Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

COUNTIES
(55 ILCS 5/) Counties Code.

55 ILCS 5/Art. 4

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Art. 4 heading)
ARTICLE 4. FEES AND SALARIES

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-1

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-1 heading)
Division 4-1. Classification of Counties

55 ILCS 5/4-1001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-1001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-1001)
    Sec. 4-1001. Counties classified. For the purpose of fixing the fees and compensation of county and township officers in this State, the several counties therein are hereby divided into 3 classes, according to population as ascertained by the most recent Federal Census, which classes shall be known as the first, second and third, as follows:
    Counties containing a population of not exceeding 25,000 inhabitants shall be known as counties of the first class.
    Counties containing a population over 25,000 and not exceeding 1,000,000 shall be known as counties of the second class.
    Counties containing a population exceeding 1,000,000 shall be known as counties of the third class.
    The fees and compensation of the several officers hereinafter named, shall be as provided by law in the respective classes of the counties to which they belong.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-2

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-2 heading)
Division 4-2. State's Attorneys Salaries and Fees

55 ILCS 5/4-2001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2001)
    Sec. 4-2001. State's attorney salaries.
    (a) There shall be allowed to the several state's attorneys in this State, except the state's attorney of Cook County, the following annual salary:
        (1) Subject to paragraph (5), to each state's
    
attorney in counties containing less than 10,000 inhabitants, $40,500 until December 31, 1988, $45,500 until June 30, 1994, and $55,500 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
        (2) Subject to paragraph (5), to each state's
    
attorney in counties containing 10,000 or more inhabitants but less than 20,000 inhabitants, $46,500 until December 31, 1988, $61,500 until June 30, 1994, and $71,500 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
        (3) Subject to paragraph (5), to each state's
    
attorney in counties containing 20,000 or more but less than 30,000 inhabitants, $51,000 until December 31, 1988, $65,000 until June 30, 1994, and $75,000 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
        (4) To each state's attorney in counties of 30,000 or
    
more inhabitants, $65,500 until December 31, 1988, $80,000 until June 30, 1994, and $96,837 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
        (5) Effective December 1, 2000, to each state's
    
attorney in counties containing fewer than 30,000 inhabitants, the same salary plus any cost of living adjustments as authorized by the Compensation Review Board to take effect after January 1, 1999, for state's attorneys in counties containing 20,000 or more but fewer than 30,000 inhabitants, or as set by the Compensation Review Board whichever is greater.
    The State shall furnish 66 2/3% of the total annual compensation to be paid to each state's attorney in Illinois based on the salary in effect on December 31, 1988, and 100% of the increases in salary taking effect after December 31, 1988.
    Subject to appropriation, said amounts furnished by the State shall be payable monthly by the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund to the county in which each state's attorney is elected.
    Each county shall be required to furnish 33 1/3% of the total annual compensation to be paid to each state's attorney in Illinois based on the salary in effect on December 31, 1988.
     Within 90 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, the county board of any county with a population between 15,000 and 50,000 by resolution or ordinance may increase the amount of compensation to be paid to each eligible state's attorney in their county in the form of a longevity stipend which shall be added to and become part of the salary of the state's attorney for that year. To be eligible, the state's attorney must have served in the elected position for at least 20 continuous years and elect to participate in a program for an alternative annuity for county officers and make the required additional optional contributions as authorized by P.A. 90-32.
    (b) Effective December 1, 2000, no state's attorney may engage in the private practice of law. However, until November 30, 2000, (i) the state's attorneys in counties containing fewer than 10,000 inhabitants may engage in the practice of law, and (ii) in any county between 10,000 and 30,000 inhabitants or in any county containing 30,000 or more inhabitants which reached that population between 1970 and December 31, 1981, the state's attorney may declare his or her intention to engage in the private practice of law, and may do so through no later than November 30, 2000, by filing a written declaration of intent to engage in the private practice of law with the county clerk. The declaration of intention shall be irrevocable during the remainder of the term of office. The declaration shall be filed with the county clerk within 30 days of certification of election or appointment, or within 60 days of March 15, 1989, whichever is later. In that event the annual salary of such state's attorney shall be as follows:
        (1) In counties containing 10,000 or more inhabitants
    
but less than 20,000 inhabitants, $46,500 until December 31, 1988, $51,500 until June 30, 1994, and $61,500 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater. The State shall furnish 100% of the increases taking effect after December 31, 1988.
        (2) In counties containing 20,000 or more inhabitants
    
but less than 30,000 inhabitants, and in counties containing 30,000 or more inhabitants which reached said population between 1970 and December 31, 1981, $51,500 until December 31, 1988, $56,000 until June 30, 1994, and $65,000 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater. The State shall furnish 100% of the increases taking effect after December 31, 1988.
    (c) In counties where a state mental health institution, as hereinafter defined, is located, one assistant state's attorney shall, subject to appropriation, receive for his services, payable monthly by the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund to the county in which he is appointed, the following:
        (1) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing less than 10,000 inhabitants, the sum of $2,500 per annum;
        (2) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing not less than 10,000 inhabitants and not more than 20,000 inhabitants, the sum of $3,500 per annum;
        (3) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing not less than 20,000 inhabitants and not more than 30,000 inhabitants, the sum of $4,000 per annum;
        (4) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing not less than 30,000 inhabitants and not more than 40,000 inhabitants, the sum of $4,500 per annum;
        (5) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing not less than 40,000 inhabitants and not more than 70,000 inhabitants, the sum of $5,000 per annum;
        (6) To each assistant state's attorney in counties
    
containing not less than 70,000 inhabitants and not more than 1,000,000 inhabitants, the sum of $6,000 per annum.
    (d) The population of all counties for the purpose of fixing salaries as herein provided shall be based upon the last Federal census immediately previous to the appointment of an assistant state's attorney in each county.
    (e) At the request of the county governing authority, in counties where one or more state correctional institutions, as hereinafter defined, are located, one or more assistant state's attorneys shall, subject to appropriation, receive for their services, provided that such services are performed in connection with the state correctional institution, payable monthly by the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund to the county in which they are appointed, the following:
        (1) $22,000 for each assistant state's attorney in
    
counties with one or more State correctional institutions with a total average daily inmate population in excess of 2,000, on the basis of 2 assistant state's attorneys when the total average daily inmate population exceeds 2,000 but is less than 4,000; and 3 assistant state's attorneys when such population exceeds 4,000; with reimbursement to be based on actual services rendered.
        (2) $15,000 per year for one assistant state's
    
attorney in counties having one or more correctional institutions with a total average daily inmate population of between 750 and 2,000 inmates, with reimbursement to be based on actual services rendered.
        (3) A maximum of $12,000 per year for one assistant
    
state's attorney in counties having less than 750 inmates, with reimbursement to be based on actual services rendered.
        Upon application of the county governing authority
    
and certification of the State's Attorney, the Director of Corrections may, in his discretion and subject to appropriation, increase the amount of salary reimbursement to a county in the event special circumstances require the county to incur extraordinary salary expenditures as a result of services performed in connection with State correctional institutions in that county.
    In determining whether or not to increase the amount of salary reimbursement, the Director shall consider, among other matters:
        (1) the nature of the services rendered;
        (2) the results or dispositions obtained;
        (3) whether or not the county was required to employ
    
additional attorney personnel as a direct result of the services actually rendered in connection with a particular service to a State correctional institution.
    (f) In counties where a State senior institution of higher education is located, the assistant state's attorneys specified by this Section shall, subject to appropriation, receive for their services, payable monthly by the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund to the county in which appointed, the following:
        (1) $14,000 per year each for employment on a full
    
time basis for 2 assistant state's attorneys in counties having a State university or State universities with combined full time enrollment of more than 15,000 students.
        (2) $7,200 per year for one assistant state's
    
attorney with no limitation on other practice in counties having a State university or State universities with combined full time enrollment of 10,000 to 15,000 students.
        (3) $4,000 per year for one assistant state's
    
attorney with no limitation on other practice in counties having a State university or State universities with combined full time enrollment of less than 10,000 students.
    Such salaries shall be paid to the state's attorney and the assistant state's attorney in equal monthly installments by such county out of the county treasury provided that, subject to appropriation, the Department of Revenue shall reimburse each county monthly, out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund, the amount of such salary. This Section shall not prevent the payment of such additional compensation to the state's attorney or assistant state's attorney of any county, out of the treasury of that county as may be provided by law.
    (g) For purposes of this Section, "State mental health institution" means any institution under the jurisdiction of the Department of Human Services that is listed in Section 4 of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Administrative Act.
    For purposes of this Section, "State correctional institution" means any facility of the Department of Corrections including adult facilities, juvenile facilities, pre-release centers, community correction centers, and work camps.
    For purposes of this Section, "State university" means the University of Illinois, Southern Illinois University, Chicago State University, Eastern Illinois University, Governors State University, Illinois State University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois University, Western Illinois University, and any public community college which has established a program of interinstitutional cooperation with one of the foregoing institutions whereby a student, after earning an associate degree from the community college, pursues a course of study at the community college campus leading to a baccalaureate degree from the foregoing institution (also known as a "2 Plus 2" degree program).
    (h) A number of assistant state's attorneys shall be appointed in each county that chooses to participate, as provided in this subsection, for the prosecution of alcohol-related traffic offenses. Each county shall receive monthly a subsidy for payment of the salaries and benefits of these assistant state's attorneys from State funds appropriated to the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund for that purpose. The amounts of subsidies provided by this subsection shall be adjusted for inflation each July 1 using the Consumer Price Index of the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor.
    When a county chooses to participate in the subsidy program described in this subsection (h), the number of assistant state's attorneys who are prosecuting alcohol-related traffic offenses must increase according to the subsidy provided in this subsection. These appointed assistant state's attorneys shall be in addition to any other assistant state's attorneys assigned to those cases on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, and may not replace those assistant state's attorneys. In counties where the state's attorney is the sole prosecutor, this subsidy shall be used to provide an assistant state's attorney to prosecute alcohol-related traffic offenses along with the state's attorney. In counties where the state's attorney is the sole prosecutor, and in counties where a judge presides over cases involving a variety of misdemeanors, including alcohol-related traffic matters, assistant state's attorneys appointed and subsidized by this subsection (h) may also prosecute the different misdemeanor cases at the direction of the state's attorney.
    Assistant state's attorneys shall be appointed under this subsection in the following number and counties shall receive the following annual subsidies:
        (1) In counties with fewer than 30,000 inhabitants,
    
one at $35,000.
        (2) In counties with 30,000 or more but fewer than
    
100,000 inhabitants, one at $45,000.
        (3) In counties with 100,000 or more but fewer than
    
