Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.


()

625 ILCS 5/13-109.1

    (625 ILCS 5/13-109.1)
    Sec. 13-109.1. Annual emission inspection tests; standards; penalties; funds.
    (a) For each diesel powered vehicle that (i) is registered for a gross weight of more than 16,000 pounds, (ii) is registered within an affected area, and (iii) is a 2 year or older model year, an annual emission inspection test shall be conducted at an official testing station certified by the Illinois Department of Transportation to perform diesel emission inspections pursuant to the standards set forth in subsection (b) of this Section. This annual emission inspection test may be conducted in conjunction with a semi-annual safety test.
    (a-5) (Blank).
    (b) Diesel emission inspections conducted under this Chapter 13 shall be conducted in accordance with the Society of Automotive Engineers Recommended Practice J1667 "Snap-Acceleration Smoke Test Procedure for Heavy-Duty Diesel Powered Vehicles" and the cutpoint standards set forth in the United States Environmental Protection Agency guidance document "Guidance to States on Smoke Opacity Cutpoints to be used with the SAE J1667 In-Use Smoke Test Procedure". Those procedures and standards, as now in effect, are made a part of this Code, in the same manner as though they were set out in full in this Code.
    Notwithstanding the above cutpoint standards, for motor vehicles that are model years 1973 and older, until December 31, 2002, the level of peak smoke opacity shall not exceed 70 percent. Beginning January 1, 2003, for motor vehicles that are model years 1973 and older, the level of peak smoke opacity shall not exceed 55 percent.
    (c) If the annual emission inspection under subsection (a) reveals that the vehicle is not in compliance with the diesel emission standards set forth in subsection (b) of this Section, the operator of the official testing station shall issue a warning notice requiring correction of the violation. The correction shall be made and the vehicle submitted to an emissions retest at an official testing station certified by the Department to perform diesel emission inspections within 30 days from the issuance of the warning notice requiring correction of the violation.
    If, within 30 days from the issuance of the warning notice, the vehicle is not in compliance with the diesel emission standards set forth in subsection (b) as determined by an emissions retest at an official testing station, the operator of the official testing station or the Department shall place the vehicle out-of-service in accordance with the rules promulgated by the Department. Operating a vehicle that has been placed out-of-service under this subsection (c) is a petty offense punishable by a $1,000 fine. The vehicle must pass a diesel emission inspection at an official testing station before it is again placed in service. The Secretary of State, Department of State Police, and other law enforcement officers shall enforce this Section. No emergency vehicle, as defined in Section 1-105, may be placed out-of-service pursuant to this Section.
    The Department or an official testing station may issue a certificate of waiver subsequent to a reinspection of a vehicle that failed the emissions inspection. Certificate of waiver shall be issued upon determination that documented proof demonstrates that emissions repair costs for the noncompliant vehicle of at least $3,000 have been spent in an effort to achieve compliance with the emission standards set forth in subsection (b). The Department of Transportation shall adopt rules for the implementation of this subsection including standards of documented proof as well as the criteria by which a waiver shall be granted.
    (c-5) (Blank).
    (d) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18.)

625 ILCS 5/13-109.2

    (625 ILCS 5/13-109.2)
    Sec. 13-109.2. Pollution Control Board diesel emission standards and tests. Within 8 months of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, the Pollution Control Board shall amend its heavy-duty diesel smoke opacity standards and test procedures to be consistent with the procedures and standards set forth in Section 13-109.1.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/13-109.3

    (625 ILCS 5/13-109.3)
    Sec. 13-109.3. Exemption from diesel emissions inspections. Second division vehicles being operated on plates issued pursuant to subsection (c) of Section 3-815 are exempt from the diesel emissions inspection requirements set forth in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/13-110

    (625 ILCS 5/13-110) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-110)
    Sec. 13-110. Certificate of safety. (a) Certificates of Safety shall be in contrasting colors, with a number on the face of the Certificate indicating the month of the next inspection period the vehicle is subject to inspection. Certificates for school buses shall also indicate the mileage at which the school bus shall be subject to inspection if it occurs before the next regular inspection period. The colors of Certificates of Safety shall be prescribed by the Department.
    (b) Certificates of Safety, which remain the property of the State of Illinois, will be provided to Official Testing Stations by the Department at the fee of $1 each. Certificates of Safety which remain unused at the end of each inspection period will be redeemed for the same amount in a manner prescribed by the Department.
    (c) Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed as a suggestion or direction to any owner to require him to have any repairs made or any work done by any official testing station, but all tests must be made at an official testing station to secure the issuance of a certificate of safety, and no certificate of safety issued by any other than an official testing station shall be deemed a compliance with this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 83-311.)

