Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
35 ILCS 200/21-230
(35 ILCS 200/21-230)
Record of sales and redemptions.
When any property is sold, the
county clerk shall enter on the Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption and Forfeiture
Record, in the blank columns provided for that purpose, the name of the
purchaser and the final bid. When any property is redeemed from sale, the
county clerk shall enter the name of the person redeeming, the redemption date
and the amount of redemption, in the proper column.
(Source: Laws 1965, p. 631; P.A. 88-455.)
35 ILCS 200/21-235
(35 ILCS 200/21-235)
Record of forfeitures.
All properties forfeited to the State at
the sale shall be noted on the Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption and Forfeiture
In counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, a list of all property
charged with delinquent special assessments and forfeited to the State at the
sale shall be returned to the collector of the levying municipality.
(Source: P.A. 76-2254; 88-455.)
35 ILCS 200/21-240
(35 ILCS 200/21-240)
Payment for property purchased at tax sale; reoffering for
sale. Except as otherwise provided below, the person purchasing any property,
or any part thereof, shall be liable to the county for the amount due and shall
forthwith pay to the county collector the amount charged on the property. Upon
failure to do so, the amount due shall be recoverable in a civil action brought
in the name of the People of the State of Illinois in any court of competent
jurisdiction. The person so purchasing shall be relieved of liability only by
payment of the amount due together with interest and costs thereon, or if the
property is reoffered at the sale, purchased and paid for. Reoffering of the
property for sale shall be at the discretion of the collector. The sale shall
not be closed until payment is made or the property again offered for sale. In
counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, only the taxes, special
assessments, interest and costs as advertised in the sale shall be required to
be paid forthwith. The general taxes charged on the land remaining due and
unpaid, including amounts subject to certificates of error, not included in the
advertisement, shall be paid by the purchaser within 10 days after the sale,
except that upon payment of the fee provided by law to the County Clerk (which
fee shall be deemed part of the costs of sale) the purchaser may make written
application, within the 10 day period, to the county clerk for a statement of
all taxes, interest and costs due and an estimate of the cost of redemption of
all forfeited general taxes, which were not included in the advertisement.
After obtaining such statement and estimate and an order on the county
collector to receive the amount of forfeited general taxes, if any, the
purchaser shall pay to the county collector all the remaining taxes, interest
and costs, and the amount necessary to redeem the forfeited general taxes. The
county collector shall issue the purchaser a receipt therefor. Any delay in
providing the statement or in accepting payment, and delivering receipt
therefor, shall not be counted as a part of the 10 days. When the receipt of
the collector is issued, a copy shall be filed with the county clerk and the
county clerk shall include the amount shown in such receipt in the amount of
the purchase price of the property in the certificate of purchase. The
purchaser then shall be entitled to a certificate of purchase. If a purchaser
fails to complete his or her purchase as provided in this Section, the purchase
shall become void, and be of no effect, but the collector shall not refund the
amount paid in cash at the time of the sale, except in cases of sale in error.
That amount shall be treated as a payment and distributed to the taxing bodies
as other collections are distributed. The lien for taxes for the amount paid
shall remain on the property, in favor of the purchaser, his or her heirs or
assigns, until paid with 5% interest per year on that amount from the date the
purchaser paid it. The amount and fact of such ineffective purchase shall be
entered in the tax judgment, sale, redemption and forfeiture record opposite
the property upon which the lien remains. No redemption shall be made without
payment of this amount for the benefit of the purchaser, and no future sale of
the property shall be made except subject to the lien of such purchaser. This
section shall not apply to any purchase by any city, village or incorporated
town in default of other bidders at any sale for delinquent special
(Source: P.A. 84-1308; 88-455.)
35 ILCS 200/21-245
(35 ILCS 200/21-245)
In all counties, each person purchasing any property at a sale under this Code shall pay to the county collector, prior to the issuance of any tax certificate, an automation fee set by the county collector of not more than $10 for each item purchased. A like sum shall be paid for each year that all or a portion of the subsequent taxes are paid by a tax purchaser and posted to the tax judgment, sale, redemption and forfeiture record where the underlying certificate is recorded. In counties with less than 3,000,000
(a) The fee shall be paid at the time of the purchase
if the record keeping system used for processing the delinquent property tax sales is automated or has been approved for automation by the county board. The fee shall be collected in the same manner as other fees or costs.