300,000 inhabitants, 2 at $45,000 each.
        (4) In counties, other than Cook County, with 300,000
    
or more inhabitants, 4 at $50,000 each.
    The amounts appropriated under this Section must be segregated by population classification and disbursed monthly.
    If in any year the amount appropriated for the purposes of this subsection (h) is insufficient to pay all of the subsidies specified in this subsection, the amount appropriated shall first be prorated by the population classifications of this subsection (h) and then among the counties choosing to participate within each of those classifications. If any of the appropriated moneys for each population classification remain at the end of a fiscal year, the remainder of the moneys may be allocated to participating counties that were not fully funded during the course of the year. Nothing in this subsection prohibits 2 or more State's attorneys from combining their subsidies to appoint a joint assistant State's attorney to prosecute alcohol-related traffic offenses in multiple counties. Nothing in this subsection prohibits a State's attorney from appointing an assistant State's attorney by contract or otherwise.
(Source: P.A. 96-259, eff. 8-11-09; 97-72, eff. 7-1-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2002)
    Sec. 4-2002. State's attorney fees in counties under 3,000,000 population. This Section applies only to counties with fewer than 3,000,000 inhabitants.
    (a) State's attorneys shall be entitled to the following fees, however, the fee requirement of this subsection does not apply to county boards:
    For each conviction in prosecutions on indictments for first degree murder, second degree murder, involuntary manslaughter, criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, kidnapping, arson and forgery, $30. All other cases punishable by imprisonment in the penitentiary, $30.
    For each conviction in other cases tried before judges of the circuit court, $15; except that if the conviction is in a case which may be assigned to an associate judge, whether or not it is in fact assigned to an associate judge, the fee shall be $10.
    For preliminary examinations for each defendant held to bail or recognizance, $10.
    For each examination of a party bound over to keep the peace, $10.
    For each defendant held to answer in a circuit court on a charge of paternity, $10.
    For each trial on a charge of paternity, $30.
    For each case of appeal taken from his county or from the county to which a change of venue is taken to his county to the Supreme or Appellate Court when prosecuted or defended by him, $50.
    For each day actually employed in the trial of a case, $25; in which case the court before whom the case is tried shall make an order specifying the number of days for which a per diem shall be allowed.
    For each day actually employed in the trial of cases of felony arising in their respective counties and taken by change of venue to another county, $25; and the court before whom the case is tried shall make an order specifying the number of days for which said per diem shall be allowed; and it is hereby made the duty of each State's attorney to prepare and try each case of felony arising when so taken by change of venue.
    For assisting in a trial of each case on an indictment for felony brought by change of venue to their respective counties, the same fees they would be entitled to if such indictment had been found for an offense committed in his county, and it shall be the duty of the State's attorney of the county to which such cause is taken by change of venue to assist in the trial thereof.
    For each case of forfeited recognizance where the forfeiture is set aside at the instance of the defense, in addition to the ordinary costs, $10 for each defendant.
    For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire into the alleged mental illness of any person, $10 for each defendant.
    For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire into the alleged dependency or delinquency of any child, $10.
    For each day actually employed in the hearing of a case of habeas corpus in which the people are interested, $25.
    For each violation of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and the Illinois Vehicle Code in which a defendant has entered a plea of guilty or a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision, $10.
    State's attorneys shall be entitled to a $2 fee to be paid by the defendant on a judgment of guilty or a grant of supervision for a violation of any provision of the Illinois Vehicle Code or any felony, misdemeanor, or petty offense to discharge the expenses of the State's Attorney's office for establishing and maintaining automated record keeping systems. The fee shall be remitted monthly to the county treasurer, to be deposited by him or her into a special fund designated as the State's Attorney Records Automation Fund. Expenditures from this fund may be made by the State's Attorney for hardware, software, research, and development costs and personnel related thereto.
    All the foregoing fees shall be taxed as costs to be collected from the defendant, if possible, upon conviction. But in cases of inquiry into the mental illness of any person alleged to be mentally ill, in cases on a charge of paternity and in cases of appeal in the Supreme or Appellate Court, where judgment is in favor of the accused, the fees allowed the State's attorney therein shall be retained out of the fines and forfeitures collected by them in other cases.
    Ten per cent of all moneys except revenue, collected by them and paid over to the authorities entitled thereto, which per cent together with the fees provided for herein that are not collected from the parties tried or examined, shall be paid out of any fines and forfeited recognizances collected by them, provided however, that in proceedings to foreclose the lien of delinquent real estate taxes State's attorneys shall receive a fee, to be credited to the earnings of their office, of 10% of the total amount realized from the sale of real estate sold in such proceedings. Such fees shall be paid from the total amount realized from the sale of the real estate sold in such proceedings.
    State's attorneys shall have a lien for their fees on all judgments for fines or forfeitures procured by them and on moneys except revenue received by them until such fees and earnings are fully paid.
    No fees shall be charged on more than 10 counts in any one indictment or information on trial and conviction; nor on more than 10 counts against any one defendant on pleas of guilty.
    The Circuit Court may direct that of all monies received, by restitution or otherwise, which monies are ordered paid to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) or the Department of Human Services (acting as successor to the Department of Public Aid under the Department of Human Services Act) as a direct result of the efforts of the State's attorney and which payments arise from Civil or Criminal prosecutions involving the Illinois Public Aid Code or the Criminal Code, the following amounts shall be paid quarterly by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services or the Department of Human Services to the General Corporate Fund of the County in which the prosecution or cause of action took place:
        (1) where the monies result from child support
    
obligations, not more than 25% of the federal share of the monies received,
        (2) where the monies result from other than child
    
support obligations, not more than 25% of the State's share of the monies received.
    In addition to any other amounts to which State's Attorneys are entitled under this Section, State's Attorneys are entitled to $10 of the fine that is imposed under Section 5-9-1.17 of the Unified Code of Corrections, as set forth in that Section.
    (b) A municipality shall be entitled to a $25 prosecution fee for each conviction for a violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code prosecuted by the municipal attorney pursuant to Section 16-102 of that Code which results in a finding of guilt before a circuit or associate judge or in which a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision and shall be entitled to a $25 prosecution fee for each conviction for a violation of a municipal vehicle ordinance or nontraffic ordinance which results in a finding of guilt before a circuit or associate judge or in which a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision. Such fee shall be taxed as costs to be collected from the defendant, if possible, upon disposition of the case. A municipality shall have a lien for such prosecution fees on all judgments or fines procured by the municipal attorney from prosecutions for violations of the Illinois Vehicle Code and municipal vehicle ordinances or nontraffic ordinances.
    For the purposes of this subsection (b), "municipal vehicle ordinance" means any ordinance enacted pursuant to Sections 11-40-1, 11-40-2, 11-40-2a and 11-40-3 of the Illinois Municipal Code or any ordinance enacted by a municipality which is similar to a provision of Chapter 11 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
(Source: P.A. 96-707, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1186, eff. 7-22-10; 97-331, eff. 8-12-11; 97-673, eff. 6-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2002.1

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2002.1) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2002.1)
    Sec. 4-2002.1. State's attorney fees in counties of 3,000,000 or more population. This Section applies only to counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants.
    (a) State's attorneys shall be entitled to the following fees:
        For each conviction in prosecutions on indictments
    
for first degree murder, second degree murder, involuntary manslaughter, criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, kidnapping, arson and forgery, $60. All other cases punishable by imprisonment in the penitentiary, $60.
        For each conviction in other cases tried before
    
judges of the circuit court, $30; except that if the conviction is in a case which may be assigned to an associate judge, whether or not it is in fact assigned to an associate judge, the fee shall be $20.
        For preliminary examinations for each defendant held
    
to bail or recognizance, $20.
        For each examination of a party bound over to keep
    
the peace, $20.
        For each defendant held to answer in a circuit court
    
on a charge of paternity, $20.
        For each trial on a charge of paternity, $60.
        For each case of appeal taken from his county or from
    
the county to which a change of venue is taken to his county to the Supreme or Appellate Court when prosecuted or defended by him, $100.
        For each day actually employed in the trial of a
    
case, $50; in which case the court before whom the case is tried shall make an order specifying the number of days for which a per diem shall be allowed.
        For each day actually employed in the trial of cases
    
of felony arising in their respective counties and taken by change of venue to another county, $50; and the court before whom the case is tried shall make an order specifying the number of days for which said per diem shall be allowed; and it is hereby made the duty of each State's attorney to prepare and try each case of felony arising when so taken by change of venue.
        For assisting in a trial of each case on an
    
indictment for felony brought by change of venue to their respective counties, the same fees they would be entitled to if such indictment had been found for an offense committed in his county, and it shall be the duty of the State's attorney of the county to which such cause is taken by change of venue to assist in the trial thereof.
        For each case of forfeited recognizance where the
    
forfeiture is set aside at the instance of the defense, in addition to the ordinary costs, $20 for each defendant.
        For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire
    
into the alleged mental illness of any person, $20 for each defendant.
        For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire
    
into the alleged dependency or delinquency of any child, $20.
        For each day actually employed in the hearing of a
    
case of habeas corpus in which the people are interested, $50.
    All the foregoing fees shall be taxed as costs to be collected from the defendant, if possible, upon conviction. But in cases of inquiry into the mental illness of any person alleged to be mentally ill, in cases on a charge of paternity and in cases of appeal in the Supreme or Appellate Court, where judgment is in favor of the accused, the fees allowed the State's attorney therein shall be retained out of the fines and forfeitures collected by them in other cases.
    Ten per cent of all moneys except revenue, collected by them and paid over to the authorities entitled thereto, which per cent together with the fees provided for herein that are not collected from the parties tried or examined, shall be paid out of any fines and forfeited recognizances collected by them, provided however, that in proceedings to foreclose the lien of delinquent real estate taxes State's attorneys shall receive a fee, to be credited to the earnings of their office, of 10% of the total amount realized from the sale of real estate sold in such proceedings. Such fees shall be paid from the total amount realized from the sale of the real estate sold in such proceedings.
    State's attorneys shall have a lien for their fees on all judgments for fines or forfeitures procured by them and on moneys except revenue received by them until such fees and earnings are fully paid.
    No fees shall be charged on more than 10 counts in any one indictment or information on trial and conviction; nor on more than 10 counts against any one defendant on pleas of guilty.
    The Circuit Court may direct that of all monies received, by restitution or otherwise, which monies are ordered paid to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) or the Department of Human Services (acting as successor to the Department of Public Aid under the Department of Human Services Act) as a direct result of the efforts of the State's attorney and which payments arise from Civil or Criminal prosecutions involving the Illinois Public Aid Code or the Criminal Code, the following amounts shall be paid quarterly by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services or the Department of Human Services to the General Corporate Fund of the County in which the prosecution or cause of action took place:
        (1) where the monies result from child support
    
