Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PUBLIC AID
(305 ILCS 5/) Illinois Public Aid Code.

305 ILCS 5/5F-35

    (305 ILCS 5/5F-35)
    Sec. 5F-35. Reimbursement. The Department shall provide each managed care organization with the quarterly facility-specific RUG-IV nursing component per diem along with any add-ons for enhanced care services, support component per diem, and capital component per diem effective for each nursing home under contract with the managed care organization.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5F-40

    (305 ILCS 5/5F-40)
    Sec. 5F-40. Contractual requirements.
    (a) Every contract shall contain a clause for termination consistent with the Managed Care Reform and Patient Rights Act providing nursing homes the ability to terminate the contract.
    (b) All changes to the contract by the MCO shall be preceded by 30 days' written notice sent to the nursing home.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5F-45

    (305 ILCS 5/5F-45)
    Sec. 5F-45. Prohibition. No managed care organization or contract shall contain any provision, policy, or procedure that limits, restricts, or waives any rights set forth in this Article or is expressly prohibited by this Article. Any such policy or procedure is void and unenforceable.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/Art. V-G

 
    (305 ILCS 5/Art. V-G heading)
ARTICLE V-G. SUPPORTIVE LIVING FACILITY FUNDING.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-5

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-5)
    Sec. 5G-5. Definitions. As used in this Article, unless the context requires otherwise:
    "Care days" shall be computed separately for each supportive living facility, and means the sum for all apartment units, the number of days during the month which each apartment unit was occupied by a resident.
    "Department" means the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    "Fund" means the Supportive Living Facility Fund.
    "Supportive living facility" means an enrolled supportive living site as described under Section 5-5.01a of this Code that meets the participation requirements under Section 146.215 of Title 89 of the Illinois Administrative Code.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-10

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-10)
    Sec. 5G-10. Assessment.
    (a) Subject to Section 5G-45, beginning July 1, 2014, an annual assessment on health care services is imposed on each supportive living facility in an amount equal to $2.30 multiplied by the supportive living facility's care days. This assessment shall not be billed or passed on to any resident of a supportive living facility.
    (b) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to authorize any home rule unit or other unit of local government to license for revenue or impose a tax or assessment upon supportive living facilities or the occupation of operating a supportive living facility, or a tax or assessment measured by the income or earnings or care days of a supportive living facility.
    (c) The assessment imposed by this Section shall not be due and payable, however, until after the Department notifies the supportive living facilities, in writing, that the payment methodologies to supportive living facilities required under Section 5-5.01a of this Code have been approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the waivers under 42 CFR 433.68 for the assessment imposed by this Section, if necessary, have been granted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-15

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-15)
    Sec. 5G-15. Payment of assessment; penalty.
    (a) The assessment imposed by Section 5G-10 shall be due and payable in monthly installments on the last State business day of the month for care days reported for the preceding third month prior to the month in which the assessment is payable and due. A facility that has delayed payment due to the State's failure to reimburse for services rendered may request an extension on the due date for payment pursuant to subsection (c) and shall pay the assessment within 30 days of reimbursement by the Department.
    (b) The Department shall provide for an electronic submission process for each supportive living facility to report at a minimum the number of care days of the supportive living facility for the reporting period and other reasonable information the Department requires for the administration of its responsibilities under this Code. The Department shall prepare an assessment bill stating the amount due and payable each month and submit it to each supportive living facility via an electronic process. To the extent practicable, the Department shall coordinate the assessment reporting requirements with other reporting required of supportive living facilities.
    (c) The Department is authorized to establish delayed payment schedules for supportive living facilities that are unable to make assessment payments when due under this Section due to financial difficulties, as determined by the Department. The Department may not deny a request for delay of payment of the assessment imposed under this Article if the supportive living facility has not been paid for services provided during the month in which the assessment is levied.
    (d) If a supportive living facility fails to pay the full amount of an assessment payment when due (including any extensions granted under subsection (c)), there shall, unless waived by the Department for reasonable cause, be added to the assessment imposed by Section 5G-10 a penalty assessment equal to the lesser of (i) 1% of the amount of the assessment payment not paid on or before the due date plus 1% of the portion thereof remaining unpaid on the last day of each month thereafter or (ii) 100% of the assessment payment amount not paid on or before the due date. For purposes of this subsection, payments will be credited first to unpaid assessment payment amounts (rather than to penalty or interest), beginning with the most delinquent assessment payments. Payment cycles of longer than 30 days shall be one factor the Director takes into account in granting a waiver under this Section.
    (e) No installment of the assessment imposed by Section 5G-10 shall be due and payable until after the Department notifies the supportive living facilities, in writing, that the payment methodologies to supportive living facilities required under Section 5-5.01a of this Code have been approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the waivers under 42 CFR 433.68 for the assessment imposed by this Section, if necessary, have been granted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Upon notification to the Department of approval of the payment methodologies required under Section 5-5.01a of this Code and the waivers granted under 42 CFR 433.68, all installments otherwise due under this Section prior to the date of notification shall be due and payable to the Department upon written direction from the Department within 90 days after issuance by the Comptroller of the payments required under Section 5-5.01a of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-20

