Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/11-1201.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1201.5)
    Sec. 11-1201.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 94-771, eff. 1-1-07. Repealed by P.A. 96-478, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1202

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1202)
    Sec. 11-1202. Certain vehicles must stop at all railroad grade crossings.
    (a) The driver of any of the following vehicles shall, before crossing a railroad track or tracks at grade, stop such vehicle within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail and, while so stopped, shall listen and look for the approach of a train or railroad track equipment and shall not proceed until such movement can be made with safety:
        1. Any second division vehicle carrying passengers
    
for hire;
        2. Any bus that meets all of the special requirements
    
for school buses in Sections 12-801, 12-803, and 12-805 of this Code. The driver of the bus, in addition to complying with all other applicable requirements of this subsection (a), must also (i) turn off all noise producing accessories, including heater blowers, defroster fans, auxiliary fans, and radios, and (ii) open the service door and driver's window, before crossing a railroad track or tracks;
        3. Any other vehicle which is required by Federal or
    
State law to be placarded when carrying as a cargo or part of a cargo hazardous material as defined in the "Illinois Hazardous Materials Transportation Act".
    After stopping as required in this Section, the driver shall proceed only in a gear not requiring a change of gears during the crossing, and the driver shall not shift gears while crossing the track or tracks.
    (b) This Section shall not apply:
        1. At any railroad grade crossing where traffic is
    
controlled by a police officer or flagperson;
        2. At any railroad grade crossing controlled by a
    
functioning traffic-control signal transmitting a green indication which, under law, permits the vehicle to proceed across the railroad tracks without slowing or stopping, except that subsection (a) shall apply to any school bus;
        3. At any streetcar grade crossing within a business
    
or residence district; or
        4. At any abandoned, industrial or spur track
    
railroad grade crossing designated as exempt by the Illinois Commerce Commission and marked with an official sign as authorized in the State Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways.
(Source: P.A. 95-756, eff. 1-1-09; 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1203

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1203)
    Sec. 11-1203. Moving heavy equipment at railroad grade crossing.
    (a) No person shall operate or move any crawler-type tractor, power shovel, derrick, roller, or any equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of 10 or less miles per hour, or, for such equipment with 18 feet or less distance between two adjacent axles, having a vertical body or load clearance of less than 9 inches above a level surface, or, for such equipment with more than 18 feet between two adjacent axles, having a vertical body or load clearance of less than 1/2 inch per foot of distance between such adjacent axles above a level surface upon or across any tracks at a railroad grade crossing without first complying with this Section.
    (b) Notice of any such intended crossing shall be given to a superintendent of such railroad and a reasonable time be given to such railroad to provide proper protection at such crossing.
    (c) Before making any such crossing the person operating or moving any such vehicle or equipment shall first stop the same not less than 15 feet nor more than 50 feet from the nearest rail of such railway and while so stopped shall listen and look in both directions along such track for any approaching train or railroad track equipment and for signals indicating the approach of a train or railroad track equipment, and shall not proceed until the crossing can be made safely.
    (d) No such crossing shall be made when warning is given by automatic signal or crossing gates or a flagman or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train, railroad track equipment, or car.
(Source: P.A. 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1204

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1204)
    Sec. 11-1204. Stop and yield signs.
    (a) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop signs or yield signs as authorized in Section 11-302 of this Act.
    (b) Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control signal, every driver of a vehicle and every motorman of a streetcar approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersection roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.
    (c) The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign if required for safety to stop shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1205

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1205)
    Sec. 11-1205. Emerging from alley, building, or private road or driveway.
    The driver of a vehicle emerging from an alley, building, private road or driveway within an urban area shall stop such vehicle immediately prior to driving into the sidewalk area extending across such alley, building entrance, road or driveway, or in the event there is no sidewalk area, shall stop at the point nearest the street to be entered where the driver has a view of approaching traffic thereon, and shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian as may be necessary to avoid collision, and upon entering the roadway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on such roadway.
(Source: P.A. 77-1344.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIII heading)
ARTICLE XIII. STOPPING, STANDING,
AND PARKING

