Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
VEHICLES625 ILCS 5/8-109
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.
(625 ILCS 5/8-109)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-109)
Requirements of policy.
1. The policy of insurance
may cover one or more motor
vehicles and for each such vehicle shall insure such owner against liability
upon the owner to a minimum amount of $250,000 for bodily
injury to, or death of, any person, and $50,000 for damage to
that the maximum payment required of such company on all judgments
recovered against an owner hereunder shall not exceed the
sum of $300,000 for each motor vehicle operated under
the provisions of this Section.
2. The policy of insurance shall provide for payment
and satisfaction of any judgment within 30 days after it becomes
final rendered against the owner or any person operating the motor vehicle
with the owner's express or implied consent
for such injury, death or damage to property other than the motor vehicle,
and shall provide that suit may be brought
in any court of competent jurisdiction upon such insurance
policy by the owner of any such judgment.
3. The insurance policy shall contain a description
of each motor vehicle, giving the manufacturer's name and
number and state license number.
(Source: P.A. 82-949.)
625 ILCS 5/8-110
(625 ILCS 5/8-110)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-110)
Cancellation of insurance policy - notice.
1. In the event said policy of insurance be cancelled by the issuing
company, or the authority of said issuing company to do business in the
State of Illinois be revoked, the Secretary of State shall require the
owner who filed the same either to furnish a bond or to replace said policy
with another policy according to the provisions of this Act.
2. Said policy of insurance shall also contain a provision that the same
cannot be cancelled by the company issuing it without giving ten days
notice in writing of such cancellation to the owner and the Secretary of
State, either personally or by registered mail.
3. Whenever the issuing company gives such notice of cancellation, the
Secretary of State shall, at the expiration of said ten days, mark said
insurance policy "Withdrawn" with the date such withdrawal became
effective, and thereupon the liability of such company on said policy shall
cease as to any injury or damage sustained after the date such withdrawal
(Source: P.A. 76-1586
625 ILCS 5/8-111
(625 ILCS 5/8-111)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-111)
Proof required after cancellation.
If, at any time, in the judgment of the Secretary of State, said policy
of insurance is not sufficient for any good cause, he may require the owner
of such motor vehicle who filed the same, to replace said policy of
insurance with another good and sufficient bond or insurance policy, in
accordance with the provisions of this Act, and upon such replacement, the
liability of the company on said insurance policy shall cease as to any
injury or damage sustained after such replacement.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)
625 ILCS 5/8-112
(625 ILCS 5/8-112)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-112)
When bond on policy to expire.
All bonds and policies of insurance filed with the Secretary of State,
under this Act, shall expire not sooner than the 31st day of December as to
a vehicle registered on a calendar year basis and not sooner than the 30th
day of June as to a vehicle registered on a fiscal year basis in each year,
provided, that the expiration of same shall not terminate liabilities upon
such bonds and policies of insurance arising during the period for which
the bonds and policies of insurance were filed.
(Source: P.A. 77-99.)
625 ILCS 5/8-113
(625 ILCS 5/8-113)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-113)
Secretary of State to suspend registration certificates, registration plates
and registration sticker when bond or policy cancelled or withdrawn.
In the event that a bond or policy of insurance is cancelled or
withdrawn with respect to a vehicle or vehicles, subject to the provisions
of Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, for which the bond or policy of insurance was
then the Secretary of State immediately shall suspend the registration
certificates, registration plates and registration sticker or stickers of
the owner, with respect to such motor vehicle or
vehicles, and said registration certificates, registration plates and
sticker or stickers shall
remain suspended and no registration shall be permitted or renewed unless
and until the owner of the motor vehicle shall have filed proof of
financial responsibility as provided by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)
625 ILCS 5/8-114
(625 ILCS 5/8-114)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-114)
Issuance of license upon proof of financial responsibility.
The Secretary of State shall issue to each person who has in effect
proof of financial responsibility as required by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, a
certificate for each motor vehicle operated by such person and included
within the proof of financial responsibility. Each certificate shall
specify the Illinois registration plate and registration
sticker number of the vehicle, a statement
that proof of financial responsibility has been filed, and the period for
which the certificate was issued.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)
625 ILCS 5/8-115
(625 ILCS 5/8-115)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-115)
Display of certificate-Enforcement.
