Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/11-1406
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/11-1406)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1406)
Obstruction of driver's view or driving mechanism.
(a) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so loaded, or when there
are in the front seat such a number of persons, exceeding three, as to obstruct
the view of
the driver to the front or sides of the vehicle or as to interfere with the
driver's control over the driving mechanism of the vehicle.
(b) No passenger in a vehicle or streetcar shall ride in such position as
to interfere with the driver's or motorman's view ahead or to the sides, or
to interfere with his control over the driving mechanism of the vehicle or
(c) No passenger on a school bus may ride or stand in a position as to
interfere with the driver's view ahead or to the side or to the rear, or to
interfere with his control of the driving mechanism of the bus.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1407
(625 ILCS 5/11-1407)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1407)
Opening and closing vehicle doors.
No person shall open the door of a vehicle on the side available to
moving traffic unless and until it is reasonably safe to do so, and can be
done without interfering with the movement of other traffic, nor shall any
person leave a door open on the side of a vehicle available to moving
traffic for a period of time longer than necessary to load or unload
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1408
(625 ILCS 5/11-1408)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1408)
Riding in towed vehicles.
No person or persons shall occupy
a trailer, semitrailer, farm wagon, or any other vehicle while it is being towed upon a public highway, unless:
(1) the occupancy of the towed vehicle is necessary
to avoid an imminent threat to a person's safety due to extreme weather conditions or another emergency situation;
(2) the speed of the vehicle does not exceed 15 miles
per hour and the vehicle is used in connection with a parade, farming-related activity, or similar activity; or
(3) the speed of the vehicle does not exceed 15 miles
per hour and the passenger is over the age of 18.
(Source: P.A. 97-17, eff. 1-1-12.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1409
(625 ILCS 5/11-1409)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1409)
Driving on mountain highways.
The driver of a motor vehicle traveling through defiles or canyons or on
mountain highways shall hold such motor vehicle under control and as near
the right-hand edge of the roadway as reasonably possible and,
except when driving entirely to the right of the center of the roadway,
shall give audible warning with the horn of such
motor vehicle upon approaching any curve where the view is obstructed within
a distance of 200 feet along the highway.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1410
(625 ILCS 5/11-1410)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1410)
(a) The driver of any motor vehicle when traveling upon a down grade shall
not coast with the gears or transmission of such vehicle in neutral.
(b) The driver of a truck or bus when traveling
upon a down grade shall not coast with the clutch disengaged.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1411
(625 ILCS 5/11-1411)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1411)
Following fire apparatus prohibited.
The driver of any vehicle other than one on official business shall not
follow any fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than
500 feet or stop such vehicle within 500 feet of any fire
apparatus stopped in answer to a fire alarm.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1412
(625 ILCS 5/11-1412)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1412)
Crossing fire hose.
No vehicle shall be driven over any unprotected hose of a fire
department when laid down on any street, private road or driveway to be
used at any fire or alarm of fire, without the consent of the fire
department official in command.
(Source: P.A. 76-1736.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1412.1
(625 ILCS 5/11-1412.1)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1412.1)
Driving upon sidewalk.
No person shall drive any vehicle
upon a sidewalk or
sidewalk area except upon a permanent or duly authorized temporary
driveway. This Section does not apply to any vehicle moved exclusively
by human power, to any electric personal assistive mobility device, nor to
any motorized wheelchair.
Nothing in this Section shall be deemed to limit
or preempt the authority of any home rule or non-home rule unit of local
government from regulating or prohibiting the use of electric personal
assistive mobility devices.
(Source: P.A. 92-868, eff. 6-1-03.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1412.2
(625 ILCS 5/11-1412.2)
Operating an electric personal assistive mobility device
on a public sidewalk. A person may not operate an electric personal assistive
mobility device upon a public sidewalk at a speed greater than 8 miles per
Nothing in this Section shall be deemed to limit or preempt the authority of
any home rule or non-home rule unit of local government from regulating or
prohibiting the use of electric personal assistive mobility devices.
