Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

HEALTH FACILITIES AND REGULATION
(210 ILCS 45/) Nursing Home Care Act.

210 ILCS 45/3-110

    (210 ILCS 45/3-110) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-110)
    Sec. 3-110. (a) Any license granted by the Director shall state the maximum bed capacity for which it is granted, the date the license was issued, and the expiration date. Except as provided in subsection (b), such licenses shall normally be issued for a period of one year. However, the Director may issue licenses or renewals for periods of not less than 6 months nor more than 18 months for facilities with annual licenses and not less than 18 months nor more than 30 months for facilities with 2-year licenses in order to distribute the expiration dates of such licenses throughout the calendar year, and fees for such licenses shall be prorated on the basis of the portion of a year for which they are issued. Each license shall be issued only for the premises and persons named in the application and shall not be transferable or assignable.
    The Department shall require the licensee to comply with the requirements of a court order issued under Section 3-515, as a condition of licensing.
    (b) A license for a period of 2 years shall be issued to a facility if the facility:
        (1) has not received a Type A violation within the
    
last 24 months;
        (2) has not received a Type B violation within the
    
last 24 months;
        (3) has not had an inspection, survey, or evaluation
    
that resulted in the issuance of 10 or more administrative warnings in the last 24 months;
        (4) has not had an inspection, survey, or evaluation
    
that resulted in an administrative warning issued for a violation of Sections 3-401 through 3-413 in the last 24 months;
        (5) has not been issued an order to reimburse a
    
resident for a violation of Article II under subsection (6) of Section 3-305 in the last 24 months; and
        (6) has not been subject to sanctions or
    
decertification for violations in relation to patient care of a facility under Titles XVIII and XIX of the federal Social Security Act within the last 24 months.
    If a facility with a 2-year license fails to meet the conditions in items (1) through (6) of this subsection, in addition to any other sanctions that may be applied by the Department under this Act, the facility's 2-year license shall be replaced by a one-year license until such time as the facility again meets the conditions in items (1) through (6) of this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 87-549; 87-1102.)

210 ILCS 45/3-111

    (210 ILCS 45/3-111) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-111)
    Sec. 3-111. The issuance or renewal of a license after notice of a violation has been sent shall not constitute a waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation as the basis for subsequent license revocation or other enforcement action under this Act arising out of the notice of violation.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-112

    (210 ILCS 45/3-112) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-112)
    Sec. 3-112. (a) Whenever ownership of a facility is transferred from the person named in the license to any other person, the transferee must obtain a new probationary license. The transferee shall notify the Department of the transfer and apply for a new license at least 30 days prior to final transfer.
    (b) The transferor shall notify the Department at least 30 days prior to final transfer. The transferor shall remain responsible for the operation of the facility until such time as a license is issued to the transferee.
(Source: P.A. 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

210 ILCS 45/3-113

    (210 ILCS 45/3-113) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-113)
    Sec. 3-113. The license granted to the transferee shall be subject to the plan of correction submitted by the previous owner and approved by the Department and any conditions contained in a conditional license issued to the previous owner. If there are outstanding violations and no approved plan of correction has been implemented, the Department may issue a conditional license and plan of correction as provided in Sections 3-311 through 3-317. The license granted to a transferee for a facility that is in receivership shall be subject to any contractual obligations assumed by a grantee under the Equity in Long-term Care Quality Act and to the plan submitted by the receiver for continuing and increasing adherence to best practices in providing high-quality nursing home care, unless the grant is repaid, under conditions to be determined by rule by the Department in its administration of the Equity in Long-term Care Quality Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/3-114

    (210 ILCS 45/3-114) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-114)
    Sec. 3-114. The transferor shall remain liable for all penalties assessed against the facility which are imposed for violations occurring prior to transfer of ownership.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-115

    (210 ILCS 45/3-115) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-115)
    Sec. 3-115. License renewal application. At least 120 days but not more than 150 days prior to license expiration, the licensee shall submit an application for renewal of the license in such form and containing such information as the Department requires. If the application is approved, the license shall be renewed in accordance with Section 3-110 at the request of the licensee. The renewal application for a sheltered care or long-term care facility shall not be approved unless the applicant has provided to the Department an accurate disclosure document in accordance with the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias Special Care Disclosure Act. If application for renewal is not timely filed, the Department shall so inform the licensee.
(Source: P.A. 96-990, eff. 7-2-10; 96-1275, eff. 7-26-10; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

210 ILCS 45/3-116

    (210 ILCS 45/3-116) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-116)
    Sec. 3-116. If the applicant has not been previously licensed or if the facility is not in operation at the time application is made, the Department shall issue only a probationary license. A probationary license shall be valid for 120 days unless sooner suspended or revoked under Section 3-119. Within 30 days prior to the termination of a probationary license, the Department shall fully and completely inspect the facility and, if the facility meets the applicable requirements for licensure, shall issue a license under Section 3-109. If the Department finds that the facility does not meet the requirements for licensure but has made substantial progress toward meeting those requirements, the license may be renewed once for a period not to exceed 120 days from the expiration date of the initial probationary license.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-117

