Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/11-1507

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1507) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1507)
    Sec. 11-1507. Lamps and other equipment on bicycles.
    (a) Every bicycle when in use at nighttime shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall emit a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and with a red reflector on the rear of a type approved by the Department which shall be visible from all distances from 100 feet to 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlamps on a motor vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to the red reflector.
    (b) A bicycle shall not be equipped with nor shall any person use upon a bicycle any siren. This subsection (b) does not apply to a bicycle that is a police vehicle or fire department vehicle.
    (c) Every bicycle shall be equipped with a brake which will adequately control movement of and stop and hold such bicycle.
    (d) No person shall sell a new bicycle or pedal for use on a bicycle that is not equipped with a reflex reflector conforming to specifications prescribed by the Department, on each pedal, visible from the front and rear of the bicycle during darkness from a distance of 200 feet.
    (e) No person shall sell or offer for sale a new bicycle that is not equipped with side reflectors. Such reflectors shall be visible from each side of the bicycle from a distance of 500 feet and shall be essentially colorless or red to the rear of the center of the bicycle and essentially colorless or amber to the front of the center of the bicycle provided. The requirements of this paragraph may be met by reflective materials which shall be at least 3/16 of an inch wide on each side of each tire or rim to indicate as clearly as possible the continuous circular shape and size of the tires or rims of such bicycle and which reflective materials may be of the same color on both the front and rear tire or rim. Such reflectors shall conform to specifications prescribed by the Department.
    (f) No person shall sell or offer for sale a new bicycle that is not equipped with an essentially colorless front-facing reflector.
(Source: P.A. 95-28, eff. 8-7-07.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1507.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1507.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1507.1)
    Sec. 11-1507.1. Lamps on mopeds. Every moped, when in use at nighttime, shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall emit a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, and with a red reflector on the rear of a type approved by the Department which shall be visible from all distances from 100 feet to 600 feet to the rear when in front of lawful, low-powered beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to the red reflector.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1508

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1508) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1508)
    Sec. 11-1508. Bicycle identifying number. A person engaged in the business of selling bicycles at retail shall not sell any bicycle unless the bicycle has an identifying number permanently stamped or cast on its frame.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1509

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1509) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1509)
    Sec. 11-1509. Inspecting bicycles. A uniformed police officer may at any time upon reasonable cause to believe that a bicycle is unsafe or not equipped as required by law, or that its equipment is not in proper adjustment or repair, require the person riding the bicycle to stop and submit the bicycle to an inspection and such test with reference thereto as may be appropriate.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1510

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1510) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1510)
    Sec. 11-1510. Left Turns.
    (a) A person riding a bicycle or moped intending to turn left shall follow a course described in Section 11-801 or in paragraph (b) of this Section.
    (b) A person riding a bicycle or moped intending to turn left shall approach the turn as close as practicable to the right curb or edge of the roadway. After proceeding across the intersecting roadway to the far corner of the curb or intersection of the roadway edges, the bicyclist or moped driver shall stop, as much as practicable out of the way of traffic. After stopping the person shall yield to any traffic proceeding in either direction along the roadway such person had been using. After yielding, the bicycle or moped driver shall comply with any official traffic control device or police officer regulating traffic on the highway along which he intends to proceed, and the bicyclist or moped driver may proceed in the new direction.
    (c) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, the Department and local authorities in their respective jurisdictions may cause official traffic-control devices to be placed and thereby require and direct that a specific course be traveled by turning bicycles and moped, and when such devices are so placed, no person shall turn a bicycle or moped other than as directed and required by such devices.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1511

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1511) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1511)
    Sec. 11-1511. Turn and stop signals. (a) Except as provided in this Section, a person riding a bicycle shall comply with Section 11-804.
    (b) A signal of intention to turn right or left when required shall be given during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the bicycle before turning, and shall be given while the bicycle is stopped waiting to turn. A signal by hand and arm need not be given continuously if the hand is needed in the control or operation of the bicycle.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1512

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1512) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1512)
    Sec. 11-1512. Bicycles on sidewalks. (a) A person propelling a bicycle upon and along a sidewalk, or across a roadway upon and along a crosswalk, shall yield the right of way to any pedestrian and shall give audible signal before overtaking and passing such pedestrian.
    (b) A person shall not ride a bicycle upon and along a sidewalk, or across a roadway upon and along a crosswalk, where such use of bicycles is prohibited by official traffic-control devices.
    (c) A person propelling a bicycle upon and along a sidewalk, or across a roadway upon and along a crosswalk, shall have all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian under the same circumstances.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1513

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1513) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1513)
    Sec. 11-1513. Bicycle parking. (a) A person may park a bicycle on a sidewalk unless prohibited or restricted by an official traffic-control device.
    (b) A bicycle parked on a sidewalk shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of pedestrian or other traffic.
    (c) A bicycle may be parked on the roadway at any angle to the curb or edge of the roadway at any location where parking is allowed.
    (d) A bicycle may be parked on the roadway abreast of another bicycle or bicycles near the side of the roadway at any location where parking is allowed.
    (e) A person shall not park a bicycle on a roadway in such a manner as to obstruct the movement of a legally parked motor vehicle.
    (f) In all other respects, bicycles parked anywhere on a highway shall conform with the provisions of this Code regulating the parking of vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1514

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1514) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1514)
    Sec. 11-1514. Bicycle racing. (a) Bicycle racing on a highway shall not be unlawful when a racing event has been approved by State or local authorities on any highway under their respective jurisdictions. Approval of bicycle highway racing events shall be granted only under conditions which assure reasonable safety for all race participants, spectators and other highways users, and which prevent unreasonable interference with traffic flow which would seriously inconvenience other highway users.
    (b) By agreement with the approving authority, participants in an approved bicycle highway racing event may be exempted from compliance with any traffic laws otherwise applicable thereto, provided that traffic control is adequate to assure the safety of all highway users.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1515

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1515) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1515)
    Sec. 11-1515. No person, firm, or corporation shall operate a commercial bicycle messenger service in a city with a population of more than 2,000,000 unless the bicycles used are covered by a liability insurance policy at the expense of the person, firm, or corporation. The insurance policy shall be issued in amounts no less than the minimum amounts set for bodily injury or death and for destruction of property under Section 7-203 of this Code. No insurer other than an insurer authorized to do business in this State shall issue a policy under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 87-1203.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1516

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1516)
    Sec. 11-1516. Low-speed bicycles.
    (a) A person may operate a low-speed electric bicycle or low-speed gas bicycle only if the person is at least 16 years of age.
    (b) A person may not operate a low-speed electric bicycle or low-speed gas bicycle at a speed greater than 20 miles per hour upon any highway, street, or roadway.
    (c) A person may not operate a low-speed electric bicycle or low-speed gas bicycle on a sidewalk.
    (d) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the provisions of this Article XV that apply to bicycles also apply to low-speed electric bicycles and low-speed gas bicycles.
(Source: P.A. 96-125, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 heading)
CHAPTER 12. EQUIPMENT OF VEHICLES

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. GENERAL PROVISIONS

625 ILCS 5/12-100

    (625 ILCS 5/12-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-100)
    Sec. 12-100. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-1473. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-101

    (625 ILCS 5/12-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-101)
    Sec. 12-101. Scope and effect of equipment requirements. (a) It is unlawful for any person to drive or move or for the owner to cause or knowingly permit to be driven or moved on any highway any vehicle or combination of vehicles which is in such unsafe condition as to endanger any person or property, or which does not contain those parts or is not at all times equipped with such lamps and other equipment in proper condition and adjustment as required in this Chapter 12, or which is equipped in any manner in violation of this Code, or for any person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required under this Chapter 12.
    (b) The provisions of this Chapter 12 with respect to equipment on vehicles shall not apply to implements of husbandry, road machinery, road rollers, or farm tractors or to farm-wagon type trailers having a fertilizer spreader attachment permanently mounted thereon, having a gross weight of not to exceed 36,000 pounds and used only for the transportation of bulk fertilizer or to farm-wagon type tank trailers of not to exceed 2,000 gallons capacity, used during the liquid fertilizer season as field-storage "nurse tanks" supplying the fertilizer to a field applicator and moved on highways only for bringing the fertilizer from a local source of supply to farm or field or from one farm or field to another.
(Source: P.A. 82-523.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. LIGHTS AND LAMPS

625 ILCS 5/12-201

    (625 ILCS 5/12-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-201)
    Sec. 12-201. When lighted lamps are required.
    (a) When operated upon any highway in this State, every motorcycle shall at all times exhibit at least one lighted lamp, showing a white light visible for at least 500 feet in the direction the motorcycle is proceeding. However, in lieu of such lighted lamp, a motorcycle may be equipped with and use a means of modulating the upper beam of the head lamp between high and a lower brightness. No such head lamp shall be modulated, except to otherwise comply with this Code, during times when lighted lamps are required for other motor vehicles.
    (b) All other motor vehicles shall exhibit at least 2 lighted head lamps, with at least one on each side of the front of the vehicle, which satisfy United States Department of Transportation requirements, showing white lights, including that emitted by high intensity discharge (HID) lamps, or lights of a yellow or amber tint, during the period from sunset to sunrise, at times when rain, snow, fog, or other atmospheric conditions require the use of windshield wipers, and at any other times when, due to insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions, persons and vehicles on the highway are not clearly discernible at a distance of 1000 feet. Parking lamps may be used in addition to but not in lieu of such head lamps. Every motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer shall also exhibit at least 2 lighted lamps, commonly known as tail lamps, which shall be mounted on the left rear and right rear of the vehicle so as to throw a red light visible for at least 500 feet in the reverse direction, except that a truck tractor or road tractor manufactured before January 1, 1968 and all motorcycles need be equipped with only one such tail lamp.
    (c) Either a tail lamp or a separate lamp shall be so constructed and placed as to illuminate with a white light a rear registration plate when required and render it clearly legible from a distance of 50 feet to the rear. Any tail lamp or tail lamps, together with any separate lamp or lamps for illuminating a rear registration plate, shall be so wired as to be lighted whenever the head lamps or auxiliary driving lamps are lighted.
    (d) A person shall install only head lamps that satisfy United States Department of Transportation regulations and show white light, including that emitted by HID lamps, or light of a yellow or amber tint for use by a motor vehicle.
    (e) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 96-487, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/12-202

    (625 ILCS 5/12-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-202)
    Sec. 12-202. Clearance, identification and side marker lamps.
    (a) Second division vehicles with a GVWR over 10,000 pounds, the length of which together with any trailer or trailers in tow thereof, is more than 25 feet or the width of which is more than 80 inches exclusive of mirrors, bumpers and other required safety devices, while being operated on the highways of this State during the period from sunset to sunrise, shall display on the front of the vehicle 2 yellow or amber lights, one on each upper front corner of the vehicle, which shall be plainly visible at a distance of at least 500 feet; also on the rear thereof in a horizontal line, 3 red lights plainly visible at a distance of not less than 500 feet; also on the front of the body of that vehicle near the lower left hand corner one yellow or amber tinted reflector, and near the lower right hand corner one yellow or amber tinted reflector; also red reflectors on the rear of the body of that vehicle, not more than 12 inches from the lower left and right hand corners. All motor vehicles of the second division more than 20 feet long, and all trailers and semitrailers, except trailers and semitrailers having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less including the weight of the trailer and maximum load, while being operated on the highways of this State during the period from sunset to sunrise, shall display on each side of the vehicle at approximately the one-third points of the length of the same, at a height not exceeding 5 feet above the surface of the road, and reflecting on a line approximately at right angles to the center line of the vehicle, 2 amber tinted reflectors. After January, 1974, all new motor vehicles of the second division more than 20 feet long, and all trailers and semitrailers except trailers and semitrailers having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less including the weight of the trailer and maximum load sold as new in this State, while being operated on the highways of this State during period from sunset to sunrise, shall display on each side of the vehicle, not more than 12 inches from the front, one amber tinted reflector, and not more than 12 inches from the rear one red reflector at a height not exceeding 5 feet above the surface of the road, and reflecting on a line approximately at right angles to the center line of the vehicle, approved by the Department.
    (b) Every trailer and semitrailer having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less including the weight of the trailer and maximum load, towed either by a motor vehicle of the first division or a motor vehicle of the second division shall be equipped with 2 red reflectors, which will be visible when hit by headlight beams 300 feet away at night, on the rear of the body of such trailer, not more than 12 inches from the lower left hand and lower right hand corners.
    (c) Every vehicle designated in paragraph (a) or (b) of this Section that is manufactured after December 31, 1973, shall, at the places and times specified in paragraph (a) or (b) of this Section, display reflectors and clearance, identification, and side marker lamps in conformance with the specifications prescribed by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 97-201, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-203

    (625 ILCS 5/12-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-203)
    Sec. 12-203. Lamps on parked vehicles.
    (a) During the period from sunset to sunrise every motorcycle or motor vehicle which is standing on any highway shall display a parking light on the front and at the rear of the same. However, any city, village or incorporated town may by ordinance, under rules and regulations it may prescribe, designate any part or parts of any street, or other highway under their jurisdiction, as parking places in which motorcycles and motor vehicles may be parked without having their lamps lighted, as otherwise required by this Section.
    (b) Any lighted driving lamps upon a parked vehicle shall be depressed or dimmed.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-204

    (625 ILCS 5/12-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-204)
    Sec. 12-204. Lamp or flag on projecting load.
    Whenever the load upon any vehicle extends to the rear 4 feet, or more beyond the bed or body of such vehicle there shall be displayed at the extreme rear end of the load, at the times specified in Section 12-201 hereof, a red light or lantern plainly visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the sides and rear. The red light or lantern required under this Section shall be in addition to the red rear light required upon every vehicle. At any other time there shall be displayed at the extreme rear end of such load a red flag or cloth not less than 12 inches square.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-205

    (625 ILCS 5/12-205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-205)
    Sec. 12-205. Lamps on other vehicles and equipment. Every vehicle, including animal drawn vehicles, referred to in paragraph (b) of Section 12-101, not specifically required by the provisions of this Article to be equipped with lamps or other lighting devices, shall at all times specified in Section 12-201 of this Act be equipped with at least 2 lamps on the power or towing unit, displaying a white light visible from a distance of not less than 1,000 feet to the front of such vehicle and shall also be equipped with 2 lamps each displaying a red light visible from a distance of not less than 1,000 feet to the rear of such vehicle.
    Where the towed unit or any load thereon partially or totally obscures the 2 lamps displaying red light to the rear of the towing unit, the rearmost towed unit shall be equipped with 2 lamps displaying red light visible from a distance of not less than 1,000 feet to the rear of such towed unit which are positioned in such a manner as to not obstruct the visibility of the red light to any vehicle operator approaching from the rear of such vehicle or combination of vehicles.
    Where the 2 lamps displaying red light are not obscured by the towed unit or its load, then either towing unit or towed unit, or both, may be equipped with the 2 lamps displaying red light as required.
    The preceding paragraph does not apply to antique vehicles, expanded-use antique vehicles, custom vehicles, or street rods. An antique vehicle or expanded-use antique vehicle shall be equipped with lamps of the same type originally installed by the manufacturer as original equipment and in working order.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-205.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-205.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-205.1)
    Sec. 12-205.1. Implements of husbandry or slow-moving vehicles-Display of amber signal lamp. Every animal drawn vehicle, farm tractor, implement of husbandry and special mobile equipment, except when used for road construction or maintenance within the limits of a construction or maintenance project where traffic control devices are used in compliance with the applicable provisions of the manual and specifications adopted under Section 11-301 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, when operated on a highway during a time when lighted lamps are required by Section 12-201 of this Chapter, shall display to the rear at least one flashing amber signal lamp mounted as high as practicable and of sufficient intensity to be visible for a distance of at least 500 feet in normal sunlight; provided, that only the rearmost vehicle of a combination of vehicles coupled together need display such lamp. The flashing amber signal lamp may be operated lighted during daylight hours when other lamps are not required to be lighted when vehicles authorized in this Section are operated on a highway. Implements of husbandry manufactured on or after January 1, 2003 and operated on public roads between sunset and sunrise shall display markings and lighting that meet or exceed the design, performance, and mounting specifications adopted by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers and published by that body as ASAE S279.11 APR01.
(Source: P.A. 91-505, eff. 1-1-00; 92-820, eff. 8-21-02.)