(Source: P.A. 92-868, eff. 6-1-03.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1413
(625 ILCS 5/11-1413)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1413)
Depositing material on highway prohibited.
(a) No person shall throw, spill or deposit upon any highway any bottle,
glass, nails, tacks, wire, cans, or any litter (as defined in Section 3 of
the Litter Control Act).
(b) Any person who violates subsection (a) upon any highway shall
immediately remove such material or cause it to be removed.
(c) Any person removing a wrecked or damaged vehicle from a highway
shall remove any glass or other debris, except any hazardous substance as
defined in Section 3.215 of the Environmental Protection Act,
hazardous waste as defined in Section 3.220 of the Environmental
Protection Act, and potentially infectious medical waste as defined in Section
3.360 of the Environmental Protection Act, dropped upon the
highway from such vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 92-574, eff. 6-26-02.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1414
(625 ILCS 5/11-1414)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1414)
Approaching, overtaking, and passing school bus.
(a) The driver of a vehicle shall stop such vehicle before meeting or
overtaking, from either direction, any school bus stopped at any location for
the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils. Such stop is required before
reaching the school bus when there is in operation on the school
bus the visual signals as specified in Sections 12-803 and 12-805 of this
Code. The driver of the vehicle shall not proceed until the
school bus resumes motion or the driver of the vehicle is signaled by the
school bus driver to proceed or the visual signals are no longer actuated.
(b) The stop signal arm required by Section 12-803 of this Code shall
be extended after the school bus has come to a complete stop for the purpose of
loading or discharging pupils and shall be closed before the school bus
is placed in motion again. The stop signal arm shall
not be extended at any other time.
(c) The alternately flashing red signal lamps of an
8-lamp flashing signal system required by Section 12-805 of this Code
shall be actuated after the school bus has come to a complete stop for the
loading or discharging pupils and shall be turned off before
the school bus is placed in motion again. The red signal
lamps shall not be actuated at any other time
except as provided in paragraph (d) of this Section.
(d) The alternately flashing amber signal lamps of an 8-lamp
flashing signal system required by Section 12-805 of this
Code shall be actuated continuously during not less than the last 100
feet traveled by the school bus before stopping for the purpose of loading
or discharging pupils within an urban area and during not less than
the last 200 feet traveled by the school
bus outside an urban area. The amber signal lamps shall remain actuated
until the school
bus is stopped. The amber signal lamps shall not be actuated at any other time.
(d-5) The alternately flashing head lamps permitted by Section 12-805 of
this Code may be operated while the alternately flashing red or amber signal
lamps required by that Section are actuated.
(e) The driver of a vehicle upon a highway having 4 or more lanes which
permits at least 2 lanes of traffic to travel in opposite directions need not
stop such vehicle upon meeting a school bus which is stopped in the opposing
roadway; and need not stop such vehicle when driving upon a controlled access
highway when passing a school bus traveling in either direction that is stopped
in a loading zone
adjacent to the surfaced or improved part of the controlled access
highway where pedestrians are not permitted to cross.
(f) Beginning with the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1985,
the Secretary of State shall suspend for a period of 3 months
privileges of any person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) of this
Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance; the Secretary shall
suspend for a period of one year the driving privileges of any person convicted
of a second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section or a
similar provision of a local ordinance if the second or subsequent violation
occurs within 5 years of a prior conviction for the same offense. In addition
to the suspensions authorized by this Section, any person convicted of
violating this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance
shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $150 or, upon a second or subsequent
The Secretary may also grant, for the duration of any
suspension issued under this subsection, a restricted driving permit
granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the driver's
residence and place of employment or within other proper limits that the
Secretary of State shall find necessary to avoid any undue hardship. A
restricted driving permit issued hereunder shall be subject to
cancellation, revocation and suspension by the Secretary of State in like
manner and for like cause as a driver's license may be cancelled, revoked
or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against
laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed
sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension or cancellation of the
restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to
the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require the applicant to
participate in a designated driver remedial or rehabilitative program. Any
conviction for a violation of this subsection shall be included as an
offense for the purposes of determining suspension action under any other
provision of this Code, provided however, that the penalties provided under
this subsection shall be imposed unless those penalties imposed under other
applicable provisions are greater.
