Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/18a-404

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-404) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-404)
    Sec. 18a-404. Operator's and dispatcher's employment permits - Revocation.
    (1) The Commission shall suspend or revoke the permit of an operator if it finds that:
        (a) The operator or dispatcher made a false statement
    
on the application for an operator's or dispatcher's employment permit;
        (b) The operator's or dispatcher's driver's license
    
issued by the Secretary of State has been suspended or revoked;
        (c) The operator or dispatcher has been convicted,
    
during the preceding 5 years, of any criminal offense of the State of Illinois or any other jurisdiction involving any of the following, and the holder does not make a compelling showing that he is nevertheless fit to hold an operator's license:
            (i) Bodily injury or attempt to inflict bodily
        
injury to another;
            (ii) Theft of property or attempted theft of
        
property; or
            (iii) Sexual assault or attempted sexual assault
        
of any kind; or
        (d) The operator or dispatcher has, during the
    
preceding 5 years, violated this Chapter, Commission regulations or orders, or any other law affecting public safety, and the holder does not make a compelling showing that he or she is nevertheless fit to hold an operator's license.
    (2) The Commission, upon notification and verification of any conviction described in this Section, of any person to whom license has been issued, occurring within the 5 years prior to such issuance or any time thereafter, shall immediately suspend the employment permit of such person, and issue an order setting forth the grounds for revocation. The person and his employer shall be notified of such suspension. Such person shall not thereafter be employed by a relocator until a final order is issued by the Commission either reinstating the employment permit, upon a finding that the reinstatement of an employment permit to the person constitutes no threat to the public safety, or revoking the employment permit.
    (3) If the employment permit is revoked, the person shall not thereafter be employed by a relocator until he obtains an employment permit license under Article IV of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 94-895, eff. 1-1-07; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

625 ILCS 5/18a-405

    (625 ILCS 5/18a-405) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-405)
    Sec. 18a-405. Operator's employment permits - Expiration and renewal. All operator's employment permits shall expire 2 years from the date of issuance by the Commission. The Commission may temporarily extend the duration of an employment permit for the pendency of a renewal application until formally approved or denied. Upon filing, no earlier than 90 nor later than 45 days prior to such expiration, of written application for renewal, acknowledged before a notary public, in such form and containing such information as the Commission shall by regulation require, and accompanied by the required fee and proof of possession of a valid driver's license issued by the Secretary of State, the Commission shall, unless it has received information of cause not to do so, renew the applicant's operator's employment permit. If the Commission does not renew such employment permit, it shall issue an order setting forth the grounds for denial. The Commission may at any time during the term of the employment permit make inquiry into the conduct of the permittee to determine that the provisions of this Chapter 18A and the regulations of the Commission promulgated thereunder are being adhered to.
(Source: P.A. 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)