625 ILCS 5/12-207

    (625 ILCS 5/12-207) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-207)
    Sec. 12-207. Spot lamps and auxiliary driving lamps.
    (a) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not to exceed one spot lamp and every lighted spot lamp shall be so aimed and used upon approaching another vehicle that no part of the high-intensity portion of the beam will be directed to the left of the prolongation of the extreme left side of the vehicle nor more than 100 feet ahead of the vehicle.
    (b) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not to exceed three auxiliary driving lamps mounted on the front at a height not less than 12 inches nor more than 42 inches above the level surface upon which the vehicle stands.
    (c) The restrictions of subsections 12-207 (a) and 12-207 (b) of this Act shall not apply to authorized emergency vehicles or equipment used for snow and ice removal operations if owned or operated by or for any governmental body.
    (d) The minimum and maximum height restrictions prescribed in subsection (b) of Section 12-207 shall not apply to privately owned motor vehicles on which a snow plow is mounted, while in transit between or during snow and ice removal operations. This exemption shall apply only during the period from November 15 through April 1, and only when the snow plow blade, commonly referred to as a "moldboard", is properly and securely affixed to the front of the motor vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 85-1010.)

625 ILCS 5/12-208

    (625 ILCS 5/12-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-208)
    Sec. 12-208. Signal lamps and signal devices.
    (a) Every vehicle other than an antique vehicle displaying an antique plate or an expanded-use antique vehicle displaying expanded-use antique vehicle plates operated in this State shall be equipped with a stop lamp or lamps on the rear of the vehicle which shall display a red or amber light visible from a distance of not less than 500 feet to the rear in normal sunlight and which shall be actuated upon application of the service (foot) brake, and which may but need not be incorporated with other rear lamps. During times when lighted lamps are not required, an antique vehicle or an expanded-use antique vehicle may be equipped with a stop lamp or lamps on the rear of such vehicle of the same type originally installed by the manufacturer as original equipment and in working order. However, at all other times, except as provided in subsection (a-1), such antique vehicle or expanded-use antique vehicle must be equipped with stop lamps meeting the requirements of Section 12-208 of this Act.
    (a-1) A motorcycle or an antique vehicle or an expanded-use antique vehicle, including an antique motorcycle, may display a blue light or lights of up to one inch in diameter as part of the vehicle's rear stop lamp or lamps.
    (b) Every motor vehicle other than an antique vehicle displaying an antique plate or an expanded-use antique vehicle displaying expanded-use antique vehicle plates shall be equipped with an electric turn signal device which shall indicate the intention of the driver to turn to the right or to the left in the form of flashing lights located at and showing to the front and rear of the vehicle on the side of the vehicle toward which the turn is to be made. The lamps showing to the front shall be mounted on the same level and as widely spaced laterally as practicable and, when signaling, shall emit a white or amber light, or any shade of light between white and amber. The lamps showing to the rear shall be mounted on the same level and as widely spaced laterally as practicable and, when signaling, shall emit a red or amber light. An antique vehicle or expanded-use antique vehicle shall be equipped with a turn signal device of the same type originally installed by the manufacturer as original equipment and in working order.
    (c) Every trailer and semitrailer shall be equipped with an electric turn signal device which indicates the intention of the driver in the power unit to turn to the right or to the left in the form of flashing red or amber lights located at the rear of the vehicle on the side toward which the turn is to be made and mounted on the same level and as widely spaced laterally as practicable.
    (d) Turn signal lamps must be visible from a distance of not less than 300 feet in normal sunlight.
    (e) Motorcycles and motor-driven cycles need not be equipped with electric turn signals. Antique vehicles and expanded-use antique vehicles need not be equipped with turn signals unless such were installed by the manufacturer as original equipment.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) Motorcycles and motor-driven cycles may be equipped with a stop lamp or lamps on the rear of the vehicle that display a red or amber light, visible from a distance of not less than 500 feet to the rear in normal sunlight, that flashes and becomes steady only when the brake is actuated.
(Source: P.A. 99-598, eff. 1-1-17.)

625 ILCS 5/12-209

    (625 ILCS 5/12-209) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-209)
    Sec. 12-209. Additional Lighting Equipment.
    (a) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than 2 side cowl or fender lamps which shall emit an amber or white light without glare.
    (b) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than one running board courtesy lamp on each side thereof which shall emit a white or amber light without glare.
    (c) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with one or more back-up lamps either separately or in combination with other lamps; but any such back-up lamp or lamps shall not be lighted when the motor vehicle is in forward motion.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-210

    (625 ILCS 5/12-210) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-210)
    Sec. 12-210. Use of head lamps and auxiliary driving lamps. (a) Whenever the driver of any vehicle equipped with an electric driving head lamp, driving head lamps, auxiliary driving lamp or auxiliary driving lamps is within 500 feet of another vehicle approaching from the opposite direction, the driver shall dim or drop such head lamp or head lamps and shall extinguish all auxiliary driving lamps.
    (b) The driver of any vehicle equipped with an electric driving head lamp, head lamps, auxiliary driving lamp or auxiliary driving lamps shall dim or drop such head lamp or head lamps and shall extinguish all auxiliary driving lamps when there is another vehicle traveling in the same direction less than 300 feet to the front of him.
    (c) No vehicle shall have the lighting system modified to allow more than 2 electric head lamps to be lighted while operating in the dimmed or dropped position.
    (d) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit the use of auxiliary driving lamps, commonly referred to as "fog" lamps, when used in conjunction with head lamps, if such auxiliary driving lamps are adjusted and so aimed that the glaring rays are not projected into the eyes of drivers of oncoming vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 85-1144.)

625 ILCS 5/12-211

    (625 ILCS 5/12-211) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-211)
    Sec. 12-211. Number of driving lamps required or permitted.
    (a) At all times specified in Section 12-201, at least 2 lighted driving lamps shall be displayed, one on each side of the front of every motor vehicle other than a motorcycle, except when such vehicle is parked subject to the regulations governing lights on parked vehicles.
    (b) Whenever a motor vehicle equipped with driving lamps as herein required is also equipped with any auxiliary driving lamps or a spot lamp or any other lamp on the front thereof, not more than a total of 4 of any such lamps on the front of a vehicle shall be lighted at any one time when upon a highway.
(Source: P.A. 86-1236.)

625 ILCS 5/12-212

    (625 ILCS 5/12-212) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-212)
    Sec. 12-212. Special restrictions on lamps. (a) No person shall drive or move any vehicle or equipment upon any highway with any lamp or device on the vehicle or equipment displaying a red light visible from directly in front of the vehicle or equipment except as otherwise provided in this Act.
    (b) Subject to the restrictions of this Act, flashing lights are prohibited on motor vehicles except as a means for indicating a right or left turn as provided in Section 12-208 or the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring unusual care as expressly provided in Sections 11-804 or 12-215.
    (c) Unless otherwise expressly authorized by this Code, all other lighting or combination of lighting on any vehicle shall be prohibited.
(Source: P.A. 86-664.)

625 ILCS 5/12-214

    (625 ILCS 5/12-214) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-214)
    Sec. 12-214. Special lighting equipment on rural mail delivery vehicles.
    If a rural mail delivery vehicle is equipped with special signal lamps, there shall be displayed to the front 2 such alternately flashing amber lamps located at the same level and mounted as high and as widely spaced laterally as practicable and to the rear 2 alternately flashing amber lamps located at the same level and mounted as high and as widely spaced laterally as practicable. Such lamps shall be of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight and shall be controlled so that they will only be used to indicate to other traffic that a stop is being made for the purpose of picking up or delivering U. S. mail.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-214.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-214.1)
    Sec. 12-214.1. Tow trucks meeting federal motor carrier safety requirements; lighting and signalling equipment. Any tow truck that meets the requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations of the United States Department of Transportation, regarding lighting and signalling equipment required on commercial motor vehicles, shall be deemed to comply with the provisions of this Chapter regarding required lighting and signalling equipment.
(Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/12-215

    (625 ILCS 5/12-215) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-215)
    Sec. 12-215. Oscillating, rotating or flashing lights on motor vehicles. Except as otherwise provided in this Code:
    (a) The use of red or white oscillating, rotating or flashing lights, whether lighted or unlighted, is prohibited except on:
        1. Law enforcement vehicles of State, Federal or
    
local authorities;
        2. A vehicle operated by a police officer or county
    
coroner and designated or authorized by local authorities, in writing, as a law enforcement vehicle; however, such designation or authorization must be carried in the vehicle;
        2.1. A vehicle operated by a fire chief who has
    
completed an emergency vehicle operation training course approved by the Office of the State Fire Marshal and designated or authorized by local authorities, in writing, as a fire department, fire protection district, or township fire department vehicle; however, the designation or authorization must be carried in the vehicle, and the lights may be visible or activated only when responding to a bona fide emergency;
        3. Vehicles of local fire departments and State or
    
federal firefighting vehicles;
        4. Vehicles which are designed and used exclusively
    
as ambulances or rescue vehicles; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except when responding to an emergency call for and while actually conveying the sick or injured;
        4.5. Vehicles which are occasionally used as rescue
    
vehicles that have been authorized for use as rescue vehicles by a volunteer EMS provider, provided that the operator of the vehicle has successfully completed an emergency vehicle operation training course recognized by the Department of Public Health; furthermore, the lights shall not be lighted except when responding to an emergency call for the sick or injured;
        5. Tow trucks licensed in a state that requires such
    
lights; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted on any such tow truck while the tow truck is operating in the State of Illinois;
        6. Vehicles of the Illinois Emergency Management
    
Agency, vehicles of the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal, vehicles of the Illinois Department of Public Health, vehicles of the Illinois Department of Corrections, and vehicles of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice;
        7. Vehicles operated by a local or county emergency
    
management services agency as defined in the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act;
        8. School buses operating alternately flashing head
    
lamps as permitted under Section 12-805 of this Code;
        9. Vehicles that are equipped and used exclusively as
    
organ transplant vehicles when used in combination with blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights; furthermore, these lights shall be lighted only when the transportation is declared an emergency by a member of the transplant team or a representative of the organ procurement organization;
        10. Vehicles of the Illinois Department of Natural
    
Resources that are used for mine rescue and explosives emergency response;
        11. Vehicles of the Illinois Department of
    
Transportation identified as Emergency Traffic Patrol; the lights shall not be lighted except when responding to an emergency call or when parked or stationary while engaged in motor vehicle assistance or at the scene of the emergency; and
        12. Vehicles of the Illinois State Toll Highway
    
Authority identified as Highway Emergency Lane Patrol; the lights shall not be lighted except when responding to an emergency call or when parked or stationary while engaged in motor vehicle assistance or at the scene of the emergency.
    (b) The use of amber oscillating, rotating or flashing lights, whether lighted or unlighted, is prohibited except on:
        1. Second division vehicles designed and used for
    
towing or hoisting vehicles; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except as required in this paragraph 1; such lights shall be lighted when such vehicles are actually being used at the scene of an accident or disablement; if the towing vehicle is equipped with a flat bed that supports all wheels of the vehicle being transported, the lights shall not be lighted while the vehicle is engaged in towing on a highway; if the towing vehicle is not equipped with a flat bed that supports all wheels of a vehicle being transported, the lights shall be lighted while the towing vehicle is engaged in towing on a highway during all times when the use of headlights is required under Section 12-201 of this Code; in addition, these vehicles may use white oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights in combination with amber oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights as provided in this paragraph;
        2. Motor vehicles or equipment of the State of
    
Illinois, the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority, local authorities and contractors; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except while such vehicles are engaged in maintenance or construction operations within the limits of construction projects;
        3. Vehicles or equipment used by engineering or
    
survey crews; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except while such vehicles are actually engaged in work on a highway;
        4. Vehicles of public utilities, municipalities, or
    
other construction, maintenance or automotive service vehicles except that such lights shall be lighted only as a means for indicating the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing while such vehicles are engaged in maintenance, service or construction on a highway;
        5. Oversized vehicle or load; however, such lights
    
shall only be lighted when moving under permit issued by the Department under Section 15-301 of this Code;
        6. The front and rear of motorized equipment owned
    
and operated by the State of Illinois or any political subdivision thereof, which is designed and used for removal of snow and ice from highways;
        6.1. The front and rear of motorized equipment or
    
vehicles that (i) are not owned by the State of Illinois or any political subdivision of the State, (ii) are designed and used for removal of snow and ice from highways and parking lots, and (iii) are equipped with a snow plow that is 12 feet in width; these lights may not be lighted except when the motorized equipment or vehicle is actually being used for those purposes on behalf of a unit of government;
        7. Fleet safety vehicles registered in another state,
    
furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except as provided for in Section 12-212 of this Code;
        8. Such other vehicles as may be authorized by local
    
authorities;
        9. Law enforcement vehicles of State or local
    
authorities when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating or flashing lights;
        9.5. Propane delivery trucks;
        10. Vehicles used for collecting or delivering mail
    
for the United States Postal Service provided that such lights shall not be lighted except when such vehicles are actually being used for such purposes;
        10.5. Vehicles of the Office of the Illinois State
    
Fire Marshal, provided that such lights shall not be lighted except for when such vehicles are engaged in work for the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal;
        11. Any vehicle displaying a slow-moving vehicle
    
emblem as provided in Section 12-205.1;
        12. All trucks equipped with self-compactors or
    
roll-off hoists and roll-on containers for garbage, recycling, or refuse hauling. Such lights shall not be lighted except when such vehicles are actually being used for such purposes;
        13. Vehicles used by a security company, alarm
    
responder, control agency, or the Illinois Department of Corrections;
        14. Security vehicles of the Department of Human
    
Services; however, the lights shall not be lighted except when being used for security related purposes under the direction of the superintendent of the facility where the vehicle is located; and
        15. Vehicles of union representatives, except that
    
the lights shall be lighted only while the vehicle is within the limits of a construction project.
    (c) The use of blue oscillating, rotating or flashing lights, whether lighted or unlighted, is prohibited except on:
        1. Rescue squad vehicles not owned by a fire
    
department and vehicles owned or operated by a:
            voluntary firefighter;
            paid firefighter;
            part-paid firefighter;
            call firefighter;
            member of the board of trustees of a fire
        
protection district;
            paid or unpaid member of a rescue squad;
            paid or unpaid member of a voluntary ambulance
        
unit; or
            paid or unpaid members of a local or county
        
emergency management services agency as defined in the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act, designated or authorized by local authorities, in writing, and carrying that designation or authorization in the vehicle.
        However, such lights are not to be lighted except
    
when responding to a bona fide emergency or when parked or stationary at the scene of a fire, rescue call, ambulance call, or motor vehicle accident.
        Any person using these lights in accordance with this
    
subdivision (c)1 must carry on his or her person an identification card or letter identifying the bona fide member of a fire department, fire protection district, rescue squad, ambulance unit, or emergency management services agency that owns or operates that vehicle. The card or letter must include:
            (A) the name of the fire department, fire
        
protection district, rescue squad, ambulance unit, or emergency management services agency;
            (B) the member's position within the fire
        
department, fire protection district, rescue squad, ambulance unit, or emergency management services agency;
            (C) the member's term of service; and
            (D) the name of a person within the fire
        
department, fire protection district, rescue squad, ambulance unit, or emergency management services agency to contact to verify the information provided.
        2. Police department vehicles in cities having a
    
population of 500,000 or more inhabitants.
        3. Law enforcement vehicles of State or local
    
authorities when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating or flashing lights.
        4. Vehicles of local fire departments and State or
    
federal firefighting vehicles when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating or flashing lights.
        5. Vehicles which are designed and used exclusively
    
as ambulances or rescue vehicles when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating or flashing lights; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted except when responding to an emergency call.
        6. Vehicles that are equipped and used exclusively as
    
organ transport vehicles when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights; furthermore, these lights shall only be lighted when the transportation is declared an emergency by a member of the transplant team or a representative of the organ procurement organization.
        7. Vehicles of the Illinois Emergency Management
    
Agency, vehicles of the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal, vehicles of the Illinois Department of Public Health, vehicles of the Illinois Department of Corrections, and vehicles of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        8. Vehicles operated by a local or county emergency
    
management services agency as defined in the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        9. Vehicles of the Illinois Department of Natural
    
Resources that are used for mine rescue and explosives emergency response, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
    (c-1) In addition to the blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights permitted under subsection (c), and notwithstanding subsection (a), a vehicle operated by a voluntary firefighter, a voluntary member of a rescue squad, or a member of a voluntary ambulance unit may be equipped with flashing white headlights and blue grill lights, which may be used only in responding to an emergency call or when parked or stationary at the scene of a fire, rescue call, ambulance call, or motor vehicle accident.
    (c-2) In addition to the blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights permitted under subsection (c), and notwithstanding subsection (a), a vehicle operated by a paid or unpaid member of a local or county emergency management services agency as defined in the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act, may be equipped with white oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights to be used in combination with blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights, if authorization by local authorities is in writing and carried in the vehicle.
    (d) The use of a combination of amber and white oscillating, rotating or flashing lights, whether lighted or unlighted, is prohibited except on second division vehicles designed and used for towing or hoisting vehicles or motor vehicles or equipment of the State of Illinois, local authorities, contractors, and union representatives; furthermore, such lights shall not be lighted on second division vehicles designed and used for towing or hoisting vehicles or vehicles of the State of Illinois, local authorities, and contractors except while such vehicles are engaged in a tow operation, highway maintenance, or construction operations within the limits of highway construction projects, and shall not be lighted on the vehicles of union representatives except when those vehicles are within the limits of a construction project.
    (e) All oscillating, rotating or flashing lights referred to in this Section shall be of sufficient intensity, when illuminated, to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.
    (f) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a manufacturer of oscillating, rotating or flashing lights or his representative or authorized vendor from temporarily mounting such lights on a vehicle for demonstration purposes only. If the lights are not covered while the vehicle is operated upon a highway, the vehicle shall display signage indicating that the vehicle is out of service or not an emergency vehicle. The signage shall be displayed on all sides of the vehicle in letters at least 2 inches tall and one-half inch wide. A vehicle authorized to have oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights mounted for demonstration purposes may not activate the lights while the vehicle is operated upon a highway.
    (g) Any person violating the provisions of subsections (a), (b), (c) or (d) of this Section who without lawful authority stops or detains or attempts to stop or detain another person shall be guilty of a Class 2 felony.
    (h) Except as provided in subsection (g) above, any person violating the provisions of subsections (a) or (c) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-80, eff. 7-15-13; 98-123, eff. 1-1-14; 98-468, eff. 8-16-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-873, eff. 1-1-15; 99-40, eff. 1-1-16; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15; 99-125, eff. 1-1-16; 99-642, eff. 7-28-16.)

