Sec. 5-402.1. Use of Secretary of State Uniform Invoice for Essential Parts.
    (a) Except for scrap processors, every person licensed or required to be licensed under Section 5-101, 5-101.1, 5-102 or 5-301 of this Code shall issue, in a form the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe, a Uniform Invoice, which may also act as a bill of sale, made out in triplicate with respect to each transaction in which he disposes of an essential part other than quarter panels and transmissions of vehicles of the first division. Such Invoice shall be made out at the time of the disposition of the essential part. If the licensee disposes of several essential parts in the same transaction, the licensee may issue one Uniform Invoice covering all essential parts disposed of in that transaction.
    (b) The following information shall be contained on the Uniform Invoice:
        (1) the business name, address and dealer license
    
number of the person disposing of the essential part;
        (2) the name and address of the person acquiring the
    
essential part, and if that person is a dealer, the Illinois or out-of-state dealer license number of that dealer;
        (3) the date of the disposition of the essential part;
        (4) the year, make, model, color and description of
    
each essential part disposed of by the person;
        (5) the manufacturer's vehicle identification number,
    
Secretary of State identification number or Illinois Department of State Police identification number, for each essential part disposed of by the person;
        (6) the printed name and legible signature of the
    
person or agent disposing of the essential part; and
        (7) if the person is a dealer the printed name and
    
legible signature of the dealer or his agent or employee accepting delivery of the essential part.
    (c) Except for scrap processors, and except as set forth in subsection (d) of this Section, whenever a person licensed or required to be licensed by Section 5-101, 5-101.1, 5-102, or 5-301 accepts delivery of an essential part, other than quarter panels and transmissions of vehicles of the first division, that person shall, at the time of the acceptance or delivery, comply with the following procedures:
        (1) Before acquiring or accepting delivery of any
    
essential part, the licensee or his authorized agent or employee shall inspect the part to determine whether the vehicle identification number, Secretary of State identification number, Illinois Department of State Police identification number, or identification plate or sticker attached to or stamped on any part being acquired or delivered has been removed, falsified, altered, defaced, destroyed, or tampered with. If the licensee or his agent or employee determines that the vehicle identification number, Secretary of State identification number, Illinois Department of State Police identification number, identification plate or identification sticker containing an identification number, or Federal Certificate label of an essential part has been removed, falsified, altered, defaced, destroyed or tampered with, the licensee or agent shall not accept or receive that part.
        If that part was physically acquired by or delivered
    
to a licensee or his agent or employee while that licensee, agent or employee was outside this State, that licensee or agent or employee shall not bring that essential part into this State or cause it to be brought into this State.
        (2) If the person disposing of or delivering the
    
essential part to the licensee is a licensed in-state or out-of-state dealer, the licensee or his agent or employee, after inspecting the essential part as required by paragraph (1) of this subsection (c), shall examine the Uniform Invoice, or bill of sale, as the case may be, to ensure that it contains all the information required to be provided by persons disposing of essential parts as set forth in subsection (b) of this Section. If the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale does not contain all the information required to be listed by subsection (b) of this Section, the dealer disposing of or delivering such part or his agent or employee shall record such additional information or other needed modifications on the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale or, if needed, an attachment thereto. The dealer or his agent or employee delivering the essential part shall initial all additions or modifications to the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale and legibly print his name at the bottom of each document containing his initials. If the transaction involves a bill of sale rather than a Uniform Invoice, the licensee or his agent or employee accepting delivery of or acquiring the essential part shall affix his printed name and legible signature on the space on the bill of sale provided for his signature or, if no space is provided, on the back of the bill of sale. If the dealer or his agent or employee disposing of or delivering the essential part cannot or does not provide all the information required by subsection (b) of this Section, the licensee or his agent or employee shall not accept or receive any essential part for which that required information is not provided. If such essential part for which the information required is not fully provided was physically acquired while the licensee or his agent or employee was outside this State, the licensee or his agent or employee shall not bring that essential part into this State or cause it to be brought into this State.
        (3) If the person disposing of the essential part is
    
not a licensed dealer, the licensee or his agent or employee shall, after inspecting the essential part as required by paragraph (1) of subsection (c) of this Section verify the identity of the person disposing of the essential part by examining 2 sources of identification, one of which shall be either a driver's license or state identification card. The licensee or his agent or employee shall then prepare a Uniform Invoice listing all the information required to be provided by subsection (b) of this Section. In the space on the Uniform Invoice provided for the dealer license number of the person disposing of the part, the licensee or his agent or employee shall list the numbers taken from the documents of identification provided by the person disposing of the part. The person disposing of the part shall affix his printed name and legible signature on the space on the Uniform Invoice provided for the person disposing of the essential part and the licensee or his agent or employee acquiring the part shall affix his printed name and legible signature on the space provided on the Uniform Invoice for the person acquiring the essential part. If the person disposing of the essential part cannot or does not provide all the information required to be provided by this paragraph, or does not present 2 satisfactory forms of identification, the licensee or his agent or employee shall not acquire that essential part.
    (d) If an essential part other than quarter panels and transmissions of vehicles of the first division was delivered by a licensed commercial delivery service delivering such part on behalf of a licensed dealer, the person required to comply with subsection (c) of this Section may conduct the inspection of that part required by paragraph (1) of subsection (c) and examination of the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale required by paragraph (2) of subsection (c) of this Section immediately after the acceptance of the part.
        (1) If the inspection of the essential part pursuant
    
to paragraph (1) of subsection (c) reveals that the vehicle identification number, Secretary of State identification number, Illinois Department of State Police identification number, identification plate or sticker containing an identification number, or Federal Certificate label of an essential part has been removed, falsified, altered, defaced, destroyed or tampered with, the licensee or his agent shall immediately record such fact on the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale, assign the part an inventory or stock number, place such inventory or stock number on both the essential part and the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale, and record the date of the inspection of the part on the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale. The licensee shall, within 7 days of such inspection, return such part to the dealer from whom it was acquired.
        (2) If the examination of the Uniform Invoice or bill
    
of sale pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (c) reveals that any of the information required to be listed by subsection (b) of this Section is missing, the licensee or person required to be licensed shall immediately assign a stock or inventory number to such part, place such stock or inventory number on both the essential part and the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale, and record the date of examination on the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale. The licensee or person required to be licensed shall acquire the information missing from the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale within 7 days of the examination of such Uniform Invoice or bill of sale. Such information may be received by telephone conversation with the dealer from whom the part was acquired. If the dealer provides the missing information the licensee shall record such information on the Uniform Invoice or bill of sale along with the name of the person providing the information. If the dealer does not provide the required information within the aforementioned 7 day period, the licensee shall return the part to that dealer.
    (e) Except for scrap processors, all persons licensed or required to be licensed who acquire or dispose of essential parts other than quarter panels and transmissions of vehicles of the first division shall retain a copy of the Uniform Invoice required to be made by subsections (a), (b) and (c) of this Section for a period of 3 years.
    (f) Except for scrap processors, any person licensed or required to be licensed under Sections 5-101, 5-102 or 5-301 who knowingly fails to record on a Uniform Invoice any of the information or entries required to be recorded by subsections (a), (b) and (c) of this Section, or who knowingly places false entries or other misleading information on such Uniform Invoice, or who knowingly fails to retain for 3 years a copy of a Uniform Invoice reflecting transactions required to be recorded by subsections (a), (b) and (c) of this Section, or who knowingly acquires or disposes of essential parts without receiving, issuing, or executing a Uniform Invoice reflecting that transaction as required by subsections (a), (b) and (c) of this Section, or who brings or causes to be brought into this State essential parts for which the information required to be recorded on a Uniform Invoice is not recorded as prohibited by subsection (c) of this Section, or who knowingly fails to comply with the provisions of this Section in any other manner shall be guilty of a Class 2 felony. Each violation shall constitute a separate and distinct offense and a separate count may be brought in the same indictment or information for each essential part for which a record was not kept as required by this Section or for which the person failed to comply with other provisions of this Section.
    (g) The records required to be kept by this Section may be examined by a person or persons making a lawful inspection of the licensee's premises pursuant to Section 5-403.
    (h) The records required to be kept by this Section shall be retained by the licensee at his principal place of business for a period of 7 years.
    (i) The requirements of this Section shall not apply to the disposition of an essential part other than a cowl which has been damaged or altered to a state in which it can no longer be returned to a usable condition and which is being sold or transferred to a scrap processor or for delivery to a scrap processor.
(Source: P.A. 91-415, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-403

    (625 ILCS 5/5-403) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-403)
    Sec. 5-403. (1) Authorized representatives of the Secretary of State including officers of the Secretary of State's Department of Police, other peace officers, and such other individuals as the Secretary may designate from time to time shall make inspections of individuals and facilities licensed or required to be licensed under Chapter 5 of the Illinois Vehicle Code for the purpose of reviewing records required to be maintained under Chapter 5 for accuracy and completeness and reviewing and examining the premises of the licensee's established or additional place of business for the purpose of determining the accuracy of the required records. Premises that may be inspected in order to determine the accuracy of the books and records required to be kept includes all premises used by the licensee to store vehicles and parts that are reflected by the required books and records.
    (2) Persons having knowledge of or conducting inspections pursuant to this Chapter shall not in advance of such inspections knowingly notify a licensee or representative of a licensee of the contemplated inspection unless the Secretary or an individual designated by him for this purpose authorizes such notification. Any individual who, without authorization, knowingly violates this subparagraph shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (3) The licensee or a representative of the licensee shall be entitled to be present during an inspection conducted pursuant to Chapter 5, however, the presence of the licensee or an authorized representative of the licensee is not a condition precedent to such an inspection.
    (4) Inspection conducted pursuant to Chapter 5 may be initiated at any time that business is being conducted or work is being performed, whether or not open to the public or when the licensee or a representative of the licensee, other than a mere custodian or watchman, is present. The fact that a licensee or representative of the licensee leaves the licensed premises after an inspection has been initiated shall not require the termination of the inspection.
    (5) Any inspection conducted pursuant to Chapter 5 shall not continue for more than 24 hours after initiation.
    (6) In the event information comes to the attention of the individuals conducting an inspection that may give rise to the necessity of obtaining a search warrant, and in the event steps are initiated for the procurement of a search warrant, the individuals conducting such inspection may take all necessary steps to secure the premises under inspection until the warrant application is acted upon by a judicial officer.
    (7) No more than 6 inspections of a premises may be conducted pursuant to Chapter 5 within any 6 month period except pursuant to a search warrant. Notwithstanding this limitation, nothing in this subparagraph (7) shall be construed to limit the authority of law enforcement agents to respond to public complaints of violations of the Code. For the purpose of this subparagraph (7), a public complaint is one in which the complainant identifies himself or herself and sets forth, in writing, the specific basis for their complaint against the licensee. For the purpose of this subparagraph (7), the inspection of records pertaining only to recyclable metals, as provided in subdivision (a)(5) of Section 5-401.3 of this Code, shall not be counted as an inspection of a premises.
    (8) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to limit the authority of individuals by the Secretary pursuant to this Section to conduct searches of licensees pursuant to a duly issued and authorized search warrant.
    (9) Any licensee who, having been informed by a person authorized to make inspections and examine records under this Section that he desires to inspect records and the licensee's premises as authorized by this Section, refuses either to produce for that person records required to be kept by this Chapter or to permit such authorized person to make an inspection of the premises in accordance with this Section shall subject the license to immediate suspension by the Secretary of State.
    (10) Beginning July 1, 1988, any person referenced under Section 5-302 shall produce for inspection upon demand those records pertaining to the acquisition of salvage vehicles in this State.
(Source: P.A. 95-253, eff. 1-1-08; 95-783, eff. 1-1-09; 95-979, eff. 1-2-09; 96-328, eff. 8-11-09.)

625 ILCS 5/5-403.1

    (625 ILCS 5/5-403.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-403.1)
    Sec. 5-403.1. Inventory System.
    (a) Every person licensed or required to be licensed under the provisions of Sections 5-101, 5-101.1, 5-102 and 5-301 of this Code shall, under rule and regulation prescribed by the Secretary of State, maintain an inventory system of all vehicles or essential parts in such a manner that a person making an inspection pursuant to the provisions of Section 5-403 of this Code can readily ascertain the identity of such vehicles or essential parts and readily locate such parts on the licensees premises.
    (b) Failure to maintain an inventory system as required under this Section is a Class A misdemeanor.
    (c) This Section does not apply to vehicles or essential parts which have been acquired by a scrap processor for processing into a form other than a vehicle or essential part.
(Source: P.A. 91-415, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/5-404

    (625 ILCS 5/5-404)
    Sec. 5-404. Injunctions. The Illinois Attorney General or the State's Attorney for the county in which the scrap processor is located may initiate an appropriate action in the circuit court of the county in which a scrap processor is located to prevent the unlawful operation of a scrap processor, or to restrain, correct, or abate a violation of this Act, or to prevent any illegal act or conduct by the scrap processor.
(Source: P.A. 95-979, eff. 1-2-09.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. V

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. V heading)
ARTICLE V. LICENSES--INJUNCTIONS

625 ILCS 5/5-501

    (625 ILCS 5/5-501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-501)
    Sec. 5-501. Denial, suspension or revocation or cancellation of a license.
    (a) The license of a person issued under this Chapter may be denied, revoked or suspended if the Secretary of State finds that the applicant, or the officer, director, shareholder having a ten percent or greater ownership interest in the corporation, owner, partner, trustee, manager, employee or the licensee has:
        1. Violated this Act;
        2. Made any material misrepresentation to the
    
Secretary of State in connection with an application for a license, junking certificate, salvage certificate, title or registration;
        3. Committed a fraudulent act in connection with
    
selling, bartering, exchanging, offering for sale or otherwise dealing in vehicles, chassis, essential parts, or vehicle shells;
        4. As a new vehicle dealer has no contract with a
    
manufacturer or enfranchised distributor to sell that new vehicle in this State;
        5. Not maintained an established place of business as
    
defined in this Code;
        6. Failed to file or produce for the Secretary of
    
State any application, report, document or other pertinent books, records, documents, letters, contracts, required to be filed or produced under this Code or any rule or regulation made by the Secretary of State pursuant to this Code;
        7. Previously had, within 3 years, such a license
    
denied, suspended, revoked, or cancelled under the provisions of subsection (c)(2) of this Section;
        8. Has committed in any calendar year 3 or more
    
violations, as determined in any civil or criminal proceeding, of any one or more of the following Acts:
            a. the "Consumer Finance Act";
            b. the "Consumer Installment Loan Act";
            c. the "Retail Installment Sales Act";
            d. the "Motor Vehicle Retail Installment Sales
        
Act";
            e. "An Act in relation to the rate of interest
        
and other charges in connection with sales on credit and the lending of money", approved May 24, 1879, as amended;
            f. "An Act to promote the welfare of wage-earners
        
by regulating the assignment of wages, and prescribing a penalty for the violation thereof", approved July 1, 1935, as amended;
            g. Part 8 of Article XII of the Code of Civil
        
Procedure; or
            h. the "Consumer Fraud Act";
        9. Failed to pay any fees or taxes due under this
    
Act, or has failed to transmit any fees or taxes received by him for transmittal by him to the Secretary of State or the State of Illinois;
        10. Converted an abandoned vehicle;
        11. Used a vehicle identification plate or number
    
assigned to a vehicle other than the one to which originally assigned;
        12. Violated the provisions of Chapter 5 of this Act,
    
as amended;
        13. Violated the provisions of Chapter 4 of this Act,
    
as amended;
        14. Violated the provisions of Chapter 3 of this Act,
    
as amended;
        15. Violated Section 21-2 of the Criminal Code of
    
1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, Criminal Trespass to Vehicles;
        16. Made or concealed a material fact in connection
    
with his application for a license;
        17. Acted in the capacity of a person licensed or
    
acted as a licensee under this Chapter without having a license therefor;
        18. Failed to pay, within 90 days after a final
    
judgment, any fines assessed against the licensee pursuant to an action brought under Section 5-404;
        19. Failed to pay the Dealer Recovery Trust Fund fee
    
under Section 5-102.7 of this Code;
        20. Failed to pay, within 90 days after notice has
    
been given, any fine or fee owed as a result of an administrative citation issued by the Secretary under this Code.
    (b) In addition to other grounds specified in this Chapter, the Secretary of State, on complaint of the Department of Revenue, shall refuse the issuance or renewal of a license, or suspend or revoke such license, for any of the following violations of the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act":
        1. Failure to make a tax return;
        2. The filing of a fraudulent return;
        3. Failure to pay all or part of any tax or penalty
    
finally determined to be due;
        4. Failure to comply with the bonding requirements of
    
the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act".
    (b-1) In addition to other grounds specified in this Chapter, the Secretary of State, on complaint of the Motor Vehicle Review Board, shall refuse the issuance or renewal of a license, or suspend or revoke that license, if costs or fees assessed under Section 29 or Section 30 of the Motor Vehicle Franchise Act have remained unpaid for a period in excess of 90 days after the licensee received from the Motor Vehicle Board a second notice and demand for the costs or fees. The Motor Vehicle Review Board must send the licensee written notice and demand for payment of the fees or costs at least 2 times, and the second notice and demand must be sent by certified mail.
    (c) Cancellation of a license.
        1. The license of a person issued under this Chapter
    
may be cancelled by the Secretary of State prior to its expiration in any of the following situations:
            A. When a license is voluntarily surrendered, by
        
the licensed person; or
            B. If the business enterprise is a sole
        
proprietorship, which is not a franchised dealership, when the sole proprietor dies or is imprisoned for any period of time exceeding 30 days; or
            C. If the license was issued to the wrong person
        
or corporation, or contains an error on its face. If any person above whose license has been cancelled wishes to apply for another license, whether during the same license year or any other year, that person shall be treated as any other new applicant and the cancellation of the person's prior license shall not, in and of itself, be a bar to the issuance of a new license.
        2. The license of a person issued under this Chapter
    
may be cancelled without a hearing when the Secretary of State is notified that the applicant, or any officer, director, shareholder having a 10 per cent or greater ownership interest in the corporation, owner, partner, trustee, manager, employee or member of the applicant or the licensee has been convicted of any felony involving the selling, bartering, exchanging, offering for sale, or otherwise dealing in vehicles, chassis, essential parts, vehicle shells, or ownership documents relating to any of the above items.
(Source: P.A. 97-480, eff. 10-1-11; 97-838, eff. 7-20-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/5-502