625 ILCS 5/11-1301

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301)
    Sec. 11-1301. Stopping, standing or parking outside of business or residence district.
    (a) Outside a business or residence district, no person shall stop, park or leave standing any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the roadway when it is practicable to stop, park or so leave such vehicle off the roadway, but in every event an unobstructed width of the highway opposite a standing vehicle shall be left for the free passage of other vehicles and a clear view of such stopped vehicle shall be available from a distance of 200 feet in each direction upon such highway.
    (b) The Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction or for the maintenance of which it is responsible may place signs prohibiting or restricting the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles on any highway where in its opinion such stopping, standing or parking is dangerous to those using the highway or where the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles would unduly interfere with the free movement of traffic thereon. Any such regulations adopted by the Department regarding the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles upon any specific street, streets or highways become effective at the time of the erection of appropriate signs indicating such regulations. Any such signs may be erected either by the Department or by a local authority with the approval of the Department.
    (c) This Section, Section 11-1303 and Section 11-1304 shall not apply to the driver of any vehicle which is disabled in such manner and to such extent that it is impossible to avoid stopping and temporarily leaving the vehicle in such position.
    (d) Any second division vehicle used exclusively for the collection of garbage, refuse, or recyclable material may stop or stand on the road in a business, rural, or residential district for the sole purpose of collecting garbage, refuse, or recyclable material. The vehicle, in addition to having its hazard lights lighted at all times that it is engaged in stopping or standing, shall also use its amber oscillating, rotating, or flashing light or lights as authorized under paragraph 12 of subsection (b) of Section 12-215, if so equipped.
(Source: P.A. 91-869, eff. 1-1-01.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.1)
    Sec. 11-1301.1. Persons with disabilities - Parking privileges - Exemptions.
    (a) A motor vehicle bearing registration plates issued to a person with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, pursuant to Section 3-616 or to a disabled veteran pursuant to subsection (a) of Section 3-609 or a special decal or device issued pursuant to Section 3-616 or pursuant to Section 11-1301.2 of this Code or a motor vehicle registered in another jurisdiction, state, district, territory or foreign country upon which is displayed a registration plate, special decal or device issued by the other jurisdiction designating the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities shall be exempt from the payment of parking meter fees until January 1, 2014, and exempt from any statute or ordinance imposing time limitations on parking, except limitations of one-half hour or less, on any street or highway zone, a parking area subject to regulation under subsection (a) of Section 11-209 of this Code, or any parking lot or parking place which are owned, leased or owned and leased by a municipality or a municipal parking utility; and shall be recognized by state and local authorities as a valid license plate or parking device and shall receive the same parking privileges as residents of this State; but, such vehicle shall be subject to the laws which prohibit parking in "no stopping" and "no standing" zones in front of or near fire hydrants, driveways, public building entrances and exits, bus stops and loading areas, and is prohibited from parking where the motor vehicle constitutes a traffic hazard, whereby such motor vehicle shall be moved at the instruction and request of a law enforcement officer to a location designated by the officer.
    (b) Any motor vehicle bearing registration plates or a special decal or device specified in this Section or in Section 3-616 of this Code or such parking device as specifically authorized in Section 11-1301.2 as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or bearing registration plates issued to a disabled veteran under subsection (a) of Section 3-609 may park, in addition to any other lawful place, in any parking place specifically reserved for such vehicles by the posting of an official sign as provided under Section 11-301. Parking privileges granted by this Section are strictly limited to the person to whom the special registration plates, special decal or device were issued and to qualified operators acting under his or her express direction while the person with disabilities is present. A person to whom privileges were granted shall, at the request of a police officer or any other person invested by law with authority to direct, control, or regulate traffic, present an identification card with a picture as verification that the person is the person to whom the special registration plates, special decal or device was issued.
    (c) Such parking privileges granted by this Section are also extended to motor vehicles of not-for-profit organizations used for the transportation of persons with disabilities when such motor vehicles display the decal or device issued pursuant to Section 11-1301.2 of this Code.
    (d) No person shall use any area for the parking of any motor vehicle pursuant to Section 11-1303 of this Code or where an official sign controlling such area expressly prohibits parking at any time or during certain hours.
    (e) Beginning January 1, 2014, a vehicle displaying a decal or device issued under subsection (c-5) of Section 11-1301.2 of this Code shall be exempt from the payment of fees generated by parking in a metered space or in a publicly owned parking area.
(Source: P.A. 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 97-918, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-577, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.2)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-879)
    Sec. 11-1301.2. Special decals for parking; persons with disabilities.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall provide for, by administrative rules, the design, size, color, and placement of a person with disabilities motorist decal or device and shall provide for, by administrative rules, the content and form of an application for a person with disabilities motorist decal or device, which shall be used by local authorities in the issuance thereof to a person with temporary disabilities, provided that the decal or device is valid for no more than 90 days, subject to renewal for like periods based upon continued disability, and further provided that the decal or device clearly sets forth the date that the decal or device expires. The application shall include the requirement of an Illinois Identification Card number or a State of Illinois driver's license number. This decal or device may be used by the authorized holder to designate and identify a vehicle not owned or displaying a registration plate as provided in Sections 3-609 and 3-616 of this Act to designate when the vehicle is being used to transport said person or persons with disabilities, and thus is entitled to enjoy all the privileges that would be afforded a person with disabilities licensed vehicle. Person with disabilities decals or devices issued and displayed pursuant to this Section shall be recognized and honored by all local authorities regardless of which local authority issued such decal or device.
    The decal or device shall be issued only upon a showing by adequate documentation that the person for whose benefit the decal or device is to be used has a disability as defined in Section 1-159.1 of this Code and the disability is temporary.
    (b) The local governing authorities shall be responsible for the provision of such decal or device, its issuance and designated placement within the vehicle. The cost of such decal or device shall be at the discretion of such local governing authority.
    (c) The Secretary of State may, pursuant to Section 3-616(c), issue a person with disabilities parking decal or device to a person with disabilities as defined by Section 1-159.1. Any person with disabilities parking decal or device issued by the Secretary of State shall be registered to that person with disabilities in the form to be prescribed by the Secretary of State. The person with disabilities parking decal or device shall not display that person's address. One additional decal or device may be issued to an applicant upon his or her written request and with the approval of the Secretary of State. The written request must include a justification of the need for the additional decal or device.
    (c-5) Beginning January 1, 2014, the Secretary shall provide by administrative rule for the issuance of a separate and distinct parking decal or device for persons with disabilities as defined by Section 1-159.1 of this Code and who meet the qualifications under this subsection. The authorized holder of a decal or device issued under this subsection (c-5) shall be exempt from the payment of fees generated by parking in a metered space, a parking area subject to paragraph (10) of subsection (a) of Section 11-209 of this Code, or a publicly owned parking area.
    The Secretary shall issue a meter-exempt decal or device to a person with disabilities who: (i) has been issued registration plates under subsection (a) of Section 3-609 or Section 3-616 of this Code or a special decal or device under this Section, (ii) holds a valid Illinois driver's license, and (iii) is unable to do one or more of the following:
        (1) manage, manipulate, or insert coins, or obtain
    
