Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/3-820

    (625 ILCS 5/3-820) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-820)
    Sec. 3-820. Duplicate Number Plates. Upon filing in the Office of the Secretary of State an affidavit to the effect that an original number plate for a vehicle is lost, stolen or destroyed, a duplicate number plate shall be furnished upon payment of a fee of $6 for each duplicate plate and a fee of $9 for a pair of duplicate plates.
    Upon filing in the Office of the Secretary of State an affidavit to the effect that an original registration sticker or digital registration sticker for a vehicle is lost, stolen or destroyed, a new registration sticker or digital registration sticker shall be furnished upon payment of a fee of $5 for registration stickers or digital registration stickers issued on or before February 28, 2005 and $20 for registration stickers or digital registration stickers issued on or after March 1, 2005.
    The Secretary of State may, in his discretion, assign a new number plate or plates in lieu of a duplicate of the plate or plates so lost, stolen or destroyed, but such assignment of a new plate or plates shall not affect the right of the owner to secure a reassignment of his original registration number in the manner provided in this Act. The fee for one new number plate shall be $6, and for a pair of new number plates, $9.
    For the administration of this Section, the Secretary shall consider the loss of a registration plate or digital registration plate or plates with properly affixed registration stickers or digital registration stickers as requiring the payment of:
        (i) $11 for each duplicate issued on or before
    
February 28, 2005 and $26 for each duplicate issued on or after March 1, 2005; or
        (ii) $14 for a pair of duplicate plates issued on or
    
before February 28, 2005 and $29 for a pair of duplicate plates issued on or after March 1, 2005.
(Source: P.A. 101-395, eff. 8-16-19.)

625 ILCS 5/3-821

    (625 ILCS 5/3-821) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-821)
    Sec. 3-821. Miscellaneous registration and title fees.
    (a) Except as provided under subsection (h), the fee to be paid to the Secretary of State for the following certificates, registrations or evidences of proper registration, or for corrected or duplicate documents shall be in accordance with the following schedule:
    Certificate of Title, except for an all-terrain
vehicle or off-highway motorcycle, prior to July 1, 2019 $95
    Certificate of Title, except for an all-terrain
vehicle, off-highway motorcycle, or motor home, mini
motor home or van camper, on and after July 1, 2019 $150
    Certificate of Title for a motor home, mini motor home, or van camper, on and after July 1,2019 $250
    Certificate of Title for an all-terrain vehicle
or off-highway motorcycle$30
    Certificate of Title for an all-terrain vehicle
or off-highway motorcycle used for production
agriculture, or accepted by a dealer in trade$13
    Certificate of Title for a low-speed vehicle$30
    Transfer of Registration or any evidence of
proper registration $25
    Duplicate Registration Card for plates or other
evidence of proper registration$3
    Duplicate Registration Sticker or Stickers, each$20
    Duplicate Certificate of Title, prior to July 1, 2019 $95
    Duplicate Certificate of Title, on and after July 1, 2019 $50
    Corrected Registration Card or Card for other
evidence of proper registration$3
    Corrected Certificate of Title$95
    Salvage Certificate, prior to July 1, 2019 $4
    Salvage Certificate, on and after July 1, 2019 $20
    Fleet Reciprocity Permit$15
    Prorate Decal$1
    Prorate Backing Plate$3
    Special Corrected Certificate of Title$15
    Expedited Title Service (to be charged in addition to other applicable fees)$30
    Dealer Lien Release Certificate of Title$20
    