625 ILCS 5/12-215.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-215.1)
    Sec. 12-215.1. Possession of oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights in motor vehicles; police equipment, markings, and other indicia of emergency vehicle authority.
    (a) A person, except those given exceptions in Section 12-215 or 12-609 of this Code, may not possess or be in actual physical control of oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights or other indicia of emergency vehicle authority within any portion of a motor vehicle, including but not limited to wig-wags, red and blue LEDs, sirens, mounted or affixed devices or other equipment, markings or indicia of emergency vehicle authority.
    (b) A person found guilty of violating this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (c) Oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights and any other equipment, markings, or indicia of emergency vehicle authority shall be seized by the law enforcement officer at the time of a violation of this Section or of Section 12-215 or 12-609 of this Code upon any legal search. The officer may seize the vehicle containing the prohibited device or mechanism, and this device or mechanism shall be removed and held for evidentiary purposes. When the device or mechanism is no longer needed for evidence, the defendant may petition the court for the return of the device or mechanism. The defendant must prove to the court by a preponderance of the evidence that the device or mechanism will be used for a legitimate and lawful purpose.
(Source: P.A. 98-468, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/12-216

    (625 ILCS 5/12-216) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-216)
    Sec. 12-216. Operation of oscillating, rotating or flashing lights. Oscillating, rotating or flashing lights located on or within police vehicles in this State shall be lighted whenever a police officer is in pursuit of a violator of a traffic law or regulation.
(Source: P.A. 85-830.)

625 ILCS 5/12-217

    (625 ILCS 5/12-217) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-217)
    Sec. 12-217. Special lighting equipment for interstate transportation authority. (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Chapter, an interstate transportation authority, as defined in this Section, in addition to headlights and other required or authorized lighting, may affix to the top front of its buses, 2 sets of lights, each containing up to 5 stationary lights, of different colors, including the colors white, yellow, blue, green and purple, and excepting, however, the color red. Such lights shall be located symmetrically above the windshield with one set of lights on each side of the headsign and may reflect an intensity of up to 64 candlepower each. Provided further however, that normally no more than 3 of such colored lights on each set of lights may be on or displayed at any one time. Such lights shall be stationary only, and shall not be oscillating, rotating, or flashing. The lights shall be displayed only on the top front of such buses, lighted in various combinations to indicate the route, the destination, and the express or local nature of the service.
    (b) As used herein, the term "interstate transportation authority" shall mean any body, agency, entity, or political subdivision created by compact between Illinois and another state, which is a body corporate and politic, and which operates a public mass transportation or transit system.
(Source: P.A. 85-1144.)

625 ILCS 5/12-218

    (625 ILCS 5/12-218)
    Sec. 12-218. Auxiliary accent lighting on motorcycles.
    (a) A motorcycle registered in this State may be equipped with, and a person operating the motorcycle may use, standard bulb running lights or light-emitting diode (L.E.D.) pods and strips as auxiliary lighting with the intent of protecting the driver.
    (b) Auxiliary lighting authorized under subsection (a) of this Section:
        (1) shall not project a beam of light of an
    
intensity greater than 25 candlepower or its equivalent from a single lamp or single light-emitting diode (L.E.D.);
        (2) shall not be directed horizontally;
        (3) shall be so directed that no part of the beam
    
will strike the level of the surface on which the motorcycle stands at a distance of more than 10 feet from the motorcycle;
        (4) shall be directed towards the ground;
        (5) shall not emit red or blue light;
        (6) shall not be:
            (A) blinking;
            (B) flashing;
            (C) oscillating; or
            (D) rotating; and
        (7) shall not be attached to the wheels of the
    
motorcycle.
(Source: P.A. 99-242, eff. 8-3-15.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. BRAKES

625 ILCS 5/12-301

    (625 ILCS 5/12-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-301)
    Sec. 12-301. Brakes.
    (a) Brake equipment required.
        1. Every motor vehicle, other than a motor-driven
    
cycle, an antique vehicle displaying an antique plate, and an expanded-use antique vehicle displaying expanded-use antique vehicle plates, when operated upon a highway shall be equipped with brakes adequate to control the movement of and to stop and hold such vehicle, including 2 separate means of applying the brakes, each of which means shall be effective to apply the brakes to at least one wheel on a motorcycle and at least 2 wheels on all other first division and second division vehicles. If these 2 separate means of applying the brakes are connected in any way, they shall be so constructed that failure of any one part of the operating mechanism shall not leave the motor vehicle without brakes.
        2. Every motor-driven cycle when operated upon a
    
highway shall be equipped with at least one brake which may be operated by hand or foot.
        3. Every antique vehicle shall be equipped with the
    
brakes of the same type originally installed by the manufacturer as original equipment and in working order.
        4. Except as provided in paragraph 4.1, every trailer
    
or semitrailer of a gross weight of over 3,000 pounds, when operated upon a highway must be equipped with brakes adequate to control the movement of, to stop and to hold such vehicle, and designed so as to be operable by the driver of the towing vehicle from its cab. Such brakes must be so designed and connected that in case of an accidental breakaway of a towed vehicle over 5,000 pounds, the brakes are automatically applied.
        4.1. Every boat trailer of a gross weight of over
    
3,000 pounds, when operated upon a highway, must be equipped with brakes adequate to control the movement of, to stop, and to hold that boat trailer. The brakes must be designed to ensure that, in case of an accidental breakaway of a towed boat trailer over 5,000 pounds, the brakes are automatically applied.
        5. Every motor vehicle, expanded-use antique vehicle,
    
trailer, pole trailer or semitrailer, sold in this State or operated upon the highways shall be equipped with service brakes upon all wheels of every such vehicle, except any motor-driven cycle, and except that any trailer, pole trailer or semitrailer 3,000 pounds gross weight or less need not be equipped with brakes, and except that any trailer or semitrailer with gross weight over 3,000 pounds but under 5,001 pounds need be equipped with brakes on only one wheel on each side of the vehicle. Any motor vehicle and truck tractor having 3 or more axles and manufactured prior to July 25, 1980 need not have brakes on the front wheels, except when such vehicles are equipped with at least 2 steerable axles, the wheels of one such axle need not be equipped with brakes. However, a vehicle that is more than 30 years of age and which is driven on the highways only in going to and returning from an antique auto show or for servicing or for a demonstration need be equipped with 2 wheel brakes only.
    (b) Performance ability of brakes.
        1. The service brakes upon any motor vehicle or
    
combination of vehicles operating on a level surface shall be adequate to stop such vehicle or vehicles when traveling 20 miles per hour within a distance of 30 feet when upon dry asphalt or concrete pavement surface free from loose material.
        2. Under the above conditions the hand brake shall be
    
adequate to stop such vehicle or vehicles, except any motorcycle, within a distance of 55 feet and the hand brake shall be adequate to hold such vehicle or vehicles stationary on any grade upon which operated.
        3. Under the above conditions the service brakes upon
    
an antique vehicle or expanded-use antique vehicle shall be adequate to stop the vehicle within a distance of 40 feet and the hand brake adequate to stop the vehicle within a distance of 55 feet.
        4. All braking distances specified in this Section
    
apply to all vehicles mentioned, whether such vehicles are unloaded or are loaded to the maximum capacity permitted under this Act.
        5. All brakes shall be maintained in good working
    
order and shall be so adjusted as to operate as equally as practicable with respect to the wheels on opposite sides of the vehicle.
        6. Brake assembly requirements for mobile homes shall
    
be the standards required by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development adopted under Title VI of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974.
    (c) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 96-487, eff. 1-1-10; 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-302

    (625 ILCS 5/12-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-302)
    Sec. 12-302. Brake fluid.
    No person shall sell, offer for sale or distribute brake fluid for use on motor vehicles for repair purposes unless such fluid conforms to specifications prescribed by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 78-748.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. IV

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. IV heading)
ARTICLE IV. TIRES

625 ILCS 5/12-401

    (625 ILCS 5/12-401) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-401)
    Sec. 12-401. Restriction as to tire equipment. No metal tired vehicle, including tractors, motor vehicles of the second division, traction engines and other similar vehicles, shall be operated over any improved highway of this State, if such vehicle has on the periphery of any of the road wheels any block, stud, flange, cleat, ridge, lug or any projection of metal or wood which projects radially beyond the tread or traffic surface of the tire. This prohibition does not apply to pneumatic tires with metal studs used on vehicles operated by rural letter carriers who are employed or enjoy a contract with the United States Postal Service for the purpose of delivering mail if such vehicle is actually used for such purpose during operations between November 15 of any year and April 1 of the following year, or to motor vehicles displaying a disability license plate or a license plate for veterans with disabilities whose owner resides in an unincorporated area located upon a county or township highway or road and possesses a valid driver's license and operates the vehicle with such tires only during the period heretofore described, or to tracked type motor vehicles when that part of the vehicle coming in contact with the road surface does not contain any projections of any kind likely to injure the surface of the road; however, tractors, traction engines, and similar vehicles may be operated which have upon their road wheels V-shaped, diagonal or other cleats arranged in such a manner as to be continuously in contact with the road surface, provided that the gross weight upon such wheels per inch of width of such cleats in contact with the road surface, when measured in the direction of the axle of the vehicle, does not exceed 800 pounds.
    All motor vehicles and all other vehicles in tow thereof, or thereunto attached, operating upon any roadway, shall have tires of rubber or some material of equal resiliency. Solid tires shall be considered defective and shall not be permitted to be used if the rubber or other material has been worn or otherwise reduced to a thickness of less than three-fourths of an undue vibration when the vehicle is in motion or to cause undue concentration of the wheel load on the surface of the road. The requirements of this Section do not apply to agricultural tractors or traction engines or to agricultural machinery, including wagons being used for agricultural purposes in tow thereof, or to road rollers or road building machinery operated at a speed not in excess of 10 miles per hour. All motor vehicles of the second division, operating upon any roadway shall have pneumatic tires, unless exempted herein.
    Nothing in this Section shall be deemed to prohibit the use of tire chains of reasonable proportion upon any vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice or other conditions tending to cause a vehicle to skid.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)

625 ILCS 5/12-402

    (625 ILCS 5/12-402) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-402)
    Sec. 12-402. Sale or lease of siped or regrooved pneumatic tire. No person or organization shall sell or lease or offer for sale or lease, for use on a highway, any pneumatic tire, either original tread or retread, on which the tread is siped or regrooved to a depth equal to or deeper than the molded groove depth, unless the tire was constructed or retreaded with sufficient tread material and type of labels to permit such siping or regrooving. Such labels and siping or regrooving shall be in compliance with Part 569 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and after siping or regrooving the tire shall conform to that Part.
    For the purpose of this Article, siped shall mean cut without removing material, and regrooved shall mean the tread groove pattern is renewed, or a new pattern generated, or both, without additional tread material being added.
(Source: P.A. 83-213.)

625 ILCS 5/12-403

    (625 ILCS 5/12-403) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-403)
    Sec. 12-403. Sale or lease of retreaded or "recapped" pneumatic tire. No person or organization shall sell or lease or offer for sale or lease, for use on a highway, any pneumatic tire produced or rebuilt by a process in which tread material is attached to a used tire, unless the tire, tread material, labelling and certification, before and after processing, conform to Part 571.117 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
(Source: P.A. 83-213.)

625 ILCS 5/12-404

    (625 ILCS 5/12-404) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-404)
    Sec. 12-404. Sale or lease of pneumatic tire without marking. No person or organization shall sell or lease or offer for sale or lease, for use on a highway, any pneumatic tire that does not bear the special marking required by this Section.
    (a) Regrooved or siped tire. In addition to the identification, labelling and certification required under Section 12-402, either the word "regrooved" or the word "siped" shall be branded on each side of a pneumatic tire on which the tread is either regrooved or siped, as the case may be. In the case of a tire that is both regrooved and siped, the word "regrooved" alone on each side shall suffice, although both words may appear on each side. Each branding shall be conspicuous but shall be sized, located and applied so as not to weaken or damage the tire or otherwise degrade the performance of the tire or shorten its useful life.
    (b) Retreaded tire. In addition to the labelling, identification, certification and other marking required under Section 12-403, the word "retreaded" shall be branded or molded into or onto each side of a pneumatic tire that has been retreaded or "recapped". Each molding or branding shall be conspicuous but shall be sized, located and applied so as not to weaken or damage the tire or otherwise degrade the performance of the tire or shorten its useful life.
    (c) New tire. The labelling, identification, certification and other marking required by Part 571.109 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations shall appear on each new pneumatic tire intended for use on a passenger car other than a multipurpose passenger vehicle. The labelling, identification, certification and other marking required by Part 571.119 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations shall appear on each new pneumatic tire intended for use on either a multipurpose passenger vehicle or other type of vehicle that is not a passenger car.
(Source: P.A. 83-213.)

