Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/13-109.1
(625 ILCS 5/13-109.1)
Annual emission inspection tests;
(a) For each diesel powered vehicle that (i) is registered for a gross
more than 16,000 pounds, (ii) is registered within an affected area, and
(iii) is a 2 year
or older model year, an annual emission
shall be conducted at an official testing station certified by the Illinois
of Transportation to perform
diesel emission inspections pursuant to the standards set forth in
(b) of this
Section. This annual emission inspection test may be conducted in conjunction
semi-annual safety test.
(b) Diesel emission inspections conducted under this Chapter 13 shall be
conducted in accordance with the Society of Automotive Engineers Recommended
"Snap-Acceleration Smoke Test Procedure for Heavy-Duty Diesel Powered
Vehicles" and the cutpoint standards set forth in the United States
Environmental Protection Agency guidance
document "Guidance to States on Smoke Opacity Cutpoints to be used with the
SAE J1667 In-Use Smoke Test Procedure". Those procedures and standards, as
now in effect, are made a part of this Code, in the same manner as though they
were set out in full in this Code.
Notwithstanding the above cutpoint standards, for motor vehicles that are
model years 1973 and
2002, the level of peak smoke opacity shall not exceed 70 percent. Beginning
1, 2003, for motor vehicles that are model years 1973 and older, the level of
opacity shall not exceed 55 percent.
(c) If the annual emission inspection under subsection (a) reveals
that the vehicle is not in compliance with
diesel emission standards set forth in subsection (b) of this Section, the
operator of the
testing station shall issue a warning notice requiring correction of the
violation. The correction shall be made and the vehicle submitted to an
emissions retest at an official testing station certified by the Department to
perform diesel emission inspections within 30 days from the issuance of the
warning notice requiring correction of the violation.
If, within 30 days from the issuance of the warning notice, the vehicle is
not in compliance with the diesel
emission standards set forth in subsection (b) as determined by an emissions
retest at an official testing station, the operator of the official
testing station or the Department shall place the vehicle out-of-service in
accordance with the rules promulgated by the Department. Operating a vehicle
that has been placed out-of-service under this subsection (c) is a petty
offense punishable by a $1,000 fine.
The vehicle must pass a diesel emission inspection at an official testing
station before it is again placed in service.
The Secretary of State, Department of State Police, and other law enforcement
officers shall enforce this Section.
No emergency vehicle, as defined in Section 1-105, may be placed out-of-service
pursuant to this Section.
The Department or an official testing station may issue a certificate of
waiver subsequent to a reinspection of a vehicle that failed the emissions
inspection. Certificate of waiver shall be issued upon determination that
documented proof demonstrates that emissions repair costs for the noncompliant
vehicle of at least $3,000 have been spent in an effort to achieve
compliance with the emission standards set forth in subsection (b). The
Department of Transportation shall adopt rules for the implementation of this
subsection including standards of documented proof as well as the criteria by
which a waiver shall be granted.
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18.)
625 ILCS 5/13-109.2
(625 ILCS 5/13-109.2)
Pollution Control Board diesel emission standards and
tests. Within 8 months of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the
91st General Assembly, the Pollution Control Board shall amend its heavy-duty
diesel smoke opacity standards and test procedures to be consistent with the
procedures and standards set forth in Section 13-109.1.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)
625 ILCS 5/13-109.3
(625 ILCS 5/13-109.3)
Exemption from diesel emissions inspections.
Second division vehicles being operated on plates issued pursuant to
subsection (c) of Section 3-815
are exempt from the diesel emissions inspection requirements set forth
in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)
625 ILCS 5/13-110
(625 ILCS 5/13-110)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-110)
Certificate of safety.
(a) Certificates of Safety shall be
in contrasting colors, with a number on the face of the Certificate indicating
the month of the next inspection period the vehicle is subject to inspection.
Certificates for school buses shall also indicate the mileage at which the
school bus shall be subject to inspection if it occurs before the next regular
inspection period. The colors of Certificates of Safety shall be prescribed
by the Department.
(b) Certificates of Safety, which remain the property of the State of
Illinois, will be provided to Official Testing Stations by the Department
at the fee of $1 each. Certificates of Safety which remain
unused at the end of each inspection period will be redeemed for the same
amount in a manner prescribed by the Department.
(c) Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed as a suggestion or direction
to any owner to require him to have any repairs made or any work done by
any official testing station, but all tests must be made at an official
testing station to secure the issuance of a certificate of safety, and no
certificate of safety issued by any other than an official testing station
shall be deemed a compliance with this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 83-311.)