    A special corrected certificate of title shall be issued (i) to remove a co-owner's name due to the death of the co-owner, to transfer title to a spouse if the decedent-spouse was the sole owner on the title, or due to a divorce; (ii) to change a co-owner's name due to a marriage; or (iii) due to a name change under Article XXI of the Code of Civil Procedure.
    There shall be no fee paid for a Junking Certificate.
    There shall be no fee paid for a certificate of title issued to a county when the vehicle is forfeited to the county under Article 36 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
    (a-5) The Secretary of State may revoke a certificate of title and registration card and issue a corrected certificate of title and registration card, at no fee to the vehicle owner or lienholder, if there is proof that the vehicle identification number is erroneously shown on the original certificate of title.
    (a-10) The Secretary of State may issue, in connection with the sale of a motor vehicle, a corrected title to a motor vehicle dealer upon application and submittal of a lien release letter from the lienholder listed in the files of the Secretary. In the case of a title issued by another state, the dealer must submit proof from the state that issued the last title. The corrected title, which shall be known as a dealer lien release certificate of title, shall be issued in the name of the vehicle owner without the named lienholder. If the motor vehicle is currently titled in a state other than Illinois, the applicant must submit either (i) a letter from the current lienholder releasing the lien and stating that the lienholder has possession of the title; or (ii) a letter from the current lienholder releasing the lien and a copy of the records of the department of motor vehicles for the state in which the vehicle is titled, showing that the vehicle is titled in the name of the applicant and that no liens are recorded other than the lien for which a release has been submitted. The fee for the dealer lien release certificate of title is $20.
    (b) The Secretary may prescribe the maximum service charge to be imposed upon an applicant for renewal of a registration by any person authorized by law to receive and remit or transmit to the Secretary such renewal application and fees therewith.
    (c) If payment is delivered to the Office of the Secretary of State as payment of any fee or tax under this Code, and such payment is not honored for any reason, the registrant or other person tendering the payment remains liable for the payment of such fee or tax. The Secretary of State may assess a service charge of $25 in addition to the fee or tax due and owing for all dishonored payments.
    If the total amount then due and owing exceeds the sum of $100 and has not been paid in full within 60 days from the date the dishonored payment was first delivered to the Secretary of State, the Secretary of State shall assess a penalty of 25% of such amount remaining unpaid.
    All amounts payable under this Section shall be computed to the nearest dollar. Out of each fee collected for dishonored payments, $5 shall be deposited in the Secretary of State Special Services Fund.
    (d) The minimum fee and tax to be paid by any applicant for apportionment of a fleet of vehicles under this Code shall be $15 if the application was filed on or before the date specified by the Secretary together with fees and taxes due. If an application and the fees or taxes due are filed after the date specified by the Secretary, the Secretary may prescribe the payment of interest at the rate of 1/2 of 1% per month or fraction thereof after such due date and a minimum of $8.
    (e) Trucks, truck tractors, truck tractors with loads, and motor buses, any one of which having a combined total weight in excess of 12,000 lbs. shall file an application for a Fleet Reciprocity Permit issued by the Secretary of State. This permit shall be in the possession of any driver operating a vehicle on Illinois highways. Any foreign licensed vehicle of the second division operating at any time in Illinois without a Fleet Reciprocity Permit or other proper Illinois registration, shall subject the operator to the penalties provided in Section 3-834 of this Code. For the purposes of this Code, "Fleet Reciprocity Permit" means any second division motor vehicle with a foreign license and used only in interstate transportation of goods. The fee for such permit shall be $15 per fleet which shall include all vehicles of the fleet being registered.
    (f) For purposes of this Section, "all-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used for production agriculture" means any all-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used in the raising of or the propagation of livestock, crops for sale for human consumption, crops for livestock consumption, and production seed stock grown for the propagation of feed grains and the husbandry of animals or for the purpose of providing a food product, including the husbandry of blood stock as a main source of providing a food product. "All-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used in production agriculture" also means any all-terrain vehicle or off-highway motorcycle used in animal husbandry, floriculture, aquaculture, horticulture, and viticulture.
    (g) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by Public Act 96-34 shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (h) The fee for a duplicate registration sticker or stickers shall be the amount required under subsection (a) or the vehicle's annual registration fee amount, whichever is less.
    (i) All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly shall be deposited into the Road Fund.
(Source: P.A. 100-956, eff. 1-1-19; 101-32, eff. 6-28-19; 101-604, eff. 12-13-19.)

625 ILCS 5/3-821.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-821.1)
    Sec. 3-821.1. Fees for record searches. The fee to be paid to the Secretary of State by any towing service requesting a record search shall be in the amount the Secretary of State prescribes by rule.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/3-821.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-821.2)
    Sec. 3-821.2. Delinquent registration renewal fee.
    (a) For registration renewal periods beginning on or after January 1, 2005, the Secretary of State may impose a delinquent registration renewal fee of $20 for the registration renewal of all passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds if the application for registration renewal is received by the Secretary more than one month after the expiration of the most recent period during which the vehicle was registered. If a delinquent registration renewal fee is imposed, the Secretary shall not renew the registration of such a vehicle until the delinquent registration renewal fee has been paid, in addition to any other registration fees owed for the vehicle. Active duty military personnel stationed outside of Illinois shall not be required to pay the delinquent registration renewal fee. If a delinquent registration renewal fee is imposed, the Secretary shall adopt rules for the implementation of this Section. All fees collected under this Section shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
    (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a), the Secretary of State shall not impose a delinquent registration renewal fee for the registration renewal of passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds if a vehicle's registration expires during a period of time in which the Secretary is not sending registration renewal notices to owners of all of those vehicles with registration expiring at the same time as the applicable vehicle. It shall be an affirmative defense to a citation for an expired registration issued by any local, county, municipal, or State law enforcement agency within one month after the expiration of vehicle registration, that the expiration occurred during a period of time in which the Secretary was not sending registration renewal notices to owners of all passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds with registration expiring at the same time as the applicable vehicle. A computer print-out of a page from the Secretary of State's official website setting forth the calendar months in which registration renewal notices were not sent to all owners of passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds shall be admissible as evidence to establish the affirmative defense. The computer print-out shall be prima facie evidence of the correctness of the information contained in it. The changes made by this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly apply only to vehicle registrations that expire on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly.
    The provisions of this subsection (b), other than this sentence, are inoperative on and after June 30, 2017.
(Source: P.A. 99-127, eff. 1-1-16; 99-887, eff. 8-25-16.)