(b) Fees collected under this Section shall be
retained by the county treasurer in a fund designated as the Tax Sale Automation Fund. The fund shall be audited by the county auditor. The county board, with the approval of the county treasurer, shall make expenditures from the fund (1) to pay any costs related to the automation of property tax collections and delinquent property tax sales, including the cost of hardware, software, research and development, and personnel and (2) to defray the cost of providing electronic access to property tax collection records and delinquent tax sale records.
(Source: P.A. 100-1070, eff. 1-1-19; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)
35 ILCS 200/21-250
(35 ILCS 200/21-250)
Certificate of purchase.
The county clerk shall make out and
deliver to the purchaser of any property sold under Section 21-205, a
certificate of purchase countersigned by the collector, describing the property
sold, the date of sale, the amount of taxes, special assessments, interest and
cost for which they were sold and that payment of the sale price has been made.
If any person becomes the purchaser of more than one property owned by one
party or person, the purchaser may have the whole or one or more of them
included in one certificate, but separate certificates shall be issued in all
other cases. A certificate of purchase shall be assignable by endorsement. An
assignment shall vest in the assignee or his or her legal representatives, all
the right and title of the original purchaser.
If the tax certificate is lost or destroyed, the county clerk
shall issue a duplicate certificate upon written request and a sworn affidavit
by the tax sale purchaser, or his or her assignee, that the tax certificate is
lost or destroyed.
The county clerk shall cause a notation to be made
in the tax sale and judgment book that a duplicate certificate has been issued,
and redemption payments shall be made only to the holder of the duplicate
(Source: P.A. 88-455; 89-617, eff. 9-1-96.)
35 ILCS 200/21-251
(35 ILCS 200/21-251)
Registry of owners of certificates of purchase.
(a) The county clerk of each county shall create and maintain a registry
system that permanently records the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of
owners or assignees of certificates of purchase issued pursuant to any tax sale
conducted under this Code. The registry may consist of a single record or a
combination of records maintained in paper or electronic form and may include
copies of records kept by the county treasurer for other purposes, all to be
used as the county clerk deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this
Section. The information in the registry shall be made available to the public.
(b) The county clerk of each county is authorized to promulgate reasonable
rules, procedures, and forms for purposes of creating and maintaining the
registry and for access to the registry information by members of the public.
In counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, any owner of a certificate of
purchase pursuant to assignment may elect whether to register that assignment
as provided in this Section, but all owners of certificates of purchase shall
be subject to the provisions of subsection (d) of this Section. In counties
with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants, the county clerk shall provide by rule
whether registration of assignments of certificates of purchase shall be
elective or mandatory.
(c) The owner of a certificate of purchase pursuant to assignment, in order
to register that assignment, shall submit to the county clerk the owner's name,
address, and telephone number in accordance with any rules, procedures, and
forms promulgated by the clerk. Any registered owner of a certificate of
purchase may update the registration at any time without charge by submitting
to the county clerk any lawful change of name, address, or telephone number.
(d) If notice is required to be given to the owner of the certificate of
purchase in any proceeding, whether judicial or administrative, affecting a tax
sale conducted under any provision of this Code, the notice may be directed to
the most recent owner of the certificate of purchase appearing in the county
clerk's registry under this Section. Any notice that has been directed as
provided in this Section shall be conclusively presumed to be properly directed
to the owner of the certificate of purchase for all purposes related to the
proceeding in which the notice is given. No objection or assertion by any
assignee of a certificate of purchase in any proceeding shall be heard on
grounds that a notice to the tax purchaser was misdirected, unless that
assignee's current and lawful name, address, and telephone number were
submitted to the county clerk's registry at the time of the notice in question.
(e) The county clerk may assess an automation fee of no more than $10 to be
paid by the owner of the certificate of purchase for each assignment of the
certificate that is registered under this Section. The fee shall be collected
in the same manner as other fees and costs and shall be held by the county
clerk in a fund for purposes of automating his or her office. The fee provided
for under this Section shall not be chargeable to the cost of redemption under
Section 21-355 nor shall it be posted under Section 21-360 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 92-729, eff. 7-25-02.)
35 ILCS 200/21-252
(35 ILCS 200/21-252)
Index of tax sale records.