obligations, not less than 25% of the federal share of the monies received,
        (2) where the monies result from other than child
    
support obligations, not less than 25% of the State's share of the monies received.
    In addition to any other amounts to which State's Attorneys are entitled under this Section, State's Attorneys are entitled to $10 of the fine that is imposed under Section 5-9-1.17 of the Unified Code of Corrections, as set forth in that Section.
    (b) A municipality shall be entitled to a $25 prosecution fee for each conviction for a violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code prosecuted by the municipal attorney pursuant to Section 16-102 of that Code which is tried before a circuit or associate judge and shall be entitled to a $25 prosecution fee for each conviction for a violation of a municipal vehicle ordinance prosecuted by the municipal attorney which is tried before a circuit or associate judge. Such fee shall be taxed as costs to be collected from the defendant, if possible, upon conviction. A municipality shall have a lien for such prosecution fees on all judgments or fines procured by the municipal attorney from prosecutions for violations of the Illinois Vehicle Code and municipal vehicle ordinances.
    For the purposes of this subsection (b), "municipal vehicle ordinance" means any ordinance enacted pursuant to Sections 11-40-1, 11-40-2, 11-40-2a, and 11-40-3 of the Illinois Municipal Code or any ordinance enacted by a municipality which is similar to a provision of Chapter 11 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
    (c) State's attorneys shall be entitled to a $2 fee to be paid by the defendant on a judgment of guilty or a grant of supervision for a violation of any provision of the Illinois Vehicle Code or any felony, misdemeanor, or petty offense to discharge the expenses of the State's Attorney's office for establishing and maintaining automated record keeping systems. The fee shall be remitted monthly to the county treasurer, to be deposited by him or her into a special fund designated as the State's Attorney Records Automation Fund. Expenditures from this fund may be made by the State's Attorney for hardware, software, research, and development costs and personnel related thereto.
(Source: P.A. 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2003

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2003) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2003)
    Sec. 4-2003. Assistants. Except as provided in Section 4-2001, where assistant State's Attorneys are required in any county, the number of such assistants shall be determined by the county board, and the salaries of such assistants shall be fixed by the State's Attorney subject to budgetary limitations established by the county board and paid out of the county treasury in quarterly annual installments, on the order of the county board on the treasurer of said county. Such assistant State's Attorneys are to be named by the State's Attorney of the county, and when so appointed shall take the oath of office in the same manner as State's Attorneys and shall be under the supervision of the State's Attorney.
(Source: P.A. 91-273, eff. 1-1-00; 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2004

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2004) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2004)
    Sec. 4-2004. Collection and disposition of fines and forfeitures. It shall be the duty of State's attorneys to attend to the collection of all fines and forfeitures in criminal cases, and they shall, without delay, pay over all fines and forfeitures collected by them to the county treasurer to be deposited into the general corporate fund of the county, except as otherwise specifically provided by law and except for such portion as is required by Section 9.1 of "The Illinois Police Training Act" and Section 5-9-1 of the "Unified Code of Corrections" to be paid into The Traffic and Criminal Conviction Surcharge Fund in the State Treasury, unless the fines and forfeitures are subject to disbursement by the circuit clerk under Section 27.5 of the Clerks of Courts Act.
(Source: P.A. 86-962; 87-670.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2005

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2005) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2005)
    Sec. 4-2005. Payment of salaries; disposition of fees. The salaries of the State's attorneys, excepting that part which is to be paid out of the State treasury as now provided for by law, and the salaries of all Assistant State's attorneys shall be paid out of the general corporate fund of the county treasury of the county in which the State's attorney resides, on the order of the county board by the treasurer of the county: The fees which are now, or may hereafter, be provided by law to be paid by the defendant or defendants, as State's attorney's fees, shall be taxed as costs and all fees, fines, forfeitures and penalties shall be collected by the State's attorney, except for those amounts required by Section 9.1 of the "Illinois Police Training Act" and Section 5-9-1 of the "Unified Code of Corrections" to be paid into The Traffic and Criminal Conviction Surcharge Fund and those amounts subject to disbursement by the circuit clerk under Section 27.5 of the Clerks of Courts Act, and shall be paid by him directly into the county treasury to be deposited into the general corporate fund of the county. The county treasurer shall receipt therefor.
(Source: P.A. 86-962; 87-670.)

55 ILCS 5/4-2006

    (55 ILCS 5/4-2006) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-2006)
    Sec. 4-2006. Report of fees.
    (a) It is hereby made the duty of all State's attorneys to report to the circuit court at such times as the court shall determine by rule, the payment and collection of all fees, fines, forfeitures and penalties and to satisfy the court by voucher or otherwise, that all fees, fines, forfeitures and penalties by them collected, except for those amounts required by Section 9.1 of the Illinois Police Training Act and Section 5-9-1 of the Unified Code of Corrections to be paid into the Traffic and Criminal Conviction Surcharge Fund, have been duly paid over to the county treasurer, as required by Section 4-2005, and the State's attorney shall have no further interest in conviction fees, fines, forfeitures and penalties or moneys collected by virtue of such office. The court shall note the filing of the report and fix a day certain not less than 30 days thereafter, when objections in writing may be filed to such report by any one or more taxpayers of the county, and when objections are filed to such report a hearing may be had upon such report and objections at such time and in such manner as the court may direct and after such hearing the court may approve or disapprove of such report as justice may require, and make all proper orders in reference thereto, and if no objections have been filed, the court shall inspect such report and require the State's attorney to produce evidence in proof of his having paid over as required by law all fines and forfeitures collected by him; and if it appears to the court that any State's attorney has failed or refused to turn over the fines and forfeitures collected by him as required by law the court shall at once suspend him and appoint a State's attorney pro tempore to perform the duties of the office until such State's attorney shall have complied with the provisions of this Division or the orders of the court in regard thereto. The court, for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of this Section shall have the power to examine books and papers and to issue subpoenas to compel the appearance of persons and the production of books and records: Provided, however, no order entered under this Section shall be a bar to any proper proceedings against such State's attorney and his bondsman to require him to account for moneys collected and not paid over by him as required by law.
    (b) Waiver of report of fees. The filing of the report of fees as provided by subsection (a) of this Section may be waived by written administrative order of the chief judge of the circuit upon written request and affidavit of the State's attorney of a county within the circuit that all fines, fees, forfeitures, and restitution are collected by the clerk of the circuit court and that none of those funds pass through the office of the State's attorney.
(Source: P.A. 86-962; 87-1201.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-3

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-3 heading)
Division 4-3. Cook County State's Attorney - Compensation

55 ILCS 5/4-3001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-3001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-3001)
    Sec. 4-3001. State's attorney; assistants.
    (a) The State's Attorney of Cook County shall be paid an annual salary of $75,000 until December 31, 1988, $90,000 until November 30, 1990, $100,000 until June 30, 1994, and $112,124 thereafter or as set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
    Such sums shall be in full payment for all services rendered by him. Until July 1, 2011, the State shall furnish from the State treasury 66 2/3% of such salary in effect on December 31, 1988 and 100% of the increases in salary taking effect after December 31, 1988. Beginning on July 1, 2011, the Department of Revenue shall furnish from State funds appropriated to it out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund for that purpose 66 2/3% of such salary in effect on December 31, 1988 and 100% of the increases in salary taking effect after December 31, 1988. Cook County shall furnish 33 1/3% of such salary in effect on December 31, 1988. The State's Attorney of Cook County may not engage in the private practice of law.
    (b) If Cook County chooses to participate in the subsidy program described in this subsection (b), 24 assistant state's attorneys shall be appointed for the prosecution of alcohol-related traffic offenses. Cook County shall annually receive a subsidy for the payment of the salaries and benefits of these assistant state's attorneys from State funds appropriated to the Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund or the General Revenue Fund for distribution to Cook County for that purpose. The amount of the subsidy shall equal $50,000 per assistant state's attorney appointed under this subsection, adjusted for inflation each July 1 using the Consumer Price Index of the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor. If in any year the amount appropriated for the purposes of this subsection (b) is insufficient, the annual subsidy shall be reduced accordingly.
    When and if Cook County chooses to participate in the subsidy program described in this subsection (b), the number of assistant state's attorneys who are prosecuting alcohol-related traffic offenses must increase by 24. These appointed assistant state's attorneys shall be in addition to any other assistant state's attorneys assigned to those cases on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 91st General Assembly, and may not replace those assistant state's attorneys. Cook County assistant state's attorneys appointed and subsidized by this subsection (b) may also prosecute other types of misdemeanor cases at the direction of the Cook County State's Attorney.
(Source: P.A. 97-72, eff. 7-1-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-3002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-3002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-3002)
    Sec. 4-3002. Manner of payment. The compensation to the State's attorney shall be paid in installments by the county clerk, at the end of each half month by drawing a warrant in favor of the State's attorney on the county treasurer who shall pay the same on presentation properly endorsed. No warrant shall be drawn or money paid to the State's attorney, unless he shall have made for the preceding fiscal quarter a report to the county commissioners and paid into the county treasury all fees collected by him as State's attorney for the fiscal quarter.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-4

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-4 heading)
Division 4-4. County Clerk Fees - First
and Second Class Counties