625 ILCS 5/3-822

    (625 ILCS 5/3-822)
    Sec. 3-822. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 76-1586. Repealed by P.A. 94-239, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/3-824

    (625 ILCS 5/3-824) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-824)
    Sec. 3-824. When fees returnable.
    (a) Whenever any application to the Secretary of State is accompanied by any fee as required by law and such application is refused or rejected, said fee shall be returned to said applicant.
    (b) Whenever the Secretary of State collects any fee not required to be paid under the provisions of this Act, the same shall be refunded to the person paying the same upon application therefor made within 6 months after the date of such payment, except as follows: (1) whenever a refund is determined to be due and owing as a result of an audit, by this State or any other state or province, in accordance with Section 2-124 of this Code, of a prorate or apportion license fee payment pursuant to any reciprocal compact or agreement between this State and any other state or province, and the Secretary for any reason fails to promptly make such refund, the licensee shall have one year from the date of the notification of the audit result to file, with the Secretary, an application for refund found to be due and owing as a result of such audit; and (2) whenever a person eligible for a reduced registration fee pursuant to Section 3-806.3 of this Code has paid in excess of the reduced registration fee owed, the refund applicant shall have 2 years from the date of overpayment to apply with the Secretary for a refund of that part of payment made in excess of the established reduced registration fee.
    (c) Whenever a person dies after making application for registration, application for a refund of the registration fees and taxes may be made if the vehicle is then sold or disposed of so that the registration plates or digital registration plates, registration sticker or digital registration sticker and card are never used. The Secretary of State shall refund the registration fees and taxes upon receipt within 6 months after the application for registration of an application for refund accompanied with the unused registration plates or digital registration plates or registration sticker or digital registration sticker and card and proof of both the death of the applicant and the sale or disposition of the vehicle.
    (d) Any application for refund received after the times specified in this Section shall be denied and the applicant in order to receive a refund must apply to the Court of Claims.
    (d-5) Refunds may be granted for any title-related transaction if a title application has not been processed by the Secretary of State. If any application for a certificate of title under Section 3-104 or salvage title under Section 3-118 is verified by the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS), and receives a warning or error from the NMVTIS reporting that the vehicle requires either a salvage certificate or a junk certificate in lieu of the original applied certificate of title or salvage title, then the applicant shall have 6 months to apply for a refund of cost, or the difference of the certificate of title or salvage certificate.
    (e) The Secretary of State is authorized to maintain a two signature revolving checking account with a suitable commercial bank for the purpose of depositing and withdrawal-for-return those monies received and determined upon receipt to be in excess of the amount or amounts required by law.
    (f) Refunds on audits performed by Illinois or another member of the International Registration Plan shall be made in accordance with the procedures as set forth in the agreement.
(Source: P.A. 101-395, eff. 8-16-19.)

625 ILCS 5/3-824.5

    (625 ILCS 5/3-824.5)
    Sec. 3-824.5. Applicability of fee and tax increases. The fee and tax increases in this Code made by this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly that apply to registrations apply to registration year 2001 and thereafter. The registration fees and taxes in existence on the day prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly apply throughout registration year 2000. All other fee and tax increases in this Code made by this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly shall apply beginning January 1, 2000 and thereafter.
(Source: P.A. 91-37, eff. 7-1-99.)

625 ILCS 5/3-825

    (625 ILCS 5/3-825) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-825)
    Sec. 3-825. Certificate of Safety.
    Every application for registration of a motor vehicle which is subject to vehicle inspection may be accompanied by proof that a valid and unrevoked Certificate of Safety has been issued for each such vehicle. The Secretary of State may at his discretion decline to register any such vehicle unless the application is accompanied with such proof.
(Source: P.A. 76-1997.)

