Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

VEHICLES
(625 ILCS 5/) Illinois Vehicle Code.

625 ILCS 5/3-691

    (625 ILCS 5/3-691)
    Sec. 3-691. Illinois Fraternal Order of Police license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Illinois Fraternal Order of Police license plates to residents of Illinois who are members in good standing of the Fraternal Order of Police-Illinois State Lodge and meet other eligibility requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds, and recreational vehicles, as defined by Section 1-169 of this Code. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary, except that the Illinois Fraternal Order of Police emblem shall appear on the plates. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code. The plates are not required to designate "Land of Lincoln" as prescribed in subsection (b) of Section 3-412 of this Code. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Fraternal Order of Police Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Fraternal Order of Police Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Fraternal Order of Police Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Fraternal Order of Police Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Illinois Fraternal Order of Police to increase the efficiency and professionalism of law enforcement officers in Illinois, to educate the public about law enforcement issues, to more firmly establish the public confidence in law enforcement, to create partnerships with the public, and to honor the service of law enforcement officers dedicated to the protection of life and property.
(Source: P.A. 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 98-275, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-692

    (625 ILCS 5/3-692)
    Sec. 3-692. Soil and Water Conservation District Plates.
    (a) In addition to any other special license plate, the Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue Soil and Water Conservation District license plates. The special Soil and Water Conservation District plate issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the staggered multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design, color, and format of the plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, must accompany each application. The Secretary, in his or her discretion, shall approve and prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Soil and Water Conservation District Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs. For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Soil and Water Conservation District Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Soil and Water Conservation District Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Soil and Water Conservation District Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to Illinois soil and water conservation districts for projects that conserve and restore soil and water in Illinois. All interest earned on moneys in the Fund shall be deposited into the Fund. The Fund shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks, such as but not limited to those authorized under Section 8h of the State Finance Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1377, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-409, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-693

    (625 ILCS 5/3-693)
    Sec. 3-693. Women Veteran license plates.
    (a) In addition to any other special license plate, the Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue Women Veteran license plates to residents of Illinois who meet eligibility requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State. The special Women Veteran plate issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division, motorcycles, and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the staggered multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design, color, and format of the plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe the eligibility requirements and, in his or her discretion, shall approve and prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412.
    (c) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 96-1408, eff. 7-30-10; 97-306, eff. 1-1-12; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)

625 ILCS 5/3-694

    (625 ILCS 5/3-694)
    Sec. 3-694. 4-H license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as 4-H license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany the application. The Secretary, in his or her discretion, may allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the 4-H Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $12 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the 4-H Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The 4-H Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the 4-H Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary of State, as grants to the Illinois 4-H Foundation, a tax exempt entity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, for the funding of 4-H programs in Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 96-1449, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-409, eff. 1-1-12; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-695

    (625 ILCS 5/3-695)
    Sec. 3-695. Ducks Unlimited license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Ducks Unlimited license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Ducks Unlimited Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Ducks Unlimited Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Ducks Unlimited Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Ducks Unlimited Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to Ducks Unlimited, Inc., a tax exempt entity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, to fund wetland protection, enhancement, and restoration projects in the State of Illinois, to fund education and outreach for media, volunteers, members, and the general public regarding waterfowl and wetlands conservation in the State of Illinois, and to cover the reasonable cost for Ducks Unlimited special plate advertising and administration of the wetland conservation projects and education program.
(Source: P.A. 96-1449, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11; 97-409, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-696

    (625 ILCS 5/3-696)
    Sec. 3-696. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 97-813, eff. 7-13-12. Repealed by P.A. 97-914, eff. 1-1-13.)

625 ILCS 5/3-697

    (625 ILCS 5/3-697)
    Sec. 3-697. Chicago Police Memorial Foundation license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Chicago Police Memorial Foundation license plates to active or retired law enforcement officers and their family members, surviving family members of deceased law enforcement officers, and members of or donors to the Chicago Police Memorial Foundation.
    The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds.
    Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Chicago Police Memorial Foundation Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Chicago Police Memorial Foundation Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Chicago Police Memorial Foundation Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Chicago Police Memorial Foundation Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and approval by the Secretary, as grants to the Chicago Police Memorial Foundation for maintenance of a memorial and park, holding an annual memorial commemoration, giving scholarships to children of police officers killed or catastrophically injured in the line of duty, providing financial assistance to police officers and their families when a police officer is killed or injured in the line of duty, and paying the insurance premiums for police officers who are terminally ill.
(Source: P.A. 96-1547, eff. 3-10-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-698

    (625 ILCS 5/3-698)
    Sec. 3-698. U.S. Air Force License Plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue special registration plates designated as U.S. Air Force license plates to residents of Illinois who meet eligibility requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State. The special plate issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division, motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds, and recreational vehicles as defined by Section 1-169 of this Code. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design, color, and format of the plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State, except that the U.S. Air Force emblem shall appear on the plates. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The plates are not required to designate "Land Of Lincoln", as prescribed in subsection (b) of Section 3-412 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe the eligibility requirements and, in his or her discretion, shall approve and prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412.
    (c) An applicant shall be charged a $20 fee for original issuance in addition to the applicable registration fee. Of this additional fee, $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and $5 shall be deposited into the Octave Chanute Aerospace Heritage Fund. For each registration renewal period, a $20 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this additional fee, $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and $18 shall be deposited into the Octave Chanute Aerospace Heritage Fund.
    (d) The Octave Chanute Aerospace Heritage Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Octave Chanute Aerospace Heritage Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and approval by the Secretary, as grants to the Octave Chanute Aerospace Heritage Foundation of Illinois for operational and program expenses of the Chanute Air Museum.
(Source: P.A. 97-243, eff. 8-4-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699)
    Sec. 3-699. National Wild Turkey Federation license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as National Wild Turkey Federation license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the National Wild Turkey Federation Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the National Wild Turkey Federation Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The National Wild Turkey Federation Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the National Wild Turkey Federation Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to National Wild Turkey Federation, Inc., a tax exempt entity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, to fund turkey habitat protection, enhancement, and restoration projects in the State of Illinois, to fund education and outreach for media, volunteers, members, and the general public regarding turkeys and turkey habitat conservation in the State of Illinois, and to cover the reasonable cost for National Wild Turkey Federation special plate advertising and administration of the conservation projects and education program.
(Source: P.A. 98-66, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.1)
    Sec. 3-699.1. Curing Childhood Cancer Plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Curing Childhood Cancer license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $65 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $50 shall be deposited into the Curing Childhood Cancer Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs. For each registration renewal period, a $52 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $50 shall be deposited into the Curing Childhood Cancer Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Curing Childhood Cancer Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Curing Childhood Cancer Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, in equal share as grants to the St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and the Children's Oncology Group for the purpose of funding scientific research on cancer.
(Source: P.A. 98-66, eff. 1-1-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.2)
    Sec. 3-699.2. Diabetes Awareness license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Diabetes Awareness license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. The Secretary, in his or her discretion, may allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Diabetes Research Checkoff Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Diabetes Research Checkoff Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-96, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.3

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.3)
    Sec. 3-699.3. Illinois Nurses license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Illinois Nurses license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $35 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $20 shall be deposited into the Illinois Nurses Foundation Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $22 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $20 shall be deposited into the Illinois Nurses Foundation Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Illinois Nurses Foundation Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Illinois Nurses Foundation Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Illinois Nurses Foundation, to promote the health of the public by advancing the nursing profession in this State.
(Source: P.A. 98-150, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.4

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.4)
    Sec. 3-699.4. American Red Cross license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as American Red Cross license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be within the discretion of the Secretary, but shall include the American Red Cross official logo. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the American Red Cross Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs. For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the American Red Cross Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The American Red Cross Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the American Red Cross Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the American Red Cross or to charitable entities designated by the American Red Cross.
(Source: P.A. 98-151, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.5

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.5)
    Sec. 3-699.5. Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Illinois Police Benevolent and Protective Association for the purposes of providing death benefits for the families of police officers killed in the line of duty, providing scholarships for undergraduate study to children and spouses of police officers killed in the line of duty, and educating the public and police officers regarding policing and public safety.
(Source: P.A. 98-233, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.6

