Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 458/) Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Act of 2002.

225 ILCS 458/Art. 15

 
    (225 ILCS 458/Art. 15 heading)
ARTICLE 15. DISCIPLINARY PROVISIONS
(Scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)

225 ILCS 458/15-5

    (225 ILCS 458/15-5)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-5. Unlicensed practice; civil penalty; injunctive relief; unlawful influence.
    (a) A person who violates Section 5-5 of this Act shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, pay a civil penalty to the Department in an amount not to exceed $25,000 for each violation as determined by the Secretary. The civil penalty shall be assessed by the Secretary after a hearing in accordance with the provisions of this Act regarding the provision of a hearing for the discipline of a license.
    (b) The Department has the authority to investigate any activity that may violate this Act.
    (c) A civil penalty imposed pursuant to subsection (a) shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the civil penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed and executed in the same manner as any judgment from any court of record. Any civil penalty collected under this Act shall be made payable to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation and deposited into the Appraisal Administration Fund. In addition to or in lieu of the imposition of a civil penalty, the Department may report a violation of this Act or the failure or refusal to comply with an order of the Department to the Attorney General or to the appropriate State's Attorney.
    (d) Practicing as an appraiser without holding a valid license as required under this Act is declared to be adverse to the public welfare, to constitute a public nuisance, and to cause irreparable harm to the public welfare. The Secretary, the Attorney General, or the State's Attorney of any county in the State may maintain an action for injunctive relief in any circuit court to enjoin any person from engaging in such practice.
    Upon the filing of a verified petition in a circuit court, the court, if satisfied by affidavit or otherwise that a person has been engaged in the practice of real estate appraisal without a valid license, may enter a temporary restraining order without notice or bond enjoining the defendant from further practice. The showing of non-licensure, by affidavit or otherwise, is sufficient for the issuance of a temporary injunction. If it is established that the defendant has been or is engaged in unlawful practice, the court may enter an order or judgment perpetually enjoining the defendant from further unlawful practice. In all proceedings under this Section, the court, in its discretion, may apportion the costs among the parties interested in the action, including the cost of filing the complaint, service of process, witness fees and expenses, court reporter charges, and reasonable attorneys' fees. These injunction proceedings shall be in addition to, and not in lieu of, all penalties and other remedies provided in this Act.
    (e) No person shall influence or attempt to influence through coercion, extortion, or bribery the independent judgment of an appraiser licensed or certified under this Act in the development, reporting, result, or review of a real estate appraisal. A person who violates this subsection (e) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for the first offense and a Class 4 felony for any subsequent offense.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-10

    (225 ILCS 458/15-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-10. Grounds for disciplinary action.
    (a) The Department may suspend, revoke, refuse to issue, renew, or restore a license and may reprimand place on probation or administrative supervision, or take any disciplinary or non-disciplinary action, including imposing conditions limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the real estate appraisal practice of a licensee or reducing the appraisal rank of a licensee, and may impose an administrative fine not to exceed $25,000 for each violation upon a licensee for any one or combination of the following:
        (1) Procuring or attempting to procure a license by
    
knowingly making a false statement, submitting false information, engaging in any form of fraud or misrepresentation, or refusing to provide complete information in response to a question in an application for licensure.
        (2) Failing to meet the minimum qualifications for
    
licensure as an appraiser established by this Act.
        (3) Paying money, other than for the fees provided
    
for by this Act, or anything of value to a member or employee of the Board or the Department to procure licensure under this Act.
        (4) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
    
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States: (i) that is a felony; or (ii) that is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (5) Committing an act or omission involving
    
dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation with the intent to substantially benefit the licensee or another person or with intent to substantially injure another person as defined by rule.
        (6) Violating a provision or standard for the
    
development or communication of real estate appraisals as provided in Section 10-10 of this Act or as defined by rule.
        (7) Failing or refusing without good cause to
    
exercise reasonable diligence in developing, reporting, or communicating an appraisal, as defined by this Act or by rule.
        (8) Violating a provision of this Act or the rules
    
adopted pursuant to this Act.
        (9) Having been disciplined by another state, the
    