tickets or tokens in parking meters or ticket machines in parking lots, due to the lack of fine motor control of both hands;
        (2) reach above his or her head to a height of 42
    
inches from the ground, due to a lack of finger, hand, or upper extremity strength or mobility;
        (3) approach a parking meter due to his or her use of
    
a wheelchair or other device for mobility; or
        (4) walk more than 20 feet due to an orthopedic,
    
neurological, cardiovascular, or lung condition in which the degree of debilitation is so severe that it almost completely impedes the ability to walk.
    The application for a meter-exempt parking decal or device shall contain a statement certified by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice nurse attesting to the permanent nature of the applicant's condition and verifying that the applicant meets the physical qualifications specified in this subsection (c-5).
    Notwithstanding the requirements of this subsection (c-5), the Secretary shall issue a meter-exempt decal or device to a person who has been issued registration plates under Section 3-616 of this Code or a special decal or device under this Section, if the applicant is the parent or guardian of a person with disabilities who is under 18 years of age and incapable of driving.
    (d) Replacement decals or devices may be issued for lost, stolen, or destroyed decals upon application and payment of a $10 fee. The replacement fee may be waived for individuals that have claimed and received a grant under the Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-689, eff. 6-14-12; 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-577, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-879)
    Sec. 11-1301.2. Special decals for parking; persons with disabilities.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall provide for, by administrative rules, the design, size, color, and placement of a person with disabilities motorist decal or device and shall provide for, by administrative rules, the content and form of an application for a person with disabilities motorist decal or device, which shall be used by local authorities in the issuance thereof to a person with temporary disabilities, provided that the decal or device is valid for no more than 90 days, subject to renewal for like periods based upon continued disability, and further provided that the decal or device clearly sets forth the date that the decal or device expires. The application shall include the requirement of an Illinois Identification Card number or a State of Illinois driver's license number. This decal or device may be used by the authorized holder to designate and identify a vehicle not owned or displaying a registration plate as provided in Sections 3-609 and 3-616 of this Act to designate when the vehicle is being used to transport said person or persons with disabilities, and thus is entitled to enjoy all the privileges that would be afforded a person with disabilities licensed vehicle. Person with disabilities decals or devices issued and displayed pursuant to this Section shall be recognized and honored by all local authorities regardless of which local authority issued such decal or device.
    The decal or device shall be issued only upon a showing by adequate documentation that the person for whose benefit the decal or device is to be used has a disability as defined in Section 1-159.1 of this Code and the disability is temporary.
    (b) The local governing authorities shall be responsible for the provision of such decal or device, its issuance and designated placement within the vehicle. The cost of such decal or device shall be at the discretion of such local governing authority.
    (c) The Secretary of State may, pursuant to Section 3-616(c), issue a person with disabilities parking decal or device to a person with disabilities as defined by Section 1-159.1. Any person with disabilities parking decal or device issued by the Secretary of State shall be registered to that person with disabilities in the form to be prescribed by the Secretary of State. The person with disabilities parking decal or device shall not display that person's address. One additional decal or device may be issued to an applicant upon his or her written request and with the approval of the Secretary of State. The written request must include a justification of the need for the additional decal or device.
    (c-5) Beginning January 1, 2014, the Secretary shall provide by administrative rule for the issuance of a separate and distinct parking decal or device for persons with disabilities as defined by Section 1-159.1 of this Code and who meet the qualifications under this subsection. The authorized holder of a decal or device issued under this subsection (c-5) shall be exempt from the payment of fees generated by parking in a metered space, a parking area subject to paragraph (10) of subsection (a) of Section 11-209 of this Code, or a publicly owned parking area.
    The Secretary shall issue a meter-exempt decal or device to a person with disabilities who: (i) has been issued registration plates under subsection (a) of Section 3-609 or Section 3-616 of this Code or a special decal or device under this Section, (ii) holds a valid Illinois driver's license, and (iii) is unable to do one or more of the following:
        (1) manage, manipulate, or insert coins, or obtain
    