625 ILCS 5/3-827

    (625 ILCS 5/3-827) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-827)
    Sec. 3-827. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/3-828

    (625 ILCS 5/3-828) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-828)
    Sec. 3-828. Lien for violations.
    Any vehicle used in violation of the provision of this Act shall be subject to a lien for the full amount of all unpaid registration fees, flat weight taxes, and penalties. Such lien shall not release the offender from the full payment of all such fees, taxes, penalties and damages. The lien shall attach at the time of operation of any such vehicle within this State and shall remain effective until all unpaid registration fees, flat weight taxes, penalties and audit fees are paid, or until the vehicle is sold for the payment thereof. Such liens shall be superior to any other lien except that:
    (a) no lien for any amounts due or assessed pursuant to this Section shall be enforceable against any vehicle which prior to such assessment had been transferred in good faith to a bona fide transferee for value;
    (b) the lien of any amounts due or assessed shall be subject to a prior lien of any indebtedness existing against such vehicle which is noted on the certificate of title of such vehicle issued under this Act, or as to a vehicle from another jurisdiction, if written notice thereof is filed with the Secretary of State before such lien becomes operative and if
    (1) Such prior indebtedness was incurred in good faith to secure all or a portion of the purchase price of such vehicle, and
    (2) Such prior indebtedness is secured by a chattel mortgage or conditional sales agreement duly filed or perfected in this State pursuant to law and such chattel mortgage or conditional sales was not given directly or indirectly, to any officer, director or shareholder of a corporation, or to a partner of a partnership, or to a trustee or beneficiary of a trust, owning or having the lawful use or control of such vehicle, whether as a purchase money mortgage or otherwise.
    The lien imposed under this Section shall be enforceable as to any equity after the encumbrance of any such chattel mortgage or conditional sales contract, and in the event any such vehicle subject to a lien hereunder is repossessed by a chattel mortgagee or a conditional vendor, such vehicle shall not be sold at any public or private sale unless at least 5 days written notice by registered mail is served upon the Secretary of State.
    The Secretary of State, upon perfecting a prior lien hereunder for any flat weight taxes required to be paid under Section 3-815 may in his discretion waive the requirement for the surety bond specified in Section 3-816, providing that the said prior lien is so noted on the certificate of title for such vehicle or vehicles.
    Any surety making payment of a second installment of taxes under Section 3-816 of this Act, may impress a lien similar to that of the Secretary of State, and such lien may be noted on title records and documents. The surety shall, however, pay any statutory fees therefor.
(Source: P.A. 77-1464.)

625 ILCS 5/3-829

    (625 ILCS 5/3-829) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-829)
    Sec. 3-829. Foreclosure of Lien - Service of Processes - Notices.
    In any action to foreclose the lien imposed by Section 3-828 service of process on all known owners and parties in interest shall be made in the manner now prescribed by law, and, as to all unknown owners and parties in interest, notice of the pendency of such action shall be given by publication in some newspaper of general circulation published in the county where the suit is pending, or if there is no such newspaper, then in a newspaper of general circulation published in an adjoining county in this State and having a general circulation in the county in which such suit is pending. Such notice shall contain the title of the court; the title of the case, showing the names of all known owners and parties in interest; a statement that publication is being made as to unknown owners and parties in interest; and the date on or after which default may be entered against the defendants.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/3-830

    (625 ILCS 5/3-830) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-830)
    Sec. 3-830. Notice of pendency of action - Time and number of publications - Default.
    The notice required by Section 3-829 may be given at any time after commencement of the suit, and shall be published at least once each week for 3 successive weeks. No default or other proceeding shall be taken against any defendant as to whom publication was made and who does not appear, unless the first publication is at least 30 days prior to the time when the default or other proceeding is sought to be taken.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/3-831

    (625 ILCS 5/3-831) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-831)
    Sec. 3-831. Secretary to institute suits. The Secretary of State may institute, in the name of the People of the State of Illinois, a suit or suits in the circuit court to enforce the collection of any fees, taxes, interest, penalties or damages provided for in this Act, or to enjoin violations of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 79-1358.)

625 ILCS 5/3-832

    (625 ILCS 5/3-832) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-832)
    Sec. 3-832. Service of Process.
    The operation, with the consent of the owner, upon the highways of the State of any motor vehicle of the second division shall be deemed an appointment by the owner of the driver of the vehicle as the owner's agent upon whom may be served process in any civil or criminal proceeding against such owner based upon failure to register, improper registration or failure to pay the proper fees or taxes with respect to any motor vehicles of the second division of such owner.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/3-833

    (625 ILCS 5/3-833) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-833)
    Sec. 3-833. Unlawful acts.
    It shall be unlawful for any person to own or operate a vehicle on the public highways of this State without complying with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/3-834

    (625 ILCS 5/3-834) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-834)
    Sec. 3-834. Violations of this Chapter 3.
    (a) It is unlawful for any person to violate any of the provisions of this Chapter 3, except as provided in paragraph (b) of this Section, unless such violation is by this Code or other law of this State declared to be a felony.
    (b) Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any of the provisions of this Chapter 3 for which another penalty is not provided shall for a first and second conviction be guilty of a petty offense; upon a third or subsequent conviction within one year after the first conviction such person shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. Compliance with the registration provisions of this Code after apprehension or arrest shall not excuse imposition of the penalties herein provided nor be cause for dismissal of the arrest or of the summons nor be a basis for setting aside a conviction therefor.
(Source: P.A. 88-476.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. IX