625 ILCS 5/12-405

    (625 ILCS 5/12-405) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-405)
    Sec. 12-405. Operating condition of pneumatic tires. (a) Definition. The term "spare tire" as used in this Section 12-405 means any new, used or specially constructed tire that is either carried or installed for short term emergency use.
    (b) Promulgated Rules. The Department shall promulgate rules concerning unsafe operating conditions of pneumatic tires. The rules shall be enforced by police officers by visual inspection of tires, including visual comparison with simple measuring scales or gauges. The rules shall include precepts and standards for determining unsafe conditions, including the determination of an effective depth of tread groove, and shall be based upon, to the extent that it is reasonable and practical, all provisions set forth in paragraph (d) of this Section.
    (c) Use of Unsafe Tire. 1. No person or organization shall place, drive or move, or cause or allow to be placed, driven or moved, on a highway of this State, any vehicle equipped with one or more pneumatic tires deemed to be unsafe under a provision of paragraph (d) of this Section or a rule promulgated under paragraph (b) of this Section.
    2. Exemptions. Any restriction stated in this paragraph (c) shall not apply:
    (i) To a tire on a damaged, disabled, abandoned, or other unsafe or unwanted vehicle being legally towed, pushed or otherwise transferred to a repair, relocation, storage, salvage, junking, or other collection site;
    (ii) To a tire on a racing or other competitive vehicle being legally moved or transported, not under its own power, to a lawful competition site or to a bona fide testing site; or
    (iii) To a spare tire either carried or in short term emergency use for only such distance or time as is reasonably necessary to accomplish the repair or replacement of the damaged or unsafe tire for which the spare was substituted.
    (d) Criteria for Unsafe Pneumatic Tires. A pneumatic tire shall be deemed to be unsafe if it has:
    1. Any part of a ply or cord exposed;
    2. A tread or sidewall crack, cut, snag, or other surface interruption deep enough to expose a ply or cord;
    3. Any bulge, knot, or separation;
    4. Tread wear indicators flush with the tread outer surface in any 2 or more adjacent tread grooves at 3 locations approximately equally spaced around the circumference of the tire;
    5. A depth of tread groove less than 2/32 of an inch or less than 1/32 of an inch if on a motorcycle or truckster, measured in any 2 or more adjacent tread grooves at 3 locations approximately equally spaced around the circumference of the tire, at least one of which, in the judgment of the inspecting officer, is a location at which the tread is thinnest, provided that any measurement over a tie bar, tread wear indicator, hump or fillet is excluded;
    6. A depth of tread groove less than 4/32 of an inch at any one location and the tire is mounted on the front wheel of a motor vehicle subject to the provisions of Chapter 18B of this Code, provided that any measurement over a tie bar, tread wear indicator, hump or fillet is excluded;
    7. A marking which indicates that the tire is not intended for use on a public highway;
    8. Been regrooved or recut below the bottom of an original tread groove, except in the case of a special "regroovable" tire that was manufactured or retreaded with thick undertread, identified and regrooved in compliance with the applicable federal standard in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and in compliance with each applicable Section of this Code; or
    9. Other condition, marking or lack of marking that may be reasonably demonstrated to identify the tire as unsuitable for highway use, including inflation, load, speed or installation condition seriously incompatible with the tire size, construction, or other pertinent marking or feature.
    (e) Sale, Lease or Installation of Pneumatic Tires. 1. No person or organization shall sell, lease, or offer for sale or lease, or mount, install, or cause or allow to be mounted or installed, for use on a highway, any pneumatic tire deemed to be unsafe under paragraph (d) of this Section or under a rule promulgated under paragraph (b) of this Section. Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this Section, any person or organization offering a vehicle for sale or lease shall, prior to its being placed, driven or moved on a highway, correct any unsafe tire condition.
    2. No person or organization shall sell, lease, or offer for sale or lease, for highway use, any pneumatic tire, or any vehicle equipped with a pneumatic tire, which has a depth of tread groove less than 3/32 of an inch; except a pneumatic tire on a motorcycle or truckster may have a depth of tire groove of not less than 2/32 of an inch. Groove depth shall not be measured where a tie bar, tread wear indicator, hump or fillet is located.
    (f)  Compliance and Enforcement. Any police officer, upon reasonable cause to believe that a person or organization has acted or is acting in violation of any provision of this Section, shall require the driver, owner, or other appropriate custodian to submit the tire or tires to an inspection. When so required, the owner or other appropriate custodian shall allow the tire inspection and the driver of a vehicle or combination of vehicles shall stop at a designated location and allow the tire or tires to be inspected or shall move the vehicle or combination to a location that is reasonably convenient and is suitable for such inspection.
(Source: P.A. 83-213.)

625 ILCS 5/12-407

    (625 ILCS 5/12-407) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-407)
    Sec. 12-407. Rules and regulations. The Department may promulgate rules and regulations to clarify or specify the requirements of this Article IV.
(Source: P.A. 83-213.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. V

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. V heading)
ARTICLE V. GLASS, WINDSHIELDS AND MIRRORS

625 ILCS 5/12-500

    (625 ILCS 5/12-500) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-500)
    Sec. 12-500. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 77-37. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-501

    (625 ILCS 5/12-501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-501)
    Sec. 12-501. Windshields and safety glazing material in motor vehicles.
    (a) Every motor vehicle operated upon the highways of this State shall be equipped with a front windshield which complies with those standards as established pursuant to this Section and Section 12-503 of this Code. This subsection shall not apply to motor vehicles designed and used exclusively for off-highway use, motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, motorized pedalcycles, nor to motor vehicles registered as antique vehicles, expanded-use antique vehicles, custom vehicles, or street rods when the original design of such vehicles did not include front windshields.
    (b) No person shall knowingly sell any 1936 or later model motor vehicle unless such vehicle is equipped with safety glazing material conforming to specifications prescribed by the Department wherever glazing material is used in doors, windows and windshields. Regulations promulgated by the Department specifying standards for safety glazing material on windshields shall, as a minimum, conform with those applicable Federal Motor Vehicles Safety Standards (49 CFR 571.205). These provisions apply to all motor vehicles of the first and second division but with respect to trucks, including truck tractors, the requirements as to safety glazing material apply to all glazing material used in doors, windows and windshields in the drivers' compartments of such vehicles.
    (c) It is unlawful for the owner or any other person knowingly to install or cause to be installed in any motor vehicle any glazing material other than safety glazing material conforming to the specifications prescribed by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-502

    (625 ILCS 5/12-502) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-502)
    Sec. 12-502. Mirrors. Every motor vehicle, operated singly or when towing another vehicle, shall be equipped with a mirror so located as to reflect to the driver a view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of such motor vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 82-122.)

625 ILCS 5/12-503

    (625 ILCS 5/12-503) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-503)
    Sec. 12-503. Windshields must be unobstructed and equipped with wipers.
    (a) No person shall drive a motor vehicle with any sign, poster, window application, reflective material, nonreflective material or tinted film upon the front windshield, except that a nonreflective tinted film may be used along the uppermost portion of the windshield if such material does not extend more than 6 inches down from the top of the windshield.
    (a-5) No window treatment or tinting shall be applied to the windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver, except:
        (1) On vehicles where none of the windows to the
    
rear of the driver's seat are treated in a manner that allows less than 30% light transmittance, a nonreflective tinted film that allows at least 50% light transmittance, with a 5% variance observed by any law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver.
        (2) On vehicles where none of the windows to the
    
rear of the driver's seat are treated in a manner that allows less than 35% light transmittance, a nonreflective tinted film that allows at least 35% light transmittance, with a 5% variance observed by any law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver.
        (3) (Blank).
        (4) On vehicles where a nonreflective smoked or
    
tinted glass that was originally installed by the manufacturer on the windows to the rear of the driver's seat, a nonreflective tint that allows at least 50% light transmittance, with a 5% variance observed by a law enforcement official metering the light transmittance, may be used on the vehicle windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver.
    (a-10) No person shall install or repair any material prohibited by subsection (a) of this Section.
        (1) Nothing in this subsection shall prohibit a
    
person from removing or altering any material prohibited by subsection (a) to make a motor vehicle comply with the requirements of this Section.
        (2) Nothing in this subsection shall prohibit a
    
person from installing window treatment for a person with a medical condition described in subsection (g) of this Section. An installer who installs window treatment for a person with a medical condition described in subsection (g) must obtain a copy of the certified statement or letter written by a physician described in subsection (g) from the person with the medical condition prior to installing the window treatment. The copy of the certified statement or letter must be kept in the installer's permanent records.
    (b) On motor vehicles where window treatment has not been applied to the windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver, the use of a perforated window screen or other decorative window application on windows to the rear of the driver's seat shall be allowed.
    (b-5) Any motor vehicle with a window to the rear of the driver's seat treated in this manner shall be equipped with a side mirror on each side of the motor vehicle which are in conformance with Section 12-502.
    (c) No person shall drive a motor vehicle with any objects placed or suspended between the driver and the front windshield, rear window, side wings or side windows immediately adjacent to each side of the driver which materially obstructs the driver's view.
    (d) Every motor vehicle, except motorcycles, shall be equipped with a device, controlled by the driver, for cleaning rain, snow, moisture or other obstructions from the windshield; and no person shall drive a motor vehicle with snow, ice, moisture or other material on any of the windows or mirrors, which materially obstructs the driver's clear view of the highway.
    (e) No person shall drive a motor vehicle when the windshield, side or rear windows are in such defective condition or repair as to materially impair the driver's view to the front, side or rear. A vehicle equipped with a side mirror on each side of the vehicle which are in conformance with Section 12-502 will be deemed to be in compliance in the event the rear window of the vehicle is materially obscured.
    (f) Paragraphs (a), (a-5), (b), and (b-5) of this Section shall not apply to:
        (1) (Blank).
        (2) those motor vehicles properly registered in
    
another jurisdiction.
    (g) Paragraphs (a) and (a-5) of this Section shall not apply to window treatment, including but not limited to a window application, nonreflective material, or tinted film, applied or affixed to a motor vehicle for which distinctive license plates or license plate stickers have been issued pursuant to subsection (k) of Section 3-412 of this Code, and which:
        (1) is owned and operated by a person afflicted with
    
or suffering from a medical disease, including but not limited to systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, or albinism, which would require that person to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun; or
        (2) is used in transporting a person when the person
    
resides at the same address as the registered owner of the vehicle and the person is afflicted with or suffering from a medical disease which would require the person to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun, including but not limited to systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, or albinism.
        The owner must obtain a certified statement or letter
    
written by a physician licensed to practice medicine in Illinois that such person owning and operating or being transported in a motor vehicle is afflicted with or suffers from such disease, including but not limited to systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, or albinism. However, no exemption from the requirements of subsection (a-5) shall be granted for any condition, such as light sensitivity, for which protection from the direct rays of the sun can be adequately obtained by the use of sunglasses or other eye protective devices.
        Such certification must be carried in the motor
    
vehicle at all times. The certification shall be legible and shall contain the date of issuance, the name, address and signature of the attending physician, and the name, address, and medical condition of the person requiring exemption. The information on the certificate for a window treatment must remain current and shall be renewed every 4 years by the attending physician. The owner shall also submit a copy of the certification to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State may forward notice of certification to law enforcement agencies.
    (g-5) (Blank).
    (g-7) Installers shall only install window treatment authorized by subsection (g) on motor vehicles for which distinctive plates or license plate stickers have been issued pursuant to subsection (k) of Section 3-412 of this Code. The distinctive license plates or plate sticker must be on the motor vehicle at the time of window treatment installation.
    (h) Paragraph (a) of this Section shall not apply to motor vehicle stickers or other certificates issued by State or local authorities which are required to be displayed upon motor vehicle windows to evidence compliance with requirements concerning motor vehicles.
    (i) (Blank).
    (j) A person found guilty of violating paragraphs (a), (a-5), (a-10), (b), (b-5), or (g-7) of this Section shall be guilty of a petty offense and fined no less than $50 nor more than $500. A second or subsequent violation of paragraphs (a), (a-5), (a-10), (b), (b-5), or (g-7) of this Section shall be treated as a Class C misdemeanor and the violator fined no less than $100 nor more than $500. Any person convicted under paragraphs (a), (a-5), (b), or (b-5) of this Section shall be ordered to alter any nonconforming windows into compliance with this Section.
    (k) Nothing in this Section shall create a cause of action on behalf of a buyer against a vehicle dealer or manufacturer who sells a motor vehicle with a window which is in violation of this Section.
    (l) The Secretary of State shall provide a notice of the requirements of this Section to a new resident applying for vehicle registration in this State pursuant to Section 3-801 of this Code. The Secretary of State may comply with this subsection by posting the requirements of this Section on the Secretary of State's website.
    (m) A home rule unit may not regulate motor vehicles in a manner inconsistent with this Section. This Section is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 98-153, eff. 1-1-14; 98-737, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VI

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VI heading)
ARTICLE VI. MISCELLANEOUS REQUIREMENTS

625 ILCS 5/12-600

    (625 ILCS 5/12-600) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-600)
    Sec. 12-600. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 86-498. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-601

    (625 ILCS 5/12-601) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-601)
    Sec. 12-601. Horns and warning devices.
    (a) Every motor vehicle when operated upon a highway shall be equipped with a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 200 feet, but no horn or other warning device shall emit an unreasonable loud or harsh sound or a whistle. The driver of a motor vehicle shall when reasonably necessary to insure safe operation give audible warning with his horn but shall not otherwise use such horn when upon a highway.
    (b) No vehicle shall be equipped with nor shall any person use upon a vehicle any siren, whistle, or bell, except as otherwise permitted in this section. Any authorized emergency vehicle or organ transport vehicle as defined in Chapter 1 of this Act may be equipped with a siren, whistle, or bell, capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 500 feet, but such siren, whistle or bell, shall not be used except when such vehicle is operated in response to an emergency call or in the immediate pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law in either of which events the driver of such vehicle shall sound such siren, whistle or bell, when necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the approach thereof.
    (c) Trackless trolley coaches, as defined by Section 1-206 of this Code, and replica trolleys, as defined by Section 1-171.04 of this Code, may be equipped with a bell or bells in lieu of a horn, and may, in addition to the requirements of paragraph (a) of this Section, use a bell or bells for the purpose of indicating arrival or departure at designated stops during the hours of scheduled operation.
(Source: P.A. 89-345, eff. 1-1-96; 89-687, eff. 6-1-97; 90-347, eff. 1-1-98; 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-601.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-601.1)
    Sec. 12-601.1. Traffic control signal preemption devices.
    (a) As used in this Section, "traffic control signal preemption device" means any device, either mechanical or electrical, that emits a pulse of light or other signal that, when received by a detector attached to a traffic control signal, changes that traffic control signal to a green light or, if the traffic control signal is already green, extends the duration of the green light.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (d), a traffic control signal preemption device may not be installed on a motor vehicle, may not be transported in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, and may not be operated by the driver or passenger of a motor vehicle.
    Violation of this subsection (b) is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $1,000 in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed.
    (c) A retailer or manufacturer may not sell a traffic control signal preemption device to any person or entity for any intended use other than operation as permitted under subsection (d).
    Violation of this subsection (c) is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $5,000 for each sale of each device, in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed.
    (d) Installation of a traffic control signal preemption device is permitted on the following vehicles, and operation of the device is permitted as follows:
        (1) Police department vehicles, when responding to a
    
bona fide emergency, when used in combination with red or blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (2) Law enforcement vehicles of State or local
    
authorities, when responding to a bona fide emergency, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (3) Vehicles of local fire departments and State or
    
federal firefighting vehicles, when responding to a bona fide emergency, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (4) Vehicles that are designed and used exclusively
    
as ambulances or rescue vehicles, when responding to a bona fide emergency, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (5) Vehicles that are equipped and used exclusively
    
as organ transport vehicles, when the transportation is declared an emergency by a member of the transplant team or a representative of the organ procurement organization, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (6) Vehicles of the Illinois Emergency Management
    
Agency and vehicles of the Department of Nuclear Safety, when responding to a bona fide emergency, when used in combination with red oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights.
        (7) Commuter buses owned by any political subdivision
    
of this State, operated either by the political subdivision or its lessee or agent, and offering short-haul for-hire regularly scheduled passenger transportation service, over regular routes with fixed schedules, within metropolitan and suburban areas, when used to extend the duration of an already green light to meet schedules.
        (8) Vehicles used for snow removal owned by any
    
political subdivision of this State, operated either by the political subdivision or its lessee or agent, when used during a snow emergency in combination with yellow or amber oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights, when used to extend the duration of an already green light.
    (e) This Section does not prohibit use by motorcycles of electronic or magnetic safety devices designed to allow traffic control signal systems to recognize or detect motorcycles.
(Source: P.A. 93-80, eff. 7-2-03.)

625 ILCS 5/12-601.2

    (625 ILCS 5/12-601.2)
    Sec. 12-601.2. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 94-373, eff. 1-1-06. Repealed by P.A. 99-576, eff. 7-15-16.)