55 ILCS 5/4-4001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-4001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-4001)
    Sec. 4-4001. County clerks; counties of first and second class. The fees of the county clerk in counties of the first and second class, except when increased by county ordinance pursuant to the provisions of this Section, shall be:
        For each official copy of any process, file, record
    
or other instrument of and pertaining to his office, 50 for each 100 words, and $1 additional for certifying and sealing the same.
        For filing any paper not herein otherwise provided
    
for, $1, except that no fee shall be charged for filing a Statement of economic interest pursuant to the Illinois Governmental Ethics Act or reports made pursuant to Article 9 of the Election Code.
        For issuance of fireworks permits, $2.
        For issuance of liquor licenses, $5.
        For filing and recording of the appointment and oath
    
of each public official, $3.
        For officially certifying and sealing each copy of
    
any process, file, record or other instrument of and pertaining to his office, $1.
        For swearing any person to an affidavit, $1.
        For issuing each license in all matters except where
    
the fee for the issuance thereof is otherwise fixed, $4.
        For issuing each civil union or marriage license, the
    
certificate thereof, and for recording the same, including the recording of the parent's or guardian's consent where indicated, a fee to be determined by the county board of the county, not to exceed $75, which shall be the same, whether for a civil union or marriage license. $5 from all civil union and marriage license fees shall be remitted by the clerk to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Domestic Violence Fund.
        For taking and certifying acknowledgments to any
    
instrument, except where herein otherwise provided for, $1.
        For issuing each certificate of appointment or
    
commission, the fee for which is not otherwise fixed by law, $1.
        For cancelling tax sale and issuing and sealing
    
certificates of redemption, $3.
        For issuing order to county treasurer for redemption
    
of forfeited tax, $2.
        For trying and sealing weights and measures by county
    
standard, together with all actual expenses in connection therewith, $1.
        For services in case of estrays, $2.
        The following fees shall be allowed for services
    
attending the sale of land for taxes, and shall be charged as costs against the delinquent property and be collected with the taxes thereon:
        For services in attending the tax sale and issuing
    
certificate of sale and sealing the same, for each tract or town lot sold, $4.
        For making list of delinquent lands and town lots
    
sold, to be filed with the Comptroller, for each tract or town lot sold, 10.
    The county board of any county of the first or second class may by ordinance authorize the county clerk to impose an additional $2 charge for certified copies of vital records as defined in Section 1 of the Vital Records Act, for the purpose of developing, maintaining, and improving technology in the office of the County Clerk.
    The foregoing fees allowed by this Section are the maximum fees that may be collected from any officer, agency, department or other instrumentality of the State. The county board may, however, by ordinance, increase the fees allowed by this Section and also the notary public recordation fees allowed by Section 2-106 of the Illinois Notary Public Act and the indexing and filing of assumed name certificate fees allowed by Section 3 of the Assumed Business Name Act and collect such increased fees from all persons and entities other than officers, agencies, departments and other instrumentalities of the State if the increase is justified by an acceptable cost study showing that the fees allowed by these Sections are not sufficient to cover the cost of providing the service.
    A Statement of the costs of providing each service, program and activity shall be prepared by the county board. All supporting documents shall be public record and subject to public examination and audit. All direct and indirect costs, as defined in the United States Office of Management and Budget Circular A-87, may be included in the determination of the costs of each service, program and activity.
    The county clerk in all cases may demand and receive the payment of all fees for services in advance so far as the same can be ascertained.
    The county board of any county of the first or second class may by ordinance authorize the county treasurer to establish a special fund for deposit of the additional charge. Moneys in the special fund shall be used solely to provide the equipment, material and necessary expenses incurred to help defray the cost of implementing and maintaining such document storage system.
(Source: P.A. 96-328, eff. 8-11-09; 97-4, eff. 5-31-11; 97-986, eff. 8-17-12.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-5

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-5 heading)
Division 4-5. Sheriff's Fees - First
and Second Class Counties

55 ILCS 5/4-5001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-5001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-5001)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-5001. Sheriffs; counties of first and second class. The fees of sheriffs in counties of the first and second class, except when increased by county ordinance under this Section, shall be as follows:
    For serving or attempting to serve summons on each defendant in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment granting injunctional relief in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for replevin in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment on each defendant in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve a warrant of arrest, $8, to be paid upon conviction.
    For returning a defendant from outside the State of Illinois, upon conviction, the court shall assess, as court costs, the cost of returning a defendant to the jurisdiction.
    For taking special bail, $1 in each county.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, in each county, $10.
    For advertising property for sale, $5.
    For returning each process, in each county, $5.
    Mileage for each mile of necessary travel to serve any such process as Stated above, calculating from the place of holding court to the place of residence of the defendant, or witness, 50 each way.
    For summoning each juror, $3 with 30 mileage each way in all counties.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgments or levying to enforce a judgment, $3 with 50 mileage each way in all counties.
    For taking possession of and removing property levied on, the officer shall be allowed to tax the actual cost of such possession or removal.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover the actual cost as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For attending before a court with prisoner, on an order for habeas corpus, in each county, $10 per day.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner in any criminal proceeding, in each county, $10 per day.
    For each mile of necessary travel in taking such prisoner before the court as Stated above, 15 a mile each way.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an action of forcible entry and detainer without aid, $10 and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof, and for each mile of necessary travel, 50 each way.
    For executing and acknowledging a deed of sale of real estate, in counties of first class, $4; second class, $4.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging a deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate in counties of first class, $5; second class, $5.
    For making certificates of sale, and making and filing duplicate, in counties of first class, $3; in counties of the second class, $3.
    For making certificate of redemption, $3.
    For certificate of levy and filing, $3, and the fee for recording shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and charged as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, civil and criminal, in counties of first class, $1; in second class, $1.
    For executing copies in criminal cases, $4 and mileage for each mile of necessary travel, 20 each way.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $5.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's own county to the jail of another county, or from another county to the jail of the prisoner's county, per mile, for going, only, 30.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. For each person who is conveyed, 35 per mile in going only to the penitentiary, reformatory, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers, from the place of conviction.
    The fees provided for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest practical route, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    For conveying any person to or from any of the charitable institutions of the State, when properly committed by competent authority, when one person is conveyed, 35 per mile; when two persons are conveyed at the same time, 35 per mile for the first person and 20 per mile for the second person; and 10 per mile for each additional person.
    For conveying a person from the penitentiary to the county jail when required by law, 35 per mile.
    For attending Supreme Court, $10 per day.
    In addition to the above fees there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $600 for the sale of real estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court, except that in the case of a sale of unimproved real estate which sells for $10,000 or less, the fee shall be $150. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $75;
    For judgments from $1,001 to $15,000, $150;
    For judgments over $15,000, $300.
    The foregoing fees allowed by this Section are the maximum fees that may be collected from any officer, agency, department or other instrumentality of the State. The county board may, however, by ordinance, increase the fees allowed by this Section and collect those increased fees from all persons and entities other than officers, agencies, departments and other instrumentalities of the State if the increase is justified by an acceptable cost study showing that the fees allowed by this Section are not sufficient to cover the costs of providing the service. A statement of the costs of providing each service, program and activity shall be prepared by the county board. All supporting documents shall be public records and subject to public examination and audit. All direct and indirect costs, as defined in the United States Office of Management and Budget Circular A-87, may be included in the determination of the costs of each service, program and activity.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed his fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him which he would be entitled to if the same was made by sale to enforce the judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to police departments or other law enforcement agencies. For the purposes of this Section, "law enforcement agency" means an agency of the State or unit of local government which is vested by law or ordinance with the duty to maintain public order and to enforce criminal laws.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-5001. Sheriffs; counties of first and second class. The fees of sheriffs in counties of the first and second class, except when increased by county ordinance under this Section, shall be as follows:
    For serving or attempting to serve summons on each defendant in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment granting injunctional relief in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for replevin in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment on each defendant in each county, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve a warrant of arrest, $8, to be paid upon conviction.
    For returning a defendant from outside the State of Illinois, upon conviction, the court shall assess, as court costs, the cost of returning a defendant to the jurisdiction.
    For taking special bail, $1 in each county.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, in each county, $10.
    For advertising property for sale, $5.
    For returning each process, in each county, $5.
    Mileage for each mile of necessary travel to serve any such process as Stated above, calculating from the place of holding court to the place of residence of the defendant, or witness, 50 each way.
    For summoning each juror, $3 with 30 mileage each way in all counties.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgments or levying to enforce a judgment, $3 with 50 mileage each way in all counties.
    For taking possession of and removing property levied on, the officer shall be allowed to tax the actual cost of such possession or removal.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover the actual cost as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For attending before a court with prisoner, on an order for habeas corpus, in each county, $10 per day.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner in any criminal proceeding, in each county, $10 per day.
    For each mile of necessary travel in taking such prisoner before the court as Stated above, 15 a mile each way.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an eviction action without aid, $10 and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof, and for each mile of necessary travel, 50 each way.
    For executing and acknowledging a deed of sale of real estate, in counties of first class, $4; second class, $4.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging a deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate in counties of first class, $5; second class, $5.
    For making certificates of sale, and making and filing duplicate, in counties of first class, $3; in counties of the second class, $3.
    For making certificate of redemption, $3.
    For certificate of levy and filing, $3, and the fee for recording shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and charged as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, civil and criminal, in counties of first class, $1; in second class, $1.
    For executing copies in criminal cases, $4 and mileage for each mile of necessary travel, 20 each way.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $5.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's own county to the jail of another county, or from another county to the jail of the prisoner's county, per mile, for going, only, 30.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. For each person who is conveyed, 35 per mile in going only to the penitentiary, reformatory, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers, from the place of conviction.
    The fees provided for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest practical route, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls and Reception Centers and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    For conveying any person to or from any of the charitable institutions of the State, when properly committed by competent authority, when one person is conveyed, 35 per mile; when two persons are conveyed at the same time, 35 per mile for the first person and 20 per mile for the second person; and 10 per mile for each additional person.
    For conveying a person from the penitentiary to the county jail when required by law, 35 per mile.
    For attending Supreme Court, $10 per day.
    In addition to the above fees there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $600 for the sale of real estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court, except that in the case of a sale of unimproved real estate which sells for $10,000 or less, the fee shall be $150. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $75;
    For judgments from $1,001 to $15,000, $150;
    For judgments over $15,000, $300.
    The foregoing fees allowed by this Section are the maximum fees that may be collected from any officer, agency, department or other instrumentality of the State. The county board may, however, by ordinance, increase the fees allowed by this Section and collect those increased fees from all persons and entities other than officers, agencies, departments and other instrumentalities of the State if the increase is justified by an acceptable cost study showing that the fees allowed by this Section are not sufficient to cover the costs of providing the service. A statement of the costs of providing each service, program and activity shall be prepared by the county board. All supporting documents shall be public records and subject to public examination and audit. All direct and indirect costs, as defined in the United States Office of Management and Budget Circular A-87, may be included in the determination of the costs of each service, program and activity.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed his fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him which he would be entitled to if the same was made by sale to enforce the judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to police departments or other law enforcement agencies. For the purposes of this Section, "law enforcement agency" means an agency of the State or unit of local government which is vested by law or ordinance with the duty to maintain public order and to enforce criminal laws.
(Source: P.A. 100-173, eff. 1-1-18.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-6