The certificate issued pursuant to Section 8-114 shall be displayed upon
a window of the motor vehicle for which it was issued, in such manner as to
be visible to the passengers carried therein. This Section and Section
8-114 shall be enforced by the State Police, the Secretary
of State, and other police officers.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)
625 ILCS 5/8-116
(625 ILCS 5/8-116)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-116)
Any person who fails to comply with the provisions of this Chapter, or
who fails to obey, observe or comply with any order of the Secretary of
State or any law enforcement agency issued in accordance with the
provisions of this Chapter is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 77-2838.)
625 ILCS 5/Ch. 9
(625 ILCS 5/Ch. 9 heading)
OWNERS OF FOR RENT VEHICLES FOR-HIRE
625 ILCS 5/9-101
(625 ILCS 5/9-101)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-101)
Owner of for-rent motor vehicle to give proof of financial
responsibility. For purposes of this Chapter, "for rent" means any transfer of
the possession of or right to possession of a motor vehicle to a user for a
valuable consideration for a period of less than one year, and "to lease" means
any transfer of the possession of or right to possession of a motor vehicle to
a user for a period of one year or more. It is unlawful for the owner of any
motor vehicle to engage in the business, or to hold himself out to the public
generally as being engaged in the business of renting out such motor vehicle to
be operated by the customer, unless the owner has given, and there is in full
force and effect and on file with the Secretary of State proof of financial
responsibility as hereinafter provided. The delivery of a vehicle owned by an
out of State person or business to a renter in this State shall constitute
engaging in the rental business in this State for purposes of this Section.
All owners of motor vehicles which are leased for a period of one year
or more are not required to provide proof of insurance as required under
this chapter, but instead must comply with Section 7-601 of this Code and
obtain vehicle insurance in amounts no less than the minimum amount set for
bodily injury or death and for destruction of property pursuant to Section
7-203 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 86-880; 87-1220.)
625 ILCS 5/9-102
(625 ILCS 5/9-102)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-102)
Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility.
Proof of financial responsibility when required under Section 9-101 may
be given by the following methods. By filing with the Secretary of State:
1. A bond as provided in Section 9-103.
2. An insurance policy or other proof of insurance in a form to be
prescribed by the Secretary as provided in Section 9-105.
3. A certificate of self insurance issued by the Director.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)
625 ILCS 5/9-103
(625 ILCS 5/9-103)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-103)
Bond as proof - requirements.
A motor vehicle liability bond, conditioned that the owner of the motor
vehicle will pay any judgment within 30 days after it becomes final,
recovered against the customer and the owner of the motor vehicle or
against any person operating the motor vehicle with the customer's and the
owner's express or implied consent for damage to property other than to the
rented motor vehicle, or for an injury to, or for the death of any person
including an occupant of the rented motor vehicle, resulting from the
operation of the motor vehicle, provided, however, every such bond is in
the penal sum of $100,000.
The bond shall be executed by a solvent and responsible surety company
authorized to do business in the State of Illinois, or by one or more
personal sureties to be approved by the Secretary of State.
The personal sureties shall own real estate in the State of Illinois of
the aggregate value of $100,000, over and above all encumbrances, and each
of the personal sureties shall make an affidavit concerning the property
which he schedules for the purpose of qualifying as surety, stating the
location, legal description, market value, and the amount and nature of any
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)
625 ILCS 5/9-104
(625 ILCS 5/9-104)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-104)
Withdrawal of sureties-Notice.
Any surety may withdraw from the bond by serving ten days previous
notice in writing, either personally or by registered mail, upon the owner
of the motor vehicle, and upon the Secretary of State, whereupon it shall
be the duty of such owner to file another bond or insurance policy, in
accordance with the provisions of this Act. Upon the expiration of the ten
days, the Secretary of State shall mark the bond "Cancelled".
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)