Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 7 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. FAMILY FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW

625 ILCS 5/7-701

    (625 ILCS 5/7-701)
    Sec. 7-701. Findings and purpose. The General Assembly finds that the timely receipt of adequate financial support has the effect of reducing poverty and State expenditures for welfare dependency among children, and that the timely payment of adequate child support demonstrates financial responsibility. Further, the General Assembly finds that the State has a compelling interest in ensuring that drivers within the State demonstrate financial responsibility, including family financial responsibility, in order to safely own and operate a motor vehicle. Further, the General Assembly finds that the State has a compelling interest in ensuring that those individuals with responsibilities involving minor children pursuant to visitation orders demonstrate responsibility, including family responsibility, in order to safely own and operate a motor vehicle, especially when transporting a minor child who is the subject of a visitation order. To this end, the Secretary of State is authorized to establish systems to suspend driver's licenses for failure to comply with court and administrative orders of support.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-702

    (625 ILCS 5/7-702)
    Sec. 7-702. Suspension of driver's license for failure to comply with order to pay support or to comply with a visitation order.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license issued to an obligor upon receiving an authenticated report provided for in subsection (a) of Section 7-703, that the person is 90 days or more delinquent in court ordered child support payments or has been adjudicated in arrears in an amount equal to 90 days obligation or more, and has been found in contempt by the court for failure to pay the support.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license issued to an obligor upon receiving an authenticated document provided for in subsection (b) of Section 7-703, that the person has been adjudicated in arrears in court ordered child support payments in an amount equal to 90 days obligation or more, but has not been held in contempt of court, and that the court has ordered that the person's driving privileges be suspended. The obligor's driver's license shall be suspended until such time as the Secretary of State receives authenticated documentation that the obligor is in compliance with the court order of support. When the obligor complies with the court ordered child support payments, the circuit court shall report the obligor's compliance with the court order of support to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, and shall order that the obligor's driver's license be reinstated.
    (c) The Secretary of State shall suspend a driver's license upon certification by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services, in a manner and form prescribed by the Illinois Secretary of State, that the person licensed is 90 days or more delinquent in payment of support under an order of support issued by a court or administrative body of this or any other State. The Secretary of State may reinstate the person's driver's license if notified by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services that the person has paid the support delinquency in full or has arranged for payment of the delinquency and current support obligation in a manner satisfactory to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    (d) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license issued to a person upon receiving an authenticated document provided for in Section 7-703 that the person has been adjudicated as having engaged in visitation abuse and that the court has ordered that the person's driving privileges be suspended. The person's driver's license shall be suspended until such time as the Secretary of State receives authenticated documentation that the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated. When the court order in which the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated, the circuit court shall report that order concerning visitation to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, and shall order that the person's driver's license be reinstated.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-702.1

    (625 ILCS 5/7-702.1)
    Sec. 7-702.1. Family financial responsibility driving permits.
    (a) Following the entry of an order that an obligor has been found in contempt by the court for failure to pay court ordered child support payments or upon a motion by the obligor who is subject to having his or her driver's license suspended pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 7-703, the court may enter an order directing the Secretary of State to issue a family financial responsibility driving permit for the purpose of providing the obligor the privilege of operating a motor vehicle between the obligor's residence and place of employment, or within the scope of employment related duties; or for the purpose of providing transportation for the obligor or a household member to receive alcohol treatment, other drug treatment, or medical care. If the obligor is unemployed, the court may issue the order for the purpose of seeking employment, which may be subject to the requirements set forth in subsection (a) of Section 505.1 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. Except upon a showing of good cause, any permit issued for the purpose of seeking employment shall be limited to Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 p.m. The court may enter an order directing the issuance of a permit only if the obligor has proven to the satisfaction of the court that no alternative means of transportation are reasonably available for the above stated purposes. No permit shall be issued to a person under the age of 16 years who possesses an instruction permit.
    Upon entry of an order granting the issuance of a permit to an obligor, the court shall report this finding to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary. This form shall state whether the permit has been granted for employment or medical purposes and the specific days and hours for which limited driving privileges have been granted.
    (a-1) Following the entry of an order that a person has been found in contempt by the court for failure to follow a visitation order, the court may enter an order directing the Secretary of State to issue a family responsibility driving permit for the purpose of providing the person the privilege of operating a motor vehicle between the person's residence and place of employment or within the scope of employment related duties, or for the purpose of providing transportation for the person or a household member to receive alcohol treatment, other drug treatment, or medical care. If the person is unemployed, the court may issue the order for the purpose of seeking employment, which may be subject to the requirements set forth in subsection (a) of Section 505.1 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. Except upon a showing of good cause, any permit issued for the purpose of seeking employment shall be limited to Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 p.m. The court may enter an order directing the issuance of a permit only if the person has proven to the satisfaction of the court that no alternative means of transportation are reasonably available for the above stated purposes. No permit shall be issued to a person under the age of 16 years who possesses an instruction permit. Upon entry of an order granting the issuance of a permit to a person, the court shall report this finding to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary. This form shall state whether the permit has been granted for employment or medical purposes and the specific days and hours for which limited driving privileges have been granted.
    (a-2) The family financial responsibility driving permit shall be subject to cancellation, invalidation, suspension, and revocation by the Secretary of State in the same manner and for the same reasons as a driver's license may be cancelled, invalidated, suspended, or revoked.
    The Secretary of State shall, upon receipt of a certified court order from the court of jurisdiction, issue a family financial responsibility driving permit. In order for this permit to be issued, an individual's driving privileges must be valid except for the family financial responsibility suspension or the family responsibility suspension. This permit shall be valid only for employment and medical purposes as set forth above. The permit shall state the days and hours for which limited driving privileges have been granted.
    Any submitted court order that contains insufficient data or fails to comply with any provision of this Code shall not be used for issuance of the permit or entered to the individual's driving record but shall be returned to the court of jurisdiction indicating why the permit cannot be issued at that time. The Secretary of State shall also send notice of the return of the court order to the individual requesting the permit.
    (b) Following certification of delinquency pursuant to subsection (c) of Section 7-702 of this Code, and upon petition by the obligor whose driver's license has been suspended under that subsection, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services may direct the Secretary of State to issue a family financial responsibility driving permit for the purpose of providing the obligor the privilege of operating a motor vehicle between the obligor's residence and place of employment, or within the scope of employment related duties, or for the purpose of providing transportation for the obligor or a household member to receive alcohol treatment, other drug treatment, or medical care. If the obligor is unemployed, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services may direct the issuance of the permit for the purpose of seeking employment, which may be subject to the requirements set forth in subsection (a) of Section 505.1 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. Except upon a showing of good cause, any permit issued for the purpose of seeking employment shall be limited to Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 p.m. The Department of Healthcare and Family Services may direct the issuance of a permit only if the obligor has proven to the Department's satisfaction that no alternative means of transportation is reasonably available for the above stated purposes.
    The Department of Healthcare and Family Services shall report to the Secretary of State the finding granting a permit on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State. The form shall state the purpose for which the permit has been granted, the specific days and hours for which limited driving privileges are allowed, and the duration of the permit.
    The family financial responsibility driving permit shall be subject to cancellation, invalidation, suspension, and revocation by the Secretary of State in the same manner and for the same reasons as a driver's license may be cancelled, invalidated, suspended, or revoked.
    As directed by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, the Secretary of State shall issue a family financial responsibility driving permit, but only if the obligor's driving privileges are valid except for the family financial responsibility suspension. The permit shall state the purpose or purposes for which it was granted under this subsection, the specific days and hours for which limited driving privileges are allowed, and the duration of the permit.
    If the Department of Healthcare and Family Services directive to issue a family financial responsibility driving permit contains insufficient data or fails to comply with any provision of this Code, a permit shall not be issued and the directive shall be returned to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services. The Secretary of State shall also send notice of the return of the Department's directive to the obligor requesting the permit.
    (c) In accordance with 49 C.F.R. Part 384, the Secretary of State may not issue a family financial responsibility driving permit to any person for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle if the person's driving privileges have been suspended under any provisions of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 96-1284, eff. 1-1-11; 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-702.2

    (625 ILCS 5/7-702.2)
    Sec. 7-702.2. Written agreement to pay past-due support.
    (a) An obligor who is presently unable to pay all past-due support and is subject to having his or her license suspended pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 7-703 may come into compliance with the court order for support by executing a written payment agreement that is approved by the court and by complying with that agreement. A condition of a written payment agreement must be that the obligor pay the current child support when due. Before a written payment agreement is executed, the obligor shall:
        (1) Disclose fully to the court in writing, on a form
    
prescribed by the court, the obligor's financial circumstances, including income from all sources, assets, liabilities, and work history for the past year; and
        (2) Provide documentation to the court concerning the
    
obligor's financial circumstances, including copies of the most recent State and federal income tax returns, both personal and business; a copy of a recent pay stub representative of current income; and copies of other records that show the obligor's income and the present level of assets held by the obligor.
    (b) After full disclosure, the court may determine the obligor's ability to pay past-due support and may approve a written payment agreement consistent with the obligor's ability to pay, not to exceed the court-ordered support.
(Source: P.A. 91-613, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/7-703

    (625 ILCS 5/7-703)
    Sec. 7-703. Courts to report non-payment of court ordered support or orders concerning driving privileges.
    (a) The clerk of the circuit court, as provided in subsection (b) of Section 505 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act or as provided in Section 15 of the Illinois Parentage Act of 1984, shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, an authenticated document certifying the court's order suspending the driving privileges of the obligor. For any such certification, the clerk of the court shall charge the obligor a fee of $5 as provided in the Clerks of Courts Act.
    (b) If an obligor has been adjudicated in arrears in court ordered child support payments in an amount equal to 90 days obligation or more but has not been held in contempt of court, the circuit court may order that the obligor's driving privileges be suspended. If the circuit court orders that the obligor's driving privileges be suspended, it shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, an authenticated document certifying the court's order suspending the driving privileges of the obligor. The authenticated document shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State by the court no later than 45 days after entry of the order suspending the obligor's driving privileges.
    (c) The clerk of the circuit court, as provided in subsection (c-1) of Section 607.1 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act, shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, an authenticated document certifying the court's order suspending the driving privileges of the party. For any such certification, the clerk of the court shall charge the party a fee of $5 as provided in the Clerks of Courts Act.
    (d) If a party has been adjudicated to have engaged in visitation abuse, the circuit court may order that the party's driving privileges be suspended. If the circuit court orders that the party's driving privileges be suspended, it shall forward to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, an authenticated document certifying the court's order suspending the driving privileges of the party. The authenticated document shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State by the court no later than 45 days after entry of the order suspending the party's driving privileges.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-704

    (625 ILCS 5/7-704)
    Sec. 7-704. Suspension to continue until compliance with court order of support.
    (a) The suspension of a driver's license shall remain in effect unless and until the Secretary of State receives authenticated documentation that the obligor is in compliance with a court order of support or that the order has been stayed by a subsequent order of the court. Full driving privileges shall not be issued by the Secretary of State until notification of compliance has been received from the court. The circuit clerks shall report the obligor's compliance with a court order of support to the Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by the Secretary.
    (a-1) The suspension of a driver's license shall remain in effect unless and until the Secretary of State receives authenticated documentation as to the person who violated a visitation order that the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated or that the order has been stayed by a subsequent order of the court. Full driving privileges shall not be issued by the Secretary of State until notification has been received from the court. The circuit clerk shall report any court order in which the court determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary.
    (b) Whenever, after one suspension of an individual's driver's license for failure to pay child support, another order of non-payment is entered against the obligor and the person fails to come into compliance with the court order of support, then the Secretary shall again suspend the driver's license of the individual and that suspension shall not be removed unless the obligor is in full compliance with the court order of support and has made full payment on all arrearages.
    (b-1) Whenever, after one suspension of an individual's driver's license for failure to abide by a visitation order, another order finding visitation abuse is entered against the person and the court orders the suspension of the person's driver's license, then the Secretary shall again suspend the driver's license of the individual and that suspension shall not be removed until the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated.
    (c) Section 7-704.1, and not this Section, governs the duration of a driver's license suspension if the suspension occurs as the result of a certification by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services under subsection (c) of Section 7-702.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-704.1

    (625 ILCS 5/7-704.1)
    Sec. 7-704.1. Duration of driver's license suspension upon certification of Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    (a) When a suspension of a driver's license occurs as the result of a certification by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services under subsection (c) of Section 7-702, the suspension shall remain in effect until the Secretary of State receives notification from the Department that the person whose license was suspended has paid the support delinquency in full or has arranged for payment of the delinquency and current support obligation in a manner satisfactory to the Department.
    (b) Whenever, after one suspension of an individual's driver's license based on certification of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, another certification is received from the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, the Secretary shall again suspend the driver's license of that individual and that suspension shall not be removed unless the obligor is in full compliance with the order of support and has made full payment on all arrearages.
(Source: P.A. 95-685, eff. 10-23-07.)

625 ILCS 5/7-705

    (625 ILCS 5/7-705)
    Sec. 7-705. Notice. The Secretary of State, prior to suspending a driver's license under this Chapter, shall serve written notice upon a person that the individual's driver's license will be suspended in 60 days from the date on the notice unless (i) the person satisfies the court order of support or the court ordered visitation and the circuit clerk notifies the Secretary of State of this compliance or (ii) if the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services has made a certification to the Secretary of State under subsection (c) of Section 7-702, the Department notifies the Secretary of State that the person licensed has paid the support delinquency in full or has arranged for payment of the delinquency and current support obligation in a manner satisfactory to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-705.1

    (625 ILCS 5/7-705.1)
    Sec. 7-705.1. Notice of noncompliance with support order. Before forwarding to the Secretary of State the authenticated document under subsection (b) of Section 7-703, the circuit court must serve notice upon the obligor of its intention to suspend the obligor's driver's license for being adjudicated in arrears in court ordered child support payments in an amount equal to 90 days obligation. The notice must inform the obligor that:
        (a) If the obligor is presently unable to pay all
    
past-due support, the obligor may come into compliance with the support order by executing a written payment agreement with the court, as provided in Section 7-702.2, and by complying with that agreement;
        (b) The obligor may contest the issue of compliance
    
at a hearing;
        (c) A request for a hearing must be made in writing
    
and must be received by the clerk of the circuit court;
        (d) If the obligor does not request a hearing to
    
contest the issue of compliance within 45 days after the notice of noncompliance is mailed, the court may order that the obligor's driver's license be suspended as provided for in subsection (b) of Section 7-703;
        (e) If the circuit court certifies the obligor to the
    
Secretary of State for noncompliance with an order of support, the Secretary of State must suspend any driver's license or instruction permit the obligor holds and the obligor's right to apply for or obtain a driver's license or instruction permit until the obligor comes into compliance with the order of support;
        (f) If the obligor files a motion to modify support
    
with the court or requests the court to modify a support obligation, the circuit court shall stay action to certify the obligor to the Secretary of State for noncompliance with an order of support; and
        (g) The obligor may comply with an order of support
    
by doing all of the following:
            (1) Paying the current support;
            (2) Paying all past-due support or, if unable to
        
pay all past-due support and a periodic payment for past-due support has not been ordered by the court, by making periodic payments in accordance with a written payment agreement approved by the court; and
            (3) Meeting the obligor's health insurance
        
obligation.
    The notice must include the address and telephone number of the clerk of the circuit court. The clerk of the circuit court shall attach a copy of the obligor's order of support to the notice. The notice must be served by certified mail, return receipt requested, by service in hand, or as specified in the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 91-613, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/7-705.2

    (625 ILCS 5/7-705.2)
    Sec. 7-705.2. Notice of noncompliance with visitation order. Before forwarding to the Secretary of State the authenticated document under Section 7-703, the circuit court must serve notice upon the person of its intention to suspend the person's driver's license for being adjudicated as having violated a visitation order in a manner deemed to be visitation abuse. The notice must inform the person that:
        (1) The person may contest the issue of compliance at
    
a hearing;
        (2) A request for a hearing must be made in writing
    
and must be received by the clerk of the circuit court;
        (3) If the person does not request a hearing to
    
contest the issue of compliance within 45 days after the notice of noncompliance is mailed, the court may order that the person's driver's license be suspended as provided for in Section 7-703;
        (4) If the circuit court certifies the person to
    
the Secretary of State for noncompliance with a visitation order, the Secretary of State must suspend any driver's license or instruction permit the person holds and the person's right to apply for or obtain a driver's license or instruction permit until the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated;
        (5) If the person files a motion to modify visitation
    
with the court or requests that the court modify a visitation obligation, the circuit court shall stay action to certify the person to the Secretary of State concerning court ordered visitation; and
        (6) The notice must include the address
    
and telephone number of the clerk of the circuit court. The clerk of the circuit court shall attach a copy of the person's visitation order to the notice. The notice must be served by certified mail, return receipt requested, by service in hand, or as specified in the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-706

    (625 ILCS 5/7-706)
    Sec. 7-706. Administrative hearing. A driver may contest this driver's license sanction by requesting an administrative hearing in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code. If a written request for this hearing is received prior to the effective date of the suspension, the suspension shall be stayed. If a stay of the suspension is granted, it shall remain in effect until a hearing decision is entered. At the conclusion of this hearing, the Secretary of State may rescind or impose the driver's license suspension. If the suspension is upheld, it shall become effective 10 days from the date the hearing decision is entered. If the decision is to rescind the suspension, no suspension of driving privileges shall be entered. The scope of this hearing shall be limited to the following issues:
    (a) Whether the driver is the person who owes a duty to make payments under the court or administrative order of support or is the person with obligations under a visitation order.
    (b) Whether (i) the authenticated document of a court order of support or visitation order indicates that the obligor is 90 days or more delinquent or has been adjudicated in arrears in an amount equal to 90 days obligation or more and has been found in contempt of court for failure to pay child support or (ii) the certification of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services under subsection (c) of Section 7-702 indicates that the person is 90 days or more delinquent in payment of support under an order of support issued by a court or administrative body of this or any other State.
    (b-1) Whether the authenticated document of a visitation order indicates that the person has violated a visitation order and has been found to have engaged in visitation abuse and has been found in contempt of court for failure to abide by a visitation order.
    (c) Whether (i) a superseding authenticated document of any court order of support has been entered or (ii) the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services, in a superseding notification, has informed the Secretary of State that the person certified under subsection (c) of Section 7-702 has paid the support delinquency in full or has arranged for payment of the delinquency and current support obligation in a manner satisfactory to the Department.
    (c-1) Whether a superseding authenticated document of any court order concerning visitation has been entered, in a superseding notification, has informed the Secretary of State that as to the person the court has determined that there has been sufficient compliance for a sufficient period of time with the court's order concerning visitation and that full driving privileges shall be reinstated.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/7-706.1

    (625 ILCS 5/7-706.1)
    Sec. 7-706.1. Hearing for compliance with support order.
    (a) An obligor may request in writing to the clerk of the circuit court a hearing to contest the claim of noncompliance with an order of support and his or her subsequent driver's license suspension under subsection (b) of Section 7-702.
    (b) If a written request for a hearing is received by the clerk of the circuit court, the clerk of the circuit court shall set the hearing before the circuit court.
    (c) Upon the obligor's written request, the court must set a date for a hearing and afford the obligor an opportunity for a hearing as early as practical.
    (d) The scope of this hearing is limited to the following issues:
        (1) Whether the obligor is required to pay child
    
support under an order of support.
        (2) Whether the obligor has been adjudicated in
    
arrears in court ordered child support payments in an amount equal to 90 days obligation or more.
        (3) Any additional issues raised by the obligor,
    
including the reasonableness of a payment agreement in light of the obligor's current financial circumstances, to be preserved for appeal.
    (e) All hearings and hearing procedures shall comply with requirements of the Illinois Constitution and the United States Constitution, so that no person is deprived of due process of law nor denied equal protection of the laws. All hearings shall be held before a judge of the circuit court in the county in which the support order has been entered. Appropriate records of the hearings shall be kept. Where a transcript of the hearing is taken, the person requesting the hearing shall have the opportunity to order a copy of the transcript at his or her own expense.
    (f) The action of the circuit court resulting in the suspension of any driver's license shall be a final judgment for purposes of appellate review.
(Source: P.A. 91-613, eff. 7-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/7-707

    (625 ILCS 5/7-707)
    Sec. 7-707. Payment of reinstatement fee. When a person receives notice from the Secretary of State that the suspension of driving privileges has been terminated based upon (i) receipt of notification from the circuit clerk of the person's compliance as obligor with a court order of support or (ii) receipt of notification from the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services that the person whose driving privileges were terminated has paid the delinquency in full or has arranged for payment of the delinquency and the current support obligation in a manner satisfactory to the Department (in a case in which the person's driving privileges were suspended upon a certification by the Department under subsection (c) of Section 7-702), the obligor shall pay a $70 reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State as set forth in Section 6-118 of this Code. $30 of the $70 fee shall be deposited into the Family Responsibility Fund. In accordance with subsection (e) of Section 6-115 of this Code, the Secretary of State may decline to process a renewal of a driver's license of a person who has not paid this fee.
(Source: P.A. 95-685, eff. 10-23-07.)

625 ILCS 5/7-708

    (625 ILCS 5/7-708)
    Sec. 7-708. Rules. The Secretary of State, using the authority to license motor vehicle operators, may adopt such rules as may be necessary to establish standards, policies, and procedures for the suspension of driver's licenses for non-compliance with a court or administrative order of support or with a visitation order.
(Source: P.A. 97-1047, eff. 8-21-12.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 8

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 8 heading)
CHAPTER 8. MOTOR VEHICLES USED FOR
TRANSPORTATION OF PASSENGERS

625 ILCS 5/8-101

    (625 ILCS 5/8-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-101)
    Sec. 8-101. Proof of financial responsibility - Persons who operate motor vehicles in transportation of passengers for hire.
    (a) It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to operate any motor vehicle along or upon any public street or highway in any incorporated city, town or village in this State for the carriage of passengers for hire, accepting and discharging all such persons as may offer themselves for transportation unless such person, firm or corporation has given, and there is in full force and effect and on file with the Secretary of State of Illinois, proof of financial responsibility provided in this Act.
    (b) In addition this Section shall also apply to persons, firms or corporations who are in the business of providing transportation services for minors to or from educational or recreational facilities, except that this Section shall not apply to public utilities subject to regulation under "An Act concerning public utilities," approved June 29, 1921, as amended, or to school buses which are operated by public or parochial schools and are engaged solely in the transportation of the pupils who attend such schools.
    (c) This Section also applies to a contract carrier transporting employees in the course of their employment on a highway of this State in a vehicle designed to carry 15 or fewer passengers. As part of proof of financial responsibility, a contract carrier transporting employees in the course of their employment is required to verify hit and run and uninsured motor vehicle coverage, as provided in Section 143a of the Illinois Insurance Code, and underinsured motor vehicle coverage, as provided in Section 143a-2 of the Illinois Insurance Code, in a total amount of not less than $250,000 per passenger.
    (d) This Section shall not apply to any person participating in a ridesharing arrangement or operating a commuter van, but only during the performance of activities authorized by the Ridesharing Arrangements Act.
    (e) If the person operating such motor vehicle is not the owner, then proof of financial responsibility filed hereunder must provide that the owner is primarily liable.
(Source: P.A. 94-319, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/8-101.1

    (625 ILCS 5/8-101.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-101.1)
    Sec. 8-101.1. Proof of financial responsibility - Persons who operate medical transport vehicles. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation, other than a unit of local government, to operate any medical transport vehicle along or upon any public street or highway in any incorporated city, town or village in this State unless such person, firm or corporation has given, and there is in full force and effect and on file with the Secretary of State, proof of financial responsibility provided in this Code.
    If the person operating such motor vehicle is not the owner, then proof of financial responsibility filed hereunder must provide that the owner is primarily liable.
(Source: P.A. 82-949.)

625 ILCS 5/8-102

    (625 ILCS 5/8-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-102)
    Sec. 8-102. Alternate methods of giving proof. Proof of financial responsibility, when required under Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, may be given by filing with the Secretary of State one of the following:
    1. A bond as provided in Section 8-103;
    2. An insurance policy or other proof of insurance in a form to be prescribed by the Secretary as provided in Section 8-108;
    3. A certificate of self-insurance issued by the Director;
    4. A certificate of self-insurance issued to the Regional Transportation Authority by the Director naming municipal or non-municipal public carriers included therein;
    5. A certificate of coverage issued by an intergovernmental risk management association evidencing coverages which meet or exceed the amounts required under this Code.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)

625 ILCS 5/8-103

    (625 ILCS 5/8-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-103)
    Sec. 8-103. Bond as proof of financial responsibility. 1. A bond of the owner of motor vehicles, subject to the provisions of Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, with a solvent and responsible surety company authorized to do business under the laws of this State as surety thereon; or
    2. A bond of such owner, with one or more personal sureties, owning real estate in the State of Illinois, of the value in the aggregate of $250,000 over and above all encumbrances, when approved by the Secretary of State shall be proof of financial responsibility as required by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
    3. The bond shall not be approved unless accompanied by affidavits of the personal sureties, attached, stating the location, legal description, market value, nature and amount of encumbrances (if any), and the value above all encumbrances of such real estate scheduled to qualify on such bond, and not then unless all requirements for such bond as provided for by this Code have been met.
(Source: P.A. 82-949.)

625 ILCS 5/8-104

    (625 ILCS 5/8-104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-104)
    Sec. 8-104. Requirements of bond. 1. A surety bond or real estate bond filed as proof as provided in Section 8-103 shall be in the sum of $250,000 for each motor vehicle operated by the owner providing the motor vehicle is subject to Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
    2. The surety of real estate bond shall provide for the payment of each judgment by the owner of the motor vehicle (giving its manufacturer's name and number and state license number) within 30 days after it becomes final, provided each judgment shall have been rendered against such owner or any person operating the motor vehicle with the owner's express or implied consent, for any injury to or death of any person or for damage to property other than such motor vehicle, resulting from the negligence of such owner, his agent, or any person operating the motor vehicle with his express or implied consent, provided that the maximum payment required of the surety or sureties, on all judgments recovered against an owner hereunder, shall not exceed the sum of $250,000 for each motor vehicle operated, under Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
(Source: P.A. 82-949.)

625 ILCS 5/8-105

    (625 ILCS 5/8-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-105)
    Sec. 8-105. Action on bond. The surety bond shall, by its terms, inure to the benefit of the person recovering any such judgment, and shall provide that an action may be brought in any court of competent jurisdiction upon such bond by the owner of any such judgment; and such bond, for the full amount thereof shall, by its terms, be a lien for the benefit of the beneficiaries of said bond on such real estate so scheduled, and shall be recorded in the office of the recorder in each county in which such real estate is located.
(Source: P.A. 83-358.)

625 ILCS 5/8-106

    (625 ILCS 5/8-106) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-106)
    Sec. 8-106. Withdrawal by sureties from bond - Notice.
    Any surety or sureties may withdraw from any such bond by serving ten days previous notice in writing upon such owner and the Secretary of State, either personally or by registered mail, whereupon it shall be the duty of such owner to file another bond or insurance policy in accordance with the provisions of this Act. Upon the expiration of said ten days, the Secretary of State shall mark said bond "withdrawn", with the date such withdrawal became effective, and thereupon the liability of the sureties on such bond shall cease as to any injury or damages sustained after the date such withdrawal became effective.
(Source: P.A. 80-1495.)

625 ILCS 5/8-107

    (625 ILCS 5/8-107) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-107)
    Sec. 8-107. Authority to require replacement of bond. If, at any time, in the judgment of the Secretary of State, said bond is not sufficient for any good cause, he may require the owner of such motor vehicle who filed the same to replace said bond with another good and sufficient bond or insurance policy, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, and upon such replacement, the liability of the surety or sureties on such prior bond shall cease as to any injury or damage sustained after such replacement.
(Source: P.A. 80-1495.)

625 ILCS 5/8-108

    (625 ILCS 5/8-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-108)
    Sec. 8-108. Insurance policy as bond. A policy of insurance in a solvent and responsible company authorized to do business in the State of Illinois, and having admitted net assets of not less than $300,000 insuring the owner, his agent or any person operating the motor vehicle with the owner's express or implied consent against liability for any injury to or death of any person or for damage to property other than the motor vehicle resulting from the negligence of such owner, his agent or any person operating the vehicle with his express or implied consent, when accepted by the Secretary of State, shall be proof of financial responsibility as required by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)

625 ILCS 5/8-109

    (625 ILCS 5/8-109) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-109)
    Sec. 8-109. Requirements of policy. 1. The policy of insurance may cover one or more motor vehicles and for each such vehicle shall insure such owner against liability upon the owner to a minimum amount of $250,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, any person, and $50,000 for damage to property, provided that the maximum payment required of such company on all judgments recovered against an owner hereunder shall not exceed the sum of $300,000 for each motor vehicle operated under the provisions of this Section.
    2. The policy of insurance shall provide for payment and satisfaction of any judgment within 30 days after it becomes final rendered against the owner or any person operating the motor vehicle with the owner's express or implied consent for such injury, death or damage to property other than the motor vehicle, and shall provide that suit may be brought in any court of competent jurisdiction upon such insurance policy by the owner of any such judgment.
    3. The insurance policy shall contain a description of each motor vehicle, giving the manufacturer's name and number and state license number.
(Source: P.A. 82-949.)

625 ILCS 5/8-110

    (625 ILCS 5/8-110) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-110)
    Sec. 8-110. Cancellation of insurance policy - Notice.
        1. In the event said policy of insurance be cancelled by the issuing company, or the authority of said issuing company to do business in the State of Illinois be revoked, the Secretary of State shall require the owner who filed the same either to furnish a bond or to replace said policy with another policy according to the provisions of this Act.
    2. Said policy of insurance shall also contain a provision that the same cannot be cancelled by the company issuing it without giving ten days notice in writing of such cancellation to the owner and the Secretary of State, either personally or by registered mail.
    3. Whenever the issuing company gives such notice of cancellation, the Secretary of State shall, at the expiration of said ten days, mark said insurance policy "Withdrawn" with the date such withdrawal became effective, and thereupon the liability of such company on said policy shall cease as to any injury or damage sustained after the date such withdrawal becomes effective.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/8-111

    (625 ILCS 5/8-111) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-111)
    Sec. 8-111. Proof required after cancellation.
    If, at any time, in the judgment of the Secretary of State, said policy of insurance is not sufficient for any good cause, he may require the owner of such motor vehicle who filed the same, to replace said policy of insurance with another good and sufficient bond or insurance policy, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, and upon such replacement, the liability of the company on said insurance policy shall cease as to any injury or damage sustained after such replacement.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/8-112

    (625 ILCS 5/8-112) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-112)
    Sec. 8-112. When bond on policy to expire.
    All bonds and policies of insurance filed with the Secretary of State, under this Act, shall expire not sooner than the 31st day of December as to a vehicle registered on a calendar year basis and not sooner than the 30th day of June as to a vehicle registered on a fiscal year basis in each year, provided, that the expiration of same shall not terminate liabilities upon such bonds and policies of insurance arising during the period for which the bonds and policies of insurance were filed.
(Source: P.A. 77-99.)

625 ILCS 5/8-113

    (625 ILCS 5/8-113) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-113)
    Sec. 8-113. Secretary of State to suspend registration certificates, registration plates and registration sticker when bond or policy cancelled or withdrawn. In the event that a bond or policy of insurance is cancelled or withdrawn with respect to a vehicle or vehicles, subject to the provisions of Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, for which the bond or policy of insurance was issued, then the Secretary of State immediately shall suspend the registration certificates, registration plates and registration sticker or stickers of the owner, with respect to such motor vehicle or vehicles, and said registration certificates, registration plates and registration sticker or stickers shall remain suspended and no registration shall be permitted or renewed unless and until the owner of the motor vehicle shall have filed proof of financial responsibility as provided by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)

625 ILCS 5/8-114

    (625 ILCS 5/8-114) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-114)
    Sec. 8-114. Issuance of license upon proof of financial responsibility. The Secretary of State shall issue to each person who has in effect proof of financial responsibility as required by Section 8-101 or 8-101.1, a certificate for each motor vehicle operated by such person and included within the proof of financial responsibility. Each certificate shall specify the Illinois registration plate and registration sticker number of the vehicle, a statement that proof of financial responsibility has been filed, and the period for which the certificate was issued.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)

625 ILCS 5/8-115

    (625 ILCS 5/8-115) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-115)
    Sec. 8-115. Display of certificate-Enforcement. The certificate issued pursuant to Section 8-114 shall be displayed upon a window of the motor vehicle for which it was issued, in such manner as to be visible to the passengers carried therein. This Section and Section 8-114 shall be enforced by the State Police, the Secretary of State, and other police officers.
(Source: P.A. 82-433.)

625 ILCS 5/8-116

    (625 ILCS 5/8-116) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 8-116)
    Sec. 8-116.
    Any person who fails to comply with the provisions of this Chapter, or who fails to obey, observe or comply with any order of the Secretary of State or any law enforcement agency issued in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 77-2838.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 9

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 9 heading)
CHAPTER 9. OWNERS OF FOR RENT VEHICLES FOR-HIRE

625 ILCS 5/9-101

    (625 ILCS 5/9-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-101)
    Sec. 9-101. Owner of for-rent motor vehicle to give proof of financial responsibility. For purposes of this Chapter, "for rent" means any transfer of the possession of or right to possession of a motor vehicle to a user for a valuable consideration for a period of less than one year, and "to lease" means any transfer of the possession of or right to possession of a motor vehicle to a user for a period of one year or more. It is unlawful for the owner of any motor vehicle to engage in the business, or to hold himself out to the public generally as being engaged in the business of renting out such motor vehicle to be operated by the customer, unless the owner has given, and there is in full force and effect and on file with the Secretary of State proof of financial responsibility as hereinafter provided. The delivery of a vehicle owned by an out of State person or business to a renter in this State shall constitute engaging in the rental business in this State for purposes of this Section.
    All owners of motor vehicles which are leased for a period of one year or more are not required to provide proof of insurance as required under this chapter, but instead must comply with Section 7-601 of this Code and obtain vehicle insurance in amounts no less than the minimum amount set for bodily injury or death and for destruction of property pursuant to Section 7-203 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 86-880; 87-1220.)

625 ILCS 5/9-102

    (625 ILCS 5/9-102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-102)
    Sec. 9-102. Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Proof of financial responsibility when required under Section 9-101 may be given by the following methods. By filing with the Secretary of State:
    1. A bond as provided in Section 9-103.
    2. An insurance policy or other proof of insurance in a form to be prescribed by the Secretary as provided in Section 9-105.
    3. A certificate of self insurance issued by the Director.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)

625 ILCS 5/9-103

    (625 ILCS 5/9-103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-103)
    Sec. 9-103. Bond as proof - requirements. A motor vehicle liability bond, conditioned that the owner of the motor vehicle will pay any judgment within 30 days after it becomes final, recovered against the customer and the owner of the motor vehicle or against any person operating the motor vehicle with the customer's and the owner's express or implied consent for damage to property other than to the rented motor vehicle, or for an injury to, or for the death of any person including an occupant of the rented motor vehicle, resulting from the operation of the motor vehicle, provided, however, every such bond is in the penal sum of $100,000.
    The bond shall be executed by a solvent and responsible surety company authorized to do business in the State of Illinois, or by one or more personal sureties to be approved by the Secretary of State.
    The personal sureties shall own real estate in the State of Illinois of the aggregate value of $100,000, over and above all encumbrances, and each of the personal sureties shall make an affidavit concerning the property which he schedules for the purpose of qualifying as surety, stating the location, legal description, market value, and the amount and nature of any encumbrances.
(Source: P.A. 86-444.)

625 ILCS 5/9-104

    (625 ILCS 5/9-104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-104)
    Sec. 9-104. Withdrawal of sureties-Notice.
    Any surety may withdraw from the bond by serving ten days previous notice in writing, either personally or by registered mail, upon the owner of the motor vehicle, and upon the Secretary of State, whereupon it shall be the duty of such owner to file another bond or insurance policy, in accordance with the provisions of this Act. Upon the expiration of the ten days, the Secretary of State shall mark the bond "Cancelled".
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/9-105

    (625 ILCS 5/9-105) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-105)
    Sec. 9-105. Insurance policy as proof - requirements. A motor vehicle liability policy in a solvent and responsible company, authorized to do business in the State of Illinois, providing that the insurance carrier will pay any judgment within 30 days after it becomes final, recovered against the customer or against any person operating the motor vehicle with the customer's express or implied consent, for damage to property other than to the rented motor vehicles, or for an injury to or for the death of any person, including an occupant of the rented motor vehicle, resulting from the operation of the motor vehicle shall serve as proof of financial responsibility; provided however, every such policy provides insurance insuring the operator of the rented motor vehicle against liability upon such insured to a minimum amount of $50,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of any one person or damage to property and $100,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one motor vehicle accident.
(Source: P.A. 86-880.)

625 ILCS 5/9-106

    (625 ILCS 5/9-106) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-106)
    Sec. 9-106. Cancellation of policy - Notices.
    The policy shall provide that the insurance carrier may cancel it by serving 10 days' previous notice in writing, either personally or by registered mail, upon the owner of the motor vehicle and upon the Secretary of State. Whenever any such policy shall be so cancelled, the Secretary of State shall mark same "Cancelled" and shall require such owner either to furnish a bond or a new policy of insurance, in accordance with this Act.
    All policies filed with the Secretary of State shall expire not sooner than the 31st day of December as to vehicles registered on a calendar year nor sooner than the 30th day of June as to vehicles registered on a fiscal year.
(Source: P.A. 77-99.)