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-20)
    Sec. 5G-20. Reporting; penalty; maintenance of records.
    (a) Every supportive living facility subject to assessment under this Article shall report the number care days of the supportive living facility for the reporting period on or before the last business day of the month following the reporting period. Each supportive living facility shall ensure that an accurate e-mail address is on file with the Department in order for the Department to prepare and send an electronic bill to the supportive living facility.
    (b) If a supportive living facility fails to file its monthly report with the Department when due, there shall, unless waived by the Illinois Department for reasonable cause, be added to the assessment due a penalty assessment equal to 25% of the assessment due.
    (c) Every supportive living facility subject to assessment under this Article shall keep records and books that will permit the determination of care days on a calendar year basis. All such books and records shall be kept in the English language and shall, at all times during business hours of the day, be subject to inspection by the Department or its duly authorized agents and employees.
    (d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Article, a facility that commences operating or maintaining a supportive living facility that was under a prior ownership and remained enrolled as a Medicaid facility by the Department shall notify the Department of the change in ownership and shall be responsible to immediately pay any prior amounts owed by the facility.
    (e) The Department shall develop a procedure for sharing with a potential buyer of a facility information regarding outstanding assessments and penalties owed by that facility.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-25

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-25)
    Sec. 5G-25. Disposition of proceeds. The Department shall pay all moneys received from supportive living facilities under this Article into the Supportive Living Facility Fund. Upon certification by the Department to the State Comptroller of its intent to withhold from a facility under Section 5G-30(b), the State Comptroller shall draw a warrant on the treasury or other fund held by the State Treasurer, as appropriate. The warrant shall state the amount for which the facility is entitled to a warrant, the amount of the deduction, and the reason therefor and shall direct the State Treasurer to pay the balance to the facility, all in accordance with Section 10.05 of the State Comptroller Act. The warrant also shall direct the State Treasurer to transfer the amount of the deduction so ordered from the treasury or other fund into the Supportive Living Facility Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-30

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-30)
    Sec. 5G-30. Administration; enforcement provisions.
    (a) The Department shall administer and enforce this Article and collect the assessments and penalty assessments imposed under this Article using procedures employed in its administration of this Code generally and as follows:
        (1) The Department may initiate either administrative
    
or judicial proceedings, or both, to enforce provisions of this Article. Administrative enforcement proceedings initiated hereunder shall be governed by the Department's administrative rules. Judicial enforcement proceedings initiated hereunder shall be governed by the rules of procedure applicable in the courts of this State.
        (2) No proceedings for collection, refund, credit, or
    
other adjustment of an assessment amount shall be issued more than 3 years after the due date of the assessment, except in the case of an extended period agreed to in writing by the Department and the supportive living facility before the expiration of this limitation period.
        (3) Any unpaid assessment under this Article shall
    