The county clerk may make an index
of tax-sale records. The index shall be kept in the county clerk's office as a
public record, open to inspection during office hours.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)
35 ILCS 200/21-255
(35 ILCS 200/21-255)
County clerk's books and records - Prima facie evidence.
books and records of the county clerk, or copies thereof, certified by the
clerk, shall be prima facie evidence to prove the sale of any property for
taxes or special assessments, the redemption of the property, or payment of
taxes or special assessments thereon.
(Source: Laws 1939, p. 886; P.A. 88-455.)
35 ILCS 200/Art. 21 Div. 5
(35 ILCS 200/Art. 21 Div. 5 heading)
Scavenger sales; procedures
35 ILCS 200/21-260
(35 ILCS 200/21-260)
Collector's scavenger sale.
Upon the county collector's
application under Section 21-145, to be known as the Scavenger Sale
Application, the Court shall enter judgment for the general taxes, special
taxes, special assessments, interest, penalties and costs as are included in
the advertisement and appear to be due thereon after allowing an opportunity to
object and a hearing upon the objections as provided in Section 21-175, and
order those properties sold by the County Collector at public sale to the
highest bidder for cash, notwithstanding the bid may be less than the full
amount of taxes, special taxes, special assessments, interest, penalties and
costs for which judgment has been entered.
(a) Conducting the sale - Bidding. All properties shall be offered for
sale in consecutive order as they appear in the delinquent list. The minimum
bid for any property shall be $250 or one-half of the tax if the total
liability is less than $500. The successful bidder shall immediately pay the
amount of minimum bid to the County Collector in cash, by certified or
cashier's check, by money order, or, if the
successful bidder is a governmental unit, by a check issued by that
governmental unit. If the bid exceeds the minimum bid, the
successful bidder shall pay the balance of the bid to the county collector in
cash, by certified or cashier's check, by money order, or, if the
successful bidder is a governmental unit, by a check issued by that
by the close of the
next business day. If the minimum bid is not paid at the time of sale or if
the balance is not paid by the close of the next business day, then the sale is
void and the minimum bid, if paid, is forfeited to the county general fund. In
that event, the property shall be reoffered for sale within 30 days of the last
offering of property in regular order. The collector shall make available to
the public a list of all properties to be included in any reoffering due to the
voiding of the original sale. The collector is not required to serve or
publish any other notice of the reoffering of those properties. In the event
that any of the properties are not sold upon reoffering, or are sold for less
than the amount of the original voided sale, the original bidder who failed to
pay the bid amount shall remain liable for the unpaid balance of the bid in an
action under Section 21-240. Liability shall not be reduced where the bidder
upon reoffering also fails to pay the bid amount, and in that event both
bidders shall remain liable for the unpaid balance of their respective bids. A
sale of properties under this Section shall not be final until confirmed by the
(b) Confirmation of sales. The county collector shall file his or her
report of sale in the court within 30 days of the date of sale of each
property. No notice of the county collector's application to confirm the sales
shall be required except as prescribed by rule of the court. Upon
confirmation, except in cases where the sale becomes void under Section 22-85,
or in cases where the order of confirmation is vacated by the court, a sale
under this Section shall extinguish the in rem lien of the general taxes,
special taxes and special assessments for which judgment has been entered and a
redemption shall not revive the lien. Confirmation of the sale shall in no
event affect the owner's personal liability to pay the taxes, interest and
penalties as provided in this Code or prevent institution of a proceeding under
Section 21-440 to collect any amount that may remain
due after the sale.
(c) Issuance of tax sale certificates. Upon confirmation of the sale the
County Clerk and the County Collector shall issue to the purchaser a
certificate of purchase in the form prescribed by Section 21-250 as near as may
be. A certificate of purchase shall not be issued to any person who is
ineligible to bid at the sale or to receive a certificate of purchase under
(d) Scavenger Tax Judgment, Sale and Redemption Record - Sale of
parcels not sold. The county collector shall prepare a Scavenger Tax Judgment,
Sale and Redemption Record. The county clerk shall write or stamp on the
scavenger tax judgment, sale, forfeiture and redemption record opposite the
description of any property offered for sale and not sold, or not confirmed for
any reason, the words "offered but not sold". The properties which are offered
for sale under this Section and not sold or not confirmed shall be offered for
sale annually thereafter in the manner provided in this Section until sold,
except in the case of mineral rights, which after 10 consecutive years of
being offered for sale under this Section and not sold or confirmed shall
no longer be required to be offered for sale. At
any time between annual sales the County Collector may advertise for sale any
properties subject to sale under judgments for sale previously entered under
this Section and not executed for any reason. The advertisement and sale shall
be regulated by the provisions of this Code as far as applicable.