    (625 ILCS 5/5-502) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-502)
    Sec. 5-502. Injunctions. If any person operates in violation of any provision of this Chapter, or any rule, regulation, order or decision of the Secretary of State, or of any term, condition or limitation of any license, the Secretary of State, or any person injured thereby, or any interested person, may apply to the Circuit Court of the county in which such violation or some part thereof occurred, or in which the person complained of has his established or additional place of business or resides, to prevent such violation. The Court has jurisdiction to enforce obedience by injunction or other process restraining such person from further violation and enjoining upon him obedience.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)

625 ILCS 5/5-503

    (625 ILCS 5/5-503) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-503)
    Sec. 5-503. Failure to obtain dealer's license, operation of a business with a suspended or revoked license. (a) Any person operating a business for which he is required to be licensed under Section 5-101, 5-102, 5-201 or 5-301 who fails to apply for such a license or licenses within 15 days after being informed in writing by the Secretary of State that he must obtain such a license or licenses is subject to a civil action brought by the Secretary of State for operating a business without a license in the circuit court in the county in which the business is located. If the person is found to be in violation of Section 5-101, 5-102, 5-201 or 5-301 by carrying on a business without being properly licensed, that person shall be fined $300 for each business day he conducted his business without such a license after the expiration of the 15 day period specified in this subsection (a).
    (b) Any person who, having had his license or licenses issued under Section 5-101, 5-102, 5-201 or 5-301 suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied by the Secretary of State under Section 5-501, continues to operate business after the effective date of such revocation, suspension, cancellation or denial may be sued in a civil action by the Secretary of State in the county in which the established or additional place of such business is located. If such person is found by the court to have operated such a business after the license or licenses required for conducting such business have been suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied, that person shall be fined $500 for each day he conducted business thereafter.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)

625 ILCS 5/5-504

    (625 ILCS 5/5-504) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-504)
    Sec. 5-504. Effect of revoked or denied license - Notification to prospective buyers - Rescinding of contracts. (a) No license shall be issued to any person to conduct the business of a new vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, scrap processor, automotive parts recycler, repairer, or rebuilder at a location or at property at which that person or any other person had his license as a new vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, scrap processor, automotive parts recycler, repairer, or rebuilder revoked or denied after a revocation or pending revocation within 2 months after such revocation or denial.
    (b) A licensee who has been notified by the Secretary of State that the Secretary of State may take action to revoke the dealer's license or licenses of that licensee shall inform in writing any prospective buyer of his business of such possible action by the Secretary of State.
    (c) If any person purchases or contracts to purchase a business required to be licensed by Section 5-101, 5-102, 5-201 or 5-301 without being informed in writing by the prior owner or owners that, at the time of the sale or making of contract to purchase, the prior owner or owners had been informed by the Secretary of State that the Secretary of State may be taking action to revoke the license or licenses of the prior owner or owners, the person who has purchased or contracted to purchase such business may, within one year after being informed that his application for a dealer's license at that location had been denied due to the revocation of the license or licenses of any prior owner or owners, rescind the purchase or contract to purchase such business or the property, both real and otherwise, at which the business is located.
    (d) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this Section, the Secretary of State may issue a license to a person applying for a license as a new vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, scrap processor, automotive parts recycler, repairer or rebuilder if the Secretary of State, solely in his discretion, determines that a denial of the license under the circumstances would place extreme undue hardship upon the applicant.
    No license shall be issued under this subsection to a person who is a spouse, offspring, sibling, parent, grandparent, grandchild, uncle or aunt, nephew or niece, cousin or in-law of the person whose license to do business at that location had been revoked or denied nor to a person who was an officer or employee of the business firm in relation to which the license was revoked or denied.
    Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (e) of Section 2-118 of this Code, the venue for judicial review of final acts or decisions under this subsection shall be the Circuit Court of Sangamon County.
(Source: P.A. 84-1302; 84-1304.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VI

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VI heading)
ARTICLE VI. CREDIT OR CONDITIONAL
SALES--INSURANCE

625 ILCS 5/5-601

    (625 ILCS 5/5-601) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-601)
    Sec. 5-601. Credit or conditional sale of certain motor vehicles - Liability insurance status stamped on bill of sale.
    Whenever, in connection with the credit sale of or conditional sale of a motor vehicle designed and used for the carrying of not more than 10 passengers, the agreement provides that all or any of the consideration to be paid by the buyer or conditional buyer may be paid more than 30 days after possession of such motor vehicle is transferred to such buyer or conditional buyer, and a policy of insurance which does not cover such buyer or conditional buyer for the risk of liability to the public arising out of the operation, use or maintenance of such motor vehicle, is issued in connection with such transaction, the seller or conditional seller shall stamp or have imprinted thereon a statement on the bill of sale at the time the transaction is consummated that no such coverage is included in such policy. Such statement shall be in the following form and shall be in bold type not less than one-half inch in height:
NO PUBLIC LIABILITY INSURANCE ISSUED
WITH THIS TRANSACTION
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/5-602

    (625 ILCS 5/5-602) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-602)
    Sec. 5-602.
    Whoever violates any of the provisions of this Article shall be guilty of a petty offense and shall be fined not more than $500.
(Source: P.A. 77-2720.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. VEHICLE AUCTIONEERS

625 ILCS 5/5-700

    (625 ILCS 5/5-700) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-700)
    Sec. 5-700. Definitions. For the purposes of this Article, the following phrases have the meanings ascribed to them in this Section:
    Place of business for a vehicle auctioneer. This means the place owned and regularly occupied by a vehicle auctioneer licensee, within or without the State, for the primary and principal purpose of keeping and maintaining the books and records required for the conduct of business, with the personnel available during normal business hours or an automatic telephone answering service during normal business hours. The additional place of business means that place within the State where the auction is held, which place of business shall contain the books and records required for said auction with personnel available during normal business hours. The Secretary of State shall be notified of the additional place of business at least 10 days before the auction.
    Auctioning vehicles. This means arranging for and handling the sale of vehicles, not the property of the auctioneer, by auction to the highest bidder.
(Source: P.A. 89-663, eff. 8-14-96.)

625 ILCS 5/5-701

    (625 ILCS 5/5-701) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-701)
    Sec. 5-701. Vehicle auctioneers to be licensed. (a) No person, other than a licensed new vehicle dealer, a licensed used vehicle dealer, or municipality, shall engage in this State in the business of auctioning vehicles, for more than one owner, at auction or shall offer to sell, solicit or advertise the sale of a vehicle at auction without first acquiring a commercial vehicle auctioneer license from the Secretary of State under the provisions of this Section. A vehicle auction licensee shall be entitled thereunder to sell, solicit, and advertise the sale of used vehicles belonging to others at auction.
    (b) An application for a vehicle auctioneer license shall be filed with the Secretary of State, duly verified by oath, in such form as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe and shall contain:
    1. The name and type of business organization established and the address of the place of business;
    2. If the applicant is a corporation, a list of its officers and directors, setting forth the residence address of each; if the applicant is a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association, trust or any similar form of business organization, the names and residence addresses of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee, manager and shareholder having 10% or greater ownership interest in the corporation;
    3. A statement that the applicant has been approved for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, approved June 28, 1933, as amended, by the Department of Revenue. However, this requirement does not apply to licensee who is already licensed hereunder with the Secretary of State, and who is merely applying for a renewal of his license. As evidence of this fact, the application shall be accompanied by a certification from the Department of Revenue showing that the Department has approved the applicant for registration under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act;
    4. A statement that the applicant has complied with the bonding requirements of the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act", approved June 28, 1933, as amended. As evidence of this fact, the application shall be accompanied by a certification from the Department of Revenue showing that the applicant is in compliance with the bonding requirements of the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act" or that the applicant is not required to be bonded with the Department of Revenue under the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act";
    5. Such other information concerning the business of the applicant as the Secretary of State may by rule or regulation prescribe;
    6. An application for a vehicle auctioneer license shall be accompanied by the following license fees: $50 for applicant's place of business plus $25 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains, provided, however, that if such an application is made after July 1 of any year, the license fee shall be $25 for applicant's place of business plus $12.50 for each additional place of business, if any, to which the application pertains. License fees shall be returnable only in the event that such application shall be denied by the Secretary of State.
    7. A statement that the licensee has irrevocably consented to the appointment of the Secretary of State as its agent for service of process with the State of Illinois. Said service of process shall be accomplished as provided in Section 10-301 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
    (c) Any change which renders no longer accurate any information contained in any application for a vehicle auctioneer shall be amended within thirty days after the occurrence of each change on such form as the Secretary of State may prescribe by rule or regulation, accompanied by an amendatory fee of $2.
    (d) Anything in this Chapter to the contrary notwithstanding, no person shall be licensed as a vehicle auctioneer unless such person shall maintain a place of business as defined in this Chapter.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall, within a reasonable time after receipt, examine an application submitted to him under this Section. Unless the Secretary makes a determination that the application submitted to him does not conform to this Section or that grounds exist for a denial of the application under Section 5-501 of this Chapter, he must grant the applicant an original vehicle auctioneer license in writing for his place of business and a supplemental license in writing for each additional place of business, in such form as he may prescribe by rule or regulation which shall include the following:
    1. The name of the person licensed;
    2. If a corporation, the name and address of its officers or if a sole proprietorship, a partnership, an unincorporated association or any similar form of business organization, the name and address of the proprietor or of each partner, member, officer, director, trustee or manager;
    3. Complete address of the place of business of the licensee;
    4. In the case of supplemental license, the place of business of the licensee and the place of business to which such supplemental license pertains.
    (f) The appropriate instruments evidencing the license or a certified copy thereof, provided by the Secretary of State shall be kept posted, conspicuously, in the place of business of the licensee within the State and in each additional place of business, if any, maintained by such licensee.
    (g) Except as provided in subsection (h) of this Section, all vehicle auctioneer licenses granted under this Section expire on December 31 of the calendar year for which they are granted unless sooner revoked under Section 5-501 of this Chapter.
    (h) a vehicle auctioneer license may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee required herein, and submission of proof of coverage by an approved bond under the "Retailers' Occupation Tax Act" or proof that applicant is not subject to such bonding requirements, as in the case of an original license, but in case an application for the renewal of an effective license is made during the month of December, the effective license shall remain in force until the application for renewal is granted or denied by the Secretary of State.
    (i) Each person licensed as a vehicle auctioneer or a licensed new or used car dealer when auctioning vehicles is required to furnish each purchaser of a motor vehicle the following:
    1. A certificate of title properly assigned to the purchaser;
    2. A statement verified under oath that all identifying numbers on the vehicle agree with those on the certificate of title;
    3. A bill of sale properly executed on behalf of such person.
(Source: P.A. 85-1396.)

625 ILCS 5/5-702

    (625 ILCS 5/5-702) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-702)
    Sec. 5-702. No person shall engage in the business of auctioning any vehicles for which a salvage certificate is required by law except to a bidder who is an out-of-state salvage vehicle buyer or who is properly licensed as a rebuilder, automotive parts recycler, or scrap processor, as required by Section 5-301 of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 95-783, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 5 Art. VIII heading)
ARTICLE VIII. PENALTIES

625 ILCS 5/5-801

    (625 ILCS 5/5-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-801)
    Sec. 5-801. Criminal penalties. Any person who violates any of the provisions of this Chapter, except a person who violates a provision for which a different criminal penalty is indicated, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. Any person who violates any provisions of Section 5-701 shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony.
(Source: P.A. 97-838, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/5-802

    (625 ILCS 5/5-802) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 5-802)
    Sec. 5-802. The violation of any rule or regulation promulgated by the Office of the Secretary of State under this Chapter shall not in and of itself constitute a criminal offense.
(Source: P.A. 85-1204.)

625 ILCS 5/5-803

    (625 ILCS 5/5-803)
    Sec. 5-803. Administrative penalties. Instead of filing a criminal complaint against a new or used vehicle dealer, or against any other entity licensed by the Secretary under this Code, a Secretary of State Police investigator may issue administrative citations for violations of any of the provisions of this Code or any administrative rule adopted by the Secretary under this Code. A party receiving a citation shall have the right to contest the citation in proceedings before the Secretary of State Department of Administrative Hearings. Penalties imposed by issuance of an administrative citation shall not exceed $50 per violation. A penalty may not be imposed unless, during the course of a single investigation or upon review of the party's records, the party is found to have committed at least 3 separate violations of one or more of the provisions of this Code or any administrative rule adopted by the Secretary under this Code. Penalties paid as a result of the issuance of administrative citations shall be deposited in the Secretary of State Police Services Fund.
(Source: P.A. 97-838, eff. 7-20-12; 98-177, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 heading)
CHAPTER 6. THE ILLINOIS DRIVER LICENSING LAW

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 6 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. ISSUANCE OF LICENSES
EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL

625 ILCS 5/6-100

    (625 ILCS 5/6-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-100)
    Sec. 6-100. Definitions. For the purposes of this Chapter, the following words shall have the meanings ascribed to them:
    (a) Application Process. The process of obtaining a driver's license, identification card, or permit. The process begins when a person enters a Secretary of State Driver Services facility and requests a driver's license, identification card or permit.
    (b) Conviction. A final adjudication of guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction either after a bench trial, trial by jury, plea of guilty, order of forfeiture, or default.
    (c) Identification Card. A document made or issued by or under the authority of the United States Government, the State of Illinois or any other state or political subdivision thereof, or any governmental or quasi-governmental organization that, when completed with information concerning the individual, is of a type intended or commonly accepted for the purpose of identifying the individual.
(Source: P.A. 89-283, eff. 1-1-96.)

625 ILCS 5/6-101

    (625 ILCS 5/6-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-101)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-176)
    Sec. 6-101. Drivers must have licenses or permits.
    (a) No person, except those expressly exempted by Section 6-102, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State unless such person has a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit, issued under the provisions of this Act.
    (b) No person shall drive a motor vehicle unless he holds a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit issued under the provisions of Section 6-205, 6-206, or 6-113 of this Act. Any person to whom a license is issued under the provisions of this Act must surrender to the Secretary of State all valid licenses or permits. No drivers license or instruction permit shall be issued to any person who holds a valid Foreign State license, identification card, or permit unless such person first surrenders to the Secretary of State any such valid Foreign State license, identification card, or permit.
    (b-5) Any person who commits a violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, if at the time of the violation the person's driver's license or permit was cancelled under clause (a)9 of Section 6-201 of this Code.
    (c) Any person licensed as a driver hereunder shall not be required by any city, village, incorporated town or other municipal corporation to obtain any other license to exercise the privilege thereby granted.
    (d) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the motor vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.
    (e) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the vehicle of any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements and who, in violating this Section, has caused death or personal injury to another person is subject to forfeiture under Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012. For the purposes of this Section, a personal injury shall include any type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A type A injury shall include severely bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-176)
    Sec. 6-101. Drivers must have licenses or permits.
    (a) No person, except those expressly exempted by Section 6-102, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State unless such person has a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit, issued under the provisions of this Act.
    (b) No person shall drive a motor vehicle unless he holds a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit issued under the provisions of Section 6-205, 6-206, or 6-113 of this Act. Any person to whom a license is issued under the provisions of this Act must surrender to the Secretary of State all valid licenses or permits, except that an applicant for a non-domiciled commercial learner's permit or commercial driver's license shall not be required to surrender a license or permit issued by the applicant's state or country of domicile. No drivers license or instruction permit shall be issued to any person who holds a valid Foreign State license, identification card, or permit unless such person first surrenders to the Secretary of State any such valid Foreign State license, identification card, or permit.
    (b-5) Any person who commits a violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, if at the time of the violation the person's driver's license or permit was cancelled under clause (a)9 of Section 6-201 of this Code.
    (c) Any person licensed as a driver hereunder shall not be required by any city, village, incorporated town or other municipal corporation to obtain any other license to exercise the privilege thereby granted.
    (d) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the motor vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.
    (e) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the vehicle of any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements and who, in violating this Section, has caused death or personal injury to another person is subject to forfeiture under Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012. For the purposes of this Section, a personal injury shall include any type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A type A injury shall include severely bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-176, eff. 7-8-15 (see Section 10 of P.A. 98-722 for the effective date of changes made by P.A. 98-176).)

