Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

MUNICIPALITIES
(65 ILCS 5/) Illinois Municipal Code.

65 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Div. 55

 
    (65 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Div. 55 heading)
DIVISION 55. TAX ON COIN OPERATED DEVICES

65 ILCS 5/11-55-1

    (65 ILCS 5/11-55-1) (from Ch. 24, par. 11-55-1)
    Sec. 11-55-1. The right to tax the games or devices described in "An Act to provide for the taxation and licensing of certain coin-operated amusement devices and to prescribe penalties for the violation thereof", approved July 7, 1953, as heretofore and hereafter amended, is not exclusive with the State of Illinois, but municipalities of the State of Illinois may impose taxes or license fees on such games and devices as described in said Act of 1953 and may regulate or control the operation of the same within such municipalities.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 576.)

65 ILCS 5/11-55-2

    (65 ILCS 5/11-55-2) (from Ch. 24, par. 11-55-2)
    Sec. 11-55-2. No municipality with a population of less than 1,000,000, including a home rule unit, may increase the fee for a license to own or operate a vending machine or to dispense goods or services therefrom unless notice of a public hearing on the matter has been given and such hearing has been held. The amount of the increase annually shall not exceed the greater of (i) $25, (ii) the amount of the fee multiplied by 5%, or (iii) the amount of the fee multiplied by the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for all items published by the United States Department of Labor during the 12-month calendar year preceding the year in which the fee is increased. Notice of the proposed increase shall be mailed at least 30 days before the hearing to the last known address of each person currently holding such a license. It is declared to be the law of this State, pursuant to paragraph (g) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution, that this Section is a denial of the power of certain home rule units to increase vending machine license fees without complying with the requirements of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-967, eff. 6-30-06.)

65 ILCS 5/Art 11 prec Div 56

 
    (65 ILCS 5/Art 11 prec Div 56 heading)
OIL AND GAS

65 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Div. 56

 
    (65 ILCS 5/Art. 11 Div. 56 heading)
DIVISION 56. OIL AND GAS PERMITS

65 ILCS 5/11-56-1

    (65 ILCS 5/11-56-1) (from Ch. 24, par. 11-56-1)
    Sec. 11-56-1. The corporate authorities of each municipality may grant permits to mine oil or gas, under such restrictions as will protect public and private property and insure proper remuneration for such grants.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 576.)

65 ILCS 5/Art 11 prec Div 57

 
    (65 ILCS 5/Art 11 prec Div 57 heading)
RAILROAD SAFETY