tickets or tokens in parking meters or ticket machines in parking lots, due to the lack of fine motor control of both hands;
        (2) reach above his or her head to a height of 42
    
inches from the ground, due to a lack of finger, hand, or upper extremity strength or mobility;
        (3) approach a parking meter due to his or her use of
    
a wheelchair or other device for mobility; or
        (4) walk more than 20 feet due to an orthopedic,
    
neurological, cardiovascular, or lung condition in which the degree of debilitation is so severe that it almost completely impedes the ability to walk.
    The application for a meter-exempt parking decal or device shall contain a statement certified by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice nurse attesting to the permanent nature of the applicant's condition and verifying that the applicant meets the physical qualifications specified in this subsection (c-5).
    Notwithstanding the requirements of this subsection (c-5), the Secretary shall issue a meter-exempt decal or device to a person who has been issued registration plates under Section 3-616 of this Code or a special decal or device under this Section, if the applicant is the parent or guardian of a person with disabilities who is under 18 years of age and incapable of driving.
    (d) Replacement decals or devices may be issued for lost, stolen, or destroyed decals upon application and payment of a $10 fee. The replacement fee may be waived for individuals that have claimed and received a grant under the Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act.
    (e) A person classified as a veteran under subsection (e) of Section 6-106 of this Code that has been issued a decal or device under this Section shall not be required to submit evidence of disability in order to renew that decal or device if, at the time of initial application, he or she submitted evidence from his or her physician or the Department of Veterans' Affairs that the disability is of a permanent nature. However, the Secretary shall take reasonable steps to ensure the veteran still resides in this State at the time of the renewal. These steps may include requiring the veteran to provide additional documentation or to appear at a Secretary of State facility. To identify veterans who are eligible for this exemption, the Secretary shall compare the list of the persons who have been issued a decal or device to the list of persons who have been issued a disabled veteran vehicle registration plate under Section 3-609 of this Code, or who are identified as a veteran on their driver's license under Section 6-110 of this Code or on their identification card under Section 4 of the Illinois Identification Card Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-689, eff. 6-14-12; 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-577, eff. 1-1-14; 98-879, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.3