625 ILCS 5/13-111
(625 ILCS 5/13-111)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-111)
Operation without certificate of safety attached; Effective date
(a) Except as provided for in Chapter 13, no person shall operate any
vehicle required to be inspected by this Chapter upon the highways of this
State unless there is affixed to that vehicle a certificate of safety then in
effect. The Secretary of State, State Police, and other police officers shall
enforce this Section. The Department shall determine the expiration date of the
certificate of safety.
The certificates, all forms and records, reports of tests and retests,
and the full procedure and methods of making the tests and retests, shall
be in the form prescribed by the Department.
(b) Every person convicted of violating this Section is guilty
of a petty offense with a minimum fine of $95 and a maximum fine of $250; unless the violation is contemporaneous with a motor vehicle accident, in which case the person is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-489, eff. 1-1-14.)
625 ILCS 5/13-112
(625 ILCS 5/13-112)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-112)
Exemption from local tests.
Any second division vehicle or limousine displaying a certificate of safety
under this Chapter is exempt from any test required by ordinance or
otherwise in any city, village or incorporated town in this State.
(Source: P.A. 87-1111.)
625 ILCS 5/13-113
(625 ILCS 5/13-113)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-113)
Sale or exchange of used vehicle without
certificate of safety. No person engaged in the business of buying,
selling or exchanging motor vehicles shall sell, transfer or exchange
any used second division vehicle or medical transport vehicle unless
it has been tested and a
currently valid certificate of safety has been issued therefor:
Provided, that such person engaged in the business of buying, selling or
exchanging motor vehicles may sell, transfer or exchange any used second
division vehicle or medical transport vehicle
without a valid certificate of safety if the sale,
transfer or exchange is for the purpose of restoring or repairing such
vehicle to a condition in which it can pass the test for a certificate
of safety, or for the purpose of junking. Provided, however, that the
used second division vehicle or medical transport vehicle
is not moved under its own power to the
location in which it will be restored, repaired or junked.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)
625 ILCS 5/13-114
(625 ILCS 5/13-114)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-114)
Interstate carriers of property.
Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by an interstate carrier
of property shall be exempt from the provisions of
this Chapter provided such carrier has registered with the Bureau of
Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration
as an interstate motor carrier of property and has been assigned a
federal census number by such Bureau. An interstate carrier of
property, however, is not exempt from the provisions of
of this Chapter.
Any vehicle registered in Illinois and operated by a private interstate
carrier of property shall be exempt from the provisions of this Chapter,
except the provisions of Section 13-111(b),
1. is registered with the Bureau of Motor Carrier
Safety of the Federal Highway Administration, and
2. carries in the motor vehicle documentation issued
by the Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety of the Federal Highway Administration displaying the federal census number assigned, and
3. displays on the sides of the motor vehicle the
census number, which must be no less than 2 inches high, with a brush stroke no less than 1/4 inch wide in a contrasting color.
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18; 101-362, eff. 1-1-20
625 ILCS 5/13-115
(625 ILCS 5/13-115)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-115)
School buses-pretrip inspections.
Each day that a school bus is operated the driver shall conduct a
pretrip inspection of the mechanical and safety equipment on the bus as
prescribed by rule or regulation of the Department.
A person other than the driver may perform portions of the pretrip inspection
as prescribed by rule of the Department.
(Source: P.A. 89-658, eff. 1-1-97.)
625 ILCS 5/13-116
(625 ILCS 5/13-116)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 13-116)
All funds collected by the Department under this Chapter
shall be deposited in the road fund in the State Treasury.
(Source: P.A. 80-606.)
625 ILCS 5/13-116.1
(625 ILCS 5/13-116.1)
Emission inspection funding.
The Department of
shall be reimbursed for all expenses
related to the training, equipment, recordkeeping, and conducting of
diesel powered emission inspections pursuant to this Chapter 13 when that
testing is conducted within the affected areas, subject to
from the General Revenue Fund. No moneys
from any funds other than the General
Revenue Fund shall be appropriated for
diesel emission inspections under
(Source: P.A. 100-700, eff. 8-3-18.)
625 ILCS 5/13-117
(625 ILCS 5/13-117)
A unit of local government within the affected
areas, including home rule units, shall not require or
conduct a diesel emission inspection program that does not meet or exceed the
standards of the diesel emission inspections provided for in
this Chapter 13. A unit of local government within the affected areas,
including home rule units, must affirmatively comply with the diesel emission
inspection requirements of this Chapter 13.
This Section is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of
Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home
units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 91-254, eff. 7-1-00.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 13A
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 13A heading)
(Repealed by P.A. 92-682, eff. 1-1-03.)