625 ILCS 5/6-102

    (625 ILCS 5/6-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-102)
    Sec. 6-102. What persons are exempt. The following persons are exempt from the requirements of Section 6-101 and are not required to have an Illinois drivers license or permit if one or more of the following qualifying exemptions are met and apply:
        1. Any employee of the United States Government or
    
any member of the Armed Forces of the United States, while operating a motor vehicle owned by or leased to the United States Government and being operated on official business need not be licensed;
        2. A nonresident who has in his immediate possession
    
a valid license issued to him in his home state or country may operate a motor vehicle for which he is licensed for the period during which he is in this State;
        3. A nonresident and his spouse and children living
    
with him who is a student at a college or university in Illinois who have a valid license issued by their home State.
        4. A person operating a road machine temporarily upon
    
a highway or operating a farm tractor between the home farm buildings and any adjacent or nearby farm land for the exclusive purpose of conducting farm operations need not be licensed as a driver.
        5. A resident of this State who has been serving as a
    
member of the Armed Forces of the United States outside the Continental limits of the United States, for a period of 120 days following his return to the continental limits of the United States.
        6. A nonresident on active duty in the Armed Forces
    
of the United States who has a valid license issued by his home state and such nonresident's spouse, and dependent children and living with parents, who have a valid license issued by their home state.
        7. A nonresident who becomes a resident of this
    
State, may for a period of the first 90 days of residence in Illinois operate any motor vehicle which he was qualified or licensed to drive by his home state or country so long as he has in his possession, a valid and current license issued to him by his home state or country. Upon expiration of such 90 day period, such new resident must comply with the provisions of this Act and apply for an Illinois license or permit.
        8. An engineer, conductor, brakeman, or any other
    
member of the crew of a locomotive or train being operated upon rails, including operation on a railroad crossing over a public street, road or highway. Such person is not required to display a driver's license to any law enforcement officer in connection with the operation of a locomotive or train within this State.
    The provisions of this Section granting exemption to any nonresident shall be operative to the same extent that the laws of the State or country of such nonresident grant like exemption to residents of this State.
    The Secretary of State may implement the exemption provisions of this Section by inclusion thereof in a reciprocity agreement, arrangement or declaration issued pursuant to this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-607, eff. 8-24-09; 97-835, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/6-103

    (625 ILCS 5/6-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-103)
    Sec. 6-103. What persons shall not be licensed as drivers or granted permits. The Secretary of State shall not issue, renew, or allow the retention of any driver's license nor issue any permit under this Code:
        1. To any person, as a driver, who is under the age
    
of 18 years except as provided in Section 6-107, and except that an instruction permit may be issued under Section 6-107.1 to a child who is not less than 15 years of age if the child is enrolled in an approved driver education course as defined in Section 1-103 of this Code and requires an instruction permit to participate therein, except that an instruction permit may be issued under the provisions of Section 6-107.1 to a child who is 17 years and 3 months of age without the child having enrolled in an approved driver education course and except that an instruction permit may be issued to a child who is at least 15 years and 3 months of age, is enrolled in school, meets the educational requirements of the Driver Education Act, and has passed examinations the Secretary of State in his or her discretion may prescribe;
        1.5. To any person at least 18 years of age but less
    
than 21 years of age unless the person has, in addition to any other requirements of this Code, successfully completed an adult driver education course as provided in Section 6-107.5 of this Code;
        2. To any person who is under the age of 18 as an
    
operator of a motorcycle other than a motor driven cycle unless the person has, in addition to meeting the provisions of Section 6-107 of this Code, successfully completed a motorcycle training course approved by the Illinois Department of Transportation and successfully completes the required Secretary of State's motorcycle driver's examination;
        3. To any person, as a driver, whose driver's license
    
or permit has been suspended, during the suspension, nor to any person whose driver's license or permit has been revoked, except as provided in Sections 6-205, 6-206, and 6-208;
        4. To any person, as a driver, who is a user of
    
alcohol or any other drug to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle;
        5. To any person, as a driver, who has previously
    
been adjudged to be afflicted with or suffering from any mental or physical disability or disease and who has not at the time of application been restored to competency by the methods provided by law;
        6. To any person, as a driver, who is required by the
    
Secretary of State to submit an alcohol and drug evaluation or take an examination provided for in this Code unless the person has successfully passed the examination and submitted any required evaluation;
        7. To any person who is required under the provisions
    
of the laws of this State to deposit security or proof of financial responsibility and who has not deposited the security or proof;
        8. To any person when the Secretary of State has good
    
cause to believe that the person by reason of physical or mental disability would not be able to safely operate a motor vehicle upon the highways, unless the person shall furnish to the Secretary of State a verified written statement, acceptable to the Secretary of State, from a competent medical specialist, a licensed physician assistant who has been delegated the performance of medical examinations by his or her supervising physician, or a licensed advanced practice nurse who has a written collaborative agreement with a collaborating physician which authorizes him or her to perform medical examinations, to the effect that the operation of a motor vehicle by the person would not be inimical to the public safety;
        9. To any person, as a driver, who is 69 years of age
    
or older, unless the person has successfully complied with the provisions of Section 6-109;
        10. To any person convicted, within 12 months of
    
application for a license, of any of the sexual offenses enumerated in paragraph 2 of subsection (b) of Section 6-205;
        11. To any person who is under the age of 21 years
    
with a classification prohibited in paragraph (b) of Section 6-104 and to any person who is under the age of 18 years with a classification prohibited in paragraph (c) of Section 6-104;
        12. To any person who has been either convicted of or
    
adjudicated under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 based upon a violation of the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act while that person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. For purposes of this Section, any person placed on probation under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act shall not be considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this offense, while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, shall have an entry made in the court record by the judge that this offense did occur while the person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State as such. The Secretary of State shall not issue a new license or permit for a period of one year;
        13. To any person who is under the age of 18 years
    
and who has committed the offense of operating a motor vehicle without a valid license or permit in violation of Section 6-101 or a similar out of state offense;
        14. To any person who is 90 days or more delinquent
    
in court ordered child support payments or has been adjudicated in arrears in an amount equal to 90 days' obligation or more and who has been found in contempt of court for failure to pay the support, subject to the requirements and procedures of Article VII of Chapter 7 of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
        14.5. To any person certified by the Illinois
    
Department of Healthcare and Family Services as being 90 days or more delinquent in payment of support under an order of support entered by a court or administrative body of this or any other State, subject to the requirements and procedures of Article VII of Chapter 7 of this Code regarding those certifications;
        15. To any person released from a term of
    
imprisonment for violating Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or a similar provision of a law of another state relating to reckless homicide or for violating subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code relating to aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, if the violation was the proximate cause of a death, within 24 months of release from a term of imprisonment;
        16. To any person who, with intent to influence any
    
act related to the issuance of any driver's license or permit, by an employee of the Secretary of State's Office, or the owner or employee of any commercial driver training school licensed by the Secretary of State, or any other individual authorized by the laws of this State to give driving instructions or administer all or part of a driver's license examination, promises or tenders to that person any property or personal advantage which that person is not authorized by law to accept. Any persons promising or tendering such property or personal advantage shall be disqualified from holding any class of driver's license or permit for 120 consecutive days. The Secretary of State shall establish by rule the procedures for implementing this period of disqualification and the procedures by which persons so disqualified may obtain administrative review of the decision to disqualify;
        17. To any person for whom the Secretary of State
    
cannot verify the accuracy of any information or documentation submitted in application for a driver's license; or
        18. To any person who has been adjudicated under the
    
Juvenile Court Act of 1987 based upon an offense that is determined by the court to have been committed in furtherance of the criminal activities of an organized gang, as provided in Section 5-710 of that Act, and that involved the operation or use of a motor vehicle or the use of a driver's license or permit. The person shall be denied a license or permit for the period determined by the court.
    The Secretary of State shall retain all conviction information, if the information is required to be held confidential under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
(Source: P.A. 97-185, eff. 7-22-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-167, eff. 7-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-103.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-103.1)
    Sec. 6-103.1. New residents; out-of-state revocation.
    (a) The Secretary of State may not issue a driver's license to a nonresident who becomes a resident of this State while the new resident's driving privileges are revoked, under terms similar to those provided in Section 1-176 of this Code, in another state.
    (b) The Secretary may issue restricted driving permits to new residents whose driving privileges are revoked in another state. These permits must be issued according to the restrictions, and for the purposes, stated in Sections 6-205 and 6-206 of this Code. The Secretary shall adopt rules for the issuance of these permits.
    (c) A restricted driving permit issued under this Section is subject to cancellation, revocation, and suspension by the Secretary of State in the same manner and for the same causes as a driver's license issued under this Code may be cancelled, revoked, or suspended, except that a conviction of one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic is sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a restricted driving permit.
(Source: P.A. 94-473, eff. 1-1-06; 94-930, eff. 6-26-06.)

625 ILCS 5/6-104

    (625 ILCS 5/6-104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-104)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 6-104. Classification of Driver - Special Restrictions.
    (a) A driver's license issued under the authority of this Act shall indicate the classification for which the applicant therefor has qualified by examination or by such other means that the Secretary of State shall prescribe. Driver's license classifications shall be prescribed by rule or regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State and such may specify classifications as to operation of motor vehicles of the first division, or of those of the second division, whether operated singly or in lawful combination, and whether for-hire or not-for-hire, and may specify such other classifications as the Secretary deems necessary.
    No person shall operate a motor vehicle unless such person has a valid license with a proper classification to permit the operation of such vehicle, except that any person may operate a moped if such person has a valid current Illinois driver's license, regardless of classification.
    (b) No person who is under the age of 21 years or has had less than 1 year of driving experience shall drive: (1) in connection with the operation of any school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, any public or private motor vehicle for transporting children to or from any school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, or (2) any motor vehicle of the second division when in use for the transportation of persons for compensation.
    (c) No person who is under the age of 18 years shall be issued a license for the purpose of transporting property for hire, or for the purpose of transporting persons for compensation in a motor vehicle of the first division.
    (d) No person shall drive: (1) a school bus when transporting school children unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit for at least one year; or (2) any other vehicle owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school operated by a religious institution, where such vehicle is being used over a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as a student in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the entities unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit.
    (d-5) No person may drive a bus that does not meet the special requirements for school buses provided in Sections 12-801, 12-802, 12-803, and 12-805 of this Code that has been chartered for the sole purpose of transporting students regularly enrolled in grade 12 or below to or from interscholastic athletic or interscholastic or school sponsored activities unless the person has a valid and properly classified commercial driver's license as provided in subsection (c-1) of Section 6-508 of this Code in addition to any other permit or license that is required to operate that bus. This subsection (d-5) does not apply to any bus driver employed by a public transportation provider authorized to conduct local or interurban transportation of passengers when the bus is not traveling a specific school bus route but is on a regularly scheduled route for the transporting of other fare paying passengers.
    A person may operate a chartered bus described in this subsection (d-5) if he or she is not disqualified from driving a chartered bus of that type and if he or she holds a CDL that is:
        (1) issued to him or her by any other state or
    
jurisdiction in accordance with 49 CFR 383;
        (2) not suspended, revoked, or canceled; and
        (3) valid under 49 CFR 383, subpart F, for the type
    
of vehicle being driven.
    A person may also operate a chartered bus described in this subsection (d-5) if he or she holds a valid CDL and a valid school bus driver permit that was issued on or before December 31, 2003.
    (e) No person shall drive a religious organization bus unless such person has a valid and properly classified drivers license or a valid school bus driver permit.
    (f) No person shall drive a motor vehicle for the purpose of providing transportation for the elderly in connection with the activities of any public or private organization unless such person has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.
    (g) No person shall drive a bus which meets the special requirements for school buses provided in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less in connection with any youth camp licensed under the Youth Camp Act or any child care facility licensed under the Child Care Act of 1969 unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit for at least one year; however, a person who has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State may operate a school bus for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less in connection with any such youth camp or child care facility if the "SCHOOL BUS" signs are covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and flashing signal systems are not operable through normal controls.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 6-104. Classification of Driver - Special Restrictions.
    (a) A driver's license issued under the authority of this Act shall indicate the classification for which the applicant therefor has qualified by examination or by such other means that the Secretary of State shall prescribe. Driver's license classifications shall be prescribed by rule or regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State and such may specify classifications as to operation of motor vehicles of the first division, or of those of the second division, whether operated singly or in lawful combination, and whether for-hire or not-for-hire, and may specify such other classifications as the Secretary deems necessary.
    No person shall operate a motor vehicle unless such person has a valid license with a proper classification to permit the operation of such vehicle, except that any person may operate a moped if such person has a valid current Illinois driver's license, regardless of classification.
    (b) No person who is under the age of 21 years or has had less than 1 year of driving experience shall drive: (1) in connection with the operation of any school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, any public or private motor vehicle for transporting children to or from any school, day camp, summer camp, or nursery school, or (2) any motor vehicle of the second division when in use for the transportation of persons for compensation.
    (c) No person who is under the age of 18 years shall be issued a license for the purpose of transporting property for hire, or for the purpose of transporting persons for compensation in a motor vehicle of the first division.
    (d) No person shall drive: (1) a school bus when transporting school children unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit for at least one year; or (2) any other vehicle owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school operated by a religious institution, where such vehicle is being used over a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as a student in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the entities unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit.
    (d-5) No person may drive a bus that does not meet the special requirements for school buses provided in Sections 12-801, 12-802, 12-803, and 12-805 of this Code that has been chartered for the sole purpose of transporting students regularly enrolled in grade 12 or below to or from interscholastic athletic or interscholastic or school sponsored activities unless the person has a valid and properly classified commercial driver's license as provided in subsection (c-1) of Section 6-508 of this Code in addition to any other permit or license that is required to operate that bus. This subsection (d-5) does not apply to any bus driver employed by a public transportation provider authorized to conduct local or interurban transportation of passengers when the bus is not traveling a specific school bus route but is on a regularly scheduled route for the transporting of other fare paying passengers.
    A person may operate a chartered bus described in this subsection (d-5) if he or she is not disqualified from driving a chartered bus of that type and if he or she holds a CDL that is:
        (1) issued to him or her by any other state or
    
jurisdiction in accordance with 49 CFR 383;
        (2) not suspended, revoked, or canceled; and
        (3) valid under 49 CFR 383, subpart F, for the type
    
of vehicle being driven.
    A person may also operate a chartered bus described in this subsection (d-5) if he or she holds a valid CDL and a valid school bus driver permit that was issued on or before December 31, 2003.
    (e) No person shall drive a religious organization bus unless such person has a valid and properly classified drivers license or a valid school bus driver permit.
    (f) No person shall drive a motor vehicle for the purpose of providing transportation for the elderly in connection with the activities of any public or private organization unless such person has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.
    (g) No person shall drive a bus which meets the special requirements for school buses provided in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less in connection with any youth camp licensed under the Youth Camp Act or any child care facility licensed under the Child Care Act of 1969 unless such person possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit for at least one year; however, a person who has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State may operate a school bus for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less in connection with any such youth camp or child care facility if the "SCHOOL BUS" signs are covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and flashing signal systems are not operable through normal controls.
    (h) No person shall operate an autocycle unless he or she has a valid Class D driver's license.
(Source: P.A. 98-777, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-105

    (625 ILCS 5/6-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-105)
    Sec. 6-105. Instruction permits and temporary licenses for persons 18 years of age or older.
    (a) Except as provided in this Section, the Secretary of State upon receiving proper application and payment of the required fee may issue an instruction permit to any person 18 years of age or older who is not ineligible for a license under paragraphs 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, or 8 of Section 6-103, after the applicant has successfully passed such examination as the Secretary of State in his discretion may prescribe.
    1. An instruction permit entitles the holder while having the permit in his immediate possession to drive a motor vehicle, excluding a motor driven cycle or motorcycle, upon the highways for a period of 12 months after the date of its issuance when accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older, who has had a valid driver's license classification to operate such vehicle for at least one year and has had one year of driving experience with such classification and who is occupying a seat beside the driver.
    2. A 12 month instruction permit for a motor driven cycle or motorcycle may be issued to a person 18 years of age or more, and entitles the holder to drive upon the highways during daylight under the direct supervision of a licensed motor driven cycle operator or motorcycle operator with the same or greater classification, who is 21 years of age or older and who has at least one year of driving experience.
    3. (Blank).
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) The Secretary of State may issue a temporary driver's license to an applicant for a license permitting the operation of a motor vehicle while the Secretary is completing an investigation and determination of all facts relative to such applicant's eligibility to receive such license, or for any other reason prescribed by rule or regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State. Such permit must be in the applicant's immediate possession while operating a motor vehicle, and it shall be invalid when the applicant's driver's license has been issued or for good cause has been refused. In each case the Secretary of State may issue the temporary driver's license for such period as appropriate but in no event for longer than 90 days.
(Source: P.A. 90-369, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/6-105.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-105.1)
    Sec. 6-105.1. Temporary visitor's driver's license.
    (a) The Secretary of State may issue a temporary visitor's driver's license to a foreign national who (i) resides in this State, (ii) is ineligible to obtain a social security number, and (iii) presents to the Secretary documentation, issued by United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, authorizing the person's presence in this country.
    (a-5) The Secretary of State may issue a temporary visitor's driver's license to an applicant who (i) has resided in this State for a period in excess of one year, (ii) is ineligible to obtain a social security number, and (iii) is unable to present documentation issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services authorizing the person's presence in this country. The applicant shall submit a valid unexpired passport from the applicant's country of citizenship or a valid unexpired consular identification document issued by a consulate of that country as defined in Section 5 of the Consular Identification Document Act (5 ILCS 230/5).
    (a-10) Applicants for a temporary visitor's driver's license who are under 18 years of age at the time of application shall be subject to the provisions of Sections 6-107 and 6-108 of this Code.
    (b) A temporary visitor's driver's license issued under subsection (a) is valid for 3 years, or for the period of time the individual is authorized to remain in this country, whichever ends sooner. A temporary visitor's driver's license issued under subsection (a-5) shall be valid for a period of 3 years.
    (b-5) A temporary visitor's driver's license issued under this Section may not be accepted for proof of the holder's identity. A temporary visitor's driver's license issued under this Section shall contain a notice on its face, in capitalized letters, stating that the temporary visitor's driver's license may not be accepted for proof of identity.
    (c) The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this Section, including rules:
        (1) regarding the design and content of the temporary
    
visitor's driver's license;
        (2) establishing criteria for proof of identification
    
and residency of an individual applying under subsection (a-5);
        (3) designating acceptable evidence that an applicant
    
is not eligible for a social security number; and
        (4) regarding the issuance of temporary visitor's
    