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.3)
    Sec. 11-1301.3. Unauthorized use of parking places reserved for persons with disabilities.
    (a) It shall be prohibited to park any motor vehicle which is not properly displaying registration plates or decals issued to a person with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, pursuant to Sections 3-616, 11-1301.1 or 11-1301.2, or to a disabled veteran pursuant to Section 3-609 of this Act, as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or disabled veteran, in any parking place, including any private or public offstreet parking facility, specifically reserved, by the posting of an official sign as designated under Section 11-301, for motor vehicles displaying such registration plates. It shall be prohibited to park any motor vehicle in a designated access aisle adjacent to any parking place specifically reserved for persons with disabilities, by the posting of an official sign as designated under Section 11-301, for motor vehicles displaying such registration plates. When using the parking privileges for persons with disabilities, the parking decal or device must be displayed properly in the vehicle where it is clearly visible to law enforcement personnel, either hanging from the rearview mirror or placed on the dashboard of the vehicle in clear view. Disability license plates and parking decals and devices are not transferable from person to person. Proper usage of the disability license plate or parking decal or device requires the authorized holder to be present and enter or exit the vehicle at the time the parking privileges are being used. It is a violation of this Section to park in a space reserved for a person with disabilities if the authorized holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device does not enter or exit the vehicle at the time the parking privileges are being used. Any motor vehicle properly displaying a disability license plate or a parking decal or device containing the International symbol of access issued to persons with disabilities by any local authority, state, district, territory or foreign country shall be recognized by State and local authorities as a valid license plate or device and receive the same parking privileges as residents of this State.
    (a-1) An individual with a vehicle displaying disability license plates or a parking decal or device issued to a qualified person with a disability under Sections 3-616, 11-1301.1, or 11-1301.2 or to a disabled veteran under Section 3-609 is in violation of this Section if (i) the person using the disability license plate or parking decal or device is not the authorized holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device or is not transporting the authorized holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device to or from the parking location and (ii) the person uses the disability license plate or parking decal or device to exercise any privileges granted through the disability license plate or parking decals or devices under this Code.
    (a-2) A driver of a vehicle displaying disability license plates or a parking decal or device issued to a qualified person with a disability under Section 3-616, 11-1301.1, or 11-1301.2 or to a disabled veteran under Section 3-609 is in violation of this Section if (i) the person to whom the disability license plate or parking decal or device was issued is deceased and (ii) the driver uses the disability license plate or parking decal or device to exercise any privileges granted through a disability license plate or parking decal or device under this Code.
    (b) Any person or local authority owning or operating any public or private offstreet parking facility may, after notifying the police or sheriff's department, remove or cause to be removed to the nearest garage or other place of safety any vehicle parked within a stall or space reserved for use by a person with disabilities which does not display person with disabilities registration plates or a special decal or device as required under this Section.
    (c) Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of subsection (a) shall be fined $250 in addition to any costs or charges connected with the removal or storage of any motor vehicle authorized under this Section; but municipalities by ordinance may impose a fine up to $350 and shall display signs indicating the fine imposed. If the amount of the fine is subsequently changed, the municipality shall change the sign to indicate the current amount of the fine. It shall not be a defense to a charge under this Section that either the sign posted pursuant to this Section or the intended accessible parking place does not comply with the technical requirements of Section 11-301, Department regulations, or local ordinance if a reasonable person would be made aware by the sign or notice on or near the parking place that the place is reserved for a person with disabilities.
    (c-1) Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of subsection (a-1) a first time shall be fined $600. Any person found guilty of violating subsection (a-1) a second or subsequent time shall be fined $1,000. Any person who violates subsection (a-2) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be fined $2,500. The circuit clerk shall distribute 50% of the fine imposed on any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to violating this Section, including any person placed on court supervision for violating this Section, to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation or made the arrest. If more than one law enforcement agency is responsible for issuing the citation or making the arrest, the 50% of the fine imposed shall be shared equally. If an officer of the Secretary of State Department of Police arrested a person for a violation of this Section, 50% of the fine imposed shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Police Services Fund.
    (d) Local authorities shall impose fines as established in subsections (c) and (c-1) for violations of this Section.
    (e) As used in this Section, "authorized holder" means an individual issued a disability license plate under Section 3-616 of this Code, an individual issued a parking decal or device under Section 11-1301.2 of this Code, or an individual issued a disabled veteran's license plate under Section 3-609 of this Code.
    (f) Any person who commits a violation of subsection (a-1) or a similar provision of a local ordinance may have his or her driving privileges suspended or revoked by the Secretary of State for a period of time determined by the Secretary of State. Any person who commits a violation of subsection (a-2) or a similar provision of a local ordinance shall have his or her driving privileges revoked by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State may also suspend or revoke the disability license plates or parking decal or device for a period of time determined by the Secretary of State.
    (g) Any police officer may seize the parking decal or device from any person who commits a violation of this Section. Any police officer may seize the disability license plate upon authorization from the Secretary of State. Any police officer may request that the Secretary of State revoke the parking decal or device or the disability license plate of any person who commits a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-844, eff. 1-1-13; 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.4