    (210 ILCS 45/3-117) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-117)
    Sec. 3-117. An application for a license may be denied for any of the following reasons:
        (1) Failure to meet any of the minimum standards set
    
forth by this Act or by rules and regulations promulgated by the Department under this Act.
        (2) Conviction of the applicant, or if the applicant
    
is a firm, partnership or association, of any of its members, or if a corporation, the conviction of the corporation or any of its officers or stockholders, or of the person designated to manage or supervise the facility, of a felony, or of 2 or more misdemeanors involving moral turpitude, during the previous 5 years as shown by a certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.
        (3) Personnel insufficient in number or unqualified
    
by training or experience to properly care for the proposed number and type of residents.
        (4) Insufficient financial or other resources to
    
operate and conduct the facility in accordance with standards promulgated by the Department under this Act and with contractual obligations assumed by a recipient of a grant under the Equity in Long-term Care Quality Act and the plan (if applicable) submitted by a grantee for continuing and increasing adherence to best practices in providing high-quality nursing home care.
        (5) Revocation of a facility license during the
    
previous 5 years, if such prior license was issued to the individual applicant, a controlling owner or controlling combination of owners of the applicant; or any affiliate of the individual applicant or controlling owner of the applicant and such individual applicant, controlling owner of the applicant or affiliate of the applicant was a controlling owner of the prior license; provided, however, that the denial of an application for a license pursuant to this subsection must be supported by evidence that such prior revocation renders the applicant unqualified or incapable of meeting or maintaining a facility in accordance with the standards and rules promulgated by the Department under this Act.
        (6) That the facility is not under the direct
    
supervision of a full-time administrator, as defined by regulation, who is licensed, if required, under the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing and Disciplinary Act.
        (7) That the facility is in receivership and the
    
proposed licensee has not submitted a specific detailed plan to bring the facility into compliance with the requirements of this Act and with federal certification requirements, if the facility is certified, and to keep the facility in such compliance.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/3-118

    (210 ILCS 45/3-118) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-118)
    Sec. 3-118. Immediately upon the denial of any application or reapplication for a license under this Article, the Department shall notify the applicant in writing. Notice of denial shall include a clear and concise statement of the violations of Section 3-117 on which denial is based and notice of the opportunity for a hearing under Section 3-703. If the applicant desires to contest the denial of a license, it shall provide written notice to the Department of a request for a hearing within 10 days after receipt of the notice of denial. The Department shall commence the hearing under Section 3-703.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-119

    (210 ILCS 45/3-119) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-119)
    Sec. 3-119. (a) The Department, after notice to the applicant or licensee, may suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license in any case in which the Department finds any of the following:
        (1) There has been a substantial failure to comply
    
with this Act or the rules and regulations promulgated by the Department under this Act. A substantial failure by a facility shall include, but not be limited to, any of the following:
            (A) termination of Medicare or Medicaid
        
certification by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; or
            (B) a failure by the facility to pay any fine
        
assessed under this Act after the Department has sent to the facility at least 2 notices of assessment that include a schedule of payments as determined by the Department, taking into account extenuating circumstances and financial hardships of the facility.
        (2) Conviction of the licensee, or of the person
    
designated to manage or supervise the facility, of a felony, or of 2 or more misdemeanors involving moral turpitude, during the previous 5 years as shown by a certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.
        (3) Personnel is insufficient in number or
    
unqualified by training or experience to properly care for the number and type of residents served by the facility.
        (4) Financial or other resources are insufficient to
    
conduct and operate the facility in accordance with standards promulgated by the Department under this Act.
        (5) The facility is not under the direct supervision
    
of a full-time administrator, as defined by regulation, who is licensed, if required, under the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing and Disciplinary Act.
        (6) The facility has committed 2 Type "AA" violations
    
within a 2-year period.
    (b) Notice under this Section shall include a clear and concise statement of the violations on which the nonrenewal or revocation is based, the statute or rule violated and notice of the opportunity for a hearing under Section 3-703.
    (c) If a facility desires to contest the nonrenewal or revocation of a license, the facility shall, within 10 days after receipt of notice under subsection (b) of this Section, notify the Department in writing of its request for a hearing under Section 3-703. Upon receipt of the request the Department shall send notice to the facility and hold a hearing as provided under Section 3-703.
    (d) The effective date of nonrenewal or revocation of a license by the Department shall be any of the following:
        (1) Until otherwise ordered by the circuit court,
    
revocation is effective on the date set by the Department in the notice of revocation, or upon final action after hearing under Section 3-703, whichever is later.
        (2) Until otherwise ordered by the circuit court,
    
nonrenewal is effective on the date of expiration of any existing license, or upon final action after hearing under Section 3-703, whichever is later; however, a license shall not be deemed to have expired if the Department fails to timely respond to a timely request for renewal under this Act or for a hearing to contest nonrenewal under paragraph (c).
        (3) The Department may extend the effective date of
    
license revocation or expiration in any case in order to permit orderly removal and relocation of residents.
    The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/3-120