instruction permits.
    (d) Any person to whom the Secretary of State may issue a temporary visitor's driver's license shall be subject to any and all provisions of this Code and any and all implementing regulations issued by the Secretary of State to the same extent as any person issued a driver's license, unless otherwise provided in this Code or by administrative rule, including but not limited to the examination requirements in Section 6-109 as well as the mandatory insurance requirements and penalties set forth in Article VI of Chapter 7 of this Code.
    (d-5) A temporary visitor's driver's license is invalid if the holder is unable to provide proof of liability insurance as required by Section 7-601 of this Code upon the request of a law enforcement officer, in which case the holder commits a violation of Section 6-101 of this Code.
    (e) Temporary visitor's driver's licenses shall be issued from a central location after the Secretary of State has verified the information provided by the applicant.
    (f) There is created in the State treasury a special fund to be known as the Driver Services Administration Fund. All fees collected for the issuance of temporary visitor's driver's licenses shall be deposited into the Fund. These funds shall, subject to appropriation, be used by the Office of the Secretary of State for costs related to the issuance of temporary visitor's driver's licenses, and other operational costs, including personnel, facilities, computer programming, and data transmission.
(Source: P.A. 97-1157, eff. 11-28-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-106)
    Sec. 6-106. Application for license or instruction permit.
    (a) Every application for any permit or license authorized to be issued under this Code shall be made upon a form furnished by the Secretary of State. Every application shall be accompanied by the proper fee and payment of such fee shall entitle the applicant to not more than 3 attempts to pass the examination within a period of one year after the date of application.
    (b) Every application shall state the legal name, social security number, zip code, date of birth, sex, and residence address of the applicant; briefly describe the applicant; state whether the applicant has theretofore been licensed as a driver, and, if so, when and by what state or country, and whether any such license has ever been cancelled, suspended, revoked or refused, and, if so, the date and reason for such cancellation, suspension, revocation or refusal; shall include an affirmation by the applicant that all information set forth is true and correct; and shall bear the applicant's signature. In addition to the residence address, the Secretary may allow the applicant to provide a mailing address. In the case of an applicant who is a judicial officer or peace officer, the Secretary may allow the applicant to provide an office or work address in lieu of a residence or mailing address. The application form may also require the statement of such additional relevant information as the Secretary of State shall deem necessary to determine the applicant's competency and eligibility. The Secretary of State may, in his discretion, by rule or regulation, provide that an application for a drivers license or permit may include a suitable photograph of the applicant in the form prescribed by the Secretary, and he may further provide that each drivers license shall include a photograph of the driver. The Secretary of State may utilize a photograph process or system most suitable to deter alteration or improper reproduction of a drivers license and to prevent substitution of another photo thereon. For the purposes of this subsection (b), "peace officer" means any person who by virtue of his or her office or public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for a violation of any penal statute of this State, whether that duty extends to all violations or is limited to specific violations.
    (c) The application form shall include a notice to the applicant of the registration obligations of sex offenders under the Sex Offender Registration Act. The notice shall be provided in a form and manner prescribed by the Secretary of State. For purposes of this subsection (c), "sex offender" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section 2 of the Sex Offender Registration Act.
    (d) Any male United States citizen or immigrant who applies for any permit or license authorized to be issued under this Code or for a renewal of any permit or license, and who is at least 18 years of age but less than 26 years of age, must be registered in compliance with the requirements of the federal Military Selective Service Act. The Secretary of State must forward in an electronic format the necessary personal information regarding the applicants identified in this subsection (d) to the Selective Service System. The applicant's signature on the application serves as an indication that the applicant either has already registered with the Selective Service System or that he is authorizing the Secretary to forward to the Selective Service System the necessary information for registration. The Secretary must notify the applicant at the time of application that his signature constitutes consent to registration with the Selective Service System, if he is not already registered.
    (e) Beginning on or before July 1, 2015, for each original or renewal driver's license application under this Code, the Secretary shall inquire as to whether the applicant is a veteran for purposes of issuing a driver's license with a veteran designation under subsection (e-5) of Section 6-110 of this Code. The acceptable forms of proof shall include, but are not limited to, Department of Defense form DD-214. The Secretary shall determine by rule what other forms of proof of a person's status as a veteran are acceptable.
    The Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs shall confirm the status of the applicant as an honorably discharged veteran before the Secretary may issue the driver's license.
    For purposes of this subsection (e):
    "Active duty" means active duty under an executive order of the President of the United States, an Act of the Congress of the United States, or an order of the Governor.
    "Armed forces" means any of the Armed Forces of the United States, including a member of any reserve component or National Guard unit called to active duty.
    "Veteran" means a person who has served on active duty in the armed forces and was discharged or separated under honorable conditions.
(Source: P.A. 97-263, eff. 8-5-11; 97-739, eff. 1-1-13; 97-847, eff. 1-1-13; 98-323, eff. 1-1-14; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.1)
    Sec. 6-106.1. School bus driver permit.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall issue a school bus driver permit to those applicants who have met all the requirements of the application and screening process under this Section to insure the welfare and safety of children who are transported on school buses throughout the State of Illinois. Applicants shall obtain the proper application required by the Secretary of State from their prospective or current employer and submit the completed application to the prospective or current employer along with the necessary fingerprint submission as required by the Department of State Police to conduct fingerprint based criminal background checks on current and future information available in the state system and current information available through the Federal Bureau of Investigation's system. Applicants who have completed the fingerprinting requirements shall not be subjected to the fingerprinting process when applying for subsequent permits or submitting proof of successful completion of the annual refresher course. Individuals who on the effective date of this Act possess a valid school bus driver permit that has been previously issued by the appropriate Regional School Superintendent are not subject to the fingerprinting provisions of this Section as long as the permit remains valid and does not lapse. The applicant shall be required to pay all related application and fingerprinting fees as established by rule including, but not limited to, the amounts established by the Department of State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to process fingerprint based criminal background investigations. All fees paid for fingerprint processing services under this Section shall be deposited into the State Police Services Fund for the cost incurred in processing the fingerprint based criminal background investigations. All other fees paid under this Section shall be deposited into the Road Fund for the purpose of defraying the costs of the Secretary of State in administering this Section. All applicants must:
        1. be 21 years of age or older;
        2. possess a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        3. possess a valid driver's license, which has not
    
been revoked, suspended, or canceled for 3 years immediately prior to the date of application, or have not had his or her commercial motor vehicle driving privileges disqualified within the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application;
        4. successfully pass a written test, administered by
    
the Secretary of State, on school bus operation, school bus safety, and special traffic laws relating to school buses and submit to a review of the applicant's driving habits by the Secretary of State at the time the written test is given;
        5. demonstrate ability to exercise reasonable care in
    
the operation of school buses in accordance with rules promulgated by the Secretary of State;
        6. demonstrate physical fitness to operate school
    
buses by submitting the results of a medical examination, including tests for drug use for each applicant not subject to such testing pursuant to federal law, conducted by a licensed physician, an advanced practice nurse who has a written collaborative agreement with a collaborating physician which authorizes him or her to perform medical examinations, or a physician assistant who has been delegated the performance of medical examinations by his or her supervising physician within 90 days of the date of application according to standards promulgated by the Secretary of State;
        7. affirm under penalties of perjury that he or she
    
has not made a false statement or knowingly concealed a material fact in any application for permit;
        8. have completed an initial classroom course,
    
including first aid procedures, in school bus driver safety as promulgated by the Secretary of State; and after satisfactory completion of said initial course an annual refresher course; such courses and the agency or organization conducting such courses shall be approved by the Secretary of State; failure to complete the annual refresher course, shall result in cancellation of the permit until such course is completed;
        9. not have been under an order of court supervision
    
for or convicted of 2 or more serious traffic offenses, as defined by rule, within one year prior to the date of application that may endanger the life or safety of any of the driver's passengers within the duration of the permit period;
        10. not have been under an order of court supervision
    
for or convicted of reckless driving, aggravated reckless driving, driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof, or reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle within 3 years of the date of application;
        11. not have been convicted of committing or
    
attempting to commit any one or more of the following offenses: (i) those offenses defined in Sections 8-1.2, 9-1, 9-1.2, 9-2, 9-2.1, 9-3, 9-3.2, 9-3.3, 10-1, 10-2, 10-3.1, 10-4, 10-5, 10-5.1, 10-6, 10-7, 10-9, 11-1.20, 11-1.30, 11-1.40, 11-1.50, 11-1.60, 11-6, 11-6.5, 11-6.6, 11-9, 11-9.1, 11-9.3, 11-9.4, 11-14, 11-14.1, 11-14.3, 11-14.4, 11-15, 11-15.1, 11-16, 11-17, 11-17.1, 11-18, 11-18.1, 11-19, 11-19.1, 11-19.2, 11-20, 11-20.1, 11-20.1B, 11-20.3, 11-21, 11-22, 11-23, 11-24, 11-25, 11-26, 11-30, 12-2.6, 12-3.1, 12-4, 12-4.1, 12-4.2, 12-4.2-5, 12-4.3, 12-4.4, 12-4.5, 12-4.6, 12-4.7, 12-4.9, 12-5.01, 12-6, 12-6.2, 12-7.1, 12-7.3, 12-7.4, 12-7.5, 12-11, 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, 12-16, 12-16.2, 12-21.5, 12-21.6, 12-33, 12C-5, 12C-10, 12C-20, 12C-30, 12C-45, 16-16, 16-16.1, 18-1, 18-2, 18-3, 18-4, 18-5, 19-6, 20-1, 20-1.1, 20-1.2, 20-1.3, 20-2, 24-1, 24-1.1, 24-1.2, 24-1.2-5, 24-1.6, 24-1.7, 24-2.1, 24-3.3, 24-3.5, 24-3.8, 24-3.9, 31A-1, 31A-1.1, 33A-2, and 33D-1, and in subsection (b) of Section 8-1, and in subdivisions (a)(1), (a)(2), (b)(1), (e)(1), (e)(2), (e)(3), (e)(4), and (f)(1) of Section 12-3.05, and in subsection (a) and subsection (b), clause (1), of Section 12-4, and in subsection (A), clauses (a) and (b), of Section 24-3, and those offenses contained in Article 29D of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (ii) those offenses defined in the Cannabis Control Act except those offenses defined in subsections (a) and (b) of Section 4, and subsection (a) of Section 5 of the Cannabis Control Act; (iii) those offenses defined in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; (iv) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; (v) any offense committed or attempted in any other state or against the laws of the United States, which if committed or attempted in this State would be punishable as one or more of the foregoing offenses; (vi) the offenses defined in Section 4.1 and 5.1 of the Wrongs to Children Act or Section 11-9.1A of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; (vii) those offenses defined in Section 6-16 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934; and (viii) those offenses defined in the Methamphetamine Precursor Control Act;
        12. not have been repeatedly involved as a driver in
    
motor vehicle collisions or been repeatedly convicted of offenses against laws and ordinances regulating the movement of traffic, to a degree which indicates lack of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor vehicle or disrespect for the traffic laws and the safety of other persons upon the highway;
        13. not have, through the unlawful operation of a
    
motor vehicle, caused an accident resulting in the death of any person;
        14. not have, within the last 5 years, been adjudged
    
to be afflicted with or suffering from any mental disability or disease; and
        15. consent, in writing, to the release of results of
    
reasonable suspicion drug and alcohol testing under Section 6-106.1c of this Code by the employer of the applicant to the Secretary of State.
    (b) A school bus driver permit shall be valid for a period specified by the Secretary of State as set forth by rule. It shall be renewable upon compliance with subsection (a) of this Section.
    (c) A school bus driver permit shall contain the holder's driver's license number, legal name, residence address, zip code, and date of birth, a brief description of the holder and a space for signature. The Secretary of State may require a suitable photograph of the holder.
    (d) The employer shall be responsible for conducting a pre-employment interview with prospective school bus driver candidates, distributing school bus driver applications and medical forms to be completed by the applicant, and submitting the applicant's fingerprint cards to the Department of State Police that are required for the criminal background investigations. The employer shall certify in writing to the Secretary of State that all pre-employment conditions have been successfully completed including the successful completion of an Illinois specific criminal background investigation through the Department of State Police and the submission of necessary fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for criminal history information available through the Federal Bureau of Investigation system. The applicant shall present the certification to the Secretary of State at the time of submitting the school bus driver permit application.
    (e) Permits shall initially be provisional upon receiving certification from the employer that all pre-employment conditions have been successfully completed, and upon successful completion of all training and examination requirements for the classification of the vehicle to be operated, the Secretary of State shall provisionally issue a School Bus Driver Permit. The permit shall remain in a provisional status pending the completion of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's criminal background investigation based upon fingerprinting specimens submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation by the Department of State Police. The Federal Bureau of Investigation shall report the findings directly to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State shall remove the bus driver permit from provisional status upon the applicant's successful completion of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's criminal background investigation.
    (f) A school bus driver permit holder shall notify the employer and the Secretary of State if he or she is issued an order of court supervision for or convicted in another state of an offense that would make him or her ineligible for a permit under subsection (a) of this Section. The written notification shall be made within 5 days of the entry of the order of court supervision or conviction. Failure of the permit holder to provide the notification is punishable as a petty offense for a first violation and a Class B misdemeanor for a second or subsequent violation.
    (g) Cancellation; suspension; notice and procedure.
        (1) The Secretary of State shall cancel a school bus
    
driver permit of an applicant whose criminal background investigation discloses that he or she is not in compliance with the provisions of subsection (a) of this Section.
        (2) The Secretary of State shall cancel a school bus
    
driver permit when he or she receives notice that the permit holder fails to comply with any provision of this Section or any rule promulgated for the administration of this Section.
        (3) The Secretary of State shall cancel a school bus
    
driver permit if the permit holder's restricted commercial or commercial driving privileges are withdrawn or otherwise invalidated.
        (4) The Secretary of State may not issue a school bus
    
driver permit for a period of 3 years to an applicant who fails to obtain a negative result on a drug test as required in item 6 of subsection (a) of this Section or under federal law.
        (5) The Secretary of State shall forthwith suspend a
    
school bus driver permit for a period of 3 years upon receiving notice that the holder has failed to obtain a negative result on a drug test as required in item 6 of subsection (a) of this Section or under federal law.
        (6) The Secretary of State shall suspend a school bus
    
driver permit for a period of 3 years upon receiving notice from the employer that the holder failed to perform the inspection procedure set forth in subsection (a) or (b) of Section 12-816 of this Code.
        (7) The Secretary of State shall suspend a school bus
    
driver permit for a period of 3 years upon receiving notice from the employer that the holder refused to submit to an alcohol or drug test as required by Section 6-106.1c or has submitted to a test required by that Section which disclosed an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 or disclosed a positive result on a National Institute on Drug Abuse five-drug panel, utilizing federal standards set forth in 49 CFR 40.87.
    The Secretary of State shall notify the State Superintendent of Education and the permit holder's prospective or current employer that the applicant has (1) has failed a criminal background investigation or (2) is no longer eligible for a school bus driver permit; and of the related cancellation of the applicant's provisional school bus driver permit. The cancellation shall remain in effect pending the outcome of a hearing pursuant to Section 2-118 of this Code. The scope of the hearing shall be limited to the issuance criteria contained in subsection (a) of this Section. A petition requesting a hearing shall be submitted to the Secretary of State and shall contain the reason the individual feels he or she is entitled to a school bus driver permit. The permit holder's employer shall notify in writing to the Secretary of State that the employer has certified the removal of the offending school bus driver from service prior to the start of that school bus driver's next workshift. An employing school board that fails to remove the offending school bus driver from service is subject to the penalties defined in Section 3-14.23 of the School Code. A school bus contractor who violates a provision of this Section is subject to the penalties defined in Section 6-106.11.
    All valid school bus driver permits issued under this Section prior to January 1, 1995, shall remain effective until their expiration date unless otherwise invalidated.
    (h) When a school bus driver permit holder who is a service member is called to active duty, the employer of the permit holder shall notify the Secretary of State, within 30 days of notification from the permit holder, that the permit holder has been called to active duty. Upon notification pursuant to this subsection, (i) the Secretary of State shall characterize the permit as inactive until a permit holder renews the permit as provided in subsection (i) of this Section, and (ii) if a permit holder fails to comply with the requirements of this Section while called to active duty, the Secretary of State shall not characterize the permit as invalid.
    (i) A school bus driver permit holder who is a service member returning from active duty must, within 90 days, renew a permit characterized as inactive pursuant to subsection (h) of this Section by complying with the renewal requirements of subsection (b) of this Section.
    (j) For purposes of subsections (h) and (i) of this Section:
    "Active duty" means active duty pursuant to an executive order of the President of the United States, an act of the Congress of the United States, or an order of the Governor.
    "Service member" means a member of the Armed Services or reserve forces of the United States or a member of the Illinois National Guard.
(Source: P.A. 96-89, eff. 7-27-09; 96-818, eff. 11-17-09; 96-962, eff. 7-2-10; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10; 96-1182, eff. 7-22-10; 96-1551, Article 1, Section 950, eff. 7-1-11; 96-1551, Article 2, Section 1025, eff. 7-1-11; 97-224, eff. 7-28-11; 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-466, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.1a

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.1a)
    Sec. 6-106.1a. Cancellation of school bus driver permit; trace of alcohol.
    (a) A person who has been issued a school bus driver permit by the Secretary of State in accordance with Section 6-106.1 of this Code and who drives or is in actual physical control of a school bus or any other vehicle owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school operated by a religious institution, when the vehicle is being used over a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as students in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the entities listed, upon the public highways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent to a chemical test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol content of the person's blood if arrested, as evidenced by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket for any violation of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, if a police officer has probable cause to believe that the driver has consumed any amount of an alcoholic beverage based upon evidence of the driver's physical condition or other first hand knowledge of the police officer. The test or tests shall be administered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law enforcement agency employing the officer shall designate which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. A urine test may be administered even after a blood or breath test or both has been administered.
    (b) A person who is dead, unconscious, or who is otherwise in a condition rendering that person incapable of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the consent provided by paragraph (a) of this Section and the test or tests may be administered subject to the following provisions:
        (1) Chemical analysis of the person's blood, urine,
    
breath, or other substance, to be considered valid under the provisions of this Section, shall have been performed according to standards promulgated by the Department of State Police by an individual possessing a valid permit issued by the Department of State Police for this purpose. The Director of State Police is authorized to approve satisfactory techniques or methods, to ascertain the qualifications and competence of individuals to conduct analyses, to issue permits that shall be subject to termination or revocation at the direction of the Department of State Police, and to certify the accuracy of breath testing equipment. The Department of State Police shall prescribe rules as necessary.
        (2) When a person submits to a blood test at the
    
request of a law enforcement officer under the provisions of this Section, only a physician authorized to practice medicine, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse, or other qualified person trained in venipuncture and acting under the direction of a licensed physician may withdraw blood for the purpose of determining the alcohol content. This limitation does not apply to the taking of breath or urine specimens.
        (3) The person tested may have a physician, qualified
    
technician, chemist, registered nurse, or other qualified person of his or her own choosing administer a chemical test or tests in addition to any test or tests administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer. The test administered at the request of the person may be admissible into evidence at a hearing conducted in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test by a person shall not preclude the consideration of the previously performed chemical test.
        (4) Upon a request of the person who submits to a
    
chemical test or tests at the request of a law enforcement officer, full information concerning the test or tests shall be made available to the person or that person's attorney by the requesting law enforcement agency within 72 hours of receipt of the test result.
        (5) Alcohol concentration means either grams of
    
alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
        (6) If a driver is receiving medical treatment as a
    
result of a motor vehicle accident, a physician licensed to practice medicine, licensed physician assistant, licensed advanced practice nurse, registered nurse, or other qualified person trained in venipuncture and acting under the direction of a licensed physician shall withdraw blood for testing purposes to ascertain the presence of alcohol upon the specific request of a law enforcement officer. However, that testing shall not be performed until, in the opinion of the medical personnel on scene, the withdrawal can be made without interfering with or endangering the well-being of the patient.
    (c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided in this Section shall be warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test, or submission to the test resulting in an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00, may result in the loss of that person's privilege to possess a school bus driver permit. The loss of the individual's privilege to possess a school bus driver permit shall be imposed in accordance with Section 6-106.1b of this Code.
    (d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test that discloses an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00, the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a sworn report to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State certifying that the test or tests were requested under subsection (a) and the person refused to submit to a test or tests or submitted to testing which disclosed an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00. The law enforcement officer shall submit the same sworn report when a person who has been issued a school bus driver permit and who was operating a school bus or any other vehicle owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school operated by a religious institution, when the vehicle is being used over a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as students in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the entities listed, submits to testing under Section 11-501.1 of this Code and the testing discloses an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 and less than the alcohol concentration at which driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle is prohibited under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 11-501.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary of State shall enter the school bus driver permit sanction on the individual's driving record and the sanction shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice of the sanction was given to the person.
    The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn report shall serve immediate notice of this school bus driver permit sanction on the person and the sanction shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 is established by a subsequent analysis of blood or urine, the police officer or arresting agency shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of that notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to that person at his or her last known address and the loss of the school bus driver permit shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary of State shall also give notice of the school bus driver permit sanction to the driver and the driver's current employer by mailing a notice of the effective date of the sanction to the individual. However, shall the sworn report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the notice of the school bus driver permit sanction may not be mailed to the person or his current employer or entered to the driving record, but rather the sworn report shall be returned to the issuing law enforcement agency.
    (e) A driver may contest this school bus driver permit sanction by requesting an administrative hearing with the Secretary of State in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code. An individual whose blood alcohol concentration is shown to be more than 0.00 is not subject to this Section if he or she consumed alcohol in the performance of a religious service or ceremony. An individual whose blood alcohol concentration is shown to be more than 0.00 shall not be subject to this Section if the individual's blood alcohol concentration resulted only from ingestion of the prescribed or recommended dosage of medicine that contained alcohol. The petition for that hearing shall not stay or delay the effective date of the impending suspension. The scope of this hearing shall be limited to the issues of:
        (1) whether the police officer had probable cause to
    
believe that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a school bus or any other vehicle owned or operated by or for a public or private school, or a school operated by a religious institution, when the vehicle is being used over a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of persons enrolled as students in grade 12 or below, in connection with any activity of the entities listed, upon the public highways of the State and the police officer had reason to believe that the person was in violation of any provision of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance; and
        (2) whether the person was issued a Uniform Traffic
    