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-6 heading)
Division 4-6. County Officers' Salaries
in Counties of Less than 2,000,000 Inhabitants

55 ILCS 5/4-6001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-6001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-6001)
    Sec. 4-6001. Officers in counties of less than 2,000,000.
    (a) In all counties of less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, the compensation of Coroners, County Treasurers, County Clerks, Recorders and Auditors shall be determined under this Section. The County Board in those counties shall fix the amount of the necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses of those officers. The compensation of those officers shall be separate from the necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses, and such compensation (except for coroners in those counties with less than 2,000,000 population in which the coroner's compensation is set in accordance with Section 4-6002) shall be fixed within the following limits:
    To each such officer in counties containing less than 14,000 inhabitants, not less than $13,500 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 14,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 30,000 inhabitants, not less than $14,500 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 30,000 or more inhabitants but less than 60,000 inhabitants, not less than $15,000 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 60,000 or more inhabitants but less than 100,000 inhabitants, not less than $15,000 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 100,000 or more inhabitants but less than 200,000 inhabitants, not less than $16,500 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 200,000 or more inhabitants but less than 300,000 inhabitants, not less than $18,000 per annum.
    To each such officer in counties containing 300,000 or more inhabitants but less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, not less than $20,000 per annum.
    (b) Those officers beginning a term of office before December 1, 1990 shall be compensated at the rate of their base salary. "Base salary" is the compensation paid for each of those offices, respectively, before July 1, 1989.
    (c) Those officers beginning a term of office on or after December 1, 1990 shall be compensated as follows:
        (1) Beginning December 1, 1990, base salary plus at
    
least 3% of base salary.
        (2) Beginning December 1, 1991, base salary plus at
    
least 6% of base salary.
        (3) Beginning December 1, 1992, base salary plus at
    
least 9% of base salary.
        (4) Beginning December 1, 1993, base salary plus at
    
least 12% of base salary.
    (d) In addition to but separate and apart from the compensation provided in this Section, the county clerk of each county, the recorder of each county, and the chief clerk of each county board of election commissioners shall receive an award as follows:
        (1) $4,500 per year after January 1, 1998;
        (2) $5,500 per year after January 1, 1999; and
        (3) $6,500 per year after January 1, 2000.
The total amount required for such awards each year shall be appropriated by the General Assembly to the State Board of Elections which shall distribute the awards in annual lump sum payments to the several county clerks, recorders, and chief election clerks. Beginning December 1, 1990, this annual award, and any other award or stipend paid out of State funds to county officers, shall not affect any other compensation provided by law to be paid to county officers.
    (e) Beginning December 1, 1990, no county board may reduce or otherwise impair the compensation payable from county funds to a county officer if the reduction or impairment is the result of the county officer receiving an award or stipend payable from State funds.
    (f) The compensation, necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses of the county auditor, as fixed by the county board, shall be paid by the county.
    (g) The population of all counties for the purpose of fixing compensation, as herein provided, shall be based upon the last Federal census immediately previous to the election of the officer in question in each county.
    (h) With respect to an auditor who takes office on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly, the auditor shall receive an annual stipend of $6,500 per year. The General Assembly shall appropriate the total amount required for the stipend each year from the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund to the Department of Revenue, and the Department of Revenue shall distribute the awards in an annual lump sum payment to each county auditor. The stipend shall be in addition to, but separate and apart from, the compensation provided in this Section. No county board may reduce or otherwise impair the compensation payable from county funds to the auditor if the reduction or impairment is the result of the auditor receiving an award or stipend pursuant to this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 97-72, eff. 7-1-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-6002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-6002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-6002)
    Sec. 4-6002. Coroners in counties of less than 2,000,000.
    (a) The County Board, in all counties of less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, shall fix the compensation of Coroners within the limitations fixed by this Division, and shall appropriate for their necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel, supplies, and other expenses. The compensation of the Coroner shall be fixed separately from his necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses, and such compensation shall be fixed within the following limits:
    To each Coroner in counties containing less than 5,000 inhabitants, not less than $4,500 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 5,000 or more inhabitants but less than 14,000 inhabitants, not less than $6,000 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 14,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 30,000 inhabitants, not less than $9,000 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 30,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 60,000 inhabitants, not less than $14,000 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 60,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 100,000 inhabitants, not less than $15,000 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 100,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 200,000 inhabitants, not less than $16,500 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 200,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 300,000 inhabitants, not less than $18,000 per annum.
    To each Coroner in counties containing 300,000 or more inhabitants, but less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, not less than $20,000 per annum.
    The population of all counties for the purpose of fixing compensation, as herein provided, shall be based upon the last Federal census immediately previous to the election of the Coroner in question in each county. This Section does not apply to a county which has abolished the elective office of coroner.
    (b) Those coroners beginning a term of office on or after December 1, 1990 shall be compensated as follows:
        (1) Beginning December 1, 1990, base salary plus at
    
least 3% of base salary.
        (2) Beginning December 1, 1991, base salary plus at
    
least 6% of base salary.
        (3) Beginning December 1, 1992, base salary plus at
    
least 9% of base salary.
        (4) Beginning December 1, 1993, base salary plus at
    
least 12% of base salary.
    "Base salary", as used in this subsection (b), means the salary in effect before July 1, 1989.
    (c) In addition to, but separate and apart from, the compensation provided in this Section, subject to appropriation, the coroner of each county shall receive an annual stipend of $6,500 to be paid by the Illinois Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund if his or her term begins on or after December 1, 2000.
(Source: P.A. 97-72, eff. 7-1-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-6003

    (55 ILCS 5/4-6003) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-6003)
    Sec. 4-6003. Compensation of sheriffs for certain expenses in counties of less than 2,000,000.
    (a) The County Board, in all counties of less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, shall fix the compensation of sheriffs, with the amount of their necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses. The county shall supply the sheriff with all necessary uniforms, guns and ammunition. The compensation of each such officer shall be fixed separately from his necessary clerk hire, stationery, fuel and other expenses. Beginning immediately, no county with a population under 2,000,000 may reduce the rate of compensation of its sheriff below the rate of compensation that it was actually paying to its sheriff on January 1, 2002 or the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly, whichever is greater.
    (b) In addition to the requirement of subsection (a), the rate of compensation payable to the sheriff by the county shall not be less than the following:
    To each such sheriff in counties containing less than 10,000 inhabitants, not less than $27,000 per annum.
    To each such sheriff in counties containing 10,000 or more inhabitants but less than 20,000 inhabitants, not less than $31,000 per annum.
    To each such sheriff in counties containing 20,000 or more inhabitants but less than 30,000 inhabitants, not less than $34,000 per annum.
    To each such sheriff in counties containing 30,000 or more inhabitants but less than 60,000 inhabitants, not less than $37,000 per annum.
    To each such sheriff in counties containing 60,000 or more inhabitants but less than 100,000 inhabitants, not less than $40,000 per annum.
    To each such sheriff in counties containing 100,000 or more inhabitants but less than 2,000,000 inhabitants, not less than $43,000 per annum.
    The population of each county for the purpose of fixing compensation as herein provided, shall be based upon the last federal census immediately previous to the election of the sheriff in question in such county.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) In addition to the salary provided for in subsections (a), (b), and (c), beginning December 1, 1998, subject to appropriation, each sheriff, for his or her additional duties imposed by other statutes or laws, shall receive an annual stipend to be paid by the Illinois Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund in the amount of $6,500.
    (e) No county board may reduce or otherwise impair the compensation payable from county funds to a sheriff if the reduction or impairment is the result of the sheriff receiving an award or stipend payable from State funds.
(Source: P.A. 97-72, eff. 7-1-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-6004

    (55 ILCS 5/4-6004) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-6004)
    Sec. 4-6004. Services of county collector as receiver. No fees shall be paid to any county collector for services as a receiver in a tax foreclosure suit in addition to the regular salary or fees paid to such county collector.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-7

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-7 heading)
Division 4-7. Coroner's Fees

55 ILCS 5/4-7001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-7001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-7001)
    Sec. 4-7001. Coroner's fees. The fees of the coroner's office shall be as follows:
        1. For a copy of a transcript of sworn testimony:
    
$5.00 per page.
        2. For a copy of an autopsy report (if not included
    
in transcript): $50.00.
        3. For a copy of the verdict of a coroner's jury:
    
$5.00.
        4. For a copy of a toxicology report: $25.00.
        5. For a print of or an electronic file containing a
    
picture obtained by the coroner: actual cost or $3.00, whichever is greater.
        6. For each copy of miscellaneous reports, including
    
artist's drawings but not including police reports: actual cost or $25.00, whichever is greater.
        7. For a coroner's or medical examiner's permit to
    
cremate a dead human body: $50.00. The coroner may waive, at his or her discretion, the permit fee if the coroner determines that the person is indigent and unable to pay the permit fee or under other special circumstances.
    All of which fees shall be certified by the court; in the case of inmates of any State charitable or penal institution, the fees shall be paid by the operating department or commission, out of the State Treasury. The coroner shall file his or her claim in probate for his or her fees and he or she shall render assistance to the State's attorney in the collection of such fees out of the estate of the deceased. In counties of less than 1,000,000 population, the State's attorney shall collect such fees out of the estate of the deceased.
    Except as otherwise provided in this Section, whenever the coroner is required by law to perform any of the duties of the office of the sheriff, the coroner is entitled to the like fees and compensation as are allowed by law to the sheriff for the performance of similar services.
    Except as otherwise provided in this Section, whenever the coroner of any county is required to travel in the performance of his or her duties, he or she shall receive the same mileage fees as are authorized for the sheriff of such county.
    All fees under this Section collected by or on behalf of the coroner's office shall be paid over to the county treasurer and deposited into a special account in the county treasury. Moneys in the special account shall be used solely for the purchase of electronic and forensic identification equipment or other related supplies and the operating expenses of the coroner's office.
(Source: P.A. 96-1161, eff. 7-21-10.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-8

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-8 heading)
Division 4-8. Officers' Salaries in Cook County
(Source: P.A. 96-328, eff. 8-11-09.)