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.6)
    Sec. 3-699.6. Alzheimer's Awareness license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Alzheimer's Awareness license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Alzheimer's Awareness Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Alzheimer's Awareness Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Alzheimer's Awareness Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Alzheimer's Awareness Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association, Greater Illinois Chapter, for Alzheimer's care, support, education, and awareness programs.
(Source: P.A. 98-259, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.7

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.7)
    Sec. 3-699.7. Prince Hall Freemasonry plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Prince Hall Freemasonry license plates.
    The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds.
    Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Master Mason Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Master Mason Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-300, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.8

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.8)
    Sec. 3-699.8. Illinois Police K-9 Memorial Plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Illinois Police K-9 Memorial license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the applicable registration fee. Of this additional fee, $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and $25 shall be deposited into the Illinois Police K-9 Memorial Fund. For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this additional fee, $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and $25 shall be deposited into the Illinois Police K-9 Memorial Fund.
    (d) The Illinois Police K-9 Memorial Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Illinois Police K-9 Memorial Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Northern Illinois Police K-9 Memorial for the creation, operation, and maintenance of a police K-9 memorial monument.
(Source: P.A. 98-360, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.9

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.9)
    Sec. 3-699.9. Public Safety Diver license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue special registration plates designated to be Public Safety Diver license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division, motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds, and recreational vehicles as defined by Section 1-169 of this Code. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany the application. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant shall be charged a $45 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee, if applicable. Of this fee, $30 shall be deposited into the Public Safety Diver Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Public Safety Diver Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Public Safety Diver Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Public Safety Diver Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, to the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board for the purposes of providing grants based on need for training, standards, and equipment to public safety disciplines within the State and to units of local government involved in public safety diving and water rescue services.
    (e) The Public Safety Diver Advisory Committee shall recommend grant rewards with the intent of achieving reasonably equitable distribution of funds between police, firefighting, and public safety diving services making application for grants under this Section.
    (f) The administrative costs related to management of grants made from the Public Safety Diver Fund shall be paid from the Public Safety Diver Fund to the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board.
(Source: P.A. 98-376, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.10

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.10)
    Sec. 3-699.10. The H Foundation - Committed to a Cure for Cancer plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as The H Foundation - Committed to a Cure for Cancer license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the Secretary, shall accompany each application.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Committed to a Cure Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs. For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Committed to a Cure Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Committed to a Cure Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Committed to a Cure Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University for the purpose of funding scientific research on cancer.
(Source: P.A. 98-382, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.11

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.11)
    Sec. 3-699.11. Retired Law Enforcement license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration plates designated as Retired Law Enforcement license plates to residents of Illinois who meet eligibility requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division and motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates is wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or personalized under Section 3-405.1 of the Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Illinois Sheriffs' Association Scholarship and Training Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
    For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Illinois Sheriffs' Association Scholarship and Training Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Illinois Sheriffs' Association Scholarship and Training Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All money in the Illinois Sheriffs' Association Scholarship and Training Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Illinois Sheriffs' Association, for scholarships obtained in a competitive process to attend the Illinois Teen Institute or an accredited college or university, for programs designed to benefit the elderly and teens, and for law enforcement training.
(Source: P.A. 98-395, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.12

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.12)
    Sec. 3-699.12. Legion of Merit plates. The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue special registration plates designated as Legion of Merit license plates to recipients awarded the Legion of Merit by a branch of the armed forces of the United States who reside in Illinois. The special plates issued pursuant to this Section should be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the 1st division, including motorcycles, or motor vehicles of the 2nd division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary of State must make a version of the special registration plates authorized under this Section in a form appropriate for motorcycles.
    The design and color of such plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. No registration fee, including the fees established under Section 3-806 of this Code, shall be charged for the issuance or renewal of any plates issued under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-406, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

625 ILCS 5/3-699.13

    (625 ILCS 5/3-699.13)
    Sec. 3-699.13. Illinois State Police Memorial Park license plates.
    (a) The Secretary, upon receipt of an application made in the form prescribed by the Secretary of State, may issue special registration plates designated as Illinois State Police Memorial Park license plates to active or retired law enforcement officers or their family members, surviving family members of deceased law enforcement officers, and members of or donors to the Illinois State Police Heritage Foundation. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to passenger vehicles of the first division, motorcycles over 150cc, or motor vehicles of the second division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
    (b) The design and color of the plates shall be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary of State. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
    (c) An applicant shall be charged a $25 fee for original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee, if applicable. Of this fee, $10 shall be deposited into the Illinois State Police Memorial Park Fund and $15 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be deposited into the Illinois State Police Memorial Park Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
    (d) The Illinois State Police Memorial Park Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. All moneys in the Illinois State Police Memorial Park Fund shall be paid, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to the Illinois State Police Heritage Foundation, Inc. for building and maintaining a memorial and park, holding an annual memorial commemoration, giving scholarships to children of State police officers killed or catastrophically injured in the line of duty, and providing financial assistance to police officers and their families when a police officer is killed or injured in the line of duty.
(Source: P.A. 98-469, eff. 8-16-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14; 98-945, eff. 8-15-14.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. VII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. VII heading)
ARTICLE VII. OFFENSES AGAINST REGISTRATION AND CERTIFICATE OF TITLE LAWS OR
REVOCATION OF REGISTRATION OR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

625 ILCS 5/3-701

    (625 ILCS 5/3-701) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-701)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 92-680)
    Sec. 3-701. Operation of vehicles without evidence of registration - Operation under mileage plates when odometer broken or disconnected. No person shall operate, nor shall an owner knowingly permit to be operated, upon any highway unless there shall be attached thereto and displayed thereon when and as required by law, proper evidence of registration in Illinois, as follows:
        (1) A vehicle required to be registered in Illinois.
    
A current and valid Illinois registration sticker or stickers and plate or plates, or an Illinois temporary registration permit, or a drive-away or in-transit permit, issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or
        (2) A vehicle eligible for Reciprocity. A current and
    
valid reciprocal foreign registration plate or plates properly issued to such vehicle or a temporary registration issued therefor, by the reciprocal State, and, in addition, when required by the Secretary, a current and valid Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Prorate Decal issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or except as otherwise expressly provided for in this Chapter.
    No person shall operate, nor shall any owner knowingly permit to be operated, any vehicle of the second division for which the owner has made an election to pay the mileage tax in lieu of the annual flat weight tax, at any time when the odometer of such vehicle is broken or disconnected, or is inoperable or not operating.
(Source: P.A. 92-680, eff. 7-16-02.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-971)
    Sec. 3-701. Operation of vehicles without evidence of registration - Operation under mileage plates when odometer broken or disconnected. No person shall operate, nor shall an owner knowingly permit to be operated, upon any highway unless there shall be attached thereto and displayed thereon when and as required by law, proper evidence of registration in Illinois, as follows:
        (1) A vehicle required to be registered in Illinois.
    
A current and valid Illinois registration sticker or stickers and plate or plates, or an Illinois temporary registration permit, or a drive-away or in-transit permit, issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or
        (2) A vehicle eligible for Reciprocity. A current and
    
valid reciprocal foreign registration plate or plates properly issued to such vehicle or a temporary registration issued therefor, by the reciprocal State, and, in addition, when required by the Secretary, a current and valid Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Prorate Decal issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or except as otherwise expressly provided for in this Chapter.
        (3) A vehicle commuting for repairs in Illinois. A
    
dealer plate issued by a foreign state shall exempt a vehicle from the requirements of this Section if the vehicle is being operated for the purpose of transport to a repair facility in Illinois to have repairs performed on the vehicle displaying foreign dealer plates. The driver of the motor vehicle bearing dealer plates shall provide a work order or contract with the repair facility to a law enforcement officer upon request.
    No person shall operate, nor shall any owner knowingly permit to be operated, any vehicle of the second division for which the owner has made an election to pay the mileage tax in lieu of the annual flat weight tax, at any time when the odometer of such vehicle is broken or disconnected, or is inoperable or not operating.
(Source: P.A. 98-971, eff. 1-1-15.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 98-1103)
    Sec. 3-701. Operation of vehicles without evidence of registration - Operation under mileage plates when odometer broken or disconnected.
    (a) No person shall operate, nor shall an owner knowingly permit to be operated, except as provided in subsection (b) of this Section, upon any highway unless there shall be attached thereto and displayed thereon when and as required by law, proper evidence of registration in Illinois, as follows:
        (1) A vehicle required to be registered in Illinois.
    