625 ILCS 5/12-602

    (625 ILCS 5/12-602) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-602)
    Sec. 12-602. Mufflers, prevention of noise.
    Every motor vehicle driven or operated upon the highways of this State shall at all times be equipped with an adequate muffler or exhaust system in constant operation and properly maintained to prevent any excessive or unusual noise. No such muffler or exhaust system shall be equipped with a cutout, bypass or similar device. No person shall modify the exhaust system of a motor vehicle in a manner which will amplify or increase the noise of such vehicle above that emitted by the muffler originally installed on the vehicle, and such original muffler shall comply with all the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-602.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-602.1)
    Sec. 12-602.1. Excessive engine braking noise signs.
    (a) A county or municipality may post signs that prohibit the driver of a commercial vehicle, as defined in Section 1-111.8 of this Code, from operating or actuating any engine braking system that emits excessive noise. The Department of Transportation may erect and maintain the signs on interstate highways near weigh stations that are adjacent to residential areas or communities.
    (b) The sign shall state, "EXCESSIVE ENGINE BRAKING NOISE PROHIBITED". The Department of Transportation shall adopt rules providing for the erection and placement of these signs.
    (c) This Section does not apply to the use of an engine braking system that has an adequate sound muffling system in proper working order that prevents excessive noise.
    (d) It is a defense to this Section that the driver used an engine braking system that emits excessive noise in an emergency to avoid a collision with a person or another vehicle on the highway.
    (e) A violation of this Section is an equipment violation punishable by a fine of $75.
(Source: P.A. 96-523, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/12-603

    (625 ILCS 5/12-603) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-603)
    Sec. 12-603. Seat safety belts.
    (a) No person shall sell any 1965 or later model motor vehicle of the first division unless the front seat of such motor vehicle is equipped with 2 sets of seat safety belts. Motorcycles are exempted from the provisions of this Section.
    (b) No person shall operate any 1965 or later model motor vehicle of the first division that is titled or licensed by the Secretary of State unless the front seat of such motor vehicle is equipped with 2 sets of seat safety belts.
    (b-5) No person under the age of 18 years shall operate any motor vehicle, except a motor driven cycle or motorcycle, with more than one passenger in the front seat of the motor vehicle and no more passengers in the back seats than the number of available seat safety belts, except that each driver under the age of 18 years operating a second division vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,000 pounds or less that contains only a front seat may operate the vehicle with more than one passenger in the front seat, provided that each passenger is wearing a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) The Department shall establish performance specifications for seat safety belts and for the attachment and installation thereof.
(Source: P.A. 89-120, eff. 7-7-95; 90-89, eff. 1-1-98; 90-369, eff. 1-1-98; 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-603.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-603.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-603.1)
    Sec. 12-603.1. Driver and passenger required to use safety belts, exceptions and penalty.
    (a) Each driver and passenger of a motor vehicle operated on a street or highway in this State shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt. A child less than 8 years of age shall be protected as required pursuant to the Child Passenger Protection Act. Each driver of a motor vehicle transporting a child 8 years of age or more, but less than 16 years of age, shall secure the child in a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt as required under the Child Passenger Protection Act. Each driver of a motor vehicle transporting a passenger who is unable, due to infirmity, illness, or age, to properly adjust and fasten a seat safety belt and is not exempted from wearing a seat safety belt under subsection (b) shall secure the passenger in a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt as required under this Section.
    (b) Paragraph (a) shall not apply to any of the following:
        1. A driver or passenger frequently stopping and
    
leaving the vehicle or delivering property from the vehicle, if the speed of the vehicle between stops does not exceed 15 miles per hour.
        2. A driver or passenger possessing a written
    
statement from a physician that such person is unable, for medical or physical reasons, to wear a seat safety belt.
        3. A driver or passenger possessing an official
    
certificate or license endorsement issued by the appropriate agency in another state or country indicating that the driver is unable for medical, physical, or other valid reasons to wear a seat safety belt.
        4. A driver operating a motor vehicle in reverse.
        5. A motor vehicle with a model year prior to 1965.
        6. A motorcycle or motor driven cycle.
        7. A moped.
        8. A motor vehicle which is not required to be
    
equipped with seat safety belts under federal law.
        9. A motor vehicle operated by a rural letter carrier
    
of the United States postal service while performing duties as a rural letter carrier.
        10. A driver or passenger of an authorized emergency
    
vehicle, except this exception does not apply to vehicles of the fire department; vehicles of the Office of the State Fire Marshal; or ambulances, unless the delivery of life-saving measures prohibits the use of a seat safety belt.
        11. A back seat passenger of a taxicab.
    (c) Failure to wear a seat safety belt in violation of this Section shall not be considered evidence of negligence, shall not limit the liability of an insurer, and shall not diminish any recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or operation of a motor vehicle.
    (d) A violation of this Section shall be a petty offense and subject to a fine not to exceed $25.
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) A law enforcement officer may not search or inspect a motor vehicle, its contents, the driver, or a passenger solely because of a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-16, eff. 1-1-12; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 98-451, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/12-604

    (625 ILCS 5/12-604)
    Sec. 12-604. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 88-415. Repealed by P.A. 94-185, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/12-604.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-604.1)
    Sec. 12-604.1. Video devices.
    (a) A person may not operate a motor vehicle if a television receiver, a video monitor, a television or video screen, or any other similar means of visually displaying a television broadcast or video signal that produces entertainment or business applications is operating and is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat, or is operating and visible to the driver while driving the motor vehicle.
    (a-5) A person commits aggravated use of a video device when he or she violates subsection (a) and in committing the violation he or she was involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, disfigurement, or death to another and the violation was a proximate cause of the injury or death.
    (b) This Section does not apply to the following equipment, whether or not permanently installed in a vehicle:
        (1) a vehicle information display;
        (2) a global positioning display;
        (3) a mapping or navigation display;
        (4) a visual display used to enhance or supplement
    
the driver's view forward, behind, or to the sides of a motor vehicle for the purpose of maneuvering the vehicle;
        (5) television-type receiving equipment used
    
exclusively for safety or traffic engineering studies; or
        (6) a television receiver, video monitor, television
    
or video screen, or any other similar means of visually displaying a television broadcast or video signal, if that equipment has an interlock device that, when the motor vehicle is driven, disables the equipment for all uses except as a visual display as described in paragraphs (1) through (5) of this subsection (b).
    (c) This Section does not apply to a mobile, digital terminal installed in an authorized emergency vehicle, a motor vehicle providing emergency road service or roadside assistance, or to motor vehicles utilized for public transportation.
    (d) This Section does not apply to a television receiver, video monitor, television or video screen, or any other similar means of visually displaying a television broadcast or video signal if: (i) the equipment is permanently installed in the motor vehicle; and (ii) the moving entertainment images that the equipment displays are not visible to the driver while the motor vehicle is in motion.
    (d-5) This Section does not apply to a video event recorder, as defined in Section 1-218.10 of this Code, installed in a contract carrier vehicle.
    (e) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this Section, a person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a petty offense and shall be fined not more than $100 for a first offense, not more than $200 for a second offense within one year of a previous conviction, and not more than $250 for a third or subsequent offense within one year of 2 previous convictions.
    (f) A person convicted of violating subsection (a-5) commits a Class A misdemeanor if the violation resulted in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another. A person convicted of violating subsection (a-5) commits a Class 4 felony if the violation resulted in the death of another person.
(Source: P.A. 98-507, eff. 1-1-14; 99-689, eff. 1-1-17.)

625 ILCS 5/12-604.3

    (625 ILCS 5/12-604.3)
    Sec. 12-604.3. Video event recorder notice. A contract carrier vehicle carrying passengers that is equipped with a video event recorder shall have a notice posted in a visible location stating that a passenger's conversation may be recorded. Any data recorded by a video event recorder shall be the sole property of the registered owner or lessee of the contract carrier vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 99-689, eff. 1-1-17.)

625 ILCS 5/12-605

    (625 ILCS 5/12-605) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-605)
    Sec. 12-605. Taxicabs-Bullet proof shields. In municipalities with 1,000,000 or more population, any taxicab manufactured, owned or operated after September 1, 1970, and regularly operated in such a municipality must have a bullet proof shield completely separating the driver's seat from the back seat.
(Source: P.A. 80-911.)

625 ILCS 5/12-605.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-605.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-605.1)
    Sec. 12-605.1. (a) On or after two years from the effective date of this Act, no bus which was first placed in service after July 1, 1969, or which has undergone complete renovation and restoration since July 1, 1969 shall be operated as a part of any local mass transit system in this State unless the vehicle is equipped with radio facilities permitting two-way vocal communications between the bus and a local transit control office. This Section does not apply to buses used for charter service, school buses, intrastate carriers while not providing transportation services pursuant to contracts with any local mass transit system, private non-profit carriers receiving assistance under Section 16(b)2 of the Urban Mass Transportation Act of 1964 as amended, carriers receiving assistance pursuant to Article III of the Downstate Public Transportation Act, or interstate carriers and buses owned by a private local mass transit system;
    (b) A local mass transit system operating a bus not in compliance with the requirements of subsection (a) shall not be in violation of that subsection, provided that the bus is brought into compliance within a reasonable time (in no event to exceed 1 week) following written notification to the mass transit system of the fact that the bus is not in compliance.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-605.2

    (625 ILCS 5/12-605.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-605.2)
    Sec. 12-605.2. Beginning 30 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1988, no person shall consume any food or drink, excluding any medicine, upon any bus operated as a part of any local mass transit system in this State. This Section does not apply to buses used for charter service, school buses, intrastate carriers while not providing transportation services pursuant to contracts with any local mass transit system, and private non-profit carriers.
    Persons found guilty of violating this Section shall be fined $100.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-606

    (625 ILCS 5/12-606) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-606)
    Sec. 12-606. Tow-trucks; identification; equipment; insurance.
    (a) Every tow-truck, except those owned by governmental agencies, shall have displayed on each side thereof, a sign with letters not less than 2 inches in height, contrasting in color to that of the background, stating the full legal name, complete address (including street address and city), and telephone number of the owner or operator thereof. This information shall be permanently affixed to the sides of the tow truck.
    (b) Every tow-truck shall be equipped with:
        (1) One or more brooms and shovels;
        (2) One or more trash cans of at least 5 gallon
    
capacity; and
        (3) One fire extinguisher. This extinguisher shall
    
be either:
            (i) of the dry chemical or carbon dioxide type
        
with an aggregate rating of at least 4-B, C units, and bearing the approval of a laboratory qualified by the Division of Fire Prevention for this purpose; or
            (ii) One that meets the requirements of the
        
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations of the United States Department of Transportation for fire extinguishers on commercial motor vehicles.
    (c) Every owner or operator and driver of a tow-truck shall comply with Section 11-1413 of this Act and shall remove or cause to be removed all glass and debris, except any (i) hazardous substance as defined in Section 3.215 of the Environmental Protection Act, (ii) hazardous waste as defined in Section 3.220 of the Environmental Protection Act, and (iii) medical samples or waste, including but not limited to any blood samples, used syringes, other used medical supplies, or any other potentially infectious medical waste as defined in Section 3.360 of the Environmental Protection Act, deposited upon any street or highway by the disabled vehicle being serviced, and shall in addition, spread dirt or sand or oil absorbent upon that portion of any street or highway where oil or grease has been deposited by the disabled vehicle being serviced.
    (d) Every tow-truck operator shall in addition file an indemnity bond, insurance policy, or other proof of insurance in a form to be prescribed by the Secretary for: garagekeepers liability insurance, in an amount no less than a combined single limit of $500,000, and truck (auto) liability insurance in an amount no less than a combined single limit of $500,000, on hook coverage or garagekeepers coverage in an amount of no less than $25,000 which shall indemnify or insure the tow-truck operator for the following:
        (1) Bodily injury or damage to the property of others.
        (2) Damage to any vehicle towed by the tower.
        (3) In case of theft, loss of, or damage to any
    
vehicle stored, garagekeepers legal liability coverage in an amount of no less than $25,000.
        (4) In case of injury to or occupational illness of
    
the tow truck driver or helper, workers compensation insurance meeting the minimum requirements of the Workers' Compensation Act.
    Any such bond or policy shall be issued only by a bonding or insuring firm authorized to do business as such in the State of Illinois, and a certificate of such bond or policy shall be carried in the cab of each tow-truck.
    (e) The bond or policy required in subsection (d) shall provide that the insurance carrier may cancel it by serving previous notice, as required by Sections 143.14 and 143.16 of the Illinois Insurance Code, in writing, either personally or by registered mail, upon the owner or operator of the motor vehicle and upon the Secretary of State. Whenever any such bond or policy shall be so cancelled, the Secretary of State shall mark the policy "Cancelled" and shall require such owner or operator either to furnish a new bond or policy, in accordance with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 92-574, eff. 6-26-02.)

625 ILCS 5/12-607

    (625 ILCS 5/12-607) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-607)
    Sec. 12-607. Suspension System.
    (a) It shall be unlawful to operate a motor vehicle on any highway of this State when the suspension system has been modified from the original manufactured design by lifting the body from the chassis in excess of 3 inches or to cause the horizontal line from the front to the rear bumper to vary over 3 inches in height when measured from a level surface of the highway to the lower edge of the bumper, except that it is unlawful to operate a street rod or custom vehicle when the suspension system has been modified from the original manufactured design so that the horizontal line from the front to the rear bumper varies over 7 inches in height when measured from a level surface of the highway to the lower edge of the bumper.
    (b) Nothing in this Section shall prevent the installation of manufactured heavy duty equipment to include shock absorbers and overload springs, nor shall anything contained in this Section prevent a person to operate a motor vehicle on any highway of this State with normal wear of the suspension system if normal wear does not affect the control or safe operation of the vehicle. This Section shall not apply to motor vehicles designed or modified primarily for off-highway racing purposes while such vehicles are in tow or to motorcycles or motor driven cycles.
(Source: P.A. 92-668, eff. 1-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/12-607.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-607.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-607.1)
    Sec. 12-607.1. Frame and floor height. (a) No person shall operate upon a highway a first division vehicle which has a clearance between the frame and ground in excess of 22 inches. The lowest portion of the body floor shall not be more than 4 inches above the top of the frame. No such vehicle shall be modified to cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with the ground, expose the fuel tank to damage from collision or cause the wheels to come in contact with the body under normal operation.
    (b) No person shall operate upon a highway a second division vehicle which has a clearance between the frame and ground which is in excess of the limits specified within this subsection for its gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) category. For the purpose of this section, GVWR means the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating whether or not the vehicle is modified by the use of parts not originally installed by the manufacturer. The stacking or attaching of vehicle frames (one frame on top of or beneath another frame) is prohibited. No portion of the body floor shall be raised above the frame.
    (1) The frame height of second division vehicles, whose GVWR is under 4,500 pounds, shall be no more than 24 inches.
    (2) The frame height of second division vehicles, whose GVWR is more than 4,500 pounds and less than 7,500 pounds, shall be no more than 26 inches.
    (3) The frame height of second division vehicles, whose GVWR is more than 7,500 pounds and less than 10,000 pounds, shall be no more than 28 inches.
    (c) Under subsections (a) or (b) of this Section, measurements shall be made when a vehicle is unladen on a level surface at the lowest point from the bottom of the original vehicle manufacturer's longitudinal frame rail between the front axle and second axle on the vehicle.
    (d) This Section does not apply to specially designed or modified motor vehicles when operated off the highways. Such motor vehicles may be transported upon the highway only by use of a trailer or semitrailer. The specially designed or modified motor vehicle may also be transported upon another vehicle, providing that the entire weight of the specifically designed or modified vehicle is resting upon the transporting vehicle.
    (e) Any violation of this Section is a Class C misdemeanor. A second conviction under this Section shall be punished with a fine of not less than $500. An officer making an arrest under this Section shall order the vehicle driver to remove the vehicle from the highway. A person convicted under this Section shall be ordered to bring his vehicle into compliance with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-608