55 ILCS 5/4-8002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-8002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-8002)
    Sec. 4-8002. Additional compensation of sheriff and recorder.
    (a) In addition to any salary otherwise provided by law, beginning December 1, 1998, subject to appropriation, the sheriff of Cook County for his or her additional duties imposed by other statutes or laws shall receive an annual stipend to be paid by the Illinois Department of Revenue out of the Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund in the amount of $6,500. The county board shall not reduce or otherwise impair the compensation payable from county funds to the sheriff if the reduction or impairment is the result of the sheriff receiving a stipend payable from State funds.
    (b) In addition to any salary otherwise provided by law, beginning December 1, 2000, subject to appropriation, the recorder of deeds of Cook County for his or her additional duties imposed by law shall receive an annual stipend to be paid by the State in an amount equal to the stipend paid to each recorder in other counties under subsection (d) of Section 4-6001 of this Code. The county board may not reduce or otherwise impair the compensation payable from county funds to the recorder of deeds if the reduction or impairment is the result of the recorder of deeds receiving a stipend payable from State funds.
(Source: P.A. 97-72, eff. 7-1-11; 97-619, eff. 11-14-11.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-9

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-9 heading)
Division 4-9. County Commissioners' Salaries

55 ILCS 5/4-9001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-9001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-9001)
    Sec. 4-9001. County Commissioners. County commissioners shall receive an annual salary to be fixed by the county board, which salary is in full for all duties performed in any capacity as a member of the county board. In addition, the county commissioners of counties organized under Division 2-4 shall not receive an annual salary that is greater than the annual salary paid to the county clerk of that county. County commissioners are also entitled to travel and expense allowances as determined by the county board. All are to be paid out of the county treasury.
    No per diem or travel or other expenses for transacting county business, other than board meetings, may be paid except upon the filing with the county board of a report stating the nature of such business. Such report shall appear on the minutes of the meeting of the county board at which such per diem and expenses are approved.
(Source: P.A. 86-962; 86-1252.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-10

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-10 heading)
Division 4-10. County Board Members' Salaries

55 ILCS 5/4-10001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-10001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-10001)
    Sec. 4-10001. County board members. County board members elected pursuant to Division 2-3 shall receive such compensation as is fixed by the county board in accordance with the method of compensation selected by the county board. Such compensation shall be set before the general election at which county board members are elected. The chairman of the county board shall receive such additional compensation as determined by the county board in reapportioning the county.
    County board members and the chairman of the county board are also entitled to travel and expense allowances as determined by the county board.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-11

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-11 heading)
Division 4-11. Jurors' Compensation

55 ILCS 5/4-11001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-11001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-11001)
    (Text of Section WITH the changes made by P.A. 98-1132, which has been held unconstitutional)
    Sec. 4-11001. Juror fees. Each county shall pay to grand and petit jurors for their services in attending courts the sums of $25 for the first day and thereafter $50 for each day of necessary attendance, or such higher amount as may be fixed by the county board.
    If a judge so orders, a juror shall also receive reimbursement for the actual cost of day care incurred by the juror during his or her service on a jury.
    The juror fees for service and day care shall be paid out of the county treasury.
    The clerk of the court shall furnish to each juror without fee whenever he is discharged a certificate of the number of days' attendance at court, and upon presentation thereof to the county treasurer, he shall pay to the juror the sum provided for his service.
    Any juror may elect to waive the fee paid for service, transportation, or day care, or any combination thereof.
(Source: P.A. 97-840, eff. 1-1-13; 98-1132, eff. 6-1-15.)
 
    (Text of Section WITHOUT the changes made by P.A. 98-1132, which has been held unconstitutional)
    Sec. 4-11001. Juror fees. Each county shall pay to grand and petit jurors for their services in attending courts the sum of $4 for each day of necessary attendance at such courts as jurors in counties of the first class, the sum of $5 for each day in counties of the second class, and the sum of $10 for each day in counties of the third class, or such higher amount as may be fixed by the county board.
    In addition, jurors shall receive such travel expense as may be determined by the county board, provided that jurors in counties of the first class and second class shall receive at least 10 cents per mile for their travel expense. Mileage shall be allowed for travel during a juror's term as well as for travel at the opening and closing of his term.
    If a judge so orders, a juror shall also receive reimbursement for the actual cost of day care incurred by the juror during his or her service on a jury.
    The juror fees for service, transportation, and day care shall be paid out of the county treasury.
    The clerk of the court shall furnish to each juror without fee whenever he is discharged a certificate of the number of days' attendance at court, and upon presentation thereof to the county treasurer, he shall pay to the juror the sum provided for his service.
    Any juror may elect to waive the fee paid for service, transportation, or day care, or any combination thereof.
(Source: P.A. 97-840, eff. 1-1-13.)

55 ILCS 5/4-11001.5

    (55 ILCS 5/4-11001.5)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2019)
    Sec. 4-11001.5. Lake County Children's Advocacy Center Pilot Program.
    (a) The Lake County Children's Advocacy Center Pilot Program is established. Under the Pilot Program, any grand juror or petit juror in Lake County may elect to have his or her juror fees earned under Section 4-11001 of this Code to be donated to the Lake County Children's Advocacy Center, a division of the Lake County State's Attorney's office.
    (b) On or before January 1, 2017, the Lake County board shall adopt, by ordinance or resolution, rules and policies governing and effectuating the ability of jurors to donate their juror fees to the Lake County Children's Advocacy Center beginning January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2018. At a minimum, the rules and policies must provide:
        (1) for a form that a juror may fill out to elect to
    
donate his or her juror fees. The form must contain a statement, in at least 14-point bold type, that donation of juror fees is optional;
        (2) that all monies donated by jurors shall be
    
transferred by the county to the Lake County Children's Advocacy Center at the same time a juror is paid under Section 4-11001 of this Code who did not elect to donate his or her juror fees; and
        (3) that all juror fees donated under this Section
    
shall be used exclusively for the operation of Lake County Children's Advocacy Center.
    (c) The following information shall be reported to the General Assembly and the Governor by the Lake County board after each calendar year of the Pilot Program on or before March 31, 2018 and March 31, 2019:
        (1) the number of grand and petit jurors who earned
    
fees under Section 4-11001 of this Code during the previous calendar year;
        (2) the number of grand and petit jurors who donated
    
fees under this Section during the previous calendar year;
        (3) the amount of donated fees under this Section
    
during the previous calendar year;
        (4) how the monies donated in the previous calendar
    
year were used by the Lake County Children's Advocacy Center; and
        (5) how much cost there was incurred by Lake County
    
and the Lake County State's Attorney's office in the previous calendar year in implementing the Pilot Program.
    (d) This Section is repealed on December 31, 2019.
(Source: P.A. 99-583, eff. 7-15-16; 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)

55 ILCS 5/4-11002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-11002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-11002)
    Sec. 4-11002. Juror's fees on inquest. The fees of each juror attending an inquest shall be fixed by the county board at a sum not to exceed $10 per inquest and not to exceed $40 per day, payable out of the county treasury, upon the certificate of the coroner or acting coroner of the county wherein the inquest was held. Any juror may elect to waive the fees paid for attending an inquest.
(Source: P.A. 97-840, eff. 1-1-13.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-12

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-12 heading)
Division 4-12. Fees of Sheriff, Recorder and Clerk
in Third Class Counties

55 ILCS 5/4-12001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-12001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-12001)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-12001. Fees of sheriff in third class counties. The officers herein named, in counties of the third class, shall be entitled to receive the fees herein specified, for the services mentioned and such other fees as may be provided by law for such other services not herein designated.
Fees for Sheriff
    For serving or attempting to serve any summons on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each alias summons or other process mileage will be charged as hereinafter provided when the address for service differs from the address for service on the original summons or other process.
    For serving or attempting to serve all other process, on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each warrant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee, $35.
    For summoning each juror, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve each order or judgment for replevin, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment, on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an action of forcible entry and detainer, without aid, $35, and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgment, $35.
    For levying to satisfy an order in an action for attachment, $25.
    For executing order of court to seize personal property, $25.
    For making certificate of levy on real estate and filing or recording same, $8, and the fee for filing or recording shall be advanced by the plaintiff in attachment or by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs. For taking possession of or removing property levied on, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax the necessary actual costs of such possession or removal.
    For advertising property for sale, $20.
    For making certificate of sale and making and filing duplicate for record, $15, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate, $15; for preparing, executing and acknowledging all other deeds on sale of real estate, $10.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption, $15, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption from a court sale, $11, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, $10.
    For taking special bail, $5.
    For returning each process, $15.
    Mileage for service or attempted service of all process is a $10 flat fee.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner on an order for habeas corpus, $9 per day.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $13.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's county to the jail of another county, per mile for going only, 25.
    For committing to or discharging each prisoner from jail, $3.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover actual costs as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For committing each prisoner to jail under the laws of the United States, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring his confinement, $3.
    For feeding such prisoners per day, $3, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring the prisoner's confinement.
    For discharging such prisoners, $3.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. When one person is conveyed, 20 per mile in going to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital from the place of conviction; when 2 persons are conveyed at the same time, 20 per mile for the first and 15 per mile for the second person; when more than 2 persons are conveyed at the same time as Stated above, the sheriff shall be allowed 20 per mile for the first, 15 per mile for the second and 10 per mile for each additional person.
    The fees provided for herein for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest route on a hard surfaced road, (either State Bond Issue Route or Federal highways) or railroad, whichever is shorter, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    In addition to the above fees, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $900 for the sale of real estate which shall be made by virtue of any judgment of a court. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $100;
    For judgments over $1,000 to $15,000, $300;
    For judgments over $15,000, $500.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed the fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him or her which he or she would be entitled to if the same were made by sale in the enforcement of a judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to police departments or other law enforcement agencies. For the purposes of this Section, "law enforcement agency" means an agency of the State or unit of local government which is vested by law or ordinance with the duty to maintain public order and to enforce criminal laws or ordinances.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to units of local government or school districts.
(Source: P.A. 94-1104, eff. 6-1-07.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-12001. Fees of sheriff in third class counties. The officers herein named, in counties of the third class, shall be entitled to receive the fees herein specified, for the services mentioned and such other fees as may be provided by law for such other services not herein designated.
Fees for Sheriff
    For serving or attempting to serve any summons on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each alias summons or other process mileage will be charged as hereinafter provided when the address for service differs from the address for service on the original summons or other process.
    For serving or attempting to serve all other process, on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each warrant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee, $35.
    For summoning each juror, $10.
    For serving or attempting to serve each order or judgment for replevin, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment, on each defendant, $35.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an eviction action, without aid, $35, and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgment, $35.
    For levying to satisfy an order in an action for attachment, $25.
    For executing order of court to seize personal property, $25.
    For making certificate of levy on real estate and filing or recording same, $8, and the fee for filing or recording shall be advanced by the plaintiff in attachment or by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs. For taking possession of or removing property levied on, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax the necessary actual costs of such possession or removal.
    For advertising property for sale, $20.
    For making certificate of sale and making and filing duplicate for record, $15, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate, $15; for preparing, executing and acknowledging all other deeds on sale of real estate, $10.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption, $15, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption from a court sale, $11, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, $10.
    For taking special bail, $5.
    For returning each process, $15.
    Mileage for service or attempted service of all process is a $10 flat fee.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner on an order for habeas corpus, $9 per day.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $13.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's county to the jail of another county, per mile for going only, 25.
    For committing to or discharging each prisoner from jail, $3.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover actual costs as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For committing each prisoner to jail under the laws of the United States, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring his confinement, $3.
    For feeding such prisoners per day, $3, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring the prisoner's confinement.
    For discharging such prisoners, $3.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. When one person is conveyed, 20 per mile in going to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital from the place of conviction; when 2 persons are conveyed at the same time, 20 per mile for the first and 15 per mile for the second person; when more than 2 persons are conveyed at the same time as Stated above, the sheriff shall be allowed 20 per mile for the first, 15 per mile for the second and 10 per mile for each additional person.
    The fees provided for herein for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest route on a hard surfaced road, (either State Bond Issue Route or Federal highways) or railroad, whichever is shorter, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    In addition to the above fees, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $900 for the sale of real estate which shall be made by virtue of any judgment of a court. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $100;
    For judgments over $1,000 to $15,000, $300;
    For judgments over $15,000, $500.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed the fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him or her which he or she would be entitled to if the same were made by sale in the enforcement of a judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to police departments or other law enforcement agencies. For the purposes of this Section, "law enforcement agency" means an agency of the State or unit of local government which is vested by law or ordinance with the duty to maintain public order and to enforce criminal laws or ordinances.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to units of local government or school districts.
(Source: P.A. 100-173, eff. 1-1-18.)