A current and valid Illinois registration sticker or stickers and plate or plates, or an Illinois temporary registration permit, or a drive-away or in-transit permit, issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or
        (2) A vehicle eligible for Reciprocity. A current and
    
valid reciprocal foreign registration plate or plates properly issued to such vehicle or a temporary registration issued therefor, by the reciprocal State, and, in addition, when required by the Secretary, a current and valid Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Prorate Decal issued therefor by the Secretary of State; or except as otherwise expressly provided for in this Chapter.
    (b) A person may operate or permit operation of a vehicle upon any highway a vehicle that has been properly registered but does not display a current and valid Illinois registration sticker if he or she has proof, in the form of a printed receipt from the Secretary, that he or she registered the vehicle before the previous registration's expiration but has not received a new registration sticker from the Secretary. This printed proof of registration is valid for 30 days from the expiration of the previous registration sticker's date.
    (c) No person shall operate, nor shall any owner knowingly permit to be operated, any vehicle of the second division for which the owner has made an election to pay the mileage tax in lieu of the annual flat weight tax, at any time when the odometer of such vehicle is broken or disconnected, or is inoperable or not operating.
(Source: P.A. 98-1103, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/3-702

    (625 ILCS 5/3-702) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-702)
    Sec. 3-702. Operation of vehicle when registration cancelled, suspended or revoked.
    (a) No person shall operate, nor shall an owner knowingly permit to be operated, upon any highway:
        (1) A vehicle the registration of which has been
    
cancelled, suspended or revoked; or
        (2) A vehicle properly registered in another
    
Reciprocal State, the foreign registration of which, or the Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Decal of which, has been cancelled, suspended or revoked.
    (b) No person shall use, nor shall any owner use or knowingly permit the use of any Illinois registration plate, plates or registration sticker, or any Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Prorate Decal which has been cancelled, suspended or revoked.
    (c) Any violation of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor unless:
        1. the registration of the motor vehicle has been
    
suspended for noninsurance, then the provisions of Section 3-708 of this Code apply in lieu of this Section.
        2. the registration of the motor vehicle has been
    
suspended for failure to purchase a vehicle tax sticker pursuant to Section 3-704.1 of this Code, then the violation shall be considered a business offense and the person shall be required to pay a fine in excess of $500, but not more than $1,000.
(Source: P.A. 86-149; 87-1225.)

625 ILCS 5/3-703

    (625 ILCS 5/3-703) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-703)
    Sec. 3-703. Improper use of evidences of registration or certificate of title. No person shall lend to another any certificate of title, registration card, registration plate, registration sticker, special plate or permit or other evidences of proper registration issued to him if the person desiring to borrow the same would not be entitled to the use thereof, nor shall any person knowingly permit the use of any of the same by one not entitled thereto, nor shall any person display upon a vehicle any registration card, registration sticker, registration plate or other evidences of proper registration not issued for such vehicle or not otherwise lawfully used thereon under this Code. No person shall duplicate, alter or attempt to reproduce in any manner a registration plate or registration sticker issued under this Code. No person shall make fraudulent use of evidences of registration or certificates of title issued erroneously by the Secretary of State. No person shall manufacture, advertise, distribute or sell any certificate of title, registration card, registration plate, registration sticker, special plate or permit or other evidences of proper registration which purports to have been issued under this Code. The Secretary of State may request the Attorney General to seek a restraining order in the circuit court against any person who violates this Section by advertising such fraudulent items. Any violation of this Section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 86-551.)

625 ILCS 5/3-704

    (625 ILCS 5/3-704) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-704)
    Sec. 3-704. Authority of Secretary of State to suspend or revoke a registration or certificate of title; authority to suspend or revoke the registration of a vehicle.
    (a) The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke the registration of a vehicle or a certificate of title, registration card, registration sticker, registration plate, disability parking decal or device, or any nonresident or other permit in any of the following events:
        1. When the Secretary of State is satisfied that such
    
registration or that such certificate, card, plate, registration sticker or permit was fraudulently or erroneously issued;
        2. When a registered vehicle has been dismantled or
    
wrecked or is not properly equipped;
        3. When the Secretary of State determines that any
    
required fees have not been paid to the Secretary of State, to the Illinois Commerce Commission, or to the Illinois Department of Revenue under the Motor Fuel Tax Law, and the same are not paid upon reasonable notice and demand;
        4. When a registration card, registration plate,
    
registration sticker or permit is knowingly displayed upon a vehicle other than the one for which issued;
        5. When the Secretary of State determines that the
    
owner has committed any offense under this Chapter involving the registration or the certificate, card, plate, registration sticker or permit to be suspended or revoked;
        6. When the Secretary of State determines that a
    
vehicle registered not-for-hire is used or operated for-hire unlawfully, or used or operated for purposes other than those authorized;
        7. When the Secretary of State determines that an
    
owner of a for-hire motor vehicle has failed to give proof of financial responsibility as required by this Act;
        8. When the Secretary determines that the vehicle is
    
not subject to or eligible for a registration;
        9. When the Secretary determines that the owner of a
    
vehicle registered under the mileage weight tax option fails to maintain the records specified by law, or fails to file the reports required by law, or that such vehicle is not equipped with an operable and operating speedometer or odometer;
        10. When the Secretary of State is so authorized
    
under any other provision of law;
        11. When the Secretary of State determines that the
    
holder of a disability parking decal or device has committed any offense under Chapter 11 of this Code involving the use of a disability parking decal or device.
    (a-5) The Secretary of State may revoke a certificate of title and registration card and issue a corrected certificate of title and registration card, at no fee to the vehicle owner or lienholder, if there is proof that the vehicle identification number is erroneously shown on the original certificate of title.
    (b) The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke the registration of a vehicle as follows:
        1. When the Secretary of State determines that the
    
owner of a vehicle has not paid a civil penalty or a settlement agreement arising from the violation of rules adopted under the Illinois Motor Carrier Safety Law or the Illinois Hazardous Materials Transportation Act or that a vehicle, regardless of ownership, was the subject of violations of these rules that resulted in a civil penalty or settlement agreement which remains unpaid.
        2. When the Secretary of State determines that a
    
vehicle registered for a gross weight of more than 16,000 pounds within an affected area is not in compliance with the provisions of Section 13-109.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
        3. When the Secretary of State is notified by the
    
United States Department of Transportation that a vehicle is in violation of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, as they are now or hereafter amended, and is prohibited from operating.
    (c) The Secretary of State may suspend the registration of a vehicle when a court finds that the vehicle was used in a violation of Section 24-3A of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to gunrunning. A suspension of registration under this subsection (c) may be for a period of up to 90 days.
(Source: P.A. 97-540, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

625 ILCS 5/3-704.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-704.1)
    Sec. 3-704.1. Municipal vehicle tax liability; suspension of registration.
    (a) As used in this Section:
        (1) "Municipality" means a city, village or
    
incorporated town with a population over 1,000,000.
        (2) "Vehicle tax" means a motor vehicle tax and any
    
related late fees or charges imposed by a municipality under Section 8-11-4 or the Illinois Municipal Code or under the municipality's home rule powers.
        (3) "Vehicle owner" means the registered owner or
    
owners of a vehicle who are residents of the municipality.
    (b) A municipality that imposes a vehicle tax may, by ordinance adopted under this Section, establish a system whereby the municipality notifies the Secretary of State of vehicle tax liability and the Secretary of State suspends the registration of vehicles for which the tax has not been paid. An ordinance establishing a system must provide for the following:
        (1) A first notice for failure to pay a vehicle tax
    
shall be sent by first class mail to the vehicle owner at the owner's address recorded with the Secretary of State whenever the municipality has reasonable cause to believe that the vehicle owner has failed to pay a vehicle tax as required by ordinance. The notice shall include at least the following:
            (A) The name and address of the vehicle owner.
            (B) The registration plate number of the vehicle.
            (C) The period for which the vehicle tax is due.
            (D) The amount of vehicle tax that is due.
            (E) A statement that the vehicle owner's
        