(e) Proceeding to tax deed. The owner of the certificate of purchase shall
give notice as required by Sections 22-5 through 22-30, and may extend the
period of redemption as provided by Section 21-385. At any time within 6 months
prior to expiration of the period of redemption from a sale under this Code,
the owner of a certificate of purchase may file a petition and may obtain a tax
deed under Sections 22-30 through 22-55. All proceedings for the issuance of
a tax deed and all tax deeds for properties sold under this Section shall be
subject to Sections 22-30 through 22-55. Deeds issued under this Section are
subject to Section 22-70. This Section shall be liberally construed so that the deeds provided for in this Section convey merchantable title.
(f) Redemptions from scavenger sales. Redemptions may be made from sales
under this Section in the same manner and upon the same terms and conditions as
redemptions from sales made under the County Collector's annual application for
judgment and order of sale, except that in lieu of penalty the person redeeming
shall pay interest as follows if the sale occurs before September 9, 1993:
(1) If redeemed within the first 2 months from the
date of the sale, 3% per month or portion thereof upon the amount for which the property was sold;
(2) If redeemed between 2 and 6 months from the date
of the sale, 12% of the amount for which the property was sold;
(3) If redeemed between 6 and 12 months from the date
of the sale, 24% of the amount for which the property was sold;
(4) If redeemed between 12 and 18 months from the
date of the sale, 36% of the amount for which the property was sold;
(5) If redeemed between 18 and 24 months from the
date of the sale, 48% of the amount for which the property was sold;
(6) If redeemed after 24 months from the date of
sale, the 48% herein provided together with interest at 6% per year thereafter.
If the sale occurs on or after September 9,
1993, the person redeeming shall pay interest on that part of the amount for
which the property was sold equal to or less than the full amount of delinquent
taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs, included in the
judgment and order of sale as follows:
(1) If redeemed within the first 2 months from the
date of the sale, 3% per month upon the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due for each of the first 2 months, or fraction thereof.
(2) If redeemed at any time between 2 and 6 months
from the date of the sale, 12% of the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due.
(3) If redeemed at any time between 6 and 12 months
from the date of the sale, 24% of the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due.
(4) If redeemed at any time between 12 and 18 months
from the date of the sale, 36% of the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due.
(5) If redeemed at any time between 18 and 24 months
from the date of the sale, 48% of the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due.
(6) If redeemed after 24 months from the date of
sale, the 48% provided for the 24 months together with interest at 6% per annum thereafter on the amount of taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due.
The person redeeming shall not be required to pay any interest on any part
of the amount for which the property was sold that exceeds the full amount of
delinquent taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs included
in the judgment and order of sale.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, except for
owner-occupied single family residential units which are condominium units,
cooperative units or dwellings, the amount required to be paid for redemption
shall also include an amount equal to all delinquent taxes on the property
which taxes were delinquent at the time of sale. The delinquent taxes shall be
apportioned by the county collector among the taxing districts in which the
property is situated in accordance with law. In the event that all moneys
received from any sale held under this Section exceed an amount equal to all
delinquent taxes on the property sold, which taxes were delinquent at the time
of sale, together with all publication and other costs associated with the
sale, then, upon redemption, the County Collector and the County Clerk shall
apply the excess amount to the cost of redemption.
(g) Bidding by county or other taxing districts. Any taxing district may
bid at a scavenger sale. The county board of the county in which properties
offered for sale under this Section are located may bid as trustee for all
taxing districts having an interest in the taxes for the nonpayment of which
the parcels are offered. The County shall apply on the bid the unpaid taxes due
upon the property and no cash need be paid. The County or other taxing district
acquiring a tax sale certificate shall take all steps necessary to acquire
title to the property and may manage and operate the property so acquired.