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. IX heading)
ARTICLE IX. REMITTANCE AGENTS

625 ILCS 5/3-900

    (625 ILCS 5/3-900) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-900)
    Sec. 3-900. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 88-470. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/3-901

    (625 ILCS 5/3-901) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-901)
    Sec. 3-901. Purpose of Article.
    Many persons throughout the State hold themselves out to the public as being engaged in, and have engaged in, accepting money from members of the public for remittance to the State of Illinois, and its licensing and taxing agencies in payment of registration plates, vehicle certificates of title, taxes, or registration fees. Some of these persons have failed to make such remittance with the consequent loss to the remitters. It is the public policy of this State that its people be protected against such hazards.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-902

    (625 ILCS 5/3-902) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-902)
    Sec. 3-902. Application of Article. This Article shall not apply to any person who, in connection with the issuance of a license to him to conduct a business in this State other than a remitter's license, shall have filed, pursuant to a statutory requirement, a surety bond covering the proper discharge of any liability incurred by him in connection with the acceptance for remittance of money for the purposes designated in the Article pursuant to which he or she is licensed.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/3-903

    (625 ILCS 5/3-903) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-903)
    Sec. 3-903. License. It shall be unlawful for any person to act as a "remittance agent" in the State of Illinois without first having obtained or renewed a license and posted a bond, as hereafter provided.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-904

    (625 ILCS 5/3-904) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-904)
    Sec. 3-904. Application; contents; affidavits; prelicense education certification.
    (a) Any person who desires to act as a "remittance agent" shall first file with the Secretary of State a written application for a license. The application shall be under oath and shall contain the following:
        1. The name and address of the applicant.
        2. The address of each location at which the
    
applicant intends to act as a remittance agent.
        3. The applicant's business, occupation or
    
profession.
        4. A statement disclosing whether he has been
    
involved in any civil or criminal litigation and if so, the material facts pertaining thereto.
        5. A statement that the applicant has not committed
    
in the past 3 years any violation as determined in any civil, criminal, or administrative proceedings under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act or under Article I or VII of Chapter 3 of this Code.
        6. Any other information concerning the business of
    
the applicant that the Secretary of State may prescribe.
    (b) The application under subsection (a) shall be accompanied by the affidavits of two persons residing in the city or town of such applicant's residence. Such affiants shall state that they have known the applicant for a period of at least two years; that the applicant is of good moral character and that his reputation for honesty and business integrity in the community in which he resides is good. If the applicant is not an individual, the requirements of this paragraph shall apply to each of its officers or members.
    (c) The application under subsection (a) shall be accompanied by a copy of the certification from the prelicensing education program required by Section 3-904.5.
(Source: P.A. 101-505, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/3-904.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-904.2)
    Sec. 3-904.2. Remittance agent background check. Each applicant for a remittance license shall have his or her fingerprints submitted to the Department of State Police in an electronic format that complies with the form and manner for requesting and furnishing criminal history record information as prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record databases now and hereafter filed, including, but not limited to, civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint databases. The Department of State Police shall charge applicants a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited in the State Police Services Fund and shall not exceed the actual cost of the records check. The Department of State Police shall furnish, pursuant to positive identification, records of Illinois convictions to the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 101-505, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/3-904.5

    (625 ILCS 5/3-904.5)
    Sec. 3-904.5. Remittance agent prelicensing education program courses.
    (a) An applicant for a license as a remittance agent shall complete a minimum of 8 hours of prelicensing education program courses under this Section prior to submitting an application to the Secretary of State.
    (b) To meet the requirements of this Section, at least one person who is associated with the remittance agent as an owner, principal, corporate officer, director, or member or partner of a limited liability company or limited liability partnership shall complete the education program courses.
    (c) The prelicensing education program courses shall be provided by public or private entities with an expertise in the area as approved by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State must approve course curricula and instruction, in consultation with the Department of Transportation and any private entity with expertise in the area in the Secretary's discretion.
    (d) Each person who successfully completes an approved prelicensing education program under this Section shall be issued a certificate by the education program provider. The current certificate of completion, or a copy of the current certificate, shall be posted conspicuously in the principal office of the licensee.
    (e) The provisions of this Section apply to all remittance agents including, but not limited to, persons, corporations, and partnerships, except for the following:
        (1) motor vehicle rental companies having a national
    
franchise;
        (2) national motor vehicle auction companies;
        (3) wholesale dealer-only auction companies;
        (4) used vehicle dealerships owned by a franchise
    
motor vehicle dealer; and
        (5) banks, credit unions, and savings and loan
    
associations.
(Source: P.A. 101-505, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/3-905