Ticket for any violation of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance; and
        (3) whether the police officer had probable cause to
    
believe that the driver had consumed any amount of an alcoholic beverage based upon the driver's physical actions or other first-hand knowledge of the police officer; and
        (4) whether the person, after being advised by the
    
officer that the privilege to possess a school bus driver permit would be canceled if the person refused to submit to and complete the test or tests, did refuse to submit to or complete the test or tests to determine the person's alcohol concentration; and
        (5) whether the person, after being advised by the
    
officer that the privileges to possess a school bus driver permit would be canceled if the person submits to a chemical test or tests and the test or tests disclose an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 and the person did submit to and complete the test or tests that determined an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00; and
        (6) whether the test result of an alcohol
    
concentration of more than 0.00 was based upon the person's consumption of alcohol in the performance of a religious service or ceremony; and
        (7) whether the test result of an alcohol
    
concentration of more than 0.00 was based upon the person's consumption of alcohol through ingestion of the prescribed or recommended dosage of medicine.
    The Secretary of State may adopt administrative rules setting forth circumstances under which the holder of a school bus driver permit is not required to appear in person at the hearing.
    Provided that the petitioner may subpoena the officer, the hearing may be conducted upon a review of the law enforcement officer's own official reports. Failure of the officer to answer the subpoena shall be grounds for a continuance if, in the hearing officer's discretion, the continuance is appropriate. At the conclusion of the hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code, the Secretary of State may rescind, continue, or modify the school bus driver permit sanction.
    (f) The results of any chemical testing performed in accordance with subsection (a) of this Section are not admissible in any civil or criminal proceeding, except that the results of the testing may be considered at a hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code. However, the results of the testing may not be used to impose driver's license sanctions under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. A law enforcement officer may, however, pursue a statutory summary suspension or revocation of driving privileges under Section 11-501.1 of this Code if other physical evidence or first hand knowledge forms the basis of that suspension or revocation.
    (g) This Section applies only to drivers who have been issued a school bus driver permit in accordance with Section 6-106.1 of this Code at the time of the issuance of the Uniform Traffic Ticket for a violation of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, and a chemical test request is made under this Section.
    (h) The action of the Secretary of State in suspending, revoking, canceling, or denying any license, permit, registration, or certificate of title shall be subject to judicial review in the Circuit Court of Sangamon County or in the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the provisions of the Administrative Review Law and its rules are hereby adopted and shall apply to and govern every action for the judicial review of final acts or decisions of the Secretary of State under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11; 97-450, eff. 8-19-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.1b

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.1b)
    Sec. 6-106.1b. Loss of school bus driver permit privileges; failure or refusal to submit to chemical testing. Unless the loss of school bus driver permit privileges based upon consumption of alcohol by an individual who has been issued a school bus driver permit in accordance with Section 6-106.1 of this Code or refusal to submit to testing has been rescinded by the Secretary of State in accordance with subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code, a person whose privilege to possess a school bus driver permit has been canceled under Section 6-106.1a is not eligible for restoration of the privilege until the expiration of 3 years from the effective date of the cancellation for a person who has refused or failed to complete a test or tests to determine blood alcohol concentration or has submitted to testing with a blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.00.
(Source: P.A. 90-107, eff. 1-1-98; 91-124, eff. 7-16-99.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.1c

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.1c)
    Sec. 6-106.1c. Reasonable suspicion drug and alcohol testing of school bus driver permit holders.
    (a) An employer of a school bus driver permit holder who holds a commercial driver's license and who works for the employer as a school bus driver and is therefore subject to 49 CFR 382.307 shall notify the Secretary of State, in a manner and form prescribed by the Secretary, of the result of a reasonable suspicion test when: (i) the test indicates an alcohol concentration greater than 0.00; (ii) the test indicates a positive result on a National Institute on Drug Abuse five-drug panel utilizing the federal standards set forth in 49 CFR 40.87; or (iii) when a driver refuses testing. The notification to the Secretary must be submitted within 48 hours of the refusal of testing or the employer's receipt of the test results.
    (b) Employers of school bus driver permit holders who do not hold commercial driver's licenses and school bus driver permit holders who do not hold commercial driver's licenses are hereby made subject to 49 CFR 382.307 regarding reasonable suspicion testing, which must be done in conformance with 49 CFR Parts 40 and 382, except that the test results shall not be reported to the employer utilizing the Federal Drug Testing Custody and Control Form or the U.S. Department of Transportation Alcohol Testing Form, but shall be reported to the employer in a manner and form approved by the Secretary. The employer shall notify the Secretary, in a manner and form prescribed by the Secretary, of the result of a reasonable suspicion test when: (i) the test indicates an alcohol concentration greater than 0.00; (ii) the test indicates a positive result on a National Institute on Drug Abuse five-drug panel utilizing the federal standards set forth in 49 CFR 40.87; or (iii) when a driver refuses testing. The notification to the Secretary must be submitted within 48 hours of the refusal of testing or the employer's receipt of the test results.
    (c) The Secretary of State may adopt rules to implement this Section.
    (d) The cost of a reasonable suspicion test shall be the responsibility of the employer, unless otherwise provided by contract or a collective bargaining agreement.
(Source: P.A. 97-466, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-106.2)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.2. Religious organization bus driver. A religious organization bus driver shall meet the following requirements:
        1. is 21 years of age or older;
        2. has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        3. has held a valid driver's license, not
    
necessarily of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application;
        4. has demonstrated an ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of religious organization buses in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State prescribes including a driving test in a religious organization bus; and
        5. has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.2. Religious organization bus driver. A religious organization bus driver shall meet the following requirements:
        1. is 21 years of age or older;
        2. has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        3. has held a valid driver's license, not
    
necessarily of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application. A lapse in the renewal of the driver's license of 30 days or less shall not render the applicant ineligible. The Secretary of State may, in his or her discretion, grant a waiver for a lapse in the renewal of the driver's license in excess of 30 days;
        4. has demonstrated an ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of religious organization buses in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State prescribes including a driving test in a religious organization bus; and
        5. has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-884, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.3

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-106.3)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.3. Senior citizen transportation - driver. A driver of a vehicle operated solely for the purpose of providing transportation for the elderly in connection with the activities of any public or private organization shall meet the following requirements:
        (1) is 21 years of age or older;
        (2) has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        (3) has had a valid driver's license, not necessarily
    
of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application;
        (4) has demonstrated his ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor vehicle which will be utilized to transport persons in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State prescribes including a driving test in such motor vehicle; and
        (5) has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.3. Senior citizen transportation - driver. A driver of a vehicle operated solely for the purpose of providing transportation for the elderly in connection with the activities of any public or private organization shall meet the following requirements:
        (1) is 21 years of age or older;
        (2) has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        (3) has had a valid driver's license, not necessarily
    
of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application. A lapse in the renewal of the driver's license of 30 days or less shall not render the applicant ineligible. The Secretary of State may, in his or her discretion, grant a waiver for a lapse in the renewal of the driver's license in excess of 30 days;
        (4) has demonstrated his ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor vehicle which will be utilized to transport persons in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State prescribes including a driving test in such motor vehicle; and
        (5) has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-884, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.4

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-106.4)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.4. For-profit ridesharing arrangement - driver. No person may drive a commuter van while it is being used for a for-profit ridesharing arrangement unless such person:
        (1) is 21 years of age or older;
        (2) has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        (3) has held a valid driver's license, not
    
necessarily of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application;
        (4) has demonstrated his ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of commuter vans used in for-profit ridesharing arrangements in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State may prescribe, which standards may require a driving test in a commuter van; and
        (5) has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-884)
    Sec. 6-106.4. For-profit ridesharing arrangement - driver. No person may drive a commuter van while it is being used for a for-profit ridesharing arrangement unless such person:
        (1) is 21 years of age or older;
        (2) has a valid and properly classified driver's
    
license issued by the Secretary of State;
        (3) has held a valid driver's license, not
    
necessarily of the same classification, for 3 years prior to the date of application. A lapse in the renewal of the driver's license of 30 days or less shall not render the applicant ineligible. The Secretary of State may, in his or her discretion, grant a waiver for a lapse in the renewal of the driver's license in excess of 30 days;
        (4) has demonstrated his ability to exercise
    
reasonable care in the safe operation of commuter vans used in for-profit ridesharing arrangements in accordance with such standards as the Secretary of State may prescribe, which standards may require a driving test in a commuter van; and
        (5) has not been convicted of any of the following
    
offenses within 3 years of the date of application: Sections 11-401 (leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or personal injury), 11-501 (driving under the influence), 11-503 (reckless driving), 11-504 (drag racing), and 11-506 (street racing) of this Code, or Sections 9-3 (manslaughter or reckless homicide) and 12-5 (reckless conduct arising from the use of a motor vehicle) of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-884, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.11

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.11) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-106.11)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 97-224)
    Sec. 6-106.11. (a) Any individual, corporation, partnership or association, who through contractual arrangements with a school district transports students, teachers or other personnel of that district for compensation, shall not permit any person to operate a school bus or any first division vehicle including taxis when used for a purpose that requires a school bus driver permit pursuant to that contract if the driver has not complied with the provisions of Sections 6-106.1 of this Code or such other rules or regulations that the Secretary of State may prescribe for the classification, restriction or licensing of school bus driver permit holders.
    (a-5) Any individual, corporation, partnership, association, or entity that has a contractual arrangement referred to in subsection (a) of this Section must provide the school district with (i) the names of all drivers who will be operating a vehicle requiring a school bus driver permit pursuant to the contract with the school district; and (ii) a copy of each driver's school bus driver permit. Upon notification by the Secretary of State to the employer of the school bus driver permit holder that an employee's school bus driver permit has been suspended or cancelled, the employer must notify the school district of the suspension or cancellation within 2 business days.
    (a-10) An individual, corporation, partnership, association, or entity that has a contractual arrangement referred to in subsection (a) of this Section may not:
        (i) utilize a vehicle in the performance of the
    
contract that has previously been in salvage or junk status; or
        (ii) allow smoking in a vehicle while the vehicle is
    
in the performance of the contract.
    (b) A violation of this Section is a business offense and shall subject the offender to a fine of no less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000 for a first offense, no less than $1,500 nor more than $15,000 for a second offense, and no less than $2,000 nor more than $20,000 for a third or subsequent offense. In addition to any fines imposed under this subsection, any offender who has been convicted three times under the provisions of subsection (a) shall, upon a fourth or subsequent conviction be prohibited from transporting or contracting to transport students, teachers or other personnel of a school district for a period of five years beginning with the date of conviction of such fourth or subsequent conviction.
(Source: P.A. 97-224, eff. 7-28-11.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 97-229)
    Sec. 6-106.11. (a) Any individual, corporation, partnership or association, who through contractual arrangements with a school district transports students, teachers or other personnel of that district for compensation, shall not permit any person to operate a school bus or any other motor vehicle requiring a school bus driver permit pursuant to that contract if the driver has not complied with the provisions of Sections 6-106.1 of this Code or such other rules or regulations that the Secretary of State may prescribe for the classification, restriction or licensing of the school bus driver permit holder.
    (b) A violation of this Section is a business offense and shall subject the offender to a fine of no less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000 for a first offense, no less than $1,500 nor more than $15,000 for a second offense, and no less than $2,000 nor more than $20,000 for a third or subsequent offense. In addition to any fines imposed under this subsection, any offender who has been convicted three times under the provisions of subsection (a) shall, upon a fourth or subsequent conviction be prohibited from transporting or contracting to transport students, teachers or other personnel of a school district for a period of five years beginning with the date of conviction of such fourth or subsequent conviction.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-106.12

    (625 ILCS 5/6-106.12)
    Sec. 6-106.12. Contracts requiring school bus driver permits.
    (a) No school district that contracts with any individual, corporation, partnership, association, or other entity to transport students, teachers, or other personnel of that district for compensation shall permit any person to operate a vehicle that requires a school bus driver permit pursuant to that contract if the driver has not complied with the provisions of Section 6-106.1 of this Code and other administrative rules governing the classification, restriction, or licensing of persons required to hold a school bus driver permit.
    (b) A school district that has a contract of the type described in subsection (a) of this Section shall maintain a copy of the school bus driver permit of any person operating a vehicle that requires a school bus permit.
(Source: P.A. 97-224, eff. 7-28-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-107)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-718)
    Sec. 6-107. Graduated license.
    (a) The purpose of the Graduated Licensing Program is to develop safe and mature driving habits in young, inexperienced drivers and reduce or prevent motor vehicle accidents, fatalities, and injuries by:
        (1) providing for an increase in the time of practice
    
period before granting permission to obtain a driver's license;
        (2) strengthening driver licensing and testing
    
standards for persons under the age of 21 years;
        (3) sanctioning driving privileges of drivers under
    
age 21 who have committed serious traffic violations or other specified offenses; and
        (4) setting stricter standards to promote the
    
public's health and safety.
    (b) The application of any person under the age of 18 years, and not legally emancipated, for a drivers license or permit to operate a motor vehicle issued under the laws of this State, shall be accompanied by the written consent of either parent of the applicant; otherwise by the guardian having custody of the applicant, or in the event there is no parent or guardian, then by another responsible adult. The written consent must accompany any application for a driver's license under this subsection (b), regardless of whether or not the required written consent also accompanied the person's previous application for an instruction permit.
    No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age, unless the applicant is at least 16 years of age and has:
        (1) Held a valid instruction permit for a minimum of
    
9 months.
        (2) Passed an approved driver education course and
    
submits proof of having passed the course as may be required.
        (3) Certification by the parent, legal guardian, or
    
responsible adult that the applicant has had a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice time, at least 10 hours of which have been at night, and is sufficiently prepared and able to safely operate a motor vehicle.
    (b-1) No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant who is under 18 years of age and not legally emancipated, unless the applicant has graduated from a secondary school of this State or any other state, is enrolled in a course leading to a general educational development (GED) certificate, has obtained a GED certificate, is enrolled in an elementary or secondary school or college or university of this State or any other state and is not a chronic or habitual truant as provided in Section 26-2a of the School Code, or is receiving home instruction and submits proof of meeting any of those requirements at the time of application.
    An applicant under 18 years of age who provides proof acceptable to the Secretary that the applicant has resumed regular school attendance or home instruction or that his or her application was denied in error shall be eligible to receive a graduated license if other requirements are met. The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subsection (b-1).
    (c) No graduated driver's license or permit shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age who has committed the offense of operating a motor vehicle without a valid license or permit in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code or a similar out of state offense and no graduated driver's license or permit shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age who has committed an offense that would otherwise result in a mandatory revocation of a license or permit as provided in Section 6-205 of this Code or who has been either convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent based upon a violation of the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act while that individual was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. For purposes of this Section, any person placed on probation under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act shall not be considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this offense, while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, shall have an entry made in the court record by the judge that this offense did occur while the person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State as such.
    (d) No graduated driver's license shall be issued for 9 months to any applicant under the age of 18 years who has committed and subsequently been convicted of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles, any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code, or who has received a disposition of court supervision for a violation of Section 6-20 of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    (e) No graduated driver's license holder under the age of 18 years shall operate any motor vehicle, except a motor driven cycle or motorcycle, with more than one passenger in the front seat of the motor vehicle and no more passengers in the back seats than the number of available seat safety belts as set forth in Section 12-603 of this Code. If a graduated driver's license holder over the age of 18 committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code in the 6 months prior to the graduated driver's license holder's 18th birthday, and was subsequently convicted of the violation, the provisions of this paragraph shall continue to apply until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) If a graduated driver's license holder is under the age of 18 when he or she receives the license, for the first 12 months he or she holds the license or until he or she reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner, the graduated license holder may not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger in the vehicle who is under the age of 20, unless any additional passenger or passengers are siblings, step-siblings, children, or stepchildren of the driver. If a graduated driver's license holder committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code during the first 12 months the license is held and subsequently is convicted of the violation, the provisions of this paragraph shall remain in effect until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (h) It shall be an offense for a person that is age 15, but under age 20, to be a passenger in a vehicle operated by a driver holding a graduated driver's license during the first 12 months the driver holds the license or until the driver reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner, if another passenger under the age of 20 is present, excluding a sibling, step-sibling, child, or step-child of the driver.
    (i) No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant under the age of 18 years if the applicant has been issued a traffic citation for which a disposition has not been rendered at the time of application.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 97-835, eff. 7-20-12; 98-168, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-718)
    Sec. 6-107. Graduated license.
    (a) The purpose of the Graduated Licensing Program is to develop safe and mature driving habits in young, inexperienced drivers and reduce or prevent motor vehicle accidents, fatalities, and injuries by:
        (1) providing for an increase in the time of practice
    
period before granting permission to obtain a driver's license;
        (2) strengthening driver licensing and testing
    
standards for persons under the age of 21 years;
        (3) sanctioning driving privileges of drivers under
    
age 21 who have committed serious traffic violations or other specified offenses; and
        (4) setting stricter standards to promote the
    
public's health and safety.
    (b) The application of any person under the age of 18 years, and not legally emancipated, for a drivers license or permit to operate a motor vehicle issued under the laws of this State, shall be accompanied by the written consent of either parent of the applicant; otherwise by the guardian having custody of the applicant, or in the event there is no parent or guardian, then by another responsible adult. The written consent must accompany any application for a driver's license under this subsection (b), regardless of whether or not the required written consent also accompanied the person's previous application for an instruction permit.
    No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age, unless the applicant is at least 16 years of age and has:
        (1) Held a valid instruction permit for a minimum of
    