    (625 ILCS 5/12-608) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-608)
    Sec. 12-608. Bumpers.
    (a) It shall be unlawful to operate any motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 9,000 pounds or less or any motor vehicle registered as a recreational vehicle under this Code on any highway of this State unless such motor vehicle is equipped with both a front and rear bumper.
    Except as indicated below, maximum bumper heights of such motor vehicles shall be determined by weight category of gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) measured from a level surface to the highest point of the bottom of the bumper when the vehicle is unloaded and the tires are inflated to the manufacturer's recommended pressure.
    Maximum bumper heights are as follows:
Maximum FrontMaximum Rear
Bumper heightBumper Height
All motor vehicles of the first
    division except multipurpose
    passenger vehicles:22 inches22 inches
Multipurpose passenger vehicles
and all other motor vehicles:
    4,500 lbs. and under GVWR24 inches26 inches
    4,501 lbs. through 7,500
    lbs. GVWR27 inches29 inches
    7,501 lbs. through 9,000
    lbs. GVWR28 inches30 inches
    It is unlawful to operate upon any highway of this State any vehicle with a front bumper height that exceeds 28 inches or a rear bumper height that exceeds 30 inches, regardless of the GVWR of the vehicle, except those vehicles covered by Chapter 18b of this Code.
    For any vehicle with bumpers or attaching components which have been modified or altered from the original manufacturer's design in order to conform with the maximum bumper requirements of this section, the bumper height shall be measured from a level surface to the bottom of the vehicle frame rail at the most forward and rearward points of the frame rail. The bumper on any vehicle so modified or altered shall be at least 4.5 inches in vertical height and extend no less than the width of the respective wheel tracks outermost distance.
    However, nothing in this Section shall prevent the installation of bumper guards.
    (b) This Section shall not apply to street rods, custom vehicles, motor vehicles designed or modified primarily for off-highway purposes while such vehicles are in tow or to motorcycles or motor driven cycles, nor to motor vehicles registered as antique vehicles or expanded-use antique vehicles when the original design of such antique vehicles or expanded-use antique vehicles did not include bumpers. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any motor vehicle driven during the first 1000 recorded miles of that vehicle, when such vehicle is owned or operated by a manufacturer, dealer or transporter displaying a special plate or plates as described in Chapter 3 of this Code while such vehicle is (1) being delivered from the manufacturing or assembly plant directly to the purchasing dealer or distributor, or from one dealership or distributor to another; (2) being moved by the most direct route from one location to another for the purpose of installing special bodies or equipment; or (3) being driven for purposes of demonstration by a prospective buyer with the dealer or his agent present in the cab of the vehicle during the demonstration.
    The dealer shall, prior to the receipt of any deposit made or any contract signed by the buyer to secure the purchase of a vehicle, inform such buyer, by written statement signed by the purchaser to indicate acknowledgement of the contents thereof, of the legal requirements of this Section regarding front and rear bumpers if such vehicle is not to be equipped with bumpers at the time of delivery.
    (c) Any violation of this Section is a Class C misdemeanor. A second conviction under this Section shall be punishable with a fine of not less than $500. An officer making an arrest under this Section shall order the vehicle driver to remove the vehicle from the highway. A person convicted under this Section shall be ordered to bring his vehicle into compliance with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-609

    (625 ILCS 5/12-609) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-609)
    Sec. 12-609. (a) No official or employee of the State, any political subdivision thereof, any county, municipality, or local authority, and no owner or employee of any new vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, or vehicle auctioneer shall sell, trade or otherwise dispose of any motor vehicle bearing equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority unless, prior to delivery of the vehicle, the equipment and markings have been sufficiently altered or obliterated to remove the appearance of such authority.
    (b) A person may not operate on the highways of this State a vehicle bearing the equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority, unless the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle as defined in Section 1-105 of this Code.
    (c) This Section does not apply to vehicles bearing indicia of police authority that are antique vehicles, as defined in Section 1-102.1, and are registered as antique vehicles, as provided in Section 3-804.
    (c-5) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a manufacturer of authorized emergency vehicle equipment, markings, or other indicia, or the manufacturer's representative or authorized vendor, from temporarily mounting the equipment, markings, or other indicia on a vehicle for demonstration purposes only. If the equipment, markings, or other indicia are not covered while the vehicle is operated upon a highway, the vehicle shall display signage indicating that the vehicle is out of service or not an emergency vehicle. The signage shall be displayed on all sides of the vehicle in letters at least 2 inches tall and one-half inch wide.
    (d) Any police officer is authorized to seize any vehicle that is in violation of this Section and to impound that vehicle, at the owner's expense, until any equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority have been sufficiently removed, altered, or obliterated to remove the appearance of police authority.
    (e) A person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a petty offense and subject to a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000.
(Source: P.A. 97-1173, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/12-610

    (625 ILCS 5/12-610) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-610)
    Sec. 12-610. Headset receivers.
    (a) Except as provided under Section 11-1403.3, no driver of a motor vehicle on the highways of this State shall wear headset receivers while driving.
    (b) This Section does not prohibit the use of a headset type receiving equipment used exclusively for safety or traffic engineering studies, by law enforcement personnel on duty, or emergency medical services and fire service personnel.
    (c) This Section does not prohibit the use of any single sided headset type receiving and transmitting equipment designed to be used in or on one ear which is used exclusively for providing two-way radio vocal communications by an individual in possession of a current and valid novice class or higher amateur radio license issued by the Federal Communications Commission and an amateur radio operator special registration plate issued under Section 3-607 of this Code.
    (d) This Section does not prohibit the use of a single-sided headset or earpiece with a cellular or other mobile telephone.
(Source: P.A. 92-152, eff. 7-25-01.)

625 ILCS 5/12-610.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-610.1)
    Sec. 12-610.1. Wireless telephones.
    (a) As used in this Section, "wireless telephone" means a device that is capable of transmitting or receiving telephonic communications without a wire connecting the device to the telephone network.
    (b) A person under the age of 19 years who holds an instruction permit issued under Section 6-105 or 6-107.1, or a person under the age of 19 years who holds a graduated license issued under Section 6-107, may not drive a vehicle on a roadway while using a wireless phone.
    (b-5) A person under the age of 19 commits aggravated use of a wireless telephone when he or she violates subsection (b) and in committing the violation he or she was involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, disfigurement, or death to another and the violation was a proximate cause of the injury or death.
    (c) This Section does not apply to a person under the age of 19 years using a wireless telephone for emergency purposes, including, but not limited to, an emergency call to a law enforcement agency, health care provider, fire department, or other emergency services agency or entity.
    (d) If a graduated driver's license holder over the age of 18 committed an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of Section 6-107 or Section 12-603.1 of this Code in the 6 months prior to the graduated driver's license holder's 18th birthday, and was subsequently convicted of the violation, the provisions of paragraph (b) shall continue to apply until such time as a period of 6 consecutive months has elapsed without an additional violation and subsequent conviction of an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles or any violation of Section 6-107 or Section 12-603.1 of this Code.
    (e) A person, regardless of age, may not use a wireless telephone at any time while operating a motor vehicle on a roadway in a school speed zone established under Section 11-605, on a highway in a construction or maintenance speed zone established under Section 11-605.1, or within 500 feet of an emergency scene. As used in this Section, "emergency scene" means a location where an authorized emergency vehicle as defined by Section 1-105 of this Code is present and has activated its oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights. This subsection (e) does not apply to (i) a person engaged in a highway construction or maintenance project for which a construction or maintenance speed zone has been established under Section 11-605.1, (ii) a person using a wireless telephone for emergency purposes, including, but not limited to, law enforcement agency, health care provider, fire department, or other emergency services agency or entity, (iii) a law enforcement officer or operator of an emergency vehicle when performing the officer's or operator's official duties, (iv) a person using a wireless telephone in voice-operated mode, which may include the use of a headset, (v) a person using a wireless telephone by pressing a single button to initiate or terminate a voice communication, or (vi) a person using an electronic communication device for the sole purpose of reporting an emergency situation and continued communication with emergency personnel during the emergency situation.
    (e-5) A person commits aggravated use of a wireless telephone when he or she violates subsection (e) and in committing the violation he or she was involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, disfigurement, or death to another and the violation was a proximate cause of the injury or death.
    (f) A person convicted of violating subsection (b-5) or (e-5) commits a Class A misdemeanor if the violation resulted in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another. A person convicted of violating subsection (b-5) or (e-5) commits a Class 4 felony if the violation resulted in the death of another person.
(Source: P.A. 97-828, eff. 7-20-12; 97-830, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-507, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/12-610.2

    (625 ILCS 5/12-610.2)
    Sec. 12-610.2. Electronic communication devices.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Electronic communication device" means an electronic device, including but not limited to a hand-held wireless telephone, hand-held personal digital assistant, or a portable or mobile computer, but does not include a global positioning system or navigation system or a device that is physically or electronically integrated into the motor vehicle.
    (b) A person may not operate a motor vehicle on a roadway while using an electronic communication device.
    (b-5) A person commits aggravated use of an electronic communication device when he or she violates subsection (b) and in committing the violation he or she was involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, disfigurement, or death to another and the violation was a proximate cause of the injury or death.
    (c) A second or subsequent violation of this Section is an offense against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles. A person who violates this Section shall be fined a maximum of $75 for a first offense, $100 for a second offense, $125 for a third offense, and $150 for a fourth or subsequent offense.
    (d) This Section does not apply to:
        (1) a law enforcement officer or operator of an
    
emergency vehicle while performing his or her official duties;
        (2) a driver using an electronic communication device
    
for the sole purpose of reporting an emergency situation and continued communication with emergency personnel during the emergency situation;
        (3) a driver using an electronic communication device
    
in hands-free or voice-operated mode, which may include the use of a headset;
        (4) a driver of a commercial motor vehicle reading a
    
message displayed on a permanently installed communication device designed for a commercial motor vehicle with a screen that does not exceed 10 inches tall by 10 inches wide in size;
        (5) a driver using an electronic communication device
    
while parked on the shoulder of a roadway;
        (6) a driver using an electronic communication device
    
when the vehicle is stopped due to normal traffic being obstructed and the driver has the motor vehicle transmission in neutral or park;
        (7) a driver using two-way or citizens band radio
    
services;
        (8) a driver using two-way mobile radio transmitters
    
or receivers for licensees of the Federal Communications Commission in the amateur radio service;
        (9) a driver using an electronic communication device
    
by pressing a single button to initiate or terminate a voice communication; or
        (10) a driver using an electronic communication
    
device capable of performing multiple functions, other than a hand-held wireless telephone or hand-held personal digital assistant (for example, a fleet management system, dispatching device, citizens band radio, or music player) for a purpose that is not otherwise prohibited by this Section.
    (e) A person convicted of violating subsection (b-5) commits a Class A misdemeanor if the violation resulted in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another. A person convicted of violating subsection (b-5) commits a Class 4 felony if the violation resulted in the death of another person.
(Source: P.A. 97-828, eff. 7-20-12; 98-506, eff. 1-1-14; 98-507, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/12-610.5

    (625 ILCS 5/12-610.5)
    Sec. 12-610.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-672, eff. 7-1-12. Repealed by P.A. 97-743, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/12-611

    (625 ILCS 5/12-611) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-611)
    Sec. 12-611. No driver of any motor vehicle within this State shall operate or permit operation of any sound amplification system which can be heard outside the vehicle from 75 or more feet when the vehicle is being operated upon a highway, unless such system is being operated to request assistance or warn of a hazardous situation.
    This Section does not apply to authorized emergency vehicles.
    Any violation of the provisions of this Section shall be a petty offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $50.
(Source: P.A. 91-919, eff. 1-1-01.)

625 ILCS 5/12-612

    (625 ILCS 5/12-612)
    Sec. 12-612. False or secret compartment in a vehicle.
    (a) Offenses. It is unlawful for any person:
        (1) to own or operate with criminal intent any
    
vehicle he or she knows to contain a false or secret compartment that is used or has been used to conceal a firearm as prohibited by paragraph (a)(4) of Section 24-1 or paragraph (a)(1) of Section 24-1.6 of the Criminal Code of 2012, or controlled substance as prohibited by the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act; or
        (2) to install, create, build, or fabricate in any
    
vehicle a false or secret compartment knowing that another person intends to use the compartment to conceal a firearm as prohibited by paragraph (a)(4) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012, or controlled substance as prohibited by the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (b) Definitions. For purposes of this Section:
        (1) "False or secret compartment" means an enclosure
    
integrated into a vehicle that is a modification of the vehicle as built by the original manufacturer.
        (2) "Vehicle" means any of the following vehicles
    
without regard to whether the vehicles are private or commercial, including, but not limited to, cars, trucks, buses, aircraft, and watercraft.
    (c) Forfeiture. Any vehicle containing a false or secret compartment used in violation of this Section, as well as any items within that compartment, shall be subject to seizure by the Department of State Police or by any municipal or other local law enforcement agency within whose jurisdiction that property is found as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 (720 ILCS 5/36-1 and 5/36-2). The removal of the false or secret compartment from the vehicle, or the promise to do so, shall not be the basis for a defense to forfeiture of the motor vehicle under Section 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 and shall not be the basis for the court to release the vehicle to the owner.
    (d) Sentence. A violation of this Section is a Class 4 felony. The sentence imposed for violation of this Section shall be served consecutively to any other sentence imposed in connection with the firearm, controlled substance, or other contraband concealed in the false or secret compartment.
    (e) For purposes of this Section, a new owner is not responsible for any conduct that occurred or knowledge of conduct that occurred prior to transfer of title.
(Source: P.A. 96-202, eff. 1-1-10; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/12-613

    (625 ILCS 5/12-613)
    Sec. 12-613. Possession and use of radar or laser jamming devices prohibited.
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a person may not operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is equipped with any instrument designed to interfere with microwaves or lasers at frequencies used by police radar for the purpose of monitoring vehicular speed.
    (b) A person operating a motor vehicle who possesses within the vehicle a radar or laser jamming device that is contained in a locked opaque box or similar container, or that is not in the passenger compartment of the vehicle, and that is not in operation, is not in violation of this Section.
    (c) Any person found guilty of violating this Section is guilty of a petty offense. A minimum fine of $50 shall be imposed for a first offense and a minimum fine of $100 for a second or subsequent offense.
    (d) The radar or laser jamming device or mechanism shall be seized by the law enforcement officer at the time of the violation. This Section does not authorize the permanent forfeiture to the State of any radar or laser jamming device or mechanism. The device or mechanism shall be taken and held for the period when needed as evidence. When no longer needed for evidence, the defendant may petition the court for the return of the device or mechanism. The defendant, however, must prove to the court by a preponderance of the evidence that the device or mechanism will be used only for a legitimate and lawful purpose.
    (e) A law enforcement officer may not stop or search any motor vehicle or the driver of any motor vehicle solely on the basis of a violation or suspected violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-594, eff. 1-1-06; 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
VEHICLES OF THE SECOND DIVISION

625 ILCS 5/12-701

    (625 ILCS 5/12-701) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-701)
    Sec. 12-701. Tractors, traction engines and motor trucks-Operation on highways-Turning on highways during farming operations-Violations. No tractor, traction engine, motor truck or other similar vehicle shall be operated across, over or along any public highway of this State which has been oil-treated, if any such vehicle has on the periphery of any of the road wheels any block, stud, flange, cleat, ridge, lug, or any projection of metal or wood which projects radially beyond the tread or traffic surface of the tire; except that this prohibition shall not apply to tractors or traction engines equipped with what is known as crawler type tractors, when the same does not contain any projections of any kind likely to injure the surface of the road, nor to tractors, traction engines and similar vehicles which have upon their road wheels V-shaped, diagonal or other cleats arranged in such a manner as to be continuously in contact with the road surface. In no event shall the oil mat surface of any oil-treated public road be used as an area or space for turning any tractor or other farm machinery in carrying on or performing any farming operations upon the adjacent land. Provided, that nothing in this Section contained shall prohibit the operation of tractors, traction engines or motor trucks across any oil-treated road in order to reach adjacent lands or the operation of any such vehicles upon the treated portion of such oil-treated roads if there is no untreated portion thereof over which they may be operated or the operation of any such vehicles on oil-treated roads if in passing along said road they travel over the portion of said road which does not constitute the oil mat surface created by said oil treatment or the use of flexible tire chains on any tractor, traction engine, motor truck or other similar vehicle being operated upon any such oil-treated road.
    It is unlawful for any person to operate any tractor, traction engine, motor truck or other similar vehicle over and along any public highway of this State, which has been oil-treated, in violation of the provisions of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 80-911.)