registration for the vehicle will be subject to suspension proceedings unless the vehicle owner pays the vehicle tax or successfully contests the owner's alleged liability within 30 days of the date of the notice.
            (F) An explanation of the vehicle owner's
        
opportunity to be heard under subsection (c).
        (2) If a vehicle owner fails to pay the vehicle tax
    
or to contest successfully the owner's alleged liability within the period specified in the first notice, a second notice of impending registration suspension shall be sent by first class mail to the vehicle owner at the owner's address recorded with the Secretary of State. The notice shall contain the same information as the first notice, but shall also state that the failure to pay the amount owing, or to contest successfully the alleged liability within 45 days of the date of the second notice, will result in the municipality's notification of the Secretary of State that the vehicle owner is eligible for initiation of suspension proceedings under this Section.
    (c) An ordinance adopted under this Section must also give the vehicle owner an opportunity to be heard upon the filing of a timely petition with the municipality. A vehicle owner may contest the alleged tax liability either through an adjudication by mail or at an administrative hearing, at the option of the vehicle owner. The grounds upon which the liability may be contested may be limited to the following:
        (1) The alleged vehicle owner does not own the
    
vehicle.
        (2) The vehicle is not subject to the vehicle tax by
    
law.
        (3) The vehicle tax for the period in question has
    
been paid.
    At an administrative hearing, the formal or technical rules of evidence shall not apply. The hearing shall be recorded. The person conducting the hearing shall have the power to administer oaths and to secure by subpoena the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of relevant documents.
    (d) If a vehicle owner who has been sent a first notice of failure to pay a vehicle tax and a second notice of impending registration suspension fails to pay the vehicle tax or to contest successfully the vehicle owner's liability within the periods specified in the notices, the appropriate official shall cause a certified report to be sent to the Secretary of State under subsection (e).
    (e) A report of a municipality notifying the Secretary of State of a vehicle owner's failure to pay a vehicle tax or related fines or penalties under this Section shall be certified by the appropriate official and shall contain the following:
        (1) The name, last known address and registration
    
plate number of the vehicle of the person who failed to pay the vehicle tax.
        (2) The name of the municipality making the report.
        (3) A statement that the municipality sent notices as
    
required by subsection (b); the date on which the notices were sent; the address to which the notices were sent; and the date of the hearing, if any.
    (f) Following receipt of the certified report under this Section, the Secretary of State shall notify the vehicle owner that the vehicle's registration will be suspended at the end of a reasonable specified period of time unless the Secretary of State is presented with a notice from the municipality certifying that the person has paid the necessary vehicle tax, or that inclusion of that person's name or registration number on the certified report was in error. The Secretary's notice shall state in substance the information contained in the certified report from the municipality to the Secretary, and shall be effective as specified by subsection (c) of Section 6-211 of this Code. The notice shall also inform the person of the person's right to a hearing under subsection (g).
    (g) An administrative hearing with the Office of the Secretary of State to contest an impending suspension or a suspension made under this Section may be had upon filing a written request with the Secretary of State. The filing fee for this hearing shall be $20 to be paid at the time the request is made.
        (1) The scope of any administrative hearing with the
    
Secretary of State to contest an impending suspension under this Section shall be limited to the following issues:
            (A) Whether the report of the appropriate
        
official of the municipality was certified and contained the information required by this Section.
            (B) Whether the municipality making the certified
        
report to the Secretary of State established procedures by ordinance for persons to challenge the accuracy of the certified report.
            (C) Whether the Secretary of State notified the
        
vehicle owner that the vehicle's registration would be suspended at the end of the specified time period unless the Secretary of State was presented with a notice from the municipality certifying that the person has purchased the necessary vehicle tax sticker or that inclusion of that person's name or registration number on the certified report was in error.
    A municipality that files a certified report with the Secretary of State under this Section shall reimburse the Secretary for all reasonable costs incurred by the Secretary as a result of the filing of the report, including but not limited to the costs of providing the notice required under subsection (f) and the costs incurred by the Secretary in any hearing conducted with respect to the report under this subsection and any appeal from that hearing.
    (h) After the expiration of the time specified under subsection (g), the Secretary of State shall, unless the suspension is successfully contested, suspend the registration of the vehicle until the Secretary receives notice under subsection (i).
    (i) Any municipality making a certified report to the Secretary of State under this subsection shall notify the Secretary of State, in a form prescribed by the Secretary, whenever a person named in the certified report has subsequently paid a vehicle tax or whenever the municipality determines that the original report was in error. A certified copy of the notification shall also be given upon request and at no additional charge to the person named in the report. Upon receipt of the notification or presentation of a certified copy of the notification by the municipality, the Secretary of State shall terminate the suspension.
    (j) To facilitate enforcement of municipal vehicle tax liability, a municipality may provide by ordinance for a program of vehicle immobilization as provided by Section 11-1430.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 97-937, eff. 8-10-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-704.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-704.2)
    Sec. 3-704.2. Failure to satisfy fines or penalties for toll violations or evasions; suspension of vehicle registration.
    (a) Upon receipt of a certified report, as prescribed by subsection (c) of this Section, from the Authority stating that the owner of a registered vehicle has failed to satisfy any fine or penalty resulting from a final order issued by the Authority relating directly or indirectly to 5 or more toll violations, toll evasions, or both, the Secretary of State shall suspend the vehicle registration of the person in accordance with the procedures set forth in this Section.
    (b) Following receipt of the certified report of the Authority as specified in the Section, the Secretary of State shall notify the person whose name appears on the certified report that the person's vehicle registration will be suspended at the end of a specified period unless the Secretary of State is presented with a notice from the Authority certifying that the fines or penalties owing the Authority have been satisfied or that inclusion of that person's name on the certified report was in error. The Secretary's notice shall state in substance the information contained in the Authority's certified report to the Secretary, and shall be effective as specified by subsection (c) of Section 6-211 of this Code.
    (c) The report from the Authority notifying the Secretary of unsatisfied fines or penalties pursuant to this Section shall be certified and shall contain the following:
        (1) The name, last known address, and driver's
    
license number of the person who failed to satisfy the fines or penalties and the registration number of any vehicle known to be registered in this State to that person.
        (2) A statement that the Authority sent a notice of
    
impending suspension of the person's driver's license, vehicle registration, or both, as prescribed by rules enacted pursuant to subsection (a-5) of Section 10 of the Toll Highway Act, to the person named in the report at the address recorded with the Secretary of State; the date on which the notice was sent; and the address to which the notice was sent.
    (d) The Authority, after making a certified report to the Secretary pursuant to this Section, shall notify the Secretary, on a form prescribed by the Secretary, whenever a person named in the certified report has satisfied the previously reported fines or penalties or whenever the Authority determines that the original report was in error. A certified copy of the notification shall also be given upon request and at no additional charge to the person named therein. Upon receipt of the Authority's notification or presentation of a certified copy of the notification, the Secretary shall terminate the suspension.
    (e) The Authority shall, by rule, establish procedures for persons to challenge the accuracy of the certified report made pursuant to this Section. The rule shall also provide the grounds for a challenge, which may be limited to:
        (1) the person not having been the owner or lessee of
    
the vehicle or vehicles receiving 5 or more toll violation or toll evasion notices on the date or dates the notices were issued; or
        (2) the person having already satisfied the fines or
    
penalties for the 5 or more toll violations or toll evasions indicated on the certified report.
    (f) All notices sent by the Authority to persons involved in administrative adjudications, hearings, and final orders issued pursuant to rules implementing subsection (a-5) of Section 10 of the Toll Highway Act shall state that failure to satisfy any fine or penalty imposed by the Authority shall result in the Secretary of State suspending the driving privileges, vehicle registration, or both, of the person failing to satisfy the fines or penalties imposed by the Authority.
    (g) A person may request an administrative hearing to contest an impending suspension or a suspension made pursuant to this Section upon filing a written request with the Secretary. The filing fee for this hearing is $20, to be paid at the time of the request. The Authority shall reimburse the Secretary for all reasonable costs incurred by the Secretary as a result of the filing of a certified report pursuant to this Section, including, but not limited to, the costs of providing notice required pursuant to subsection (b) and the costs incurred by the Secretary in any hearing conducted with respect to the report pursuant to this subsection and any appeal from that hearing.
    (h) The Secretary and the Authority may promulgate rules to enable them to carry out their duties under this Section.
    (i) The Authority shall cooperate with the Secretary in the administration of this Section and shall provide the Secretary with any information the Secretary may deem necessary for these purposes, including regular and timely access to toll violation enforcement records.
    The Secretary shall cooperate with the Authority in the administration of this Section and shall provide the Authority with any information the Authority may deem necessary for the purposes of this Section, including regular and timely access to vehicle registration records. Section 2-123 of this Code shall not apply to the provision of this information, but the Secretary shall be reimbursed for the cost of providing this information.
    (j) For purposes of this Section, the term "Authority" means the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority.
(Source: P.A. 91-277, eff. 1-1-00.)