9 months.
        (2) Passed an approved driver education course and
    
submits proof of having passed the course as may be required.
        (3) Certification by the parent, legal guardian, or
    
responsible adult that the applicant has had a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice time, at least 10 hours of which have been at night, and is sufficiently prepared and able to safely operate a motor vehicle.
    (b-1) No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant who is under 18 years of age and not legally emancipated, unless the applicant has graduated from a secondary school of this State or any other state, is enrolled in a course leading to a high school equivalency certificate, has obtained a high school equivalency certificate, is enrolled in an elementary or secondary school or college or university of this State or any other state and is not a chronic or habitual truant as provided in Section 26-2a of the School Code, or is receiving home instruction and submits proof of meeting any of those requirements at the time of application.
    An applicant under 18 years of age who provides proof acceptable to the Secretary that the applicant has resumed regular school attendance or home instruction or that his or her application was denied in error shall be eligible to receive a graduated license if other requirements are met. The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subsection (b-1).
    (c) No graduated driver's license or permit shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age who has committed the offense of operating a motor vehicle without a valid license or permit in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code or a similar out of state offense and no graduated driver's license or permit shall be issued to any applicant under 18 years of age who has committed an offense that would otherwise result in a mandatory revocation of a license or permit as provided in Section 6-205 of this Code or who has been either convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent based upon a violation of the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act while that individual was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. For purposes of this Section, any person placed on probation under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act shall not be considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this offense, while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, shall have an entry made in the court record by the judge that this offense did occur while the person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State as such.
    (d) No graduated driver's license shall be issued for 9 months to any applicant under the age of 18 years who has committed and subsequently been convicted of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles, any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code, or who has received a disposition of court supervision for a violation of Section 6-20 of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    (e) No graduated driver's license holder under the age of 18 years shall operate any motor vehicle, except a motor driven cycle or motorcycle, with more than one passenger in the front seat of the motor vehicle and no more passengers in the back seats than the number of available seat safety belts as set forth in Section 12-603 of this Code. If a graduated driver's license holder over the age of 18 committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code in the 6 months prior to the graduated driver's license holder's 18th birthday, and was subsequently convicted of the violation, the provisions of this paragraph shall continue to apply until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) If a graduated driver's license holder is under the age of 18 when he or she receives the license, for the first 12 months he or she holds the license or until he or she reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner, the graduated license holder may not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger in the vehicle who is under the age of 20, unless any additional passenger or passengers are siblings, step-siblings, children, or stepchildren of the driver. If a graduated driver's license holder committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code during the first 12 months the license is held and subsequently is convicted of the violation, the provisions of this paragraph shall remain in effect until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of this Section or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (h) It shall be an offense for a person that is age 15, but under age 20, to be a passenger in a vehicle operated by a driver holding a graduated driver's license during the first 12 months the driver holds the license or until the driver reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner, if another passenger under the age of 20 is present, excluding a sibling, step-sibling, child, or step-child of the driver.
    (i) No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant under the age of 18 years if the applicant has been issued a traffic citation for which a disposition has not been rendered at the time of application.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11; 97-835, eff. 7-20-12; 98-168, eff. 1-1-14; 98-718, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107.1)
    Sec. 6-107.1. Instruction permit for a minor.
    (a) The Secretary of State, upon receiving proper application and payment of the required fee, may issue an instruction permit to any person under the age of 18 years who is not ineligible for a license under paragraphs 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, or 8 of Section 6-103, after the applicant has successfully passed such examination as the Secretary of State in his discretion may prescribe.
        (1) An instruction permit issued under this Section
    
shall be valid for a period of 24 months after the date of its issuance and shall be restricted, by the Secretary of State, to the operation of a motor vehicle by the minor only when under direct supervision of the adult instructor of a driver education program during enrollment in the program or when practicing under direct supervision of a parent, legal guardian, family member, or a person in loco parentis who is 21 years of age or more, has a license classification to operate such vehicle and at least one year of driving experience, and who is occupying a seat beside the driver.
        (2) A 24 month instruction permit for a motor driven
    
cycle may be issued to a person 16 or 17 years of age and entitles the holder to drive upon the highways during daylight under direct supervision of a licensed motor driven cycle operator or motorcycle operator 21 years of age or older who has a license classification to operate such motor driven cycle or motorcycle and at least one year of driving experience.
        (3) A 24 month instruction permit for a motorcycle
    
other than a motor driven cycle may be issued to a person 16 or 17 years of age in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 2 of Section 6-103 and entitles a holder to drive upon the highways during daylight under the direct supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator 21 years of age or older who has at least one year of driving experience.
    (b) An instruction permit issued under this Section when issued to a person under the age of 18 years shall, as a matter of law, be invalid for the operation of any motor vehicle during the following times:
        (1) Between 11:00 p.m. Friday and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
        (2) Between 11:00 p.m. Saturday and 6:00 a.m. on
    
Sunday; and
        (3) Between 10:00 p.m. on Sunday to Thursday,
    
inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
    The instruction permit of a person under the age of 18 shall not be invalid as described in paragraph (b) of this Section if the instruction permit holder under the age of 18 was:
        (1) accompanied by the minor's parent or guardian or
    
other person in custody or control of the minor;
        (2) on an errand at the direction of the minor's
    
parent or guardian, without any detour or stop;
        (3) in a motor vehicle involved in interstate travel;
        (4) going to or returning home from an employment
    
activity, without any detour or stop;
        (5) involved in an emergency;
        (6) going to or returning home from, without any
    
detour or stop, an official school, religious, or other recreational activity supervised by adults and sponsored by a government or governmental agency, a civic organization, or another similar entity that takes responsibility for the licensee, without any detour or stop;
        (7) exercising First Amendment rights protected by
    
the United States Constitution, such as the free exercise of religion, freedom of speech, and the right of assembly; or
        (8) married or had been married or is an emancipated
    
minor under the Emancipation of Minors Act.
    (b-1) No instruction permit shall be issued to any applicant who is under the age of 18 years and who has been certified to be a chronic or habitual truant, as defined in Section 26-2a of the School Code.
    An applicant under the age of 18 years who provides proof that he or she has resumed regular school attendance or that his or her application was denied in error shall be eligible to receive an instruction permit if other requirements are met. The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subsection (b-1).
    (c) Any person under the age of 16 years who possesses an instruction permit and whose driving privileges have been suspended or revoked under the provisions of this Code shall not be granted a Family Financial Responsibility Driving Permit or a Restricted Driving Permit.
(Source: P.A. 95-310, eff. 1-1-08; 96-1237, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107.2)
    Sec. 6-107.2. Rules for graduated licenses. The Secretary of State, using the authority to license motor vehicle operators, may adopt such rules as may be necessary to establish standards, policies, and procedures for graduated licenses.
(Source: P.A. 90-369, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107.3

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107.3)
    Sec. 6-107.3. Distinct nature of driver's license dependent on age. The Secretary of State shall provide that each graduated driver's license and each regular driver's license issued to individuals under 21 years of age shall be of a distinct nature from those driver's licenses issued to individuals 21 years of age and older. The colors designated for the graduated driver's license and regular driver's license shall be at the discretion of the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 90-369, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107.4

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107.4)
    Sec. 6-107.4. Temporary driver's license; applicant under 18. The Secretary of State may issue a temporary driver's license to an applicant under the age of 18 permitting the operation of a motor vehicle when the Secretary of State is unable to produce a driver's license due to an equipment or computer program failure or lack of necessary equipment, if the applicant is not otherwise ineligible for a driver's license and has met all the requirements of Section 6-107. The temporary driver's license must be in the applicant's immediate possession while he or she is operating a motor vehicle. The temporary license is invalid if the applicant's driver's license has been issued or for good cause has been refused. The Secretary of State may issue this temporary driver's license for any appropriate period not exceeding 30 days.
(Source: P.A. 94-930, eff. 6-26-06.)

625 ILCS 5/6-107.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-107.5)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-876)
    Sec. 6-107.5. Adult Driver Education Course.
    (a) The Secretary shall establish by rule the curriculum and designate the materials to be used in an adult driver education course. The course shall be at least 6 hours in length and shall include instruction on traffic laws; highway signs, signals, and markings that regulate, warn, or direct traffic; and issues commonly associated with motor vehicle accidents including poor decision-making, risk taking, impaired driving, distraction, speed, failure to use a safety belt, driving at night, failure to yield the right-of-way, texting while driving, using wireless communication devices, and alcohol and drug awareness. The curriculum shall not require the operation of a motor vehicle.
    (b) The Secretary shall certify course providers. The requirements to be a certified course provider, the process for applying for certification, and the procedure for decertifying a course provider shall be established by rule.
    (c) The Secretary may permit a course provider to offer the course online, if the Secretary is satisfied the course provider has established adequate procedures for verifying:
        (1) the identity of the person taking the course
    
online; and
        (2) the person completes the entire course.
    (d) The Secretary shall establish a method of electronic verification of a student's successful completion of the course.
    (e) The fee charged by the course provider must bear a reasonable relationship to the cost of the course. The Secretary shall post on the Secretary of State's website a list of approved course providers, the fees charged by the providers, and contact information for each provider.
    (f) In addition to any other fee charged by the course provider, the course provider shall collect a fee of $5 from each student to offset the costs incurred by the Secretary in administering this program. The $5 shall be submitted to the Secretary within 14 days of the day on which it was collected. All such fees received by the Secretary shall be deposited in the Secretary of State Driver Services Administration Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-167, eff. 7-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-876)
    Sec. 6-107.5. Adult Driver Education Course.
    (a) The Secretary shall establish by rule the curriculum and designate the materials to be used in an adult driver education course. The course shall be at least 6 hours in length and shall include instruction on traffic laws; highway signs, signals, and markings that regulate, warn, or direct traffic; and issues commonly associated with motor vehicle accidents including poor decision-making, risk taking, impaired driving, distraction, speed, failure to use a safety belt, driving at night, failure to yield the right-of-way, texting while driving, using wireless communication devices, and alcohol and drug awareness. The curriculum shall not require the operation of a motor vehicle.
    (b) The Secretary shall certify course providers. The requirements to be a certified course provider, the process for applying for certification, and the procedure for decertifying a course provider shall be established by rule.
    (b-5) In order to qualify for certification as an adult driver education course provider, each applicant must authorize an investigation that includes a fingerprint-based background check to determine if the applicant has ever been convicted of a criminal offense and, if so, the disposition of any conviction. This authorization shall indicate the scope of the inquiry and the agencies that may be contacted. Upon receiving this authorization, the Secretary of State may request and receive information and assistance from any federal, State, or local governmental agency as part of the authorized investigation. Each applicant shall submit his or her fingerprints to the Department of State Police in the form and manner prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against fingerprint records now and hereafter filed in the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record databases. The Department of State Police shall charge applicants a fee for conducting the criminal history record check, which shall be deposited into the State Police Services Fund and shall not exceed the actual cost of the State and national criminal history record check. The Department of State Police shall furnish, pursuant to positive identification, records of Illinois criminal convictions to the Secretary and shall forward the national criminal history record information to the Secretary. Applicants shall pay any other fingerprint-related fees. Unless otherwise prohibited by law, the information derived from the investigation, including the source of the information and any conclusions or recommendations derived from the information by the Secretary of State, shall be provided to the applicant upon request to the Secretary of State prior to any final action by the Secretary of State on the application. Any criminal conviction information obtained by the Secretary of State shall be confidential and may not be transmitted outside the Office of the Secretary of State, except as required by this subsection (b-5), and may not be transmitted to anyone within the Office of the Secretary of State except as needed for the purpose of evaluating the applicant. At any administrative hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code relating to the denial, cancellation, suspension, or revocation of certification of an adult driver education course provider, the Secretary of State may utilize at that hearing any criminal history, criminal conviction, and disposition information obtained under this subsection (b-5). The information obtained from the investigation may be maintained by the Secretary of State or any agency to which the information was transmitted. Only information and standards which bear a reasonable and rational relation to the performance of providing adult driver education shall be used by the Secretary of State. Any employee of the Secretary of State who gives or causes to be given away any confidential information concerning any criminal convictions or disposition of criminal convictions of an applicant shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor unless release of the information is authorized by this Section.
    (c) The Secretary may permit a course provider to offer the course online, if the Secretary is satisfied the course provider has established adequate procedures for verifying:
        (1) the identity of the person taking the course
    
online; and
        (2) the person completes the entire course.
    (d) The Secretary shall establish a method of electronic verification of a student's successful completion of the course.
    (e) The fee charged by the course provider must bear a reasonable relationship to the cost of the course. The Secretary shall post on the Secretary of State's website a list of approved course providers, the fees charged by the providers, and contact information for each provider.
    (f) In addition to any other fee charged by the course provider, the course provider shall collect a fee of $5 from each student to offset the costs incurred by the Secretary in administering this program. The $5 shall be submitted to the Secretary within 14 days of the day on which it was collected. All such fees received by the Secretary shall be deposited in the Secretary of State Driver Services Administration Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-167, eff. 7-1-14; 98-876, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/6-108

    (625 ILCS 5/6-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-108)
    Sec. 6-108. Cancellation of license issued to minor.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall cancel the license or permit of any minor under the age of 18 years in any of the following events:
        1. Upon the verified written request of the person
    
who consented to the application of the minor that the license or permit be cancelled;
        2. Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence of the death
    
of the person who consented to the application of the minor;
        3. Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence that the
    
person who consented to the application of a minor no longer has legal custody of the minor;
        4. Upon receipt of information, submitted on a form
    
prescribed by the Secretary of State under Section 26-3a of the School Code and provided voluntarily by nonpublic schools, that a license-holding minor no longer meets the school attendance requirements defined in Section 6-107 of this Code.
        A minor who provides proof acceptable to the
    
Secretary that the minor has resumed regular school attendance or home instruction or that his or her license or permit was cancelled in error shall have his or her license reinstated. The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subdivision (a)4;
        5. Upon determination by the Secretary that at the
    
time of license issuance, the minor held an instruction permit and had a traffic citation for which a disposition had not been rendered.
    After cancellation, the Secretary of State shall not issue a new license or permit until the applicant meets the provisions of Section 6-107 of this Code.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall cancel the license or permit of any person under the age of 18 years if he or she is convicted of violating the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act while that person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. For purposes of this Section, any person placed on probation under Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act shall not be considered convicted. Any person found guilty of this offense, while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, shall have an entry made in the court record by the judge that this offense did occur while the person was in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and order the clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary of State as such. After the cancellation, the Secretary of State shall not issue a new license or permit for a period of one year after the date of cancellation or until the minor attains the age of 18 years, whichever is longer. However, upon application, the Secretary of State may, if satisfied that the person applying will not endanger the public safety, or welfare, issue a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the person's residence and person's place of employment or within the scope of the person's employment related duties, or to allow transportation for the person or a household member of the person's family for the receipt of necessary medical care or, if the professional evaluation indicates, provide transportation for the petitioner for alcohol remedial or rehabilitative activity, or for the person to attend classes, as a student, in an accredited educational institution; if the person is able to demonstrate that no alternative means of transportation is reasonably available; provided that the Secretary's discretion shall be limited to cases where undue hardship would result from a failure to issue such restricted driving permit. In each case the Secretary of State may issue a restricted driving permit for a period as he deems appropriate, except that the permit shall expire within one year from the date of issuance. A restricted driving permit issued hereunder shall be subject to cancellation, revocation, and suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a driver's license issued hereunder may be cancelled, revoked, or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require the applicant to participate in a driver remedial or rehabilitative program. Thereafter, upon reapplication for a license as provided in Section 6-106 of this Code or a permit as provided in Section 6-105 of this Code and upon payment of the appropriate application fee, the Secretary of State shall issue the applicant a license as provided in Section 6-106 of this Code or shall issue the applicant a permit as provided in Section 6-105.
(Source: P.A. 98-168, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/6-108.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-108.1)
    Sec. 6-108.1. Notice to Secretary; denial of license; persons under 18.
    (a) The State's Attorney must notify the Secretary of the charges pending against any person younger than 18 years of age who has been charged with a violation of this Code, the Criminal Code of 2012, or the Criminal Code of 1961 arising out of an accident in which the person was involved as a driver and that caused the death of or a type A injury to another person. A "type A injury" includes severely bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene. The State's Attorney must notify the Secretary on a form prescribed by the Secretary.
    (b) The Secretary, upon receiving notification from the State's Attorney, may deny any driver's license to any person younger than 18 years of age against whom the charges are pending.
    (c) The State's Attorney must notify the Secretary of the final disposition of the case of any person who has been denied a driver's license under subsection (b).
    (d) The Secretary must adopt rules for implementing this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-109