55 ILCS 5/4-12001.1

    (55 ILCS 5/4-12001.1) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-12001.1)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-12001.1. Fees of sheriff in third class counties; local governments and school districts. The officers herein named, in counties of the third class, shall be entitled to receive the fees herein specified from all units of local government and school districts, for the services mentioned and such other fees as may be provided by law for such other services not herein designated.
Fees for Sheriff
    For serving or attempting to serve any summons on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each alias summons or other process mileage will be charged as hereinafter provided when the address for service differs from the address for service on the original summons or other process.
    For serving or attempting to serve all other process, on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each warrant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee, $25.
    For summoning each juror, $4.
    For serving or attempting to serve each order or judgment for replevin, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment, on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an action of forcible entry and detainer, without aid, $9, and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgment, $25.
    For levying to satisfy an order in an action for attachment, $25.
    For executing order of court to seize personal property, $25.
    For making certificate of levy on real estate and filing or recording same, $3, and the fee for filing or recording shall be advanced by the plaintiff in attachment or by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs. For taking possession of or removing property levied on, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax the necessary actual costs of such possession or removal.
    For advertising property for sale, $3.
    For making certificate of sale and making and filing duplicate for record, $3, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate, $6; for preparing, executing and acknowledging all other deeds on sale of real estate, $4.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption, $3.50, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption from a court sale, $4.50, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, $2.
    For taking special bail, $2.
    For returning each process, $5.
    Mileage for service or attempted service of all process is a $10 flat fee.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner on an order for habeas corpus, $3.50 per day.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $5.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's county to the jail of another county, per mile for going only, 25.
    For committing to or discharging each prisoner from jail, $1.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover actual costs as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For committing each prisoner to jail under the laws of the United States, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring his confinement, $1.
    For feeding such prisoners per day, $1, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring the prisoner's confinement.
    For discharging such prisoners, $1.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. When one person is conveyed, 15 per mile in going to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital from the place of conviction; when 2 persons are conveyed at the same time, 15 per mile for the first and 10 per mile for the second person; when more than 2 persons are conveyed at the same time as stated above, the sheriff shall be allowed 15 per mile for the first, 10 per mile for the second and 5 per mile for each additional person.
    The fees provided for herein for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest route on a hard surfaced road, (either State Bond Issue Route or Federal highways) or railroad, whichever is shorter, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    In addition to the above fees, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $600 for the sale of real estate which shall be made by virtue of any judgment of a court. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $90;
    For judgments over $1,000 to $15,000, $275;
    For judgments over $15,000, $400.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed the fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him or her which he or she would be entitled to if the same were made by sale in the enforcement of a judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
     All fees collected under Sections 4-12001 and 4-12001.1 must be used for public safety purposes only.
(Source: P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-173)
    Sec. 4-12001.1. Fees of sheriff in third class counties; local governments and school districts. The officers herein named, in counties of the third class, shall be entitled to receive the fees herein specified from all units of local government and school districts, for the services mentioned and such other fees as may be provided by law for such other services not herein designated.
Fees for Sheriff
    For serving or attempting to serve any summons on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each alias summons or other process mileage will be charged as hereinafter provided when the address for service differs from the address for service on the original summons or other process.
    For serving or attempting to serve all other process, on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve a subpoena on each witness, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each warrant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve each garnishee, $25.
    For summoning each juror, $4.
    For serving or attempting to serve each order or judgment for replevin, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order for attachment, on each defendant, $25.
    For serving or attempting to serve an order or judgment for the possession of real estate in an action of ejectment or in any other action, or for restitution in an eviction action, without aid, $9, and when aid is necessary, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax in addition the actual costs thereof.
    For serving or attempting to serve notice of judgment, $25.
    For levying to satisfy an order in an action for attachment, $25.
    For executing order of court to seize personal property, $25.
    For making certificate of levy on real estate and filing or recording same, $3, and the fee for filing or recording shall be advanced by the plaintiff in attachment or by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs. For taking possession of or removing property levied on, the sheriff shall be allowed to tax the necessary actual costs of such possession or removal.
    For advertising property for sale, $3.
    For making certificate of sale and making and filing duplicate for record, $3, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the judgment creditor and taxed as costs.
    For preparing, executing and acknowledging deed on redemption from a court sale of real estate, $6; for preparing, executing and acknowledging all other deeds on sale of real estate, $4.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption, $3.50, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For making and filing certificate of redemption from a court sale, $4.50, and the fee for recording same shall be advanced by the party making the redemption and taxed as costs.
    For taking all bonds on legal process, $2.
    For taking special bail, $2.
    For returning each process, $5.
    Mileage for service or attempted service of all process is a $10 flat fee.
    For attending before a court with a prisoner on an order for habeas corpus, $3.50 per day.
    For executing requisitions from other States, $5.
    For conveying each prisoner from the prisoner's county to the jail of another county, per mile for going only, 25.
    For committing to or discharging each prisoner from jail, $1.
    For feeding each prisoner, such compensation to cover actual costs as may be fixed by the county board, but such compensation shall not be considered a part of the fees of the office.
    For committing each prisoner to jail under the laws of the United States, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring his confinement, $1.
    For feeding such prisoners per day, $1, to be paid by the marshal or other person requiring the prisoner's confinement.
    For discharging such prisoners, $1.
    For conveying persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, the following fees, payable out of the State Treasury. When one person is conveyed, 15 per mile in going to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital from the place of conviction; when 2 persons are conveyed at the same time, 15 per mile for the first and 10 per mile for the second person; when more than 2 persons are conveyed at the same time as stated above, the sheriff shall be allowed 15 per mile for the first, 10 per mile for the second and 5 per mile for each additional person.
    The fees provided for herein for transporting persons to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, shall be paid for each trip so made. Mileage as used in this Section means the shortest route on a hard surfaced road, (either State Bond Issue Route or Federal highways) or railroad, whichever is shorter, between the place from which the person is to be transported, to the penitentiary, reformatories, Illinois State Training School for Boys, Illinois State Training School for Girls, Reception Centers and Illinois Security Hospital, and all fees per mile shall be computed on such basis.
    In addition to the above fees, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee of $600 for the sale of real estate which shall be made by virtue of any judgment of a court. In addition to this fee and all other fees provided by this Section, there shall be allowed to the sheriff a fee in accordance with the following schedule for the sale of personal estate which is made by virtue of any judgment of a court:
    For judgments up to $1,000, $90;
    For judgments over $1,000 to $15,000, $275;
    For judgments over $15,000, $400.
    In all cases where the judgment is settled by the parties, replevied, stopped by injunction or paid, or where the property levied upon is not actually sold, the sheriff shall be allowed the fee for levying and mileage, together with half the fee for all money collected by him or her which he or she would be entitled to if the same were made by sale in the enforcement of a judgment. In no case shall the fee exceed the amount of money arising from the sale.
     All fees collected under Sections 4-12001 and 4-12001.1 must be used for public safety purposes only.
(Source: P.A. 100-173, eff. 1-1-18.)