625 ILCS 5/12-702

    (625 ILCS 5/12-702) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-702)
    Sec. 12-702. Certain vehicles to carry flares or other warning devices.
    (a) No person shall operate any motor vehicle of the second division weighing more than 8,000 pounds or any vehicle of the second division weighing 8,000 pounds or less towing a trailer or any motor vehicle towing a house trailer upon any highway outside an urban district at any time unless there is carried in such vehicle the following equipment, except as provided in paragraph (b) of this Section:
        1. At least 3 liquid-burning flares, or 3 red
    
electric lanterns or 3 portable red emergency reflectors, each of which is capable of being seen and distinguished at a distance of not less than 500 feet when lighted lamps are required, provided that emergency reflectors meeting the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 125 shall be deemed acceptable as regards visibility and color; and
        2. At least 3 red-burning 15-minute fusees unless red
    
electric lanterns or portable red emergency reflectors are carried; and
        3. At least 2 red-cloth flags, not less than 12
    
inches square, with standards to support flags or in lieu thereof, 2 portable emergency reflectors meeting the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 125.
    (b) No person shall operate at the time and under the conditions stated in paragraph (a) of this Section any motor vehicle used for the transportation of explosives, any cargo tank truck used for the transportation of flammable liquids or compressed gases or any motor vehicle using compressed gas as a fuel unless there is carried in such vehicle 3 red electric lanterns or 3 portable red emergency reflectors meeting the requirements of paragraph (a) of this Section, and such vehicle shall not carry any flares, fusees or signals produced by flame.
    (c) Whenever any motor vehicle of the second division weighing more than 8,000 pounds or any vehicle of the second division weighing 8,000 pounds or less towing a trailer or any motor vehicle towing a house trailer is disabled upon the roadway of any highway or the shoulder thereof outside an urban district or on any controlled access highway within an urban district at any time when lighted lamps are required, the driver of such vehicle shall display the following warning devices upon the highway during the time the vehicle is so disabled, except as provided in paragraph (d) of this Section:
        1. A lighted fusee, a lighted red electric lantern or
    
a portable red emergency reflector shall be immediately placed at the traffic side of the vehicle in the direction of the nearest approaching traffic. However, the driver of such vehicle upon learning of the disability may simultaneously flash the 2 front and 2 rear turn signals as a vehicular traffic warning and continue such flashing until the portable signals have been placed as required by this Section and during the time such portable emergency signals are being picked up for storage prior to the movement of the vehicle.
        2. As soon thereafter as possible, but in any event
    
within the burning period of the fusee (15 minutes), the driver shall place 3 liquid-burning flares, or 3 lighted red electric lanterns or 3 portable red emergency reflectors on the roadway or shoulder of the highway in the following order:
        One approximately 100 feet from the disabled vehicle
    
in the center of the lane or shoulder occupied by such vehicle and toward traffic approaching in that lane; and
        One approximately 100 feet in the opposite direction
    
from the disabled vehicle and in the center of the traffic lane or shoulder occupied by such vehicle; and
        One at the traffic side of the disabled vehicle not
    
less than 10 feet to the rear or forward thereof in the direction of the nearest approaching traffic. If a lighted red electric lantern or a portable red emergency reflector has been placed at the traffic side of the vehicle in accordance with paragraph (c) (1) of this Section, it may be used for this purpose.
    (d) Whenever any vehicle referred to in this Section is disabled within 500 feet of a curve, hill crest or other obstruction to view, the warning signal in that direction shall be so placed as to afford ample warning to other users of the highway, but in no case less than 100 feet nor more than 500 feet from the disabled vehicle.
    (e) Whenever any vehicle of a type referred to in this Section is disabled upon any roadway or shoulder of a divided highway during the time that lighted lamps are required, the appropriate warning devices prescribed in paragraph (a) (1) and (2) of this Section shall be placed as follows:
    One at a distance of approximately 200 feet from the vehicle in the center of the lane or shoulder occupied by the stopped vehicle and in the direction of traffic approaching in that lane; and
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet from the vehicle in the center of the lane or shoulder occupied by the vehicle and in the direction of traffic approaching in that lane; and
    One at the traffic side of the vehicle and approximately 10 feet from the vehicle in the direction of the nearest approaching traffic.
    (f) Whenever any vehicle of a type referred to in this Section is disabled upon the roadway of any highway or the shoulder thereof outside an urban district or on any controlled access highway within an urban district at any time when the display of fusees, flares, red electric lanterns or portable red emergency reflectors are not required, the driver of the vehicle shall display 2 red-cloth flags or 2 portable emergency reflectors meeting the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 125 upon the roadway or shoulder in the lane of traffic occupied by the disabled vehicle in the following order:
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet in advance of the vehicle; and
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet in the rear of the vehicle.
    (g) Whenever any vehicle of a type referred to in this Section is disabled upon any roadway or shoulder of a divided highway during the time that lighted lamps are not required, the driver of such vehicle shall display 2 red-cloth flags or 2 portable emergency reflectors meeting the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 125 upon the roadway or shoulder in the center of the lane of traffic occupied by the disabled vehicle in the following order:
    One at a distance of approximately 200 feet to the rear of the vehicle; and
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet to the rear of the vehicle.
    (h) Whenever any motor vehicle used for the transportation of explosives, or any cargo tank truck used for the transportation of any flammable liquid or compressed flammable gas or any motor vehicle using compressed gas as a fuel is disabled upon a highway of this State at any time or place mentioned in paragraph (c) of this Section, the driver of such vehicle shall immediately display 3 red electric lanterns or portable red emergency reflectors placed in the following order:
    One at the traffic side of the vehicle and approximately 10 feet from the vehicle in the direction of the nearest approaching traffic; and
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet to the front of the disabled vehicle in the center of the lane of traffic or shoulder occupied by such vehicle; and
    One at a distance of approximately 100 feet to the rear of the disabled vehicle in the center of the lane of traffic or shoulder occupied by such vehicle. Flares, fusees or signals produced by flame shall not be used as warning devices for disabled vehicles of the type mentioned in this paragraph.
    (i) The flares, fusees, red electric lanterns, portable red emergency reflectors and flags to be displayed as required in this Section shall conform with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section applicable thereto.
(Source: P.A. 89-687, eff. 6-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/12-703

    (625 ILCS 5/12-703) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-703)
    Sec. 12-703. Road oil vehicles-Dripping on certain highways forbidden.
    No person shall operate, on a durable all-weather highway of a type other than gravel or crushed stone, any vehicle used for the purpose of applying road oil, liquid asphalt or similar material to road surfaces unless such vehicle is so equipped as to absolutely prevent such material from dripping on such highway, nor shall such material be allowed to drip on any such highway.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-704

    (625 ILCS 5/12-704) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-704)
    Sec. 12-704. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/12-704.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-704.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-704.1)
    Sec. 12-704.1. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/12-704.3

    (625 ILCS 5/12-704.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-704.3)
    Sec. 12-704.3. Motor vehicles using alternate fuels; markings. Notwithstanding any other regulation or requirement, every motor vehicle using liquefied petroleum gas or compressed natural gas must be marked in accordance with guidelines established by the National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA) standards for the Storage and Handling of Liquefied Petroleum Gases and for Compressed Natural Gas Vehicular Fuel Systems and published by that body as NFPA 58 and NFPA 52 dated February 10, 1992 and August 14, 1992, respectively.
    The sign or decal shall be maintained in good legible condition. A sign or decal that is deteriorated or defaced so as to impair its legibility, quick recognition, or meaning shall be replaced by a new sign or decal.
(Source: P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/12-705

    (625 ILCS 5/12-705) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-705)
    Sec. 12-705. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/12-705.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-705.1)
    Sec. 12-705.1. Required use of biodiesel by certain vehicles.
    (a) Beginning July 1, 2006, any diesel powered vehicle owned or operated by this State, any county or unit of local government, any school district, any community college or public college or university, or any mass transit agency must, when refueling at a bulk central fueling facility, use a biodiesel blend that contains 5% biodiesel, as those terms are defined in the Illinois Renewable Fuels Development Program Act, where available, unless the engine is designed or retrofitted to operate on a higher percentage of biodiesel or on ultra low sulfur fuel.
    (b) Nothing in this Section prohibits any unit of government from using a biodiesel blend containing more than 2% biodiesel.
    (c) As used in this Section, a "bulk central fueling facility" means a non-commercial fueling facility whose primary purpose is the fueling of vehicles owned or operated by the State, a county or unit of local government, a school district, a community college or public college or university, or a mass transit agency.
    (d) The Secretary of Transportation shall adopt rules for implementing this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-281, eff. 8-11-09.)

625 ILCS 5/12-706

    (625 ILCS 5/12-706) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-706)
    Sec. 12-706. Fire apparatus-Safety belts.
    No fire apparatus equipped to carry firemen on the outside of such vehicle on the sides, or rear, or both, shall be operated without first installing on the fire apparatus on the sides and rear thereof a sufficient number of safety belts and safety belt connections to protect the maximum number of firemen who can occupy the sides and rear of such apparatus while responding to alarms of fire. The municipality shall cause inspection of such safety equipment at least semi-annually.
(Source: P.A. 77-37.)

625 ILCS 5/12-707

    (625 ILCS 5/12-707) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-707)
    Sec. 12-707. Vehicle passenger capacity. No school bus, commuter van or motor vehicle owned by or used for hire by and in connection with the operation of private or public schools, day camps, summer camps or nursery schools or in charter operations, and no commuter van or passenger car used for a for-profit ridesharing arrangement, shall be operated if it is occupied by more passengers than recommended by the manufacturer thereof if the vehicle is manufactured as a passenger vehicle; if the vehicle is manufactured for use other than passenger, then it shall not accommodate more passengers than provided for by the manufacturer in passenger vehicles of like style or rating.
(Source: P.A. 83-1091.)

625 ILCS 5/12-707.01

    (625 ILCS 5/12-707.01) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-707.01)
    Sec. 12-707.01. Liability insurance.
    (a) No school bus, first division vehicle including a taxi which is used for a purpose that requires a school bus driver permit, commuter van or motor vehicle owned by or used for hire by and in connection with the operation of private or public schools, day camps, summer camps or nursery schools, and no commuter van or passenger car used for a for-profit ridesharing arrangement, shall be operated for such purposes unless the owner thereof shall carry a minimum of personal injury liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 for any one person in any one accident, and subject to the limit for one person, $100,000 for two or more persons injured by reason of the operation of the vehicle in any one accident. This subsection (a) applies only to personal injury liability policies issued or renewed before January 1, 2013.
    (b) Liability insurance policies issued or renewed on and after January 1, 2013 shall comply with the following:
        (1) except as provided in subparagraph (2) of this
    
subsection (b), any vehicle that is used for a purpose that requires a school bus driver permit under Section 6-104 of this Code shall carry a minimum of liability insurance in the amount of $2,000,000. This minimum insurance requirement may be satisfied by either (i) a $2,000,000 combined single limit primary commercial automobile policy; or (ii) a $1 million primary commercial automobile policy and a minimum $5,000,000 excess or umbrella liability policy;
        (2) any vehicle that is used for a purpose that
    
requires a school bus driver permit under Section 6-104 of this Code and is used in connection with the operation of private day care facilities, day camps, summer camps, or nursery schools shall carry a minimum of liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 combined single limit per accident;
        (3) any commuter van or passenger car used for a
    
for-profit ridesharing arrangement shall carry a minimum of liability insurance in the amount of $500,000 combined single limit per accident.
    (c) Primary insurance coverage under the provisions of this Section must be provided by a licensed and admitted insurance carrier or an intergovernmental cooperative formed under Section 10 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution, or Section 6 or 9 of the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act, or provided by a certified self-insurer under Section 7-502 of this Code. The excess or umbrella liability coverage requirement may be met by securing surplus line insurance as defined under Section 445 of the Illinois Insurance Code. If the excess or umbrella liability coverage requirement is met by securing surplus line insurance, that coverage must be effected through a licensed surplus line producer acting under the surplus line insurance laws and regulations of this State. Nothing in this subsection (c) shall be construed as prohibiting a licensed and admitted insurance carrier or an intergovernmental cooperative formed under Section 10 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution, or Section 6 or 9 of the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act, or a certified self-insurer under Section 7-502 of this Code, from retaining the risk required under paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (b) of this Section or issuing a single primary policy meeting the requirements of paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (b).
    (d) Each owner of a vehicle required to obtain the minimum liability requirements under subsection (b) of this Section shall attest that the vehicle meets the minimum insurance requirements under this Section. The Secretary of State shall create a form for each owner of a vehicle to attest that the owner meets the minimum insurance requirements and the owner of the vehicle shall submit the form with each registration application. The form shall be valid for the full registration period; however, if at any time the Secretary has reason to believe that the owner does not have the minimum required amount of insurance for a vehicle, then the Secretary may require a certificate of insurance, or its equivalent, to ensure the vehicle is insured. If the owner fails to produce a certificate of insurance, or its equivalent, within 2 calendar days after the request was made, then the Secretary may revoke the vehicle owner's registration until the Secretary is assured the vehicle meets the minimum insurance requirements. If the owner of a vehicle participates in an intergovernmental cooperative or is self-insured, then the owner shall attest that the insurance required under this Section is equivalent to or greater than the insurance required under paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of this Section. The Secretary may adopt any rules necessary to enforce the provisions of this subsection (d).
(Source: P.A. 99-595, eff. 1-1-17.)

625 ILCS 5/12-708

    (625 ILCS 5/12-708) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-708)
    Sec. 12-708. Operator protective frames on tractor-mower combinations.
    No tractor unit over 16 engine horsepower designed for mowing or tractor-mower combination unit over 16 engine horsepower owned or leased by the Department, a municipal corporation or political subdivision shall be operated for the purpose of mowing vegetation on highway right-of-way unless the tractor of such unit is equipped with an operator protective frame conforming to the specifications prescribed by regulations under the United States Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, as amended, and with a seat safety belt.
    The operator protective frame may be incorporated into a cab which design shall conform to the specifications established by the United States Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, as amended.
    The seat safety belt must meet the requirements provided in Section 12-603 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 81-435.)

625 ILCS 5/12-709

    (625 ILCS 5/12-709) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-709)
    Sec. 12-709. Slow-moving vehicle emblem.
    (a) Every animal drawn vehicle, farm tractor, implement of husbandry and special mobile equipment, when operated on a highway must display a slow-moving vehicle emblem mounted on the rear except as provided in paragraph (b) of this Section. Special mobile equipment is exempt when operated within the limits of a construction or maintenance project where traffic control devices are used in compliance with the applicable provisions of the manual and specifications adopted under Section 11-301 of the "Illinois Vehicle Code".
    (b) Every vehicle or unit described in paragraph (a) of this Section when operated in combination on a highway must display a slow-moving vehicle emblem as follows:
        1. Where the towed unit or any load thereon
    
partially or totally obscures the slow-moving vehicle emblem on the towing unit, the towed unit shall be equipped with a slow-moving vehicle emblem. In such cases the towing unit need not display the emblem.
        2. Where the slow-moving vehicle emblem on the towing
    
unit is not obscured by the towed unit or its load, then either or both may be equipped with the required emblem but it shall be sufficient if either displays it.
        3. A registered truck towed behind a farm tractor in
    
conformity with the provisions of Section 11-1418 of the "Illinois Vehicle Code" must display a slow-moving vehicle emblem in the manner provided in paragraph (c) while being towed on a highway if the emblem on the towing vehicle is partially or totally obscured.
    (c) The slow-moving vehicle emblem required by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section must meet or exceed the specifications and mounting requirements established by the Department. Such specifications and mounting requirements shall, on and before August 31, 2004, be based on the specifications adopted by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers and published by that body as ASAE S 276.2 dated March, 1968 or as ASAE S 276.5. On and after September 1, 2004, the specifications and mounting requirements shall be based on the specifications adopted by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers and published by that body as ASAE S 276.5 NOV 97. No advertising or other marking shall appear upon the emblem except that specified by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers to identify the standard to which the material complies. Each original package containing a slow-moving vehicle emblem shall display a notice on the outside of the package stating that such emblem shall only be used for the purposes stated in subsections (a) and (b).
    (d) A slow-moving vehicle emblem is intended as a safety identification device and shall not be displayed on any vehicle nor displayed in any manner other than as described in paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Section. A slow-moving vehicle emblem may not be displayed in public view from a highway on an object other than a vehicle or unit described in subsection (a) of this Section or a vehicle required to display a slow-moving vehicle emblem under subsection (e) of Section 11-1426.1 of this Code. A violation of this subsection (d) is a petty offense punishable by a fine of $75.
(Source: P.A. 97-958, eff. 8-15-12.)