    (625 ILCS 5/6-109)
    Sec. 6-109. Examination of Applicants.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall examine every applicant for a driver's license or permit who has not been previously licensed as a driver under the laws of this State or any other state or country, or any applicant for renewal of such driver's license or permit when such license or permit has been expired for more than one year. The Secretary of State shall, subject to the provisions of paragraph (c), examine every licensed driver at least every 8 years, and may examine or re-examine any other applicant or licensed driver, provided that during the years 1984 through 1991 those drivers issued a license for 3 years may be re-examined not less than every 7 years or more than every 10 years.
    The Secretary of State shall require the testing of the eyesight of any driver's license or permit applicant who has not been previously licensed as a driver under the laws of this State and shall promulgate rules and regulations to provide for the orderly administration of all the provisions of this Section.
    The Secretary of State shall include at least one test question that concerns the provisions of the Pedestrians with Disabilities Safety Act in the question pool used for the written portion of the drivers license examination within one year after July 22, 2010 (the effective date of Public Act 96-1167).
    (b) Except as provided for those applicants in paragraph (c), such examination shall include a test of the applicant's eyesight, his ability to read and understand official traffic control devices, his knowledge of safe driving practices and the traffic laws of this State, and may include an actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control of the operation of a motor vehicle, and such further physical and mental examination as the Secretary of State finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely on the highways, except the examination of an applicant 75 years of age or older shall include an actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control of the operation of a motor vehicle. All portions of written and verbal examinations under this Section, excepting where the English language appears on facsimiles of road signs, may be given in the Spanish language and, at the discretion of the Secretary of State, in any other language as well as in English upon request of the examinee. Deaf persons who are otherwise qualified are not prohibited from being issued a license, other than a commercial driver's license, under this Code.
    (c) Re-examination for those applicants who at the time of renewing their driver's license possess a driving record devoid of any convictions of traffic violations or evidence of committing an offense for which mandatory revocation would be required upon conviction pursuant to Section 6-205 at the time of renewal shall be in a manner prescribed by the Secretary in order to determine an applicant's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, except that every applicant for the renewal of a driver's license who is 75 years of age or older must prove, by an actual demonstration, the applicant's ability to exercise reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor vehicle.
    (d) In the event the applicant is not ineligible under the provisions of Section 6-103 to receive a driver's license, the Secretary of State shall make provision for giving an examination, either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant, within not more than 30 days from the date said application is received.
    (e) The Secretary of State may adopt rules regarding the use of foreign language interpreters during the application and examination process.
(Source: P.A. 96-1167, eff. 7-22-10; 96-1231, eff. 7-23-10; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-110

    (625 ILCS 5/6-110) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-110)
    Sec. 6-110. Licenses issued to drivers.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall issue to every qualifying applicant a driver's license as applied for, which license shall bear a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, the legal name, signature, zip code, date of birth, residence address, and a brief description of the licensee.
    Licenses issued shall also indicate the classification and the restrictions under Section 6-104 of this Code. The Secretary may adopt rules to establish informational restrictions that can be placed on the driver's license regarding specific conditions of the licensee.
    A driver's license issued may, in the discretion of the Secretary, include a suitable photograph of a type prescribed by the Secretary.
    (a-1) If the licensee is less than 18 years of age, unless one of the exceptions in subsection (a-2) apply, the license shall, as a matter of law, be invalid for the operation of any motor vehicle during the following times:
        (A) Between 11:00 p.m. Friday and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
        (B) Between 11:00 p.m. Saturday and 6:00 a.m. on
    
Sunday; and
        (C) Between 10:00 p.m. on Sunday to Thursday,
    
inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
    (a-2) The driver's license of a person under the age of 18 shall not be invalid as described in subsection (a-1) of this Section if the licensee under the age of 18 was:
        (1) accompanied by the licensee's parent or guardian
    
or other person in custody or control of the minor;
        (2) on an errand at the direction of the minor's
    
parent or guardian, without any detour or stop;
        (3) in a motor vehicle involved in interstate travel;
        (4) going to or returning home from an employment
    
activity, without any detour or stop;
        (5) involved in an emergency;
        (6) going to or returning home from, without any
    
detour or stop, an official school, religious, or other recreational activity supervised by adults and sponsored by a government or governmental agency, a civic organization, or another similar entity that takes responsibility for the licensee, without any detour or stop;
        (7) exercising First Amendment rights protected by
    
the United States Constitution, such as the free exercise of religion, freedom of speech, and the right of assembly; or
        (8) married or had been married or is an emancipated
    
minor under the Emancipation of Minors Act.
    (a-2.5) The driver's license of a person who is 17 years of age and has been licensed for at least 12 months is not invalid as described in subsection (a-1) of this Section while the licensee is participating as an assigned driver in a Safe Rides program that meets the following criteria:
        (1) the program is sponsored by the Boy Scouts of
    
America or another national public service organization; and
        (2) the sponsoring organization carries liability
    
insurance covering the program.
    (a-3) If a graduated driver's license holder over the age of 18 committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of Section 6-107 or Section 12-603.1 of this Code in the 6 months prior to the graduated driver's license holder's 18th birthday, and was subsequently convicted of the offense, the provisions of subsection (a-1) shall continue to apply until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or Section 6-107 or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (a-4) If an applicant for a driver's license or instruction permit has a current identification card issued by the Secretary of State, the Secretary may require the applicant to utilize the same residence address and name on the identification card, driver's license, and instruction permit records maintained by the Secretary. The Secretary may promulgate rules to implement this provision.
    (a-5) If an applicant for a driver's license is a judicial officer or a peace officer, the applicant may elect to have his or her office or work address listed on the license instead of the applicant's residence or mailing address. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules to implement this subsection (a-5). For the purposes of this subsection (a-5), "peace officer" means any person who by virtue of his or her office or public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for a violation of any penal statute of this State, whether that duty extends to all violations or is limited to specific violations.
    (b) Until the Secretary of State establishes a First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry under Section 6-117 of this Code, the Secretary of State shall provide a format on the reverse of each driver's license issued which the licensee may use to execute a document of gift conforming to the provisions of the Illinois Anatomical Gift Act. The format shall allow the licensee to indicate the gift intended, whether specific organs, any organ, or the entire body, and shall accommodate the signatures of the donor and 2 witnesses. The Secretary shall also inform each applicant or licensee of this format, describe the procedure for its execution, and may offer the necessary witnesses; provided that in so doing, the Secretary shall advise the applicant or licensee that he or she is under no compulsion to execute a document of gift. A brochure explaining this method of executing an anatomical gift document shall be given to each applicant or licensee. The brochure shall advise the applicant or licensee that he or she is under no compulsion to execute a document of gift, and that he or she may wish to consult with family, friends or clergy before doing so. The Secretary of State may undertake additional efforts, including education and awareness activities, to promote organ and tissue donation.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall designate on each driver's license issued a space where the licensee may place a sticker or decal of the uniform size as the Secretary may specify, which sticker or decal may indicate in appropriate language that the owner of the license carries an Emergency Medical Information Card.
    The sticker may be provided by any person, hospital, school, medical group, or association interested in assisting in implementing the Emergency Medical Information Card, but shall meet the specifications as the Secretary may by rule or regulation require.
    (d) The Secretary of State shall designate on each driver's license issued a space where the licensee may indicate his blood type and RH factor.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee under 21 years of age shall be of a distinct nature from those driver's licenses issued to individuals 21 years of age and older. The color designated for driver's licenses for licensees under 21 years of age shall be at the discretion of the Secretary of State.
    (e-1) The Secretary shall provide that each driver's license issued to a person under the age of 21 displays the date upon which the person becomes 18 years of age and the date upon which the person becomes 21 years of age.
    (e-3) The General Assembly recognizes the need to identify military veterans living in this State for the purpose of ensuring that they receive all of the services and benefits to which they are legally entitled, including healthcare, education assistance, and job placement. To assist the State in identifying these veterans and delivering these vital services and benefits, the Secretary of State is authorized to issue drivers' licenses with the word "veteran" appearing on the face of the licenses. This authorization is predicated on the unique status of veterans. The Secretary may not issue any other driver's license which identifies an occupation, status, affiliation, hobby, or other unique characteristics of the license holder which is unrelated to the purpose of the driver's license.
    (e-5) Beginning on or before July 1, 2015, the Secretary of State shall designate a space on each original or renewal driver's license where, at the request of the applicant, the word "veteran" shall be placed. The veteran designation shall be available to a person identified as a veteran under subsection (e) of Section 6-106 of this Code who was discharged or separated under honorable conditions.
    (f) The Secretary of State shall inform all Illinois licensed commercial motor vehicle operators of the requirements of the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, Article V of this Chapter, and shall make provisions to insure that all drivers, seeking to obtain a commercial driver's license, be afforded an opportunity prior to April 1, 1992, to obtain the license. The Secretary is authorized to extend driver's license expiration dates, and assign specific times, dates and locations where these commercial driver's tests shall be conducted. Any applicant, regardless of the current expiration date of the applicant's driver's license, may be subject to any assignment by the Secretary. Failure to comply with the Secretary's assignment may result in the applicant's forfeiture of an opportunity to receive a commercial driver's license prior to April 1, 1992.
    (g) The Secretary of State shall designate on a driver's license issued, a space where the licensee may indicate that he or she has drafted a living will in accordance with the Illinois Living Will Act or a durable power of attorney for health care in accordance with the Illinois Power of Attorney Act.
    (g-1) The Secretary of State, in his or her discretion, may designate on each driver's license issued a space where the licensee may place a sticker or decal, issued by the Secretary of State, of uniform size as the Secretary may specify, that shall indicate in appropriate language that the owner of the license has renewed his or her driver's license.
    (h) A person who acts in good faith in accordance with the terms of this Section is not liable for damages in any civil action or subject to prosecution in any criminal proceeding for his or her act.
(Source: P.A. 97-263, eff. 8-5-11; 97-739, eff. 1-1-13; 97-847, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1127, eff. 1-1-13; 98-323, eff. 1-1-14; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-110.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-110.1)
    Sec. 6-110.1. Confidentiality of captured photographs or images. The Secretary of State shall maintain a file on or contract to file all photographs and signatures obtained in the process of issuing a driver's license, permit, or identification card. The photographs and signatures shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed except to the following persons:
        (1) the individual upon written request;
        (2) officers and employees of the Secretary of State
    
who have a need to have access to the stored images for purposes of issuing and controlling driver's licenses, permits, or identification cards;
        (3) law enforcement officials for a lawful civil or
    
criminal law enforcement investigation;
        (3-5) the State Board of Elections for the sole
    
purpose of providing the signatures required by a local election authority to register a voter through an online voter registration system; or
        (4) other entities that the Secretary may exempt by
    
rule.
(Source: P.A. 98-115, eff. 7-29-13.)

625 ILCS 5/6-112

    (625 ILCS 5/6-112) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-112)
    Sec. 6-112. License and Permits to be carried and exhibited on demand. Every licensee or permittee shall have his drivers license or permit in his immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle and, for the purpose of indicating compliance with this requirement, shall display such license or permit if it is in his possession upon demand made, when in uniform or displaying a badge or other sign of authority, by a member of the State Police, a sheriff or other police officer or designated agent of the Secretary of State. However, no person charged with violating this Section shall be convicted if he produces in court satisfactory evidence that a drivers license was theretofor issued to him and was valid at the time of his arrest.
    For the purposes of this Section, "display" means the manual surrender of his license certificate into the hands of the demanding officer for his inspection thereof.
(Source: P.A. 76-1749.)

625 ILCS 5/6-113

    (625 ILCS 5/6-113) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-113)
    Sec. 6-113. Restricted licenses and permits.
    (a) The Secretary of State upon issuing a drivers license or permit shall have the authority whenever good cause appears to impose restrictions suitable to the licensee's driving ability with respect to the type of, or special mechanical control devices required on, a motor vehicle which the licensee may operate or such other restrictions applicable to the licensee as the Secretary of State may determine to be appropriate to assure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee.
    (b) The Secretary of State may either issue a special restricted license or permit or may set forth such restrictions upon the usual license or permit form.
    (c) The Secretary of State may issue a probationary license to a person whose driving privileges have been suspended pursuant to subsection (d) of this Section or subsection (a)(2) of Section 6-206 of this Code. This subsection (c) does not apply to any driver required to possess a CDL for the purpose of operating a commercial motor vehicle. The Secretary of State shall promulgate rules pursuant to the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, setting forth the conditions and criteria for the issuance and cancellation of probationary licenses.
    (d) The Secretary of State may upon receiving satisfactory evidence of any violation of the restrictions of such license or permit suspend, revoke or cancel the same without preliminary hearing, but the licensee or permittee shall be entitled to a hearing as in the case of a suspension or revocation.
    (e) It is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in any manner in violation of the restrictions imposed on a restricted license or permit issued to him.
    (f) Whenever the holder of a restricted driving permit is issued a citation for any of the following offenses including similar local ordinances, the restricted driving permit is immediately invalidated:
        1. Reckless homicide resulting from the operation of
    
a motor vehicle;
        2. Violation of Section 11-501 of this Act relating
    
to the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic drugs;
        3. Violation of Section 11-401 of this Act relating
    
to the offense of leaving the scene of a traffic accident involving death or injury;
        4. Violation of Section 11-504 of this Act relating
    
to the offense of drag racing; or
        5. Violation of Section 11-506 of this Act relating
    
to the offense of street racing.
    The police officer issuing the citation shall confiscate the restricted driving permit and forward it, along with the citation, to the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the county in which the citation was issued.
    (g) The Secretary of State may issue a special restricted license for a period of 12 months to individuals using vision aid arrangements other than standard eyeglasses or contact lenses, allowing the operation of a motor vehicle during nighttime hours. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules defining the terms and conditions by which the individual may obtain and renew this special restricted license. At a minimum, all drivers must meet the following requirements:
        1. Possess a valid driver's license and have operated
    
a motor vehicle during daylight hours for a period of 12 months using vision aid arrangements other than standard eyeglasses or contact lenses.
        2. Have a driving record that does not include any
    
traffic accidents that occurred during nighttime hours, for which the driver has been found to be at fault, during the 12 months before he or she applied for the special restricted license.
        3. Successfully complete a road test administered
    
during nighttime hours.
    At a minimum, all drivers renewing this license must meet the following requirements:
        1. Successfully complete a road test administered
    
during nighttime hours.
        2. Have a driving record that does not include any
    
traffic accidents that occurred during nighttime hours, for which the driver has been found to be at fault, during the 12 months before he or she applied for the special restricted license.
    (h) Any driver issued a special restricted license as defined in subsection (g) whose privilege to drive during nighttime hours has been suspended due to an accident occurring during nighttime hours may request a hearing as provided in Section 2-118 of this Code to contest that suspension. If it is determined that the accident for which the driver was at fault was not influenced by the driver's use of vision aid arrangements other than standard eyeglasses or contact lenses, the Secretary may reinstate that driver's privilege to drive during nighttime hours.
(Source: P.A. 97-229, eff. 7-28-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-114

    (625 ILCS 5/6-114) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-114)
    Sec. 6-114. Duplicate and Corrected Licenses and Permits.
    In the event that a drivers license or permit issued under the provisions of this Act is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the same was issued may upon application and payment of the required fee obtain a duplicate or substitute thereof, upon furnishing evidence satisfactory to the Secretary of State that such permit or license has been lost or destroyed and if such applicant is not then ineligible under Section 6-103 of this Act. Any person to whom has been issued a drivers license or permit under the provisions of this Act and who desires to obtain a corrected permit or license to indicate a correction of legal name or residence address or to correct a statement appearing upon the original permit or license may upon application and payment of the required fee obtain a corrected permit or license. The original permit or license must accompany the application for correction or evidence must be furnished satisfactory to the Secretary of State that such permit or license has been lost or destroyed.
(Source: P.A. 93-895, eff. 1-1-05.)

625 ILCS 5/6-115

    (625 ILCS 5/6-115) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-115)
    Sec. 6-115. Expiration of driver's license.
    (a) Except as provided elsewhere in this Section, every driver's license issued under the provisions of this Code shall expire 4 years from the date of its issuance, or at such later date, as the Secretary of State may by proper rule and regulation designate, not to exceed 12 calendar months; in the event that an applicant for renewal of a driver's license fails to apply prior to the expiration date of the previous driver's license, the renewal driver's license shall expire 4 years from the expiration date of the previous driver's license, or at such later date as the Secretary of State may by proper rule and regulation designate, not to exceed 12 calendar months.
    The Secretary of State may, however, issue to a person not previously licensed as a driver in Illinois a driver's license which will expire not less than 4 years nor more than 5 years from date of issuance, except as provided elsewhere in this Section.
    The Secretary of State is authorized to issue driver's licenses during the years 1984 through 1987 which shall expire not less than 3 years nor more than 5 years from the date of issuance, except as provided elsewhere in this Section, for the purpose of converting all driver's licenses issued under this Code to a 4 year expiration. Provided that all original driver's licenses, except as provided elsewhere in this Section, shall expire not less than 4 years nor more than 5 years from the date of issuance.
    (b) Before the expiration of a driver's license, except those licenses expiring on the individual's 21st birthday, or 3 months after the individual's 21st birthday, the holder thereof may apply for a renewal thereof, subject to all the provisions of Section 6-103, and the Secretary of State may require an examination of the applicant. A licensee whose driver's license expires on his 21st birthday, or 3 months after his 21st birthday, may not apply for a renewal of his driving privileges until he reaches the age of 21.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall, 30 days prior to the expiration of a driver's license, forward to each person whose license is to expire a notification of the expiration of said license which may be presented at the time of renewal of said license.
    There may be included with such notification information explaining the anatomical gift and Emergency Medical Information Card provisions of Section 6-110. The format and text of such information shall be prescribed by the Secretary.
    There shall be included with such notification, for a period of 4 years beginning January 1, 2000 information regarding the Illinois Adoption Registry and Medical Information Exchange established in Section 18.1 of the Adoption Act.
    (d) The Secretary may defer the expiration of the driver's license of a licensee, spouse, and dependent children who are living with such licensee while on active duty, serving in the Armed Forces of the United States outside of the State of Illinois, and 120 days thereafter, upon such terms and conditions as the Secretary may prescribe.
    (e) The Secretary of State may decline to process a renewal of a driver's license of any person who has not paid any fee or tax due under this Code and is not paid upon reasonable notice and demand.
    (f) The Secretary shall provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee under 21 years of age shall expire 3 months after the licensee's 21st birthday. Persons whose current driver's licenses expire on their 21st birthday on or after January 1, 1986 shall not renew their driver's license before their 21st birthday, and their current driver's license will be extended for an additional term of 3 months beyond their 21st birthday. Thereafter, the expiration and term of the driver's license shall be governed by subsection (a) hereof.
    (g) The Secretary shall provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee 81 years of age through age 86 shall expire 2 years from the date of issuance, or at such later date as the Secretary may by rule and regulation designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months. The Secretary shall also provide that each original or renewal driver's license issued to a licensee 87 years of age or older shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance, or at such later date as the Secretary may by rule and regulation designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months.
    (h) The Secretary of State shall provide that each special restricted driver's license issued under subsection (g) of Section 6-113 of this Code shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance. The Secretary shall adopt rules defining renewal requirements.
    (i) The Secretary of State shall provide that each driver's license issued to a person convicted of a sex offense as defined in Section 2 of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance or at such date as the Secretary may by rule designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months. The Secretary may adopt rules defining renewal requirements.
(Source: P.A. 97-79, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/6-116

    (625 ILCS 5/6-116) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-116)
    Sec. 6-116. Notice of Change of Residence Address or Legal Name.
    (a) Whenever any person after applying for or receiving a drivers license or permit moves from the residence address named in such application or on the license or permit issued to him such person shall within 10 days thereafter notify the Drivers Services Department of the Secretary of State's Office in writing of his old and new residence addresses and of the number of any license or permit then held by him. Such person may obtain a corrected license or permit as provided in Section 6-114.
    (b) Any person whose legal name has changed from the name on the license or permit that he or she has been previously issued must apply for a corrected card within 30 days after the change.
(Source: P.A. 93-895, eff. 1-1-05.)