The owner of any vehicle alleged to have violated paragraph (a) of this
Section shall, upon appropriate demand by the State's Attorney or other
designated person acting in response to a signed complaint, provide
a written statement or deposition identifying the operator of the vehicle
if such operator was not the owner at the time of the alleged violation.
Failure to supply such information shall result in the suspension of the vehicle registration of the vehicle for a period of 3 months. In the event the owner has assigned control for the use
of the vehicle to another, the person to whom control was assigned shall
comply with the provisions of this paragraph and be subject to the same
penalties as herein provided.
(Source: P.A. 95-105, eff. 1-1-08; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1414.1
(625 ILCS 5/11-1414.1)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1414.1)
School transportation of students.
(a) Every student enrolled in grade 12 or below in any entity listed in subsection (a) of Section 1-182 of this Code must be transported in a school bus or a vehicle described in subdivision (1) or (2) of subsection (b) of Section 1-182 of this Code for any curriculum-related school activity, except a student in any of grades 9 through 12 may be transported in a multi-function school activity bus (MFSAB) as defined in Section 1-148.3a-5 of this Code for any curriculum-related activity except for transportation on regular bus routes from home to school or from school to home, subject to the following conditions:
(i) A MFSAB may not be used to transport students
under this Section unless the driver holds a valid school bus driver permit.
(ii) The use of a MFSAB under this Section is subject
to the requirements of Sections 6-106.11, 6-106.12, 12-707.01, 13-101, and 13-109 of this Code.
"Curriculum-related school activity" as used in this subsection (a) includes transportation from home to school or from school to home, tripper or shuttle service between school attendance centers, transportation to a vocational or career center or other trade-skill development site or a regional safe school or other school-sponsored alternative learning program, or a trip that is directly related to the regular curriculum of a student for which he or she earns credit.
(b) Every student enrolled in grade 12 or below in any entity listed in subsection (a) of Section 1-182 of this Code who is transported in a vehicle that is being operated by or for a public or private primary or secondary school, including any primary or secondary school operated by a religious institution, for an interscholastic, interscholastic-athletic, or school-sponsored, noncurriculum-related activity that (i) does not require student participation as part of the educational services of the entity and (ii) is not associated with the students' regular class-for-credit schedule shall transport students only in a school bus or vehicle described in subsection (b) of Section 1-182 of this Code. This subsection (b) does not apply to any second division vehicle used by an entity listed in subsection (a) of Section 1-182 of this Code for a parade, homecoming, or a similar noncurriculum-related school activity.
(Source: P.A. 96-410, eff. 7-1-10; 97-896, eff. 8-3-12.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1415
(625 ILCS 5/11-1415)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1415)
School buses stopping, loading
and discharging passengers on one-way roadways on highways having 4
or more lanes. (a) A school bus traveling on a one-way roadway
or a highway having 4 or more lanes for vehicular traffic shall stop for
the loading or discharging of passengers only on the right side of the
highway. If the highway has 4 or more lanes and permits traffic to operate
in both directions, the school bus shall load or discharge only those
passengers whose residences are located
to the right of the highway.
The routes of school buses shall be so arranged that no child shall be
required to cross a highway of 4 or more lanes
to board a school bus or to reach such child's residence after
leaving the school bus. A school child in an urban area shall cross
a highway only at a crossing for pedestrians, except as provided in paragraph
(b) of this Section.
(b) With respect to school children crossing a highway at other than
a pedestrian crossing, this Section shall not apply when children are
escorted or controlled by competent persons designated by the school
authorities or by police officers.