    (210 ILCS 45/3-120)
    Sec. 3-120. Certification of behavioral management units.
    (a) No later than January 1, 2011, the Department shall file with the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules, pursuant to the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, proposed rules or proposed amendments to existing rules to certify distinct self-contained units within existing nursing homes for the behavioral management of persons with a high risk of aggression. The purpose of the certification program is to ensure that the safety of residents, employees, and the public is preserved.
    (b) The Department's rules shall, at a minimum, provide for the following:
        (1) A security and safety assessment, completed
    
before admission to a certified unit if an Identified Offender Report and Recommendation or other criminal risk analysis has not been completed, to identify existing or potential residents at risk of committing violent acts and determine appropriate preventive action to be taken. The assessment shall include, but need not be limited to, (i) a measure of the frequency of, (ii) an identification of the precipitating factors for, and (iii) the consequences of, violent acts. The security and safety assessment shall be in addition to any risk-of-harm assessment performed by a PAS screener, but may use the results of this or any other assessment. The security and safety assessment shall be completed by the same licensed forensic psychologist who prepares Identified Offender Reports and Recommendations for identified offenders.
        (2) Development of an individualized treatment and
    
behavior management plan for each resident to reduce overall and specific risks.
        (3) Room selection and appropriateness of roommate
    
assignment.
        (4) Protection of residents, employees, and members
    
of the public from aggression by residents.
        (5) Supervision and monitoring.
        (6) Staffing levels.
        (7) Quality assurance and improvement.
        (8) Staff training, conducted during orientation and
    
periodically thereafter, specific to each job description covering the following topics as appropriate:
            (A) The violence escalation cycle.
            (B) Violence predicting factors.
            (C) Obtaining a history from a resident with a
        
history of violent behavior.
            (D) Verbal and physical techniques to de-escalate
        
and minimize violent behavior.
            (E) Strategies to avoid physical harm.
            (F) Containment techniques, as permitted and
        
governed by law.
            (G) Appropriate treatment to reduce violent
        
behavior.
            (H) Documenting and reporting incidents of
        
violence.
            (I) The process whereby employees affected by a
        
violent act may be debriefed or calmed down and the tension of the situation may be reduced.
            (J) Any resources available to employees for
        
coping with violence.
            (K) Any other topic deemed appropriate based on
        
job description and the needs of this population.
        (9) Elimination or reduction of environmental factors
    
that affect resident safety.
        (10) Periodic independent reassessment of the
    
individual resident for appropriateness of continued placement on the certified unit. For the purposes of this paragraph (10), "independent" means that no professional or financial relationship exists between any person making the assessment and any community provider or long term care facility.
        (11) A definition of a "person with high risk of
    
aggression".
    The Department shall develop the administrative rules under this subsection (b) in collaboration with other relevant State agencies and in consultation with (i) advocates for residents, (ii) providers of nursing home services, and (iii) labor and employee-representation organizations.
    (c) A long term care facility found to be out of compliance with the certification requirements under Section 3-120 may be subject to denial, revocation, or suspension of the behavioral management unit certification or the imposition of sanctions and penalties, including the immediate suspension of new admissions. Hearings shall be conducted pursuant to Part 7 of Article III of this Act.
    (d) The Department shall establish a certification fee schedule by rule, in consultation with advocates, nursing homes, and representatives of associations representing long term care facilities.
(Source: P.A. 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/Art. III Pt. 2

 
    (210 ILCS 45/Art. III Pt. 2 heading)
PART 2. GENERAL PROVISIONS

210 ILCS 45/3-201

    (210 ILCS 45/3-201) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-201)
    Sec. 3-201. The Department shall not prescribe the course of medical treatment provided to an individual resident by the resident's physician in a facility.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-202)
    Sec. 3-202. The Department shall prescribe minimum standards for facilities. These standards shall regulate:
        (1) Location and construction of the facility,
    
including plumbing, heating, lighting, ventilation, and other physical conditions which shall ensure the health, safety, and comfort of residents and their protection from fire hazard;
        (2) Number and qualifications of all personnel,
    
including management and nursing personnel, having responsibility for any part of the care given to residents; specifically, the Department shall establish staffing ratios for facilities which shall specify the number of staff hours per resident of care that are needed for professional nursing care for various types of facilities or areas within facilities;
        (3) All sanitary conditions within the facility and
    