become a lien upon the assets of the supportive living facility upon which it was assessed. If any supportive living facility, outside the usual course of its business, sells or transfers the major part of any one or more of (A) the real property and improvements, (B) the machinery and equipment, or (C) the furniture or fixtures, of any supportive living facility that is subject to the provisions of this Article, the seller or transferor shall pay the Department the amount of any assessment, assessment penalty, and interest (if any) due from it under this Article up to the date of the sale or transfer. If the seller or transferor fails to pay any assessment, assessment penalty, and interest (if any) due, the purchaser or transferee of such asset shall be liable for the amount of the assessment, penalty, and interest (if any) up to the amount of the reasonable value of the property acquired by the purchaser or transferee. The purchaser or transferee shall continue to be liable until the purchaser or transferee pays the full amount of the assessment, penalty, and interest (if any) up to the amount of the reasonable value of the property acquired by the purchaser or transferee or until the purchaser or transferee receives from the Department a certificate showing that such assessment, penalty, and interest have been paid or a certificate from the Department showing that no assessment, penalty, or interest is due from the seller or transferor under this Article.
    (b) In addition to any other remedy provided for and without sending a notice of assessment liability, the Department may collect an unpaid assessment by withholding, as payment of the assessment, reimbursements or other amounts otherwise payable by the Department to the supportive living facility.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-35

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-35)
    Sec. 5G-35. Supportive Living Facility Fund.
    (a) There is created in the State treasury the Supportive Living Facility Fund. Interest earned by the Fund shall be credited to the Fund. The Fund shall not be used to replace any moneys appropriated to the Medicaid program by the General Assembly.
    (b) The Fund is created for the purpose of receiving and disbursing moneys in accordance with this Article. Disbursements from the Fund, other than transfers authorized under paragraphs (5) and (6) of this subsection, shall be by warrants drawn by the State Comptroller upon receipt of vouchers duly executed and certified by the Department. Disbursements from the Fund shall be made only as follows:
        (1) For making payments to supportive living
    
facilities as required under this Code, under the Children's Health Insurance Program Act, under the Covering ALL KIDS Health Insurance Act, and under the Long Term Acute Care Hospital Quality Improvement Transfer Program Act.
        (2) For the reimbursement of moneys collected by the
    
Department from supportive living facilities through error or mistake in performing the activities authorized under this Code.
        (3) For payment of administrative expenses incurred
    
by the Department or its agent in performing administrative oversight activities for the supportive living program or review of new supportive living facility applications.
        (4) For payments of any amounts which are
    
reimbursable to the federal government for payments from this Fund which are required to be paid by State warrant.
        (5) For making transfers, as those transfers are
    
authorized in the proceedings authorizing debt under the Short Term Borrowing Act, but transfers made under this paragraph (5) shall not exceed the principal amount of debt issued in anticipation of the receipt by the State of moneys to be deposited into the Fund.
        (6) For making transfers to any other fund in the
    
State treasury, but transfers made under this paragraph (6) shall not exceed the amount transferred previously from that other fund into the Supportive Living Facility Fund plus any interest that would have been earned by that fund on the money that had been transferred.
    (c) The Fund shall consist of the following:
        (1) All moneys collected or received by the
    
Department from the supportive living facility assessment imposed by this Article.
        (2) All moneys collected or received by the
    
Department from the supportive living facility certification fee imposed by this Article.
        (3) All federal matching funds received by the
    
Department as a result of expenditures made by the Department that are attributable to moneys deposited in the Fund.
        (4) Any interest or penalty levied in conjunction
    
with the administration of this Article.
        (5) Moneys transferred from another fund in the State
    
treasury.
        (6) All other moneys received for the Fund from any
    
other source, including interest earned thereon.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-40