(Source: P.A. 83-905.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1416
(625 ILCS 5/11-1416)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1416)
Obstructing person in highways.
No person shall wilfully and unnecessarily hinder, obstruct
or delay, or wilfully and unnecessarily attempt to delay,
hinder or obstruct any other person in lawfully driving or traveling
along or upon any highway within this State or offer for
barter or sale merchandise on said highway so as to interfere with the
effective movement of traffic.
(Source: P.A. 80-911.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1417
(625 ILCS 5/11-1417)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1417)
It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or cause to be driven a
vehicle of any description in or upon any portion of the highway
immediately after the same has been dragged and before such portion of the
highway shall have partially dried out or frozen; provided, that nothing in
this Section shall apply in those instances where it is impossible to drive
with safety at one side of said dragged portion of the road, or where a
vehicle does not make a rut on such dragged portion of the road, injurious
to the work accomplished by use of the road drag or where a vehicle does
not make a rut nearer than nine (9) feet from the center of the dragged
portion of the road.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1418
(625 ILCS 5/11-1418)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1418)
Farm tractor operation regulated.
No person shall operate a farm tractor on a highway unless the
is being used as an implement of husbandry in connection with farming
For the purpose of this Section, use of a farm tractor as an implement
of husbandry in connection with farming operations shall be deemed to
include use of the tractor in connection with the transportation
agricultural products and of farm machinery, equipment and supplies as well
as transportation of the implement of husbandry from its place of purchase to
of storage, in connection with the obtaining of
repairs of the implement of husbandry, and the towing of a
truck not more than 8,000
pounds for use as return transportation after the tractor is left at the
place of work or repair.
(Source: P.A. 87-1028.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1419
(625 ILCS 5/11-1419)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1419)
Operation of motor vehicles - Duration - Exceptions.
It is unlawful for any owner to require, permit or allow any
operator of any of his motor vehicles of the second division to operate any
such motor vehicle for a longer period than 10 hours following 8
consecutive hours off-duty or drive for any period after having been on
duty 15 hours following 8 consecutive hours off-duty, or to be or remain on
duty more than 60 hours in any 7 consecutive days, and whenever any such
operator has operated such motor vehicle for 10 hours following 8
consecutive hours off-duty or has been on duty 15 hours following 8
consecutive hours off-duty, he or she shall be relieved and not required,
permitted or allowed again to operate any such motor vehicle
until he or she has had at least 8 consecutive hours off-duty. The Department of
State Police shall fix by general rule or temporary order the
circumstances and regulations under which in case of emergency or unusual
temporary demands for transportation any such operator may be permitted to
operate any such motor vehicle or to stay on duty for longer periods of
time than set by this Section.
The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any public utility in
the operation of any motor vehicle not for hire in case of emergency or in
case of unusual temporary necessity for transportation of persons or
property or safeguarding of vehicles and their loads, nor shall such
provisions apply to operation of any motor vehicle as a part of the
agricultural operations of canning, packing or freezing establishments
engaged in the growing and processing of perishable fruits and vegetables,
including the hauling of such products between fields and such canning,
packing or freezing establishments and between such establishments, nor
shall such provisions apply to operation of any motor vehicle being used
for transportation of construction materials or equipment to, on or from
construction sites within a radius of 50 miles of such construction
sites, nor to driver sales persons operating within a radius
of 50 miles of their principal place of business.
(Source: P.A. 84-1308.)
625 ILCS 5/11-1419.01
(625 ILCS 5/11-1419.01)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1419.01)
Operating without a valid single trip permit.
If a single
trip permit is
required by Section 13a.5 of the
Motor Fuel Tax Law, a motor carrier shall not operate in
Illinois without a single
trip permit issued by the Department of Revenue or its agents.
commercial motor vehicle is found operating in Illinois without displaying a
required valid single trip permit, the operator is guilty of a petty
offense as provided in Section 13a.6 of the Motor Fuel Tax Law.
(Source: P.A. 94-1074, eff. 12-26-06.)