625 ILCS 5/9-107

    (625 ILCS 5/9-107) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-107)
    Sec. 9-107. Authority to require replacement of bond.
    If, at any time, in the judgment of the Secretary of State, the liability policy filed hereunder, is not sufficient for any good cause, he may require the owner of such motor vehicle who filed the same to replace, within fifteen (15) days from the date of notice given, said policy with another good and sufficient liability policy or bond, in accordance with the provisions of this Act. At the time of replacement or at the expiration of the fifteen (15) day period, as the case may be, the Secretary of State shall mark the policy "Cancelled."
    Upon the cancellation of any liability policy hereunder the liabilities on said policy shall thereupon cease as to any future damage or injury.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/9-108

    (625 ILCS 5/9-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-108)
    Sec. 9-108. Application for approval of insurance policy or bond required.
    Every person desiring to engage in the business of renting out a motor vehicle, to be operated by the customer, shall file with the Secretary of State, an application for the approval of the Secretary of State of the insurance policy or bond tendered under the provisions of this Act, by such person, and if the Secretary of State shall determine that such insurance policy or bond complies with the provisions of this Act, he shall accept such insurance policy or bond, and shall thereupon issue to such applicant a certificate setting forth the fact that the applicant has, in respect to the vehicle described therein, complied with the provisions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/9-109

    (625 ILCS 5/9-109) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-109)
    Sec. 9-109. Secretary of State to cancel certificate and to suspend license plates and registration stickers when bond or policy cancelled or withdrawn.
    (a) If any insurance policy or bond filed hereunder shall for any reason become inoperative, the Secretary of State shall forthwith cancel the certificate of compliance of the owner and it shall be unlawful for the owner to rent out the motor vehicle, covered by said certificate, until a policy or bond meeting the requirements of this Act is filed with the Secretary of State and a certificate has been issued by him as provided by Section 9-108.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall also suspend the registration certificate, license plates and registration sticker or stickers of the owner, with respect to the motor vehicle for which the insurance policy or bond had been issued, and said registration certificates, license plates and registration sticker or stickers shall remain suspended and no registration shall be permitted or renewed unless and until the owner of said motor vehicle shall have complied with the provisions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 80-230; 80-1185.)

625 ILCS 5/9-110

    (625 ILCS 5/9-110) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 9-110)
    Sec. 9-110. Penalties for violations of this Act.
    Any person who fails to comply with the provisions of this Chapter, or who fails to obey, observe or comply with any order of the Secretary of State, in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 77-2720.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 heading)
CHAPTER 10. CIVIL LIABILITY

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. LIABILITY OF COUNTIES,
MUNICIPALITIES AND OTHER
PUBLIC CORPORATIONS

625 ILCS 5/10-101

    (625 ILCS 5/10-101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 10-101)
    Sec. 10-101. Insurance.
    (a) Any public entity or corporation may insure against the liability imposed by law and may insure persons who are legally entitled to recover damages from owners and operators of uninsured motor vehicles and hit-and-run motor vehicles because of bodily injury, sickness or disease including death incurred while using a motor vehicle of such public entity or corporation with any insurance carrier duly authorized to transact business in this State and the premium for such insurance shall be a proper charge against the general fund or any applicable special fund of such entity or corporation.
    (b) Every employee of the State, who operates for purposes of State business a vehicle not owned, leased or controlled by the State shall procure insurance in the limit of the amounts of liability not less than the amounts required in Section 7-203 of this Act. The State may provide such insurance for the benefit of, and without cost to, such employees and may include such coverage in a plan of self-insurance under Section 405-105 of the Department of Central Management Services Law (20 ILCS 405/405-105). The State may also obtain uninsured or hit-and-run vehicle coverage, as defined in Section 143a of the "Illinois Insurance Code". Any public liability insurance furnished by the State under this Section shall be under the policy or policies contracted for or under a self-insurance plan implemented by the Department of Central Management Services pursuant to Section 405-105 of the Department of Central Management Services Law (20 ILCS 405/405-105), the costs for procuring such insurance to be charged, collected and received as provided in that Section 25-105.
(Source: P.A. 91-239, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. LIABILITY TO GUESTS

625 ILCS 5/10-201

    (625 ILCS 5/10-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 10-201)
    Sec. 10-201. Liability for bodily injury to or death of guest.
    No person riding in or upon a motor vehicle or motorcycle as a guest without payment for such ride and who has solicited such ride in violation of Subsection (a) of Section 11-1006 of this Act, nor his personal representative in the event of the death of such guest, shall have a cause of action for damages against the driver or operator of such motor vehicle or motorcycle, or its owner or his employee or agent for injury, death or loss, in case of accident, unless such accident has been caused by the willful and wanton misconduct of the driver or operator of such motor vehicle or motorcycle or its owner or his employee or agent and unless such willful and wanton misconduct contributed to the injury, death or loss for which the action is brought.
    Nothing contained in this section relieves a motor vehicle or motorcycle carrier of passengers for hire of responsibility for injury or death sustained by any passenger for hire.
    This amendatory Act of 1971 shall apply only to causes of action arising from accidents occurring after its effective date.
(Source: P.A. 77-1482.)

625 ILCS 5/10-202

    (625 ILCS 5/10-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 10-202)
    Sec. 10-202. Liability of employer in regard to ridesharing. (a) An employer shall not be liable for injuries to passengers and other persons resulting from the operation or use of a passenger car or commuter van in a ridesharing arrangement which is not owned, leased, contracted for or driven by the employer, and for which the employer has not paid wages to an employee for services rendered in driving the vehicle, provided, that wages shall not include a portion of the fares collected by the driver and shall not include expenses for gasoline or passenger car or commuter van repairs.
    (b) An employer shall not be liable for injuries to passengers and other persons because he provides information, incentives or otherwise encourages his employees to participate in ridesharing arrangements.
(Source: P.A. 83-1091.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 10 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. PROCESS ON NON-RESIDENT

625 ILCS 5/10-301

    (625 ILCS 5/10-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 10-301)
    Sec. 10-301. Service of process on non-resident.
    (a) The use and operation by any person or his duly authorized agent or employee of a vehicle over or upon the highways of the State of Illinois, shall be deemed an appointment by such person of the Secretary of State to be his true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served all legal process in any action or proceeding against him, growing out of such use or resulting in damage or loss to person or property, and the use or operation shall be signification of his agreement that such process against him which is so served, shall be of the same legal force and validity as though served upon him personally if such person is a non-resident of this State or at the time a cause of action arises is a resident of this State but subsequently becomes a non-resident of this State, or in the event the vehicle is owned by a non-resident and is being operated over and upon the highways of this State with the owner's express or implied permission.
    (b) Service of such process shall be made by serving a copy upon the Secretary of State or any employee in his office designated by him to accept such service for him, or by filing such copy in his office, together with an affidavit of compliance from the plaintiff instituting the action, suit, or proceeding, which states that this Section is applicable to the proceeding and that the plaintiff has complied with the requirements of this Section, and a fee of $5 and such service shall be sufficient service upon the person, if notice of such service and a copy of the process are, within 10 days thereafter, sent by registered mail by the plaintiff to the defendant, at the last known address of the defendant, and the plaintiff's affidavit of compliance herewith is appended to the summons.
    (c) The court in which the action is pending may order such continuances as may be necessary to afford the defendant reasonable opportunity to defend the action. The fee of $5 paid by the plaintiff to the Secretary of State at the time of the service shall be taxed as his cost, if he prevails in the action.
    (d) The Secretary of State shall keep a record of all such processes, which shall show the day and hour of such service.
    (e) When a final judgment is entered against any non-resident defendant who has not received notice and a copy of the process by registered mail, required to be sent to him as above provided, and such person, his heirs, legatees, executor, administrator or other legal representatives, as the case may require, shall within one year after the written notice given to him of such judgment, or within 5 years after such judgment, if no such notice has been given, as stated above, appear and petition the court to be heard regarding such judgment, and shall pay such costs as the court may deem reasonable in that behalf, the person so petitioning the court may appear and answer the plaintiff's allegations, and thereupon such proceeding shall be had as if the defendant had appeared in due time and no judgment had been entered. If it appears upon the hearing that such judgment ought not to have been entered against the defendant, the judgment may be set aside, altered or amended as shall appear just; otherwise, it shall be ordered that the judgment stands confirmed against the defendant. The judgment shall, after 5 years from the entry thereof, if not set aside in the manner stated above, be deemed and adjudged confirmed against such defendant, and all persons claiming under him by virtue of any act done subsequent to the commencement of such action, and at the end of the 5 years, the court may enter such further orders as shall be required for the enforcement of the judgment.
    (f) Any person instituting any action, suit, or proceeding who uses this Section to effect service of process shall be liable for the attorney's fees and costs of the defendant if the court finds that the person instituting the action knew or should have known that this Section is not applicable for effecting service in such action.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 heading)
CHAPTER 11. RULES OF THE ROAD

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. I

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. I heading)
ARTICLE I. SPECIAL DEFINITIONS

625 ILCS 5/11-100

    (625 ILCS 5/11-100) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-100)
    Sec. 11-100. Definition of Administrator. For the purposes of this Chapter, "Administrator" means the Administrator of the Illinois Safety and Family Financial Responsibility Law in Chapter 7 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 89-92, eff. 7-1-96; 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. II

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. II heading)
ARTICLE II. OBEDIENCE TO AND EFFECT
OF TRAFFIC LAWS

625 ILCS 5/11-201

    (625 ILCS 5/11-201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-201)
    Sec. 11-201. Provisions of act refer to vehicles upon the highways-Exceptions.
    The provisions of this Chapter relating to the operation of vehicles refer exclusively to the operation of vehicles upon highways except:
    1. Where a different place is specifically referred to in a given section.
    2. The provisions of Articles IV and V of this Chapter shall apply upon highways and elsewhere throughout the State.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-202

    (625 ILCS 5/11-202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-202)
    Sec. 11-202. Required obedience to traffic laws.
    It is unlawful and, unless otherwise declared in this Chapter with respect to particular offenses, it is a petty offense for any person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 80-911.)

625 ILCS 5/11-203

    (625 ILCS 5/11-203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-203)
    Sec. 11-203. Obedience to police officers. No person shall wilfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or direction of any police officer, fireman, person authorized by a local authority to direct traffic, or school crossing guard invested by law with authority to direct, control, or regulate traffic. Any person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a petty offense and shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $150.
(Source: P.A. 98-396, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-204

    (625 ILCS 5/11-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-204)
    Sec. 11-204. Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer.
    (a) Any driver or operator of a motor vehicle who, having been given a visual or audible signal by a peace officer directing such driver or operator to bring his vehicle to a stop, wilfully fails or refuses to obey such direction, increases his speed, extinguishes his lights, or otherwise flees or attempts to elude the officer, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. The signal given by the peace officer may be by hand, voice, siren, red or blue light. Provided, the officer giving such signal shall be in police uniform, and, if driving a vehicle, such vehicle shall display illuminated oscillating, rotating or flashing red or blue lights which when used in conjunction with an audible horn or siren would indicate the vehicle to be an official police vehicle. Such requirement shall not preclude the use of amber or white oscillating, rotating or flashing lights in conjunction with red or blue oscillating, rotating or flashing lights as required in Section 12-215 of Chapter 12.
    (b) Upon receiving notice of such conviction the Secretary of State shall suspend the drivers license of the person so convicted for a period of not more than 6 months for a first conviction and not more than 12 months for a second conviction.
    (c) A third or subsequent violation of this Section is a Class 4 felony.
(Source: P.A. 93-120, eff. 1-1-04.)

625 ILCS 5/11-204.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-204.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-204.1)
    Sec. 11-204.1. Aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer.
    (a) The offense of aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer is committed by any driver or operator of a motor vehicle who flees or attempts to elude a peace officer, after being given a visual or audible signal by a peace officer in the manner prescribed in subsection (a) of Section 11-204 of this Code, and such flight or attempt to elude:
        (1) is at a rate of speed at least 21 miles per hour
    
over the legal speed limit;
        (2) causes bodily injury to any individual;
        (3) causes damage in excess of $300 to property;
        (4) involves disobedience of 2 or more official
    
traffic control devices; or
        (5) involves the concealing or altering of the
    
vehicle's registration plate.
    (b) Any person convicted of a first violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. Upon notice of such a conviction the Secretary of State shall forthwith revoke the driver's license of the person so convicted, as provided in Section 6-205 of this Code. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony, and upon notice of such a conviction the Secretary of State shall forthwith revoke the driver's license of the person convicted, as provided in Section 6-205 of the Code.
    (c) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
(Source: P.A. 96-328, eff. 8-11-09; 97-743, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-205

    (625 ILCS 5/11-205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-205)
    Sec. 11-205. Public officers and employees to obey Act-Exceptions.
    (a) The provisions of this Chapter applicable to the drivers of vehicles upon the highways shall apply to the drivers of all vehicles owned or operated by the United States, this State or any county, city, town, district or any other political subdivision of the State, except as provided in this Section and subject to such specific exceptions as set forth in this Chapter with reference to authorized emergency vehicles.
    (b) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an emergency call or when in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law or when responding to but not upon returning from a fire alarm, may exercise the privileges set forth in this Section, but subject to the conditions herein stated.
    (c) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle may:
        1. Park or stand, irrespective of the provisions of
    
this Chapter;
        2. Proceed past a red or stop signal or stop sign,
    
but only after slowing down as may be required and necessary for safe operation;
        3. Exceed the maximum speed limits so long as he does
    
not endanger life or property;
        4. Disregard regulations governing direction of
    
movement or turning in specified directions.
    (d) The exceptions herein granted to an authorized emergency vehicle, other than a police vehicle, shall apply only when the vehicle is making use of either an audible signal when in motion or visual signals meeting the requirements of Section 12-215 of this Act.
    (e) The foregoing provisions do not relieve the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle from the duty of driving with due regard for the safety of all persons, nor do such provisions protect the driver from the consequences of his reckless disregard for the safety of others.
    (f) Unless specifically made applicable, the provisions of this Chapter, except those contained in Section 11-204 and Articles IV and V of this Chapter, shall not apply to persons, motor vehicles and equipment while actually engaged in work upon a highway but shall apply to such persons and vehicles when traveling to or from such work.
(Source: P.A. 89-710, eff. 2-14-97; 90-257, eff. 7-30-97.)

625 ILCS 5/11-206

    (625 ILCS 5/11-206) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-206)
    Sec. 11-206. Traffic laws apply to persons riding animals or driving animal-drawn vehicles.
    Every person riding an animal or driving any animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a vehicle by this chapter, except those provisions of this chapter which by their very nature can have no application.
(Source: P.A. 79-858.)

625 ILCS 5/11-207

    (625 ILCS 5/11-207) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-207)
    Sec. 11-207. Provisions of this Chapter uniform throughout State. The provisions of this Chapter shall be applicable and uniform throughout this State and in all political subdivisions and municipalities therein, and no local authority shall enact or enforce any ordinance rule or regulation in conflict with the provisions of this Chapter unless expressly authorized herein. Local authorities may, however, adopt additional traffic regulations which are not in conflict with the provisions of this Chapter, but such regulations shall not be effective until signs giving reasonable notice thereof are posted.
(Source: P.A. 92-651, eff. 7-11-02.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-208)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-396)
    Sec. 11-208. Powers of local authorities.
    (a) The provisions of this Code shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the reasonable exercise of the police power from:
        1. Regulating the standing or parking of vehicles,
    
except as limited by Sections 11-1306 and 11-1307 of this Act;
        2. Regulating traffic by means of police officers or
    
traffic control signals;
        3. Regulating or prohibiting processions or
    
assemblages on the highways; and certifying persons to control traffic for processions or assemblages;
        4. Designating particular highways as one-way
    
highways and requiring that all vehicles thereon be moved in one specific direction;
        5. Regulating the speed of vehicles in public parks
    
subject to the limitations set forth in Section 11-604;
        6. Designating any highway as a through highway, as
    
authorized in Section 11-302, and requiring that all vehicles stop before entering or crossing the same or designating any intersection as a stop intersection or a yield right-of-way intersection and requiring all vehicles to stop or yield the right-of-way at one or more entrances to such intersections;
        7. Restricting the use of highways as authorized in
    
Chapter 15;
        8. Regulating the operation of bicycles and requiring
    
the registration and licensing of same, including the requirement of a registration fee;
        9. Regulating or prohibiting the turning of vehicles
    
or specified types of vehicles at intersections;
        10. Altering the speed limits as authorized in
    
Section 11-604;
        11. Prohibiting U-turns;
        12. Prohibiting pedestrian crossings at other than
    
designated and marked crosswalks or at intersections;
        13. Prohibiting parking during snow removal operation;
        14. Imposing fines in accordance with Section
    
11-1301.3 as penalties for use of any parking place reserved for persons with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, or disabled veterans by any person using a motor vehicle not bearing registration plates specified in Section 11-1301.1 or a special decal or device as defined in Section 11-1301.2 as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or disabled veteran;
        15. Adopting such other traffic regulations as are
    
specifically authorized by this Code; or
        16. Enforcing the provisions of subsection (f) of
    
Section 3-413 of this Code or a similar local ordinance.
    (b) No ordinance or regulation enacted under subsections 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11 or 13 of paragraph (a) shall be effective until signs giving reasonable notice of such local traffic regulations are posted.
    (c) The provisions of this Code shall not prevent any municipality having a population of 500,000 or more inhabitants from prohibiting any person from driving or operating any motor vehicle upon the roadways of such municipality with headlamps on high beam or bright.
    (d) The provisions of this Code shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities within the reasonable exercise of their police power from prohibiting, on private property, the unauthorized use of parking spaces reserved for persons with disabilities.
    (e) No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may enact or enforce an ordinance that applies only to motorcycles if the principal purpose for that ordinance is to restrict the access of motorcycles to any highway or portion of a highway for which federal or State funds have been used for the planning, design, construction, or maintenance of that highway. No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may enact an ordinance requiring motorcycle users to wear protective headgear. Nothing in this subsection (e) shall affect the authority of a unit of local government to regulate motorcycles for traffic control purposes or in accordance with Section 12-602 of this Code. No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may regulate motorcycles in a manner inconsistent with this Code. This subsection (e) is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
    (f) A municipality or county designated in Section 11-208.6 may enact an ordinance providing for an automated traffic law enforcement system to enforce violations of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance and imposing liability on a registered owner or lessee of a vehicle used in such a violation.
    (g) A municipality or county, as provided in Section 11-1201.1, may enact an ordinance providing for an automated traffic law enforcement system to enforce violations of Section 11-1201 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance and imposing liability on a registered owner of a vehicle used in such a violation.
    (h) A municipality designated in Section 11-208.8 may enact an ordinance providing for an automated speed enforcement system to enforce violations of Article VI of Chapter 11 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
(Source: P.A. 97-29, eff. 1-1-12; 97-672, eff. 7-1-12; 98-396, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-556)
    Sec. 11-208. Powers of local authorities.
    (a) The provisions of this Code shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the reasonable exercise of the police power from:
        1. Regulating the standing or parking of vehicles,
    
except as limited by Sections 11-1306 and 11-1307 of this Act;
        2. Regulating traffic by means of police officers or
    
traffic control signals;
        3. Regulating or prohibiting processions or
    
assemblages on the highways;
        4. Designating particular highways as one-way
    
highways and requiring that all vehicles thereon be moved in one specific direction;
        5. Regulating the speed of vehicles in public parks
    
subject to the limitations set forth in Section 11-604;
        6. Designating any highway as a through highway, as
    
authorized in Section 11-302, and requiring that all vehicles stop before entering or crossing the same or designating any intersection as a stop intersection or a yield right-of-way intersection and requiring all vehicles to stop or yield the right-of-way at one or more entrances to such intersections;
        7. Restricting the use of highways as authorized in
    
Chapter 15;
        8. Regulating the operation of bicycles and requiring
    
the registration and licensing of same, including the requirement of a registration fee;
        9. Regulating or prohibiting the turning of vehicles
    
or specified types of vehicles at intersections;
        10. Altering the speed limits as authorized in
    
Section 11-604;
        11. Prohibiting U-turns;
        12. Prohibiting pedestrian crossings at other than
    
designated and marked crosswalks or at intersections;
        13. Prohibiting parking during snow removal operation;
        14. Imposing fines in accordance with Section
    
11-1301.3 as penalties for use of any parking place reserved for persons with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, or disabled veterans by any person using a motor vehicle not bearing registration plates specified in Section 11-1301.1 or a special decal or device as defined in Section 11-1301.2 as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or disabled veteran;
        15. Adopting such other traffic regulations as are
    
specifically authorized by this Code; or
        16. Enforcing the provisions of subsection (f) of
    
Section 3-413 of this Code or a similar local ordinance.
    (b) No ordinance or regulation enacted under subsections 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11 or 13 of paragraph (a) shall be effective until signs giving reasonable notice of such local traffic regulations are posted.
    (c) The provisions of this Code shall not prevent any municipality having a population of 500,000 or more inhabitants from prohibiting any person from driving or operating any motor vehicle upon the roadways of such municipality with headlamps on high beam or bright.
    (d) The provisions of this Code shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities within the reasonable exercise of their police power from prohibiting, on private property, the unauthorized use of parking spaces reserved for persons with disabilities.
    (e) No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may enact or enforce an ordinance that applies only to motorcycles if the principal purpose for that ordinance is to restrict the access of motorcycles to any highway or portion of a highway for which federal or State funds have been used for the planning, design, construction, or maintenance of that highway. No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may enact an ordinance requiring motorcycle users to wear protective headgear. Nothing in this subsection (e) shall affect the authority of a unit of local government to regulate motorcycles for traffic control purposes or in accordance with Section 12-602 of this Code. No unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may regulate motorcycles in a manner inconsistent with this Code. This subsection (e) is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of powers and functions exercised by the State.
    (f) A municipality or county designated in Section 11-208.6 may enact an ordinance providing for an automated traffic law enforcement system to enforce violations of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance and imposing liability on a registered owner or lessee of a vehicle used in such a violation.
    (g) A municipality or county, as provided in Section 11-1201.1, may enact an ordinance providing for an automated traffic law enforcement system to enforce violations of Section 11-1201 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance and imposing liability on a registered owner of a vehicle used in such a violation.
    (h) A municipality designated in Section 11-208.8 may enact an ordinance providing for an automated speed enforcement system to enforce violations of Article VI of Chapter 11 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    (i) A municipality or county designated in Section 11-208.9 may enact an ordinance providing for an automated traffic law enforcement system to enforce violations of Section 11-1414 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance and imposing liability on a registered owner or lessee of a vehicle used in such a violation.
(Source: P.A. 97-29, eff. 1-1-12; 97-672, eff. 7-1-12; 98-556, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-208.1)
    Sec. 11-208.1. Uniformity.
    The provisions of this Chapter of this Act, as amended, and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder by any State Officer, Office, Agency, Department or Commission, shall be applicable and uniformly applied and enforced throughout this State, in all other political subdivisions and in all units of local government.
(Source: P.A. 77-706.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-208.2)
    Sec. 11-208.2. Limitation on home rule units.
    The provisions of this Chapter of this Act limit the authority of home rule units to adopt local police regulations inconsistent herewith except pursuant to Sections 11-208, 11-209, 11-1005.1, 11-1412.1, and 11-1412.2 of this Chapter of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 92-868, eff. 6-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.3

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-208.3)
    Sec. 11-208.3. Administrative adjudication of violations of traffic regulations concerning the standing, parking, or condition of vehicles, automated traffic law violations, and automated speed enforcement system violations.
    (a) Any municipality or county may provide by ordinance for a system of administrative adjudication of vehicular standing and parking violations and vehicle compliance violations as described in this subsection, automated traffic law violations as defined in Section 11-208.6, 11-208.9, or 11-1201.1, and automated speed enforcement system violations as defined in Section 11-208.8. The administrative system shall have as its purpose the fair and efficient enforcement of municipal or county regulations through the administrative adjudication of automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violations and violations of municipal or county ordinances regulating the standing and parking of vehicles, the condition and use of vehicle equipment, and the display of municipal or county wheel tax licenses within the municipality's or county's borders. The administrative system shall only have authority to adjudicate civil offenses carrying fines not in excess of $500 or requiring the completion of a traffic education program, or both, that occur after the effective date of the ordinance adopting such a system under this Section. For purposes of this Section, "compliance violation" means a violation of a municipal or county regulation governing the condition or use of equipment on a vehicle or governing the display of a municipal or county wheel tax license.
    (b) Any ordinance establishing a system of administrative adjudication under this Section shall provide for:
        (1) A traffic compliance administrator authorized to
    
adopt, distribute and process parking, compliance, and automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violation notices and other notices required by this Section, collect money paid as fines and penalties for violation of parking and compliance ordinances and automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violations, and operate an administrative adjudication system. The traffic compliance administrator also may make a certified report to the Secretary of State under Section 6-306.5.
        (2) A parking, standing, compliance, automated speed
    
enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation notice that shall specify the date, time, and place of violation of a parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law regulation; the particular regulation violated; any requirement to complete a traffic education program; the fine and any penalty that may be assessed for late payment or failure to complete a required traffic education program, or both, when so provided by ordinance; the vehicle make and state registration number; and the identification number of the person issuing the notice. With regard to automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violations, vehicle make shall be specified on the automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violation notice if the make is available and readily discernible. With regard to municipalities or counties with a population of 1 million or more, it shall be grounds for dismissal of a parking violation if the state registration number or vehicle make specified is incorrect. The violation notice shall state that the completion of any required traffic education program, the payment of any indicated fine, and the payment of any applicable penalty for late payment or failure to complete a required traffic education program, or both, shall operate as a final disposition of the violation. The notice also shall contain information as to the availability of a hearing in which the violation may be contested on its merits. The violation notice shall specify the time and manner in which a hearing may be had.
        (3) Service of the parking, standing, or compliance
    
violation notice by affixing the original or a facsimile of the notice to an unlawfully parked vehicle or by handing the notice to the operator of a vehicle if he or she is present and service of an automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violation notice by mail to the address of the registered owner or lessee of the cited vehicle as recorded with the Secretary of State or the lessor of the motor vehicle within 30 days after the Secretary of State or the lessor of the motor vehicle notifies the municipality or county of the identity of the owner or lessee of the vehicle, but not later than 90 days after the violation, except that in the case of a lessee of a motor vehicle, service of an automated traffic law violation notice may occur no later than 210 days after the violation. A person authorized by ordinance to issue and serve parking, standing, and compliance violation notices shall certify as to the correctness of the facts entered on the violation notice by signing his or her name to the notice at the time of service or in the case of a notice produced by a computerized device, by signing a single certificate to be kept by the traffic compliance administrator attesting to the correctness of all notices produced by the device while it was under his or her control. In the case of an automated traffic law violation, the ordinance shall require a determination by a technician employed or contracted by the municipality or county that, based on inspection of recorded images, the motor vehicle was being operated in violation of Section 11-208.6, 11-208.9, or 11-1201.1 or a local ordinance. If the technician determines that the vehicle entered the intersection as part of a funeral procession or in order to yield the right-of-way to an emergency vehicle, a citation shall not be issued. In municipalities with a population of less than 1,000,000 inhabitants and counties with a population of less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, the automated traffic law ordinance shall require that all determinations by a technician that a motor vehicle was being operated in violation of Section 11-208.6, 11-208.9, or 11-1201.1 or a local ordinance must be reviewed and approved by a law enforcement officer or retired law enforcement officer of the municipality or county issuing the violation. In municipalities with a population of 1,000,000 or more inhabitants and counties with a population of 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, the automated traffic law ordinance shall require that all determinations by a technician that a motor vehicle was being operated in violation of Section 11-208.6, 11-208.9, or 11-1201.1 or a local ordinance must be reviewed and approved by a law enforcement officer or retired law enforcement officer of the municipality or county issuing the violation or by an additional fully-trained reviewing technician who is not employed by the contractor who employs the technician who made the initial determination. In the case of an automated speed enforcement system violation, the ordinance shall require a determination by a technician employed by the municipality, based upon an inspection of recorded images, video or other documentation, including documentation of the speed limit and automated speed enforcement signage, and documentation of the inspection, calibration, and certification of the speed equipment, that the vehicle was being operated in violation of Article VI of Chapter 11 of this Code or a similar local ordinance. If the technician determines that the vehicle speed was not determined by a calibrated, certified speed equipment device based upon the speed equipment documentation, or if the vehicle was an emergency vehicle, a citation may not be issued. The automated speed enforcement ordinance shall require that all determinations by a technician that a violation occurred be reviewed and approved by a law enforcement officer or retired law enforcement officer of the municipality issuing the violation or by an additional fully trained reviewing technician who is not employed by the contractor who employs the technician who made the initial determination. Routine and independent calibration of the speeds produced by automated speed enforcement systems and equipment shall be conducted by a qualified technician. Speeds produced by an automated speed enforcement system shall be compared with speeds produced by lidar or other independent equipment. Qualified technicians shall test radar or lidar equipment no less frequently than once each week, and shall test loop based equipment no less frequently than once a year. Radar equipment shall be checked for accuracy by a qualified technician when the unit is serviced, when unusual or suspect readings persist, or when deemed necessary by a reviewing technician. Radar equipment shall be checked with certified tuning forks, the internal circuit test, and diode display test whenever the radar is turned on. Technicians must be alert for any unusual or suspect readings, and if unusual or suspect readings of a radar unit persist, that unit shall immediately be removed from service and not returned to service until it has been checked by a qualified technician and determined to be functioning properly. Documentation of the calibration results, including the equipment tested, test date, technician performing the test, and test results, shall be maintained and available for use in the determination of an automated speed enforcement system violation and issuance of a citation. The technician performing the calibration and testing of the automated speed enforcement equipment shall be trained and certified in the use of equipment for speed enforcement purposes. Training on the speed enforcement equipment may be conducted by law enforcement, civilian, or manufacturer's personnel and shall be equivalent to the equipment use and operations training included in the Speed Measuring Device Operator Program developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The technician who performs the work shall keep accurate records on each piece of equipment the technician calibrates and tests. As used in this paragraph, "fully-trained reviewing technician" means a person who has received at least 40 hours of supervised training in subjects which shall include image inspection and interpretation, the elements necessary to prove a violation, license plate identification, and traffic safety and management. In all municipalities and counties, the automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law ordinance shall require that no additional fee shall be charged to the alleged violator for exercising his or her right to an administrative hearing, and persons shall be given at least 25 days following an administrative hearing to pay any civil penalty imposed by a finding that Section 11-208.6, 11-208.8, 11-208.9, or 11-1201.1 or a similar local ordinance has been violated. The original or a facsimile of the violation notice or, in the case of a notice produced by a computerized device, a printed record generated by the device showing the facts entered on the notice, shall be retained by the traffic compliance administrator, and shall be a record kept in the ordinary course of business. A parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation notice issued, signed and served in accordance with this Section, a copy of the notice, or the computer generated record shall be prima facie correct and shall be prima facie evidence of the correctness of the facts shown on the notice. The notice, copy, or computer generated record shall be admissible in any subsequent administrative or legal proceedings.
        (4) An opportunity for a hearing for the registered
    
owner of the vehicle cited in the parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation notice in which the owner may contest the merits of the alleged violation, and during which formal or technical rules of evidence shall not apply; provided, however, that under Section 11-1306 of this Code the lessee of a vehicle cited in the violation notice likewise shall be provided an opportunity for a hearing of the same kind afforded the registered owner. The hearings shall be recorded, and the person conducting the hearing on behalf of the traffic compliance administrator shall be empowered to administer oaths and to secure by subpoena both the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of relevant books and papers. Persons appearing at a hearing under this Section may be represented by counsel at their expense. The ordinance may also provide for internal administrative review following the decision of the hearing officer.
        (5) Service of additional notices, sent by first
    
class United States mail, postage prepaid, to the address of the registered owner of the cited vehicle as recorded with the Secretary of State or, if any notice to that address is returned as undeliverable, to the last known address recorded in a United States Post Office approved database, or, under Section 11-1306 or subsection (p) of Section 11-208.6 or 11-208.9, or subsection (p) of Section 11-208.8 of this Code, to the lessee of the cited vehicle at the last address known to the lessor of the cited vehicle at the time of lease or, if any notice to that address is returned as undeliverable, to the last known address recorded in a United States Post Office approved database. The service shall be deemed complete as of the date of deposit in the United States mail. The notices shall be in the following sequence and shall include but not be limited to the information specified herein:
            (i) A second notice of parking, standing, or
        
compliance violation. This notice shall specify the date and location of the violation cited in the parking, standing, or compliance violation notice, the particular regulation violated, the vehicle make and state registration number, any requirement to complete a traffic education program, the fine and any penalty that may be assessed for late payment or failure to complete a traffic education program, or both, when so provided by ordinance, the availability of a hearing in which the violation may be contested on its merits, and the time and manner in which the hearing may be had. The notice of violation shall also state that failure to complete a required traffic education program, to pay the indicated fine and any applicable penalty, or to appear at a hearing on the merits in the time and manner specified, will result in a final determination of violation liability for the cited violation in the amount of the fine or penalty indicated, and that, upon the occurrence of a final determination of violation liability for the failure, and the exhaustion of, or failure to exhaust, available administrative or judicial procedures for review, any incomplete traffic education program or any unpaid fine or penalty, or both, will constitute a debt due and owing the municipality or county.
            (ii) A notice of final determination of parking,
        
standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability. This notice shall be sent following a final determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability and the conclusion of judicial review procedures taken under this Section. The notice shall state that the incomplete traffic education program or the unpaid fine or penalty, or both, is a debt due and owing the municipality or county. The notice shall contain warnings that failure to complete any required traffic education program or to pay any fine or penalty due and owing the municipality or county, or both, within the time specified may result in the municipality's or county's filing of a petition in the Circuit Court to have the incomplete traffic education program or unpaid fine or penalty, or both, rendered a judgment as provided by this Section, or may result in suspension of the person's drivers license for failure to complete a traffic education program or to pay fines or penalties, or both, for 10 or more parking violations under Section 6-306.5, or a combination of 5 or more automated traffic law violations under Section 11-208.6 or 11-208.9 or automated speed enforcement system violations under Section 11-208.8.
        (6) A notice of impending drivers license suspension.
    