    (625 ILCS 5/3-905) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-905)
    Sec. 3-905. Bond; fee; duration of license. Such applicant shall, with his application, deposit with the Secretary of State a bond as hereinafter provided, for each location at which the applicant intends to act as a remittance agent. The application shall be accompanied by the payment of a license fee in the sum of $50.00 (or $25.00 if such application is filed after July 1) for each location at which he proposes to act as a remittance agent. If the applicant shall have complied with all of the requirements of this Section and the Secretary of State shall find after investigation that the applicant is financially sound and of good business integrity, he shall issue the required license. Such license shall terminate on December 31 of the year for which it is issued, but upon application prior to November 15 of any year for which a license is in effect may be renewed for the next succeeding calendar year. Such application shall be accompanied by the payment of an annual license fee of $50.00 for each location at which the applicant proposes to act as a remittance agent and the posting of the bond herein provided, for each such location.
    The bond required by this Section shall be for the term of the license, or renewal thereof, for which application is made, and shall run to the People of the State of Illinois, with surety by a bonding or insurance company authorized to do business in this State, to be approved by the Secretary of State. It shall be conditioned upon the proper transmittal of all remittances by the applicant as a remittance agent and the performance of all undertakings in connection therewith. It shall be in the minimum sum of $20,000, or in an amount equal to the aggregate sum of money transmitted to the State by the applicant during the highest 15 day period in the fiscal year immediately preceding the one for which application is made (rounded to the nearest $1,000), whichever is the greater. However, for the purpose of determining the bond requirements hereunder, remittances made by applicants in the form of money orders, checks, or electronic payments which are made payable directly to the Secretary of State or the Illinois Department of Revenue by the remitter, shall not be considered in the aggregate. The bond requirement of this Section shall not apply to banks, savings and loan associations, and credit unions chartered by the State of Illinois or the United States; provided that the banks, savings and loan associations, and credit unions provide to the Secretary of State an affidavit stating that the bank, savings and loan association, or credit union is sufficiently bonded to meet the requirements as required above. Such affidavit shall be signed by an officer of the bank, savings and loan association, or credit union and shall be notarized.
(Source: P.A. 99-324, eff. 1-1-16; 100-450, eff. 1-1-18.)

625 ILCS 5/3-906

    (625 ILCS 5/3-906) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-906)
    Sec. 3-906. Denial.
    The Secretary of State shall deny any application under this Article upon any of the following grounds:
        (1) That the application contains any false or
    
fraudulent statement; or
        (2) That the applicant has failed to furnish the
    
information required by the Secretary or to file a bond as required; or
        (3) That the required fee has not been paid; or
        (4) That the applicant has failed to remit fees to
    
the Secretary of State or the Department of Revenue; or
        (5) That the applicant has engaged in fraudulent
    
practices; or
        (6) That the applicant or a member of his immediate
    
family is an employee of the Secretary of State; or
        (7) That the Secretary of State is authorized under
    
any other provision of law.
    If the Secretary of State denies the application for a license, or renewal thereof, he shall so order in writing and notify the applicant thereof by certified mail. Upon the denial of an application for a license, or renewal thereof, he shall return the license fee. An applicant may contest the denial of an application for a license or renewal thereof by requesting an administrative hearing pursuant to Section 2-118 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-907

    (625 ILCS 5/3-907) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-907)
    Sec. 3-907. Suspension or revocation. Such license may be suspended or revoked by the Secretary of State for the violation of any provision of this Act or any rule or regulation of the Secretary of State and for any reason which, had it existed or been known to the Secretary of State at the time of the filing of the application for such license, would have been good cause for the denial of such application. The Secretary of State shall order such license suspended or revoked in writing and shall notify the licensee of the order by certified mail. A licensee may, upon receipt of an order of suspension or revocation seek a hearing to review such order pursuant to Section 2-118 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-908

    (625 ILCS 5/3-908) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-908)
    Sec. 3-908. Location.
    A licensee may not do business at a location not set forth in his license, but the Secretary of State may issue an amended license covering an additional location or locations, upon application therefor, the payment of an additional license fee and the posting of the required bond for each such location.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-909

    (625 ILCS 5/3-909) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-909)
    Sec. 3-909. Money accepted for remittance - Obligations of licensee.
    Each licensee shall forward to the remittee all money accepted for remittance not later than the fifth calendar day after the date upon which such money was received by the licensee, and shall promptly fulfill any other obligation it has undertaken in connection therewith.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-910

    (625 ILCS 5/3-910) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-910)
    Sec. 3-910. Records of transactions.
    Each licensee shall maintain for a period of three years the following records with reference to each transaction involving a remittance:
    1. The address of the location at which the transaction occurred.
    2. The name and address of the remitter.
    3. The name and address of the remittee.
    4. The purpose of the remittance.
    5. The amount of money received for remittance.
    6. The date of receipt of the money for remittance by the licensee.
    7. The date such money was forwarded to the remittee.
    8. If applicable, the date the license plate, vehicle tax sticker, license or other instrument issued by the remittee, was delivered to the remitter by the licensee.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-911