its surroundings, including water supply, sewage disposal, food handling, and general hygiene, which shall ensure the health and comfort of residents;
        (4) Diet related to the needs of each resident based
    
on good nutritional practice and on recommendations which may be made by the physicians attending the resident;
        (5) Equipment essential to the health and welfare of
    
the residents;
        (6) A program of habilitation and rehabilitation for
    
those residents who would benefit from such programs;
        (7) A program for adequate maintenance of physical
    
plant and equipment;
        (8) Adequate accommodations, staff and services for
    
the number and types of residents for whom the facility is licensed to care, including standards for temperature and relative humidity within comfort zones determined by the Department based upon a combination of air temperature, relative humidity and air movement. Such standards shall also require facility plans that provide for health and comfort of residents at medical risk as determined by the attending physician whenever the temperature and relative humidity are outside such comfort zones established by the Department. The standards must include a requirement that areas of a nursing home used by residents of the nursing home be air conditioned and heated by means of operable air-conditioning and heating equipment. The areas subject to this air-conditioning and heating requirement include, without limitation, bedrooms or common areas such as sitting rooms, activity rooms, living rooms, community rooms, and dining rooms. No later than July 1, 2008, the Department shall submit a report to the General Assembly concerning the impact of the changes made by this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly;
        (9) Development of evacuation and other appropriate
    
safety plans for use during weather, health, fire, physical plant, environmental and national defense emergencies; and
        (10) Maintenance of minimum financial or other
    
resources necessary to meet the standards established under this Section, and to operate and conduct the facility in accordance with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-31, eff. 8-9-07.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.05

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.05)
    Sec. 3-202.05. Staffing ratios effective July 1, 2010 and thereafter.
    (a) For the purpose of computing staff to resident ratios, direct care staff shall include:
        (1) registered nurses;
        (2) licensed practical nurses;
        (3) certified nurse assistants;
        (4) psychiatric services rehabilitation aides;
        (5) rehabilitation and therapy aides;
        (6) psychiatric services rehabilitation coordinators;
        (7) assistant directors of nursing;
        (8) 50% of the Director of Nurses' time; and
        (9) 30% of the Social Services Directors' time.
    The Department shall, by rule, allow certain facilities subject to 77 Ill. Admin. Code 300.4000 and following (Subpart S) to utilize specialized clinical staff, as defined in rules, to count towards the staffing ratios.
    Within 120 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the Department shall promulgate rules specific to the staffing requirements for facilities federally defined as Institutions for Mental Disease. These rules shall recognize the unique nature of individuals with chronic mental health conditions, shall include minimum requirements for specialized clinical staff, including clinical social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists, and direct care staff set forth in paragraphs (4) through (6) and any other specialized staff which may be utilized and deemed necessary to count toward staffing ratios.
    Within 120 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the Department shall promulgate rules specific to the staffing requirements for facilities licensed under the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013. These rules shall recognize the unique nature of individuals with chronic mental health conditions, shall include minimum requirements for specialized clinical staff, including clinical social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists, and direct care staff set forth in paragraphs (4) through (6) and any other specialized staff which may be utilized and deemed necessary to count toward staffing ratios.
    (b) Beginning January 1, 2011, and thereafter, light intermediate care shall be staffed at the same staffing ratio as intermediate care.
    (c) Facilities shall notify the Department within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, in a form and manner prescribed by the Department, of the staffing ratios in effect on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly for both intermediate and skilled care and the number of residents receiving each level of care.
    (d)(1) Effective July 1, 2010, for each resident needing skilled care, a minimum staffing ratio of 2.5 hours of nursing and personal care each day must be provided; for each resident needing intermediate care, 1.7 hours of nursing and personal care each day must be provided.
    (2) Effective January 1, 2011, the minimum staffing ratios shall be increased to 2.7 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing skilled care and 1.9 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing intermediate care.
    (3) Effective January 1, 2012, the minimum staffing ratios shall be increased to 3.0 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing skilled care and 2.1 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing intermediate care.
    (4) Effective January 1, 2013, the minimum staffing ratios shall be increased to 3.4 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing skilled care and 2.3 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing intermediate care.
    (5) Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum staffing ratios shall be increased to 3.8 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing skilled care and 2.5 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing intermediate care.
    (e) Ninety days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, a minimum of 25% of nursing and personal care time shall be provided by licensed nurses, with at least 10% of nursing and personal care time provided by registered nurses. These minimum requirements shall remain in effect until an acuity based registered nurse requirement is promulgated by rule concurrent with the adoption of the Resource Utilization Group classification-based payment methodology, as provided in Section 5-5.2 of the Illinois Public Aid Code. Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses employed by a facility in excess of these requirements may be used to satisfy the remaining 75% of the nursing and personal care time requirements. Notwithstanding this subsection, no staffing requirement in statute in effect on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly shall be reduced on account of this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 97-689, eff. 6-14-12; 98-104, eff. 7-22-13.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.1