This notice shall be sent to the person liable for failure to complete a required traffic education program or to pay any fine or penalty that remains due and owing, or both, on 10 or more parking violations or combination of 5 or more unpaid automated speed enforcement system or automated traffic law violations. The notice shall state that failure to complete a required traffic education program or to pay the fine or penalty owing, or both, within 45 days of the notice's date will result in the municipality or county notifying the Secretary of State that the person is eligible for initiation of suspension proceedings under Section 6-306.5 of this Code. The notice shall also state that the person may obtain a photostatic copy of an original ticket imposing a fine or penalty by sending a self addressed, stamped envelope to the municipality or county along with a request for the photostatic copy. The notice of impending drivers license suspension shall be sent by first class United States mail, postage prepaid, to the address recorded with the Secretary of State or, if any notice to that address is returned as undeliverable, to the last known address recorded in a United States Post Office approved database.
        (7) Final determinations of violation liability. A
    
final determination of violation liability shall occur following failure to complete the required traffic education program or to pay the fine or penalty, or both, after a hearing officer's determination of violation liability and the exhaustion of or failure to exhaust any administrative review procedures provided by ordinance. Where a person fails to appear at a hearing to contest the alleged violation in the time and manner specified in a prior mailed notice, the hearing officer's determination of violation liability shall become final: (A) upon denial of a timely petition to set aside that determination, or (B) upon expiration of the period for filing the petition without a filing having been made.
        (8) A petition to set aside a determination of
    
parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability that may be filed by a person owing an unpaid fine or penalty. A petition to set aside a determination of liability may also be filed by a person required to complete a traffic education program. The petition shall be filed with and ruled upon by the traffic compliance administrator in the manner and within the time specified by ordinance. The grounds for the petition may be limited to: (A) the person not having been the owner or lessee of the cited vehicle on the date the violation notice was issued, (B) the person having already completed the required traffic education program or paid the fine or penalty, or both, for the violation in question, and (C) excusable failure to appear at or request a new date for a hearing. With regard to municipalities or counties with a population of 1 million or more, it shall be grounds for dismissal of a parking violation if the state registration number, or vehicle make if specified, is incorrect. After the determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability has been set aside upon a showing of just cause, the registered owner shall be provided with a hearing on the merits for that violation.
        (9) Procedures for non-residents. Procedures by which
    
persons who are not residents of the municipality or county may contest the merits of the alleged violation without attending a hearing.
        (10) A schedule of civil fines for violations of
    
vehicular standing, parking, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law regulations enacted by ordinance pursuant to this Section, and a schedule of penalties for late payment of the fines or failure to complete required traffic education programs, provided, however, that the total amount of the fine and penalty for any one violation shall not exceed $250, except as provided in subsection (c) of Section 11-1301.3 of this Code.
        (11) Other provisions as are necessary and proper to
    
carry into effect the powers granted and purposes stated in this Section.
    (c) Any municipality or county establishing vehicular standing, parking, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law regulations under this Section may also provide by ordinance for a program of vehicle immobilization for the purpose of facilitating enforcement of those regulations. The program of vehicle immobilization shall provide for immobilizing any eligible vehicle upon the public way by presence of a restraint in a manner to prevent operation of the vehicle. Any ordinance establishing a program of vehicle immobilization under this Section shall provide:
        (1) Criteria for the designation of vehicles eligible
    
for immobilization. A vehicle shall be eligible for immobilization when the registered owner of the vehicle has accumulated the number of incomplete traffic education programs or unpaid final determinations of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability, or both, as determined by ordinance.
        (2) A notice of impending vehicle immobilization and
    
a right to a hearing to challenge the validity of the notice by disproving liability for the incomplete traffic education programs or unpaid final determinations of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation liability, or both, listed on the notice.
        (3) The right to a prompt hearing after a vehicle has
    
been immobilized or subsequently towed without the completion of the required traffic education program or payment of the outstanding fines and penalties on parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violations, or both, for which final determinations have been issued. An order issued after the hearing is a final administrative decision within the meaning of Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
        (4) A post immobilization and post-towing notice
    
advising the registered owner of the vehicle of the right to a hearing to challenge the validity of the impoundment.
    (d) Judicial review of final determinations of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violations and final administrative decisions issued after hearings regarding vehicle immobilization and impoundment made under this Section shall be subject to the provisions of the Administrative Review Law.
    (e) Any fine, penalty, incomplete traffic education program, or part of any fine or any penalty remaining unpaid after the exhaustion of, or the failure to exhaust, administrative remedies created under this Section and the conclusion of any judicial review procedures shall be a debt due and owing the municipality or county and, as such, may be collected in accordance with applicable law. Completion of any required traffic education program and payment in full of any fine or penalty resulting from a standing, parking, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation shall constitute a final disposition of that violation.
    (f) After the expiration of the period within which judicial review may be sought for a final determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation, the municipality or county may commence a proceeding in the Circuit Court for purposes of obtaining a judgment on the final determination of violation. Nothing in this Section shall prevent a municipality or county from consolidating multiple final determinations of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violations against a person in a proceeding. Upon commencement of the action, the municipality or county shall file a certified copy or record of the final determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation, which shall be accompanied by a certification that recites facts sufficient to show that the final determination of violation was issued in accordance with this Section and the applicable municipal or county ordinance. Service of the summons and a copy of the petition may be by any method provided by Section 2-203 of the Code of Civil Procedure or by certified mail, return receipt requested, provided that the total amount of fines and penalties for final determinations of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violations does not exceed $2500. If the court is satisfied that the final determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation was entered in accordance with the requirements of this Section and the applicable municipal or county ordinance, and that the registered owner or the lessee, as the case may be, had an opportunity for an administrative hearing and for judicial review as provided in this Section, the court shall render judgment in favor of the municipality or county and against the registered owner or the lessee for the amount indicated in the final determination of parking, standing, compliance, automated speed enforcement system, or automated traffic law violation, plus costs. The judgment shall have the same effect and may be enforced in the same manner as other judgments for the recovery of money.
    (g) The fee for participating in a traffic education program under this Section shall not exceed $25.
    A low-income individual required to complete a traffic education program under this Section who provides proof of eligibility for the federal earned income tax credit under Section 32 of the Internal Revenue Code or the Illinois earned income tax credit under Section 212 of the Illinois Income Tax Act shall not be required to pay any fee for participating in a required traffic education program.
(Source: P.A. 97-29, eff. 1-1-12; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-672, eff. 7-1-12; 98-556, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.4

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.4)
    Sec. 11-208.4. (Repealed).
(Source: Repealed by internal repealer, eff. 12-31-94.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.5)
    Sec. 11-208.5. Prosecution of felony DUI by local authorities prohibited.
    (a) The powers of a local authority to enact or enforce any ordinance or rule with respect to the streets or highways under its jurisdiction relating to driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof is limited to the enactment and enforcement of ordinances or rules the violation of which would constitute a misdemeanor under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
    (b) A local authority may not enact or enforce any ordinance or rule with respect to streets and highways under its jurisdiction if a violation of that ordinance or rule would constitute a felony under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code. The municipality may, however, charge an offender with a municipal misdemeanor offense if the State's Attorney rejects or denies felony charges for the conduct that comprises the charge.
    (c) A municipal attorney who is aware that, based on a driver's history, the driver is subject to prosecution for a felony under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, must notify the State's Attorney of that county of the driver's conduct and may not prosecute the driver on behalf of the municipality.
(Source: P.A. 94-111, eff. 1-1-06; 94-740, eff. 5-8-06.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.6

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.6)
    Sec. 11-208.6. Automated traffic law enforcement system.
    (a) As used in this Section, "automated traffic law enforcement system" means a device with one or more motor vehicle sensors working in conjunction with a red light signal to produce recorded images of motor vehicles entering an intersection against a red signal indication in violation of Section 11-306 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    An automated traffic law enforcement system is a system, in a municipality or county operated by a governmental agency, that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance and is designed to obtain a clear recorded image of the vehicle and the vehicle's license plate. The recorded image must also display the time, date, and location of the violation.
    (b) As used in this Section, "recorded images" means images recorded by an automated traffic law enforcement system on:
        (1) 2 or more photographs;
        (2) 2 or more microphotographs;
        (3) 2 or more electronic images; or
        (4) a video recording showing the motor vehicle and,
    
on at least one image or portion of the recording, clearly identifying the registration plate number of the motor vehicle.
    (b-5) A municipality or county that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance must make the recorded images of a violation accessible to the alleged violator by providing the alleged violator with a website address, accessible through the Internet.
    (c) Except as provided under Section 11-208.8 of this Code, a county or municipality, including a home rule county or municipality, may not use an automated traffic law enforcement system to provide recorded images of a motor vehicle for the purpose of recording its speed. Except as provided under Section 11-208.8 of this Code, the regulation of the use of automated traffic law enforcement systems to record vehicle speeds is an exclusive power and function of the State. This subsection (c) is a denial and limitation of home rule powers and functions under subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution.
    (c-5) A county or municipality, including a home rule county or municipality, may not use an automated traffic law enforcement system to issue violations in instances where the motor vehicle comes to a complete stop and does not enter the intersection, as defined by Section 1-132 of this Code, during the cycle of the red signal indication unless one or more pedestrians or bicyclists are present, even if the motor vehicle stops at a point past a stop line or crosswalk where a driver is required to stop, as specified in subsection (c) of Section 11-306 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    (c-6) A county, or a municipality with less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, including a home rule county or municipality, may not use an automated traffic law enforcement system to issue violations in instances where a motorcyclist enters an intersection against a red signal indication when the red signal fails to change to a green signal within a reasonable period of time not less than 120 seconds because of a signal malfunction or because the signal has failed to detect the arrival of the motorcycle due to the motorcycle's size or weight.
    (d) For each violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance recorded by an automatic traffic law enforcement system, the county or municipality having jurisdiction shall issue a written notice of the violation to the registered owner of the vehicle as the alleged violator. The notice shall be delivered to the registered owner of the vehicle, by mail, within 30 days after the Secretary of State notifies the municipality or county of the identity of the owner of the vehicle, but in no event later than 90 days after the violation.
    The notice shall include:
        (1) the name and address of the registered owner of
    
the vehicle;
        (2) the registration number of the motor vehicle
    
involved in the violation;
        (3) the violation charged;
        (4) the location where the violation occurred;
        (5) the date and time of the violation;
        (6) a copy of the recorded images;
        (7) the amount of the civil penalty imposed and the
    
requirements of any traffic education program imposed and the date by which the civil penalty should be paid and the traffic education program should be completed;
        (8) a statement that recorded images are evidence of
    
a violation of a red light signal;
        (9) a warning that failure to pay the civil penalty,
    
to complete a required traffic education program, or to contest liability in a timely manner is an admission of liability and may result in a suspension of the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle;
        (10) a statement that the person may elect to proceed
    
by:
            (A) paying the fine, completing a required
        
traffic education program, or both; or
            (B) challenging the charge in court, by mail, or
        
by administrative hearing; and
        (11) a website address, accessible through the
    
Internet, where the person may view the recorded images of the violation.
    (e) If a person charged with a traffic violation, as a result of an automated traffic law enforcement system, does not pay the fine or complete a required traffic education program, or both, or successfully contest the civil penalty resulting from that violation, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle under Section 6-306.5 of this Code for failing to complete a required traffic education program or to pay any fine or penalty due and owing, or both, as a result of a combination of 5 violations of the automated traffic law enforcement system or the automated speed enforcement system under Section 11-208.8 of this Code.
    (f) Based on inspection of recorded images produced by an automated traffic law enforcement system, a notice alleging that the violation occurred shall be evidence of the facts contained in the notice and admissible in any proceeding alleging a violation under this Section.
    (g) Recorded images made by an automatic traffic law enforcement system are confidential and shall be made available only to the alleged violator and governmental and law enforcement agencies for purposes of adjudicating a violation of this Section, for statistical purposes, or for other governmental purposes. Any recorded image evidencing a violation of this Section, however, may be admissible in any proceeding resulting from the issuance of the citation.
    (h) The court or hearing officer may consider in defense of a violation:
        (1) that the motor vehicle or registration plates of
    
the motor vehicle were stolen before the violation occurred and not under the control of or in the possession of the owner at the time of the violation;
        (2) that the driver of the vehicle passed through the
    
intersection when the light was red either (i) in order to yield the right-of-way to an emergency vehicle or (ii) as part of a funeral procession; and
        (3) any other evidence or issues provided by
    
municipal or county ordinance.
    (i) To demonstrate that the motor vehicle or the registration plates were stolen before the violation occurred and were not under the control or possession of the owner at the time of the violation, the owner must submit proof that a report concerning the stolen motor vehicle or registration plates was filed with a law enforcement agency in a timely manner.
    (j) Unless the driver of the motor vehicle received a Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer at the time of the violation, the motor vehicle owner is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding $100 or the completion of a traffic education program, or both, plus an additional penalty of not more than $100 for failure to pay the original penalty or to complete a required traffic education program, or both, in a timely manner, if the motor vehicle is recorded by an automated traffic law enforcement system. A violation for which a civil penalty is imposed under this Section is not a violation of a traffic regulation governing the movement of vehicles and may not be recorded on the driving record of the owner of the vehicle.
    (j-3) A registered owner who is a holder of a valid commercial driver's license is not required to complete a traffic education program.
    (j-5) For purposes of the required traffic education program only, a registered owner may submit an affidavit to the court or hearing officer swearing that at the time of the alleged violation, the vehicle was in the custody and control of another person. The affidavit must identify the person in custody and control of the vehicle, including the person's name and current address. The person in custody and control of the vehicle at the time of the violation is required to complete the required traffic education program. If the person in custody and control of the vehicle at the time of the violation completes the required traffic education program, the registered owner of the vehicle is not required to complete a traffic education program.
    (k) An intersection equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must be posted with a sign visible to approaching traffic indicating that the intersection is being monitored by an automated traffic law enforcement system.
    (k-3) A municipality or county that has one or more intersections equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must provide notice to drivers by posting the locations of automated traffic law systems on the municipality or county website.
    (k-5) An intersection equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must have a yellow change interval that conforms with the Illinois Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (IMUTCD) published by the Illinois Department of Transportation.
    (k-7) A municipality or county operating an automated traffic law enforcement system shall conduct a statistical analysis to assess the safety impact of each automated traffic law enforcement system at an intersection following installation of the system. The statistical analysis shall be based upon the best available crash, traffic, and other data, and shall cover a period of time before and after installation of the system sufficient to provide a statistically valid comparison of safety impact. The statistical analysis shall be consistent with professional judgment and acceptable industry practice. The statistical analysis also shall be consistent with the data required for valid comparisons of before and after conditions and shall be conducted within a reasonable period following the installation of the automated traffic law enforcement system. The statistical analysis required by this subsection (k-7) shall be made available to the public and shall be published on the website of the municipality or county. If the statistical analysis for the 36 month period following installation of the system indicates that there has been an increase in the rate of accidents at the approach to the intersection monitored by the system, the municipality or county shall undertake additional studies to determine the cause and severity of the accidents, and may take any action that it determines is necessary or appropriate to reduce the number or severity of the accidents at that intersection.
    (l) The compensation paid for an automated traffic law enforcement system must be based on the value of the equipment or the services provided and may not be based on the number of traffic citations issued or the revenue generated by the system.
    (m) This Section applies only to the counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, Madison, McHenry, St. Clair, and Will and to municipalities located within those counties.
    (n) The fee for participating in a traffic education program under this Section shall not exceed $25.
    A low-income individual required to complete a traffic education program under this Section who provides proof of eligibility for the federal earned income tax credit under Section 32 of the Internal Revenue Code or the Illinois earned income tax credit under Section 212 of the Illinois Income Tax Act shall not be required to pay any fee for participating in a required traffic education program.
    (o) A municipality or county shall make a certified report to the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 6-306.5 of this Code whenever a registered owner of a vehicle has failed to pay any fine or penalty due and owing as a result of a combination of 5 offenses for automated traffic law or speed enforcement system violations.
    (p) No person who is the lessor of a motor vehicle pursuant to a written lease agreement shall be liable for an automated speed or traffic law enforcement system violation involving such motor vehicle during the period of the lease; provided that upon the request of the appropriate authority received within 120 days after the violation occurred, the lessor provides within 60 days after such receipt the name and address of the lessee. The drivers license number of a lessee may be subsequently individually requested by the appropriate authority if needed for enforcement of this Section.
    Upon the provision of information by the lessor pursuant to this subsection, the county or municipality may issue the violation to the lessee of the vehicle in the same manner as it would issue a violation to a registered owner of a vehicle pursuant to this Section, and the lessee may be held liable for the violation.
(Source: P.A. 97-29, eff. 1-1-12; 97-627, eff. 1-1-12; 97-672, eff. 7-1-12; 97-762, eff. 7-6-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.7

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.7)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 97-1150)
    Sec. 11-208.7. Administrative fees and procedures for impounding vehicles for specified violations.
    (a) Any municipality may, consistent with this Section, provide by ordinance procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles and for the imposition of a reasonable administrative fee related to its administrative and processing costs associated with the investigation, arrest, and detention of an offender, or the removal, impoundment, storage, and release of the vehicle. The administrative fee imposed by the municipality may be in addition to any fees charged for the towing and storage of an impounded vehicle. The administrative fee shall be waived by the municipality upon verifiable proof that the vehicle was stolen at the time the vehicle was impounded.
    (b) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles under this Section may impose fees for the following violations:
        (1) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense for which a motor vehicle may be seized and forfeited pursuant to Section 36-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; or
        (2) driving under the influence of alcohol, another
    
drug or drugs, an intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, in violation of Section 11-501 of this Code; or
        (3) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, a felony or in violation of the Cannabis Control Act; or
        (4) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; or
        (5) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of Section 24-1, 24-1.5, or 24-3.1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; or
        (6) driving while a driver's license, permit, or
    
privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked pursuant to Section 6-303 of this Code; except that vehicles shall not be subjected to seizure or impoundment if the suspension is for an unpaid citation (parking or moving) or due to failure to comply with emission testing; or
        (7) operation or use of a motor vehicle while
    
soliciting, possessing, or attempting to solicit or possess cannabis or a controlled substance, as defined by the Cannabis Control Act or the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; or
        (8) operation or use of a motor vehicle with an
    
expired driver's license, in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code, if the period of expiration is greater than one year; or
        (9) operation or use of a motor vehicle without ever
    
having been issued a driver's license or permit, in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code, or operating a motor vehicle without ever having been issued a driver's license or permit due to a person's age; or
        (10) operation or use of a motor vehicle by a person
    
against whom a warrant has been issued by a circuit clerk in Illinois for failing to answer charges that the driver violated Section 6-101, 6-303, or 11-501 of this Code; or
        (11) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of Article 16 or 16A of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012; or
        (12) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, any other misdemeanor or felony offense in violation of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, when so provided by local ordinance.
    (c) The following shall apply to any fees imposed for administrative and processing costs pursuant to subsection (b):
        (1) All administrative fees and towing and storage
    
charges shall be imposed on the registered owner of the motor vehicle or the agents of that owner.
        (2) The fees shall be in addition to (i) any other
    
penalties that may be assessed by a court of law for the underlying violations; and (ii) any towing or storage fees, or both, charged by the towing company.
        (3) The fees shall be uniform for all similarly
    
situated vehicles.
        (4) The fees shall be collected by and paid to the
    
municipality imposing the fees.
        (5) The towing or storage fees, or both, shall be
    
collected by and paid to the person, firm, or entity that tows and stores the impounded vehicle.
    (d) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles under this Section shall provide for an opportunity for a hearing, as provided in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 11-208.3 of this Code, and for the release of the vehicle to the owner of record, lessee, or a lienholder of record upon payment of all administrative fees and towing and storage fees.
    (e) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include the following provisions concerning notice of impoundment:
        (1) Whenever a police officer has cause to believe
    
that a motor vehicle is subject to impoundment, the officer shall provide for the towing of the vehicle to a facility authorized by the municipality.
        (2) At the time the vehicle is towed, the
    
municipality shall notify or make a reasonable attempt to notify the owner, lessee, or person identifying himself or herself as the owner or lessee of the vehicle, or any person who is found to be in control of the vehicle at the time of the alleged offense, of the fact of the seizure, and of the vehicle owner's or lessee's right to an administrative hearing.
        (3) The municipality shall also provide notice that
    
the motor vehicle will remain impounded pending the completion of an administrative hearing, unless the owner or lessee of the vehicle or a lienholder posts with the municipality a bond equal to the administrative fee as provided by ordinance and pays for all towing and storage charges.
    (f) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include a provision providing that the registered owner or lessee of the vehicle and any lienholder of record shall be provided with a notice of hearing. The notice shall:
        (1) be served upon the owner, lessee, and any
    
lienholder of record either by personal service or by first class mail to the interested party's address as registered with the Secretary of State;
        (2) be served upon interested parties within 10 days
    
after a vehicle is impounded by the municipality; and
        (3) contain the date, time, and location of the
    
administrative hearing. An initial hearing shall be scheduled and convened no later than 45 days after the date of the mailing of the notice of hearing.
    (g) In addition to the requirements contained in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 11-208.3 of this Code relating to administrative hearings, any ordinance providing for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include the following requirements concerning administrative hearings:
        (1) administrative hearings shall be conducted by a
    
hearing officer who is an attorney licensed to practice law in this State for a minimum of 3 years;
        (2) at the conclusion of the administrative hearing,
    
the hearing officer shall issue a written decision either sustaining or overruling the vehicle impoundment;
        (3) if the basis for the vehicle impoundment is
    
sustained by the administrative hearing officer, any administrative fee posted to secure the release of the vehicle shall be forfeited to the municipality;
        (4) all final decisions of the administrative hearing
    
officer shall be subject to review under the provisions of the Administrative Review Law; and
        (5) unless the administrative hearing officer
    
overturns the basis for the vehicle impoundment, no vehicle shall be released to the owner, lessee, or lienholder of record until all administrative fees and towing and storage charges are paid.
    (h) Vehicles not retrieved from the towing facility or storage facility within 35 days after the administrative hearing officer issues a written decision shall be deemed abandoned and disposed of in accordance with the provisions of Article II of Chapter 4 of this Code.
    (i) Unless stayed by a court of competent jurisdiction, any fine, penalty, or administrative fee imposed under this Section which remains unpaid in whole or in part after the expiration of the deadline for seeking judicial review under the Administrative Review Law may be enforced in the same manner as a judgment entered by a court of competent jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 97-109, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-518)
    Sec. 11-208.7. Administrative fees and procedures for impounding vehicles for specified violations.
    (a) Any municipality may, consistent with this Section, provide by ordinance procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles and for the imposition of a reasonable administrative fee related to its administrative and processing costs associated with the investigation, arrest, and detention of an offender, or the removal, impoundment, storage, and release of the vehicle. The administrative fee imposed by the municipality may be in addition to any fees charged for the towing and storage of an impounded vehicle. The administrative fee shall be waived by the municipality upon verifiable proof that the vehicle was stolen at the time the vehicle was impounded.
    (b) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles under this Section may impose fees for the following violations:
        (1) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense for which a motor vehicle may be seized and forfeited pursuant to Section 36-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961; or
        (2) driving under the influence of alcohol, another
    
drug or drugs, an intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, in violation of Section 11-501 of this Code; or
        (3) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, a felony or in violation of the Cannabis Control Act; or
        (4) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; or
        (5) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of Section 24-1, 24-1.5, or 24-3.1 of the Criminal Code of 1961; or
        (6) driving while a driver's license, permit, or
    
privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked pursuant to Section 6-303 of this Code; except that vehicles shall not be subjected to seizure or impoundment if the suspension is for an unpaid citation (parking or moving) or due to failure to comply with emission testing; or
        (7) operation or use of a motor vehicle while
    
soliciting, possessing, or attempting to solicit or possess cannabis or a controlled substance, as defined by the Cannabis Control Act or the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; or
        (8) operation or use of a motor vehicle with an
    
expired driver's license, in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code, if the period of expiration is greater than one year; or
        (9) operation or use of a motor vehicle without ever
    
having been issued a driver's license or permit, in violation of Section 6-101 of this Code, or operating a motor vehicle without ever having been issued a driver's license or permit due to a person's age; or
        (10) operation or use of a motor vehicle by a person
    
against whom a warrant has been issued by a circuit clerk in Illinois for failing to answer charges that the driver violated Section 6-101, 6-303, or 11-501 of this Code; or
        (11) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, an offense in violation of Article 16 or 16A of the Criminal Code of 1961; or
        (12) operation or use of a motor vehicle in the
    
commission of, or in the attempt to commit, any other misdemeanor or felony offense in violation of the Criminal Code of 1961, when so provided by local ordinance; or
        (13) operation or use of a motor vehicle in violation
    
of Section 11-503 of this Code:
            (A) while the vehicle is part of a funeral
        
procession; or
            (B) in a manner that interferes with a funeral
        
procession.
    (c) The following shall apply to any fees imposed for administrative and processing costs pursuant to subsection (b):
        (1) All administrative fees and towing and storage
    
charges shall be imposed on the registered owner of the motor vehicle or the agents of that owner.
        (2) The fees shall be in addition to (i) any other
    
penalties that may be assessed by a court of law for the underlying violations; and (ii) any towing or storage fees, or both, charged by the towing company.
        (3) The fees shall be uniform for all similarly
    
situated vehicles.
        (4) The fees shall be collected by and paid to the
    
municipality imposing the fees.
        (5) The towing or storage fees, or both, shall be
    
collected by and paid to the person, firm, or entity that tows and stores the impounded vehicle.
    (d) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the release of properly impounded vehicles under this Section shall provide for an opportunity for a hearing, as provided in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 11-208.3 of this Code, and for the release of the vehicle to the owner of record, lessee, or a lienholder of record upon payment of all administrative fees and towing and storage fees.
    (e) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include the following provisions concerning notice of impoundment:
        (1) Whenever a police officer has cause to believe
    
that a motor vehicle is subject to impoundment, the officer shall provide for the towing of the vehicle to a facility authorized by the municipality.
        (2) At the time the vehicle is towed, the
    
municipality shall notify or make a reasonable attempt to notify the owner, lessee, or person identifying himself or herself as the owner or lessee of the vehicle, or any person who is found to be in control of the vehicle at the time of the alleged offense, of the fact of the seizure, and of the vehicle owner's or lessee's right to an administrative hearing.
        (3) The municipality shall also provide notice that
    
the motor vehicle will remain impounded pending the completion of an administrative hearing, unless the owner or lessee of the vehicle or a lienholder posts with the municipality a bond equal to the administrative fee as provided by ordinance and pays for all towing and storage charges.
    (f) Any ordinance establishing procedures for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include a provision providing that the registered owner or lessee of the vehicle and any lienholder of record shall be provided with a notice of hearing. The notice shall:
        (1) be served upon the owner, lessee, and any
    
lienholder of record either by personal service or by first class mail to the interested party's address as registered with the Secretary of State;
        (2) be served upon interested parties within 10 days
    
after a vehicle is impounded by the municipality; and
        (3) contain the date, time, and location of the
    
administrative hearing. An initial hearing shall be scheduled and convened no later than 45 days after the date of the mailing of the notice of hearing.
    (g) In addition to the requirements contained in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 11-208.3 of this Code relating to administrative hearings, any ordinance providing for the impoundment and release of vehicles under this Section shall include the following requirements concerning administrative hearings:
        (1) administrative hearings shall be conducted by a
    
hearing officer who is an attorney licensed to practice law in this State for a minimum of 3 years;
        (2) at the conclusion of the administrative hearing,
    
the hearing officer shall issue a written decision either sustaining or overruling the vehicle impoundment;
        (3) if the basis for the vehicle impoundment is
    
sustained by the administrative hearing officer, any administrative fee posted to secure the release of the vehicle shall be forfeited to the municipality;
        (4) all final decisions of the administrative hearing
    
officer shall be subject to review under the provisions of the Administrative Review Law; and
        (5) unless the administrative hearing officer
    
overturns the basis for the vehicle impoundment, no vehicle shall be released to the owner, lessee, or lienholder of record until all administrative fees and towing and storage charges are paid.
    (h) Vehicles not retrieved from the towing facility or storage facility within 35 days after the administrative hearing officer issues a written decision shall be deemed abandoned and disposed of in accordance with the provisions of Article II of Chapter 4 of this Code.
    (i) Unless stayed by a court of competent jurisdiction, any fine, penalty, or administrative fee imposed under this Section which remains unpaid in whole or in part after the expiration of the deadline for seeking judicial review under the Administrative Review Law may be enforced in the same manner as a judgment entered by a court of competent jurisdiction.
(Source: P.A. 97-109, eff. 1-1-12; 98-518, eff. 8-22-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.8

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.8)
    Sec. 11-208.8. Automated speed enforcement systems in safety zones.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Automated speed enforcement system" means a photographic device, radar device, laser device, or other electrical or mechanical device or devices installed or utilized in a safety zone and designed to record the speed of a vehicle and obtain a clear photograph or other recorded image of the vehicle and the vehicle's registration plate while the driver is violating Article VI of Chapter 11 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    An automated speed enforcement system is a system, located in a safety zone which is under the jurisdiction of a municipality, that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance and is designed to obtain a clear recorded image of the vehicle and the vehicle's license plate. The recorded image must also display the time, date, and location of the violation.
    "Owner" means the person or entity to whom the vehicle is registered.
    "Recorded image" means images recorded by an automated speed enforcement system on:
        (1) 2 or more photographs;
        (2) 2 or more microphotographs;
        (3) 2 or more electronic images; or
        (4) a video recording showing the motor vehicle and,
    
on at least one image or portion of the recording, clearly identifying the registration plate number of the motor vehicle.
    "Safety zone" means an area that is within one-eighth of a mile from the nearest property line of any public or private elementary or secondary school, or from the nearest property line of any facility, area, or land owned by a school district that is used for educational purposes approved by the Illinois State Board of Education, not including school district headquarters or administrative buildings. A safety zone also includes an area that is within one-eighth of a mile from the nearest property line of any facility, area, or land owned by a park district used for recreational purposes. However, if any portion of a roadway is within either one-eighth mile radius, the safety zone also shall include the roadway extended to the furthest portion of the next furthest intersection. The term "safety zone" does not include any portion of the roadway known as Lake Shore Drive or any controlled access highway with 8 or more lanes of traffic.
    (a-5) The automated speed enforcement system shall be operational and violations shall be recorded only at the following times:
        (i) if the safety zone is based upon the property
    
line of any facility, area, or land owned by a school district, only on school days and no earlier than 6 a.m. and no later than 8:30 p.m. if the school day is during the period of Monday through Thursday, or 9 p.m. if the school day is a Friday; and
        (ii) if the safety zone is based upon the property
    
line of any facility, area, or land owned by a park district, no earlier than one hour prior to the time that the facility, area, or land is open to the public or other patrons, and no later than one hour after the facility, area, or land is closed to the public or other patrons.
    (b) A municipality that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance must make the recorded images of a violation accessible to the alleged violator by providing the alleged violator with a website address, accessible through the Internet.
    (c) Notwithstanding any penalties for any other violations of this Code, the owner of a motor vehicle used in a traffic violation recorded by an automated speed enforcement system shall be subject to the following penalties:
        (1) if the recorded speed is no less than 6 miles per
    
hour and no more than 10 miles per hour over the legal speed limit, a civil penalty not exceeding $50, plus an additional penalty of not more than $50 for failure to pay the original penalty in a timely manner; or
        (2) if the recorded speed is more than 10 miles per
    
hour over the legal speed limit, a civil penalty not exceeding $100, plus an additional penalty of not more than $100 for failure to pay the original penalty in a timely manner.
    A penalty may not be imposed under this Section if the driver of the motor vehicle received a Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer for a speeding violation occurring within one-eighth of a mile and 15 minutes of the violation that was recorded by the system. A violation for which a civil penalty is imposed under this Section is not a violation of a traffic regulation governing the movement of vehicles and may not be recorded on the driving record of the owner of the vehicle. A law enforcement officer is not required to be present or to witness the violation. No penalty may be imposed under this Section if the recorded speed of a vehicle is 5 miles per hour or less over the legal speed limit. The municipality may send, in the same manner that notices are sent under this Section, a speed violation warning notice where the violation involves a speed of 5 miles per hour or less above the legal speed limit.
    (d) The net proceeds that a municipality receives from civil penalties imposed under an automated speed enforcement system, after deducting all non-personnel and personnel costs associated with the operation and maintenance of such system, shall be expended or obligated by the municipality for the following purposes:
        (i) public safety initiatives to ensure safe
    
passage around schools, and to provide police protection and surveillance around schools and parks, including but not limited to: (1) personnel costs; and (2) non-personnel costs such as construction and maintenance of public safety infrastructure and equipment;
        (ii) initiatives to improve pedestrian and traffic
    
safety;
        (iii) construction and maintenance of
    
infrastructure within the municipality, including but not limited to roads and bridges; and
        (iv) after school programs.
    (e) For each violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance recorded by an automated speed enforcement system, the municipality having jurisdiction shall issue a written notice of the violation to the registered owner of the vehicle as the alleged violator. The notice shall be delivered to the registered owner of the vehicle, by mail, within 30 days after the Secretary of State notifies the municipality of the identity of the owner of the vehicle, but in no event later than 90 days after the violation.
    (f) The notice required under subsection (e) of this Section shall include:
        (1) the name and address of the registered owner of
    
the vehicle;
        (2) the registration number of the motor vehicle
    
involved in the violation;
        (3) the violation charged;
        (4) the date, time, and location where the violation
    
occurred;
        (5) a copy of the recorded image or images;
        (6) the amount of the civil penalty imposed and the
    
date by which the civil penalty should be paid;
        (7) a statement that recorded images are evidence of
    
a violation of a speed restriction;
        (8) a warning that failure to pay the civil penalty
    
or to contest liability in a timely manner is an admission of liability and may result in a suspension of the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle;
        (9) a statement that the person may elect to proceed
    
by:
            (A) paying the fine; or
            (B) challenging the charge in court, by mail, or
        
by administrative hearing; and
        (10) a website address, accessible through the
    
Internet, where the person may view the recorded images of the violation.
    (g) If a person charged with a traffic violation, as a result of an automated speed enforcement system, does not pay the fine or successfully contest the civil penalty resulting from that violation, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle under Section 6-306.5 of this Code for failing to pay any fine or penalty due and owing, or both, as a result of a combination of 5 violations of the automated speed enforcement system or the automated traffic law under Section 11-208.6 of this Code.
    (h) Based on inspection of recorded images produced by an automated speed enforcement system, a notice alleging that the violation occurred shall be evidence of the facts contained in the notice and admissible in any proceeding alleging a violation under this Section.
    (i) Recorded images made by an automated speed enforcement system are confidential and shall be made available only to the alleged violator and governmental and law enforcement agencies for purposes of adjudicating a violation of this Section, for statistical purposes, or for other governmental purposes. Any recorded image evidencing a violation of this Section, however, may be admissible in any proceeding resulting from the issuance of the citation.
    (j) The court or hearing officer may consider in defense of a violation:
        (1) that the motor vehicle or registration plates of
    
the motor vehicle were stolen before the violation occurred and not under the control or in the possession of the owner at the time of the violation;
        (2) that the driver of the motor vehicle received a
    
Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer for a speeding violation occurring within one-eighth of a mile and 15 minutes of the violation that was recorded by the system; and
        (3) any other evidence or issues provided by
    
municipal ordinance.
    (k) To demonstrate that the motor vehicle or the registration plates were stolen before the violation occurred and were not under the control or possession of the owner at the time of the violation, the owner must submit proof that a report concerning the stolen motor vehicle or registration plates was filed with a law enforcement agency in a timely manner.
    (l) A roadway equipped with an automated speed enforcement system shall be posted with a sign conforming to the national Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices that is visible to approaching traffic stating that vehicle speeds are being photo-enforced and indicating the speed limit. The municipality shall install such additional signage as it determines is necessary to give reasonable notice to drivers as to where automated speed enforcement systems are installed.
    (m) A roadway where a new automated speed enforcement system is installed shall be posted with signs providing 30 days notice of the use of a new automated speed enforcement system prior to the issuance of any citations through the automated speed enforcement system.
    (n) The compensation paid for an automated speed enforcement system must be based on the value of the equipment or the services provided and may not be based on the number of traffic citations issued or the revenue generated by the system.
    (o) A municipality shall make a certified report to the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 6-306.5 of this Code whenever a registered owner of a vehicle has failed to pay any fine or penalty due and owing as a result of a combination of 5 offenses for automated speed or traffic law enforcement system violations.
    (p) No person who is the lessor of a motor vehicle pursuant to a written lease agreement shall be liable for an automated speed or traffic law enforcement system violation involving such motor vehicle during the period of the lease; provided that upon the request of the appropriate authority received within 120 days after the violation occurred, the lessor provides within 60 days after such receipt the name and address of the lessee. The drivers license number of a lessee may be subsequently individually requested by the appropriate authority if needed for enforcement of this Section.
    Upon the provision of information by the lessor pursuant to this subsection, the municipality may issue the violation to the lessee of the vehicle in the same manner as it would issue a violation to a registered owner of a vehicle pursuant to this Section, and the lessee may be held liable for the violation.
    (q) A municipality using an automated speed enforcement system must provide notice to drivers by publishing the locations of all safety zones where system equipment is installed on the website of the municipality.
    (r) A municipality operating an automated speed enforcement system shall conduct a statistical analysis to assess the safety impact of the system. The statistical analysis shall be based upon the best available crash, traffic, and other data, and shall cover a period of time before and after installation of the system sufficient to provide a statistically valid comparison of safety impact. The statistical analysis shall be consistent with professional judgment and acceptable industry practice. The statistical analysis also shall be consistent with the data required for valid comparisons of before and after conditions and shall be conducted within a reasonable period following the installation of the automated traffic law enforcement system. The statistical analysis required by this subsection shall be made available to the public and shall be published on the website of the municipality.
    (s) This Section applies only to municipalities with a population of 1,000,000 or more inhabitants.
(Source: P.A. 97-672, eff. 7-1-12; 97-674, eff. 7-1-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-208.9

    (625 ILCS 5/11-208.9)
    Sec. 11-208.9. Automated traffic law enforcement system; approaching, overtaking, and passing a school bus.
    (a) As used in this Section, "automated traffic law enforcement system" means a device with one or more motor vehicle sensors working in conjunction with the visual signals on a school bus, as specified in Sections 12-803 and 12-805 of this Code, to produce recorded images of motor vehicles that fail to stop before meeting or overtaking, from either direction, any school bus stopped at any location for the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils in violation of Section 11-1414 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    An automated traffic law enforcement system is a system, in a municipality or county operated by a governmental agency, that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance and is designed to obtain a clear recorded image of the vehicle and the vehicle's license plate. The recorded image must also display the time, date, and location of the violation.
    (b) As used in this Section, "recorded images" means images recorded by an automated traffic law enforcement system on:
        (1) 2 or more photographs;
        (2) 2 or more microphotographs;
        (3) 2 or more electronic images; or
        (4) a video recording showing the motor vehicle and,
    
on at least one image or portion of the recording, clearly identifying the registration plate number of the motor vehicle.
    (c) A municipality or county that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance must make the recorded images of a violation accessible to the alleged violator by providing the alleged violator with a website address, accessible through the Internet.
    (d) For each violation of a provision of this Code or a local ordinance recorded by an automated traffic law enforcement system, the county or municipality having jurisdiction shall issue a written notice of the violation to the registered owner of the vehicle as the alleged violator. The notice shall be delivered to the registered owner of the vehicle, by mail, within 30 days after the Secretary of State notifies the municipality or county of the identity of the owner of the vehicle, but in no event later than 90 days after the violation.
    (e) The notice required under subsection (d) shall include:
        (1) the name and address of the registered owner of
    
the vehicle;
        (2) the registration number of the motor vehicle
    
involved in the violation;
        (3) the violation charged;
        (4) the location where the violation occurred;
        (5) the date and time of the violation;
        (6) a copy of the recorded images;
        (7) the amount of the civil penalty imposed and the
    
date by which the civil penalty should be paid;
        (8) a statement that recorded images are evidence of
    
a violation of overtaking or passing a school bus stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils;
        (9) a warning that failure to pay the civil penalty
    
or to contest liability in a timely manner is an admission of liability and may result in a suspension of the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle;
        (10) a statement that the person may elect to proceed
    
by:
            (A) paying the fine; or
            (B) challenging the charge in court, by mail, or
        
by administrative hearing; and
        (11) a website address, accessible through the
    