    (625 ILCS 5/3-911) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-911)
    Sec. 3-911. Examination of business.
    The Secretary of State or any of his representatives designated by him may examine the business of any person who acts, or may be acting, as a remittance agent, to determine whether such person is complying with the provisions of this Act and with such rules and regulations as may be promulgated by the Secretary of State pursuant to its provisions. For that purpose, the Secretary of State or his representatives shall have free access to the offices, places of business, and records of any such person.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-912

    (625 ILCS 5/3-912) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-912)
    Sec. 3-912. Rules and regulations.
    The Secretary of State may make such rules, regulations, direction, orders, decisions and findings as may be necessary for the enforcement of this Act and the purposes sought to be attained herein.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-913

    (625 ILCS 5/3-913) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-913)
    Sec. 3-913. Hearings. Hearings under this Article shall be governed by Section 2-118 of this Act and the Administrative Review Law as amended, shall apply to and govern all proceedings for judicial review of any final order issued by the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 97-832, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-914

    (625 ILCS 5/3-914) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-914)
    Sec. 3-914. Violations - Injunction. The violation of any provision of this Act by any remittance agent may be restrained by the issuance of an injunction by the circuit court, against him and any other person who shall aid or abet him in such violation, upon filing of a complaint by any person adversely affected thereby, the State's Attorney of such county, or by the Attorney General of the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 79-1358.)

625 ILCS 5/3-915

    (625 ILCS 5/3-915) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-915)
    Sec. 3-915. Any person who violates, or who aids or abets another in the violation, of any provision of this Act or any rule or regulation promulgated thereunder, or does any act prohibited by this Act, or who fails, neglects, or refuses to perform any duty required by any provision of this Act or rule or regulation of the Secretary of State, within the time prescribed by the Secretary of State, or who fails, neglects, or refuses to obey any lawful order given or made by the Secretary of State, shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, and each such act, failure, neglect, or refusal shall constitute a separate and distinct offense.
(Source: P.A. 77-2720.)

625 ILCS 5/3-916

    (625 ILCS 5/3-916) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-916)
    Sec. 3-916. Issuance of license - Effect. The issuance of a license pursuant to the provisions of this Act shall not be construed to grant to any remittance agent the authority to act as agent for the State of Illinois or any of its instrumentalities or political subdivisions, or for any of their officials or for any other person.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-917

    (625 ILCS 5/3-917) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-917)
    Sec. 3-917. Recovery of damages. Any person who shall have been damaged by reason of the failure of any "remittance agent" to fulfill the conditions of any bond filed pursuant to the provisions of this Act may maintain a suit thereon to recover his damages and his reasonable attorney's fees, against such "remittance agent" or his surety, or both: provided, however, the aggregate liability of the surety to all such persons shall, in no event, exceed the sum of such bond.
(Source: P.A. 76-1705.)

625 ILCS 5/3-918

    (625 ILCS 5/3-918)
    Sec. 3-918. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 98-756, eff. 7-16-14. Repealed by P.A. 98-787, eff. 7-25-14.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. X

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. X heading)
ARTICLE X. VEHICLE USE TAX

625 ILCS 5/3-1001

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1001) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1001)
    Sec. 3-1001. A tax is hereby imposed on the privilege of using, in this State, any motor vehicle as defined in Section 1-146 of this Code acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase, and having a year model designation preceding the year of application for title by 5 or fewer years prior to October 1, 1985 and 10 or fewer years on and after October 1, 1985 and prior to January 1, 1988. On and after January 1, 1988, the tax shall apply to all motor vehicles without regard to model year. Except that the tax shall not apply
        (i) if the use of the motor vehicle is otherwise
    
taxed under the Use Tax Act;
        (ii) if the motor vehicle is bought and used by a
    
governmental agency or a society, association, foundation or institution organized and operated exclusively for charitable, religious or educational purposes;
        (iii) if the use of the motor vehicle is not subject
    
to the Use Tax Act by reason of subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (e) or (f) of Section 3-55 of that Act dealing with the prevention of actual or likely multistate taxation;
        (iv) to implements of husbandry;
        (v) when a junking certificate is issued pursuant to
    