625 ILCS 5/13-111

    (625 ILCS 5/13-111) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-111)
    Sec. 13-111. Operation without certificate of safety attached; Effective date of certificate.
    (a) Except as provided for in Chapter 13, no person shall operate any vehicle required to be inspected by this Chapter upon the highways of this State unless there is affixed to that vehicle a certificate of safety then in effect. The Secretary of State, State Police, and other police officers shall enforce this Section. The Department shall determine the expiration date of the certificate of safety.
    The certificates, all forms and records, reports of tests and retests, and the full procedure and methods of making the tests and retests, shall be in the form prescribed by the Department.
    (b) Every person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a petty offense with a minimum fine of $95 and a maximum fine of $250; unless the violation is contemporaneous with a motor vehicle accident, in which case the person is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-489, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/13-112

    (625 ILCS 5/13-112) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-112)
    Sec. 13-112. Exemption from local tests. Any second division vehicle or limousine displaying a certificate of safety issued under this Chapter is exempt from any test required by ordinance or otherwise in any city, village or incorporated town in this State.
(Source: P.A. 87-1111.)

625 ILCS 5/13-113

    (625 ILCS 5/13-113) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-113)
    Sec. 13-113. Sale or exchange of used vehicle without certificate of safety. No person engaged in the business of buying, selling or exchanging motor vehicles shall sell, transfer or exchange any used second division vehicle or medical transport vehicle unless it has been tested and a currently valid certificate of safety has been issued therefor: Provided, that such person engaged in the business of buying, selling or exchanging motor vehicles may sell, transfer or exchange any used second division vehicle or medical transport vehicle without a valid certificate of safety if the sale, transfer or exchange is for the purpose of restoring or repairing such vehicle to a condition in which it can pass the test for a certificate of safety, or for the purpose of junking. Provided, however, that the used second division vehicle or medical transport vehicle is not moved under its own power to the location in which it will be restored, repaired or junked.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)

625 ILCS 5/13-114

    (625 ILCS 5/13-114) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-114)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 101-362)
    Sec. 13-114. Interstate carriers of property. Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by an interstate carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of this Chapter provided such carrier has registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration as an interstate motor carrier of property and has been assigned a federal census number by such Bureau. An interstate carrier of property, however, is not exempt from the provisions of Section 13-111(b) of this Chapter.
    Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by a private interstate carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of this Chapter, except the provisions of Section 13-111(b), provided it:
        1. is registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier
    
Safety of the Federal Highway Administration, and
        2. carries in the motor vehicle documentation issued
    
by the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration displaying the federal census number assigned, and
        3. displays on the sides of the motor vehicle the
    
census number, which must be no less than 2 inches high, with a brush stroke no less than 1/4 inch wide in a contrasting color.
    Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, each diesel powered vehicle that is registered for a gross weight of more than 16,000 pounds or has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds and that is operated by an interstate carrier of property or a private interstate carrier of property within the affected area is subject to the provisions of this Chapter that pertain to diesel emission inspections.
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 101-362)
    Sec. 13-114. Interstate carriers of property. Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by an interstate carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of this Chapter provided such carrier has registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration as an interstate motor carrier of property and has been assigned a federal census number by such Bureau. An interstate carrier of property, however, is not exempt from the provisions of Section 13-111(b) of this Chapter.
    Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by a private interstate carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of this Chapter, except the provisions of Section 13-111(b), provided it:
        1. is registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier
    
Safety of the Federal Highway Administration, and
        2. carries in the motor vehicle documentation issued
    
by the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration displaying the federal census number assigned, and
        3. displays on the sides of the motor vehicle the
    
census number, which must be no less than 2 inches high, with a brush stroke no less than 1/4 inch wide in a contrasting color.
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18; 101-362, eff. 1-1-20.)

625 ILCS 5/13-115

    (625 ILCS 5/13-115) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-115)
    Sec. 13-115. School buses-pretrip inspections. Each day that a school bus is operated the driver shall conduct a pretrip inspection of the mechanical and safety equipment on the bus as prescribed by rule or regulation of the Department. A person other than the driver may perform portions of the pretrip inspection as prescribed by rule of the Department.
(Source: P.A. 89-658, eff. 1-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/13-116

    (625 ILCS 5/13-116) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-116)
    Sec. 13-116. All funds collected by the Department under this Chapter shall be deposited in the road fund in the State Treasury.
(Source: P.A. 80-606.)

625 ILCS 5/13-116.1

    (625 ILCS 5/13-116.1)
    Sec. 13-116.1. Emission inspection funding. The Department of Transportation shall be reimbursed for all expenses related to the training, equipment, recordkeeping, and conducting of diesel powered emission inspections pursuant to this Chapter 13 when that testing is conducted within the affected areas, subject to appropriation, from the General Revenue Fund. No moneys from any funds other than the General Revenue Fund shall be appropriated for diesel emission inspections under this Chapter 13.
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18.)

625 ILCS 5/13-117

    (625 ILCS 5/13-117)
    Sec. 13-117. Home rule. A unit of local government within the affected areas, including home rule units, shall not require or conduct a diesel emission inspection program that does not meet or exceed the standards of the diesel emission inspections provided for in this Chapter 13. A unit of local government within the affected areas, including home rule units, must affirmatively comply with the diesel emission inspection requirements of this Chapter 13. This Section is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 13A

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 13A heading)
CHAPTER 13A. EMISSION INSPECTION
(Repealed by P.A. 92-682, eff. 1-1-03.)