625 ILCS 5/3-705

    (625 ILCS 5/3-705) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-705)
    Sec. 3-705. Suspending or revoking certificate or special plates of a manufacturer, engine and driveline component manufacturer, transporter, repossessor or dealer.
    The Secretary of State is also authorized to suspend or revoke a certificate or the special plates issued to a manufacturer, engine and driveline component manufacturer, transporter, repossessor or dealer upon determining that any such person is not lawfully entitled thereto or has made or knowingly permitted any illegal use of such plates or has committed fraud in the registration of vehicles or failed to give notices of transfers when and as required by this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 76-2139.)

625 ILCS 5/3-706

    (625 ILCS 5/3-706) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-706)
    Sec. 3-706. Owner to return evidences of registration upon cancellation, revocation or suspension. Whenever the Secretary of State cancels or revokes the registration of a vehicle or a certificate of title, registration card, registration sticker or stickers, registration plate or plates, or a nonresident or other permit or the license of any dealer or wrecker, the owner or person in possession of the same shall immediately return the evidences of registration, title or license so cancelled or revoked to the Secretary.
    Whenever the Secretary suspends the registration of a vehicle or the license of any dealer or wrecker, the owner or person in possession of the same, upon request by the Secretary, shall immediately return all evidence of the registration or the license so suspended to the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 85-1201.)

625 ILCS 5/3-707

    (625 ILCS 5/3-707) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-707)
    Sec. 3-707. Operation of uninsured motor vehicle - penalty.
    (a) No person shall operate a motor vehicle unless the motor vehicle is covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code.
    (a-5) A person commits the offense of operation of uninsured motor vehicle causing bodily harm when the person:
        (1) operates a motor vehicle in violation of Section
    
7-601 of this Code; and
        (2) causes, as a proximate result of the person's
    
operation of the motor vehicle, bodily harm to another person.
    (a-6) Uninsured operation of a motor vehicle under subsection (a-5) is a Class A misdemeanor. If a person convicted of the offense of operation of a motor vehicle under subsection (a-5) has previously been convicted of 2 or more violations of subsection (a-5) of this Section or of Section 7-601 of this Code, a fine of $2,500, in addition to any sentence of incarceration, must be imposed.
    (b) Any person who fails to comply with a request by a law enforcement officer for display of evidence of insurance, as required under Section 7-602 of this Code, shall be deemed to be operating an uninsured motor vehicle.
    (c) Except as provided in subsections (a-6) and (c-5), any operator of a motor vehicle subject to registration under this Code who is convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a business offense and shall be required to pay a fine in excess of $500, but not more than $1,000, except a person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall be required to pay a fine of $1,000. However, no person charged with violating this Section shall be convicted if such person produces in court satisfactory evidence that at the time of the arrest the motor vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code. The chief judge of each circuit may designate an officer of the court to review the documentation demonstrating that at the time of arrest the motor vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code.
    (c-1) A person convicted of violating this Section shall also have his or her driver's license, permit, or privileges suspended for 3 months. After the expiration of the 3 months, the person's driver's license, permit, or privileges shall not be reinstated until he or she has paid a reinstatement fee of $100. If a person violates this Section while his or her driver's license, permit, or privileges are suspended under this subsection (c-1), his or her driver's license, permit, or privileges shall be suspended for an additional 6 months and until he or she pays the reinstatement fee.
    (c-5) A person who (i) has not previously been convicted of or received a disposition of court supervision for violating this Section and (ii) produces at his or her court appearance satisfactory evidence that the motor vehicle is covered, as of the date of the court appearance, by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code shall, for a violation of this Section, other than a violation of subsection (a-5), pay a fine of $100 and receive a disposition of court supervision. The person must, on the date that the period of court supervision is scheduled to terminate, produce satisfactory evidence that the vehicle was covered by the required liability insurance policy during the entire period of court supervision.
    An officer of the court designated under subsection (c) may also review liability insurance documentation under this subsection (c-5) to determine if the motor vehicle is, as of the date of the court appearance, covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code. The officer of the court shall also determine, on the date the period of court supervision is scheduled to terminate, whether the vehicle was covered by the required policy during the entire period of court supervision.
    (d) A person convicted a third or subsequent time of violating this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance must give proof to the Secretary of State of the person's financial responsibility as defined in Section 7-315. The person must maintain the proof in a manner satisfactory to the Secretary for a minimum period of 3 years after the date the proof is first filed. The Secretary must suspend the driver's license of any person determined by the Secretary not to have provided adequate proof of financial responsibility as required by this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 96-143, eff. 1-1-10; 97-407, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-708

    (625 ILCS 5/3-708) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-708)
    Sec. 3-708. Operation of motor vehicle when registration suspended for noninsurance. No person shall operate a vehicle the registration of which is suspended pursuant to Section 7-606 or 7-607 of this Code.
    Any person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a business offense and shall be required to pay a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $2,000. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor and shall be required to pay a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $2,000.
(Source: P.A. 90-559, eff. 6-1-98.)

625 ILCS 5/3-710

    (625 ILCS 5/3-710) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-710)
    Sec. 3-710. Display of false insurance card. No person shall display evidence of insurance to a law enforcement officer, court, or officer of the court, knowing there is no valid liability insurance in effect on the motor vehicle as required under Section 7-601 of this Code or knowing the evidence of insurance is illegally altered, counterfeit, or otherwise invalid as evidence of insurance required under Section 7-602 of this Code. If the law enforcement officer issues a citation to a motor vehicle operator for displaying invalid evidence of insurance, the officer shall confiscate the evidence for presentation in court.
    Any person convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 89-565, eff. 7-26-96.)

625 ILCS 5/3-711

    (625 ILCS 5/3-711) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-711)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-870)
    Sec. 3-711. Whenever a court convicts a person of a violation of Section 3-707, 3-708 or 3-710 of this Code, or enters an order placing on supervision the person charged with the violation, the clerk of the court within 10 days shall forward a report of the conviction or order of supervision to the Secretary of State in a form prescribed by the Secretary. In any case where the person charged with the violation fails to appear in court, the procedures provided in Section 6-306.3 or 6-306.4 of this Code, whichever is applicable shall apply.
    The Secretary shall keep records of such reports. However, reports of orders of supervision shall not be released to any outside source, except the affected driver and law enforcement agencies, and shall be used only to inform the Secretary and the courts that such driver previously has been assigned court supervision.
(Source: P.A. 86-149.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-870)
    Sec. 3-711. Whenever a court convicts a person of a violation of Section 3-707, 3-708 or 3-710 of this Code, or enters an order placing on supervision the person charged with the violation, the clerk of the court within 5 days shall forward a report of the conviction or order of supervision to the Secretary of State in a form prescribed by the Secretary. In any case where the person charged with the violation fails to appear in court, the procedures provided in Section 6-306.4 or 6-308 of this Code, whichever is applicable shall apply.
    The Secretary shall keep records of such reports. However, reports of orders of supervision shall not be released to any outside source, except the affected driver and law enforcement agencies, and shall be used only to inform the Secretary and the courts that such driver previously has been assigned court supervision.
(Source: P.A. 98-870, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/3-712