When a county, or other taxing district within the county, is a petitioner
for a tax deed, no filing fee shall be required on the petition. The county as
a tax creditor and as trustee for other tax creditors, or other taxing district
within the county shall not be required to allege and prove that all taxes and
special assessments which become due and payable after the sale to the county
have been paid. The county shall not be required to pay the subsequently
accruing taxes or special assessments at any time. Upon the written request of
the county board or its designee, the county collector shall not offer the
property for sale at any tax sale subsequent to the sale of the property to the
county under this Section. The lien of taxes and special assessments which
become due and payable after a sale to a county shall merge in the fee title of
the county, or other taxing district, on the issuance of a deed. The County may
sell the properties so acquired, or the certificate of purchase thereto, and
the proceeds of the sale shall be distributed to the taxing districts in
proportion to their respective interests therein. The presiding officer of the
county board, with the advice and consent of the County Board, may appoint some
officer or person to attend scavenger sales and bid on its behalf.
(h) Miscellaneous provisions. In the event that the tract of land or lot
sold at any such sale is not redeemed within the time permitted by law and a
tax deed is issued, all moneys that may be received from the sale of
properties in excess of the delinquent taxes, together with all publication
and other costs associated with the sale,
shall, upon petition of any interested party to the court that issued the tax
deed, be distributed by the County Collector pursuant to order of the court
among the persons having legal or equitable interests in the property according
to the fair value of their interests in the tract or lot. Section 21-415 does
not apply to properties sold under this Section.
Appeals may be taken from the orders and judgments entered under this Section
as in other civil cases. The remedy herein provided is in addition to other
remedies for the collection of delinquent taxes.
(i) The changes to this Section made by this amendatory Act of
the 95th General Assembly apply only to matters in which a
petition for tax deed is filed on or after the effective date
of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 95-477, eff. 6-1-08
35 ILCS 200/21-265
(35 ILCS 200/21-265)
Scavenger sale; persons ineligible to bid or purchase.
No person, except a unit of local government, shall be eligible to bid
or receive a certificate of purchase at any sale under Section 21-260 unless
that person has completed and delivered to the county clerk a true, accurate
and complete application for certificate of purchase which shall affirm that:
(1) the person has not bid upon or applied to
purchase any property at the sale for a person who is the party or agent of the party who owns the property or is responsible for the payment of the delinquent taxes;
(2) the person is not, nor is he or she the agent
for, the owner or party responsible for payment of the general taxes on any property which is located in the same county in which the sale is held and which is tax delinquent or forfeited for all or any part of each of 2 or more years, excepting any year for which a certificate of error issued under Sections 14-15, 14-20, and 14-25 is pending for adjudication; and
(3) the person, although otherwise eligible to bid,
has not either directly or through an agent twice during the same sale failed to complete a purchase by the immediate payment of the minimum bid or the payment of the balance of a bid within the time provided by Section 21-260.
(Source: P.A. 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)
35 ILCS 200/21-270
(35 ILCS 200/21-270)
Scavenger sale registration.
No person, except a unit of local
government, shall be eligible to bid or to receive a certificate of purchase
who did not register with the county collector at least 5 business days in
advance of the first day of the sale under Section 21-260. The collector may
charge, for each registration, a fee of not more than $50 in counties with less
than 3,000,000 inhabitants and not more than $100 in counties of 3,000,000 or
more inhabitants. Registration shall be made upon such forms and according to
such regulations as the county collector deems necessary in order to effect
complete and accurate disclosure of the identity of all persons beneficially
interested, directly or indirectly, in each sale under Section 21-260. The
information to be disclosed shall include, but not be limited to, the name,
address and telephone number of the purchaser to whom the clerk and collector
will be requested to issue a certificate of purchase; if the purchaser is a
corporation, the place of incorporation and the names and addresses of its
shareholders unless the corporation is publicly held; if the purchaser is a
partnership, the names and addresses of all general and limited partners; if
the purchaser is doing business under an assumed business name, the county
where such name is registered and the names, addresses and telephone numbers of
all persons having an ownership interest in the business; and the identity and
location of any other tax delinquent property owned by the bidder and
Every application for certificate of purchase and form for registration
authorized and required by this Section and Section 21-275 shall be executed
under penalty of perjury as though under oath or affirmation, but no
acknowledgement is required.
(Source: P.A. 86-949; 87-669; 88-455.)