District of Columbia, a territory, a foreign nation, a governmental agency, or any other entity authorized to impose discipline if at least one of the grounds for that discipline is the same as or the equivalent of one of the grounds for which a licensee may be disciplined under this Act.
        (10) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (11) Accepting an appraisal assignment when the
    
employment itself is contingent upon the appraiser reporting a predetermined estimate, analysis, or opinion or when the fee to be paid is contingent upon the opinion, conclusion, or valuation reached or upon the consequences resulting from the appraisal assignment.
        (12) Developing valuation conclusions based on the
    
race, color, religion, sex, national origin, ancestry, age, marital status, family status, physical or mental disability, or unfavorable military discharge, as defined under the Illinois Human Rights Act, of the prospective or present owners or occupants of the area or property under appraisal.
        (13) Violating the confidential nature of government
    
records to which the licensee gained access through employment or engagement as an appraiser by a government agency.
        (14) Being adjudicated liable in a civil proceeding
    
on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit. In a disciplinary proceeding based upon a finding of civil liability, the appraiser shall be afforded an opportunity to present mitigating and extenuating circumstances, but may not collaterally attack the civil adjudication.
        (15) Being adjudicated liable in a civil proceeding
    
for violation of a state or federal fair housing law.
        (16) Engaging in misleading or untruthful advertising
    
or using a trade name or insignia of membership in a real estate appraisal or real estate organization of which the licensee is not a member.
        (17) Failing to fully cooperate with a Department
    
investigation by knowingly making a false statement, submitting false or misleading information, or refusing to provide complete information in response to written interrogatories or a written request for documentation within 30 days of the request.
        (18) Failing to include within the certificate of
    
appraisal for all written appraisal reports the appraiser's license number and licensure title. All appraisers providing significant contribution to the development and reporting of an appraisal must be disclosed in the appraisal report. It is a violation of this Act for an appraiser to sign a report, transmittal letter, or appraisal certification knowing that a person providing a significant contribution to the report has not been disclosed in the appraisal report.
        (19) Violating the terms of a disciplinary order or
    
consent to administrative supervision order.
        (20) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
    
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in a licensee's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (21) A physical or mental illness or disability which
    
results in the inability to practice under this Act with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (22) Gross negligence in developing an appraisal or
    
in communicating an appraisal or failing to observe one or more of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.
        (23) A pattern of practice or other behavior that
    
demonstrates incapacity or incompetence to practice under this Act.
        (24) Using or attempting to use the seal,
    
certificate, or license of another as his or her own; falsely impersonating any duly licensed appraiser; using or attempting to use an inactive, expired, suspended, or revoked license; or aiding or abetting any of the foregoing.
        (25) Solicitation of professional services by using
    
false, misleading, or deceptive advertising.
        (26) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
    
information to the Department.
        (27) Failure to furnish information to the
    
Department upon written request.
    (b) The Department may reprimand suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew an education provider's license, may reprimand, place on probation, or otherwise discipline an education provider and may suspend or revoke the course approval of any course offered by an education provider and may impose an administrative fine not to exceed $25,000 upon an education provider, for any of the following:
        (1) Procuring or attempting to procure licensure by
    
knowingly making a false statement, submitting false information, engaging in any form of fraud or misrepresentation, or refusing to provide complete information in response to a question in an application for licensure.
        (2) Failing to comply with the covenants certified to
    
on the application for licensure as an education provider.
        (3) Committing an act or omission involving
    
dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation or allowing any such act or omission by any employee or contractor under the control of the provider.
        (4) Engaging in misleading or untruthful advertising.
        (5) Failing to retain competent instructors in
    
accordance with rules adopted under this Act.
        (6) Failing to meet the topic or time requirements
    
for course approval as the provider of a qualifying curriculum course or a continuing education course.
        (7) Failing to administer an approved course using
    
the course materials, syllabus, and examinations submitted as the basis of the course approval.
        (8) Failing to provide an appropriate classroom
    
environment for presentation of courses, with consideration for student comfort, acoustics, lighting, seating, workspace, and visual aid material.
        (9) Failing to maintain student records in compliance
    
with the rules adopted under this Act.
        (10) Failing to provide a certificate, transcript, or
    
other student record to the Department or to a student as may be required by rule.
        (11) Failing to fully cooperate with an investigation
    
by the Department by knowingly making a false statement, submitting false or misleading information, or refusing to provide complete information in response to written interrogatories or a written request for documentation within 30 days of the request.
    (c) In appropriate cases, the Department may resolve a complaint against a licensee through the issuance of a Consent to Administrative Supervision order. A licensee subject to a Consent to Administrative Supervision order shall be considered by the Department as an active licensee in good standing. This order shall not be reported or considered by the Department to be a discipline of the licensee. The records regarding an investigation and a Consent to Administrative Supervision order shall be considered confidential and shall not be released by the Department except as mandated by law. A complainant shall be notified if his or her complaint has been resolved by a Consent to Administrative Supervision order.
(Source: P.A. 97-602, eff. 8-26-11; 97-877, eff. 8-2-12; 98-1109, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 458/15-15

