Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/15-308.3
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/15-308.3)
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07. Repealed by P.A. 99-717, eff. 8-5-16.)
625 ILCS 5/15-309
(625 ILCS 5/15-309)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-309)
Fees for Moves Directly across Highway.
Fees for special permits for vehicles or vehicle combinations
exceeding the legal sizes and weights specified in this Chapter either
empty or hauling material directly across a highway making repeated
moves in the course of industrial operations, for a period of 6 months;
limited continuous operation permit only, $15.
(Source: P.A. 81-199.)
625 ILCS 5/15-310
(625 ILCS 5/15-310)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-310)
Fees for Buildings and Special Moves.
Fees for special permits for moving buildings or large machines.
(a) When moved on house moving equipment or on own trucks or tracks fees
will be based on maximum overall dimensions, plus engineering investigation
and police escort fees when required; single trip only.
(b) When moved on a vehicle or vehicle combination applicable
overdimension and overweight fees shall apply; single trip only.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/15-311
(625 ILCS 5/15-311)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-311)
Fees for Engineering Inspections or Field Investigations.
Engineering inspections or field investigations will be made
by the Department and the following fees shall be paid by the applicant:
for normal field investigations, or for special engineering
investigations requiring assessment of work to be done on the highway
and final inspection, $40 per hour.
(Source: P.A. 84-566.)
625 ILCS 5/15-312
(625 ILCS 5/15-312)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-312)
Fees for Police Escort.
When State Police escorts are required by the Department of Transportation for the
safety of the motoring public, the following fees shall be paid by the
(1) to the Department of Transportation: $40 per hour
per vehicle based upon the pre-estimated time of the movement to be agreed upon between the Department and the applicant, with a minimum fee of $80 per vehicle; and
(2) to the Illinois State Police: $60 per hour per
State Police vehicle based upon the actual time of the movement, with a minimum fee of $300 per State Police vehicle. The Illinois State Police shall remit the moneys to the State Treasurer, who shall deposit the moneys into the Over Dimensional Load Police Escort Fund.
The actual time of the movement shall be the time the police escort is required to pick up the movement to the time the movement is completed. Any delays or breakdowns shall be considered part of the movement time. Any fraction of an hour shall be rounded up to the next whole hour.
(Source: P.A. 95-787, eff. 1-1-09.)
625 ILCS 5/15-313
(625 ILCS 5/15-313)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-313)
Supplemental Permit Fee.
The Department shall collect a fee of $5 and other
applicable fees to cover the cost of processing an application for
supplemental special permit. This fee shall be charged for each
supplemental special permit issued. In addition, if the supplemental
permit provides for an increase in size or weight or both over that
specified in the original special permit, additional fees shall be
charged as provided in Sections 15-303 through 15-312 as applicable, to
correct for the increase.
(Source: P.A. 81-199.)
625 ILCS 5/15-314
(625 ILCS 5/15-314)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-314)
Payment of fees.
The Department shall prescribe the time
and method of payment of all appropriate fees authorized by Section 15-302
The Department may, at its discretion, establish credit accounts with billing
to be made at intervals not exceeding one month.
Failure to pay invoices in full within a period of 30 days after the billing
date shall be sufficient cause for the Department to withhold issuance of
any further permits or credit to the individual, company, or subsidiary firm.
The Department is authorized to charge a service fee of $3 for a dishonored payment
returned for any reason. All money received by the
Department under the provisions of this Section shall be deposited in
the Road Fund. No refund shall be made to applicant following issuance
of a permit if move is not completed.
(Source: P.A. 99-324, eff. 1-1-16
625 ILCS 5/15-315
(625 ILCS 5/15-315)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-315)
Exemptions to requirement of fees.
(a) The requirements as to fees authorized by Sections 15-302 through
15-314 shall not apply to the owner of the vehicle or vehicle combination
if owned by the United States, this State, or any political subdivision of
this State, or any municipality therein.
(b) The provisions of Sections 15-302 through 15-314 requiring fees for
a permit shall not modify, alter or in any manner affect either the
provisions of Section 15-301, or the policy of the
Department adopted for the administration of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 83-831
625 ILCS 5/15-316
(625 ILCS 5/15-316)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-316)
When the Department or local authority may restrict right to use highways.
(a) Except as provided in subsection (g), local authorities with
respect to highways under their jurisdiction may by ordinance or resolution
prohibit the operation of vehicles upon any such highway or impose
restrictions as to the weight of vehicles to be operated upon any such
highway, for a total period of not to exceed 90 days, measured in either consecutive or nonconsecutive days at the discretion of local authorities, in any one calendar
year, whenever any said highway by reason of deterioration, rain, snow, or
other climate conditions will be seriously damaged or destroyed unless the
use of vehicles thereon is prohibited or the permissible weights thereof
(b) The local authority
enacting any such ordinance or resolution shall erect or cause to be erected
and maintained signs designating the provision of the ordinance or resolution
at each end of that portion of any highway affected thereby, and the ordinance
or resolution shall not be effective unless and until such signs are erected
(c) Local authorities with
respect to highways under their jurisdiction may also, by ordinance or
resolution, prohibit the operation of trucks or other commercial vehicles,
or may impose limitations as the weight thereof, on designated highways, which
prohibitions and limitations shall be designated by appropriate signs placed on
(c-5) Highway commissioners, with respect to roads under their authority, may not permanently post a road or portion thereof at a reduced weight limit unless the decision to do so is made in accordance with Section 6-201.22 of the Illinois Highway Code.