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.1) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-202.1)
    Sec. 3-202.1. The Department shall develop and implement a system of alerting and educating facilities and their personnel as to the existence or possibility of weather or other hazardous circumstances which may endanger resident health or safety and designating any precautions to prevent or minimize such danger. The Department may assist any facility experiencing difficulty in dealing with such emergencies. The Department may provide for announcement to the public of the dangers posed to facility residents by such existing or potential weather or hazardous circumstances.
(Source: P.A. 83-1530.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.2

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.2)
    Sec. 3-202.2. Rules; residents with mental illness. No later than January 1, 2001, the Department of Public Health shall file with the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules, pursuant to the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, a proposed rule, or a proposed amendment to an existing rule, regarding the provision of services, including assessment, care planning, discharge planning, and treatment, by nursing facilities to residents who have a serious mental illness.
(Source: P.A. 91-799, eff. 6-13-00.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.2a

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.2a)
    Sec. 3-202.2a. Comprehensive resident care plan. A facility, with the participation of the resident and the resident's guardian or representative, as applicable, must develop and implement a comprehensive care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the resident's comprehensive assessment, which allow the resident to attain or maintain the highest practicable level of independent functioning, and provide for discharge planning to the least restrictive setting based on the resident's care needs. The assessment shall be developed with the active participation of the resident and the resident's guardian or representative, as applicable.
(Source: P.A. 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.2b

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.2b)
    Sec. 3-202.2b. Certification of psychiatric rehabilitation program.
    (a) No later than January 1, 2011, the Department shall file with the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules, pursuant to the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, proposed rules or proposed amendments to existing rules to establish a special certification program for compliance with 77 Ill. Admin. Code 300.4000 and following (Subpart S), which provides for psychiatric rehabilitation services that are required to be offered by a long term care facility licensed under this Act that serves residents with serious mental illness. Compliance with standards promulgated pursuant to this Section must be demonstrated before a long term care facility licensed under this Act is eligible to become certified under this Section and annually thereafter.
    (b) No long term care facility shall establish, operate, maintain, or offer psychiatric rehabilitation services, or admit, retain, or seek referrals of a resident with a serious mental illness diagnosis, unless and until a valid certification, which remains unsuspended, unrevoked, and unexpired, has been issued.
    (c) A facility that currently serves a resident with serious mental illness may continue to admit such residents until the Department performs a certification review and determines that the facility does not meet the requirements for certification. The Department, at its discretion, may provide an additional 90-day period for the facility to meet the requirements for certification if it finds that the facility has made a good faith effort to comply with all certification requirements and will achieve total compliance with the requirements before the end of the 90-day period. The facility shall be prohibited from admitting residents with serious mental illness until the Department certifies the facility to be in compliance with the requirements of this Section.
    (d) A facility currently serving residents with serious mental illness that elects to terminate provision of services to this population must immediately notify the Department of its intent, cease to admit new residents with serious mental illness, and give notice to all existing residents with serious mental illness of their impending discharge. These residents shall be accorded all rights and assistance provided to a resident being involuntarily discharged and those provided under Section 2-201.5. The facility shall continue to adhere to all requirements of 77 Ill. Admin. Code 300.4000 until all residents with serious mental illness have been discharged.
    (e) A long term care facility found to be out of compliance with the certification requirements under this Section may be subject to denial, revocation, or suspension of the psychiatric rehabilitation services certification or the imposition of sanctions and penalties, including the immediate suspension of new admissions. Hearings shall be conducted pursuant to Article III, Part 7 of this Act.
    (f) The Department shall indicate, on its list of licensed long term care facilities, which facilities are certified under this Section and shall distribute this list to the appropriate State agencies charged with administering and implementing the State's program of pre-admission screening and resident review, hospital discharge planners, Area Agencies on Aging, Case Coordination Units, and others upon request.
    (g) No public official, agent, or employee of the State, or any subcontractor of the State, may refer or arrange for the placement of a person with serious mental illness in a long term care facility that is not certified under this Section. No public official, agent, or employee of the State, or any subcontractor of the State, may place the name of a long term care facility on a list of facilities serving the seriously mentally ill for distribution to the general public or to professionals arranging for placements or making referrals unless the facility is certified under this Section.
    (h) Certification requirements. The Department shall establish requirements for certification that augment current quality of care standards for long term care facilities serving residents with serious mental illness, which shall include admission, discharge planning, psychiatric rehabilitation services, development of age-group appropriate treatment plan goals and services, behavior management services, coordination with community mental health services, staff qualifications and training, clinical consultation, resident access to the outside community, and appropriate environment and space for resident programs, recreation, privacy, and any other issue deemed appropriate by the Department. The augmented standards shall at a minimum include, but need not be limited to, the following:
        (1) Staff sufficient in number and qualifications
    