625 ILCS 5/12-710

    (625 ILCS 5/12-710) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-710)
    Sec. 12-710. Rear fender splash guards. It is unlawful for any person to operate any vehicle of the second division, except a truck tractor, to which this Section is applicable upon any highway of this State unless such vehicle is equipped with rear fender splash guards of either the contour type or the flap type which comply with the specifications provided in this Section for the type of splash guards used on the vehicle, and which are so attached as to prevent the splashing of mud or water upon the windshield of other motor vehicles.
    (a) Specifications for contour type splash guards. When contour type rear fender splash guards are used, they shall contour the wheel in such a manner that the relationship of the inside surface of any such splash guard to the tread surface of the tire or wheel shall be relatively parallel, both laterally and across the wheel, at least throughout the top 90 degrees of the rear 180 degrees of the wheel surface; provided however, on vehicles which have a clearance of less than 5 inches between the top of the tire or wheel and that part of the body of the vehicle directly above the tire or wheel when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity, the curved portion of the splash guard need only extend from a point directly behind the center of the rear axle and to the rear of the wheel surface upwards to within at least 2 inches of the bottom line of the body when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity. There shall be a downward extension of the curved surface which shall end not more than 12 inches from the ground when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity. This downward extension shall be part of the curved surface or attached directly to such curved surface, but it need not contour the wheel. Such contour type splash guards shall be wide enough to cover the full tread width of the tire or tires being protected and shall be installed not more than 6 inches from the tread surface of the tire or wheel when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity. The splash guard shall have a lip or flange on its outside edge to minimize side throw and splash. The lip or flange shall extend toward the center of the wheel, and shall be perpendicular to and extend not less than 2 inches below the inside or bottom surface line or plane of the guard. Such contour type splash guards may be constructed of either a rigid or flexible material, but shall be attached in such a manner that, regardless of movement either by the splash guards or the vehicle, the splash guards will retain their general parallel relationship to the tread surface of the tire or wheel under all ordinary operating conditions.
    (b) Specifications for flap type splash guards. When flap type splash guards are used, they shall be wide enough to cover the full tread width of the tire or tires being protected; shall be so installed that they extend from the underside of the vehicle in a vertical plane behind the rear wheels to within 12 inches of the ground, when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity; shall be so constructed and attached so that when the vehicle is in forward motion such splash guard will not deviate or move backward from the vertical plane by an angle of more than 30 degrees measured from the vertical plane and so that when the forward motion of the vehicle causes such splash guard to deviate from the vertical plane, the bottom of such flap type splash guard will not be more than 15 inches from the ground, when the vehicle is loaded to maximum legal capacity. Such flap type splash guard may be constructed of either a rigid or flexible material.
    (c) Exemptions. This Section shall not apply to vehicles the construction or design of which does not require such splash guards, nor to vehicles in-transit and capable only of using temporary splash guards prescribed by the Department, nor to pole trailers.
(Source: P.A. 89-117, eff. 7-7-95.)

625 ILCS 5/12-711

    (625 ILCS 5/12-711) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-711)
    Sec. 12-711. Commencing January 1, 1987, all trucks equipped with self-compactors or roll-off hoists and roll-on containers for garbage or refuse hauls shall, before operating on any public or private highway, alley or parking area of this State, be equipped with an operably working external audible warning signal device that meets the standard of American National Standards Institute, SAE J994b, Type A, B or C, which is activated when the vehicle is operated in reverse or when top-hinged tailgates are open.
(Source: P.A. 84-813.)

625 ILCS 5/12-712

    (625 ILCS 5/12-712) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-712)
    Sec. 12-712. Construction equipment to display company name.
    (a) Construction equipment that is capable of being self propelled or any construction equipment capable of being towed shall display on the side of the equipment the name of the company for which it is employed. The name shall be in letters at least 2 inches tall and one-half inch wide. This Section shall not apply to any motor vehicle upon which is affixed the insignia required under Section 18c-4701 of the Illinois Commercial Transportation Law.
    (b) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall be guilty of a petty offense and subject to a fine not to exceed $100.
(Source: P.A. 87-1160; 88-45.)

625 ILCS 5/12-713

    (625 ILCS 5/12-713) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-713)
    Sec. 12-713. Commercial trucks used by construction contractors or subcontractors to display company name.
    (a) Every second division vehicle operating commercially in this State that is used by a construction contractor or subcontractor shall display on the side of the vehicle or its trailer the name of the company for which it is employed. The name shall be in letters at least 2 inches tall and one-half inch wide. This Section shall not apply to any motor vehicle upon which is affixed the insignia required under Section 18c-4701 of the Illinois Commercial Transportation Law.
    (b) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall be guilty of a petty offense and subject to a fine of not less than $500.
(Source: P.A. 96-1179, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/12-714

    (625 ILCS 5/12-714)
    Sec. 12-714. Possession and use of radar detection devices prohibited.
    (a) No person shall operate or be in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle as defined in Section 6-500(6) of this Code while the motor vehicle is equipped with any instrument designed to detect the presence of police radar for the purpose of monitoring vehicular speed.
    (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this Section, a person operating a commercial motor vehicle as defined in Section 6-500(6) of this Code, who possesses within the vehicle a radar detecting device that is contained in a locked opaque box or similar container, or that is not in the passenger compartment of the vehicle, and that is not in operation, shall not be in violation of subsection (a) of this Section.
    Any person found guilty of violating this Section shall be guilty of a petty offense. A minimum fine of $50 shall be imposed for a first offense and a minimum fine of $100 for a second or subsequent offense.
    (c) The radar detection device or mechanism shall be seized by the law enforcement officer at the time of the violation if the offender has previously been convicted of violating this Section. This Section shall not be construed to authorize the permanent forfeiture to the State of any radar detection device or mechanism. Any such device or mechanism shall be taken and held for the period when needed as evidence. When no longer needed for evidence, the defendant may petition the court for the return of the device or mechanism; provided the defendant shall prove to the court by a preponderance of the evidence that the device or mechanism will be used only for a legitimate and lawful purpose.
    (d) No commercial motor vehicle, or driver of such vehicle, shall be stopped or searched by any law enforcement officer solely on the basis of a violation or suspected violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-715

    (625 ILCS 5/12-715)
    Sec. 12-715. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-248, eff. 1-1-00. Repealed by P.A. 94-594, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 12 Art. VIII heading)
ARTICLE VIII. SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL BUSES

625 ILCS 5/12-800

    (625 ILCS 5/12-800) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-800)
    Sec. 12-800. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 82-111. Repealed by P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/12-801

    (625 ILCS 5/12-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-801)
    Sec. 12-801. Color. The exterior of each school bus shall be national school bus glossy yellow except as follows:
    The rooftop may be white.
    The fenders of school buses manufactured before January 1, 1976, may be black.
    Body trim, rub rails, lettering other than on a stop signal arm and bumpers on a Type I school bus shall be glossy black.
    Lettering on a stop signal arm shall be white on a red background.
    Bumpers on a Type II school bus may be glossy black or a bright, light or colorless finish.
    The hood and upper cowl may be lusterless black or lusterless school bus yellow.
    Grilles on the front, lamp trim and hubcaps may be a bright finish.
    The name or emblem of a manufacturer may be colorless or any color.
    The exterior paint of any school bus shall match the central value, hue and chroma set forth in rules promulgated by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 88-415; 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)

625 ILCS 5/12-802

    (625 ILCS 5/12-802) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-802)
    Sec. 12-802. Identification.
    (a) Each school bus shall have the sign "SCHOOL BUS" painted on both the front and rear of the bus as high as practicable in letters at least 8 inches high.
    (b) Each school bus and multifunction school-activity bus (MFSAB) shall have the vehicle weight and the vehicle maximum passenger capacity recommended by the manufacturer of the bus, which shall be based upon provision for 13 inches of seating space for each passenger exclusive of the driver, painted on the body to the left of the service door in letters at least 2 inches high. The name of the owner or the entity or both for which the school bus or MFSAB is operated shall be painted in a contrasting color on both sides, centered as high as practicable below the window line, in letters at least 4 inches high. An identification number shall be painted as high as practicable on both the front and rear of the school bus or MFSAB in letters at least 4 inches high.
    (c) Decals may be used instead of painting under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-410, eff. 7-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/12-803

    (625 ILCS 5/12-803) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-803)
    Sec. 12-803. (a) Each school bus shall be equipped with a stop signal arm on the driver's side of the school bus that may be operated either manually or mechanically. For each school bus manufactured on and after September 1, 1992, the stop signal arm shall be an octagon shaped semaphore that conforms to 49 C.F.R. 571.131, "SCHOOL BUS PEDESTRIAN SAFETY DEVICES", S5.1 through S5.5.
    (b) Each school bus manufactured prior to September 1, 1992 shall be equipped with a stop signal arm that conforms to standards promulgated by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 88-415.)

625 ILCS 5/12-804

    (625 ILCS 5/12-804) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-804)
    Sec. 12-804. Other vehicles - Color, stop signal arm and identification. No vehicle other than a school bus shall be identified with the sign "SCHOOL BUS", shall be equipped with a stop signal arm, shall be equipped with a strobe lamp or shall be equipped with a warning lamp system as described in Section 12-805 of this Act. No commuter van or bus other than a school bus shall be painted national school bus glossy yellow or a color that closely resembles national school bus glossy yellow.
(Source: P.A. 81-509; 81-740; 81-1509.)

625 ILCS 5/12-805

    (625 ILCS 5/12-805) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-805)
    Sec. 12-805. Special lighting equipment.
    Each school bus purchased as a new vehicle after December 31, 1975 shall be equipped with an 8-lamp flashing signal system. Until December 31, 1978, all other school buses shall be equipped with either a 4-lamp or an 8-lamp flashing signal system. After December 31, 1978, all school buses shall be equipped with an 8-lamp flashing signal system.
    A 4-lamp flashing signal system shall have 2 alternately flashing red lamps mounted as high and as widely spaced laterally on the same level as practicable at the front of the school bus and 2 such lamps mounted in the same manner at the rear.
    An 8-lamp flashing signal system shall have, in addition to a 4-lamp system, 4 alternately flashing amber lamps. Each amber lamp shall be mounted next to a red lamp and at the same level but closer to the centerline of the school bus.
    Each signal lamp shall be a sealed beam at least 5 1/2 inches in diameter and shall have sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight. Both the 4-lamp and 8-lamp system shall be actuated only by means of a manual switch. There shall be a device for indicating to the driver that the system is operating properly or is inoperative.
    A school bus may also be equipped with alternately flashing head lamps, which may be operated in conjunction with the 8-lamp flashing signal system.
(Source: P.A. 93-181, eff. 1-1-04.)

625 ILCS 5/12-806

    (625 ILCS 5/12-806) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-806)
    Sec. 12-806. Identification, stop signal arms and special lighting when not used as a school bus. Except as provided in Section 12-806a, whenever a school bus is operated for the purpose of transporting passengers other than persons in connection with an activity of the school or religious organization which owns the school bus or for which the school bus is operated, the "SCHOOL BUS" signs shall be covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and flashing signal system shall not be operable through normal controls.
(Source: P.A. 84-1311.)

625 ILCS 5/12-806a

    (625 ILCS 5/12-806a) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-806a)
    Sec. 12-806a. Identification, stop signal arms and special lighting on school buses used in connection with a youth camp, child care facility, or community based rehabilitation facility.
    (a) Subject to the conditions in Subsection (c), a bus which meets any of the special requirements for school buses in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code may be used for the purpose of transporting persons 18 years of age or less in connection with any of the following facilities:
        (i) any youth camp licensed under the Youth Camp Act;
    
and
        (ii) any child care facility licensed under the Child
    
Care Act of 1969.
    (b) Subject to the conditions in subsection (c), a bus which meets any of the special requirements for school buses in Sections 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code may be used for the purpose of transporting persons recognized as clients of a community based rehabilitation facility which is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities of Tucson, Arizona, and which is under a contractual agreement with the Department of Human Services.
    (c) A bus used for transportation as provided in subsection (a) or (b) shall either (i) meet all of the special requirements for school buses in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 or (ii) shall have the "SCHOOL BUS" signs covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and flashing signal system rendered inoperable through normal means. A bus which meets all of the special requirements for school buses in Section 12-801, 12-802, 12-803 and 12-805 shall be operated by a person who has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State and who possesses a valid school bus driver permit or is accompanied and supervised, for the specific purpose of training prior to routine operation of a school bus, by a person who has held a valid school bus driver permit for at least one year. A bus which has had the "SCHOOL BUS" signs covered or concealed and the stop signal arm and flashing signal system rendered inoperable through normal means may be operated by a person who has a valid and properly classified driver's license issued by the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 85-815; 89-507, eff. 7-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/12-807

    (625 ILCS 5/12-807) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-807)
    Sec. 12-807. Seat belt for driver. Each school bus shall be equipped with a retractable lap belt assembly for the driver's seat. No school bus shall be operated unless the driver has properly restrained himself with the lap belt assembly.
(Source: P.A. 78-1244.)

625 ILCS 5/12-807.1

    (625 ILCS 5/12-807.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-807.1)
    Sec. 12-807.1. Seat back height. No Type I school bus manufactured after June 30, 1987 shall be sold for use as, or purchased for use as, or used as a school bus within this State unless such bus is equipped with passenger seat backs having a seat back height of 28 inches installed by the original bus body manufacturer.
(Source: P.A. 85-1010.)

625 ILCS 5/12-807.2

    (625 ILCS 5/12-807.2)
    Sec. 12-807.2. Crossing control arms.
    (a) No Type I or Type II school bus may be operated or used as a school bus within this State after December 31, 1999 unless that bus is equipped with a crossing control arm on the front of the bus that conforms to equipment and installation standards that the Department of Transportation shall promulgate for purposes of this subsection.
    (b) If a Type I or Type II school bus is manufactured after December 31, 1997, that bus shall not be sold for use as, or purchased for the use as, or used as a school bus within this State unless that bus is equipped with a crossing control arm that is installed on the front of the bus by the original bus body manufacturer and that conforms to equipment and installation standards that the Department shall promulgate for purposes of this subsection.
    (c) A crossing control arm meeting standards promulgated by the Department under this Section shall be designed to swing out from the front of a school bus when the bus stops and opens its doors while school children enter or exit the bus, as prescribed in rules promulgated by the State Board of Education.
    (d) This Section does not apply to the temporary operation in this State of a school bus that is legally registered in another state and is displaying valid registration plates of that state if (i) the bus is not operated in Illinois on a regular basis, and (ii) the bus is being operated in Illinois in connection with a cultural, tourist, athletic, or similar activity that is sponsored by one or more schools located outside of Illinois for the benefit of their enrolled students who are being transported to or from that activity.
(Source: P.A. 90-108, eff. 7-14-97.)

625 ILCS 5/12-808

    (625 ILCS 5/12-808) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-808)
    Sec. 12-808. Fire extinguisher.
    Each school bus shall be equipped with at least one dry chemical gauge type fire extinguisher mounted in the extinguisher manufacturer's automobile type bracket in a position readily accessible to the driver.
(Source: P.A. 78-1244.)

625 ILCS 5/12-809

    (625 ILCS 5/12-809) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-809)
    Sec. 12-809. First aid kit.
    Each school bus shall be equipped with a first aid kit mounted in full view of and readily accessible to the driver.
(Source: P.A. 78-1244.)

625 ILCS 5/12-810

    (625 ILCS 5/12-810) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-810)
    Sec. 12-810. Restraining devices for passengers who are persons with disabilities. Each school bus which is operated for transporting passengers who are persons with disabilities shall be equipped with an appropriate restraining or safety device for each such passenger.
(Source: P.A. 88-685, eff. 1-24-95.)

625 ILCS 5/12-811

    (625 ILCS 5/12-811) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-811)
    Sec. 12-811. Amber 3 bar clearance light. Each type I school bus shall be equipped with an amber 3 bar clearance light on the front of the bus. The light shall be illuminated at all times when the bus is being operated between sunset and sunrise and in conditions of reduced visibility.
(Source: P.A. 79-63.)

625 ILCS 5/12-812

    (625 ILCS 5/12-812) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-812)
    Sec. 12-812. Rules and regulations. (a) The Department may promulgate rules and regulations to more completely specify the equipment requirements of this Article.
    (b) All rules, regulations and standards promulgated from time to time by the State Board of Education and the Department for the safety and construction of school buses shall be applicable to every motor vehicle in this State defined as a school bus under Section 1-182.
(Source: P.A. 81-1508.)