55 ILCS 5/4-12002

    (55 ILCS 5/4-12002) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-12002)
    Sec. 4-12002. Fees of recorder in third class counties. The fees of the recorder in counties of the third class for recording deeds or other instruments in writing and maps of plats of additions, subdivisions or otherwise, and for certifying copies of records, shall be paid in advance and shall be as follows:
    For recording deeds or other instruments $20 for the first 2 pages thereof, plus $2 for each additional page thereof. The aggregate minimum fee for recording any one instrument shall not be less than $20.
    For recording deeds or other instruments wherein the premises affected thereby are referred to by document number and not by legal description the recorder shall charge a fee of $4 in addition to that hereinabove referred to for each document number therein noted.
    For recording deeds or other instruments wherein more than one tract, parcel or lot is described and such additional tract, or tracts, parcel or parcels, lot or lots is or are described therein as falling in a separate or different addition or subdivision the recorder shall charge as an additional fee, to that herein provided, the sum of $2 for each additional addition or subdivision referred to in such deed or instrument.
    For recording any document that affects an interest in real property other than documents which solely affect or relate to an easement for water, sewer, electricity, gas, telephone or other public service, the recorder shall charge a fee of $1 per document to all filers of documents not filed by any State agency, any unit of local government, or any school district. Fifty cents of the $1 fee hereby established shall be deposited into the County General Revenue Fund. The remaining $0.50 shall be deposited into the County Recorder Document Storage System Fund and may not be appropriated or expended for any other purpose. The additional amounts available to the recorder for expenditure from the County Recorder Document Storage System Fund shall not offset or reduce any other county appropriations or funding for the office of the recorder.
    For recording maps or plats of additions, subdivisions or otherwise (including the spreading of the same of record in well bound books) $100 plus $2 for each tract, parcel or lot contained therein.
    For certified copies of records the same fees as for recording, but in no case shall the fee for a certified copy of a map or plat of an addition, subdivision or otherwise exceed $200.
    For non-certified copies of records, an amount not to exceed one half of the amount provided herein for certified copies, according to a standard scale of fees, established by county ordinance and made public.
    For filing of each release of any chattel mortgage or trust deed which has been filed but not recorded and for indexing the same in the book to be kept for that purpose $10.
    For processing the sworn or affirmed statement required for filing a deed or assignment of a beneficial interest in a land trust in accordance with Section 3-5020 of this Code, $2.
    The recorder shall charge an additional fee, in an amount equal to the fee otherwise provided by law, for recording a document (other than a document filed under the Plat Act or the Uniform Commercial Code) that does not conform to the following standards:
        (1) The document shall consist of one or more
    
individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11 inches by 17 inches shall be recorded without charging an additional fee.
        (2) The document shall be legibly printed in black
    
ink, by hand, type, or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly.
        (3) The document shall be on white paper of not less
    
than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on the top, the bottom, and each side. Margins may be used only for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form numbers, page numbers, and customer notations.
        (4) The first page of the document shall contain a
    
blank space, measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches, from the upper right corner.
        (5) The document shall not have any attachment
    
stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.
A document that does not conform to these standards shall not be recorded except upon payment of the additional fee required under this paragraph. This paragraph, as amended by this amendatory Act of 1995, applies only to documents dated after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.
    The recorder shall collect a $9 Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge for the recordation of any real estate-related document. Payment of the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge shall be evidenced by a receipt that shall be marked upon or otherwise affixed to the real estate-related document by the recorder. The form of this receipt shall be prescribed by the Department of Revenue and the receipts shall be issued by the Department of Revenue to each county recorder.
    The recorder shall not collect the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge from any State agency, any unit of local government or any school district.
    On the 15th day of each month, each county recorder shall report to the Department of Revenue, on a form prescribed by the Department, the number of real estate-related documents recorded for which the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge was collected. Each recorder shall submit $9 of each surcharge collected in the preceding month to the Department of Revenue and the Department shall deposit these amounts in the Rental Housing Support Program Fund. Subject to appropriation, amounts in the Fund may be expended only for the purpose of funding and administering the Rental Housing Support Program.
    For purposes of this Section, "real estate-related document" means that term as it is defined in Section 7 of the Rental Housing Support Program Act.
    The fee requirements of this Section apply to units of local government and school districts.
    Regardless of any other provision in this Section, the maximum fee that may be collected from the Department of Revenue for filing or indexing a lien, certificate of lien release or subordination, or any other type of notice or other documentation affecting or concerning a lien is $5. Regardless of any other provision in this Section, the maximum fee that may be collected from the Department of Revenue for indexing each additional name in excess of one for any lien, certificate of lien release or subordination, or any other type of notice or other documentation affecting or concerning a lien is $1.
(Source: P.A. 98-5, eff. 3-22-13.)

55 ILCS 5/4-12003

    (55 ILCS 5/4-12003) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-12003)
    Sec. 4-12003. Fees of county clerk in third class counties. The fees of the county clerk in counties of the third class are:
    For issuing each civil union or marriage license, sealing, filing and recording the same and the certificate thereto (one charge), a fee to be determined by the county board of the county, not to exceed $75, which shall be the same, whether for a civil union or marriage license. $5 from all civil union and marriage license fees shall be remitted by the clerk to the State Treasurer for deposit into the Domestic Violence Fund.
    For taking, certifying to and sealing the acknowledgment of a deed, power of attorney, or other writing, $1.
    For filing and entering certificates in case of estrays, and furnishing notices for publication thereof (one charge), $1.50.
    For recording all papers and documents required by law to be recorded in the office of the county clerk, $2 plus 30 for every 100 words in excess of 600 words.
    For certificate and seal, not in a case in a court whereof he is clerk, $1.
    For making and certifying a copy of any record or paper in his office, $2 for every page.
    For filing papers in his office, 50 for each paper filed, except that no fee shall be charged for filing a Statement of economic interest pursuant to the Illinois Governmental Ethics Act or reports made pursuant to Article 9 of The Election Code.
    For making transcript of taxable property for the assessors, 8 for each tract of land or town lot. For extending other than State and county taxes, 8 for each tax on each tract or lot, and 8 for each person's personal tax, to be paid by the authority for whose benefit the transcript is made and the taxes extended. The county clerk shall certify to the county collector the amount due from each authority for such services and the collector in his settlement with such authority shall reserve such amount from the amount payable by him to such authority.
    For adding and bringing forward with current tax warrants amounts due for forfeited or withdrawn special assessments, 8 for each lot or tract of land described and transcribed.
    For computing and extending each assessment or installment thereof and interest, 8 on each description; and for computing and extending each penalty, 8 on each description. These fees shall be paid by the city, village, or taxing body for whose benefit the transcript is made and the assessment and penalties are extended. The county clerk shall certify to the county collector the amount due from each city, village or taxing body, for such services, and the collector in his settlement with such taxing body shall reserve such amount from the amount payable by him to such city, village or other taxing body.
    For cancelling certificates of sale, $4 for each tract or lot.
    For making search and report of general taxes and special assessments for use in the preparation of estimate of cost of redemption from sales or forfeitures or withdrawals or for use in the preparation of estimate of cost of purchase of forfeited property, or for use in preparation of order on the county collector for searches requested by buyers at annual tax sale, for each lot or tract, $4 for the first year searched, and $2 for each additional year or fraction thereof.
    For preparing from tax search report estimate of cost of redemption concerning property sold, forfeited or withdrawn for non-payment of general taxes and special assessments, if any, $1 for each lot or tract.
    For certificate of deposit for redemption, $4.
    For preparing from tax search report estimate of and order to county collector to receive amount necessary to redeem or purchase lands or lots forfeited for non-payment of general taxes, $3 for each lot or tract.
    For preparing from tax search report estimate of and order to county collector to receive amount necessary to redeem or purchase lands or lots forfeited for non-payment of special assessments, $4 for each lot or tract.
    For issuing certificate of sale of forfeited property, $10.
    For noting on collector's warrants tax sales subject to redemption, 20 for each tract or lot of land, to be paid by either the person making the redemption from tax sale, the person surrendering the certificate of sale for cancellation, or the person taking out tax deed.
    For noting on collector's warrant special assessments withdrawn from collection 20 for each tract or lot of land, to be charged against the lot assessed in the withdrawn special assessment when brought forward with current tax or when redeemed by the county clerk. The county clerk shall certify to the county collector the amount due from each city, village or taxing body for such fees, each year, and the county collector in his settlement with such taxing body shall reserve such amount from the amount payable by him to such taxing body.
    For taking and approving official bond of a town assessor, filing and recording same, and issuing certificate of election or qualification to such official or to the Secretary of State, $10, to be paid by the officer-elect.
    For certified copies of plats, 20 for each lot shown in copy, but no charge less than $4.
    For tax search and issuing Statement regarding same on new plats to be recorded, $10.
    For furnishing written description in conformity with permanent real estate index number, $2 for each written description.
    The following fees shall be allowed for services in matters of taxes and assessments, and shall be charged as costs against the delinquent property, and collected with the taxes thereon:
    For entering judgment, 8 for each tract or lot.
    For services in attending the tax sale and issuing certificates of sale and sealing the same, $10 for each tract or lot.
    For making list of delinquent lands and town lots sold, to be filed with the State Comptroller, 10 for each tract or lot sold.
    The following fees shall be audited and allowed by the board of county commissioners and paid from the county treasury.
    For computing State or county taxes, on each description of real estate and each person's, firm's or corporation's personal property tax, for each extension of each tax, 4, which shall include the transcribing of the collector's books.
    For computing, extending and bringing forward, and adding to the current tax, the amount due for general taxes on lands and lots previously forfeited to the State, for each extension of each tax, 4 for the first year, and for computing and extending the tax and penalty for each additional year, 6.
    For making duplicate or triplicate sets of books, containing transcripts of taxable property, for the board of assessors and board of review, 3 for each description entered in each book.
    For filing, indexing and recording or binding each birth, death or stillbirth certificate or report, 15, which fee shall be in full for all services in connection therewith, including the keeping of accounts with district registrars.
    For posting new subdivisions or plats in official atlases, 25 for each lot.
    For compiling new sheets for atlases, 20 for each lot.
    For compiling new atlases, including necessary record searches, 25 for each lot.
    For investigating and reporting on each new plat, referred to county clerk, $2.
    For attending sessions of the board of county commissioners thereof, $5 per day, for each clerk in attendance.
    For recording proceedings of the board of county commissioners, 15 per 100 words.
    For filing papers which must be kept in office of comptroller of Cook County, 10 for each paper filed.
    For filing and indexing contracts, bonds, communications, and other such papers which must be kept in office of comptroller of Cook County, 15 for each document.
    For swearing any person to necessary affidavits relating to the correctness of claims against the county, 25.
    For issuing warrants in payment of salaries, supplies and other accounts, and all necessary auditing and bookkeeping work in connection therewith, 10 each.
    The fee requirements of this Section do not apply to units of local government or school districts.
(Source: P.A. 97-4, eff. 5-31-11.)

55 ILCS 5/4-12004

    (55 ILCS 5/4-12004) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-12004)
    Sec. 4-12004. Payment of sheriff and recorder in advance. The sheriff and recorder shall, in all cases, be entitled to demand the payment of all fees for services in advance, so far as the same can be ascertained.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)

55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-13

 
    (55 ILCS 5/Div. 4-13 heading)
Division 4-13. Penalty for Violations.

55 ILCS 5/4-13001

    (55 ILCS 5/4-13001) (from Ch. 34, par. 4-13001)
    Sec. 4-13001. Penalty for violations. Any county officer herein above named, failing or refusing to pay over to the county treasurer the fees of the office, as provided in this Article, or who knowingly demands or receives other or greater fees than those provided by law, shall be deemed guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 86-962.)