625 ILCS 5/6-116.5

    (625 ILCS 5/6-116.5)
    Sec. 6-116.5. Driver's duty to report medical condition. Every driver shall report to the Secretary any medical condition, as defined by the Driver's License Medical Review Law of 1992, that is likely to cause loss of consciousness or any loss of ability to safely operate a motor vehicle within 10 days of the driver becoming aware of the condition. The Secretary, in conjunction with the Driver's License Medical Advisory Board, shall determine by administrative rule the temporary conditions not required to be reported under the provisions of this Section. All information furnished to the Secretary under the provisions of this Section shall be deemed confidential and for the privileged use of the Secretary in accordance with the provisions of subsection (j) of Section 2-123 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 89-584, eff. 7-31-96.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-117)
    Sec. 6-117. Records to be kept by the Secretary of State.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall file every application for a license or permit accepted under this Chapter, and shall maintain suitable indexes thereof. The records of the Secretary of State shall indicate the action taken with respect to such applications.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall maintain appropriate records of all licenses and permits refused, cancelled, disqualified, revoked, or suspended and of the revocation, suspension, and disqualification of driving privileges of persons not licensed under this Chapter, and such records shall note the reasons for such action.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall maintain appropriate records of convictions reported under this Chapter. Records of conviction may be maintained in a computer processible medium.
    (d) The Secretary of State may also maintain appropriate records of any accident reports received.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall also maintain appropriate records of any disposition of supervision or records relative to a driver's referral to a driver remedial or rehabilitative program, as required by the Secretary of State or the courts. Such records shall only be available for use by the Secretary, the driver licensing administrator of any other state, law enforcement agencies, the courts, and the affected driver or, upon proper verification, such affected driver's attorney.
    (f) The Secretary of State shall also maintain or contract to maintain appropriate records of all photographs and signatures obtained in the process of issuing any driver's license, permit, or identification card. The record shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed except to those entities listed under Section 6-110.1 of this Code.
    (g) The Secretary of State may establish a First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry in compliance with subsection (b-1) of Section 5-20 of the Illinois Anatomical Gift Act, as follows:
        (1) The Secretary shall offer, to each applicant for
    
issuance or renewal of a driver's license or identification card who is 18 years of age or older, the opportunity to have his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry. The Secretary must advise the applicant or licensee that he or she is under no compulsion to have his or her name included in the registry. An individual who agrees to having his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry has given full legal consent to the donation of any of his or her organs or tissue upon his or her death. A brochure explaining this method of executing an anatomical gift must be given to each applicant for issuance or renewal of a driver's license or identification card. The brochure must advise the applicant or licensee (i) that he or she is under no compulsion to have his or her name included in this registry and (ii) that he or she may wish to consult with family, friends, or clergy before doing so.
        (2) The Secretary of State may establish additional
    
methods by which an individual may have his or her name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry.
        (3) When an individual has agreed to have his or her
    
name included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry, the Secretary of State shall note that agreement in the First Person consent organ and tissue donor registry. Representatives of federally designated organ procurement agencies and tissue banks and the offices of Illinois county coroners and medical examiners may inquire of the Secretary of State whether a potential organ donor's name is included in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry, and the Secretary of State may provide that information to the representative.
        (4) An individual may withdraw his or her consent to
    
be listed in the First Person Consent organ and tissue donor registry maintained by the Secretary of State by notifying the Secretary of State in writing, or by any other means approved by the Secretary, of the individual's decision to have his or her name removed from the registry.
        (5) The Secretary of State may undertake additional
    
efforts, including education and awareness activities, to promote organ and tissue donation.
        (6) In the absence of gross negligence or willful
    
misconduct, the Secretary of State and his or her employees are immune from any civil or criminal liability in connection with an individual's consent to be listed in the organ and tissue donor registry.
(Source: P.A. 94-75, eff. 1-1-06; 95-382, eff. 8-23-07; 95-1034, eff. 2-17-09.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117.1

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117.1)
    Sec. 6-117.1. Prohibited use of driver's license information.
    (a) When information is obtained from a driver's license to identify or prove the age of the holder of the license, or in the course of a commercial transaction, that information may be used only for purposes of identification of the individual or for completing the commercial transaction in which the information was obtained, including all subsequent payment, processing, collection, and other related actions. Information obtained from a driver's license may not be used for purposes unrelated to the transaction in which it was obtained, including, but not limited to, commercial solicitations. Information obtained from a driver's license to identify the holder of the license, or in the course of a commercial transaction, may not be sold, leased, or otherwise provided to any third party.
    (b) Any individual whose driver's license information has been used in violation of this Section has a cause of action against the person who violated this Section. Upon a finding that a violation did occur, the individual whose information was used in violation of this Section is entitled to recover actual damages, but not less than liquidated damages in the amount of $250 for each violation, plus attorney's fees and the costs of bringing the action.
    (c) Use of information contained on a driver's license is not a violation of this Section if (i) the individual whose information has been used gave express permission for that use or (ii) the information relating to the individual was obtained from a source other than the individual's driver's license.
    (d) This Section does not apply to any agency of the United States, the State of Illinois, or any other state or political subdivision thereof.
    (e) This Section does not apply to the transfer of information to a third party if (i) a federal or State law, rule, or regulation requires that the information be transferred to a third party after being recorded in specified transactions or (ii) the information is transferred to a third party for purposes of the detection or possible prosecution of criminal offenses or fraud. If information is transferred to a third party under this subsection (e), it may be used only for the purposes authorized by this subsection (e).
    (f) This Section does not apply to the use of information obtained from a driver's license which has been provided by the holder of the license in the course of a potential or completed employment, commercial, business or professional transaction for the purpose of completing written documents including, but not limited to, contracts, agreements, purchase orders, retail installment contracts, buyer's orders, purchase contracts, repair orders, applications, disclosure forms or waiver forms.
(Source: P.A. 94-892, eff. 1-1-07.)

625 ILCS 5/6-117.2

    (625 ILCS 5/6-117.2)
    Sec. 6-117.2. Emergency contact database.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall establish a database of the emergency contacts of persons who hold a driver's license, instruction permit, or any other type of driving permit issued by the Secretary of State. Information in the database shall be accessible only to employees of the Office of the Secretary and law enforcement officers employed by a law enforcement agency. Law enforcement officers may share information contained in the emergency contact database, including disabilities and special needs information, with other public safety workers on scene, as needed to conduct official law enforcement duties.
    (b) Any person holding a driver's license, instruction permit, or any other type of driving permit issued by the Secretary of State shall be afforded the opportunity to provide the Secretary of State, in a manner and form designated by the Secretary of State, the name, address, telephone number, and relationship to the holder of no more than 2 emergency contact persons whom the holder wishes to be contacted by a law enforcement officer if the holder is involved in a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation and the holder is unable to communicate with the contact person or persons and may designate whether the holder has a disability or is a special needs individual. A contact person need not be the holder's next of kin.
    (c) The Secretary shall adopt rules to implement this Section. At a minimum, the rules shall address all of the following:
        (1) the method whereby a holder may provide the
    
Secretary of State with emergency contact, disability, and special needs information;
        (2) the method whereby a holder may provide the
    
Secretary of State with a change to the emergency contact, disability, and special needs information; and
        (3) any other aspect of the database or its operation
    
that the Secretary determines is necessary to implement this Section.
    (d) If a person involved in a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation is unable to communicate with the contact person or persons specified in the database, a law enforcement officer shall make a good faith effort to notify the contact person or persons of the situation. Neither the law enforcement officer nor the law enforcement agency that employs that law enforcement officer incurs any liability, however, if the law enforcement officer is not able to make contact with the contact person. Except for willful or wanton misconduct, neither the law enforcement officer, nor the law enforcement agency that employs the law enforcement officer, shall incur any liability relating to the reporting or use of the database during a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall make a good faith effort to maintain accurate data as provided by the driver's license or instruction permit holder and to provide that information to law enforcement as provided in subsection (a). The Secretary of State is not liable for any damages, costs, or expenses, including, without limitation, consequential damages, arising or resulting from any inaccurate or incomplete data or system unavailability. Except for willful or wanton misconduct, the Secretary of State shall not incur any liability relating to the reporting of disabilities or special needs individuals.
    (f) As used in this Section:
    "Disability" means an individual's physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities; a record of such impairment; or when the individual is regarded as having such impairment.
    "Public safety worker" means a person employed by this State or a political subdivision thereof that provides firefighting, law enforcement, medical or other emergency services.
    "Special needs individuals" means those individuals who have or are at increased risk for a chronic physical, developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition and who also require health and related services of a type or amount beyond that required by individuals generally.
(Source: P.A. 95-898, eff. 7-1-09; 96-1168, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/6-118

    (625 ILCS 5/6-118)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-176)
    Sec. 6-118. Fees.
    (a) The fee for licenses and permits under this Article is as follows:
    Original driver's license..............................$30
    Original or renewal driver's license
        issued to 18, 19 and 20 year olds................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 69 through age 80............................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 81 through age 86............................... 2
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 87 or older......................................0
    Renewal driver's license (except for
        applicants ages 18, 19 and 20 or
        age 69 and older)...................................30
    Original instruction permit issued to
        persons (except those age 69 and older)
        who do not hold or have not previously
        held an Illinois instruction permit or
        driver's license................................... 20
    Instruction permit issued to any person
        holding an Illinois driver's license
        who wishes a change in classifications,
        other than at the time of renewal................... 5
    Any instruction permit issued to a person
        age 69 and older.................................... 5
    Instruction permit issued to any person,
        under age 69, not currently holding a
        valid Illinois driver's license or
        instruction permit but who has
        previously been issued either document
        in Illinois........................................ 10
    Restricted driving permit............................... 8
    Monitoring device driving permit....................... 8
    Duplicate or corrected driver's license
        or permit........................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected restricted
        driving permit...................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected monitoring
    device driving permit................................... 5
    Duplicate driver's license or permit issued to
        an active-duty member of the
        United States Armed Forces,
        the member's spouse, or
        the dependent children living
        with the member.................................... 0
    Original or renewal M or L endorsement.................. 5
SPECIAL FEES FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE
        The fees for commercial driver licenses and permits
    
under Article V shall be as follows:
    Commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund
        (Commercial Driver's License Information
        System/American Association of Motor Vehicle
        Administrators network/National Motor Vehicle
        Title Information Service Trust Fund);
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license;
        and $24 for the CDL:.............................. $60
    Renewal commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license; and
        $24 for the CDL:.................................. $60
    Commercial driver instruction permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois driver's license for the
        purpose of changing to a
        CDL classification: $6 for the
        CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier
        Safety Inspection Fund; and
        $24 for the CDL classification.................... $50
    Commercial driver instruction permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois CDL for the purpose of
        making a change in a classification,
        endorsement or restriction......................... $5
    CDL duplicate or corrected license..................... $5
    In order to ensure the proper implementation of the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, Article V of this Chapter, the Secretary of State is empowered to pro-rate the $24 fee for the commercial driver's license proportionate to the expiration date of the applicant's Illinois driver's license.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person who presents the Secretary of State's office with a police report showing that his license or permit was stolen.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person age 60 or older whose driver's license or permit has been lost or stolen.
    No additional fee shall be charged for a driver's license, or for a commercial driver's license, when issued to the holder of an instruction permit for the same classification or type of license who becomes eligible for such license.
    (b) Any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked under Section 3-707, any provision of Chapter 6, Chapter 11, or Section 7-205, 7-303, or 7-702 of the Family Financial Responsibility Law of this Code, shall in addition to any other fees required by this Code, pay a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Suspension under Section 3-707...................... $100
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1............$250
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Other suspension.......................................$70
    Revocation............................................$500
    However, any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and each suspension or revocation was for a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 shall pay, in addition to any other fees required by this Code, a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Revocation............................................$500
    (c) All fees collected under the provisions of this Chapter 6 shall be paid into the Road Fund in the State Treasury except as follows:
        1. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
Driver Education Fund:
            (A) $16 of the $20 fee for an original driver's
        
instruction permit;
            (B) $5 of the $30 fee for an original driver's
        
license;
            (C) $5 of the $30 fee for a 4 year renewal
        
driver's license;
            (D) $4 of the $8 fee for a restricted driving
        
permit; and
            (E) $4 of the $8 fee for a monitoring device
        
driving permit.
        2. $30 of the $250 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. However, for a person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1 of this Code or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily suspended under Section 11-501.1, and $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund. $190 of the $500 fee for reinstatement of a license summarily revoked pursuant to Section 11-501.1 shall be deposited into the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund.
        3. $6 of such original or renewal fee for a
    
commercial driver's license and $6 of the commercial driver instruction permit fee when such permit is issued to any person holding a valid Illinois driver's license, shall be paid into the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund.
        4. $30 of the $70 fee for reinstatement of a license
    
suspended under the Family Financial Responsibility Law shall be paid into the Family Responsibility Fund.
        5. The $5 fee for each original or renewal M or L
    
endorsement shall be deposited into the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.
        6. $20 of any original or renewal fee for a
    
commercial driver's license or commercial driver instruction permit shall be paid into the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund.
        7. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
General Revenue Fund:
            (A) $190 of the $250 reinstatement fee for a
        
summary suspension under Section 11-501.1;
            (B) $40 of the $70 reinstatement fee for any
        
other suspension provided in subsection (b) of this Section; and
            (C) $440 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a
        
first offense revocation and $310 of the $500 reinstatement fee for a second or subsequent revocation.
    (d) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (e) The additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall become effective 90 days after becoming law.
    (f) As used in this Section, "active-duty member of the United States Armed Forces" means a member of the Armed Services or Reserve Forces of the United States or a member of the Illinois National Guard who is called to active duty pursuant to an executive order of the President of the United States, an act of the Congress of the United States, or an order of the Governor.
(Source: P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-177, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-176)
    Sec. 6-118. Fees.
    (a) The fee for licenses and permits under this Article is as follows:
    Original driver's license..............................$30
    Original or renewal driver's license
        issued to 18, 19 and 20 year olds................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 69 through age 80............................... 5
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 81 through age 86............................... 2
    All driver's licenses for persons
        age 87 or older......................................0
    Renewal driver's license (except for
        applicants ages 18, 19 and 20 or
        age 69 and older)...................................30
    Original instruction permit issued to
        persons (except those age 69 and older)
        who do not hold or have not previously
        held an Illinois instruction permit or
        driver's license................................... 20
    Instruction permit issued to any person
        holding an Illinois driver's license
        who wishes a change in classifications,
        other than at the time of renewal................... 5
    Any instruction permit issued to a person
        age 69 and older.................................... 5
    Instruction permit issued to any person,
        under age 69, not currently holding a
        valid Illinois driver's license or
        instruction permit but who has
        previously been issued either document
        in Illinois........................................ 10
    Restricted driving permit............................... 8
    Monitoring device driving permit....................... 8
    Duplicate or corrected driver's license
        or permit........................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected restricted
        driving permit...................................... 5
    Duplicate or corrected monitoring
    device driving permit................................... 5
    Duplicate driver's license or permit issued to
        an active-duty member of the
        United States Armed Forces,
        the member's spouse, or
        the dependent children living
        with the member.................................... 0
    Original or renewal M or L endorsement.................. 5
SPECIAL FEES FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE
        The fees for commercial driver licenses and permits
    
under Article V shall be as follows:
    Commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund
        (Commercial Driver's License Information
        System/American Association of Motor Vehicle
        Administrators network/National Motor Vehicle
        Title Information Service Trust Fund);
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license;
        and $24 for the CDL:.............................. $60
    Renewal commercial driver's license:
        $6 for the CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection Fund;
        $10 for the driver's license; and
        $24 for the CDL:.................................. $60
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois driver's license for the
        purpose of changing to a
        CDL classification: $6 for the
        CDLIS/AAMVAnet/NMVTIS Trust Fund;
        $20 for the Motor Carrier
        Safety Inspection Fund; and
        $24 for the CDL classification.................... $50
    Commercial learner's permit
        issued to any person holding a valid
        Illinois CDL for the purpose of
        making a change in a classification,
        endorsement or restriction......................... $5
    CDL duplicate or corrected license..................... $5
    In order to ensure the proper implementation of the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, Article V of this Chapter, the Secretary of State is empowered to pro-rate the $24 fee for the commercial driver's license proportionate to the expiration date of the applicant's Illinois driver's license.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person who presents the Secretary of State's office with a police report showing that his license or permit was stolen.
    The fee for any duplicate license or permit shall be waived for any person age 60 or older whose driver's license or permit has been lost or stolen.
    No additional fee shall be charged for a driver's license, or for a commercial driver's license, when issued to the holder of an instruction permit for the same classification or type of license who becomes eligible for such license.
    (b) Any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked under Section 3-707, any provision of Chapter 6, Chapter 11, or Section 7-205, 7-303, or 7-702 of the Family Financial Responsibility Law of this Code, shall in addition to any other fees required by this Code, pay a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Suspension under Section 3-707...................... $100
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1............$250
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Other suspension.......................................$70
    Revocation............................................$500
    However, any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State has been suspended or revoked for a second or subsequent time for a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and each suspension or revocation was for a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 shall pay, in addition to any other fees required by this Code, a reinstatement fee as follows:
    Summary suspension under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Summary revocation under Section 11-501.1.............$500
    Revocation............................................$500
    (c) All fees collected under the provisions of this Chapter 6 shall be paid into the Road Fund in the State Treasury except as follows:
        1. The following amounts shall be paid into the
    
Driver Education Fund:
            (A) $16 of the $20 fee for an original driver's
        
instruction permit;
            (B) $5 of the $30 fee for an original dri