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-40)
    Sec. 5G-40. Certification fee.
    (a) The Department shall collect an annual certification fee of $100 per each operational or approved supportive living facility for the purposes of funding the administrative process of reviewing new supportive living facility applications and administrative oversight of the health care services delivered by supportive living facilities.
    (b) The certification fee shall be deposited into the Supportive Living Facility Fund. The Department shall maintain a separate accounting of amounts collected under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/5G-45

    (305 ILCS 5/5G-45)
    Sec. 5G-45. Applicability.
    (a) The Department must submit any necessary documentation to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services which allows for an effective date of July 1, 2014 for the requirements of this Article. The documents shall include any necessary documents that satisfy federal public notice requirements, Medicaid state plan amendments, and any Medicaid waiver amendments.
    (b) The assessment imposed by Section 5G-10 shall cease to be imposed if the amount of matching federal funds under Title XIX of the Social Security Act is eliminated or significantly reduced on account of the assessment. Any remaining assessments shall be refunded to supportive living facilities in proportion to the amounts of the assessments paid by them.
    (c) The certification fee imposed by Section 5G-40 shall cease to be imposed if the amount of matching federal funds under Title XIX of the Social Security Act is eliminated or significantly reduced on account of the certification fee.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14.)

305 ILCS 5/Art. V-H

 
    (305 ILCS 5/Art. V-H heading)
ARTICLE V-H. MANAGED CARE ORGANIZATION PROVIDER ASSESSMENT.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-1

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-1)
    Sec. 5H-1. Definitions. As used in this Article:
    "Base year" means the 12-month period from January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018.
    "Department" means the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    "Federal employee health benefit" means the program of health benefits plans, as defined in 5 U.S.C. 8901, available to federal employees under 5 U.S.C. 8901 to 8914.
    "Fund" means the Healthcare Provider Relief Fund.
    "Managed care organization" means an entity operating under a certificate of authority issued pursuant to the Health Maintenance Organization Act or as a Managed Care Community Network pursuant to Section 5-11 of the Public Aid Code.
    "Medicaid managed care organization" means a managed care organization under contract with the Department to provide services to recipients of benefits in the medical assistance program pursuant to Article V of the Public Aid Code, the Children's Health Insurance Program Act, or the Covering ALL KIDS Health Insurance Act. It does not include contracts the same entity or an affiliated entity has for other business.
    "Medicare" means the federal Medicare program established under Title XVIII of the federal Social Security Act.
    "Member months" means the aggregate total number of months all individuals are enrolled for coverage in a Managed Care Organization during the base year. Member months are determined by the Department for Medicaid Managed Care Organizations based on enrollment data in its Medicaid Management Information System and by the Department of Insurance for other Managed Care Organizations based on required filings with the Department of Insurance. Member months do not include months individuals are enrolled in a Limited Health Services Organization, including stand-alone dental or vision plans, a Medicare Advantage Plan, a Medicare Supplement Plan, a Medicaid Medicare Alignment Initiate Plan pursuant to a Memorandum of Understanding between the Department and the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services or a Federal Employee Health Benefits Plan.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-2

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-2)
    Sec. 5H-2. Federal waivers. The Department shall request a waiver from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the broad-based and uniformity provisions of Section 1903(w)(3)(B) and (C) of Title XIX of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 1396b, relating to the assessment imposed under this Article. The assessment required pursuant to Section 5H-3 shall not be due and payable until such waiver has been approved and all other federal requirements necessary to obtain federal financial participation have been approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-3

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-3)
    Sec. 5H-3. Managed care assessment.
    (a) For State Fiscal year 2020 through State Fiscal Year 2025, there is imposed upon managed care organization member months an assessment, calculated on base year data, as set forth below for the appropriate tier:
        (1) Tier 1: $60.20 per member month.
        (2) Tier 2: $1.20 per member month.
        (3) Tier 3: $2.40 per member month.
    (b) The tiers are established as follows:
        (1) Tier 1 includes the first 4,195,000 member months
    
in a Medicaid managed care organization for the base year;
        (ii) Tier 2 includes member months over 4,195,000 in
    
a Medicaid managed care organization during the base year; and
        (iv) Tier 3 includes member months during the base
    
year in a managed care organization that is not a Medicaid managed care organization.
    (c) For State fiscal year 2020 through State fiscal year 2025, the Department may by rule adjust rates or tier parameters or both in order to maximize the revenue generated by the assessment consistent with federal regulations and to meet federal statistical tests necessary for federal financial participation. Any upward adjustment to the Tier 3 rate shall be the minimum necessary to meet federal statistical tests.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-4