    (625 ILCS 5/3-712)
    Sec. 3-712. Improper application for certificate of title or registration; special military plate.
    (a) Except as provided in Chapter 4 of this Code, relating to anti-theft laws and abandoned vehicles, and except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of this Section, any person who knowingly provides false information to the Secretary of State on an application for vehicle title or registration is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $500.
    (b) Except as provided in Chapter 4 of this Code, relating to anti-theft laws and abandoned vehicles, any person who, for purposes of obtaining or renewing a special license plate designating military decorations, military service, or status as a military veteran, (i) claims to have been awarded a military decoration, knowing that he or she has not been awarded that decoration, or (ii) claims to have the status of active duty military personnel or military veteran, knowing that he or she does not have the status required for the registration for which he or she has applied, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $1,000.
    Of the amounts collected as fines under this subsection (b), 99% shall be deposited into the Illinois Military Family Relief Fund and 1% shall be deposited into the Circuit Court Clerk Operation and Administrative Fund created by the Clerk of the Circuit Court to be used to offset the costs incurred by the Circuit Court Clerk in performing the additional duties required to collect and disburse funds to entities of State and local government as provided by law.
(Source: P.A. 95-291, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. VIII

 
    (625 ILCS 5/Ch. 3 Art. VIII heading)
ARTICLE VIII. REGISTRATION AND LICENSE FEES

625 ILCS 5/3-801

    (625 ILCS 5/3-801) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-801)
    Sec. 3-801. Registration. (a) Except as provided herein for new residents, every owner of any vehicle which shall be operated upon the public highways of this State shall, within 24 hours after becoming the owner or at such time as such vehicle becomes subject to registration under the provisions of this Act, file in an office of the Secretary of State, an application for registration properly completed and executed. New residents need not secure registration until 30 days after establishing residency in this State, provided the vehicle is properly registered in another jurisdiction. By the expiration of such 30 day statutory grace period, a new resident shall comply with the provisions of this Act and apply for Illinois vehicle registration. All applications for registration shall be accompanied by all documentation required under the provisions of this Act. The appropriate registration fees and taxes provided for in this Article of this Chapter shall be paid to the Secretary of State with the application for registration of vehicles subject to registration under this Act.
    (b) Any resident of this State, who has been serving as a member of the United States Armed Services outside of the State of Illinois, need not secure registration until 45 days after returning to this State, provided the vehicle displays temporary military registration.
    (c) When an application is submitted by mail, the applicant may not submit cash or postage stamps for payment of fees or taxes due. The Secretary in his discretion, may decline to accept a personal or company check in payment of fees or taxes. An application submitted to a dealer, or a remittance made to the Secretary of State shall be deemed in compliance with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 85-1209.)

625 ILCS 5/3-802

    (625 ILCS 5/3-802) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-802)
    Sec. 3-802. Reclassifications and upgrades.
    (a) Definitions. For the purposes of this Section, the following words shall have the meanings ascribed to them as follows:
        "Reclassification" means changing the registration of
    
a vehicle from one plate category to another.
        "Upgrade" means increasing the registered weight of a
    
vehicle within the same plate category.
    (b) When reclassing the registration of a vehicle from one plate category to another, the owner shall receive credit for the unused portion of the present plate and be charged the current portion fees for the new plate. In addition, the appropriate replacement plate and replacement sticker fees shall be assessed.
    (c) When upgrading the weight of a registration within the same plate category, the owner shall pay the difference in current period fees between the two plates. In addition, the appropriate replacement plate and replacement sticker fees shall be assessed. In the event new plates are not required, the corrected registration card fee shall be assessed.
    (d) In the event the owner of the vehicle desires to change the registered weight and change the plate category, the owner shall receive credit for the unused portion of the registration fee of the current plate and pay the current portion of the registration fee for the new plate, and in addition, pay the appropriate replacement plate and replacement sticker fees.
    (e) Reclassing from one plate category to another plate category can be done only once within any registration period.
    (f) No refunds shall be made in any of the circumstances found in subsection (b), subsection (c), or subsection (d); however, when reclassing from a flat weight plate to an apportioned plate, a refund may be issued if the credit amounts to an overpayment.
    (g) In the event the registration of a vehicle registered under the mileage tax option is revoked, the owner shall be required to pay the annual registration fee in the new plate category and shall not receive any credit for the mileage plate fees.
    (h) Certain special interest plates may be displayed on first division vehicles, second division vehicles weighing 8,000 pounds or less, and recreational vehicles. Those plates can be transferred within those vehicle groups.
    (i) Plates displayed on second division vehicles weighing 8,000 pounds or less and passenger vehicle plates may be reclassed from one division to the other.
    (j) Other than in subsection (i), reclassing from one division to the other division is prohibited. In addition, a reclass from a motor vehicle to a trailer or a trailer to a motor vehicle is prohibited.
(Source: P.A. 93-365, eff. 7-24-03; 94-239, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/3-803

    (625 ILCS 5/3-803) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-803)
    Sec. 3-803. Reductions.
    (a) Reduction of fees and taxes prescribed in this Chapter shall be applicable only to vehicles newly-acquired by the owner after the beginning of a registration period or which become subject to registration after the beginning of a registration period as specified in this Act. The Secretary of State may deny a reduction as to any vehicle operated in this State without being properly and timely registered in Illinois under this Chapter, of a vehicle in violation of any provision of this Chapter, or upon detection of such violation by an audit, or upon determining that such vehicle was operated in Illinois before such violation. Bond or other security in the proper amount may be required by the Secretary of State while the matter is under investigation. Reductions shall be granted if a person becomes the owner after the dates specified or if a vehicle becomes subject to registration under this Act, as amended, after the dates specified.
    (b) Vehicles of the First Division. The annual fees and taxes prescribed by Section 3-806 shall be reduced by 50% on and after June 15, except as provided in Sections 3-414 and 3-802 of this Act.
    (c) Vehicles of the Second Division. The annual fees and taxes prescribed by Sections 3-402, 3-402.1, 3-815 and 3-819 and paid on a calendar year for such vehicles shall be reduced on a quarterly basis if the vehicle becomes subject to registration on and after March 31, June 30 or September 30. Where such fees and taxes are payable on a fiscal year basis, they shall be reduced on a quarterly basis on and after September 30, December 31 or March 31.
    (d) Two-year Registrations. The fees and taxes prescribed by Section 3-808 for 2-year registrations shall not be reduced in any event. However, the fees and taxes prescribed for all other 2-year registrations by this Act, shall be reduced as follows:
    By 25% on and after June 15;
    By 50% on and after December 15;
    By 75% on and after the next ensuing June 15.
    (e) The registration fees and taxes imposed upon certain vehicles shall not be reduced by any amount in any event in the following instances:
    Permits under Sections 3-403 and 3-811;
    Municipal Buses under Section 3-807;
    Governmental or charitable vehicles under Section 3-808;
    Farm Machinery under Section 3-809;
    Soil and conservation equipment under Section 3-809.1;
    Special Plates under Section 3-810;
    Permanently mounted equipment under Section 3-812;
    Registration fee under Section 3-813;
    Semitrailer fees under Section 3-814;
    Farm trucks under Section 3-815;
    Mileage weight tax option under Section 3-818;
    Farm trailers under Section 3-819;
    Duplicate plates under Section 3-820;
    Fees under Section 3-821;
    Search Fees under Section 3-823.
    (f) The reductions provided for shall not apply to any vehicle of the first or second division registered by the same applicant in the prior registration year.
    The changes to this Section made by Public Act 84-210 take effect with the 1986 Calendar Registration Year.
    (g) Reductions shall in no event result in payment of a fee or tax less than $6, and the Secretary of State shall promulgate schedules of fees reflecting applicable reductions. Where any reduced amount is not stated in full dollars, the Secretary of State may adjust the amount due to the nearest full dollar amount.
    (h) The reductions provided for in subsections (a) through (g) of this Section shall not apply to those vehicles of the first or second division registered on a staggered registration basis.
    (i) A vehicle which becomes subject to registration during the last month of the current registration year is exempt from any applicable reduced fourth quarter or second semiannual registration fee, and may register for the subsequent registration year as its initial registration. This subsection does not include those apportioned and prorated fees under Sections 3-402 and 3-402.1 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 94-239, eff. 1-1-06.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-804)
    Sec. 3-804. Antique vehicles.
    (a) The owner of an antique vehicle may register such vehicle for a fee not to exceed $13 for a 2-year antique plate. The application for registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of the owner that such vehicle will be driven on the highway only for the purpose of going to and returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or for servicing or demonstration and also affirming that the mechanical condition, physical condition, brakes, lights, glass and appearance of such vehicle is the same or as safe as originally equipped. The Secretary may, in his discretion prescribe that antique vehicle plates be issued for a definite or an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. In no event may the registration fee for antique vehicles exceed $6 per registration year. Any person requesting antique plates under this Section may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under Section 3-405.1.
    (b) Any person who is the registered owner of an antique vehicle may display a historical license plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle, furnished by such person, in lieu of the current and valid Illinois antique vehicle plates issued thereto, provided that valid and current Illinois antique vehicle plates and registration card issued to such antique vehicle are simultaneously carried within such vehicle and are available for inspection.
(Source: P.A. 91-37, eff. 7-1-99.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804.01