Internet, where the person may view the recorded images of the violation.
    (f) If a person charged with a traffic violation, as a result of an automated traffic law enforcement system under this Section, does not pay the fine or successfully contest the civil penalty resulting from that violation, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle under Section 6-306.5 of this Code for failing to pay any fine or penalty due and owing as a result of a combination of 5 violations of the automated traffic law enforcement system or the automated speed enforcement system under Section 11-208.8 of this Code.
    (g) Based on inspection of recorded images produced by an automated traffic law enforcement system, a notice alleging that the violation occurred shall be evidence of the facts contained in the notice and admissible in any proceeding alleging a violation under this Section.
    (h) Recorded images made by an automated traffic law enforcement system are confidential and shall be made available only to the alleged violator and governmental and law enforcement agencies for purposes of adjudicating a violation of this Section, for statistical purposes, or for other governmental purposes. Any recorded image evidencing a violation of this Section, however, may be admissible in any proceeding resulting from the issuance of the citation.
    (i) The court or hearing officer may consider in defense of a violation:
        (1) that the motor vehicle or registration plates of
    
the motor vehicle were stolen before the violation occurred and not under the control of or in the possession of the owner at the time of the violation;
        (2) that the driver of the motor vehicle received a
    
Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer for a violation of Section 11-1414 of this Code within one-eighth of a mile and 15 minutes of the violation that was recorded by the system;
        (3) that the visual signals required by Sections
    
12-803 and 12-805 of this Code were damaged, not activated, not present in violation of Sections 12-803 and 12-805, or inoperable; and
        (4) any other evidence or issues provided by
    
municipal or county ordinance.
    (j) To demonstrate that the motor vehicle or the registration plates were stolen before the violation occurred and were not under the control or possession of the owner at the time of the violation, the owner must submit proof that a report concerning the stolen motor vehicle or registration plates was filed with a law enforcement agency in a timely manner.
    (k) Unless the driver of the motor vehicle received a Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer at the time of the violation, the motor vehicle owner is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding $150 for a first time violation or $500 for a second or subsequent violation, plus an additional penalty of not more than $100 for failure to pay the original penalty in a timely manner, if the motor vehicle is recorded by an automated traffic law enforcement system. A violation for which a civil penalty is imposed under this Section is not a violation of a traffic regulation governing the movement of vehicles and may not be recorded on the driving record of the owner of the vehicle, but may be recorded by the municipality or county for the purpose of determining if a person is subject to the higher fine for a second or subsequent offense.
    (l) A school bus equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must be posted with a sign indicating that the school bus is being monitored by an automated traffic law enforcement system.
    (m) A municipality or county that has one or more school buses equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must provide notice to drivers by posting a list of school districts using school buses equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system on the municipality or county website. School districts that have one or more school buses equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system must provide notice to drivers by posting that information on their websites.
    (n) A municipality or county operating an automated traffic law enforcement system shall conduct a statistical analysis to assess the safety impact in each school district using school buses equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system following installation of the system. The statistical analysis shall be based upon the best available crash, traffic, and other data, and shall cover a period of time before and after installation of the system sufficient to provide a statistically valid comparison of safety impact. The statistical analysis shall be consistent with professional judgment and acceptable industry practice. The statistical analysis also shall be consistent with the data required for valid comparisons of before and after conditions and shall be conducted within a reasonable period following the installation of the automated traffic law enforcement system. The statistical analysis required by this subsection shall be made available to the public and shall be published on the website of the municipality or county. If the statistical analysis for the 36-month period following installation of the system indicates that there has been an increase in the rate of accidents at the approach to school buses monitored by the system, the municipality or county shall undertake additional studies to determine the cause and severity of the accidents, and may take any action that it determines is necessary or appropriate to reduce the number or severity of the accidents involving school buses equipped with an automated traffic law enforcement system.
    (o) The compensation paid for an automated traffic law enforcement system must be based on the value of the equipment or the services provided and may not be based on the number of traffic citations issued or the revenue generated by the system.
    (p) No person who is the lessor of a motor vehicle pursuant to a written lease agreement shall be liable for an automated speed or traffic law enforcement system violation involving such motor vehicle during the period of the lease; provided that upon the request of the appropriate authority received within 120 days after the violation occurred, the lessor provides within 60 days after such receipt the name and address of the lessee. The drivers license number of a lessee may be subsequently individually requested by the appropriate authority if needed for enforcement of this Section.
    Upon the provision of information by the lessor pursuant to this subsection, the county or municipality may issue the violation to the lessee of the vehicle in the same manner as it would issue a violation to a registered owner of a vehicle pursuant to this Section, and the lessee may be held liable for the violation.
    (q) A municipality or county shall make a certified report to the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 6-306.5 of this Code whenever a registered owner of a vehicle has failed to pay any fine or penalty due and owing as a result of a combination of 5 offenses for automated traffic law or speed enforcement system violations.
    (r) After a municipality or county enacts an ordinance providing for automated traffic law enforcement systems under this Section, each school district within that municipality or county's jurisdiction may implement an automated traffic law enforcement system under this Section. The elected school board for that district must approve the implementation of an automated traffic law enforcement system. The school district shall be responsible for entering into a contract, approved by the elected school board of that district, with vendors for the installation, maintenance, and operation of the automated traffic law enforcement system. The school district must enter into an intergovernmental agreement, approved by the elected school board of that district, with the municipality or county with jurisdiction over that school district for the administration of the automated traffic law enforcement system. The proceeds from a school district's automated traffic law enforcement system's fines shall be divided equally between the school district and the municipality or county administering the automated traffic law enforcement system.
(Source: P.A. 98-556, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-209

    (625 ILCS 5/11-209) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-209)
    Sec. 11-209. Powers of municipalities and counties - Contract with school boards, hospitals, churches, condominium complex unit owners' associations, and commercial and industrial facility, shopping center, and apartment complex owners for regulation of traffic.
    (a) The corporate authorities of any municipality or the county board of any county, and a school board, hospital, church, condominium complex unit owners' association, or owner of any commercial and industrial facility, shopping center, or apartment complex which controls a parking area located within the limits of the municipality, or outside the limits of the municipality and within the boundaries of the county, may, by contract, empower the municipality or county to regulate the parking of automobiles and the traffic at such parking area. Such contract shall empower the municipality or county to accomplish all or any part of the following:
        1. The erection of stop signs, flashing signals,
    
person with disabilities parking area signs or yield signs at specified locations in a parking area and the adoption of appropriate regulations thereto pertaining, or the designation of any intersection in the parking area as a stop intersection or as a yield intersection and the ordering of like signs or signals at one or more entrances to such intersection, subject to the provisions of this Chapter.
        2. The prohibition or regulation of the turning of
    
vehicles or specified types of vehicles at intersections or other designated locations in the parking area.
        3. The regulation of a crossing of any roadway in the
    
parking area by pedestrians.
        4. The designation of any separate roadway in the
    
parking area for one-way traffic.
        5. The establishment and regulation of loading zones.
        6. The prohibition, regulation, restriction or
    
limitation of the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles in specified areas of the parking area.
        7. The designation of safety zones in the parking
    
area and fire lanes.
        8. Providing for the removal and storage of vehicles
    
parked or abandoned in the parking area during snowstorms, floods, fires, or other public emergencies, or found unattended in the parking area, (a) where they constitute an obstruction to traffic, or (b) where stopping, standing or parking is prohibited, and for the payment of reasonable charges for such removal and storage by the owner or operator of any such vehicle.
        9. Providing that the cost of planning, installation,
    
maintenance and enforcement of parking and traffic regulations pursuant to any contract entered into under the authority of this paragraph (a) of this Section be borne by the municipality or county, or by the school board, hospital, church, property owner, apartment complex owner, or condominium complex unit owners' association, or that a percentage of the cost be shared by the parties to the contract.
        10. Causing the installation of parking meters on the
    
parking area and establishing whether the expense of installing said parking meters and maintenance thereof shall be that of the municipality or county, or that of the school board, hospital, church, condominium complex unit owners' association, shopping center or apartment complex owner. All moneys obtained from such parking meters as may be installed on any parking area shall belong to the municipality or county.
        11. Causing the installation of parking signs in
    
accordance with Section 11-301 in areas of the parking lots covered by this Section and where desired by the person contracting with the appropriate authority listed in paragraph (a) of this Section, indicating that such parking spaces are reserved for persons with disabilities.
        12. Contracting for such additional reasonable rules
    
and regulations with respect to traffic and parking in a parking area as local conditions may require for the safety and convenience of the public or of the users of the parking area.
    (b) No contract entered into pursuant to this Section shall exceed a period of 20 years. No lessee of a shopping center or apartment complex shall enter into such a contract for a longer period of time than the length of his lease.
    (c) Any contract entered into pursuant to this Section shall be recorded in the office of the recorder in the county in which the parking area is located, and no regulation made pursuant to the contract shall be effective or enforceable until 3 days after the contract is so recorded.
    (d) At such time as parking and traffic regulations have been established at any parking area pursuant to the contract as provided for in this Section, then it shall be a petty offense for any person to do any act forbidden or to fail to perform any act required by such parking or traffic regulation. If the violation is the parking in a parking space reserved for persons with disabilities under paragraph (11) of this Section, by a person without special registration plates issued to a person with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, pursuant to Section 3-616 of this Code, or to a disabled veteran pursuant to Section 3-609 of this Code, the local police of the contracting corporate municipal authorities shall issue a parking ticket to such parking violator and issue a fine in accordance with Section 11-1301.3.
    (e) The term "shopping center", as used in this Section, means premises having one or more stores or business establishments in connection with which there is provided on privately-owned property near or contiguous thereto an area, or areas, of land used by the public as the means of access to and egress from the stores and business establishments on such premises and for the parking of motor vehicles of customers and patrons of such stores and business establishments on such premises.
    (f) The term "parking area", as used in this Section, means an area, or areas, of land near or contiguous to a school, church, or hospital building, shopping center, apartment complex, or condominium complex, but not the public highways or alleys, and used by the public as the means of access to and egress from such buildings and the stores and business establishments at a shopping center and for the parking of motor vehicles.
    (g) The terms "owner", "property owner", "shopping center owner", and "apartment complex owner", as used in this Section, mean the actual legal owner of the shopping center parking area or apartment complex, the trust officer of a banking institution having the right to manage and control such property, or a person having the legal right, through lease or otherwise, to manage or control the property.
    (g-5) The term "condominium complex unit owners' association", as used in this Section, means a "unit owners' association" as defined in Section 2 of the Condominium Property Act.
    (h) The term "fire lane", as used in this Section, means travel lanes for the fire fighting equipment upon which there shall be no standing or parking of any motor vehicle at any time so that fire fighting equipment can move freely thereon.
    (i) The term "apartment complex", as used in this Section, means premises having one or more apartments in connection with which there is provided on privately-owned property near or contiguous thereto an area, or areas, of land used by occupants of such apartments or their guests as a means of access to and egress from such apartments or for the parking of motor vehicles of such occupants or their guests.
    (j) The term "condominium complex", as used in this Section, means the units, common elements, and limited common elements that are located on the parcels, as those terms are defined in Section 2 of the Condominium Property Act.
    (k) The term "commercial and industrial facility", as used in this Section, means a premises containing one or more commercial and industrial facility establishments in connection with which there is provided on privately-owned property near or contiguous to the premises an area or areas of land used by the public as the means of access to and egress from the commercial and industrial facility establishment on the premises and for the parking of motor vehicles of customers, patrons, and employees of the commercial and industrial facility establishment on the premises.
    (l) The provisions of this Section shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities from enforcing, on private property, local ordinances imposing fines, in accordance with Section 11-1301.3, as penalties for use of any parking place reserved for persons with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, or disabled veterans by any person using a motor vehicle not bearing registration plates specified in Section 11-1301.1 or a special decal or device as defined in Section 11-1301.2 as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or disabled veteran.
    This amendatory Act of 1972 is not a prohibition upon the contractual and associational powers granted by Article VII, Section 10 of the Illinois Constitution.
(Source: P.A. 95-167, eff. 1-1-08; 96-79, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-209.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-209.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-209.1)
    Sec. 11-209.1. Powers of local authorities - enforcing the provisions of this Code on private streets and roads. (a) Any person or board of directors owning, operating or representing a residential subdivision, development, apartment house or apartment project; containing a minimum of 10 apartments or single family residences may file a written request, with the appropriate local authority wherein such property is situated, requesting their law enforcement agency enforce the provisions of this Code on all private streets or roads open to or used by the tenants, owners, employees or the public for the purposes of vehicular traffic by permission of such person or board of directors and not as a matter of public right. Notwithstanding Section 1-126 and Section 1-201 of this Code, if the local authority grants such request by the adoption of an enabling ordinance then all such private streets or roads shall be considered "highways" only for the enforcement purposes of this Code.
    (b) All regulations adopted and traffic control devices employed by a local authority in the enforcement of this Code on such streets or roads within any private area, pursuant to this Section, shall be consistent with the provisions of this Code and shall conform to the Illinois Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices.
    A local authority may require that any person who files a request for the installation of traffic signs pay for the cost of such traffic signs. Such traffic signs shall be in conformity with Section 11-604 of this Code.
    (c) Any person or board of directors which has filed such a request under this Section, may rescind that request by filing with the appropriate local authority a written request for such rescission. Upon receipt of the written request, the local authority shall subsequently repeal the original enabling ordinance. Such repeal shall not take effect until the first day of January following any such action by the local authorities. However, no such rescission request may be filed within 12 months of the date of the original written request.
    (d) The filing of a written request or the adoption of the enabling ordinance under this Section in no way constitutes a dedication to public use of any street, road, driveway, trail, terrace, bridle path, parkway, parking area, or other roadway open to or used by vehicular traffic, nor does it prevent such person or board of directors, as owners of such property, from requiring additional regulations than those specified by the local authorities or otherwise regulating such use as may seem best to such person or board of directors as long as they do not conflict with the powers granted to local authorities under Section 11-208 of this Code.
    (e) This amendatory act of 1972 is not a prohibition upon the contractual and associational powers granted by Article VII, Section 10 of the Illinois Constitution.
(Source: P.A. 86-521.)

625 ILCS 5/11-210

    (625 ILCS 5/11-210) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-210)
    Sec. 11-210. This Chapter not to interfere with rights of owners of real property with reference thereto.
    Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to prevent the owner of real property used by the public for purposes of vehicular travel by permission of the owner and not as matter of right from prohibiting such use, or from requiring other or different or additional conditions than those specified in this Chapter, or otherwise regulating such use as may seem best to such owner.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-211

    (625 ILCS 5/11-211) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-211)
    Sec. 11-211. Local Laws.
    No owner of a motor vehicle shall be limited as to speed upon any public place, at any time when the same is or may hereafter be opened to the use of persons having or using other vehicles, nor be required to comply with other provisions or conditions as to the use of such motor vehicles except as in this Chapter provided, and except as is provided in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 77-1344.)

625 ILCS 5/11-212

    (625 ILCS 5/11-212)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on July 1, 2019)
    Sec. 11-212. Traffic stop statistical study.
    (a) Whenever a State or local law enforcement officer issues a uniform traffic citation or warning citation for an alleged violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code, he or she shall record at least the following:
        (1) the name, address, gender, and the officer's
    
subjective determination of the race of the person stopped; the person's race shall be selected from the following list: American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, Black or African American, Hispanic or Latino, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, or White;
        (2) the alleged traffic violation that led to the
    
stop of the motorist;
        (3) the make and year of the vehicle stopped;
        (4) the date and time of the stop, beginning when the
    
vehicle was stopped and ending when the driver is free to leave or taken into physical custody;
        (5) the location of the traffic stop;
        (5.5) whether or not a consent search contemporaneous
    
to the stop was requested of the vehicle, driver, passenger, or passengers; and, if so, whether consent was given or denied;
        (6) whether or not a search contemporaneous to the
    
stop was conducted of the vehicle, driver, passenger, or passengers; and, if so, whether it was with consent or by other means;
        (6.2) whether or not a police dog performed a sniff
    
of the vehicle; and, if so, whether or not the dog alerted to the presence of contraband; and, if so, whether or not an officer searched the vehicle; and, if so, whether or not contraband was discovered; and, if so, the type and amount of contraband;
        (6.5) whether or not contraband was found during a
    
search; and, if so, the type and amount of contraband seized; and
        (7) the name and badge number of the issuing officer.
    (b) Whenever a State or local law enforcement officer stops a motorist for an alleged violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code and does not issue a uniform traffic citation or warning citation for an alleged violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code, he or she shall complete a uniform stop card, which includes field contact cards, or any other existing form currently used by law enforcement containing information required pursuant to this Act, that records at least the following:
        (1) the name, address, gender, and the officer's
    
subjective determination of the race of the person stopped; the person's race shall be selected from the following list: American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, Black or African American, Hispanic or Latino, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, or White;
        (2) the reason that led to the stop of the motorist;
        (3) the make and year of the vehicle stopped;
        (4) the date and time of the stop, beginning when the
    
vehicle was stopped and ending when the driver is free to leave or taken into physical custody;
        (5) the location of the traffic stop;
        (5.5) whether or not a consent search contemporaneous
    
to the stop was requested of the vehicle, driver, passenger, or passengers; and, if so, whether consent was given or denied;
        (6) whether or not a search contemporaneous to the
    
stop was conducted of the vehicle, driver, passenger, or passengers; and, if so, whether it was with consent or by other means;
        (6.2) whether or not a police dog performed a sniff
    
of the vehicle; and, if so, whether or not the dog alerted to the presence of contraband; and, if so, whether or not an officer searched the vehicle; and, if so, whether or not contraband was discovered; and, if so, the type and amount of contraband;
        (6.5) whether or not contraband was found during a
    
search; and, if so, the type and amount of contraband seized; and
        (7) the name and badge number of the issuing officer.
    (c) The Illinois Department of Transportation shall provide a standardized law enforcement data compilation form on its website.
    (d) Every law enforcement agency shall, by March 1 with regard to data collected during July through December of the previous calendar year and by August 1 with regard to data collected during January through June of the current calendar year, compile the data described in subsections (a) and (b) on the standardized law enforcement data compilation form provided by the Illinois Department of Transportation and transmit the data to the Department.
    (e) The Illinois Department of Transportation shall analyze the data provided by law enforcement agencies required by this Section and submit a report of the previous year's findings to the Governor, the General Assembly, the Racial Profiling Prevention and Data Oversight Board, and each law enforcement agency no later than July 1 of each year. The Illinois Department of Transportation may contract with an outside entity for the analysis of the data provided. In analyzing the data collected under this Section, the analyzing entity shall scrutinize the data for evidence of statistically significant aberrations. The following list, which is illustrative, and not exclusive, contains examples of areas in which statistically significant aberrations may be found:
        (1) The percentage of minority drivers or passengers
    
being stopped in a given area is substantially higher than the proportion of the overall population in or traveling through the area that the minority constitutes.
        (2) A substantial number of false stops including
    
stops not resulting in the issuance of a traffic ticket or the making of an arrest.
        (3) A disparity between the proportion of citations
    
issued to minorities and proportion of minorities in the population.
        (4) A disparity among the officers of the same law
    
enforcement agency with regard to the number of minority drivers or passengers being stopped in a given area.
        (5) A disparity between the frequency of searches
    
performed on minority drivers and the frequency of searches performed on non-minority drivers.
    (f) Any law enforcement officer identification information or driver identification information that is compiled by any law enforcement agency or the Illinois Department of Transportation pursuant to this Act for the purposes of fulfilling the requirements of this Section shall be confidential and exempt from public inspection and copying, as provided under Section 7 of the Freedom of Information Act, and the information shall not be transmitted to anyone except as needed to comply with this Section. This Section shall not exempt those materials that, prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 93rd General Assembly, were available under the Freedom of Information Act. This subsection (f) shall not preclude law enforcement agencies from reviewing data to perform internal reviews.
    (g) Funding to implement this Section shall come from federal highway safety funds available to Illinois, as directed by the Governor.
    (h) The Illinois Department of Transportation, in consultation with law enforcement agencies, officials, and organizations, including Illinois chiefs of police, the Department of State Police, the Illinois Sheriffs Association, and the Chicago Police Department, and community groups and other experts, shall undertake a study to determine the best use of technology to collect, compile, and analyze the traffic stop statistical study data required by this Section. The Department shall report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly by March 1, 2004.
    (h-5) For purposes of this Section:
        (1) "American Indian or Alaska Native" means a person
    
having origins in any of the original peoples of North and South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliation or community attachment.
        (2) "Asian" means a person having origins in any of
    
the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent, including, but not limited to, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.
        (3) "Black or African American" means a person having
    
origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa. Terms such as "Haitian" or "Negro" can be used in addition to "Black or African American".
        (4) "Hispanic or Latino" means a person of Cuban,
    
Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.
        (5) "Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander" means
    
a person having origins in any of the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.
        (6) "White" means a person having origins in any of
    
the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.
    (i) This Section is repealed on July 1, 2019.
(Source: P.A. 97-396, eff. 1-1-12; 97-469, eff. 7-1-12; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-686, eff. 6-30-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-213

    (625 ILCS 5/11-213)
    Sec. 11-213. Power of a fire department officer; highway or lane closure. In the absence of a law enforcement officer or a representative of the highway agency having jurisdiction over the highway, an officer of a fire department, in the performance of his or her official duties, has the authority to close to traffic a highway, or a lane or lanes of a highway, as necessary to protect the safety of persons or property. In order to promote the safe implementation of this Section, the fire department officer shall utilize an official fire department vehicle with lighted red or white oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights in accordance with Section 12-215 of this Code and proper temporary traffic control in accordance with the sections of the Illinois Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices concerning temporary traffic control and incident management. The officer should also receive training in safe practices for accomplishing these tasks near traffic. This Section does not apply to highways under the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority. As used in this Section, "highway" has the meaning set forth in Section 1-126 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 95-803, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/11-214

    (625 ILCS 5/11-214)
    Sec. 11-214. Local government reporting.
    (a) Local units of government shall report to the Illinois Department of Transportation and the Department shall post on its official website (i) all preferred truck routes under the local unit of government's jurisdiction which are not classified as Class II or Class III truck routes; and (ii) the unit of local government's designated truck route network.
    (b) If a local unit of government has no designated truck routes or preferred truck routes described by subsection (a) above, the local unit of government shall affirm to the Department that it has no such truck routes.
(Source: P.A. 97-291, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/11-215

    (625 ILCS 5/11-215)
    Sec. 11-215. Secretary of State to provide information on use of truck global positioning systems.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall include in its commercial drivers license curriculum and study guide the distinctions between utilizing a truck-attributed global positioning system device and other non-truck-attributed global positioning system devices.
    (b) The Secretary of State shall develop a brochure regarding the distinctions between utilizing a truck-attributed global positioning system device and other non-truck-attributed global positioning system devices and shall make this brochure available at all Secretary of State facilities where an applicant may obtain or renew a commercial drivers license.
(Source: P.A. 97-291, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. III

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. III heading)
ARTICLE III. TRAFFIC SIGNS,
SIGNALS, AND MARKINGS

625 ILCS 5/11-301

    (625 ILCS 5/11-301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-301)
    Sec. 11-301. Department to adopt sign manual.
    (a) The Department shall adopt a State manual and specifications for a uniform system of traffic-control devices consistent with this Chapter for use upon highways within this State. Such manual shall include the adoption of the R 7-8 sign adopted by the United States Department of Transportation to designate the reservation of parking facilities for a person with disabilities. Non-conforming signs in use prior to January 1, 1985 shall not constitute a violation during their useful lives, which shall not be extended by other means than normal maintenance. The manual shall also specify insofar as practicable the minimum warrants justifying the use of the various traffic control devices. Such uniform system shall correlate with and, where not inconsistent with Illinois highway conditions, conform to the system set forth in the most recent edition of the national manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways.
    (b) Signs adopted by the Department to designate the reservation of parking facilities for a person with disabilities shall also exhibit, in a manner determined by the Department, the words "$100 Fine".
    (c) If the amount of a fine is changed, the Department shall change the design of the signs to indicate the current amount of the fine.
(Source: P.A. 88-685, eff. 1-24-95; 89-533, eff. 1-1-97.)

625 ILCS 5/11-301.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-301.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-301.1)
    Sec. 11-301.1. Beginning July 1, 1988, all signs erected and used to designate the reservation of parking facilities for a person with disabilities shall be in a form and manner prescribed under Section 11-301 of this Code, and all parking spaces reserved for a person with disabilities, except those reserving on-street parking areas, shall be at least 16 feet wide. Non-conforming signs in use prior to July 1, 1988 shall not constitute a violation during their useful lives, which shall not be extended by means other than normal maintenance. Beginning October 1, 1992, all parking spaces reserved for a person with disabilities, except those reserving on-street parking areas, shall be at least 16 feet wide.
(Source: P.A. 87-562; 88-685, eff. 1-24-95.)

625 ILCS 5/11-302

    (625 ILCS 5/11-302) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-302)
    Sec. 11-302. Authority to designate through highway and stop and yield intersections.
    (a) The Department with reference to State highways under its jurisdiction, and local authorities with reference to other highways under their jurisdiction, may designate through highways and erect stop signs or yield signs at specified entrances thereto, or may designate any intersection as a stop intersection or as a yield intersection and erect stop signs or yield signs at one or more entrances to such intersection. Designation of through highways and stop or yield intersections and the erection of stop signs or yield signs on township or road district roads are subject to the written approval of the county engineer or superintendent of highways.
    (b) Every stop sign and yield sign shall conform to the State Manual and Specifications and shall be located as near as practicable to the nearest line of the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, if there is no crosswalk, then as close as practicable to the nearest line of the intersecting roadway.
    (c) The Department may in its discretion and when traffic conditions warrant such action give preference to traffic upon any of the State highways under its jurisdiction over traffic crossing or entering such highway by erecting appropriate traffic control devices.
(Source: P.A. 93-177, eff. 7-11-03.)

625 ILCS 5/11-303

    (625 ILCS 5/11-303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-303)
    Sec. 11-303. The Department to place signs on all State highways.
    (a) The Department shall place and maintain such traffic-control devices, conforming to its manual and specifications on all highways under its jurisdiction as it shall deem necessary to indicate and to carry out the provisions of this Chapter or to regulate, warn or guide traffic.
    (b) No local authority shall place or maintain any traffic-control device upon any highway under the jurisdiction of the Department except by the latter's permission.
    (c) The Department shall erect and maintain guide, warning and direction signs upon highways in cities, towns and villages of which portions or lanes of such highways are under the control and jurisdiction of the Department or for which the Department has maintenance responsibility.
    (d) Nothing in this Chapter shall divest the corporate authorities of park districts of power to prohibit or restrict the use of highways under their jurisdiction by certain types or weights of motor vehicles or the power of cities, villages, incorporated towns and park districts to designate highways for one-way traffic or the power of such municipal corporations to erect and maintain appropriate signs respecting such uses.
    (e) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a municipality, township, or county from erecting signs as required under the Illinois Adopt-A-Highway Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-1118.)

625 ILCS 5/11-304

    (625 ILCS 5/11-304) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-304)
    Sec. 11-304. Local traffic-control devices; tourist oriented businesses signs.
    Local authorities in their respective maintenance jurisdiction shall place and maintain such traffic-control devices upon highways under their maintenance jurisdiction as are required to indicate and carry out the provisions of this Chapter, and local traffic ordinances or to regulate, warn, or guide traffic. All such traffic control devices shall conform to the State Manual and Specifications and shall be justified by traffic warrants stated in the Manual. Placement of traffic-control devices on township or road district roads also shall be subject to the written approval of the county engineer or superintendent of highways.
    Local authorities in their respective maintenance jurisdictions shall have the authority to install signs, in conformance with the State Manual and specifications, alerting motorists of the tourist oriented businesses available on roads under local jurisdiction in rural areas as may be required to guide motorists to the businesses. The local authorities and road district highway commissioners shall also have the authority to sell or lease space on these signs to the owners or operators of the businesses.
(Source: P.A. 93-177, eff. 7-11-03.)

625 ILCS 5/11-305

    (625 ILCS 5/11-305) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-305)
    Sec. 11-305. Obedience to and required traffic-control devices. (a) The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of any official traffic-control device applicable thereto placed or held in accordance with the provisions of this Act, unless otherwise directed by a police officer, subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this Act.
    (b) It is unlawful for any person to leave the roadway and travel across private property to avoid an official traffic control device.
    (c) No provision of this Act for which official traffic-control devices are required shall be enforced against an alleged violator if at the time and place of the alleged violation an official device is not in proper position and sufficiently legible to be seen by an ordinarily observant person. Whenever a particular section does not state that official traffic-control devices are required, such section shall be effective even though no devices are erected or in place.
    (d) Whenever any official traffic-control device is placed or held in position approximately conforming to the requirements of this Act and purports to conform to the lawful requirements pertaining to such device, such device shall be presumed to have been so placed or held by the official act or direction of lawful authority, and comply with the requirements of this Act, unless the contrary shall be established by competent evidence.
    (e) The driver of a vehicle approaching a traffic control signal on which no signal light facing such vehicle is illuminated shall stop before entering the intersection in accordance with rules applicable in making a stop at a stop sign.
(Source: P.A. 84-873.)

625 ILCS 5/11-306

    (625 ILCS 5/11-306) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-306)
    Sec. 11-306. Traffic-control signal legend. Whenever traffic is controlled by traffic-control signals exhibiting different colored lights or color lighted arrows, successively one at a time or in combination, only the colors green, red and yellow shall be used, except for special pedestrian signals carrying a word legend, and the lights shall indicate and apply to drivers of vehicles and pedestrians as follows:
    (a) Green indication.
        1. Vehicular traffic facing a circular green signal
    
may proceed straight through or turn right or left unless a sign at such place prohibits either such turn. Vehicular traffic, including vehicles turning right or left, shall yield the right of way to other vehicles and to pedestrians lawfully within the intersection or an adjacent crosswalk at the time such signal is exhibited.
        2. Vehicular traffic facing a green arrow signal,
    
shown alone or in combination with another indication, may cautiously enter the intersection only to make the movement indicated by such arrow, or such other movement as is permitted by other indications shown at the same time. Such vehicular traffic shall yield the right of way to pedestrians lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk and to other traffic lawfully using the intersection.
        3. Unless otherwise directed by a pedestrian-control
    
signal, as provided in Section 11-307, pedestrians facing any green signal, except when the sole green signal is a turn arrow, may proceed across the roadway within any marked or unmarked crosswalk.
    (b) Steady yellow indication.
        1. Vehicular traffic facing a steady circular yellow
    
or yellow arrow signal is thereby warned that the related green movement is being terminated or that a red indication will be exhibited immediately thereafter.
        2. Pedestrians facing a steady circular yellow or
    
yellow arrow signal, unless otherwise directed by a pedestrian-control signal as provided in Section 11-307, are thereby advised that there is insufficient time to cross the roadway before a red indication is shown and no pedestrian shall then start to cross the roadway.
    (c) Steady red indication.
        1. Except as provided in paragraphs 3 and 3.5 of this
    
subsection (c), vehicular traffic facing a steady circular red signal alone shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if there is no such stop line, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if there is no such crosswalk, then before entering the intersection, and shall remain standing until an indication to proceed is shown.
        2. Except as provided in paragraphs 3 and 3.5 of this
    
subsection (c), vehicular traffic facing a steady red arrow signal shall not enter the intersection to make the movement indicated by the arrow and, unless entering the intersection to make a movement permitted by another signal, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if there is no such stop line, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if there is no such crosswalk, then before entering the intersection, and shall remain standing until an indication permitting the movement indicated by such red arrow is shown.
        3. Except when a sign is in place prohibiting a turn
    
and local authorities by ordinance or State authorities by rule or regulation prohibit any such turn, vehicular traffic facing any steady red signal may cautiously enter the intersection to turn right, or to turn left from a one-way street into a one-way street, after stopping as required by paragraph 1 or paragraph 2 of this subsection. After stopping, the driver shall yield the right of way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time such driver is moving across or within the intersection or junction or roadways. Such driver shall yield the right of way to pedestrians within the intersection or an adjacent crosswalk.
        3.5. In municipalities with less than 2,000,000
    
inhabitants, after stopping as required by paragraph 1 or 2 of this subsection, the driver of a motorcycle or bicycle, facing a steady red signal which fails to change to a green signal within a reasonable period of time not less than 120 seconds because of a signal malfunction or because the signal has failed to detect the arrival of the motorcycle or bicycle due to the vehicle's size or weight, shall have the right to proceed, after yielding the right of way to oncoming traffic facing a green signal, subject to the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop sign as required by Section 11-1204 of this Code.
        4. Unless otherwise directed by a pedestrian-control
    
signal as provided in Section 11-307, pedestrians facing a steady circular red or red arrow signal alone shall not enter the roadway.
    (d) In the event an official traffic control signal is erected and maintained at a place other than an intersection, the provisions of this Section shall be applicable except as to provisions which by their nature can have no application. Any stop required shall be at a traffic sign or a marking on the pavement indicating where the stop shall be made or, in the absence of such sign or marking, the stop shall be made at the signal.
    (e) The motorman of any streetcar shall obey the above signals as applicable to vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 97-627, eff. 1-1-12; 97-762, eff. 7-6-12.)

625 ILCS 5/11-307

    (625 ILCS 5/11-307) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-307)
    Sec. 11-307. Pedestrian-control signals. Whenever special pedestrian-control signals exhibiting the words "Walk" or "Don't Walk" or the illuminated symbols of a walking person or an upraised palm are in place such signals shall indicate as follows:
    (a) Walk or walking person symbol. Pedestrians facing such signal may proceed across the roadway in the direction of the signal, and shall be given the right of way by the drivers of all vehicles.
    (b) Don't Walk or upraised palm symbol. No pedestrian shall start to cross the roadway in the direction of such signal, but any pedestrian who has partly completed his crossing on the Walk signal or walking person symbol shall proceed to a sidewalk or safety island while the "Don't Walk" signal or upraised palm symbol is illuminated, steady, or flashing.
(Source: P.A. 81-553.)

625 ILCS 5/11-308

    (625 ILCS 5/11-308) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-308)
    Sec. 11-308. Lane-control signals. Whenever lane-control signals are used in conjunction with official signs, they shall have the following meanings:
    (a) Downward-pointing green arrow. A driver facing this indication is permitted to drive in the lane over which the arrow signal is located. Otherwise he shall obey all other traffic controls present and follow normal safe driving practices.
    (b) Red X symbol. A driver facing this indication shall not drive in the lane over which the signal is located, and this indication shall modify accordingly the meaning of all other traffic controls present. Otherwise he shall obey all other traffic controls and follow normal safe driving practices.
    (c) Yellow X (steady). A driver facing this indication should prepare to vacate the lane over which the signal is located, in a safe manner to avoid, if possible, occupying that lane when a steady red X is displayed.
    (d) Flashing yellow arrow. A driver facing this indication may use the lane only for the purpose of approaching and making a left turn.
(Source: P.A. 81-552.)

625 ILCS 5/11-309

    (625 ILCS 5/11-309) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-309)
    Sec. 11-309. Flashing Signals.
    Whenever an illuminated flashing red or yellow signal is used in conjunction with a traffic control device it shall require obedience by vehicular traffic as follows:
    1. Flashing red (stop signal). When a red lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes, drivers of vehicles shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, before entering the cross walk on the near side of the intersection, or if none, then at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection and the right to proceed shall be subject to the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop sign.
    2. Flashing yellow (caution signal). When a yellow lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes, drivers of vehicles may proceed through the intersection or past such signal only with caution.
    3. This section does not apply at railroad grade crossings. Conduct of drivers of vehicles approaching railroad grade crossings shall be governed by Section 11-1201 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-2162.)

625 ILCS 5/11-310

    (625 ILCS 5/11-310) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-310)
    Sec. 11-310. Display of Unauthorized Signs, Signals or Markings.
    (a) No person shall place, maintain or display upon or in view of any highway any unauthorized sign, signal, marking, or device which purports to be or is an imitation of or resembles an official traffic-control device or railroad sign or signal, or which attempts to direct the movement of traffic, or which hides from view or interferes with the movement of traffic or the effectiveness of an official traffic-control device or any railroad sign or signal.
    (b) No person shall place or maintain nor shall any public authority permit upon any highway any traffic sign or signal bearing thereon any commercial advertising.
    (c) Every such prohibited sign, signal or marking is hereby declared to be a public nuisance and the authority having jurisdiction over the highway is hereby empowered to remove the same or cause it to be removed without notice.
    (d) No person shall sell or offer for sale any traffic control device to be used on any street or highway in this State which does not conform to the requirements of this Chapter.
    (e) This Section shall not be deemed to prohibit the erection upon private property adjacent to highways of signs giving useful directional information and of a type that cannot be mistaken for official signs.
    (f) This Section shall not be deemed to prohibit the erection of Illinois Adopt-A-Highway signs by municipalities, townships, or counties as provided in the Illinois Adopt-A-Highway Act.
    (g) Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 87-1118.)