    (225 ILCS 458/15-15)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-831)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-15. Investigation; notice; hearing.
    (a) Upon the motion of the Department or the Board or upon a complaint in writing of a person setting forth facts that, if proven, would constitute grounds for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action against a licensee or applicant for licensure, the Department shall investigate the actions of the licensee or applicant. If, upon investigation, the Department believes that there may be cause for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action, the Department shall use the services of a State certified general real estate appraiser, a State certified residential real estate appraiser, or the Real Estate Coordinator to assist in determining whether grounds for disciplinary action exist prior to commencing formal disciplinary proceedings.
    (b) Formal disciplinary proceedings shall commence upon the issuance of a written complaint describing the charges that are the basis of the disciplinary action and delivery of the detailed complaint to the address of record of the licensee or applicant. The Department shall notify the licensee or applicant to file a verified written answer within 20 days after the service of the notice and complaint. The notification shall inform the licensee or applicant of his or her right to be heard in person or by legal counsel; that the hearing will be afforded not sooner than 30 days after service of the complaint; that failure to file an answer will result in a default being entered against the licensee or applicant; that the license may be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status; and that other disciplinary action may be taken pursuant to this Act, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the licensee's practice. If the licensee or applicant fails to file an answer after service of notice, his or her license may, at the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status and the Department may take whatever disciplinary action it deems proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice, without a hearing.
    (c) At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board shall conduct hearing of the charges, providing both the accused person and the complainant ample opportunity to present in person or by counsel such statements, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to a defense thereto.
    (d) The Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings and recommendations. A copy of the report shall be served upon the licensee or applicant, either personally or by certified mail. Within 20 days after the service, the licensee or applicant may present the Secretary with a motion in writing for either a rehearing, a proposed finding of fact, a conclusion of law, or an alternative sanction, and shall specify the particular grounds for the request. If the accused orders a transcript of the record as provided in this Act, the time elapsing thereafter and before the transcript is ready for delivery to the accused shall not be counted as part of the 20 days. If the Secretary is not satisfied that substantial justice has been done, the Secretary may order a rehearing by the Board or other special committee appointed by the Secretary, may remand the matter to the Board for its reconsideration of the matter based on the pleadings and evidence presented to the Board, or may enter a final order in contravention of the Board's recommendation. In all instances under this Act in which the Board has rendered a recommendation to the Secretary with respect to a particular licensee or applicant, the Secretary, if he or she disagrees with the recommendation of the Board, shall file with the Board and provide to the licensee or applicant a copy of the Secretary's specific written reasons for disagreement with the Board. The reasons shall be filed within 60 days of the Board's recommendation to the Secretary and prior to any contrary action. Notwithstanding a licensee's or applicant's failure to file a motion for rehearing, the Secretary shall have the right to take any of the actions specified in this subsection (d). Upon the suspension or revocation of a license, the licensee shall be required to surrender his or her license to the Department, and upon failure or refusal to do so, the Department shall have the right to seize the license.
    (e) The Department has the power to issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum to bring before it any person in this State, to take testimony, or to require production of any records relevant to an inquiry or hearing by the Board in the same manner as prescribed by law in judicial proceedings in the courts of this State. In a case of refusal of a witness to attend, testify, or to produce books or papers concerning a matter upon which he or she might be lawfully examined, the circuit court of the county where the hearing is held, upon application of the Department or any party to the proceeding, may compel obedience by proceedings as for contempt.
    (f) Any license that is suspended indefinitely or revoked may not be restored for a minimum period of 2 years, or as otherwise ordered by the Secretary.
    (g) In addition to the provisions of this Section concerning the conduct of hearings and the recommendations for discipline, the Department has the authority to negotiate disciplinary and non-disciplinary settlement agreements concerning any license issued under this Act. All such agreements shall be recorded as Consent Orders or Consent to Administrative Supervision Orders.
    (h) The Secretary shall have the authority to appoint an attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action to suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline any license issued by the Department. The Hearing Officer shall have full authority to conduct the hearing.