necessary to meet the scheduled and unscheduled needs of the residents on a 24-hour basis. The Department shall establish by rule the minimum number of psychiatric services rehabilitation coordinators in relation to the number of residents with serious mental illness residing in the facility.
        (2) The number and qualifications of consultants
    
required to be contracted with to provide continuing education and training, and to assist with program development.
        (3) Training for all new employees specific to the
    
care needs of residents with a serious mental illness diagnosis during their orientation period and annually thereafter. Training shall be independent of the Department and overseen by an agency designated by the Governor to determine the content of all facility employee training and to provide training for all trainers of facility employees. Training of employees shall at minimum include, but need not be limited to, (i) the impact of a serious mental illness diagnosis, (ii) the recovery paradigm and the role of psychiatric rehabilitation, (iii) preventive strategies for managing aggression and crisis prevention, (iv) basic psychiatric rehabilitation techniques and service delivery, (v) resident rights, (vi) abuse prevention, (vii) appropriate interaction between staff and residents, and (viii) any other topic deemed by the Department to be important to ensuring quality of care.
        (4) Quality assessment and improvement requirements,
    
in addition to those contained in this Act on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, specific to a facility's residential psychiatric rehabilitation services, which shall be made available to the Department upon request. A facility shall be required at a minimum to develop and maintain policies and procedures that include, but need not be limited to, evaluation of the appropriateness of resident admissions based on the facility's capacity to meet specific needs, resident assessments, development and implementation of care plans, and discharge planning.
        (5) Room selection and appropriateness of roommate
    
assignment.
        (6) Comprehensive quarterly review of all treatment
    
plans for residents with serious mental illness by the resident's interdisciplinary team, which takes into account, at a minimum, the resident's progress, prior assessments, and treatment plan.
        (7) Substance abuse screening and management and
    
documented referral relationships with certified substance abuse treatment providers.
        (8) Administration of psychotropic medications to a
    
resident with serious mental illness who is incapable of giving informed consent, in compliance with the applicable provisions of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code.
    (i) The Department shall establish a certification fee schedule by rule, in consultation with advocates, nursing homes, and representatives of associations representing long term care facilities.
    (j) The Director or her or his designee shall seek input from the Long Term Care Facility Advisory Board before filing rules to implement this Section.
    Rules proposed no later than January 1, 2011 under this Section shall take effect 180 days after being approved by the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules.
(Source: P.A. 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.3

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.3)
    Sec. 3-202.3. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 94-163, eff. 7-11-05. Repealed by P.A. 94-752, eff. 5-10-06.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.4

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.4)
    Sec. 3-202.4. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 94-163, eff. 7-11-05. Repealed by P.A. 94-752, eff. 5-10-06.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.5

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.5)
    Sec. 3-202.5. Facility plan review; fees.
    (a) Before commencing construction of a new facility or specified types of alteration or additions to an existing long term care facility involving major construction, as defined by rule by the Department, with an estimated cost greater than $100,000, architectural drawings and specifications for the facility shall be submitted to the Department for review and approval. A facility may submit architectural drawings and specifications for other construction projects for Department review according to subsection (b) that shall not be subject to fees under subsection (d). Review of drawings and specifications shall be conducted by an employee of the Department meeting the qualifications established by the Department of Central Management Services class specifications for such an individual's position or by a person contracting with the Department who meets those class specifications. Final approval of the drawings and specifications for compliance with design and construction standards shall be obtained from the Department before the alteration, addition, or new construction is begun.
    (b) The Department shall inform an applicant in writing within 10 working days after receiving drawings and specifications and the required fee, if any, from the applicant whether the applicant's submission is complete or incomplete. Failure to provide the applicant with this notice within 10 working days shall result in the submission being deemed complete for purposes of initiating the 60-day review period under this Section. If the submission is incomplete, the Department shall inform the applicant of the deficiencies with the submission in writing. If the submission is complete the required fee, if any, has been paid, the Department shall approve or disapprove drawings and specifications submitted to the Department no later than 60 days following receipt by the Department. The drawings and specifications shall be of sufficient detail, as provided by Department rule, to enable the Department to render a determination of compliance with design and construction standards under this Act. If the Department finds that the drawings are not of sufficient detail for it to render a determination of compliance, the plans shall be determined to be incomplete and shall not be considered for purposes of initiating the 60 day review period. If a submission of drawings and specifications is incomplete, the applicant may submit additional information. The 60-day review period shall not commence until the Department determines that a submission of drawings and specifications is complete or the submission is deemed complete. If the Department has not approved or disapproved the drawings and specifications within 60 days, the construction, major alteration, or addition shall be deemed approved. If the drawings and specifications are disapproved, the Department shall state in writing, with specificity, the reasons for the disapproval. The entity submitting the drawings and specifications may submit additional information in response to the written comments from the Department or request a reconsideration of the disapproval. A final decision of approval or disapproval shall be made within 45 days of the receipt of the additional information or reconsideration request. If denied, the Department shall state the specific reasons for the denial.
    (c) The Department shall provide written approval for occupancy pursuant to subsection (g) and shall not issue a violation to a facility as a result of a licensure or complaint survey based upon the facility's physical structure if:
        (1) the Department reviewed and approved or deemed
    