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-4)
    Sec. 5H-4. Payment of assessment.
    (a) The assessment payable pursuant to Section 5H-3 shall be due and payable in monthly installments, each equaling one-twelfth of the assessment for the year, on the first State business day of each month.
    (b) If the approval of the waivers required under Section 5H-2 is delayed beyond the start of State fiscal year 2020, then the first installment shall be due on the first business day of the first month that begins more than 15 days after the date of such approval. In the event approval results in installments beginning after July 1, 2019, the amount of each installment for that fiscal year shall equal the full amount of the annual assessment divided by the number of payments that will be paid in fiscal year 2020.
    (c) The Department shall notify each managed care organization of its annual fiscal year 2020 assessment and the installment due dates no later than 30 days prior to the first installment due date and the annual assessment and due dates for each subsequent year at least 30 days prior to the start of each fiscal year.
    (d) Proceeds from the assessment levied pursuant to Section 5H-3 shall be deposited into the Fund.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-5

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-5)
    Sec. 5H-5. Liability or resultant entities. In the event of a merger, acquisition, or any similar transaction involving entities subject to the assessment under this Article, the resultant entity shall be responsible for the full amount of the assessment for all entities involved in the transaction with the member months allotted to tiers as they were prior to the transaction and no member months shall change tiers as a result of any transaction. A managed care organization that ceases doing business in the State during any fiscal year shall be liable only for the monthly installments due in months that they operated in the State. The Department shall by rule establish a methodology to set the assessment base member months for a managed care organization that begins operating in the State at any time after 2018. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to limit authority granted in subsection (c) of Section 5H-3.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-6

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-6)
    Sec. 5H-6. Recordkeeping; penalties.
    (a) A managed care organization that is liable for the assessment under this Article shall keep accurate and complete records and pertinent documents as may be required by the Department. Records required by the Department shall be retained for a period of 4 years after the assessment imposed under this Act to which the records apply is due or as otherwise provided by law. The Department or the Department of Insurance may audit all records necessary to ensure compliance with this Article and make adjustments to assessment amounts previously calculated based on the results of any such audit.
    (b) If a managed care organization fails to make a payment due under this Article in a timely fashion, they shall pay an additional penalty of 5% of the amount of the installment not paid on or before the due date, or any grace period granted, plus 5% of the portion thereof remaining unpaid on the last day of each 30-day period thereafter. The Department is authorized to grant grace periods of up to 30 days upon request of a managed care organization for good cause due to financial or other difficulties, as determined by the Department. If a managed care organization fails to make a payment within 60 days after the due date the Department shall additionally impose a contractual sanction allowed against a Medicaid managed care organization and may terminate any such contract. The Department of Insurance shall take action against the certificate of authority of a non-Medicaid managed care organization that fails to pay an installment within 60 days after the due date.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-7

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-7)
    Sec. 5H-7. Rulemaking. The Department may by rule modify or make adjustments to any methodology, assessment amount, assessment tier, or other similar provision specified in this Article, including broadening the tax base in subsection (a) of Section 5H-3, to the extent necessary to meet the requirements of federal law or regulations, obtain federal approval, or to ensure federal financial participation is available. However, upward adjustments to Tier 3 rates shall be the minimum necessary to meet federal statistical tests to receive federal financial participation. The Department shall adopt rules to implement this Article under the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/5H-8