    (i) The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all formal hearings of any contested case involving the discipline of a license. At all hearings or pre-hearing conferences, the Department and the licensee shall be entitled to have the proceedings transcribed by a certified shorthand reporter. A copy of the transcribed proceedings shall be made available to the licensee by the certified shorthand reporter upon payment of the prevailing contract copy rate.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-831)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-15. Investigation; notice; hearing.
    (a) Upon the motion of the Department or the Board or upon a complaint in writing of a person setting forth facts that, if proven, would constitute grounds for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action against a licensee or applicant for licensure, the Department shall investigate the actions of the licensee or applicant. If, upon investigation, the Department believes that there may be cause for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action, the Department shall use the services of a State certified general real estate appraiser, a State certified residential real estate appraiser, or the Real Estate Coordinator to assist in determining whether grounds for disciplinary action exist prior to commencing formal disciplinary proceedings.
    (b) Formal disciplinary proceedings shall commence upon the issuance of a written complaint describing the charges that are the basis of the disciplinary action and delivery of the detailed complaint to the address of record of the licensee or applicant. The Department shall notify the licensee or applicant to file a verified written answer within 20 days after the service of the notice and complaint. The notification shall inform the licensee or applicant of his or her right to be heard in person or by legal counsel; that the hearing will be afforded not sooner than 30 days after service of the complaint; that failure to file an answer will result in a default being entered against the licensee or applicant; that the license may be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status; and that other disciplinary action may be taken pursuant to this Act, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the licensee's practice. If the licensee or applicant fails to file an answer after service of notice, his or her license may, at the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status and the Department may take whatever disciplinary action it deems proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice, without a hearing.
    (c) At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board shall conduct hearing of the charges, providing both the accused person and the complainant ample opportunity to present in person or by counsel such statements, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to a defense thereto.
    (d) The Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings and recommendations. A copy of the report shall be served upon the licensee or applicant, either personally or by certified mail. Within 20 days after the service, the licensee or applicant may present the Secretary with a motion in writing for either a rehearing, a proposed finding of fact, a conclusion of law, or an alternative sanction, and shall specify the particular grounds for the request. If the accused orders a transcript of the record as provided in this Act, the time elapsing thereafter and before the transcript is ready for delivery to the accused shall not be counted as part of the 20 days. If the Secretary is not satisfied that substantial justice has been done, the Secretary may order a rehearing by the Board or other special committee appointed by the Secretary, may remand the matter to the Board for its reconsideration of the matter based on the pleadings and evidence presented to the Board, or may enter a final order in contravention of the Board's recommendation. Notwithstanding a licensee's or applicant's failure to file a motion for rehearing, the Secretary shall have the right to take any of the actions specified in this subsection (d). Upon the suspension or revocation of a license, the licensee shall be required to surrender his or her license to the Department, and upon failure or refusal to do so, the Department shall have the right to seize the license.
    (e) The Department has the power to issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum to bring before it any person in this State, to take testimony, or to require production of any records relevant to an inquiry or hearing by the Board in the same manner as prescribed by law in judicial proceedings in the courts of this State. In a case of refusal of a witness to attend, testify, or to produce books or papers concerning a matter upon which he or she might be lawfully examined, the circuit court of the county where the hearing is held, upon application of the Department or any party to the proceeding, may compel obedience by proceedings as for contempt.
    (f) Any license that is suspended indefinitely or revoked may not be restored for a minimum period of 2 years, or as otherwise ordered by the Secretary.
    (g) In addition to the provisions of this Section concerning the conduct of hearings and the recommendations for discipline, the Department has the authority to negotiate disciplinary and non-disciplinary settlement agreements concerning any license issued under this Act. All such agreements shall be recorded as Consent Orders or Consent to Administrative Supervision Orders.
    (h) The Secretary shall have the authority to appoint an attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action to suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline any license issued by the Department. The Hearing Officer shall have full authority to conduct the hearing.
    (i) The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all formal hearings of any contested case involving the discipline of a license. At all hearings or pre-hearing conferences, the Department and the licensee shall be entitled to have the proceedings transcribed by a certified shorthand reporter. A copy of the transcribed proceedings shall be made available to the licensee by the certified shorthand reporter upon payment of the prevailing contract copy rate.
(Source: P.A. 100-831, eff. 1-1-19.)