approved the drawings and specifications for compliance with design and construction standards;
        (2) the construction, major alteration, or addition
    
was built as submitted;
        (3) the law or rules have not been amended since the
    
original approval; and
        (4) the conditions at the facility indicate that
    
there is a reasonable degree of safety provided for the residents.
    (d) The Department shall charge the following fees in connection with its reviews conducted before June 30, 2004 under this Section:
        (1) (Blank).
        (2) (Blank).
        (3) If the estimated dollar value of the alteration,
    
addition, or new construction is $100,000 or more but less than $500,000, the fee shall be the greater of $2,400 or 1.2% of that value.
        (4) If the estimated dollar value of the alteration,
    
addition, or new construction is $500,000 or more but less than $1,000,000, the fee shall be the greater of $6,000 or 0.96% of that value.
        (5) If the estimated dollar value of the alteration,
    
addition, or new construction is $1,000,000 or more but less than $5,000,000, the fee shall be the greater of $9,600 or 0.22% of that value.
        (6) If the estimated dollar value of the alteration,
    
addition, or new construction is $5,000,000 or more, the fee shall be the greater of $11,000 or 0.11% of that value, but shall not exceed $40,000.
    The fees provided in this subsection (d) shall not apply to major construction projects involving facility changes that are required by Department rule amendments.
    The fees provided in this subsection (d) shall also not apply to major construction projects if 51% or more of the estimated cost of the project is attributed to capital equipment. For major construction projects where 51% or more of the estimated cost of the project is attributed to capital equipment, the Department shall by rule establish a fee that is reasonably related to the cost of reviewing the project.
    The Department shall not commence the facility plan review process under this Section until the applicable fee has been paid.
    (e) All fees received by the Department under this Section shall be deposited into the Health Facility Plan Review Fund, a special fund created in the State Treasury. All fees paid by long-term care facilities under subsection (d) shall be used only to cover the costs relating to the Department's review of long-term care facility projects under this Section. Moneys shall be appropriated from that Fund to the Department only to pay the costs of conducting reviews under this Section or under Section 3-202.5 of the ID/DD Community Care Act or Section 3-202.5 of the MC/DD Act. None of the moneys in the Health Facility Plan Review Fund shall be used to reduce the amount of General Revenue Fund moneys appropriated to the Department for facility plan reviews conducted pursuant to this Section.
    (f)(1) The provisions of this amendatory Act of 1997 concerning drawings and specifications shall apply only to drawings and specifications submitted to the Department on or after October 1, 1997.
    (2) On and after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997 and before October 1, 1997, an applicant may submit or resubmit drawings and specifications to the Department and pay the fees provided in subsection (d). If an applicant pays the fees provided in subsection (d) under this paragraph (2), the provisions of subsection (b) shall apply with regard to those drawings and specifications.
    (g) The Department shall conduct an on-site inspection of the completed project no later than 30 days after notification from the applicant that the project has been completed and all certifications required by the Department have been received and accepted by the Department. The Department shall provide written approval for occupancy to the applicant within 5 working days of the Department's final inspection, provided the applicant has demonstrated substantial compliance as defined by Department rule. Occupancy of new major construction is prohibited until Department approval is received, unless the Department has not acted within the time frames provided in this subsection (g), in which case the construction shall be deemed approved. Occupancy shall be authorized after any required health inspection by the Department has been conducted.
    (h) The Department shall establish, by rule, a procedure to conduct interim on-site review of large or complex construction projects.
    (i) The Department shall establish, by rule, an expedited process for emergency repairs or replacement of like equipment.
    (j) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to apply to maintenance, upkeep, or renovation that does not affect the structural integrity of the building, does not add beds or services over the number for which the long-term care facility is licensed, and provides a reasonable degree of safety for the residents.
(Source: P.A. 98-104, eff. 7-22-13; 99-180, eff. 7-29-15.)