625 ILCS 5/11-311

    (625 ILCS 5/11-311) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-311)
    Sec. 11-311. Interference with official traffic-control devices or railroad signs or signals.
    No person shall without lawful authority attempt to or in fact alter, deface, injure, knock down, or remove any official traffic-control device, or any railroad sign or signal or any inscription, shield, or insignia thereon, or any other part thereof.
    Every person who is convicted of a violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of at least $250 in addition to any other penalties which may be imposed.
(Source: P.A. 83-672.)

625 ILCS 5/11-312

    (625 ILCS 5/11-312) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-312)
    Sec. 11-312. Unlawful Use or Damage to Highways, Appurtenances and Structures. It shall be unlawful for any person to wilfully injure or damage any public highway or street or any bridge or culvert, or to wilfully damage, injure or remove any sign, signpost, or structure upon or used or constructed in connection with any public highway or street for the protection thereof or for protection or regulation of traffic thereon by any wilfully unusual, improper or unreasonable use thereof, or by wilfully careless driving or use of any vehicle thereon, or by the wilful mutilation, defacing, destruction or removal thereof.
    Every person who is convicted of a violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of at least $250 in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed.
(Source: P.A. 83-672.)

625 ILCS 5/11-313

    (625 ILCS 5/11-313) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-313)
    Sec. 11-313. Unlawful possession of highway sign or marker. The Department and local authorities, with reference to traffic control signs, signals, or markers owned by the Department or local authority, are authorized to indicate the ownership of the signs, signals, or markers in letters not less than 3/8 inch or more than 3/4 inch in height, by use of a metal stamp, etching, or other permanent means and, except for employees of the Department or local authorities, police officers, contractors and their employees engaged in a highway construction contract or work on the highway approved by the Department or local authority, it is unlawful for any person to possess such sign, signal, or marker so identified.
(Source: P.A. 91-512, eff. 8-13-99.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. IV

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. IV heading)
ARTICLE IV. ACCIDENTS

625 ILCS 5/11-401

    (625 ILCS 5/11-401) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-401)
    Sec. 11-401. Motor vehicle accidents involving death or personal injuries.
    (a) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in personal injury to or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident, or as close thereto as possible and shall then forthwith return to, and in every event shall remain at the scene of the accident until the requirements of Section 11-403 have been fulfilled. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
    (b) Any person who has failed to stop or to comply with the requirements of paragraph (a) shall, as soon as possible but in no case later than one-half hour after such motor vehicle accident, or, if hospitalized and incapacitated from reporting at any time during such period, as soon as possible but in no case later than one-half hour after being discharged from the hospital, report the place of the accident, the date, the approximate time, the driver's name and address, the registration number of the vehicle driven, and the names of all other occupants of such vehicle, at a police station or sheriff's office near the place where such accident occurred. No report made as required under this paragraph shall be used, directly or indirectly, as a basis for the prosecution of any violation of paragraph (a).
    (b-1) Any person arrested for violating this Section is subject to chemical testing of his or her blood, breath, or urine for the presence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, as provided in Section 11-501.1, if the testing occurs within 12 hours of the time of the occurrence of the accident that led to his or her arrest. The person's driving privileges are subject to statutory summary suspension under Section 11-501.1 if he or she fails testing or statutory summary revocation under Section 11-501.1 if he or she refuses to undergo the testing.
    For purposes of this Section, personal injury shall mean any injury requiring immediate professional treatment in a medical facility or doctor's office.
    (c) Any person failing to comply with paragraph (a) shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.
    (d) Any person failing to comply with paragraph (b) is guilty of a Class 2 felony if the motor vehicle accident does not result in the death of any person. Any person failing to comply with paragraph (b) when the accident results in the death of any person is guilty of a Class 1 felony.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privilege of any person convicted of a violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 95-347, eff. 1-1-08; 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-402

    (625 ILCS 5/11-402) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-402)
    Sec. 11-402. Motor vehicle accident involving damage to vehicle.
    (a) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such motor vehicle accident or as close thereto as possible, but shall forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of such motor vehicle accident until the requirements of Section 11-403 have been fulfilled. A driver does not violate this Section if the driver moves the vehicle as soon as possible off the highway to the nearest safe location on an exit ramp shoulder, a frontage road, the nearest suitable cross street, or other suitable location that does not obstruct traffic and remains at that location until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of Section 11-403. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes.
    Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (b) Upon conviction of a violation of this Section, the court shall make a finding as to whether the damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000, and in such case a statement of this finding shall be reported to the Secretary of State with the report of conviction as required by Section 6-204 of this Code. Upon receipt of such report of conviction and statement of finding that the damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any nonresident's driving privilege.
    (c) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds (i) a vehicle standing upon a highway or toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking imposed under this Code or (ii) a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway, the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted, or to public parking or storage premises. The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of, the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate procedures, as provided in Section 4-203 of this Code.
    (d) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under subsection (c), as provided in subsection (b) of Section 4-213.
(Source: P.A. 97-763, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-403

    (625 ILCS 5/11-403) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-403)
    Sec. 11-403. Duty to give information and render aid. The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in injury to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall give the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver is operating and shall upon request and if available exhibit such driver's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with and shall render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying or the making of arrangements for the carrying of such person to a physician, surgeon or hospital for medical or surgical treatment, if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person.
    If none of the persons entitled to information pursuant to this Section is in condition to receive and understand such information and no police officer is present, such driver after rendering reasonable assistance shall forthwith report such motor vehicle accident at the nearest office of a duly authorized police authority, disclosing the information required by this Section.
    Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-404

    (625 ILCS 5/11-404) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-404)
    Sec. 11-404. Duty upon damaging unattended vehicle or other property.
    (a) The driver of any vehicle which collides with or is involved in a motor vehicle accident with any vehicle which is unattended, or other property, resulting in any damage to such other vehicle or property shall immediately stop and shall then and there either locate and notify the operator or owner of such vehicle or other property of the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver was operating or shall attach securely in a conspicuous place on or in the vehicle or other property struck a written notice giving the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver was driving and shall without unnecessary delay notify the nearest office of a duly authorized police authority and shall make a written report of such accident when and as required in Section 11-406. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes.
    (b) Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (c) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds (i) a vehicle standing upon a highway or toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking imposed under this Code or (ii) a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway, the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted, or to public parking or storage premises. The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of, the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate procedures, as provided in Section 4-203 of this Code.
    (d) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under subsection (c), as provided in subsection (b) of Section 4-213.
(Source: P.A. 95-407, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-406

    (625 ILCS 5/11-406) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-406)
    Sec. 11-406. Duty to report accident.
    (a) The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner involved in an accident within this State, resulting in injury to or death of any person, or in which damage to the property of any one person, including himself, in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of the accident to the Administrator.
    (b) Whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in this State, caused by a collision, a sudden stop or otherwise, resulting in any property damage, personal injury or death and whenever an accident occurs within 50 feet of a school bus in this State resulting in personal injury to or the death of any person while awaiting or preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the driver shall as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report to the Department of Transportation. If a report is also required under Subsection (a) of this Section, that report and the report required by this Subsection shall be submitted on a single form.
    (c) The Administrator may require any driver, occupant or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident of which report must be made as provided in this Section or Section 11-410 of this Chapter to file supplemental reports whenever the original report is insufficient in the opinion of the Secretary of State or the Administrator, and may require witnesses of the accident to submit written reports to the Administrator. The report may include photographs, charts, sketches, and graphs.
    (d) Should the Administrator learn through other reports of accidents required by law of the occurrence of an accident reportable under this Article and the driver, owner, or witness has not reported as required under Subsections (a), (b) or (c) of this Section or Section 11-410, within the time specified, the person is not relieved of the responsibility and the Administrator shall notify the person by first class mail directed to his last known address of his legal obligation. However, the notification is not a condition precedent to impose the penalty for failure to report as provided in Subsection (e).
    (e) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any non-resident's driving privilege of any person who fails or neglects to make report of a traffic accident as required or as required by any other law of this State.
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/11-407

    (625 ILCS 5/11-407) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-407)
    Sec. 11-407. Immediate notice of accident.
    (a) The driver of a vehicle which is in any manner involved in an accident described in Section 11-406 of this Chapter shall, if no police officer is present, give notice of the accident by the fastest available means of communication to the local police department if such accident occurs within a municipality or otherwise to the nearest office of the county sheriff or nearest headquarters of the Illinois State Police.
    (b) Whenever the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of giving immediate notice of an accident as required in Subsection (a) and there was another occupant in the vehicle at the time of the accident capable of doing so, that occupant must give notice as required in Subsection (a).
(Source: P.A. 76-2163.)

625 ILCS 5/11-408

    (625 ILCS 5/11-408) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-408)
    Sec. 11-408. Police to report motor vehicle accident investigations.
    (a) Every law enforcement officer who investigates a motor vehicle accident for which a report is required by this Article or who prepares a written report as a result of an investigation either at the time and scene of such motor vehicle accident or thereafter by interviewing participants or witnesses shall forward a written report of such motor vehicle accident to the Administrator on forms provided by the Administrator under Section 11-411 within 10 days after investigation of the motor vehicle accident, or within such other time as is prescribed by the Administrator. Such written reports required to be forwarded by law enforcement officers and the information contained therein are privileged as to the Secretary of State and the Department and, in the case of second division vehicles operated under certificate of convenience and necessity issued by the Illinois Commerce Commission, to the Commission, but shall not be held confidential by the reporting law enforcement officer or agency. The Secretary of State may also disclose notations of accident involvement maintained on individual driving records. However, the Administrator or the Secretary of State may require a supplemental written report from the reporting law enforcement officer and such supplemental report shall be for the privileged use of the Secretary of State and the Department and shall be held confidential. Upon request, the Department shall furnish copies of its written accident reports to federal, State, and local agencies that are engaged in highway safety research and studies. The reports shall be for the privileged use of the federal, State, and local agencies receiving the reports and shall be held confidential.
    (b) The Department at its discretion may require a supplemental written report from the reporting law enforcement officer on a form supplied by the Department to be submitted directly to the Department. Such supplemental report may be used only for accident studies and statistical or analytical purposes, and shall be for the privileged use of the Department and shall be held confidential.
    (c) The Department at its discretion may also provide for in-depth investigations of a motor vehicle accident by individuals or special investigation groups, including but not limited to police officers, photographers, engineers, doctors, mechanics, and as a result of the investigation may require the submission of written reports, photographs, charts, sketches, graphs, or a combination of all. Such individual written reports, photographs, charts, sketches, or graphs may be used only for accident studies and statistical or analytical purposes, shall be for the privileged use of the Department and held confidential, and shall not be used in any trial, civil or criminal.
    (d) On and after July 1, 1997, law enforcement officers who have reason to suspect that the motor vehicle accident was the result of a driver's loss of consciousness due to a medical condition, as defined by the Driver's License Medical Review Law of 1992, or the result of any medical condition that impaired the driver's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle shall notify the Secretary of this determination. The Secretary, in conjunction with the Driver's License Medical Advisory Board, shall determine by administrative rule the temporary conditions not required to be reported under the provisions of this Section. The Secretary shall, in conjunction with the Illinois State Police and representatives of local and county law enforcement agencies, promulgate any rules necessary and develop the procedures and documents that may be required to obtain written, electronic, or other agreed upon methods of notification to implement the provisions of this Section.
    (e) Law enforcement officers reporting under the provisions of subsection (d) of this Section shall enjoy the same immunities granted members of the Driver's License Medical Advisory Board under Section 6-910 of this Code.
    (f) All information furnished to the Secretary under subsection (d) of this Section shall be deemed confidential and for the privileged use of the Secretary in accordance with the provisions of subsection (j) of Section 2-123 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 96-1147, eff. 7-21-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-409

    (625 ILCS 5/11-409) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-409)
    Sec. 11-409. False motor vehicle accident reports or notices. Any person who provides information in an oral or written report required by this Code with knowledge or reason to believe that such information is false shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-410

    (625 ILCS 5/11-410) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-410)
    Sec. 11-410. When driver fails to report a motor vehicle accident. Whenever the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of making a required written accident report and if there was another occupant in the vehicle at the time of the motor vehicle accident capable of making a written report, such occupant shall make or cause to be made such written report. If said driver fails for any reason to make such report, the owner of the vehicle involved in such motor vehicle accident, shall, as soon as practicable, make said report to the Administrator.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-411

    (625 ILCS 5/11-411) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-411)
    Sec. 11-411. Accident report forms.
    (a) The Administrator must prepare and upon request supply to police departments, sheriffs and other appropriate agencies or individuals, forms for written accident reports as required hereunder, suitable with respect to the persons required to make such reports and the purposes to be served. The written reports must call for sufficiently detailed information to disclose with reference to a vehicle accident the cause, conditions then existing, and the persons and vehicles involved or any other data concerning such accident that may be required for a complete analysis of all related circumstances and events leading to the accident or subsequent to the occurrence.
    (b) Every accident report required to be made in writing must be made on an appropriate form approved or provided by the Administrator and must contain all the information required therein unless that information is not available.
    (c) Should special accident studies be required by the Administrator, the Administrator may provide the supplemental forms for the special studies.
(Source: P.A. 78-255.)

625 ILCS 5/11-412

    (625 ILCS 5/11-412) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-412)
    Sec. 11-412. Motor vehicle accident reports confidential. All required written motor vehicle accident reports and supplemental reports shall be without prejudice to the individual so reporting and shall be for the confidential use of the Department and the Secretary of State and, in the case of second division vehicles operated under certificate of convenience and necessity issued by the Illinois Commerce Commission, of the Commission, except that the Administrator or the Secretary of State or the Commission may disclose the identity of a person involved in a motor vehicle accident when such identity is not otherwise known or when such person denies his presence at such motor vehicle accident and the Department shall disclose the identity of the insurance carrier, if any, upon demand. The Secretary of State may also disclose notations of accident involvement maintained on individual driving records. The Department may furnish copies of its written accident reports to federal, State, and local agencies that are engaged in highway safety research and studies. Reports furnished to any agency other than the Secretary of State or the Illinois Commerce Commission may be used only for statistical or analytical purposes and shall be held confidential by that agency. No such written report shall be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of a motor vehicle accident, except that the Administrator shall furnish upon demand of any person who has, or claims to have, made such a written report, or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified written accident report has or has not been made to the Administrator solely to prove a compliance or a failure to comply with the requirement that such a written report be made to the Administrator.
    The Department of Transportation at its discretion may provide for in-depth investigations of accidents involving Department employees. A written report describing the preventability of such an accident may be prepared to enhance the safety of Department employees. Such reports and any opinions expressed in the review of the accident as to the preventability of the accident shall be for the privileged use of the Department and held confidential and shall not be obtainable or used in any civil or criminal proceeding.
(Source: P.A. 95-757, eff. 7-25-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-413

    (625 ILCS 5/11-413) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-413)
    Sec. 11-413. Coroners to report. All coroners shall on or before the 10th day of each month report in writing to the Administrator the death of any person within their respective jurisdiction, during the preceding calendar month, as the result of a traffic accident giving the time and place of the accident and the circumstances relating thereto.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-414

    (625 ILCS 5/11-414) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-414)
    Sec. 11-414. Department to tabulate and analyze motor vehicle accident reports. The Department shall tabulate and may analyze all written motor vehicle accident reports received in compliance with this Code and shall publish annually or at more frequent intervals statistical information based thereon as to the number and circumstances of traffic accidents. The Department:
    1. shall submit a report of school bus accidents and accidents resulting in personal injury to or the death of any person within 50 feet of a school bus while awaiting or preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus to the National Highway Safety Advisory Committee annually or as requested by the Committee;
    2. shall compile, maintain, and make available to the public statistical information relating to traffic accidents involving medical transport vehicles;
    3. may conduct special investigations of motor vehicle accidents and may solicit supplementary reports from drivers, owners, police departments, sheriffs, coroners, or any other individual. Failure of any individual to submit a supplementary report subjects such individual to the same penalties for failure to report as designated under Section 11-406.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-415

    (625 ILCS 5/11-415) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-415)
    Sec. 11-415. Municipalities may require traffic accident reports. Municipalities may by ordinance require that the driver or owner of a vehicle involved in a traffic accident file with the designated municipal office a written report of such accident. All such reports shall be for the confidential use of the municipal office and subject to the provisions of Section 11-412.
(Source: P.A. 83-831.)

625 ILCS 5/11-416

    (625 ILCS 5/11-416) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-416)
    Sec. 11-416. Furnishing copies - Fees. The Department of State Police may furnish copies of an Illinois State Police Traffic Accident Report that has been investigated by the State Police and shall be paid a fee of $5 for each such copy, or in the case of an accident which was investigated by an accident reconstruction officer or accident reconstruction team, a fee of $20 shall be paid.
    Other State law enforcement agencies or law enforcement agencies of local authorities may furnish copies of traffic accident reports prepared by such agencies and may receive a fee not to exceed $5 for each copy or in the case of an accident which was investigated by an accident reconstruction officer or accident reconstruction team, the State or local law enforcement agency may receive a fee not to exceed $20.
    Any written accident report required or requested to be furnished the Administrator shall be provided without cost or fee charges authorized under this Section or any other provision of law.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. V

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. V heading)
ARTICLE V. DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED,
TRANSPORTING ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR,
AND RECKLESS DRIVING

625 ILCS 5/11-500

    (625 ILCS 5/11-500) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-500)
    Sec. 11-500. Definitions. For the purposes of interpreting Sections 6-206.1 and 6-208.1 of this Code, "first offender" shall mean any person who has not had a previous conviction or court assigned supervision for violating Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a conviction in any other state for a violation of driving while under the influence or a similar offense where the cause of action is the same or substantially similar to this Code or similar offenses committed on a military installation, or any person who has not had a driver's license suspension pursuant to paragraph 6 of subsection (a) of Section 6-206 as the result of refusal of chemical testing in another state, or any person who has not had a driver's license suspension or revocation for violating Section 11-501.1 within 5 years prior to the date of the current offense, except in cases where the driver submitted to chemical testing resulting in an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act and was subsequently found not guilty of violating Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
(Source: P.A. 95-355, eff. 1-1-08; 96-607, eff. 8-24-09; 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-500.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-500.1)
    Sec. 11-500.1. Immunity.
    (a) A person authorized under this Article to withdraw blood or collect urine shall not be civilly liable for damages when the person, in good faith, withdraws blood or collects urine for evidentiary purposes under this Code, upon the request of a law enforcement officer, unless the act is performed in a willful and wanton manner.
    (b) As used in this Section, "willful and wanton manner" means a course of action that shows an actual or deliberate intention to cause harm or which, if not intentional, shows an utter indifference to or conscious disregard for the health or safety of another.
(Source: P.A. 89-689, eff. 12-31-96.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-122)
    Sec. 11-501. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof.
    (a) A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle within this State while:
        (1) the alcohol concentration in the person's blood
    
or breath is 0.08 or more based on the definition of blood and breath units in Section 11-501.2;
        (2) under the influence of alcohol;
        (3) under the influence of any intoxicating compound
    
or combination of intoxicating compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely;
        (4) under the influence of any other drug or
    
combination of drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving;
        (5) under the combined influence of alcohol, other
    
drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving; or
        (6) there is any amount of a drug, substance, or
    
compound in the person's breath, blood, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act. Subject to all other requirements and provisions under this Section, this paragraph (6) does not apply to the lawful consumption of cannabis by a qualifying patient licensed under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act who is in possession of a valid registry card issued under that Act, unless that person is impaired by the use of cannabis.
    (b) The fact that any person charged with violating this Section is or has been legally entitled to use alcohol, cannabis under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, shall not constitute a defense against any charge of violating this Section.
    (c) Penalties.
        (1) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, any
    
person convicted of violating subsection (a) of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
        (2) A person who violates subsection (a) or a similar
    
provision a second time shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of either 5 days of imprisonment or 240 hours of community service in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (3) A person who violates subsection (a) is subject
    
to 6 months of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children if the person was transporting a person under the age of 16 at the time of the violation.
        (4) A person who violates subsection (a) a first
    
time, if the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, shall be subject, in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, to a mandatory minimum of 100 hours of community service and a mandatory minimum fine of $500.
        (5) A person who violates subsection (a) a second
    
time, if at the time of the second violation the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, shall be subject, in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, to a mandatory minimum of 2 days of imprisonment and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,250.
    (d) Aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof.
        (1) Every person convicted of committing a violation
    
of this Section shall be guilty of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof if:
            (A) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) or a similar provision for the third or subsequent time;
            (B) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) while driving a school bus with persons 18 years of age or younger on board;
            (C) the person in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another, when the violation was a proximate cause of the injuries;
            (D) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) and has been previously convicted of violating Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or a similar provision of a law of another state relating to reckless homicide in which the person was determined to have been under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds as an element of the offense or the person has previously been convicted under subparagraph (C) or subparagraph (F) of this paragraph (1);
            (E) the person, in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) while driving at any speed in a school speed zone at a time when a speed limit of 20 miles per hour was in effect under subsection (a) of Section 11-605 of this Code, was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in bodily harm, other than great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement, to another person, when the violation of subsection (a) was a proximate cause of the bodily harm;
            (F) the person, in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a), was involved in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or watercraft accident that resulted in the death of another person, when the violation of subsection (a) was a proximate cause of the death;
            (G) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) during a period in which the defendant's driving privileges are revoked or suspended, where the revocation or suspension was for a violation of subsection (a) or a similar provision, Section 11-501.1, paragraph (b) of Section 11-401, or for reckless homicide as defined in Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (H) the person committed the violation while he
        
or she did not possess a driver's license or permit or a restricted driving permit or a judicial driving permit or a monitoring device driving permit;
            (I) the person committed the violation while he
        
or she knew or should have known that the vehicle he or she was driving was not covered by a liability insurance policy;
            (J) the person in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in bodily harm, but not great bodily harm, to the child under the age of 16 being transported by the person, if the violation was the proximate cause of the injury; or
            (K) the person in committing a second violation
        
of subsection (a) or a similar provision was transporting a person under the age of 16.
        (2)(A) Except as provided otherwise, a person
    
convicted of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        (B) A third violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 2 felony. If at the time of the third violation the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum of 90 days of imprisonment and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the third violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (C) A fourth violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 2 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the fourth violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16 a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (D) A fifth violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 1 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the fifth violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (E) A sixth or subsequent violation of this Section
    
or similar provision is a Class X felony. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (F) For a violation of subparagraph (C) of paragraph
    
(1) of this subsection (d), the defendant, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to not less than one year nor more than 12 years.
        (G) A violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d) is a Class 2 felony, for which the defendant, unless the court determines that extraordinary circumstances exist and require probation, shall be sentenced to: (i) a term of imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years if the violation resulted in the death of one person; or (ii) a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years and not more than 28 years if the violation resulted in the deaths of 2 or more persons.
        (H) For a violation of subparagraph (J) of paragraph
    
(1) of this subsection (d), a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (I) A violation of subparagraph (K) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d), is a Class 2 felony and a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If the child being transported suffered bodily harm, but not great bodily harm, in a motor vehicle accident, and the violation was the proximate cause of that injury, a mandatory fine of $5,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (J) A violation of subparagraph (D) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d) is a Class 3 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed.
        (3) Any person sentenced under this subsection (d)
    
who receives a term of probation or conditional discharge must serve a minimum term of either 480 hours of community service or 10 days of imprisonment as a condition of the probation or conditional discharge in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
    (e) Any reference to a prior violation of subsection (a) or a similar provision includes any violation of a provision of a local ordinance or a provision of a law of another state or an offense committed on a military installation that is similar to a violation of subsection (a) of this Section.
    (f) The imposition of a mandatory term of imprisonment or assignment of community service for a violation of this Section shall not be suspended or reduced by the court.
    (g) Any penalty imposed for driving with a license that has been revoked for a previous violation of subsection (a) of this Section shall be in addition to the penalty imposed for any subsequent violation of subsection (a).
    (h) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-122, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-573)
    Sec. 11-501. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof.
    (a) A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle within this State while:
        (1) the alcohol concentration in the person's blood
    
or breath is 0.08 or more based on the definition of blood and breath units in Section 11-501.2;
        (2) under the influence of alcohol;
        (3) under the influence of any intoxicating compound
    
or combination of intoxicating compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely;
        (4) under the influence of any other drug or
    
combination of drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving;
        (5) under the combined influence of alcohol, other
    
drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving; or
        (6) there is any amount of a drug, substance, or
    
compound in the person's breath, blood, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (b) The fact that any person charged with violating this Section is or has been legally entitled to use alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, shall not constitute a defense against any charge of violating this Section.
    (c) Penalties.
        (1) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, any
    
person convicted of violating subsection (a) of this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
        (2) A person who violates subsection (a) or a similar
    
provision a second time shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of either 5 days of imprisonment or 240 hours of community service in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (3) A person who violates subsection (a) is subject
    
to 6 months of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children if the person was transporting a person under the age of 16 at the time of the violation.
        (4) A person who violates subsection (a) a first
    
time, if the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, shall be subject, in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, to a mandatory minimum of 100 hours of community service and a mandatory minimum fine of $500.
        (5) A person who violates subsection (a) a second
    
time, if at the time of the second violation the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, shall be subject, in addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, to a mandatory minimum of 2 days of imprisonment and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,250.
    (d) Aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof.
        (1) Every person convicted of committing a violation
    
of this Section shall be guilty of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof if:
            (A) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) or a similar provision for the third or subsequent time;
            (B) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) while driving a school bus with one or more passengers on board;
            (C) the person in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another, when the violation was a proximate cause of the injuries;
            (D) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) and has been previously convicted of violating Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 or a similar provision of a law of another state relating to reckless homicide in which the person was determined to have been under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds as an element of the offense or the person has previously been convicted under subparagraph (C) or subparagraph (F) of this paragraph (1);
            (E) the person, in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) while driving at any speed in a school speed zone at a time when a speed limit of 20 miles per hour was in effect under subsection (a) of Section 11-605 of this Code, was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in bodily harm, other than great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement, to another person, when the violation of subsection (a) was a proximate cause of the bodily harm;
            (F) the person, in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a), was involved in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or watercraft accident that resulted in the death of another person, when the violation of subsection (a) was a proximate cause of the death;
            (G) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) during a period in which the defendant's driving privileges are revoked or suspended, where the revocation or suspension was for a violation of subsection (a) or a similar provision, Section 11-501.1, paragraph (b) of Section 11-401, or for reckless homicide as defined in Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (H) the person committed the violation while he
        
or she did not possess a driver's license or permit or a restricted driving permit or a judicial driving permit or a monitoring device driving permit;
            (I) the person committed the violation while he
        
or she knew or should have known that the vehicle he or she was driving was not covered by a liability insurance policy;
            (J) the person in committing a violation of
        
subsection (a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in bodily harm, but not great bodily harm, to the child under the age of 16 being transported by the person, if the violation was the proximate cause of the injury;
            (K) the person in committing a second violation
        
of subsection (a) or a similar provision was transporting a person under the age of 16; or
            (L) the person committed a violation of
        
subsection (a) of this Section while transporting one or more passengers in a vehicle for-hire.
        (2)(A) Except as provided otherwise, a person
    
convicted of aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
        (B) A third violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 2 felony. If at the time of the third violation the alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum of 90 days of imprisonment and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the third violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (C) A fourth violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 2 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the fourth violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16 a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (D) A fifth violation of this Section or a similar
    
provision is a Class 1 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the fifth violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (E) A sixth or subsequent violation of this Section
    
or similar provision is a Class X felony. If at the time of the violation, the alcohol concentration in the defendant's blood, breath, or urine was 0.16 or more based on the definition of blood, breath, or urine units in Section 11-501.2, a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If at the time of the violation, the defendant was transporting a person under the age of 16, a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (F) For a violation of subparagraph (C) of paragraph
    
(1) of this subsection (d), the defendant, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to not less than one year nor more than 12 years.
        (G) A violation of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d) is a Class 2 felony, for which the defendant, unless the court determines that extraordinary circumstances exist and require probation, shall be sentenced to: (i) a term of imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not more than 14 years if the violation resulted in the death of one person; or (ii) a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years and not more than 28 years if the violation resulted in the deaths of 2 or more persons.
        (H) For a violation of subparagraph (J) of paragraph
    
(1) of this subsection (d), a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (I) A violation of subparagraph (K) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d), is a Class 2 felony and a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction. If the child being transported suffered bodily harm, but not great bodily harm, in a motor vehicle accident, and the violation was the proximate cause of that injury, a mandatory fine of $5,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children shall be imposed in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
        (J) A violation of subparagraph (D) of paragraph (1)
    
of this subsection (d) is a Class 3 felony, for which a sentence of probation or conditional discharge may not be imposed.
        (3) Any person sentenced under this subsection (d)
    
who receives a term of probation or conditional discharge must serve a minimum term of either 480 hours of community service or 10 days of imprisonment as a condition of the probation or conditional discharge in addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction.
    (e) Any reference to a prior violation of subsection (a) or a similar provision includes any violation of a provision of a local ordinance or a provision of a law of another state or an offense committed on a military installation that is similar to a violation of subsection (a) of this Section.
    (f) The imposition of a mandatory term of imprisonment or assignment of community service for a violation of this Section shall not be suspended or reduced by the court.
    (g) Any penalty imposed for driving with a license that has been revoked for a previous violation of subsection (a) of this Section shall be in addition to the penalty imposed for any subsequent violation of subsection (a).
    (h) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-573, eff. 8-27-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.01

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.01)
    Sec. 11-501.01. Additional administrative sanctions.
    (a) After a finding of guilt and prior to any final sentencing or an order for supervision, for an offense based upon an arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, individuals shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound abuse problem exists and the extent of the problem, and undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate. Programs conducting these evaluations shall be licensed by the Department of Human Services. The cost of any professional evaluation shall be paid for by the individual required to undergo the professional evaluation.
    (b) Any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to violating Section 11-501, including any person receiving a disposition of court supervision for violating that Section, may be required by the Court to attend a victim impact panel offered by, or under contract with, a county State's Attorney's office, a probation and court services department, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, or the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists. All costs generated by the victim impact panel shall be paid from fees collected from the offender or as may be determined by the court.
    (c) Every person found guilty of violating Section 11-501, whose operation of a motor vehicle while in violation of that Section proximately caused any incident resulting in an appropriate emergency response, shall be liable for the expense of an emergency response as provided in subsection (i) of this Section.
    (d) The Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privileges of any person convicted under Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance.
    (e) The Secretary of State shall require the use of ignition interlock devices on all vehicles owned by a person who has been convicted of a second or subsequent offense of Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance. The person must pay to the Secretary of State DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed $30 for each month that he or she uses the device. The Secretary shall establish by rule and regulation the procedures for certification and use of the interlock system, the amount of the fee, and the procedures, terms, and conditions relating to these fees.
    (f) In addition to any other penalties and liabilities, a person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to violating Section 11-501, including any person placed on court supervision for violating Section 11-501, shall be assessed $750, payable to the circuit clerk, who shall distribute the money as follows: $350 to the law enforcement agency that made the arrest, and $400 shall be forwarded to the State Treasurer for deposit into the General Revenue Fund. If the person has been previously convicted of violating Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, the fine shall be $1,000, and the circuit clerk shall distribute $200 to the law enforcement agency that made the arrest and $800 to the State Treasurer for deposit into the General Revenue Fund. In the event that more than one agency is responsible for the arrest, the amount payable to law enforcement agencies shall be shared equally. Any moneys received by a law enforcement agency under this subsection (f) shall be used for enforcement and prevention of driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof, as defined by Section 11-501 of this Code, including but not limited to the purchase of law enforcement equipment and commodities that will assist in the prevention of alcohol related criminal violence throughout the State; police officer training and education in areas related to alcohol related crime, including but not limited to DUI training; and police officer salaries, including but not limited to salaries for hire back funding for safety checkpoints, saturation patrols, and liquor store sting operations. Any moneys received by the Department of State Police under this subsection (f) shall be deposited into the State Police DUI Fund and shall be used to purchase law enforcement equipment that will assist in the prevention of alcohol related criminal violence throughout the State.
    (g) The Secretary of State Police DUI Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys received by the Secretary of State Police under subsection (f) of this Section shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Police DUI Fund and, subject to appropriation, shall be used for enforcement and prevention of driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof, as defined by Section 11-501 of this Code, including but not limited to the purchase of law enforcement equipment and commodities to assist in the prevention of alcohol related criminal violence throughout the State; police officer training and education in areas related to alcohol related crime, including but not limited to DUI training; and police officer salaries, including but not limited to salaries for hire back funding for safety checkpoints, saturation patrols, and liquor store sting operations.
    (h) Whenever an individual is sentenced for an offense based upon an arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, and the professional evaluation recommends remedial or rehabilitative treatment or education, neither the treatment nor the education shall be the sole disposition and either or both may be imposed only in conjunction with another disposition. The court shall monitor compliance with any remedial education or treatment recommendations contained in the professional evaluation. Programs conducting alcohol or other drug evaluation or remedial education must be licensed by the Department of Human Services. If the individual is not a resident of Illinois, however, the court may accept an alcohol or other drug evaluation or remedial education program in the individual's state of residence. Programs providing treatment must be licensed under existing applicable alcoholism and drug treatment licensure standards.
    (i) In addition to any other fine or penalty required by law, an individual convicted of a violation of Section 11-501, Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act, Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act, or a similar provision, whose operation of a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or watercraft while in violation of Section 11-501, Section 5-7 of the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act, Section 5-16 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act, or a similar provision proximately caused an incident resulting in an appropriate emergency response, shall be required to make restitution to a public agency for the costs of that emergency response. The restitution may not exceed $1,000 per public agency for each emergency response. As used in this subsection (i), "emergency response" means any incident requiring a response by a police officer, a firefighter carried on the rolls of a regularly constituted fire department, or an ambulance. With respect to funds designated for the Department of State Police, the moneys shall be remitted by the circuit court clerk to the State Police within one month after receipt for deposit into the State Police DUI Fund. With respect to funds designated for the Department of Natural Resources, the Department of Natural Resources shall deposit the moneys into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund.
    (j) A person that is subject to a chemical test or tests of blood under subsection (a) of Section 11-501.1 or subdivision (c)(2) of Section 11-501.2 of this Code, whether or not that person consents to testing, shall be liable for the expense up to $500 for blood withdrawal by a physician authorized to practice medicine, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse, a trained phlebotomist, a certified paramedic, or a qualified person other than a police officer approved by the Department of State Police to withdraw blood, who responds, whether at a law enforcement facility or a health care facility, to a police department request for the drawing of blood based upon refusal of the person to submit to a lawfully requested breath test or probable cause exists to believe the test would disclose the ingestion, consumption, or use of drugs or intoxicating compounds if:
        (1) the person is found guilty of violating Section
    