    (305 ILCS 5/5H-8)
    Sec. 5H-8. Duties of the Department.
    (a) The Department shall ensure that rates to Medicaid managed care organizations are actuarially sound including appropriate incorporation of assessments under this Article, other taxes and administrative expenses, including standardization of processes, and cost of medical care.
    (b) The Department shall pay to each Medicaid managed care organization the amount required to be included in its rates due to the assessment under this Article in order to ensure actuarial soundness within 10 business days of receipt of each assessment payment from the Medicaid managed care organization. The Department shall extend the deadline for any assessment payment due after the initial assessment payment if the payment to the managed care organizations under this subsection for the previous assessment payment has not been paid. Such extension shall extend until 7 business days after receipt by the managed care organization of the late payment under this subsection.
    (c) Reimbursement of assessments paid under this Article shall not be required to count as revenue towards any calculation of the managed care organization's medical loss ratio, net worth, risk based capital or other deposit requirements as may otherwise be required under the Insurance Code. Such reimbursements will be considered revenue in calculating the 6% limit under 42 U.S.C. 433.68(f)(3).
    (d) The Department shall include in its annual report, beginning with its fiscal year 2020 report, and every year thereafter, information on the revenues collected from this assessment, the federal funds drawn based on those revenues, the rates set in Section 5H-3 or any alterations thereof by administrative rule, and other impacts this gross revenue has had on the Medicaid program.
(Source: P.A. 101-9, eff. 6-5-19.)

305 ILCS 5/Art. VI

 
    (305 ILCS 5/Art. VI heading)
ARTICLE VI. GENERAL ASSISTANCE

305 ILCS 5/6-1

    (305 ILCS 5/6-1) (from Ch. 23, par. 6-1)
    Sec. 6-1. Eligibility requirements. Financial aid in meeting basic maintenance requirements shall be given under this Article to or in behalf of persons who meet the eligibility conditions of Sections 6-1.1 through 6-1.10. In addition, each unit of local government subject to this Article shall provide persons receiving financial aid in meeting basic maintenance requirements with financial aid for either (a) necessary treatment, care, and supplies required because of illness or disability, or (b) acute medical treatment, care, and supplies only. If a local governmental unit elects to provide financial aid for acute medical treatment, care, and supplies only, the general types of acute medical treatment, care, and supplies for which financial aid is provided shall be specified in the general assistance rules of the local governmental unit, which rules shall provide that financial aid is provided, at a minimum, for acute medical treatment, care, or supplies necessitated by a medical condition for which prior approval or authorization of medical treatment, care, or supplies is not required by the general assistance rules of the Illinois Department.
(Source: P.A. 100-538, eff. 1-1-18.)

305 ILCS 5/6-1.1

    (305 ILCS 5/6-1.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 6-1.1)
    Sec. 6-1.1. Residence.) If it appears that an applicant is not a resident of this State but that he will suffer great hardship and privation unless general assistance is provided, general assistance may be given for such temporary period of time as the need therefor exists. If the applicant is a resident of some place within the United States charged by law with the support of its needy residents, upon the request of the applicant, transportation to such place may be provided, together with support during the journey and temporary support pending transportation.
    If the person is a resident of this State but has not resided in the governmental unit in which he makes application for a continuous period of 6 months, the governmental unit in which he last so resided shall be charged with providing the necessary aid until the person has resided in the governmental unit to which he has moved for a continuous period of 6 months. The governmental unit to which he has moved shall thereupon become responsible for providing the necessary aid, whether or not he has received general assistance during the 6 months period. The local governmental unit to which application is made shall determine promptly whether or not the applicant meets the 6 months residence requirement. Pending the determination, general assistance shall be provided if the person is otherwise eligible as a needy person. If it is determined that he is a resident of another governmental unit, notice shall be given that unit. Upon receipt of such notice that unit shall furnish the necessary aid until the person has established a residence in the governmental unit in which he has made application. On failure or refusal of the unit of residence to provide aid, the unit to which application is made shall provide the aid which shall be recoverable against the unit of residence by appropriate civil action.
(Source: P.A. 79-353.)