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.4)
    Sec. 11-1301.4. Reciprocal agreements with other jurisdictions. The Secretary of State, or his designee, may enter into agreements with other jurisdictions, including foreign jurisdictions, on behalf of this State relating to the extension of parking privileges by such jurisdictions to permanently disabled residents of this State who display a special license plate or parking device that contains the International symbol of access on his or her motor vehicle, and to recognize such plates or devices issued by such other jurisdictions. This State shall grant the same parking privileges which are granted to disabled residents of this State to any non-resident whose motor vehicle is licensed in another state, district, territory or foreign country if such vehicle displays the International symbol of access or a distinguishing insignia on license plates or parking device issued in accordance with the laws of the non-resident's state, district, territory or foreign country.
(Source: P.A. 86-539.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.5)
    Sec. 11-1301.5. Fictitious or unlawfully altered disability license plate or parking decal or device.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Fictitious disability license plate or parking decal or device" means any issued disability license plate or parking decal or device, or any license plate issued to a disabled veteran under Section 3-609 of this Code, that has been issued by the Secretary of State or an authorized unit of local government that was issued based upon false information contained on the required application.
    "False information" means any incorrect or inaccurate information concerning the name, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, physician certification, or any other information required on the Persons with Disabilities Certification for Plate or Parking Placard, on the Application for Replacement Disability Parking Placard, or on the application for license plates issued to disabled veterans under Section 3-609 of this Code, that falsifies the content of the application.
    "Unlawfully altered disability license plate or parking permit or device" means any disability license plate or parking permit or device, or any license plate issued to a disabled veteran under Section 3-609 of this Code, issued by the Secretary of State or an authorized unit of local government that has been physically altered or changed in such manner that false information appears on the license plate or parking decal or device.
    "Authorized holder" means an individual issued a disability license plate under Section 3-616 of this Code or an individual issued a parking decal or device under Section 11-1301.2 of this Code, or an individual issued a disabled veteran's license plate under Section 3-609 of this Code.
    (b) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
        (1) to knowingly possess any fictitious or unlawfully
    
altered disability license plate or parking decal or device;
        (2) to knowingly issue or assist in the issuance of,
    
by the Secretary of State or unit of local government, any fictitious disability license plate or parking decal or device;
        (3) to knowingly alter any disability license plate
    
or parking decal or device;
        (4) to knowingly manufacture, possess, transfer, or
    
provide any documentation used in the application process whether real or fictitious, for the purpose of obtaining a fictitious disability license plate or parking decal or device;
        (5) to knowingly provide any false information to the
    
Secretary of State or a unit of local government in order to obtain a disability license plate or parking decal or device;
        (6) to knowingly transfer a disability license plate
    
or parking decal or device for the purpose of exercising the privileges granted to an authorized holder of a disability license plate or parking decal or device under this Code in the absence of the authorized holder; or
        (7) who is a physician, physician assistant, or
    
advanced practice nurse to knowingly falsify a certification that a person is a person with disabilities as defined by Section 1-159.1 of this Code.
    (c) Sentence.
        (1) Any person convicted of a violation of paragraph
    
(1), (2), (3), (4), (5), or (7) of subsection (b) of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and fined not less than $1,000 for a first offense and shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and fined not less than $2,000 for a second or subsequent offense. Any person convicted of a violation of subdivision (b)(6) of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $1,000 for a first offense and not less than $2,000 for a second or subsequent offense. The circuit clerk shall distribute one-half of any fine imposed on any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to violating this Section, including any person placed on court supervision for violating this Section, to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation or made the arrest. If more than one law enforcement agency is responsible for issuing the citation or making the arrest, one-half of the fine imposed shall be shared equally.
        (2) Any person who commits a violation of this
    
Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance may have his or her driving privileges suspended or revoked by the Secretary of State for a period of time determined by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke the parking decal or device or the disability license plate of any person who commits a violation of this Section.
        (3) Any police officer may seize the parking decal or
    
device from any person who commits a violation of this Section. Any police officer may seize the disability license plate upon authorization from the Secretary of State. Any police officer may request that the Secretary of State revoke the parking decal or device or the disability license plate of any person who commits a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-844, eff. 1-1-13; 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.6

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.6)
    Sec. 11-1301.6. Fraudulent disability license plate or parking decal or device.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Fraudulent disability license plate or parking decal or device" means any disability license plate or parking decal or device that purports to be an official disability license plate or parking decal or device and that has not been issued by the Secretary of State or an authorized unit of local government.
    "Disability license plate or parking decal or device-making implement" means any implement specially designed or primarily used in the manufacture, assembly, or authentication of a disability license plate or parking decal or device, or a license plate issued to a disabled veteran under Section 3-609 of this Code, issued by the Secretary of State or a unit of local government.
    (b) It is a violation of this Section for any person:
         (1) to knowingly possess any fraudulent disability
    
license plate or parking decal;
         (2) to knowingly possess without authority any
    
disability license plate or parking decal or device-making implement;
         (3) to knowingly duplicate, manufacture, sell, or
    
transfer any fraudulent or stolen disability license plate or parking decal or device;
         (4) to knowingly assist in the duplication,
    
manufacturing, selling, or transferring of any fraudulent, stolen, or reported lost or damaged disability license plate or parking decal or device; or
         (5) to advertise or distribute a fraudulent
    
disability license plate or parking decal or device.
    (c) Sentence.
         (1) Any person convicted of a violation of this
    
Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and fined not less than $1,000 for a first offense and shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and fined not less than $2,000 for a second or subsequent offense. The circuit clerk shall distribute half of any fine imposed on any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to violating this Section, including any person placed on court supervision for violating this Section, to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation or made the arrest. If more than one law enforcement agency is responsible for issuing the citation or making the arrest, one-half of the fine imposed shall be shared equally.
         (2) Any person who commits a violation of this
    
Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance may have his or her driving privileges suspended or revoked by the Secretary of State for a period of time determined by the Secretary of State.
         (3) Any police officer may seize the parking decal or
    
device from any person who commits a violation of this Section. Any police officer may seize the disability license plate upon authorization from the Secretary of State. Any police officer may request that the Secretary of State revoke the parking decal or device or the disability license plate of any person who commits a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-79, eff. 1-1-10; 97-844, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.7

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.7)
    Sec. 11-1301.7. Appointed volunteers and contracted entities; disabled person parking violations.
    (a) The chief of police of a municipality and the sheriff of a county authorized to enforce parking laws may appoint volunteers or contract with public or private entities to issue parking violation notices for violations of Section 11-1301.3 or ordinances dealing with parking privileges for persons with disabilities. Volunteers appointed under this Section and any employees of public or private entities that the chief of police or sheriff has contracted with under this Section who are issuing these parking violation notices must be at least 21 years of age. The chief of police or sheriff appointing the volunteers or contracting with public or private entities may establish any other qualifications that he or she deems desirable.
    (b) The chief of police or sheriff appointing volunteers under this Section shall provide training to the volunteers before authorizing them to issue parking violation notices.
    (c) A parking violation notice issued by a volunteer appointed under this Section or by a public or private entity that the chief of police or sheriff has contracted with under this Section shall have the same force and effect as a parking violation notice issued by a police officer for the same offense.
    (d) All funds collected as a result of the payment of the parking violation notices issued under this Section shall go to the municipality or county where the notice is issued.
    (e) An appointed volunteer or private or public entity under contract pursuant to this Section is not liable for his or her or its act or omission in the execution or enforcement of laws or ordinances if acting within the scope of the appointment or contract authorized by this Section, unless the act or omission constitutes willful and wanton conduct.
    (f) Except as otherwise provided by statute, a local government, a chief of police, sheriff, or employee of a police department or sheriff, as such and acting within the scope of his or her employment, is not liable for an injury caused by the act or omission of an appointed volunteer or private or public entity under contract pursuant to this Section. No local government, chief of police, sheriff, or an employee of a local government, police department or sheriff shall be liable for any actions regarding the supervision or direction, or the failure to supervise and direct, an appointed volunteer or private or public entity under contract pursuant to this Section unless the act or omission constitutes willful and wanton conduct.
    (g) An appointed volunteer or private or public entity under contract pursuant to this Section shall assume all liability for and hold the property owner and his agents and employees harmless from any and all claims of action resulting from the work of the appointed volunteer or public or private entity.
(Source: P.A. 90-181, eff. 7-23-97; 90-655, eff. 7-30-98.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.8

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.8)
    Sec. 11-1301.8. Obstruction of parking places for persons with disabilities.
    (a) No property owner shall allow any unreasonable obstruction of a designated aisle or parking place specifically reserved for persons with disabilities after 24 hours following the conclusion of an adverse weather event.
    (b) No property owner shall allow the accumulation of debris or large objects, such as trash containers, to unreasonably obstruct any designated aisle or parking place specifically reserved for persons with disabilities without providing suitable and equivalent alternative parking spaces on-site.
    (c) This Section shall apply to both public and private property where any designated aisle or parking place is specifically reserved for persons with disabilities, by the posting of an official sign as designated under Section 11-301 of this Code.
    (d) A person who violates this Section shall be guilty of a petty offense and pay a fine of not more than $250.
(Source: P.A. 96-1125, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1302