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804.01)
    Sec. 3-804.01. Expanded-use antique vehicles.
    (a) The owner of a motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of age or a bona fide replica thereof may register the vehicle as an expanded-use antique vehicle. In addition to the appropriate registration and renewal fees, the fee for expanded-use antique vehicle registration and renewal shall be $45 per year. The application for registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of the owner that:
        (1) from January 1 through March 31 and from November
    
1 through December 31, the vehicle will be driven on the highways only for the purpose of going to and returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or for servicing or demonstration; and
        (2) the mechanical condition, physical condition,
    
brakes, lights, glass, and appearance of such vehicle is the same or as safe as originally equipped.
    From April 1 through October 31, a vehicle registered as an expanded-use antique vehicle may be driven on the highways without being subject to the restrictions set forth in subdivision (1). The Secretary may prescribe, in the Secretary's discretion, that expanded-use antique vehicle plates be issued for a definite or an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. Any person requesting expanded-use antique vehicle plates under this Section may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under Section 3-405.1.
    (b) Any person who is the registered owner of an expanded-use antique vehicle may display a historical license plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle, furnished by such person, in lieu of the current and valid Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates issued thereto, provided that the valid and current Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates and registration card issued to the expanded-use antique vehicle are simultaneously carried within the vehicle and are available for inspection.
    (c) The Secretary may credit a pro-rated portion of a fee previously paid for an antique vehicle registration under Section 3-804 to an owner who applies to have that vehicle registered as an expanded-use antique vehicle instead of an antique vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804.02

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804.02) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-804.02)
    Sec. 3-804.02. Commuter Vans. The owner of a commuter van may register such van for an annual fee not to exceed $63. The Secretary may prescribe that commuter van plates be issued for an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally. In no event may the registration fee for commuter vans exceed $63 per registration year.
(Source: P.A. 90-89, eff. 1-1-98; 91-37, eff. 7-1-99.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804.1)
    Sec. 3-804.1. Custom vehicles.
    (a) The owner of a custom vehicle may register that vehicle for the standard registration fee for a vehicle of the first division, other than a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or pedalcycle, and obtain a custom vehicle plate. An applicant for the special plate shall be charged, in addition to the standard registration fee, $15 for original issuance to be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray administrative costs. For each renewal period, in addition to the standard registration fee, the applicant shall be charged $2, which shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. The application for registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of the owner that the vehicle will be maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses and will not be used for general daily transportation. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, prescribe that custom vehicle plates be issued for a definite or an indefinite term, the term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. Any person requesting custom vehicle plates under this Section may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under Section 3-405.1.
    (b) Upon initial registration of a custom vehicle, the owner of the custom vehicle must have the vehicle inspected as required by Section 3-406 of this Code.
    Except where otherwise provided, custom vehicles are considered to be in compliance with all vehicle equipment requirements if they have passed the approved vehicle safety inspection.
(Source: P.A. 96-487, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804.2)
    Sec. 3-804.2. Street rods.
    (a) The owner of a street rod may register the vehicle for the standard registration fee for a vehicle of the first division, other than a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or pedalcycle, and obtain a street rod plate. An applicant for the special plate shall be charged, in addition to the standard registration fee, $15 for original issuance to be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by the Secretary to help defray administrative costs. For each renewal period, in addition to the standard registration fee, the applicant shall be charged $2, which shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. The application for registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of the owner that the vehicle will be maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses and will not be used for general daily transportation. The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, prescribe that street rod plates be issued for a definite or an indefinite term, the term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. Any person requesting street rod plates under this Section may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under Section 3-405.1.
    (b) Upon initial registration of a street rod, the owner of the street rod must have the vehicle inspected as required by Section 3-406 of this Code.
(Source: P.A. 96-487, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/3-804.3

    (625 ILCS 5/3-804.3)
    Sec. 3-804.3. Former military vehicles.
    (a) The owner of a former military vehicle may register the vehicle for a fee not to exceed:
        (1) $100 for a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight
    
rating of 26,000 pounds or less;
        (2) $150 for a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight
    
rating of 26,001 to 45,000 pounds;
        (3) $500 for a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight
    
rating of 45,001 to 65,000 pounds;
        (4) $1,000 for a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight
    
rating of over 65,000 pounds; or
        (5) $25 for a trailer with a weight of 3,000 pounds
    
or less; or
        (6) $75 for a trailer with a weight of over 3,000
    
pounds.
    (b) The Secretary may prescribe, in the Secretary's discretion, that former military vehicle plates be issued for a definite or an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. Any person requesting former military vehicle plates under this Section may also apply to have vanity or personalized plates as provided under Section 3-405.1.
    (c) A vehicle registered as a former military vehicle is not subject to Section 3-815 and 3-818 of this Code.
    (d) A vehicle may not be registered under this Section unless a title for the vehicle has been issued by the Secretary and the vehicle is eligible for registration without regard to its status as a military vehicle.
(Source: P.A. 97-811, eff. 7-13-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-805

    (625 ILCS 5/3-805) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-805)
    Sec. 3-805. Electric vehicles. The owner of a motor vehicle of the first division or a motor vehicle of the second division weighing 8,000 pounds or less propelled by an electric engine and not utilizing motor fuel, may register such vehicle for a fee not to exceed $35 for a 2-year registration period. The Secretary may, in his discretion, prescribe that electric vehicle registration plates be issued for an indefinite term, such term to correspond to the term of registration plates issued generally, as provided in Section 3-414.1. In no event may the registration fee for electric vehicles exceed $18 per registration year.
(Source: P.A. 96-1135, eff. 7-21-10.)

625 ILCS 5/3-805.5

    (625 ILCS 5/3-805.5)
    Sec. 3-805.5. Low-speed vehicles. Every owner of a low-speed vehicle shall make application to the Secretary of State for registration, or renewal of registration, at the annual fee of $18.
(Source: P.A. 96-653, eff. 1-1-10.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-806)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806. Registration Fees; Motor Vehicles of the First Division. Every owner of any other motor vehicle of the first division, except as provided in Sections 3-804, 3-804.01, 3-804.3, 3-805, 3-806.3, 3-806.7, and 3-808, and every second division vehicle weighing 8,000 pounds or less, shall pay the Secretary of State an annual registration fee at the following rates:
 
SCHEDULE OF REGISTRATION FEES
REQUIRED BY LAW
Beginning with the 2010 registration year

Annual

Fee
Motor vehicles of the first
division other than
Motorcycles, Motor Driven
Cycles and Pedalcycles$98
Motorcycles, Motor Driven
Cycles and Pedalcycles 38
    Beginning with the 2010 registration year a $1 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for motor vehicles of the first division, motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and pedalcycles to be deposited into the State Police Vehicle Fund.
    All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by Public Act 96-34 shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    Beginning with the 2014 registration year, a $2 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for motor vehicles of the first division, motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and pedalcycles to be deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund for the Department of Natural Resources to use for conservation efforts. The monies deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund under this Section shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks unless otherwise authorized by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12; 97-811, eff. 7-13-12; 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806. Registration Fees; Motor Vehicles of the First Division. Every owner of any other motor vehicle of the first division, except as provided in Sections 3-804, 3-804.01, 3-804.3, 3-805, 3-806.3, 3-806.7, and 3-808, and every second division vehicle weighing 8,000 pounds or less, shall pay the Secretary of State an annual registration fee at the following rates:
 