(d) The Department shall likewise have authority as hereinbefore
granted to local authorities to
determine by resolution and to impose restrictions as to the weight of vehicles
operated upon any highway under the jurisdiction of said department, and such
restrictions shall be effective when signs giving notice thereof are erected
upon the highway or portion of any highway affected by such resolution.
(e) When any vehicle is operated in violation of this Section, the owner
or driver of the vehicle shall be deemed guilty of a violation and either the
owner or the driver of the vehicle may be prosecuted for the violation. Any
person, firm, or corporation convicted of violating this Section shall be fined
$50 for any weight exceeding the posted limit up to the axle or gross weight
limit allowed a vehicle as provided for in subsections (a) or (b) of Section
15-111 and $75 per every 500 pounds or fraction thereof for any weight
exceeding that which is provided for in subsections (a) or
(b) of Section 15-111.
(f) A municipality is authorized to enforce a county weight limit
ordinance applying to county highways within its corporate limits and is
entitled to the proceeds of any fines collected from the enforcement.
(g) An ordinance or resolution enacted by a county or township pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section shall not apply to cargo tank vehicles with two or three permanent axles when delivering propane for emergency heating purposes if the cargo tank is loaded at no more than 50 percent capacity, the gross vehicle weight of the vehicle does not exceed 32,000 pounds, and the driver of the cargo tank vehicle notifies the appropriate agency or agencies with jurisdiction over the highway before driving the vehicle on the highway pursuant to this subsection. The cargo tank vehicle must have an operating gauge on the cargo tank which indicates the amount of propane as a percent of capacity of the cargo tank. The cargo tank must have the capacity displayed on the cargo tank, or documentation of the capacity of the cargo tank must be available in the vehicle. For the purposes of this subsection, propane weighs 4.2 pounds per gallon. This subsection does not apply to municipalities. Nothing in this subsection shall allow cargo tank
to cross bridges with posted weight restrictions if the vehicle exceeds the posted weight limit.
(Source: P.A. 99-168, eff. 1-1-16; 99-237, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)
625 ILCS 5/15-317
(625 ILCS 5/15-317)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-317)
Special weight limitation on elevated structures.
(a) No person shall operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles over a
bridge or other elevated structure constituting a part of a highway with a
gross weight which is greater than the maximum weight permitted by the
Department, when such structure is sign posted as provided in this Section.
(b) The Department upon request from any local authority shall, or upon
its own initiative may, conduct an investigation of any bridge or other
elevated structure constituting a part of a highway, and if it finds that
such structure cannot with safety to itself withstand the weight of
vehicles otherwise permissible under this Chapter the Department shall
determine and declare the maximum weight of vehicles which such structure
can withstand, and shall cause or permit suitable signs stating maximum
weight to be erected and maintained before each end of such structure.
(c) Upon the trial of any person charged with a violation of this
Section proof of the determination of the maximum allowable weight by the
Department and the existence of the signs, constitutes conclusive evidence
of the maximum weight which can be maintained with safety to such bridge or
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/15-318
(625 ILCS 5/15-318)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-318)
Liability if highway or structure damaged.
(a) Any person driving any vehicle, object or contrivance upon any
highway or highway structure is liable for all damage which the highway
or structure may sustain as a result of any illegal operation, driving
or moving of such vehicle, object or contrivance, or as a result of
operating, driving, or moving any vehicle, object, or contrivance
exceeding the maximum dimensions or weighing in excess of the maximum
weight specified in this Chapter but authorized by a special permit
issued as provided in this Chapter. The measure of liability is the cost
of repairing a facility partially damaged or the depreciated replacement
cost of a facility damaged beyond repair together with all other
expenses incurred by the authorities in control of the highway or
highway structure in providing a temporary detour, including a temporary
structure, to serve the needs of traffic during the period of repair or
replacement of the damaged highway or highway structure.
(b) Whenever such driver is not the owner of such vehicle, object,
or contrivance, but is so operating, driving, or moving the same with
the express or implied permission of such owner, then the owner and
driver are jointly and severally liable to the extent provided in
paragraph (a) of this Section.
(c) Recovery may be had in a civil action brought by the authorities
in control of such highway or highway structure.
(Source: P.A. 81-199.)
625 ILCS 5/15-319
(625 ILCS 5/15-319)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-319)
Special registration of vehicles by department.