225 ILCS 458/15-17

    (225 ILCS 458/15-17)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-17. Temporary suspension. The Secretary may temporarily suspend the license of a licensee without a hearing, simultaneously with the institution of proceedings for a hearing provided in Section 15-10 of this Act, if the Secretary finds that the public interest, safety, or welfare requires such emergency action. In the event that the Secretary temporarily suspends a license without a hearing before the Board, a hearing shall be held within 30 days after the suspension has occurred. The suspended licensee may seek a continuance of the hearing, during which time the suspension shall remain in effect. The proceeding shall be concluded without appreciable delay. If the Department does not hold a hearing within 30 days after the date of suspension, the licensee's license shall be automatically reinstated.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-18

    (225 ILCS 458/15-18)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-18. Report of fraud. Whenever the Secretary becomes aware, based on reliable information, that any person or entity regulated by the Department, other than a person or entity regulated under this Act, is engaged or has been engaged in real estate appraising for mortgage loan purposes in a manner that constitutes fraud or misrepresentation or constitutes dishonest, unethical, or unprofessional conduct of a character likely to defraud or harm the public, the Secretary shall refer that matter in a timely manner to the appropriate disciplinary board or investigative body charged with investigating and prosecuting the unlawful conduct of such regulated person or entity and may also refer the matter to the Attorney General or other appropriate law enforcement agency, as deemed appropriate by the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-20

    (225 ILCS 458/15-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-20. Administrative Review Law; certification fees; Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.
    (a) All final administrative decisions of the Secretary under this Act are subject to judicial review pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Review Law and the rules adopted pursuant thereto. The term "administrative decision" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section 3-101 of the Administrative Review Law.
    (b) The Department shall not be required to certify any record, file any answer or otherwise appear unless the party filing the administrative review complaint pays the certification fee to the Department as provided by rule. Failure on the part of the plaintiff to make such a deposit shall be grounds for dismissal of the action.
    (c) The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act is hereby expressly adopted and incorporated herein. In the event of a conflict between this Act and the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, this Act shall control.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

225 ILCS 458/15-30

    (225 ILCS 458/15-30)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-30. Statute of limitations. No action may be taken under this Act against a person licensed under this Act unless the action is commenced within 5 years after the occurrence of the alleged violation or within 2 years after final disposition of any judicial proceeding, including any appeals, in which the appraiser provided testimony related to the assignment, whichever period expires last. A continuing violation is deemed to have occurred on the date when the circumstances last existed that gave rise to the alleged continuing violation.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09; 97-602, eff. 8-26-11.)

225 ILCS 458/15-35

    (225 ILCS 458/15-35)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-35. Signature of the Secretary. An order of revocation or suspension or a certified copy of the order, bearing the seal of the Department and purporting to be signed by the Secretary, shall be prima facie proof that:
        (1) the signature is the genuine signature of the
    
Secretary;
        (2) the Secretary is duly appointed and qualified;
    
and
        (3) the Board and the members thereof are qualified.
This proof may be rebutted.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-40

    (225 ILCS 458/15-40)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-40. Violation of tax Acts. The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of that tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-45

    (225 ILCS 458/15-45)
    Sec. 15-45. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09. Repealed by P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)

225 ILCS 458/15-50

    (225 ILCS 458/15-50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-50. Nonpayment of child support. In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid). Redetermination of the delinquency by the Department shall not be required. In cases regarding the renewal of a license, the Department shall not renew any license if the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) has certified the licensee to be more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support, unless the licensee has arranged for payment of past and current child support obligations in a manner satisfactory to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid). The Department may impose conditions, restrictions, or disciplinary action upon that renewal.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-55

    (225 ILCS 458/15-55)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-55. Checks or orders to Department dishonored because of insufficient funds. Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it was drawn shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The fines imposed by this Section are in addition to any other discipline provided under this Act for unlicensed practice or practice on a non-renewed license. The Department shall notify the applicant or licensee that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days after the notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. If, after termination or denial, the person seeks a license, he or she must apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all of the expenses of processing the application. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the penalties or fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-60

    (225 ILCS 458/15-60)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-60. Cease and desist orders. The Department may issue cease and desist orders to persons who engage in activities prohibited by this Act. Any person in violation of a cease and desist order issued by the Department is subject to all of the penalties provided by law.
(Source: P.A. 96-844, eff. 12-23-09.)

225 ILCS 458/15-65

    (225 ILCS 458/15-65)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 15-65. Confidentiality. All information collected by the Department in the course of an examination or investigation of a licensee or applicant, including, but not limited to, any complaint against a licensee filed with the Department and information collected to investigate any such complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the Department and shall not be disclosed. The Department may not disclose the information to anyone other than law enforcement officials, other regulatory agencies that have an appropriate regulatory interest as determined by the Secretary, or to a party presenting a lawful subpoena to the Department. Information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, county, or local law enforcement agency shall not be disclosed by the agency for any purpose to any other agency or person. A formal complaint filed against a licensee by the Department or any order issued by the Department against a licensee or applicant shall be a public record, except as otherwise prohibited by law.
(Source: P.A. 97-602, eff. 8-26-11.)