11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance; or
        (2) the person pleads guilty to or stipulates to
    
facts supporting a violation of Section 11-503 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance when the plea or stipulation was the result of a plea agreement in which the person was originally charged with violating Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar local ordinance.
(Source: P.A. 97-931, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1050, eff. 1-1-13; 98-292, eff. 1-1-14; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.1)
    Sec. 11-501.1. Suspension of drivers license; statutory summary alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds related suspension or revocation; implied consent.
    (a) Any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2, to a chemical test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of determining the content of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof in the person's blood if arrested, as evidenced by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket, for any offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or if arrested for violating Section 11-401. If a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe the person was under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, the law enforcement officer shall request a chemical test or tests which shall be administered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law enforcement agency employing the officer shall designate which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. A urine test may be administered even after a blood or breath test or both has been administered. For purposes of this Section, an Illinois law enforcement officer of this State who is investigating the person for any offense defined in Section 11-501 may travel into an adjoining state, where the person has been transported for medical care, to complete an investigation and to request that the person submit to the test or tests set forth in this Section. The requirements of this Section that the person be arrested are inapplicable, but the officer shall issue the person a Uniform Traffic Ticket for an offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance prior to requesting that the person submit to the test or tests. The issuance of the Uniform Traffic Ticket shall not constitute an arrest, but shall be for the purpose of notifying the person that he or she is subject to the provisions of this Section and of the officer's belief of the existence of probable cause to arrest. Upon returning to this State, the officer shall file the Uniform Traffic Ticket with the Circuit Clerk of the county where the offense was committed, and shall seek the issuance of an arrest warrant or a summons for the person.
    (a-5) In addition to the requirements and provisions of subsection (a), any person issued a registry card under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2, to standardized field sobriety tests approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration if arrested, as evidenced by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket, for any offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or if arrested for violating Section 11-401. The person's status as a registry card holder alone is not a sufficient basis for conducting these tests. The officer must have an independent, cannabis-related factual basis giving reasonable suspicion that the person is driving under the influence of cannabis for conducting standardized field sobriety tests. This independent basis of suspicion shall be listed on the standardized field sobriety test results and any influence reports made by the arresting officer.
    (b) Any person who is dead, unconscious, or who is otherwise in a condition rendering the person incapable of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the consent provided by paragraph (a) of this Section and the test or tests may be administered, subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2.
    (c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test will result in the statutory summary suspension of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-208.1 of this Code, and will also result in the disqualification of the person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-514 of this Code, if the person is a CDL holder. The person shall also be warned that a refusal to submit to the test, when the person was involved in a motor vehicle accident that caused personal injury or death to another, will result in the statutory summary revocation of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-208.1, and will also result in the disqualification of the person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-514 of this Code, if the person is a CDL holder. The person shall also be warned by the law enforcement officer that if the person submits to the test or tests provided in paragraph (a) of this Section and the alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath is 0.08 or greater, or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis as covered by the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act is detected in the person's blood or urine, or if the person fails the standardized field sobriety tests as required by paragraph (a-5), a statutory summary suspension of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as provided in Sections 6-208.1 and 11-501.1 of this Code, and a disqualification of the person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-514 of this Code, if the person is a CDL holder, will be imposed.
    A person who is under the age of 21 at the time the person is requested to submit to a test as provided above shall, in addition to the warnings provided for in this Section, be further warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that if the person submits to the test or tests provided in paragraph (a) or (a-5) of this Section and the alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath is greater than 0.00 and less than 0.08, a suspension of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as provided under Sections 6-208.2 and 11-501.8 of this Code, will be imposed. The results of this test shall be admissible in a civil or criminal action or proceeding arising from an arrest for an offense as defined in Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance or pursuant to Section 11-501.4 in prosecutions for reckless homicide brought under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012. These test results, however, shall be admissible only in actions or proceedings directly related to the incident upon which the test request was made.
    (d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test that discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound in the person's breath, blood, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a sworn report to the circuit court of venue and the Secretary of State, certifying that the test or tests was or were requested under paragraph (a) or (a-5) and the person refused to submit to a test, or tests, or submitted to testing that disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. A sworn report indicating refusal or failure of testing under paragraph (a-5) of this Section shall include the factual basis of the arresting officer's reasonable suspicion that the person was under the influence of cannabis. The person's possession of a valid registry card under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act alone is not sufficient basis for reasonable suspicion.
    (e) Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer submitted under paragraph (d), the Secretary of State shall enter the statutory summary suspension or revocation and disqualification for the periods specified in Sections 6-208.1 and 6-514, respectively, and effective as provided in paragraph (g).
    If the person is a first offender as defined in Section 11-500 of this Code, and is not convicted of a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, then reports received by the Secretary of State under this Section shall, except during the actual time the Statutory Summary Suspension is in effect, be privileged information and for use only by the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities or the Secretary of State, unless the person is a CDL holder, is operating a commercial motor vehicle or vehicle required to be placarded for hazardous materials, in which case the suspension shall not be privileged. Reports received by the Secretary of State under this Section shall also be made available to the parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years that holds an instruction permit or a graduated driver's license, regardless of whether the statutory summary suspension is in effect. A statutory summary revocation shall not be privileged information.
    (f) The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn report under paragraph (d) shall serve immediate notice of the statutory summary suspension or revocation on the person and the suspension or revocation and disqualification shall be effective as provided in paragraph (g).
        (1) In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of
    
0.08 or greater or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis as covered by the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act is established by a subsequent analysis of blood or urine collected at the time of arrest, the arresting officer or arresting agency shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of the notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to the person at his address as shown on the Uniform Traffic Ticket and the statutory summary suspension and disqualification shall begin as provided in paragraph (g). The officer shall confiscate any Illinois driver's license or permit on the person at the time of arrest. If the person has a valid driver's license or permit, the officer shall issue the person a receipt, in a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, that will allow that person to drive during the periods provided for in paragraph (g). The officer shall immediately forward the driver's license or permit to the circuit court of venue along with the sworn report provided for in paragraph (d).
        (2) In cases indicating refusal or failure of testing
    
under paragraph (a-5) of this Section the arresting officer or arresting agency shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of the notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to the person at his or her address as shown on the Uniform Traffic Ticket and the statutory summary suspension and disqualification shall begin as provided in paragraph (g). This notice shall include the factual basis of the arresting officer's reasonable suspicion that the person was under the influence of cannabis. The person's possession of a valid registry card under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act alone is not sufficient basis for reasonable suspicion.
    (g) The statutory summary suspension or revocation and disqualification referred to in this Section shall take effect on the 46th day following the date the notice of the statutory summary suspension or revocation was given to the person.
    (h) The following procedure shall apply whenever a person is arrested for any offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance:
    Upon receipt of the sworn report from the law enforcement officer, the Secretary of State shall confirm the statutory summary suspension or revocation by mailing a notice of the effective date of the suspension or revocation to the person and the court of venue. The Secretary of State shall also mail notice of the effective date of the disqualification to the person. However, should the sworn report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the confirmation of the statutory summary suspension or revocation shall not be mailed to the person or entered to the record; instead, the sworn report shall be forwarded to the court of venue with a copy returned to the issuing agency identifying any defect.
    (i) As used in this Section, "personal injury" includes any Type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A Type A injury includes severely bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
(Source: P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-471, eff. 8-22-11; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-122, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501.2)
    Sec. 11-501.2. Chemical and other tests.
    (a) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of an arrest for an offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar local ordinance or proceedings pursuant to Section 2-118.1, evidence of the concentration of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof in a person's blood or breath at the time alleged, as determined by analysis of the person's blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance, shall be admissible. Where such test is made the following provisions shall apply:
        1. Chemical analyses of the person's blood, urine,
    
breath or other bodily substance to be considered valid under the provisions of this Section shall have been performed according to standards promulgated by the Department of State Police by a licensed physician, registered nurse, trained phlebotomist, certified paramedic, or other individual possessing a valid permit issued by that Department for this purpose. The Director of State Police is authorized to approve satisfactory techniques or methods, to ascertain the qualifications and competence of individuals to conduct such analyses, to issue permits which shall be subject to termination or revocation at the discretion of that Department and to certify the accuracy of breath testing equipment. The Department of State Police shall prescribe regulations as necessary to implement this Section.
        2. When a person in this State shall submit to a
    
blood test at the request of a law enforcement officer under the provisions of Section 11-501.1, only a physician authorized to practice medicine, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse, trained phlebotomist, or certified paramedic, or other qualified person approved by the Department of State Police may withdraw blood for the purpose of determining the alcohol, drug, or alcohol and drug content therein. This limitation shall not apply to the taking of breath or urine specimens.
        When a blood test of a person who has been taken to
    
an adjoining state for medical treatment is requested by an Illinois law enforcement officer, the blood may be withdrawn only by a physician authorized to practice medicine in the adjoining state, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse, a trained phlebotomist acting under the direction of the physician, or certified paramedic. The law enforcement officer requesting the test shall take custody of the blood sample, and the blood sample shall be analyzed by a laboratory certified by the Department of State Police for that purpose.
        3. The person tested may have a physician, or a
    
qualified technician, chemist, registered nurse, or other qualified person of their own choosing administer a chemical test or tests in addition to any administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test by a person shall not preclude the admission of evidence relating to the test or tests taken at the direction of a law enforcement officer.
        4. Upon the request of the person who shall submit to
    
a chemical test or tests at the request of a law enforcement officer, full information concerning the test or tests shall be made available to the person or such person's attorney.
        5. Alcohol concentration shall mean either grams of
    
alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
    (a-5) Law enforcement officials may use standardized field sobriety tests approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration when conducting investigations of a violation of Section 11-501 or similar local ordinance by drivers suspected of driving under the influence of cannabis. The General Assembly finds that standardized field sobriety tests approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration are divided attention tasks that are intended to determine if a person is under the influence of cannabis. The purpose of these tests is to determine the effect of the use of cannabis on a person's capacity to think and act with ordinary care and therefore operate a motor vehicle safely. Therefore, the results of these standardized field sobriety tests, appropriately administered, shall be admissible in the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of an arrest for a cannabis-related offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar local ordinance or proceedings under Section 2-118.1. Where a test is made the following provisions shall apply:
        1. The person tested may have a physician, or a
    
qualified technician, chemist, registered nurse, or other qualified person of their own choosing administer a chemical test or tests in addition to the standardized field sobriety test or tests administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test by a person does not preclude the admission of evidence relating to the test or tests taken at the direction of a law enforcement officer.
        2. Upon the request of the person who shall submit to
    
a standardized field sobriety test or tests at the request of a law enforcement officer, full information concerning the test or tests shall be made available to the person or the person's attorney.
        3. At the trial of any civil or criminal action or
    
proceeding arising out of an arrest for an offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar local ordinance or proceedings under Section 2-118.1 in which the results of these standardized field sobriety tests are admitted, the cardholder may present and the trier of fact may consider evidence that the card holder lacked the physical capacity to perform the standardized field sobriety tests.
    (b) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any person while driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, the concentration of alcohol in the person's blood or breath at the time alleged as shown by analysis of the person's blood, urine, breath, or other bodily substance shall give rise to the following presumptions:
        1. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration
    
of 0.05 or less, it shall be presumed that the person was not under the influence of alcohol.
        2. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration
    
in excess of 0.05 but less than 0.08, such facts shall not give rise to any presumption that the person was or was not under the influence of alcohol, but such fact may be considered with other competent evidence in determining whether the person was under the influence of alcohol.
        3. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration
    
of 0.08 or more, it shall be presumed that the person was under the influence of alcohol.
        4. The foregoing provisions of this Section shall not
    
be construed as limiting the introduction of any other relevant evidence bearing upon the question whether the person was under the influence of alcohol.
    (c) 1. If a person under arrest refuses to submit to a chemical test under the provisions of Section 11-501.1, evidence of refusal shall be admissible in any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been committed while the person under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle.
    2. Notwithstanding any ability to refuse under this Code to submit to these tests or any ability to revoke the implied consent to these tests, if a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle driven by or in actual physical control of a person under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof has caused the death or personal injury to another, the law enforcement officer shall request, and that person shall submit, upon the request of a law enforcement officer, to a chemical test or tests of his or her blood, breath or urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol content thereof or the presence of any other drug or combination of both.
    This provision does not affect the applicability of or imposition of driver's license sanctions under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    3. For purposes of this Section, a personal injury includes any Type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A Type A injury includes severe bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
(Source: P.A. 97-450, eff. 8-19-11; 97-471, eff. 8-22-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-122, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.4

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501.4)
    Sec. 11-501.4. Admissibility of chemical tests of blood or urine conducted in the regular course of providing emergency medical treatment.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the results of blood or urine tests performed for the purpose of determining the content of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, of an individual's blood or urine conducted upon persons receiving medical treatment in a hospital emergency room are admissible in evidence as a business record exception to the hearsay rule only in prosecutions for any violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or in prosecutions for reckless homicide brought under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, when each of the following criteria are met:
        (1) the chemical tests performed upon an individual's
    
blood or urine were ordered in the regular course of providing emergency medical treatment and not at the request of law enforcement authorities;
        (2) the chemical tests performed upon an individual's
    
blood or urine were performed by the laboratory routinely used by the hospital; and
        (3) results of chemical tests performed upon an
    
individual's blood or urine are admissible into evidence regardless of the time that the records were prepared.
    (b) The confidentiality provisions of law pertaining to medical records and medical treatment shall not be applicable with regard to chemical tests performed upon an individual's blood or urine under the provisions of this Section in prosecutions as specified in subsection (a) of this Section. No person shall be liable for civil damages as a result of the evidentiary use of chemical testing of an individual's blood or urine test results under this Section, or as a result of that person's testimony made available under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-289, eff. 8-11-09; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.4-1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.4-1)
    Sec. 11-501.4-1. Reporting of test results of blood or urine conducted in the regular course of providing emergency medical treatment.
    (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the results of blood or urine tests performed for the purpose of determining the content of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, in an individual's blood or urine conducted upon persons receiving medical treatment in a hospital emergency room for injuries resulting from a motor vehicle accident shall be disclosed to the Department of State Police or local law enforcement agencies of jurisdiction, upon request. Such blood or urine tests are admissible in evidence as a business record exception to the hearsay rule only in prosecutions for any violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or in prosecutions for reckless homicide brought under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
    (b) The confidentiality provisions of law pertaining to medical records and medical treatment shall not be applicable with regard to tests performed upon an individual's blood or urine under the provisions of subsection (a) of this Section. No person shall be liable for civil damages or professional discipline as a result of the disclosure or reporting of the tests or the evidentiary use of an individual's blood or urine test results under this Section or Section 11-501.4 or as a result of that person's testimony made available under this Section or Section 11-501.4, except for willful or wanton misconduct.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.5) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501.5)
    Sec. 11-501.5. Preliminary Breath Screening Test.
    (a) If a law enforcement officer has reasonable suspicion to believe that a person is violating or has violated Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, the officer, prior to an arrest, may request the person to provide a sample of his or her breath for a preliminary breath screening test using a portable device approved by the Department of State Police. The person may refuse the test. The results of this preliminary breath screening test may be used by the law enforcement officer for the purpose of assisting with the determination of whether to require a chemical test as authorized under Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2, and the appropriate type of test to request. Any chemical test authorized under Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2 may be requested by the officer regardless of the result of the preliminary breath screening test, if probable cause for an arrest exists. The result of a preliminary breath screening test may be used by the defendant as evidence in any administrative or court proceeding involving a violation of Section 11-501 or 11-501.1.
    (b) The Department of State Police shall create a pilot program to establish the effectiveness of pupillometer technology (the measurement of the pupil's reaction to light) as a noninvasive technique to detect and measure possible impairment of any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle resulting from the suspected usage of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof. This technology shall also be used to detect fatigue levels of the operator of a Commercial Motor Vehicle as defined in Section 6-500(6), pursuant to Section 18b-105 (Part 395-Hours of Service of Drivers) of the Illinois Vehicle Code. A State Police officer may request that the operator of a commercial motor vehicle have his or her eyes examined or tested with a pupillometer device. The person may refuse the examination or test. The State Police officer shall have the device readily available to limit undue delays.
    If a State Police officer has reasonable suspicion to believe that a person is violating or has violated Section 11-501, the officer may use the pupillometer technology, when available. The officer, prior to an arrest, may request the person to have his or her eyes examined or tested with a pupillometer device. The person may refuse the examination or test. The results of this examination or test may be used by the officer for the purpose of assisting with the determination of whether to require a chemical test as authorized under Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2 and the appropriate type of test to request. Any chemical test authorized under Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2 may be requested by the officer regardless of the result of the pupillometer examination or test, if probable cause for an arrest exists. The result of the examination or test may be used by the defendant as evidence in any administrative or court proceeding involving a violation of 11-501 or 11-501.1.
    The pilot program shall last for a period of 18 months and involve the testing of 15 pupillometer devices. Within 90 days of the completion of the pilot project, the Department of State Police shall file a report with the President of the Senate and Speaker of the House evaluating the project.
(Source: P.A. 91-828, eff. 1-1-01; 91-881, eff. 6-30-00; 92-16, eff. 6-28-01.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.6

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.6) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501.6)
    Sec. 11-501.6. Driver involvement in personal injury or fatal motor vehicle accident; chemical test.
    (a) Any person who drives or is in actual control of a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State and who has been involved in a personal injury or fatal motor vehicle accident, shall be deemed to have given consent to a breath test using a portable device as approved by the Department of State Police or to a chemical test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of determining the content of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds of such person's blood if arrested as evidenced by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket for any violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, with the exception of equipment violations contained in Chapter 12 of this Code, or similar provisions of local ordinances. The test or tests shall be administered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law enforcement agency employing the officer shall designate which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. A urine test may be administered even after a blood or breath test or both has been administered. Compliance with this Section does not relieve such person from the requirements of Section 11-501.1 of this Code.
    (b) Any person who is dead, unconscious or who is otherwise in a condition rendering such person incapable of refusal shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the consent provided by subsection (a) of this Section. In addition, if a driver of a vehicle is receiving medical treatment as a result of a motor vehicle accident, any physician licensed to practice medicine, licensed physician assistant, licensed advanced practice nurse, registered nurse or a phlebotomist acting under the direction of a licensed physician shall withdraw blood for testing purposes to ascertain the presence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds, upon the specific request of a law enforcement officer. However, no such testing shall be performed until, in the opinion of the medical personnel on scene, the withdrawal can be made without interfering with or endangering the well-being of the patient.
    (c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test, or submission to the test resulting in an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis, as covered by the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act as detected in such person's blood or urine, may result in the suspension of such person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle and may result in the disqualification of the person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-514 of this Code, if the person is a CDL holder. The length of the suspension shall be the same as outlined in Section 6-208.1 of this Code regarding statutory summary suspensions.
    (d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a sworn report to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary, certifying that the test or tests were requested pursuant to subsection (a) and the person refused to submit to a test or tests or submitted to testing which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound in such person's blood or urine, resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary shall enter the suspension and disqualification to the individual's driving record and the suspension and disqualification shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice of the suspension was given to the person.
    The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn report shall serve immediate notice of this suspension on the person and such suspension and disqualification shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or any amount of a drug, substance, or intoxicating compound resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis as listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, is established by a subsequent analysis of blood or urine collected at the time of arrest, the arresting officer shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of such notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to such person at his address as shown on the Uniform Traffic Ticket and the suspension and disqualification shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary shall also give notice of the suspension and disqualification to the driver by mailing a notice of the effective date of the suspension and disqualification to the individual. However, should the sworn report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the notice of the suspension and disqualification shall not be mailed to the person or entered to the driving record, but rather the sworn report shall be returned to the issuing law enforcement agency.
    (e) A driver may contest this suspension of his or her driving privileges and disqualification of his or her CDL privileges by requesting an administrative hearing with the Secretary in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code. At the conclusion of a hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code, the Secretary may rescind, continue, or modify the orders of suspension and disqualification. If the Secretary does not rescind the orders of suspension and disqualification, a restricted driving permit may be granted by the Secretary upon application being made and good cause shown. A restricted driving permit may be granted to relieve undue hardship to allow driving for employment, educational, and medical purposes as outlined in Section 6-206 of this Code. The provisions of Section 6-206 of this Code shall apply. In accordance with 49 C.F.R. 384, the Secretary of State may not issue a restricted driving permit for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle to a person holding a CDL whose driving privileges have been suspended, revoked, cancelled, or disqualified.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) For the purposes of this Section, a personal injury shall include any type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical facility. A type A injury shall include severely bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.
(Source: P.A. 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11; 97-450, eff. 8-19-11; 97-835, eff. 7-20-12.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.7

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.7) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-501.7)
    Sec. 11-501.7. (a) As a condition of probation or discharge of a person convicted of a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, who was less than 21 years of age at the time of the offense, or a person adjudicated delinquent pursuant to the Juvenile Court Act, for violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, the Court may order the offender to participate in the Youthful Intoxicated Drivers' Visitation Program. The Program shall consist of a supervised visitation as provided by this Section by the person to at least one of the following, to the extent that personnel and facilities are available:
        (1) A State or private rehabilitation facility that
    
cares for victims of motor vehicle accidents involving persons under the influence of alcohol.
        (2) A facility which cares for advanced alcoholics to
    
observe persons in the terminal stages of alcoholism, under the supervision of appropriately licensed medical personnel.
        (3) If approved by the coroner of the county where
    
the person resides, the county coroner's office or the county morgue to observe appropriate victims of motor vehicle accidents involving persons under the influence of alcohol, under the supervision of the coroner or deputy coroner.
    (b) The Program shall be operated by the appropriate probation authorities of the courts of the various circuits. The youthful offender ordered to participate in the Program shall bear all costs associated with participation in the Program. A parent or guardian of the offender may assume the obligation of the offender to pay the costs of the Program. The court may waive the requirement that the offender pay the costs of participation in the Program upon a finding of indigency.
    (c) As used in this Section, "appropriate victims" means victims whose condition is determined by the visit supervisor to demonstrate the results of motor vehicle accidents involving persons under the influence of alcohol without being excessively gruesome or traumatic to the observer.
    (d) Any visitation shall include, before any observation of victims or disabled persons, a comprehensive counseling session with the visitation supervisor at which the supervisor shall explain and discuss the experiences which may be encountered during the visitation in order to ascertain whether the visitation is appropriate.
(Source: P.A. 86-1242.)

625 ILCS 5/11-501.8

    (625 ILCS 5/11-501.8)
    Sec. 11-501.8. Suspension of driver's license; persons under age 21.
    (a) A person who is less than 21 years of age and who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent to a chemical test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol content of the person's blood if arrested, as evidenced by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket for any violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, if a police officer has probable cause to believe that the driver has consumed any amount of an alcoholic beverage based upon evidence of the driver's physical condition or other first hand knowledge of the police officer. The test or tests shall be administered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law enforcement agency employing the officer shall designate which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. A urine test may be administered even after a blood or breath test or both has been administered.
    (b) A person who is dead, unconscious, or who is otherwise in a condition rendering that person incapable of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the consent provided by paragraph (a) of this Section and the test or tests may be administered subject to the following provisions:
        (i) Chemical analysis of the person's blood, urine,
    
breath, or other bodily substance, to be considered valid under the provisions of this Section, shall have been performed according to standards promulgated by the Department of State Police by an individual possessing a valid permit issued by that Department for this purpose. The Director of State Police is authorized to approve satisfactory techniques or methods, to ascertain the qualifications and competence of individuals to conduct analyses, to issue permits that shall be subject to termination or revocation at the direction of that Department, and to certify the accuracy of breath testing equipment. The Department of State Police shall prescribe regulations as necessary.
        (ii) When a person submits to a blood test at the
    
request of a law enforcement officer under the provisions of this Section, only a physician authorized to practice medicine, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse, or other qualified person trained in venipuncture and acting under the direction of a licensed physician may withdraw blood for the purpose of determining the alcohol content therein. This limitation does not apply to the taking of breath or urine specimens.
        (iii) The person tested may have a physician,
    
qualified technician, chemist, registered nurse, or other qualified person of his or her own choosing administer a chemical test or tests in addition to any test or tests administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test by a person shall not preclude the consideration of the previously performed chemical test.
        (iv) Upon a request of the person who submits to a
    
chemical test or tests at the request of a law enforcement officer, full information concerning the test or tests shall be made available to the person or that person's attorney.
        (v) Alcohol concentration means either grams of
    
alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
        (vi) If a driver is receiving medical treatment as a
    
result of a motor vehicle accident, a physician licensed to practice medicine, licensed physician assistant, licensed advanced practice nurse, registered nurse, or other qualified person trained in venipuncture and acting under the direction of a licensed physician shall withdraw blood for testing purposes to ascertain the presence of alcohol upon the specific request of a law enforcement officer. However, that testing shall not be performed until, in the opinion of the medical personnel on scene, the withdrawal can be made without interfering with or endangering the well-being of the patient.
    (c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test, or submission to the test resulting in an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00, may result in the loss of that person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle and may result in the disqualification of the person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle, as provided in Section 6-514 of this Code, if the person is a CDL holder. The loss of driving privileges shall be imposed in accordance with Section 6-208.2 of this Code.
    (d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test that discloses an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00, the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a sworn report to the Secretary of State on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, certifying that the test or tests were requested under subsection (a) and the person refused to submit to a test or tests or submitted to testing which disclosed an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00. The law enforcement officer shall submit the same sworn report when a person under the age of 21 submits to testing under Section 11-501.1 of this Code and the testing discloses an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 and less than 0.08.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary of State shall enter the suspension and disqualification on the individual's driving record and the suspension and disqualification shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice of the suspension was given to the person. If this suspension is the individual's first driver's license suspension under this Section, reports received by the Secretary of State under this Section shall, except during the time the suspension is in effect, be privileged information and for use only by the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities, the Secretary of State, or the individual personally, unless the person is a CDL holder, is operating a commercial motor vehicle or vehicle required to be placarded for hazardous materials, in which case the suspension shall not be privileged. Reports received by the Secretary of State under this Section shall also be made available to the parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years that holds an instruction permit or a graduated driver's license, regardless of whether the suspension is in effect.
    The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn report shall serve immediate notice of this suspension on the person and the suspension and disqualification shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.00 is established by a subsequent analysis of blood or urine, the police officer or arresting agency shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in the United States mail of that notice in an envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to that person at his last known address and the loss of driving privileges shall be effective on the 46th day following the date notice was given.
    Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer, the Secretary of State shall also give notice of the suspension and disqualification to the driver by mailing a notice of the effective date of the suspension and disqualification to the individual. However, should the sworn report be defective by not containing sufficient information or be completed in error, the notice of the suspension and disqualification shall not be mailed to the person or entered to the driving record, but rather the sworn report shall be returned to the issuing law enforcement agency.
    (e) A driver may contest this suspension and disqualification by requesting an administrative hearing with the Secretary of State in accordance with Section 2-118 of this Code. An individual whose blood alcohol concentration is shown to be more than 0.00 is not subject to this Section if he or she consumed alcohol in the performance of a religious service or ceremony. An individual whose blood alcohol concentration is shown to be more than 0.00 shall not be subject to this Section if the individual's blood alcohol concentration resulted only from ingestion of the prescribed or recommended dosage of medicine that contained alcohol. The petition for that hearing shall not stay or delay the effective date of the impending suspension. The scope of this hearing shall be limited to the issues of:
        (1) whether the police officer had probable cause to
    
believe that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public highways of the State and the police officer had reason to believe that the person was in violation of any provision of the Illinois Vehicle Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance; and
        (2) whether the person was issued a Uniform Traffic
    
Ticket for any violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance; and
        (3) whether the police officer had probable cause to
    
believe that the driver had consumed any amount of an alcoholic beverage based upon the driver's physical actions or other first-hand knowledge of the police officer; and
        (4) whether the person, after being advised by the
    
officer that the privilege to operate a motor vehicle would be suspended if the person refused to submit to and complete the test or tests, did refuse to submit to or complete the test or tests to determine the person's alcohol concentration; and
        (5) whether the person, after being advised by the
    
officer that the privileges to operate a motor vehicle would be suspended if the person submits to a chemical test or tests and the test or tests disclose an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00, did submit to and complete the test or tests that determined an alcohol concentration of more than 0.00; and
        (6) whether the test result of an alcohol
    
concentration of more than 0.00 was based upon the person's consumption of alcohol in the performance of a religious service or ceremony; and
        (7) whether the test result of an alcohol
    
concentration of more than 0.00 was based upon the person's consumption of alcohol through ingestion of the prescribed or recommended dosage of medicine.
    At the conclusion of the hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code, the Secretary of State may rescind, continue, or modify the suspension and disqualification. If the Secretary of State does not rescind the suspension and disqualification, a restricted driving permit may be granted by the Secretary of State upon application being made and good cause shown. A restricted driving permit may be granted to relieve undue hardship by allowing driving for employment, educational, and medical purposes as outlined in item (3) of part (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code. The provisions of item (3) of part (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code and of subsection (f) of that Section shall apply. The Secretary of State shall promulgate rules providing for participation in an alcohol education and awareness program or activity, a drug education and awareness program or activity, or both as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit for suspensions imposed under this Section.
    (f) The results of any chemical testing performed in accordance with subsection (a) of this Section are not admissible in any civil or criminal proceeding, except that the results of the testing may be considered at a hearing held under Section 2-118 of this Code. However, the results of the testing may not be used to impose driver's license sanctions under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. A law enforcement officer may, however, pursue a statutory summary suspension or revocation of driving privileges under Section 11-501.1 of this Code if other physical evidence or first hand knowledge forms the basis of that suspension or revocation.
    (g) This Section applies only to drivers who are under age 21 at the time of the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket for a violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, and a chemical test request is made under this Section.
    (h) The action of the Secretary of State in suspending, revoking, cancelling, or disqualifying any license or permit shall be subject to judicial review in the Circuit Court of Sangamon County or in the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the provisions of the Administrative Review Law and its rules are hereby adopted and shall apply to and govern every action for the judicial review of final acts or decisions of the Secretary of State under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-1080, eff. 7-16-10; 96-1344, eff. 7-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-450, eff. 8-19-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-502

    (625 ILCS 5/11-502) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-502)
    Sec. 11-502. Transportation or possession of alcoholic liquor in a motor vehicle.
    (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), no driver may transport, carry, possess or have any alcoholic liquor within the passenger area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State except in the original container and with the seal unbroken.
    (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), no passenger may carry, possess or have any alcoholic liquor within any passenger area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State except in the original container and with the seal unbroken.
    (c) This Section shall not apply to the passengers in a limousine when it is being used for purposes for which a limousine is ordinarily used, the passengers on a chartered bus when it is being used for purposes for which chartered buses are ordinarily used or on a motor home or mini motor home as defined in Section 1-145.01 of this Code. However, the driver of any such vehicle is prohibited from consuming or having any alcoholic liquor in or about the driver's area. Any evidence of alcoholic consumption by the driver shall be prima facie evidence of such driver's failure to obey this Section. For the purposes of this Section, a limousine is a motor vehicle of the first division with the passenger compartment enclosed by a partition or dividing window used in the for-hire transportation of passengers and operated by an individual in possession of a valid Illinois driver's license of the appropriate classification pursuant to Section 6-104 of this Code.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) Any driver who is convicted of violating subsection (a) of this Section for a second or subsequent time within one year of a similar conviction shall be subject to suspension of driving privileges as provided, in paragraph 23 of subsection (a) of Section 6-206 of this Code.
    (f) Any driver, who is less than 21 years of age at the date of the offense and who is convicted of violating subsection (a) of this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance, shall be subject to the loss of driving privileges as provided in paragraph 13 of subsection (a) of Section 6-205 of this Code and paragraph 33 of subsection (a) of Section 6-206 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 94-1047, eff. 1-1-07; 95-847, eff. 8-15-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-502.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-502.1)
    Sec. 11-502.1. Possession of medical cannabis in a motor vehicle.
    (a) No driver, who is a medical cannabis cardholder, may use medical cannabis within the passenger area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State.
    (b) No driver, who is a medical cannabis cardholder, a medical cannabis designated caregiver, medical cannabis cultivation center agent, or dispensing organization agent may possess medical cannabis within any area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State except in a sealed, tamper-evident medical cannabis container.
    (c) No passenger, who is a medical cannabis card holder, a medical cannabis designated caregiver, or medical cannabis dispensing organization agent may possess medical cannabis within any passenger area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State except in a sealed, tamper-evident medical cannabis container.
    (d) Any person who violates subsections (a) through (c) of this Section:
        (1) commits a Class A misdemeanor;
        (2) shall be subject to revocation of his or her
    
medical cannabis card for a period of 2 years from the end of the sentence imposed;
        (4) shall be subject to revocation of his or her
    
status as a medical cannabis caregiver, medical cannabis cultivation center agent, or medical cannabis dispensing organization agent for a period of 2 years from the end of the sentence imposed.
(Source: P.A. 98-122, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-503

    (625 ILCS 5/11-503) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-503)
    Sec. 11-503. Reckless driving; aggravated reckless driving.
    (a) A person commits reckless driving if he or she:
        (1) drives any vehicle with a willful or wanton
    
disregard for the safety of persons or property; or
        (2) knowingly drives a vehicle and uses an incline in
    
a roadway, such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
    (b) Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, except as provided under subsections (b-1), (c), and (d) of this Section.
    (b-1) Except as provided in subsection (d), any person convicted of violating subsection (a), if the violation causes bodily harm to a child or a school crossing guard while the school crossing guard is performing his or her official duties, is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
    (c) Every person convicted of committing a violation of subsection (a) shall be guilty of aggravated reckless driving if the violation results in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another. Except as provided in subsection (d) of this Section, aggravated reckless driving is a Class 4 felony.
    (d) Any person convicted of violating subsection (a), if the violation causes great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to a child or a school crossing guard while the school crossing guard is performing his or her official duties, is guilty of aggravated reckless driving. Aggravated reckless driving under this subsection (d) is a Class 3 felony.
(Source: P.A. 95-467, eff. 6-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-504

    (625 ILCS 5/11-504)
    Sec. 11-504. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 83-831. Repealed by P.A. 95-310, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-505

    (625 ILCS 5/11-505) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-505)
    Sec. 11-505. No person shall operate any motor vehicle in such a manner as to cause or allow to be emitted squealing, screeching or other such noise from the vehicle's tires due to rapid acceleration or excessive speed around corners or other such reason.
    This Section shall not apply to the following conditions:
    (a) an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an emergency call or when in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator; nor
    (b) the emergency operation of a motor vehicle when avoiding imminent danger; nor
    (c) any raceway, racing facility or other public event, not part of a highway, sanctioned by the appropriate governmental authority.
(Source: P.A. 86-664.)