210 ILCS 45/3-202.6

    (210 ILCS 45/3-202.6)
    Sec. 3-202.6. Department of Veterans' Affairs facility plan review.
    (a) Before commencing construction of a new facility or specified types of alteration or additions to an existing long-term care facility involving major construction, as defined by rule by the Department, with an estimated cost greater than $100,000, architectural drawings and specifications for the facility shall be submitted to the Department for review. A facility may submit architectural drawings and specifications for other construction projects for Department review according to subsection (b) of this Section. Review of drawings and specifications shall be conducted by an employee of the Department meeting the qualifications established by the Department of Central Management Services class specifications for such an individual's position or by a person contracting with the Department who meets those class specifications.
    (b) The Department shall inform an applicant in writing within 15 working days after receiving drawings and specifications from the applicant whether the applicant's submission is complete or incomplete. Failure to provide the applicant with this notice within 15 working days after receiving drawings and specifications from the applicant shall result in the submission being deemed complete for purposes of initiating the 60-working-day review period under this Section. If the submission is incomplete, the Department shall inform the applicant of the deficiencies with the submission in writing.
    If the submission is complete, the Department shall approve or disapprove drawings and specifications submitted to the Department no later than 60 working days following receipt by the Department. The drawings and specifications shall be of sufficient detail, as provided by Department rule, to enable the Department to render a determination of compliance with design and construction standards under this Act. If the Department finds that the drawings are not of sufficient detail for it to render a determination of compliance, the plans shall be determined to be incomplete and shall not be considered for purposes of initiating the 60-working-day review period. If a submission of drawings and specifications is incomplete, the applicant may submit additional information. The 60-working-day review period shall not commence until the Department determines that a submission of drawings and specifications is complete or the submission is deemed complete. If the Department has not approved or disapproved the drawings and specifications within 60 working days after receipt by the Department, the construction, major alteration, or addition shall be deemed approved. If the drawings and specifications are disapproved, the Department shall state in writing, with specificity, the reasons for the disapproval. The entity submitting the drawings and specifications may submit additional information in response to the written comments from the Department or request a reconsideration of the disapproval. A final decision of approval or disapproval shall be made within 45 working days after the receipt of the additional information or reconsideration request. If denied, the Department shall state the specific reasons for the denial.
    (c) The Department shall provide written approval for occupancy pursuant to subsection (e) of this Section and shall not issue a violation to a facility as a result of a licensure or complaint survey based upon the facility's physical structure if:
        (1) the Department reviewed and approved or is
    
deemed to have approved the drawings and specifications for compliance with design and construction standards;
        (2) the construction, major alteration, or addition
    
was built as submitted;
        (3) the law or rules have not been amended since the
    
original approval; and
        (4) the conditions at the facility indicate that
    
there is a reasonable degree of safety provided for the residents.
    (d) The Department shall not charge a fee in connection with its reviews to the Department of Veterans' Affairs.
    (e) The Department shall conduct an on-site inspection of the completed project no later than 45 working days after notification from the applicant that the project has been completed and all certifications required by the Department have been received and accepted by the Department. The Department may extend this deadline if a federally mandated survey time frame takes precedence. The Department shall provide written approval for occupancy to the applicant within 7 working days after the Department's final inspection, provided the applicant has demonstrated substantial compliance as defined by Department rule. Occupancy of new major construction is prohibited until Department approval is received, unless the Department has not acted within the time frames provided in this subsection (e), in which case the construction shall be deemed approved. Occupancy shall be authorized after any required health inspection by the Department has been conducted.
    (f) The Department shall establish, by rule, an expedited process for emergency repairs or replacement of like equipment.
    (g) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to apply to maintenance, upkeep, or renovation that does not affect the structural integrity or fire or life safety of the building, does not add beds or services over the number for which the long-term care facility is licensed, and provides a reasonable degree of safety for the residents.
    (h) If the number of licensed facilities increases or the number of beds for the currently licensed facilities increases, the Department has the right to reassess the mandated time frames listed in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 99-314, eff. 8-7-15.)

210 ILCS 45/3-203

    (210 ILCS 45/3-203) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-203)
    Sec. 3-203. In licensing any facility for persons suffering from emotional or behavioral disorders, the Department shall consult with the Department of Human Services in developing minimum standards for such persons.
(Source: P.A. 97-52, eff. 6-28-11.)

210 ILCS 45/3-204

    (210 ILCS 45/3-204) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-204)
    Sec. 3-204. In addition to the authority to prescribe minimum standards, the Department may adopt license classifications of facilities according to the levels of service, and if license classification is adopted the applicable minimum standards shall define the classification. In adopting classification of the license of facilities, the Department may give recognition to the classification of services defined or prescribed by federal statute or federal rule or regulation. More than one classification of the license may be issued to the same facility when the prescribed minimum standards and regulations are met.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)

210 ILCS 45/3-205

    (210 ILCS 45/3-205) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-205)
    Sec. 3-205. Where licensing responsibilities are performed by a city, village or incorporated town, the municipality shall use the same classifications as the Department; and a facility may not be licensed for a different classification by the Department than by the municipality.
(Source: P.A. 81-223.)