Section 3-117(a) of this Code;
        (vi) when a vehicle is subject to the replacement
    
vehicle tax imposed by Section 3-2001 of this Act;
        (vii) when the transfer is a gift to a beneficiary in
    
the administration of an estate and the beneficiary is a surviving spouse.
    Prior to January 1, 1988, the rate of tax shall be 5% of the selling price for each purchase of a motor vehicle covered by Section 3-1001 of this Code. Except as hereinafter provided, beginning January 1, 1988, the rate of tax shall be as follows for transactions in which the selling price of the motor vehicle is less than $15,000:
Number of Years Transpired AfterApplicable Tax
Model Year of Motor Vehicle
1 or less$390
2290
3215
4165
5115
690
780
865
950
1040
over 1025
Except as hereinafter provided, beginning January 1, 1988, the rate of tax shall be as follows for transactions in which the selling price of the motor vehicle is $15,000 or more:
Selling PriceApplicable Tax
$15,000 - $19,999$ 750
$20,000 - $24,999$1,000
$25,000 - $29,999$1,250
$30,000 and over$1,500
For the following transactions, the tax rate shall be $15 for each motor vehicle acquired in such transaction:
        (i) when the transferee or purchaser is the spouse,
    
mother, father, brother, sister or child of the transferor;
        (ii) when the transfer is a gift to a beneficiary in
    
the administration of an estate and the beneficiary is not a surviving spouse;
        (iii) when a motor vehicle which has once been
    
subjected to the Illinois retailers' occupation tax or use tax is transferred in connection with the organization, reorganization, dissolution or partial liquidation of an incorporated or unincorporated business wherein the beneficial ownership is not changed.
    A claim that the transaction is taxable under subparagraph (i) shall be supported by such proof of family relationship as provided by rules of the Department.
    For a transaction in which a motorcycle, motor driven cycle or moped is acquired the tax rate shall be $25.
    On and after October 1, 1985, 1/12 of $5,000,000 of the moneys received by the Department of Revenue pursuant to this Section shall be paid each month into the Build Illinois Fund and the remainder into the General Revenue Fund.
    The tax imposed by this Section shall be abated and no longer imposed when the amount deposited to secure the bonds issued pursuant to the Build Illinois Bond Act is sufficient to provide for the payment of the principal of, and interest and premium, if any, on the bonds, as certified to the State Comptroller and the Director of Revenue by the Director of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1002

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1002) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1002)
    Sec. 3-1002. The purchaser shall file a return signed by the purchaser with the Department of Revenue on a form prescribed by the Department. Such return shall contain substantially the following and such other information as the Department may reasonably require:
VERIFICATION
    I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge it is true, correct and complete. I understand that the penalty for willfully filing a false return shall be a fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment in a penal institution other than the penitentiary not to exceed one year, or both fine and imprisonment.
.....................                ........................
        Date                          Signature of purchaser
    Such return and payment from the purchaser shall be submitted to the Department after the sale and shall be a condition to securing in order to secure the title to the motor vehicle from the Secretary of State.
    When a purchaser pays the tax imposed by Section 3-1001 of this Code, the Department (upon request therefor from such purchaser) shall issue an appropriate receipt to such purchaser showing that he has paid such tax to the Department. Such receipt shall be sufficient to relieve the purchaser from further liability for the tax to which such receipt may refer.
(Source: P.A. 84-109.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1002.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1002.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1002.1)
    Sec. 3-1002.1. Any person required to file a return under this Article who willfully files a false or incomplete return is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 84-109.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1002.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1002.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1002.2)
    Sec. 3-1002.2. For the purpose of assisting in determining the validity of the "selling price" reported on returns filed with the Department, the Department may furnish the following information to persons with whom the Department has contracted for service related to making such determination: the selling price stated on the return; vehicle identification number; year, make and model name or number of the vehicle; county code; purchase date; and mileage.
(Source: P.A. 84-1307; 84-1438.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1003

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1003) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1003)
    Sec. 3-1003. The Department shall have full power to administer and enforce this Article; to collect all taxes, penalties and interest due hereunder; to dispose of taxes, penalties and interest so collected in the manner hereinafter provided, and to determine all rights to credit memoranda or refunds arising on account of the erroneous payment of tax penalty or interest hereunder. In the administration of, and compliance with, this Article, the Department and persons who are subject to this Article shall have the same rights, remedies, privileges, immunities, powers and duties, and be subject to the same conditions, restrictions, limitations, penalties and definitions of terms, and employ the same modes of procedure, as are prescribed in the Use Tax Act, as now or hereafter amended, which are not inconsistent with this Article, as fully as if provisions contained in those Sections of the Use Tax Act were set forth in this Article.
    In addition to any other penalties imposed under law, any person convicted of violating the provisions of this Article, shall be assessed a fine of $1,000.
(Source: P.A. 85-444.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1004

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1004) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1004)
    Sec. 3-1004. The State Department of Revenue shall, upon collecting any taxes as provided in this Article, pay such taxes over to the General Revenue Fund.
(Source: P.A. 84-471.)

625 ILCS 5/3-1005

    (625 ILCS 5/3-1005) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-1005)
    Sec. 3-1005. The Department shall have the authority to adopt such rules and regulations as are reasonable and necessary to implement the provisions of this Article.
(Source: P.A. 81-2nd S.S.-3.)