625 ILCS 5/11-506

    (625 ILCS 5/11-506)
    Sec. 11-506. Street racing; aggravated street racing.
    (a) No person shall engage in street racing on any street or highway of this State.
    (b) No owner of any vehicle shall acquiesce in or permit his or her vehicle to be used by another for the purpose of street racing.
    (c) For the purposes of this Section, the following words shall have the meanings ascribed to them:
    "Acquiesce" or "permit" means actual knowledge that the motor vehicle was to be used for the purpose of street racing.
    "Street racing" means:
        (1) The operation of 2 or more vehicles from a point
    
side by side at accelerating speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other; or
        (2) The operation of one or more vehicles over a
    
common selected course, each starting at the same point, for the purpose of comparing the relative speeds or power of acceleration of such vehicle or vehicles within a certain distance or time limit; or
        (3) The use of one or more vehicles in an attempt to
    
outgain or outdistance another vehicle; or
        (4) The use of one or more vehicles to prevent
    
another vehicle from passing; or
        (5) The use of one or more vehicles to arrive at a
    
given destination ahead of another vehicle or vehicles; or
        (6) The use of one or more vehicles to test the
    
physical stamina or endurance of drivers over long-distance driving routes.
    (d) Penalties.
        (1) Any person who is convicted of a violation of
    
subsection (a) shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for the first offense and shall be subject to a minimum fine of $250. Any person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) a second or subsequent time shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall be subject to a minimum fine of $500. The driver's license of any person convicted of subsection (a) shall be revoked in the manner provided by Section 6-205 of this Code.
        (2) Any person who is convicted of a violation of
    
subsection (b) shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. Any person who is convicted of subsection (b) for a second or subsequent time shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
        (3) Every person convicted of committing a violation
    
of subsection (a) of this Section shall be guilty of aggravated street racing if the person, in committing a violation of subsection (a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another, where the violation was a proximate cause of the injury. Aggravated street racing is a Class 4 felony for which the defendant, if sentenced to a term of imprisonment shall be sentenced to not less than one year nor more than 12 years.
(Source: P.A. 95-310, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-507

    (625 ILCS 5/11-507)
    Sec. 11-507. Supervising a minor driver while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof.
    (a) A person shall not accompany or provide instruction, pursuant to subsection (a) of Section 6-107.1 of this Code, to a driver who is a minor and driving a motor vehicle pursuant to an instruction permit under Section 6-107.1 of this Code, while:
        (1) the alcohol concentration in the person's blood
    
or breath is 0.08 or more based on the definition of blood and breath units in Section 11-501.2 of this Code;
        (2) under the influence of alcohol;
        (3) under the influence of any intoxicating compound
    
or combination of intoxicating compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of properly supervising or providing instruction to the minor driver;
        (4) under the influence of any other drug or
    
combination of drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of properly supervising or providing instruction to the minor driver;
        (5) under the combined influence of alcohol, other
    
drug or drugs, or intoxicating compound or compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of properly supervising or providing instruction to the minor driver; or
        (6) there is any amount of a drug, substance, or
    
compound in the person's breath, blood, or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act, a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound listed in the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or methamphetamine as listed in the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act.
    (b) A person found guilty of violating this Section is guilty of an offense against the regulations governing the movement of vehicles.
(Source: P.A. 96-1237, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VI

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VI heading)
ARTICLE VI. SPEED RESTRICTIONS

625 ILCS 5/11-601

    (625 ILCS 5/11-601) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-601)
    Sec. 11-601. General speed restrictions.
    (a) No vehicle may be driven upon any highway of this State at a speed which is greater than is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway, or endangers the safety of any person or property. The fact that the speed of a vehicle does not exceed the applicable maximum speed limit does not relieve the driver from the duty to decrease speed when approaching and crossing an intersection, approaching and going around a curve, when approaching a hill crest, when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway, or when special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway conditions. Speed must be decreased as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person or vehicle on or entering the highway in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.
    (b) No person may drive a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed which is greater than the applicable statutory maximum speed limit established by paragraphs (c), (d), (e), (f) or (g) of this Section, by Section 11-605 or by a regulation or ordinance made under this Chapter.
    (c) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this Chapter, the maximum speed limit in an urban district for all vehicles is:
        1. 30 miles per hour; and
        2. 15 miles per hour in an alley.
    (d) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this Chapter, the maximum speed limit outside an urban district for any vehicle is (1) 65 miles per hour (i) for all highways under the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority, unless some other speed limit is designated, and (ii) for all or part of highways that are designated by the Department, have at least 4 lanes of traffic, and have a separation between the roadways moving in opposite directions and (2) 55 miles per hour for all other highways, roads, and streets.
    (d-1) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this Chapter, the maximum speed limit outside an urban district for any vehicle is (1) 70 miles per hour on any interstate highway as defined by Section 1-133.1 of this Code; (2) 65 miles per hour for all or part of highways that are designated by the Department, have at least 4 lanes of traffic, and have a separation between the roadways moving in opposite directions; and (3) 55 miles per hour for all other highways, roads, and streets. The counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, Madison, McHenry, St. Clair, and Will may adopt ordinances setting a maximum speed limit on highways, roads, and streets that is lower than the limits established by this Section.
    (e) In the counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will, unless some lesser speed restriction is established under this Chapter, the maximum speed limit outside an urban district for a second division vehicle designed or used for the carrying of a gross weight of 8,001 pounds or more (including the weight of the vehicle and maximum load) is 55 miles per hour.
    (e-1) (Blank).
    (f) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this Chapter, the maximum speed limit outside an urban district for a bus is:
        1. 65 miles per hour upon any highway which has at
    
least 4 lanes of traffic and of which the roadways for traffic moving in opposite directions are separated by a strip of ground which is not surfaced or suitable for vehicular traffic, except that the maximum speed limit for a bus on all highways, roads, or streets not under the jurisdiction of the Department or the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority is 55 miles per hour;
        1.5. 70 miles per hour upon any interstate highway as
    
defined by Section 1-133.1 of this Code outside the counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will; and
        2. 55 miles per hour on any other highway.
    (g) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 97-202, eff. 1-1-12; 98-511, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-601.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-601.5)
    Sec. 11-601.5. Driving 26 miles per hour or more in excess of applicable limit.
    (a) A person who drives a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed that is 26 miles per hour or more but less than 35 miles per hour in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit established under this Chapter or a local ordinance commits a Class B misdemeanor.
    (b) A person who drives a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed that is 35 miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit established under this Chapter or a local ordinance commits a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 98-511, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-602

    (625 ILCS 5/11-602) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-602)
    Sec. 11-602. Alteration of limits by Department. Whenever the Department determines, upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation concerning any highway for which the Department has maintenance responsibility, that a maximum speed limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter is greater or less than is reasonable or safe with respect to the conditions found to exist at any intersection or other place on such highway or along any part or zone thereof, the Department shall determine and declare a reasonable and safe absolute maximum speed limit applicable to such intersection or place, or along such part or zone. However, such limit shall conform with the maximum speed limit restrictions provided for in Section 11-601 of this Code. Where a highway under the Department's jurisdiction is contiguous to school property, the Department may, at the school district's request, set a reduced maximum speed limit for student safety purposes in the portion of the highway that faces the school property and in the portions of the highway that extend one-quarter mile in each direction from the opposite ends of the school property. A limit determined and declared as provided in this Section becomes effective, and suspends the applicability of the limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter, when appropriate signs giving notice of the limit are erected at such intersection or other place, or along such part or zone of the highway. Electronic speed-detecting devices shall not be used within 500 feet beyond any such sign in the direction of travel; if so used in violation hereof, evidence obtained thereby shall be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding. However, nothing in this Section prohibits the use of such electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of a sign within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, conforming to the requirements of Section 11-605 of this Act, nor shall evidence obtained thereby be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use of such device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in such special school speed zone.
(Source: P.A. 98-511, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-603

    (625 ILCS 5/11-603) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-603)
    Sec. 11-603. Alteration of limits by Toll Highway Authority. Whenever the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority determines, upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation concerning a toll highway under its jurisdiction, that a maximum speed limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter is greater or less than is reasonable or safe with respect to conditions found to exist at any place or along any part or zone of such highway, the Authority shall determine and declare by regulation a reasonable and safe absolute maximum speed limit at such place or along such part or zone, and the speed limit shall conform with the maximum speed limit restrictions provided for in Section 11-601 of this Code. A limit so determined and declared becomes effective, and suspends the application of the limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter, when (a) the Department concurs in writing with the Authority's regulation, and (b) appropriate signs giving notice of the limit are erected at such place or along such part or zone of the highway. Electronic speed-detecting devices shall not be used within 500 feet beyond any such sign in the direction of travel; if so used in violation hereof, evidence obtained thereby shall be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding.
(Source: P.A. 98-511, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-604

    (625 ILCS 5/11-604) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-604)
    Sec. 11-604. Alteration of limits by local authorities.
    (a) Subject to the limitations set forth in this Section, the county board of a county may establish absolute maximum speed limits on all county highways, township roads and district roads as defined in the Illinois Highway Code, except those under the jurisdiction of the Department or of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority, as described in Sections 11-602 and 11-603 of this Chapter; and any park district, city, village, or incorporated town may establish absolute maximum speed limits on all streets which are within its corporate limits and which are not under the jurisdiction of the Department or of such Authority, and for which the county or a highway commissioner of such county does not have maintenance responsibility.
    (b) Whenever any such park district, city, village, or incorporated town determines, upon the basis of an engineering or traffic investigation concerning a highway or street on which it is authorized by this Section to establish speed limits, that a maximum speed limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter is greater or less than is reasonable or safe with respect to the conditions found to exist at any place or along any part or zone of such highway or street, the local authority or park district shall determine and declare by ordinance a reasonable and safe absolute maximum speed limit at such place or along such part or zone, which:
        (1) Decreases the limit within an urban district, but
    
not to less than 20 miles per hour; or
        (2) Increases the limit within an urban district, but
    
not to more than 55 miles per hour; or
        (3) Decreases the limit outside of an urban district,
    
but not to less than 35 miles per hour, except as otherwise provided in subparagraph 4 of this paragraph; or
        (4) Decreases the limit within a residence district,
    
but not to less than 25 miles per hour, except as otherwise provided in subparagraph 1 of this paragraph.
    The park district, city, village, or incorporated town may make such limit applicable at all times or only during certain specified times. Not more than 6 such alterations shall be made per mile along a highway or street; and the difference in limit between adjacent altered speed zones shall not be more than 10 miles per hour.
    A limit so determined and declared by a park district, city, village, or incorporated town becomes effective, and suspends the application of the limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter, when appropriate signs giving notice of the limit are erected at the proper place or along the proper part or zone of the highway or street. Electronic speed-detecting devices shall not be used within 500 feet beyond any such sign in the direction of travel; if so used in violation of this Section evidence obtained thereby shall be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding. However, nothing in this Section prohibits the use of such electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of a sign within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, conforming to the requirements of Section 11-605 of this Act, nor shall evidence obtained thereby be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use of such device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in such special school speed zone.
    (c) A county engineer or superintendent of highways may submit to the Department for approval, a county policy for establishing altered speed zones on township and county highways based upon engineering and traffic investigations.
    (d) Whenever the county board of a county determines that a maximum speed limit is greater or less than is reasonable or safe with respect to the conditions found to exist at any place or along any part or zone of the highway or road, the county board shall determine and declare by ordinance a reasonable and safe absolute maximum speed limit at that place or along that part or zone. However, the maximum speed limit shall not exceed 55 miles per hour. Upon receipt of an engineering study for the part or zone of highway in question from the county engineer, and notwithstanding any other provision of law, the county board of a county may determine and declare by ordinance a reduction in the maximum speed limit at any place or along any part or zone of a county highway whenever the county board, in its sole discretion, determines that the reduction in the maximum speed limit is reasonable and safe. The county board may post signs designating the new speed limit. The limit becomes effective, and suspends the application of the limit prescribed in Section 11-601 of this Chapter, when appropriate signs giving notice of the limit are erected at the proper place or along the proper part of the zone of the highway. Electronic speed-detecting devices shall not be used within 500 feet beyond any such sign in the direction of travel; if so used in violation of this Section, evidence obtained thereby shall be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding. However, nothing in this Section prohibits the use of such electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of a sign within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, conforming to the requirements of Section 11-605 of this Act, nor shall evidence obtained thereby be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use of such device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in such special school speed zone.
(Source: P.A. 95-574, eff. 6-1-08; 95-788, eff. 8-7-08.)

625 ILCS 5/11-605

    (625 ILCS 5/11-605) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-605)
    Sec. 11-605. Special speed limit while passing schools.
    (a) For the purpose of this Section, "school" means the following entities:
        (1) A public or private primary or secondary school.
        (2) A primary or secondary school operated by a
    
religious institution.
        (3) A public, private, or religious nursery school.
    On a school day when school children are present and so close thereto that a potential hazard exists because of the close proximity of the motorized traffic, no person shall drive a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 20 miles per hour while passing a school zone or while traveling on a roadway on public school property or upon any public thoroughfare where children pass going to and from school.
    For the purpose of this Section a school day shall begin at seven ante meridian and shall conclude at four post meridian.
    This Section shall not be applicable unless appropriate signs are posted upon streets and highways under their respective jurisdiction and maintained by the Department, township, county, park district, city, village or incorporated town wherein the school zone is located. With regard to the special speed limit while passing schools, such signs shall give proper due warning that a school zone is being approached and shall indicate the school zone and the maximum speed limit in effect during school days when school children are present.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) Nothing in this Chapter shall prohibit the use of electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of signs within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, as defined in this Section, nor shall evidence obtained thereby be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use of such device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in such special school speed zone.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) A first violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $150. A second or subsequent violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $300.
    (f) When a fine for a violation of subsection (a) is $150 or greater, the person who violates subsection (a) shall be charged an additional $50 to be paid to the unit school district where the violation occurred for school safety purposes. If the violation occurred in a dual school district, $25 of the surcharge shall be paid to the elementary school district for school safety purposes and $25 of the surcharge shall be paid to the high school district for school safety purposes. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the entire $50 surcharge shall be paid to the appropriate school district or districts.
    For purposes of this subsection (f), "school safety purposes" includes the costs associated with school zone safety education, the Safe Routes to School Program under Section 2705-317 of the Department of Transportation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, safety programs within the School Safety and Educational Improvement Block Grant Program under Section 2-3.51.5 of the School Code, and the purchase, installation, and maintenance of caution lights which are mounted on school speed zone signs.
    (g) (Blank).
    (h) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 96-52, eff. 7-23-09.)

625 ILCS 5/11-605.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-605.1)
    Sec. 11-605.1. Special limit while traveling through a highway construction or maintenance speed zone.
    (a) A person may not operate a motor vehicle in a construction or maintenance speed zone at a speed in excess of the posted speed limit when workers are present.
    (a-5) A person may not operate a motor vehicle in a construction or maintenance speed zone at a speed in excess of the posted speed limit when workers are not present.
    (b) Nothing in this Chapter prohibits the use of electronic speed-detecting devices within 500 feet of signs within a construction or maintenance speed zone indicating the zone, as defined in this Section, nor shall evidence obtained by use of those devices be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding, provided the use of the device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in the construction or maintenance speed zone.
    (c) As used in this Section, a "construction or maintenance speed zone" is an area in which the Department, Toll Highway Authority, or local agency has posted signage advising drivers that a construction or maintenance speed zone is being approached, or in which the Department, Authority, or local agency has posted a lower speed limit with a highway construction or maintenance speed zone special speed limit sign after determining that the preexisting established speed limit through a highway construction or maintenance project is greater than is reasonable or safe with respect to the conditions expected to exist in the construction or maintenance speed zone.
    If it is determined that the preexisting established speed limit is safe with respect to the conditions expected to exist in the construction or maintenance speed zone, additional speed limit signs which conform to the requirements of this subsection (c) shall be posted.
    Highway construction or maintenance speed zone special speed limit signs shall be of a design approved by the Department. The signs must give proper due warning that a construction or maintenance speed zone is being approached and must indicate the maximum speed limit in effect. The signs also must state the amount of the minimum fine for a violation.
    (d) A first violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $250. A second or subsequent violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $750.
    (e) If a fine for a violation of this Section is $250 or greater, the person who violated this Section shall be charged an additional $125, which shall be deposited into the Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund in the State treasury, unless (i) the violation occurred on a highway other than an interstate highway and (ii) a county police officer wrote the ticket for the violation, in which case the $125 shall be deposited into that county's Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund. In the case of a second or subsequent violation of this Section, if the fine is $750 or greater, the person who violated this Section shall be charged an additional $250, which shall be deposited into the Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund in the State treasury, unless (i) the violation occurred on a highway other than an interstate highway and (ii) a county police officer wrote the ticket for the violation, in which case the $250 shall be deposited into that county's Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund.
    (e-5) The Department of State Police and the local county police department have concurrent jurisdiction over any violation of this Section that occurs on an interstate highway.
    (f) The Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund, which was created by Public Act 92-619, shall continue to be a special fund in the State treasury. Subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and approval by the Secretary, the Secretary of Transportation shall use all moneys in the Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund to hire off-duty Department of State Police officers to monitor construction or maintenance zones.
    (f-5) Each county shall create a Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund. The county shall use all moneys in its Transportation Safety Highway Hire-back Fund to hire off-duty county police officers to monitor construction or maintenance zones in that county on highways other than interstate highways.
    (g) For a second or subsequent violation of this Section within 2 years of the date of the previous violation, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license of the violator for a period of 90 days. This suspension shall only be imposed if the current violation of this Section and at least one prior violation of this Section occurred during a period when workers were present in the construction or maintenance zone.
(Source: P.A. 97-830, eff. 1-1-13; 98-337, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-605.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-605.2)
    Sec. 11-605.2. Delegation of authority to set a special speed limit while traveling through highway construction or maintenance zones.
    (a) A local agency may delegate to its superintendent of highways the authority to set and post a reduced speed limit for a construction or maintenance zone, as defined in Section 11-605.1, under subsection (c) of that Section.
    (b) If a superintendent of highways sets a reduced speed limit for a construction or maintenance zone in accordance with this Section, the local agency must maintain a record that indicates:
        (1) the location of the construction or maintenance
    
zone;
        (2) the reduced speed limit set and posted for the
    
construction or maintenance zone; and
        (3) the dates during which the reduced speed limit
    
was in effect.
(Source: P.A. 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-605.3

    (625 ILCS 5/11-605.3)
    Sec. 11-605.3. Special traffic protections while passing parks and recreation facilities and areas.
    (a) As used in this Section:
        (1) "Park district" means the following entities:
            (A) any park district organized under the Park
        
District Code;
            (B) any park district organized under the Chicago
        
Park District Act; and
            (C) any municipality, county, forest district,
        
school district, township, or other unit of local government that operates a public recreation department or public recreation facilities that has recreation facilities that are not on land owned by any park district listed in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this subdivision (a)(1).
        (2) "Park zone" means the recreation facilities and
    
areas on any land owned or operated by a park district that are used for recreational purposes, including but not limited to: parks; playgrounds; swimming pools; hiking trails; bicycle paths; picnic areas; roads and streets; and parking lots.
        (3) "Park zone street" means that portion of any
    
street or intersection under the control of a local unit of government, adjacent to a park zone, where the local unit of government has, by ordinance or resolution, designated and approved the street or intersection as a park zone street. If, before the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, a street already had a posted speed limit lower than 20 miles per hour, then the lower limit may be used for that park zone street.
        (4) "Safety purposes" means the costs associated
    
with: park zone safety education; the purchase, installation, and maintenance of signs, roadway painting, and caution lights mounted on park zone signs; and any other expense associated with park zones and park zone streets.
    (b) On any day when children are present and within 50 feet of motorized traffic, a person may not drive a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 20 miles per hour or any lower posted speed while traveling on a park zone street that has been designated for the posted reduced speed.
    (c) On any day when children are present and within 50 feet of motorized traffic, any driver traveling on a park zone street who fails to come to a complete stop at a stop sign or red light, including a driver who fails to come to a complete stop at a red light before turning right onto a park zone street, is in violation of this Section.
    (d) This Section does not apply unless appropriate signs are posted upon park zone streets maintained by the Department or by the unit of local government in which the park zone is located. With regard to the special speed limit on park zone streets, the signs must give proper due warning that a park zone is being approached and must indicate the maximum speed limit on the park zone street.
    (e) A first violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $250. A second or subsequent violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $500.
    (f) When a fine for a violation of this Section is imposed, the person who violates this Section shall be charged an additional $50, to be paid to the park district for safety purposes.
    (g) The Department shall, within 6 months of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, design a set of standardized traffic signs for park zones and park zone streets, including but not limited to: "park zone", "park zone speed limit", and "warning: approaching a park zone". The design of these signs shall be made available to all units of local government or manufacturers at no charge, except for reproduction and postage.
(Source: P.A. 94-808, eff. 5-26-06.)

625 ILCS 5/11-606

    (625 ILCS 5/11-606) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-606)
    Sec. 11-606. Minimum speed regulation. (a) No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation of his vehicle or in compliance with law.
    (b) Whenever the Department, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority, or a local authority described in Section 11-604 of this Chapter determines, upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation concerning a highway or street under its jurisdiction that slow vehicle speeds along any part or zone of such highway or street consistently impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic, the Department, the Toll Highway Authority, or local authority (as appropriate) may determine and declare by proper regulation or ordinance a minimum speed limit below which no person shall drive except when necessary for safe operation of his vehicle or in compliance with law. A limit so determined and declared becomes effective when appropriate signs giving notice of the limit are erected along such part or zone of the highway or street.
(Source: P.A. 81-840.)

625 ILCS 5/11-608

    (625 ILCS 5/11-608) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-608)
    Sec. 11-608. Special speed limitation on elevated structures. (a) No person shall drive a vehicle over any bridge or other elevated structure constituting a part of a highway at a speed which is greater than the maximum speed which can be maintained with safety to such bridge or structure, when such structure is sign posted as provided in this Section.
    (b) The Department upon request from any local authority shall, or upon its own initiative may, conduct an investigation of any bridge or other elevated structure constituting a part of a highway, and if it shall thereupon find that such structure cannot with safety to itself withstand vehicles traveling at the speed otherwise permissible under this Chapter, the Department shall determine and declare the maximum speed of vehicles which such structure can safely withstand, and shall cause or permit suitable signs stating such maximum speed to be erected and maintained before each end of such structure.
    (c) Upon the trial of any person charged with a violation of this Section proof of the determination of the maximum speed by the Department and the existence of such signs is conclusive evidence of the maximum speed which can be maintained with safety to such bridge or structure.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-610

    (625 ILCS 5/11-610) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-610)
    Sec. 11-610. Charging Violations and Rule in Civil Actions. (a) In every charge of violation of any speed regulation in this article the complaint, and also the summons or notice to appear, shall specify the speed at which the defendant is alleged to have driven and the maximum speed applicable within the district or at the location.
    (b) The provision of this article declaring maximum speed limitations shall not be construed to relieve the plaintiff in any action from the burden of proving negligence on the part of the defendant as the proximate cause of an accident.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)

625 ILCS 5/11-611

    (625 ILCS 5/11-611) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-611)
    Sec. 11-611. No person shall drive or operate any motor vehicle on any street or highway in this State where the minimum allowable speed on that street or highway, as posted, is greater than the maximum attainable operating speed of the vehicle. Maximum attainable operating speed shall be determined by the manufacturer of the vehicle and clearly published in the manual of specifications and operation, or it shall be determined by applicable rule and regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State.
(Source: P.A. 79-700.)

625 ILCS 5/11-612

    (625 ILCS 5/11-612)
    Sec. 11-612. Certain systems to record vehicle speeds prohibited. Except as authorized in the Automated Traffic Control Systems in Highway Construction or Maintenance Zones Act and Section 11-208.8 of this Code, no photographic, video, or other imaging system may be used in this State to record vehicle speeds for the purpose of enforcing any law or ordinance regarding a maximum or minimum speed limit unless a law enforcement officer is present at the scene and witnesses the event. No State or local governmental entity, including a home rule county or municipality, may use such a system in a way that is prohibited by this Section. The regulation of the use of such systems is an exclusive power and function of the State. This Section is a denial and limitation of home rule powers and functions under subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution.
(Source: P.A. 97-672, eff. 7-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. DRIVING ON RIGHT SIDE OF
ROADWAY; OVERTAKING AND PASSING, ETC.

625 ILCS 5/11-701

    (625 ILCS 5/11-701) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-701)
    Sec. 11-701. Drive on right side of roadway - Exceptions.
    (a) Upon all roadways of sufficient width a vehicle shall be driven upon the right half of the roadway, except as follows:
        1. When overtaking and passing another vehicle
    
proceeding in the same direction under the rules governing such movements;
        2. When an obstruction exists making it necessary to
    
drive to the left of the center of the roadway; provided, any person so doing shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles traveling in the proper direction upon the unobstructed portion of the roadway within such distance as to constitute an immediate hazard;
        3. Upon a roadway divided into 3 marked lanes for
    
traffic under the rules applicable thereon;
        4. Upon a roadway restricted to one way traffic;
        5. Whenever there is a single track paved road on one
    
side of the public highway and 2 vehicles meet thereon, the driver on whose right is the wider shoulder shall give the right-of-way on such pavement to the other vehicle.
    (b) Upon a 2 lane roadway, providing for 2-way movement of traffic, a vehicle shall be driven in the right-hand lane available for traffic, or as close as practicable to the right hand curb or edge of the roadway, except when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction or when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway.
    (c) Upon any roadway having 4 or more lanes for moving traffic and providing for 2-way movement of traffic, no vehicle shall be driven to the left of the center line of the roadway, except when authorized by official traffic-control devices designating certain lanes to the left side of the center of the roadway for use by traffic not otherwise permitted to use such lanes, or except as permitted under Subsection (a) 2. However, this Subsection shall not be construed as prohibiting the crossing of the center line in making a left turn into or from an alley, private road or driveway.
    (d) Upon an Interstate highway or fully access controlled freeway, a vehicle may not be driven in the left lane, except when overtaking and passing another vehicle.
    (e) Subsection (d) of this Section does not apply:
        (1) when no other vehicle is directly behind the
    
vehicle in the left lane;
        (2) when traffic conditions and congestion make it
    
impractical to drive in the right lane;
        (3) when snow and other inclement weather conditions
    
make it necessary to drive in the left lane;
        (4) when obstructions or hazards exist in the right
    
lane;
        (5) when a vehicle changes lanes to comply with
    
Sections 11-907 and 11-908 of this Code;
        (6) when, because of highway design, a vehicle must
    
be driven in the left lane when preparing to exit;
        (7) on toll highways when necessary to use I-Pass,
    
and on toll and other highways when driving in the left lane is required to comply with an official traffic control device; or
        (8) to law enforcement vehicles, ambulances, and
    
other emergency vehicles engaged in official duties and vehicles engaged in highway maintenance and construction operations.
(Source: P.A. 93-447, eff. 1-1-04.)

625 ILCS 5/11-702

    (625 ILCS 5/11-702) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-702)
    Sec. 11-702. Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions. Drivers of vehicles proceeding in opposite directions shall pass each other to the right, and upon roadways having width for not more than one line of traffic in each direction each driver shall give to the other at least one-half of the main-traveled portion of the roadway as nearly as possible.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)

625 ILCS 5/11-703

    (625 ILCS 5/11-703) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-703)
    Sec. 11-703. Overtaking a vehicle on the left. The following rules govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles proceeding in the same direction, subject to those limitations, exceptions, and special rules otherwise stated in this Chapter:
        (a) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another
    
vehicle proceeding in the same direction shall pass to the left thereof at a safe distance and shall not again drive to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the overtaken vehicle. In no event shall such movement be made by driving off the pavement or the main traveled portion of the roadway.
        (b) Except when overtaking and passing on the right
    
is permitted, the driver of an overtaken vehicle shall give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle on audible signal and shall not increase the speed of his vehicle until completely passed by the overtaking vehicle.
        (c) The driver of a 2 wheeled vehicle may not, in
    
passing upon the left of any vehicle proceeding in the same direction, pass upon the right of any vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless there is an unobstructed lane of traffic available to permit such passing maneuver safely.
        (d) The operator of a motor vehicle overtaking a
    
bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction on a highway shall leave a safe distance, but not less than 3 feet, when passing the bicycle or individual and shall maintain that distance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or individual.
        (e) A person driving a motor vehicle shall not, in a
    
reckless manner, drive the motor vehicle unnecessarily close to, toward, or near a bicyclist, pedestrian, or a person riding a horse or driving an animal drawn vehicle.
        (f) Every person convicted of paragraph (e) of this
    
Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the violation does not result in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another. If the violation results in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another, the person shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony.
(Source: P.A. 95-231, eff. 1-1-08; 96-1007, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-704

    (625 ILCS 5/11-704) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-704)
    Sec. 11-704. When overtaking on the right is permitted.
    (a) The driver of a vehicle with 3 or more wheels may overtake and pass upon the right of another vehicle only under the following conditions:
        1. When the vehicle overtaken is making or about to
    
make a left turn;
        2. Upon a roadway with unobstructed pavement of
    
sufficient width for two or more lines of vehicles moving lawfully in the direction being traveled by the overtaking vehicle.
        3. Upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on
    
which traffic is restricted to one direction of movement, where the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient width for 2 or more lines of moving vehicles.
    (b) The driver of a 2 wheeled vehicle may not pass upon the right of any other vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless the unobstructed pavement to the right of the vehicle being passed is of a width of not less than 8 feet. This subsection does not apply to devices propelled by human power.
    (c) The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the right only under conditions permitting such movement in safety. Such movement shall not be made by driving off the roadway.
(Source: P.A. 98-485, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-705

    (625 ILCS 5/11-705) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-705)
    Sec. 11-705. Limitations on overtaking on the left.
    No vehicle shall be driven to the left side of the center of the roadway in overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless authorized by the provisions of this Chapter and unless such left side is clearly visible and is free of oncoming traffic for a sufficient distance ahead to permit such overtaking and passing to be completely made without interfering with the safe operation of any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction or any vehicle overtaken. In every event the overtaking vehicle must return to an authorized lane of travel as soon as practicable and in the event the passing movement involves the use of a lane authorized for vehicles approaching from the opposite direction, before coming within 200 feet of any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-706

    (625 ILCS 5/11-706) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-706)
    Sec. 11-706. Further limitations on driving to the left of center of roadway. (a) No vehicle shall be driven on the left side of the roadway under the following conditions:
    1. When approaching or upon the crest of a grade or a curve in the highway where the driver's view is obstructed within such distance as to create a hazard in the event another vehicle might approach from the opposite direction.
    2. When approaching within 100 feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad grade crossing.
    3. When the view is obstructed upon approaching within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct or tunnel.
    (b) The limitations in sub-paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 do not apply upon a one-way roadway nor upon a roadway with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width for 2 or more lanes of moving traffic in each direction nor to the driver of a vehicle turning left into or from an alley, private road or driveway when such movements can be made with safety.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)

625 ILCS 5/11-707

    (625 ILCS 5/11-707) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-707)
    Sec. 11-707. No-passing zones. (a) The Department and local authorities are authorized to determine those portions of any highway under their respective jurisdictions where overtaking and passing or driving on the left of the roadway would be especially hazardous and may by appropriate signs or markings on the roadway indicate the beginning and end of such zones. Upon request of a local school board, the Department or local authority which has jurisdiction over the roadway in question, shall determine whether a hazardous situation exists at a particular location and warrants a no-passing zone. If the Department or local authority determines that a no-passing zone is warranted, the school board and the Department or local authority shall share equally the cost of designating the no-passing zone by signs and markings. When such signs or markings are in place and clearly visible to an ordinarily observant person every driver of a vehicle shall obey the directions thereof.
    (b) Where signs or markings are in place to define a no-passing zone as set forth in paragraph (a) no driver may at any time drive on the left side of the roadway within the no-passing zone or on the left side of any pavement striping designed to mark such no-passing zone throughout its length.
    (c) This Section does not apply under the conditions described in Section 11-701 (a) 2, nor to the driver of a vehicle turning left into or from an alley, private road or driveway. The pavement striping designed to mark the no-passing zone may be crossed from the left hand lane for the purpose of completing a pass that was begun prior to the beginning of the zone in the driver's direction of travel.
    (d) Special speed limit areas required under Section 11-605 of this Code in unincorporated areas only shall also be no-passing zones.
(Source: P.A. 86-471.)

625 ILCS 5/11-708

    (625 ILCS 5/11-708) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-708)
    Sec. 11-708. One-way roadways and rotary traffic islands. (a) The Department and local authorities, with respect to highways under their respective jurisdictions, may designate any highway, roadway, part of a roadway or specific lanes upon which vehicular traffic shall proceed in one direction at all or such times as shall be indicated by official traffic control devices.
    (b) Upon a roadway so designated for one-way traffic, a vehicle shall be driven only in the direction designated at all or such times as shall be indicated by official traffic control devices.
    (c) A vehicle passing around a rotary traffic island must be driven only to the right of such island.
    (d) Whenever any highway has been divided into 2 or more roadways by leaving an intervening space or by a physical barrier or a clearly indicated dividing section so constructed as to impede vehicular traffic, every vehicle must be driven only upon the right-hand roadway unless directed or permitted to use another roadway by official traffic-control devices or police officers. No vehicle may be driven over, across, or within any such dividing space, barrier, or section, except through an opening in the physical barrier, or dividing section, or space, or at a cross-over or intersection as established by public authority.
    (e) The driver of a vehicle may turn left across a paved noncurbed dividing space unless prohibited by an official traffic-control device.
(Source: P.A. 84-873.)

625 ILCS 5/11-709

    (625 ILCS 5/11-709) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-709)
    Sec. 11-709. Driving on roadways laned for traffic. Whenever any roadway has been divided into 2 or more clearly marked lanes for traffic the following rules in addition to all others consistent herewith shall apply.
    (a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety.
    (b) Upon a roadway which is divided into 3 lanes and provides for two-way movement of traffic, a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except when overtaking and passing another vehicle traveling in the same direction when such center lane is clear of traffic within a safe distance, or in preparation for making a left turn or where such center lane is at the time allocated exclusively to traffic moving in the same direction that the vehicle is proceeding and such allocation is designated by official traffic control devices.
    (c) Official traffic control devices may be erected directing specific traffic to use a designated lane or designating those lanes to be used by traffic moving in a particular direction regardless of the center of the roadway and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions of every such device. On multi-lane controlled access highways with 3 or more lanes in one direction or on any multi-laned highway with 2 or more lanes in one direction, the Department may designate lanes of traffic to be used by different types of motor vehicles. Drivers must obey lane designation signing except when it is necessary to use a different lane to make a turning maneuver.
    (d) Official traffic control devices may be installed prohibiting the changing of lanes on sections of roadway and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions of every such device.
(Source: P.A. 84-1311.)

625 ILCS 5/11-709.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-709.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-709.1)
    Sec. 11-709.1. Driving on the shoulder.
    (a) Vehicles shall be driven on a roadway, and shall only be driven on the shoulder for the purpose of stopping or accelerating from a stop while merging into traffic. It shall be a violation of this Section if while merging into traffic and while on the shoulder, the vehicle passes any other vehicle on the roadway adjacent to it.
    (b) This Section shall not apply to any authorized emergency vehicle, to any authorized transit bus, to any farm tractor or implement of husbandry, to any service vehicle while engaged in maintenance of the highway or related work, or to any authorized vehicle within a designated construction zone.
(Source: P.A. 97-292, eff. 8-11-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-709.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-709.2)
    Sec. 11-709.2. Bus on shoulder pilot program.
    (a) For purposes of this Section, "bus on shoulders" is the use of specifically designated shoulders of roadways by authorized transit buses. The shoulders may be used by transit buses at times and locations as set by the Department in cooperation with the Regional Transportation Authority and the Suburban Bus Division of the Regional Transportation Authority.
    (b) Commencing on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the Department along with the Regional Transportation Authority and Suburban Bus Division of the Regional Transportation Authority in cooperation with the Illinois State Police shall establish a 5-year pilot program within the boundaries of the Regional Transportation Authority for transit buses on highways and shoulders. The pilot program may be implemented on shoulders of highways as designated by the Department in cooperation with the Regional Transportation Authority and Suburban Bus Division of the Regional Transportation Authority. The Department may adopt rules necessary for transit buses to use roadway shoulders.
    (c) After the pilot program established under subsection (b) of this Section has been operating for 2 years, the Department in cooperation with the Regional Transit Authority, the Suburban Bus Division of the Regional Transportation Authority, and the Illinois State Police shall issue a report to the General Assembly on the effectiveness of the bus on shoulders pilot program.
(Source: P.A. 97-292, eff. 8-11-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-709.3

    (625 ILCS 5/11-709.3)
    Sec. 11-709.3. Transit buses on shoulders - toll highways. The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority may allow transit buses to use the shoulders of highways under its jurisdiction as part of the bus on shoulder pilot program under Section 11-709.2 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-292, eff. 8-11-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-710

    (625 ILCS 5/11-710) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-710)
    Sec. 11-710. Following too closely. (a) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway.
    (b) The driver of any truck or motor vehicle drawing another vehicle when traveling upon a roadway outside of a business or residence district and which is following another truck or motor vehicle drawing another vehicle shall, whenever conditions permit, leave sufficient space so that an overtaking vehicle may enter and occupy such space without danger, except that this shall not prevent a truck or motor vehicle drawing another vehicle from overtaking and passing any vehicle or combination of vehicles.
    (c) Motor vehicles being driven upon any roadway outside of a business or residence district in a caravan or motorcade whether or not towing other vehicles shall be so operated as to allow sufficient space between each such vehicle or combination of vehicles so as to enable any other vehicle to enter and occupy such space without danger. This provision shall not apply to funeral processions.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)

625 ILCS 5/11-711

    (625 ILCS 5/11-711) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-711)
    Sec. 11-711. Restrictions on use of controlled access highway.
    (a) No person may drive a vehicle onto or from any controlled access highway except at entrances and exits established by public authority.
    (b) The Department with respect to any controlled access highway under its jurisdiction may prohibit the use of any such highways by pedestrians (except in authorized areas or facilities), bicycles, farm tractors, implements of husbandry, funeral processions, and any vehicle unable to maintain the minimum speed for which the highway is posted, or other non-motorized traffic or by any person operating a motor driven cycle. The Department may also prohibit the use of such highway to school buses picking up and discharging children and mail delivery vehicles picking up or delivering mail. The Department shall erect and maintain official signs on the controlled access highway on which such prohibitions are applicable and when so erected no person may disobey the restrictions stated on such sign.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. VIII heading)
ARTICLE VIII. TURNING AND STARTING
AND SIGNALS ON STOPPING AND TURNING

625 ILCS 5/11-801

    (625 ILCS 5/11-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-801)
    Sec. 11-801. Required position and method of turning. (a) The driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as follows:
    (1) Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practical to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.
    (2) The driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any intersection shall approach the intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the direction of travel of such vehicle, and after entering the intersection, the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection in a lane lawfully available to traffic moving in such direction upon the roadway being entered. Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center of the intersection.
    (3) The Department and local authorities in their respective jurisdictions may cause official traffic control devices to be placed within or adjacent to intersections and thereby require and direct that a different course from that specified in this Section be traveled by vehicles turning at an intersection, and when such devices are so placed no driver of a vehicle shall turn a vehicle at an intersection other than as directed and required by such devices.
    (b) Two-way left turn lanes. Where a special lane for making left turns by drivers proceeding in opposite directions has been indicated by official traffic-control devices:
    (1) A left turn shall not be made from any other lane.
    (2) A vehicle shall not be driven in the lane except when preparing for or making a left turn from or into the roadway or when preparing for or making a U turn when otherwise permitted by law.
    (c) When a motor vehicle and a mass transit bus are traveling in the same direction on the same multi-laned highway, street or road, the operator of the motor vehicle overtaking such bus, which is stopped at an intersection on the right side of the roadway to receive or discharge passengers, shall pass to the left of the bus at a safe distance and shall not turn to the right in front of the bus at that intersection.
(Source: P.A. 85-786.)

625 ILCS 5/11-802

    (625 ILCS 5/11-802) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-802)
    Sec. 11-802. Limitations on U turns. (a) The driver of any vehicle shall not turn such vehicle so as to proceed in the opposite direction unless such movement can be made in safety and without interfering with other traffic.
    (b) No vehicle shall be turned so as to proceed in the opposite direction upon any curve, or upon the approach to or near the crest of a grade, where such vehicle cannot be seen by the driver of any other vehicle approaching from either direction within 500 feet.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

625 ILCS 5/11-803

    (625 ILCS 5/11-803) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-803)
    Sec. 11-803. Starting parked vehicle.
    No person shall start a vehicle which is stopped, standing, or parked unless and until such movement can be made with reasonable safety.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-804

    (625 ILCS 5/11-804) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-804)
    Sec. 11-804. When signal required.
    (a) No person may turn a vehicle at an intersection unless the vehicle is in proper position upon the roadway as required in Section 11-801 or turn a vehicle to enter a private road or driveway, or otherwise turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left upon a roadway unless and until such movement can be made with reasonable safety. No person may so turn any vehicle without giving an appropriate signal in the manner hereinafter provided.
    (b) A signal of intention to turn right or left when required must be given continuously during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning within a business or residence district, and such signal must be given continuously during not less than the last 200 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning outside a business or residence district.
    (c) No person may stop or suddenly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first giving an appropriate signal in the manner provided in this Chapter to the driver of any vehicle immediately to the rear when there is opportunity to give such a signal.
    (d) The electric turn signal device required in Section 12-208 of this Act must be used to indicate an intention to turn, change lanes or start from a parallel parked position but must not be flashed on one side only on a parked or disabled vehicle or flashed as a courtesy or "do pass" signal to operators of other vehicles approaching from the rear. However, such signal devices may be flashed simultaneously on both sides of a motor vehicle to indicate the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring unusual care in approaching, overtaking and passing.
(Source: P.A. 78-1297.)