SCHEDULE OF REGISTRATION FEES
REQUIRED BY LAW
Beginning with the 2010 registration year

Annual Fee
Motor vehicles of the first division other
than Autocycles, Motorcycles, Motor
Driven Cycles and Pedalcycles$98
Autocycles68
Motorcycles, Motor Driven
Cycles and Pedalcycles 38
    A $1 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for motor vehicles of the first division, autocycles, motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and pedalcycles to be deposited into the State Police Vehicle Fund.
    All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by Public Act 96-34 shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    A $2 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for motor vehicles of the first division, autocycles, motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and pedalcycles to be deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund for the Department of Natural Resources to use for conservation efforts. The monies deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund under this Section shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks unless otherwise authorized by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-412, eff. 1-1-12; 97-811, eff. 7-13-12; 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-777, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.1

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-806.1)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806.1. Additional fees for vanity license plates. In addition to the regular registration fee, an applicant for a vanity license plate, other than a vanity plate in any military series or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $94 for each set of vanity license plates issued to a vehicle of the first division or a vehicle of the second division registered at not more than 8,000 pounds or to a recreational vehicle and $50 for each set of vanity plates issued to a motorcycle. In addition to the regular renewal fee, an applicant for a vanity plate, other than a vanity plate in any military series or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $13 for the renewal of each set of vanity license plates. There shall be no additional fees for a vanity license plate in any military series of plates or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664.
(Source: P.A. 95-287, eff. 1-1-08; 95-353, eff. 1-1-08; 95-876, eff. 8-21-08.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806.1. Additional fees for vanity license plates. In addition to the regular registration fee, an applicant for a vanity license plate, other than a vanity plate in any military series or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $94 for each set of vanity license plates issued to a vehicle of the first division or a vehicle of the second division registered at not more than 8,000 pounds or to a recreational vehicle and $50 for each set of vanity plates issued to an autocycle or motorcycle. In addition to the regular renewal fee, an applicant for a vanity plate, other than a vanity plate in any military series or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $13 for the renewal of each set of vanity license plates. There shall be no additional fees for a vanity license plate in any military series of plates or a vanity plate issued under Section 3-664.
(Source: P.A. 98-777, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.2

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.2) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-806.2)
    Sec. 3-806.2. Limitations on no-fee plates. No individual shall be issued more than one pair of plates of any category for which no fee is required. The Secretary of State may issue additional pairs of plates of any such category upon receiving the required application and registration fees.
(Source: P.A. 88-517.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.3

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.3) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-806.3)
    Sec. 3-806.3. Senior Citizens. Commencing with the 2009 registration year, the registration fee paid by any vehicle owner who has been approved for benefits under the Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act or who is the spouse of such a person shall be $24 instead of the fee otherwise provided in this Code for passenger cars displaying standard multi-year registration plates issued under Section 3-414.1, motor vehicles displaying special registration plates issued under Section 3-609, 3-616, 3-621, 3-622, 3-623, 3-624, 3-625, 3-626, 3-628, 3-638, 3-642, 3-645, 3-647, 3-650, 3-651, or 3-663, motor vehicles registered at 8,000 pounds or less under Section 3-815(a), and recreational vehicles registered at 8,000 pounds or less under Section 3-815(b). Widows and widowers of claimants shall also be entitled to this reduced registration fee for the registration year in which the claimant was eligible.
    Commencing with the 2009 registration year, the registration fee paid by any vehicle owner who has claimed and received a grant under the Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act or who is the spouse of such a person shall be $24 instead of the fee otherwise provided in this Code for passenger cars displaying standard multi-year registration plates issued under Section 3-414.1, motor vehicles displaying special registration plates issued under Section 3-607, 3-609, 3-616, 3-621, 3-622, 3-623, 3-624, 3-625, 3-626, 3-628, 3-638, 3-642, 3-645, 3-647, 3-650, 3-651, 3-663, or 3-664, motor vehicles registered at 8,000 pounds or less under Section 3-815(a), and recreational vehicles registered at 8,000 pounds or less under Section 3-815(b). Widows and widowers of claimants shall also be entitled to this reduced registration fee for the registration year in which the claimant was eligible.
    No more than one reduced registration fee under this Section shall be allowed during any 12 month period based on the primary eligibility of any individual, whether such reduced registration fee is allowed to the individual or to the spouse, widow or widower of such individual. This Section does not apply to the fee paid in addition to the registration fee for motor vehicles displaying vanity or special license plates.
(Source: P.A. 96-554, eff. 1-1-10; 97-689, eff. 6-14-12.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.4

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.4) (now 625 ILCS 5/3-664)
    Sec. 3-806.4. (Renumbered).
(Source: Renumbered by P.A. 95-34, eff. 1-1-08.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.5

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.5)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806.5. Additional fees for personalized license plates. For registration periods commencing after December 31, 2003, in addition to the regular registration fee, an applicant for a personalized license plate, other than a personalized plate in any military series or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $47 for each set of personalized license plates issued to a vehicle of the first division or a vehicle of the second division registered at not more than 8,000 pounds or to a recreational vehicle and $25 for each set of personalized plates issued to a motorcycle. In addition to the regular renewal fee, an applicant for a personalized plate other than a personalized plate in any military series or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $7 for the renewal of each set of personalized license plates. There shall be no additional fees charged for a personalized plate in any military series of plates or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664. Of the money received by the Secretary of State as additional fees for personalized license plates, 50% shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and 50% shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(Source: P.A. 95-287, eff. 1-1-08; 95-353, eff. 1-1-08; 95-876, eff. 8-21-08.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-777)
    Sec. 3-806.5. Additional fees for personalized license plates. For registration periods commencing after December 31, 2003, in addition to the regular registration fee, an applicant for a personalized license plate, other than a personalized plate in any military series or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $47 for each set of personalized license plates issued to a vehicle of the first division or a vehicle of the second division registered at not more than 8,000 pounds or to a recreational vehicle and $25 for each set of personalized plates issued to an autocycle or motorcycle. In addition to the regular renewal fee, an applicant for a personalized plate other than a personalized plate in any military series or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664, shall be charged $7 for the renewal of each set of personalized license plates. There shall be no additional fees charged for a personalized plate in any military series of plates or a personalized plate issued under Section 3-664. Of the money received by the Secretary of State as additional fees for personalized license plates, 50% shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund and 50% shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(Source: P.A. 98-777, eff. 1-1-15.)

625 ILCS 5/3-806.6

    (625 ILCS 5/3-806.6)
    Sec. 3-806.6. Victims of domestic violence.
    (a) The Secretary shall issue new and different license plates immediately upon request to the registered owner of a vehicle who appears in person and submits a completed application, if all of the following are provided:
        (1) proof of ownership of the vehicle that is
    
acceptable to the Secretary;
        (2) a driver's license or identification card
    
containing a picture of the licensee or cardholder issued to the registered owner by the Secretary under Section 6-110 or 6-107 of this Code or Section 4 of the Illinois Identification Card Act. The Office of the Secretary shall conduct a search of its records to verify the authenticity of any document submitted under this paragraph (2);
        (3) the previously issued license plates from the
    
vehicle;
        (4) payment of the required fee for the issuance of
    
duplicate license plates under Section 3-417; and
        (5) one of the following:
            (A) a copy of a police report, court
        
documentation, or other law enforcement documentation identifying the registered owner of the vehicle as the victim of an incident of abuse, as defined in Section 103 of the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986, or the subject of stalking, as defined in Section 12-7.3 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (B) a written acknowledgment, dated within 30
        
days of submission, on the letterhead of a domestic violence agency, that the registered owner is actively seeking assistance or has sought assistance from that agency within the past year; or
            (C) an order of protection issued under Section
        
214 of the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986 that names the registered owner as a protected party.
    (b) This Section does not apply to license plates issued under Section 3-664 or to special license plates issued under Article VI of this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)