Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

REVENUE
(35 ILCS 200/) Property Tax Code.

35 ILCS 200/Art. 9 Div. 5

 
    (35 ILCS 200/Art. 9 Div. 5 heading)
Division 5. Omitted property

35 ILCS 200/9-260

    (35 ILCS 200/9-260)
    Sec. 9-260. Assessment of omitted property; counties of 3,000,000 or more.
    (a) After signing the affidavit, the county assessor shall have power, when directed by the board of appeals (until the first Monday in December 1998 and the board of review beginning the first Monday in December 1998 and thereafter), or on his or her own initiative, subject to the limitations of Sections 9-265 and 9-270, to assess properties which may have been omitted from assessments for the current year and not more than 3 years prior to the current year for which the property was liable to be taxed, and for which the tax has not been paid, but only on notice and an opportunity to be heard in the manner and form required by law, and shall enter the assessments upon the assessment books. Any notice shall include (i) a request that a person receiving the notice who is not the current taxpayer contact the office of the county assessor and explain that the person is not the current taxpayer, which contact may be made on the telephone, in writing, or in person upon receipt of the notice, and (ii) the name, address, and telephone number of the appropriate personnel in the office of the county assessor to whom the response should be made. Any time period for the review of an omitted assessment included in the notice shall be consistent with the time period established by the assessor in accordance with subsection (a) of Section 12-55. No charge for tax of previous years shall be made against any property if (1) the assessor failed to notify the board of review of the omitted assessment in accordance with subsection (a-1) of this Section; (2) the property was last assessed as unimproved, the owner of such property gave notice of subsequent improvements and requested a reassessment as required by Section 9-180, and reassessment of the property was not made within the 16 month period immediately following the receipt of that notice; (3) the owner of the property gave notice as required by Section 9-265; (4) the assessor received a building permit for the property evidencing that new construction had occurred or was occurring on the property but failed to list the improvement on the tax rolls; (5) the assessor received a plat map, plat of survey, ALTA survey, mortgage survey, or other similar document containing the omitted property but failed to list the improvement on the tax rolls; (6) the assessor received a real estate transfer declaration indicating a sale from an exempt property owner to a non-exempt property owner but failed to list the property on the tax rolls; or (7) the property was the subject of an assessment appeal before the assessor or the board of review that had included the intended omitted property as part of the assessment appeal and provided evidence of its market value.
    (a-1) After providing notice and an opportunity to be heard as required by subsection (a) of this Section, the assessor shall render a decision on the omitted assessment, whether or not the omitted assessment was contested, and shall mail a notice of the decision to the taxpayer of record or to the party that contested the omitted assessment. The notice of decision shall contain a statement that the decision may be appealed to the board of review. The decision and all evidence used in the decision shall be transmitted by the assessor to the board of review on or before the dates specified in accordance with Section 16-110.
    (b) Any taxes based on the omitted assessment of a property pursuant to Sections 9-260 through 9-270 and Sections 16-135 and 16-140 shall be prepared and mailed at the same time as the estimated first installment property tax bill for the preceding year (as described in Section 21-30) is prepared and mailed. The omitted assessment tax bill is not due until the date on which the second installment property tax bill for the preceding year becomes due. The omitted assessment tax bill shall be deemed delinquent and shall bear interest beginning on the day after the due date of the second installment (as described in Section 21-25). Any taxes for omitted assessments deemed delinquent after the due date of the second installment tax bill shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month or portion thereof until paid or forfeited (as described in Section 21-25).
    (c) The assessor shall have no power to change the assessment or alter the assessment books in any other manner or for any other purpose so as to change or affect the taxes in that year, except as ordered by the board of appeals (until the first Monday in December 1998 and the board of review beginning the first Monday in December 1998 and thereafter). The county assessor shall make all changes and corrections ordered by the board of appeals (until the first Monday in December 1998 and the board of review beginning the first Monday in December 1998 and thereafter). The county assessor may for the purpose of revision by the board of appeals (until the first Monday in December 1998 and the board of review beginning the first Monday in December 1998 and thereafter) certify the assessment books for any town or taxing district after or when such books are completed.
(Source: P.A. 96-1553, eff. 3-10-11.)

35 ILCS 200/9-265

    (35 ILCS 200/9-265)
    Sec. 9-265. Omitted property; interest; change in exempt use or ownership.
    (a) If any property is omitted in the assessment of any year or years, not to exceed the current assessment year and 3 prior years, so that the taxes, for which the property was liable, have not been paid, or if by reason of defective description or assessment, taxes on any property for any year or years have not been paid, or if any taxes are refunded under subsection (b) of Section 14-5 because the taxes were assessed in the wrong person's name, the property, when discovered, shall be listed and assessed by the board of review or, in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, by the county assessor either on his or her own initiative or when so directed by the board of appeals or board of review.
    (b) The board of review in counties with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants or the county assessor in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants may develop reasonable procedures for contesting the listing of omitted property under this Division.
    (c) For purposes of this Section, "defective description or assessment" includes a description or assessment which omits all the improvements thereon as a result of which part of the taxes on the total value of the property as improved remain unpaid. In the case of property subject to assessment by the Department, the property shall be listed and assessed by the Department. All such property shall be placed on the assessment and tax books.
    (d) The arrearages of taxes which might have been assessed, with 10% interest thereon for each year or portion thereof from 2 years after the time the first correct tax bill ought to have been received, shall be charged against the property by the county clerk.
    (e) When property or acreage omitted by either incorrect survey or other ministerial assessor error is discovered and the owner has paid its tax bills as received for the year or years of omission of the parcel, then the interest authorized by this Section shall not be chargeable to the owner. However, nothing in this Section shall prevent the collection of the principal amount of back taxes due and owing.
    (f) If any property listed as exempt by the chief county assessment officer has a change in use, a change in leasehold estate, or a change in titleholder of record by purchase, grant, taking or transfer, it shall be the obligation of the transferee to notify the chief county assessment officer in writing within 90 days of the change. If mailed, the notice shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include the name and address of the taxpayer, the legal description of the property, and the property index number of the property when an index number exists. If notice is provided in person, it shall be provided on a form prescribed by the chief county assessment officer, and the chief county assessment officer shall provide a date stamped copy of the notice. Except as provided in item (6) of subsection (a) of Section 9-260, item (6) of Section 16-135, and item (6) of Section 16-140 of this Code, if the failure to give the notification results in the assessing official continuing to list the property as exempt in subsequent years, the property shall be considered omitted property for purposes of this Code.
    (g) In counties with fewer than 3,000,000 inhabitants, if a chief county assessment officer discovers at any time before judgment that a property has been granted a homestead exemption under Article 15 of this Code to which it was not entitled, the chief county assessment officer may consider the erroneously exempt portion of the property as omitted property under this Section for that taxable year only.
(Source: P.A. 98-615, eff. 6-1-14.)