(a) Applicants for special permits authorized in Section 15-301 may apply
to the Department for an Illinois Department of Transportation
(IDT) registration number and classification identification
label issued for the purpose of identifying and classifying vehicles or
combinations of vehicles that may be operated or moved by special
permit. Applications shall be made on a form provided by the Department
and certified to be true.
(b) For a fee of $5 and following an analysis of data submitted by
the applicant, the Department may, at its discretion, issue an Illinois
Department of Transportation (IDT) registration number and classification
identification label. The label shall be issued for a period of not to
exceed 2 years or for a lesser period of time in conformance with rules
to be established by the Department and to be valid must be displayed in
a conspicuous place on the outside of a vehicle as designated by the
Department. The label, all forms, records, rules, procedures, methods of
analysis, and classification shall be in the form or as prescribed in
rules promulgated by the Department.
(c) All monies received by the Department under the provisions of
this Section shall be deposited in the Road Fund. Vehicle classification
shall be for identification purposes and shall not alter or in any
manner affect either the provisions of Section 15-301 or the
policy adopted by the Department for the administration thereof.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 16
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 16 heading)
ENFORCEMENT, PENALTIES AND DISPOSITION
OF FINES AND FORFEITURES, AND CRIMINAL CASES
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 16 Art. I
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 16 Art. I heading)
ENFORCEMENT, PENALTIES AND
DISPOSITION OF FINES AND FORFEITURES
625 ILCS 5/16-101
(625 ILCS 5/16-101)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 16-101)
The provisions of this Chapter shall be applicable to the enforcement of
this entire Code, except where another penalty is set forth in a specific
Chapter which is applicable to that Chapter or a designated part or Section thereof.
(Source: P.A. 82-1011.)
625 ILCS 5/16-102
(625 ILCS 5/16-102)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 16-102)
Arrests - Investigations - Prosecutions.
(a) The State Police shall patrol the public highways and make arrests
for violation of the provisions of this Act.
(b) The Secretary of State, through the investigators provided for in
this Act shall investigate and report violations of the provisions of
this Act in relation to the equipment and operation of vehicles as
provided for in Section 2-115 and for such purposes these investigators
have and may exercise throughout the State all of the powers of police officers.
(c) The State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurs
shall prosecute all violations except when the violation occurs within
the corporate limits of a municipality, the municipal attorney may
prosecute if written permission to do so is obtained from the State's
(d) The State's Attorney of the county in which the violation occurs may not grant to the municipal attorney permission to prosecute if the offense charged is a felony under Section 11-501 of this Code. The municipality may, however, charge an offender with a municipal misdemeanor offense if the State's Attorney rejects or denies felony charges for the conduct that comprises the charge.
(Source: P.A. 94-111, eff. 1-1-06; 94-740, eff. 5-8-06.)
625 ILCS 5/16-102.5
(625 ILCS 5/16-102.5)
Enforcement by municipality.
(a) If a municipality adopts an
ordinance similar to subsection (f) of Section 3-413 or Section 11-1304.5
of this Code, any person
that a municipality designates to enforce ordinances regulating the standing or
parking of vehicles shall have the authority to enforce the provisions of
subsection (f) of Section 3-413 or Section 11-1304.5 of this Code or the
similar local ordinance.
However, the authority to enforce subsection (f) of Section 3-413 or Section
11-1304.5 of this Code
or a similar local ordinance shall not be given to an appointed volunteer or
private or public entity under contract to enforce person with
disabilities parking laws.
(b) To enforce the provisions of subsection (f) of Section 3-413 or
Section 11-1304.5 of this
Code or a similar local ordinance, a municipality shall impose a fine not
(Source: P.A. 90-513, eff. 8-22-97; 90-655, eff. 7-30-98; 91-487, eff. 1-1-00.)
625 ILCS 5/16-103
(625 ILCS 5/16-103)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 16-103)
Arrest outside county where violation committed.
Whenever a defendant is arrested upon a warrant charging a violation of
this Act in a county other than that in which such warrant was issued, the
arresting officer, immediately upon the request of the defendant, shall
take such defendant before a circuit judge or associate circuit judge in
the county in which the arrest was made who shall admit the defendant to
bail for his appearance before the court named in the warrant. On taking
such bail the circuit judge or associate circuit judge shall certify such
fact on the warrant and deliver the warrant and undertaking of bail or
other security, or the drivers license of such defendant if deposited,
under the law relating to such licenses, in lieu of such security, to the
officer having charge of the defendant. Such officer shall then immediately
discharge the defendant from arrest and without delay deliver such warrant
and such undertaking of bail, or other security or drivers license to the
court before which the defendant is required to appear.
(Source: P.A. 77-1280.)
625 ILCS 5/16-104
(625 ILCS 5/16-104)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 16-104)
Every person convicted of a violation of any
provision of this
Code for which another penalty is not provided shall, for a
second conviction thereof, be guilty of a petty offense and, for
third or subsequent conviction within one year after the first
conviction, be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)