625 ILCS 5/11-805

    (625 ILCS 5/11-805) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-805)
    Sec. 11-805. Signal by hand or arm or signal device. Any stop or turn signal when required herein shall be given either by means of the hand and arm or by an electric turn signal device conforming to the requirements provided in Section 12-208 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 79-1069.)

625 ILCS 5/11-806

    (625 ILCS 5/11-806) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-806)
    Sec. 11-806. Method of giving hand and arm signals. All signals herein required given by hand and arm shall be given from the left side of the vehicle in the following manner and such signals shall indicate as follows:
        1. Left turn - Hand and arm extended horizontally.
        2. Right turn - Hand and arm extended upward, except
    
that a person operating a bicycle may extend the right hand and arm horizontally and to the right side of the bicycle.
        3. Stop or decrease of speed - Hand and arm extended
    
downward.
(Source: P.A. 95-231, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. IX

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. IX heading)
ARTICLE IX. RIGHT-OF-WAY

625 ILCS 5/11-901

    (625 ILCS 5/11-901) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-901)
    Sec. 11-901. Vehicles approaching or entering intersection.
    (a) When 2 vehicles approach or enter an intersection from different roadways at approximately the same time, the driver of the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way to the vehicle on the right.
    (b) The right-of-way rule declared in paragraph (a) of this Section is modified at through highways and otherwise as stated in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 76-1739.)

625 ILCS 5/11-901.01

    (625 ILCS 5/11-901.01) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-901.01)
    Sec. 11-901.01. Vehicles approaching or entering a "T" intersection. The driver of a vehicle approaching the intersection of a highway from a highway which terminates at the intersection, not otherwise regulated by this Act or controlled by traffic control signs or signals, shall stop, yield, and grant the privilege of immediate use of the intersection to another vehicle which has entered the intersection from the non-terminating highway or is approaching the intersection on the non-terminating highway in such proximity as to constitute a hazard and after stopping may proceed when the driver may safely enter the intersection without interference or collision with the traffic using the non-terminating highway.
(Source: P.A. 81-860.)

625 ILCS 5/11-902

    (625 ILCS 5/11-902) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-902)
    Sec. 11-902. Vehicle turning left.
    The driver of a vehicle intending to turn to the left within an intersection or into an alley, private road, or driveway shall yield the right-of-way to any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction which is so close as to constitute an immediate hazard, but said driver, having so yielded may proceed at such time as a safe interval occurs.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-903

    (625 ILCS 5/11-903) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-903)
    Sec. 11-903. Vehicles entering stop crosswalk.
    Where stop signs or flashing red signals are in place at an intersection or flashing red signals are in place at a plainly marked crosswalk between intersections, drivers of vehicles shall stop before entering the nearest crosswalk and pedestrians within or entering the crosswalk at either edge of the roadway shall have the right-of-way over vehicles so stopped. Drivers of vehicles having so yielded the right-of-way to pedestrians entering or within the nearest crosswalk at an intersection shall also yield the right-of-way to pedestrians within any other crosswalk at the intersection.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-904

    (625 ILCS 5/11-904) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-904)
    Sec. 11-904. Vehicle entering stop or yield intersection.
    (a) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop or yield signs as authorized in Section 11-302 of this Chapter.
    (b) Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic-control signal, every driver of a vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection. After having stopped, the driver shall yield the right-of-way to any vehicle which has entered the intersection from another roadway or which is approaching so closely on the roadway as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time when the driver is moving across or within the intersection, but said driver having so yielded may proceed at such time as a safe interval occurs.
    (c) The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign shall in obedience to such sign slow down to a speed reasonable for the existing conditions and, if required for safety to stop, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway. After slowing or stopping, the driver shall yield the right-of-way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time such driver is moving across or within the intersection.
    (d) If a driver is involved in a collision at an intersection or interferes with the movement of other vehicles after driving past a yield right-of-way sign, such collision or interference shall be deemed prima facie evidence of the driver's failure to yield right-of-way.
(Source: P.A. 76-1739.)

625 ILCS 5/11-905

    (625 ILCS 5/11-905) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-905)
    Sec. 11-905. Merging traffic. Not withstanding the right of way provision in Sec. 11-901 of this Act, at an intersection where traffic lanes are provided for merging traffic the driver of each vehicle on the converging roadways is required to adjust his vehicular speed and lateral position so as to avoid a collision with another vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 81-860.)

625 ILCS 5/11-906

    (625 ILCS 5/11-906) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-906)
    Sec. 11-906. Vehicle entering highway from private road or driveway.
    The driver of a vehicle about to enter or cross a highway from an alley, building, private road or driveway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on the highway to be entered.
(Source: P.A. 76-1739.)

625 ILCS 5/11-907

    (625 ILCS 5/11-907) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-907)
    Sec. 11-907. Operation of vehicles and streetcars on approach of authorized emergency vehicles.
    (a) Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle making use of audible and visual signals meeting the requirements of this Code or a police vehicle properly and lawfully making use of an audible or visual signal,
        (1) the driver of every other vehicle shall yield the
    
right-of-way and shall immediately drive to a position parallel to, and as close as possible to, the right-hand edge or curb of the highway clear of any intersection and shall, if necessary to permit the safe passage of the emergency vehicle, stop and remain in such position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless otherwise directed by a police officer and
        (2) the operator of every streetcar shall immediately
    
stop such car clear of any intersection and keep it in such position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless otherwise directed by a police officer.
    (b) This Section shall not operate to relieve the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle from the duty to drive with due regard for the safety of all persons using the highway.
    (c) Upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, when the authorized emergency vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately flashing red, red and white, blue, or red and blue lights or amber or yellow warning lights, a person who drives an approaching vehicle shall:
        (1) proceeding with due caution, yield the
    
right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane not adjacent to that of the authorized emergency vehicle, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic conditions, if on a highway having at least 4 lanes with not less than 2 lanes proceeding in the same direction as the approaching vehicle; or
        (2) proceeding with due caution, reduce the speed of
    
the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe.
    As used in this subsection (c), "authorized emergency vehicle" includes any vehicle authorized by law to be equipped with oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights under Section 12-215 of this Code, while the owner or operator of the vehicle is engaged in his or her official duties.
    (d) A person who violates subsection (c) of this Section commits a business offense punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $10,000. It is a factor in aggravation if the person committed the offense while in violation of Section 11-501 of this Code. Imposition of the penalties authorized by this subsection (d) for a violation of subsection (c) of this Section that results in the death of another person does not preclude imposition of appropriate additional civil or criminal penalties.
    (e) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in damage to the property of another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not less than 90 days and not more than one year.
    (f) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in injury to another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not less than 180 days and not more than 2 years.
    (g) If a violation of subsection (c) of this Section results in the death of another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for 2 years.
    (h) The Secretary of State shall, upon receiving a record of a judgment entered against a person under subsection (c) of this Section:
        (1) suspend the person's driving privileges for the
    
mandatory period; or
        (2) extend the period of an existing suspension by
    
the appropriate mandatory period.
(Source: P.A. 95-884, eff. 1-1-09.)

625 ILCS 5/11-908

    (625 ILCS 5/11-908) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-908)
    Sec. 11-908. Vehicle approaching or entering a highway construction or maintenance area or zone.
    (a) The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right of way to any authorized vehicle or pedestrian actually engaged in work upon a highway within any highway construction or maintenance area indicated by official traffic-control devices.
    (a-1) Upon entering a construction or maintenance zone when workers are present, a person who drives a vehicle shall:
        (1) proceeding with due caution, make a lane change
    
into a lane not adjacent to that of the workers present, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic conditions, if on a highway having at least 4 lanes with not less than 2 lanes proceeding in the same direction as the approaching vehicle; or
        (2) proceeding with due caution, reduce the speed of
    
the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe.
    (a-2) A person who violates subsection (a-1) of this Section commits a business offense punishable by a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $10,000. It is a factor in aggravation if the person committed the offense while in violation of Section 11-501 of this Code.
    (a-3) If a violation of subsection (a-1) of this Section results in damage to the property of another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not less than 90 days and not more than one year.
    (a-4) If a violation of subsection (a-1) of this Section results in injury to another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not less than 180 days and not more than 2 years.
    (a-5) If a violation of subsection (a-1) of this Section results in the death of another person, in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for 2 years.
    (a-6) The Secretary of State shall, upon receiving a record of a judgment entered against a person under subsection (a-1) of this Section:
        (1) suspend the person's driving privileges for the
    
mandatory period; or
        (2) extend the period of an existing suspension by
    
the appropriate mandatory period.
    (b) The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right of way to any authorized vehicle obviously and actually engaged in work upon a highway whenever the vehicle engaged in construction or maintenance work displays flashing lights as provided in Section 12-215 of this Act.
    (c) The driver of a vehicle shall stop if signaled to do so by a flagger or a traffic control signal and remain in such position until signaled to proceed. If a driver of a vehicle fails to stop when signaled to do so by a flagger, the flagger is authorized to report such offense to the State's Attorney or authorized prosecutor. The penalties imposed for a violation of this subsection (c) shall be in addition to any penalties imposed for a violation of subsection (a-1).
(Source: P.A. 92-872, eff. 6-1-03; 93-705, eff. 7-9-04.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. X

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. X heading)
ARTICLE X. PEDESTRIANS' RIGHTS AND DUTIES

625 ILCS 5/11-1001

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1001) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1001)
    Sec. 11-1001. Pedestrian obedience to traffic control devices and traffic regulations.
        (a) A pedestrian shall obey the instructions of any official traffic control device specifically applicable to him, unless otherwise directed by a police officer.
    (b) Pedestrians shall be subject to traffic and pedestrian control signals provided in Sections 11-306 and 11-307 of this Chapter, but at all other places pedestrians shall be accorded the privileges and shall be subject to the restrictions stated in this Article.
(Source: P.A. 76-1734.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1002

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1002) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1002)
    Sec. 11-1002. Pedestrians' right-of-way at crosswalks.
    (a) When traffic control signals are not in place or not in operation the driver of a vehicle shall stop and yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a crosswalk when the pedestrian is upon the half of the roadway upon which the vehicle is traveling, or when the pedestrian is approaching so closely from the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger.
    (b) No pedestrian shall suddenly leave a curb or other place of safety and walk or run into the path of a moving vehicle which is so close as to constitute an immediate hazard.
    (c) Paragraph (a) shall not apply under the condition stated in Section 11-1003(b).
    (d) Whenever any vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at any unmarked crosswalk at an intersection to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway, the driver of any other vehicle approaching from the rear shall not overtake and pass such stopped vehicle.
    (e) Whenever stop signs or flashing red signals are in place at an intersection or at a plainly marked crosswalk between intersections, drivers shall yield right-of-way to pedestrians as set forth in Section 11-904 of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 96-1165, eff. 7-22-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1002.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1002.5)
    Sec. 11-1002.5. Pedestrians' right-of-way at crosswalks; school zones.
    (a) For the purpose of this Section, "school" has the meaning ascribed to that term in Section 11-605.
    On a school day when school children are present and so close thereto that a potential hazard exists because of the close proximity of the motorized traffic and when traffic control signals are not in place or not in operation, the driver of a vehicle shall stop and yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a crosswalk when the pedestrian is upon the half of the roadway upon which the vehicle is traveling, or when the pedestrian is approaching so closely from the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger.
    For the purpose of this Section, a school day shall begin at seven ante meridian and shall conclude at four post meridian.
    This Section shall not be applicable unless appropriate signs are posted in accordance with Section 11-605.
    (b) A first violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $150. A second or subsequent violation of this Section is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $300.
    (c) When a fine for a violation of subsection (a) is $150 or greater, the person who violates subsection (a) shall be charged an additional $50 to be paid to the unit school district where the violation occurred for school safety purposes. If the violation occurred in a dual school district, $25 of the surcharge shall be paid to the elementary school district for school safety purposes and $25 of the surcharge shall be paid to the high school district for school safety purposes. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the entire $50 surcharge shall be paid to the appropriate school district or districts.
    For purposes of this subsection (c), "school safety purposes" has the meaning ascribed to that term in Section 11-605.
(Source: P.A. 95-302, eff. 1-1-08; 96-1165, eff. 7-22-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1003

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1003) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1003)
    Sec. 11-1003. Crossing at other than crosswalks.
    (a) Every pedestrian crossing a roadway at any point other than within a marked crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
    (b) Any pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point where a pedestrian tunnel or overhead pedestrian crossing has been provided shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
    (c) Between adjacent intersections at which traffic-control signals are in operation pedestrians shall not cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk.
    (d) No pedestrian shall cross a roadway intersection diagonally unless authorized by official traffic-control devices; and, when authorized to cross diagonally, pedestrians shall cross only in accordance with the official traffic-control devices pertaining to such crossing movements.
    (e) Pedestrians with disabilities may cross a roadway at any point other than within a marked crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk where the intersection is physically inaccessible to them but they shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
(Source: P.A. 88-685, eff. 1-24-95.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1003.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1003.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1003.1)
    Sec. 11-1003.1. Drivers to exercise due care. Notwithstanding other provisions of this Code or the provisions of any local ordinance, every driver of a vehicle shall exercise due care to avoid colliding with any pedestrian, or any person operating a bicycle or other device propelled by human power and shall give warning by sounding the horn when necessary and shall exercise proper precaution upon observing any child or any obviously confused, incapacitated or intoxicated person.
(Source: P.A. 82-132.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1004

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1004) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1004)
    Sec. 11-1004. Pedestrian with disabilities; right-of-way. The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian with clearly visible disabilities.
(Source: P.A. 88-685, eff. 1-24-95.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1004.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1004.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1004.1)
    Sec. 11-1004.1. Motorized wheelchairs. Every person operating a motorized wheelchair upon a sidewalk or roadway shall be granted all the rights and shall be subject to all the duties applicable to a pedestrian.
(Source: P.A. 84-672.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1005

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1005) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1005)
    Sec. 11-1005. Pedestrians to use right half of crosswalks.
    Pedestrians shall move, whenever practicable, upon the right half of crosswalks.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1005.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1005.1)
    Sec. 11-1005.1. Electric personal assistive mobility devices. Every person operating an electric personal assistive mobility device upon a sidewalk or roadway has all the rights and is subject to all the duties applicable to a pedestrian. Nothing in this Section shall be deemed to limit or preempt the authority of any home rule or non-home rule unit of local government from regulating or prohibiting the use of electric personal assistive mobility devices.
(Source: P.A. 92-868, eff. 6-1-03.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1006

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1006) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1006)
    Sec. 11-1006. Pedestrians soliciting rides or business.
    (a) No person shall stand in a roadway for the purpose of soliciting a ride from the driver of any vehicle.
    (b) No person shall stand on a highway for the purpose of soliciting employment or business from the occupant of any vehicle.
    (c) No person shall stand on a highway for the purpose of soliciting contributions from the occupant of any vehicle except within a municipality when expressly permitted by municipal ordinance. The local municipality, city, village, or other local governmental entity in which the solicitation takes place shall determine by ordinance where and when solicitations may take place based on the safety of the solicitors and the safety of motorists. The decision shall also take into account the orderly flow of traffic and may not allow interference with the operation of official traffic control devices. The soliciting agency shall be:
        1. registered with the Attorney General as a
    
charitable organization as provided by "An Act to regulate solicitation and collection of funds for charitable purposes, providing for violations thereof, and making an appropriation therefor", approved July 26, 1963, as amended;
        2. engaged in a Statewide fund raising activity; and
        3. liable for any injuries to any person or property
    
during the solicitation which is causally related to an act of ordinary negligence of the soliciting agent.
    Any person engaged in the act of solicitation shall be 16 years of age or more and shall be wearing a high visibility vest.
    (d) No person shall stand on or in the proximity of a highway for the purpose of soliciting the watching or guarding of any vehicle while parked or about to be parked on a highway.
    (e) Every person who is convicted of a violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 88-589, eff. 8-14-94.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1007

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1007) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1007)
    Sec. 11-1007. Pedestrians walking on highways.
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (e), where a sidewalk is provided and its use is practicable, it shall be unlawful for any pedestrian to walk along and upon an adjacent roadway.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (e), where a sidewalk is not available, any pedestrian walking along and upon a highway shall walk only on a shoulder, as far as practicable from the edge of the roadway.
    (c) Except as provided in subsection (e), where neither a sidewalk nor a shoulder is available, any pedestrian walking along and upon a highway shall walk as near as practicable to an outside edge of a roadway, and, if on a two-way roadway, shall walk only on the left side of the roadway.
    (d) Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, any pedestrian upon a roadway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
    (e) In municipalities with a population of under 2,000,000 inhabitants, upon highways where the maximum posted speed limit is 45 miles per hour or less, and during the period from sunrise to sunset, a pedestrian who is 18 years of age or older and wearing in-line speed skates may travel upon the roadway as near as practicable to an outside edge of the roadway. Pedestrians wearing in-line speed skates upon a roadway may not impede or obstruct other vehicular traffic. Pedestrians wearing in-line speed skates shall be subject to all other rights and duties under this Article X. Nothing in this Code shall be construed to prevent a pedestrian wearing in-line speed skates from using a lane designated for bicycles.
(Source: P.A. 97-1023, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1008

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1008) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1008)
    Sec. 11-1008. Right-of-way on sidewalks. The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian on a sidewalk.
(Source: P.A. 79-857.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1009

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1009) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1009)
    Sec. 11-1009. Pedestrians yield to authorized emergency vehicles. Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle making use of an audible signal and visual signals meeting the requirements of Section 12-217 of this Chapter, or of a police vehicle properly and lawfully making use of an audible signal only, every pedestrian shall yield the right-of-way to the authorized emergency vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 79-857.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1010

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1010) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1010)
    Sec. 11-1010. Pedestrians under influence of alcohol or drugs. A pedestrian who is under the influence of alcohol or any drug to a degree which renders himself a hazard shall not walk or be upon a highway except on a sidewalk.
(Source: P.A. 79-857.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1011

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1011) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1011)
    Sec. 11-1011. Bridge and railroad signals.
    (a) No pedestrian shall enter or remain upon any bridge or approach thereto beyond the bridge signal, gate, or barrier after a bridge operation signal indication has been given.
    (b) No pedestrian shall pass through, around, over, or under any crossing gate or barrier at a railroad grade crossing or bridge while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.
    (c) No pedestrian shall enter, remain upon or traverse over a railroad grade crossing or pedestrian walkway crossing a railroad track when an audible bell or clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device is operational giving warning of the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a railroad train or railroad track equipment.
    (d) A violation of any part of this Section is a petty offense for which a $250 fine shall be imposed for a first violation, and a $500 fine shall be imposed for a second or subsequent violation. The court may impose 25 hours of community service in place of the $250 fine for a first violation.
    (e) Local authorities shall impose fines as established in subsection (d) for pedestrians who fail to obey signals indicating the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a train or railroad track equipment.
(Source: P.A. 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XI

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XI heading)
ARTICLE XI. STREET CARS AND SAFETY ZONES

625 ILCS 5/11-1101

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1101) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1101)
    Sec. 11-1101. Passing street car on left.
    (a) The driver of a vehicle shall not overtake and pass upon the left nor drive upon the left side of any street car proceeding in the same direction, whether such street car is actually in motion or temporarily at rest, except:
    1. When so directed by a police officer;
    2. When upon a one-way street; or
    3. When upon a street where the tracks are so located as to prevent compliance with the section.
    (b) The driver of any vehicle when permitted to overtake and pass upon the left of a street car which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any passenger shall reduce speed and may proceed only upon exercising due caution for pedestrians and shall accord pedestrians the right-of-way when required by other Sections of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1102

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1102) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1102)
    Sec. 11-1102. Passing street car on right.
    The driver of a vehicle overtaking upon the right any street car stopped or about to stop for the purpose of receiving or discharging any passenger shall stop such vehicle at least ten feet to the rear of the nearest running board or door of such street car and thereupon remain standing until all passengers have boarded such car or upon alighting have reached a place of safety, except that where a safety zone has been established a vehicle need not be brought to a stop before passing any such street car but may proceed past such car at a speed not greater than is reasonable and proper and with due caution for the safety of pedestrians.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1103

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1103) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1103)
    Sec. 11-1103. Driving on street car tracks.
    (a) The driver of any vehicle proceeding upon any street car track in front of a street car upon a street shall remove such vehicle from the track as soon as practical after signal from the operator of said street car.
    (b) The driver of a vehicle upon overtaking and passing a street car shall not turn in front of such street car so as to interfere with or impede its movement.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1104

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1104) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1104)
    Sec. 11-1104. Driving through safety zone prohibited.
    No vehicle shall at any time be driven through or within a safety zone.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XII heading)
ARTICLE XII. SPECIAL STOPS REQUIRED

625 ILCS 5/11-1201

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1201) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1201)
    Sec. 11-1201. Obedience to signal indicating approach of train or railroad track equipment.
    (a) Whenever any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing where the driver is not always required to stop, the person must exercise due care and caution as the existence of a railroad track across a highway is a warning of danger, and under any of the circumstances stated in this Section, the driver shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and shall not proceed until the tracks are clear and he or she can do so safely. The foregoing requirements shall apply when:
        1. A clearly visible electric or mechanical signal
    
device gives warning of the immediate approach of a railroad train or railroad track equipment;
        2. A crossing gate is lowered or a human flagman
    
gives or continues to give a signal of the approach or passage of a railroad train or railroad track equipment;
        3. A railroad train or railroad track equipment
    
approaching a highway crossing emits a warning signal and such railroad train or railroad track equipment, by reason of its speed or nearness to such crossing, is an immediate hazard;
        4. An approaching railroad train or railroad track
    
equipment is plainly visible and is in hazardous proximity to such crossing;
        5. A railroad train or railroad track equipment is
    
approaching so closely that an immediate hazard is created.
    (a-5) Whenever a person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing where the driver is not always required to stop but must slow down, the person must exercise due care and caution as the existence of a railroad track across a highway is a warning of danger, and under any of the circumstances stated in this Section, the driver shall slow down within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and shall not proceed until he or she checks that the tracks are clear of an approaching train or railroad track equipment.
    (b) No person shall drive any vehicle through, around or under any crossing gate or barrier at a railroad crossing while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.
    (c) The Department, and local authorities with the approval of the Department, are hereby authorized to designate particularly dangerous highway grade crossings of railroads and to erect stop signs thereat. When such stop signs are erected the driver of any vehicle shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of such railroad and shall proceed only upon exercising due care.
    (d) At any railroad grade crossing provided with railroad crossbuck signs, without automatic, electric, or mechanical signal devices, crossing gates, or a human flagman giving a signal of the approach or passage of a train or railroad track equipment, the driver of a vehicle shall in obedience to the railroad crossbuck sign, yield the right-of-way and slow down to a speed reasonable for the existing conditions and shall stop, if required for safety, at a clearly marked stopped line, or if no stop line, within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and shall not proceed until he or she can do so safely. If a driver is involved in a collision at a railroad crossing or interferes with the movement of a train or railroad track equipment after driving past the railroad crossbuck sign, the collision or interference is prima facie evidence of the driver's failure to yield right-of-way.
    (d-1) No person shall, while driving a commercial motor vehicle, fail to negotiate a railroad-highway grade railroad crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance.
    (d-5) (Blank).
    (e) It is unlawful to violate any part of this Section.
        (1) A violation of this Section is a petty offense
    
for which a fine of $250 shall be imposed for a first violation, and a fine of $500 shall be imposed for a second or subsequent violation. The court may impose 25 hours of community service in place of the $250 fine for the first violation.
        (2) For a second or subsequent violation, the
    
Secretary of State may suspend the driving privileges of the offender for a minimum of 6 months.
    (f) Corporate authorities of municipal corporations regulating operators of vehicles that fail to obey signals indicating the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a train or railroad track equipment shall impose fines as established in subsection (e) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1201.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1201.1)
    Sec. 11-1201.1. Automated Railroad Crossing Enforcement System.
    (a) For the purposes of this Section, an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system is a system in a municipality or county operated by a governmental agency that produces a recorded image of a motor vehicle's violation of a provision of this Code or local ordinance and is designed to obtain a clear recorded image of the vehicle and vehicle's license plate. The recorded image must also display the time, date, and location of the violation.
    As used in this Section, "recorded images" means images recorded by an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system on:
        (1) 2 or more photographs;
        (2) 2 or more microphotographs;
        (3) 2 or more electronic images; or
        (4) a video recording showing the motor vehicle and,
    
on at least one image or portion of the recording, clearly identifying the registration plate number of the motor vehicle.
    (b) The Illinois Commerce Commission may, in cooperation with a local law enforcement agency, establish in any county or municipality an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system at any railroad grade crossing equipped with a crossing gate designated by local authorities. Local authorities desiring the establishment of an automated railroad crossing enforcement system must initiate the process by enacting a local ordinance requesting the creation of such a system. After the ordinance has been enacted, and before any additional steps toward the establishment of the system are undertaken, the local authorities and the Commission must agree to a plan for obtaining, from any combination of federal, State, and local funding sources, the moneys required for the purchase and installation of any necessary equipment.
    (b-1) (Blank.)
    (c) For each violation of Section 11-1201 of this Code or a local ordinance recorded by an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system, the county or municipality having jurisdiction shall issue a written notice of the violation to the registered owner of the vehicle as the alleged violator. The notice shall be delivered to the registered owner of the vehicle, by mail, no later than 90 days after the violation.
    The notice shall include:
        (1) the name and address of the registered owner of
    
the vehicle;
        (2) the registration number of the motor vehicle
    
involved in the violation;
        (3) the violation charged;
        (4) the location where the violation occurred;
        (5) the date and time of the violation;
        (6) a copy of the recorded images;
        (7) the amount of the civil penalty imposed and the
    
date by which the civil penalty should be paid;
        (8) a statement that recorded images are evidence of
    
a violation of a railroad grade crossing;
        (9) a warning that failure to pay the civil penalty
    
or to contest liability in a timely manner is an admission of liability and may result in a suspension of the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle; and
        (10) a statement that the person may elect to proceed
    
by:
            (A) paying the fine; or
            (B) challenging the charge in court, by mail, or
        
by administrative hearing.
    (d) If a person charged with a traffic violation, as a result of an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system, does not pay or successfully contest the civil penalty resulting from that violation, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driving privileges of the registered owner of the vehicle under Section 6-306.5 of this Code for failing to pay any fine or penalty due and owing as a result of 5 violations of the automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system.
    (d-1) (Blank.)
    (d-2) (Blank.)
    (e) Based on inspection of recorded images produced by an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system, a notice alleging that the violation occurred shall be evidence of the facts contained in the notice and admissible in any proceeding alleging a violation under this Section.
    (e-1) Recorded images made by an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system are confidential and shall be made available only to the alleged violator and governmental and law enforcement agencies for purposes of adjudicating a violation of this Section, for statistical purposes, or for other governmental purposes. Any recorded image evidencing a violation of this Section, however, may be admissible in any proceeding resulting from the issuance of the citation.
    (e-2) The court or hearing officer may consider the following in the defense of a violation:
        (1) that the motor vehicle or registration plates of
    
the motor vehicle were stolen before the violation occurred and not under the control of or in the possession of the owner at the time of the violation;
        (2) that the driver of the motor vehicle received a
    
Uniform Traffic Citation from a police officer at the time of the violation for the same offense;
        (3) any other evidence or issues provided by
    
municipal or county ordinance.
    (e-3) To demonstrate that the motor vehicle or the registration plates were stolen before the violation occurred and were not under the control or possession of the owner at the time of the violation, the owner must submit proof that a report concerning the stolen motor vehicle or registration plates was filed with a law enforcement agency in a timely manner.
    (f) Rail crossings equipped with an automatic railroad grade crossing enforcement system shall be posted with a sign visible to approaching traffic stating that the railroad grade crossing is being monitored, that citations will be issued, and the amount of the fine for violation.
    (g) The compensation paid for an automated railroad grade crossing enforcement system must be based on the value of the equipment or the services provided and may not be based on the number of citations issued or the revenue generated by the system.
    (h) (Blank.)
    (i) If any part or parts of this Section are held by a court of competent jurisdiction to be unconstitutional, the unconstitutionality shall not affect the validity of the remaining parts of this Section. The General Assembly hereby declares that it would have passed the remaining parts of this Section if it had known that the other part or parts of this Section would be declared unconstitutional.
    (j) Penalty. A civil fine of $250 shall be imposed for a first violation of this Section, and a civil fine of $500 shall be imposed for a second or subsequent violation of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 96-478, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1201.5

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1201.5)
    Sec. 11-1201.5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 94-771, eff. 1-1-07. Repealed by P.A. 96-478, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1202

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1202) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1202)
    Sec. 11-1202. Certain vehicles must stop at all railroad grade crossings.
    (a) The driver of any of the following vehicles shall, before crossing a railroad track or tracks at grade, stop such vehicle within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail and, while so stopped, shall listen and look for the approach of a train or railroad track equipment and shall not proceed until such movement can be made with safety:
        1. Any second division vehicle carrying passengers
    
for hire;
        2. Any bus that meets all of the special requirements
    
for school buses in Sections 12-801, 12-803, and 12-805 of this Code. The driver of the bus, in addition to complying with all other applicable requirements of this subsection (a), must also (i) turn off all noise producing accessories, including heater blowers, defroster fans, auxiliary fans, and radios, and (ii) open the service door and driver's window, before crossing a railroad track or tracks;
        3. Any other vehicle which is required by Federal or
    
State law to be placarded when carrying as a cargo or part of a cargo hazardous material as defined in the "Illinois Hazardous Materials Transportation Act".
    After stopping as required in this Section, the driver shall proceed only in a gear not requiring a change of gears during the crossing, and the driver shall not shift gears while crossing the track or tracks.
    (b) This Section shall not apply:
        1. At any railroad grade crossing where traffic is
    
controlled by a police officer or flagperson;
        2. At any railroad grade crossing controlled by a
    
functioning traffic-control signal transmitting a green indication which, under law, permits the vehicle to proceed across the railroad tracks without slowing or stopping, except that subsection (a) shall apply to any school bus;
        3. At any streetcar grade crossing within a business
    
or residence district; or
        4. At any abandoned, industrial or spur track
    
railroad grade crossing designated as exempt by the Illinois Commerce Commission and marked with an official sign as authorized in the State Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways.
(Source: P.A. 95-756, eff. 1-1-09; 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1203

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1203) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1203)
    Sec. 11-1203. Moving heavy equipment at railroad grade crossing.
    (a) No person shall operate or move any crawler-type tractor, power shovel, derrick, roller, or any equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of 10 or less miles per hour, or, for such equipment with 18 feet or less distance between two adjacent axles, having a vertical body or load clearance of less than 9 inches above a level surface, or, for such equipment with more than 18 feet between two adjacent axles, having a vertical body or load clearance of less than 1/2 inch per foot of distance between such adjacent axles above a level surface upon or across any tracks at a railroad grade crossing without first complying with this Section.
    (b) Notice of any such intended crossing shall be given to a superintendent of such railroad and a reasonable time be given to such railroad to provide proper protection at such crossing.
    (c) Before making any such crossing the person operating or moving any such vehicle or equipment shall first stop the same not less than 15 feet nor more than 50 feet from the nearest rail of such railway and while so stopped shall listen and look in both directions along such track for any approaching train or railroad track equipment and for signals indicating the approach of a train or railroad track equipment, and shall not proceed until the crossing can be made safely.
    (d) No such crossing shall be made when warning is given by automatic signal or crossing gates or a flagman or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train, railroad track equipment, or car.
(Source: P.A. 96-1244, eff. 1-1-11.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1204

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1204)
    Sec. 11-1204. Stop and yield signs.
    (a) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop signs or yield signs as authorized in Section 11-302 of this Act.
    (b) Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control signal, every driver of a vehicle and every motorman of a streetcar approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersection roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.
    (c) The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign if required for safety to stop shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway.
(Source: P.A. 76-1586.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1205

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1205) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1205)
    Sec. 11-1205. Emerging from alley, building, or private road or driveway.
    The driver of a vehicle emerging from an alley, building, private road or driveway within an urban area shall stop such vehicle immediately prior to driving into the sidewalk area extending across such alley, building entrance, road or driveway, or in the event there is no sidewalk area, shall stop at the point nearest the street to be entered where the driver has a view of approaching traffic thereon, and shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian as may be necessary to avoid collision, and upon entering the roadway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on such roadway.
(Source: P.A. 77-1344.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 11 Art. XIII heading)
ARTICLE XIII. STOPPING, STANDING,
AND PARKING

625 ILCS 5/11-1301

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301)
    Sec. 11-1301. Stopping, standing or parking outside of business or residence district.
    (a) Outside a business or residence district, no person shall stop, park or leave standing any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the roadway when it is practicable to stop, park or so leave such vehicle off the roadway, but in every event an unobstructed width of the highway opposite a standing vehicle shall be left for the free passage of other vehicles and a clear view of such stopped vehicle shall be available from a distance of 200 feet in each direction upon such highway.
    (b) The Department with respect to highways under its jurisdiction or for the maintenance of which it is responsible may place signs prohibiting or restricting the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles on any highway where in its opinion such stopping, standing or parking is dangerous to those using the highway or where the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles would unduly interfere with the free movement of traffic thereon. Any such regulations adopted by the Department regarding the stopping, standing or parking of vehicles upon any specific street, streets or highways become effective at the time of the erection of appropriate signs indicating such regulations. Any such signs may be erected either by the Department or by a local authority with the approval of the Department.
    (c) This Section, Section 11-1303 and Section 11-1304 shall not apply to the driver of any vehicle which is disabled in such manner and to such extent that it is impossible to avoid stopping and temporarily leaving the vehicle in such position.
    (d) Any second division vehicle used exclusively for the collection of garbage, refuse, or recyclable material may stop or stand on the road in a business, rural, or residential district for the sole purpose of collecting garbage, refuse, or recyclable material. The vehicle, in addition to having its hazard lights lighted at all times that it is engaged in stopping or standing, shall also use its amber oscillating, rotating, or flashing light or lights as authorized under paragraph 12 of subsection (b) of Section 12-215, if so equipped.
(Source: P.A. 91-869, eff. 1-1-01.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.1

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.1)
    Sec. 11-1301.1. Persons with disabilities - Parking privileges - Exemptions.
    (a) A motor vehicle bearing registration plates issued to a person with disabilities, as defined by Section 1-159.1, pursuant to Section 3-616 or to a disabled veteran pursuant to subsection (a) of Section 3-609 or a special decal or device issued pursuant to Section 3-616 or pursuant to Section 11-1301.2 of this Code or a motor vehicle registered in another jurisdiction, state, district, territory or foreign country upon which is displayed a registration plate, special decal or device issued by the other jurisdiction designating the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities shall be exempt from the payment of parking meter fees until January 1, 2014, and exempt from any statute or ordinance imposing time limitations on parking, except limitations of one-half hour or less, on any street or highway zone, a parking area subject to regulation under subsection (a) of Section 11-209 of this Code, or any parking lot or parking place which are owned, leased or owned and leased by a municipality or a municipal parking utility; and shall be recognized by state and local authorities as a valid license plate or parking device and shall receive the same parking privileges as residents of this State; but, such vehicle shall be subject to the laws which prohibit parking in "no stopping" and "no standing" zones in front of or near fire hydrants, driveways, public building entrances and exits, bus stops and loading areas, and is prohibited from parking where the motor vehicle constitutes a traffic hazard, whereby such motor vehicle shall be moved at the instruction and request of a law enforcement officer to a location designated by the officer.
    (b) Any motor vehicle bearing registration plates or a special decal or device specified in this Section or in Section 3-616 of this Code or such parking device as specifically authorized in Section 11-1301.2 as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or bearing registration plates issued to a disabled veteran under subsection (a) of Section 3-609 may park, in addition to any other lawful place, in any parking place specifically reserved for such vehicles by the posting of an official sign as provided under Section 11-301. Parking privileges granted by this Section are strictly limited to the person to whom the special registration plates, special decal or device were issued and to qualified operators acting under his or her express direction while the person with disabilities is present. A person to whom privileges were granted shall, at the request of a police officer or any other person invested by law with authority to direct, control, or regulate traffic, present an identification card with a picture as verification that the person is the person to whom the special registration plates, special decal or device was issued.
    (c) Such parking privileges granted by this Section are also extended to motor vehicles of not-for-profit organizations used for the transportation of persons with disabilities when such motor vehicles display the decal or device issued pursuant to Section 11-1301.2 of this Code.
    (d) No person shall use any area for the parking of any motor vehicle pursuant to Section 11-1303 of this Code or where an official sign controlling such area expressly prohibits parking at any time or during certain hours.
    (e) Beginning January 1, 2014, a vehicle displaying a decal or device issued under subsection (c-5) of Section 11-1301.2 of this Code shall be exempt from the payment of fees generated by parking in a metered space or in a publicly owned parking area.
(Source: P.A. 97-845, eff. 1-1-13; 97-918, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-577, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/11-1301.2

    (625 ILCS 5/11-1301.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1301.2)
    Sec. 11-1301.2. Special decals for parking; persons with disabilities.
    (a) The Secretary of State shall provide for, by administrative rules, the design, size, color, and placement of a person with disabilities motorist decal or device and shall provide for, by administrative rules, the content and form of an application for a person with disabilities motorist decal or device, whi