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1302)
    Sec. 11-1302. Officers authorized to remove vehicles.
    (a) Whenever any police officer finds a vehicle in violation of any of the provisions of Section 11-1301 such officer is hereby authorized to move such vehicle, or require the driver or other person in charge of the vehicle to move the same, to a position off the roadway.
    (b) Any police officer is hereby authorized to remove or cause to be removed to a place of safety any unattended vehicle illegally left standing upon any highway, bridge, causeway, or in a tunnel, in such a position or under such circumstances as to obstruct the normal movement of traffic.
    Whenever the Department finds an abandoned or disabled vehicle standing upon the paved or main-traveled part of a highway, which vehicle is or may be expected to interrupt the free flow of traffic on the highway or interfere with the maintenance of the highway, the Department is authorized to move the vehicle to a position off the paved or improved or main-traveled part of the highway.
    (c) Any police officer is hereby authorized to remove or cause to be removed to the nearest garage or other place of safety any vehicle found upon a highway when:
        1. report has been made that such vehicle has been
    
stolen or taken without the consent of its owner, or
        2. the person or persons in charge of such vehicle
    
are unable to provide for its custody or removal, or
        3. the person driving or in control of such vehicle
    
is arrested for an alleged offense for which the officer is required by law to take the person arrested before a proper magistrate without unnecessary delay, or
        4. the registration of the vehicle has been
    
suspended, cancelled, or revoked.
(Source: P.A. 97-743, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1303

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1303)
    Sec. 11-1303. Stopping, standing or parking prohibited in specified places.
    (a) Except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic, or in compliance with law or the directions of a police officer or official traffic-control device, no person shall:
        1. Stop, stand or park a vehicle:
            a. On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or
        
parked at the edge or curb of a street;
            b. On a sidewalk;
            c. Within an intersection;
            d. On a crosswalk;
            e. Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or
        
within 30 feet of points on the curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a different length is indicated by signs or markings;
            f. Alongside or opposite any street excavation or
        
obstruction when stopping, standing or parking would obstruct traffic;
            g. Upon any bridge or other elevated structure
        
upon a highway or within a highway tunnel;
            h. On any railroad tracks. A violation of any
        
part of this subparagraph h. shall result in a mandatory fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service.
            i. At any place where official signs prohibit
        
stopping;
            j. On any controlled-access highway;
            k. In the area between roadways of a divided
        
highway, including crossovers;
            l. In a public parking area if the vehicle does
        
not display a current annual registration sticker or current temporary permit pending registration.
        2. Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not,
    
except momentarily to pick up or discharge passengers:
            a. In front of a public or private driveway;
            b. Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant;
            c. Within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an
        
intersection;
            d. Within 30 feet upon the approach to any
        
flashing signal, stop sign, yield sign, or traffic control signal located at the side of a roadway;
            e. Within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any
        
fire station and on the side of a street opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of such entrance (when properly sign-posted);
            f. At any place where official signs prohibit
        
standing.
        3. Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except
    
temporarily for the purpose of and while actually engaged in loading or unloading property or passengers:
            a. Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a
        
railroad crossing;
            b. At any place where official signs prohibit
        
parking.
    (b) No person shall move a vehicle not lawfully under his control into any such prohibited area or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.
(Source: P.A. 89-245, eff. 1-1-96; 89-658, eff. 1-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1304

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1304) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1304)
    Sec. 11-1304. Additional parking regulations. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, every vehicle stopped or parked upon a two-way roadway shall be so stopped or parked with the right-hand wheels parallel to and within 12 inches of the right-hand curb or as close as practicable to the right edge of the right-hand shoulder.
    (b) Except when otherwise provided by local ordinance, every vehicle stopped or parked upon a one-way roadway shall be so stopped or parked parallel to the curb or edge of the roadway, in the direction of authorized traffic movement, with its right-hand wheels within 12 inches of the right-hand curb or as close as practicable to the right edge of the right-hand shoulder, or with its left-hand wheels within 12 inches of the left-hand curb or as close as practicable to the left edge of the left-hand shoulder.
    (c) Local authorities may permit angle parking on any roadway, except that angle parking shall not be permitted on any federal-aid or State highway unless the Department has determined that the roadway is of sufficient width to permit angle parking without interfering with the free movement of traffic.
    (d) The Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction may place signs prohibiting, limiting, or restricting the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles on any highway where in its opinion such stopping, standing or parking is dangerous to those using the highway or where the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles would unduly interfere with the free movement of traffic thereon. No person shall stop, stand or park any vehicle in violation of the restrictions indicated by such devices.
(Source: P.A. 79-801; 79-1069; 79-1454.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1304.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1304.5)
    Sec. 11-1304.5. Parking of vehicle with expired registration. No person may stop, park, or leave standing upon a public street, highway, or roadway a vehicle upon which is displayed an Illinois registration plate or plates or registration sticker after the termination of the registration period for which the registration plate or plates or registration sticker was issued or after the expiration date set under Section 3-414 or 3-414.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 91-487, eff. 1-1-00.)