Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CORRECTIONS
(730 ILCS 169/) Accelerated Resolution Court Act.

730 ILCS 169/1

    (730 ILCS 169/1)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Accelerated Resolution Program Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15; 99-724, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 169/5

    (730 ILCS 169/5)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 5. Accelerated Resolution Program. The Accelerated Resolution Program is hereby created in Cook County. Under this Program, the Cook County Sheriff or his or her designee, acting in his or her official capacity as Director of the Cook County Department of Corrections with the approval of the Cook County State's Attorney, may refer eligible defendants to the Accelerated Resolution Program provided that notice is given to the prosecuting State's Attorney and the defendant's counsel of record.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15; 99-724, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 169/10

    (730 ILCS 169/10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 10. Eligibility.
    (a) To be eligible for the program the defendant must be:
        (1) in the custody of the Cook County Department of
    
Corrections 72 hours after bond has been set;
        (2) unable to post bond or ineligible to be placed on
    
electronic monitoring due to homelessness or a lack of a sufficient host site approved by the Sheriff; and
        (3) charged with:
            (A) retail theft of property the full retail
        
value of which does not exceed $300 under Section 16-25 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (B) criminal trespass to real property under
        
Section 21-3 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (C) criminal trespass to State supported land
        
under Section 21-5 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
            (D) a traffic offense, except for any offense
        
involving fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer or aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer under Section 11-204 or 11-204.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, driving under the influence under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, or any offense that results in bodily harm; or
            (E) a Class 4 felony violation of the Illinois
        
Controlled Substances Act.
    (b) A defendant shall be excluded from the program if the defendant has been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent for, a crime of violence in the past 10 years excluding incarceration time, including, but not limited to, first degree murder, second degree murder, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal sexual assault, armed robbery, aggravated arson, arson, aggravated kidnaping, kidnapping, aggravated battery resulting in great bodily harm or permanent disability, aggravated stalking, stalking, or any offense involving the discharge of a firearm.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15; 99-724, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 169/15

    (730 ILCS 169/15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 15. Procedure.
    (a) Once referred to the Accelerated Resolution Program by the Cook County Sheriff or his or her designee, written notice shall be given by the Sheriff to the prosecuting State's Attorney and the defendant's counsel of record. Proof of the notice shall be filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County. Any referred case shall be adjudicated within 30 days of the date of assignment by the presiding judge, excluding any delay occasioned by the defendant.
    (b) If a case within the Accelerated Resolution Program is not resolved within 30 days of the date of assignment by the presiding judge, the time period provided in subsection (a), then the defendant shall be released from custody on his or her own recognizance or released on electronic monitoring. Any person released under this Section must agree to the terms and conditions of release provided by the court.
    (c) Nothing in this Act shall be construed as prohibiting a defendant from requesting a continuance. Any continuance granted on behalf of the defendant shall toll the 30-day requirement of this Act. Lack of participation by the victim or other continuances required on behalf of the State do not toll the 30-day requirement of this Act.
    (d) If a person is released on his or her own recognizance, the conditions of the release shall be that he or she shall:
        (1) appear to answer the charge in the court having
    
jurisdiction on a day certain and thereafter ordered by the court until discharged or final order of the court;
        (2) submit himself or herself to the orders and
    
process of the court;
        (3) not depart this State without leave of the court;
        (4) not violate any criminal statute of any
    
jurisdiction;
        (5) at a time and place designated by the court,
    
surrender all firearms in his or her possession to a law enforcement officer as required under paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 110-10 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963; and
        (6) (blank).
    (e) If the court finds that additional conditions are reasonably necessary to assure the defendant's appearance in court, protect the public from the defendant, or prevent the defendant's unlawful interference with the orderly administration of justice, the court may require the defendant to:
        (1) refrain from going to certain described
    
geographical areas or premises;
        (2) refrain from engaging in certain activities or
    
indulging in intoxicating liquors or in certain drugs;
        (3) undergo mental health treatment or treatment for
    
drug addiction or alcoholism;
        (4) attend or reside in a facility designated by the
    
court; or
        (5) comply with other reasonable conditions as the
    
court may impose.
    (f) A failure to appear as required by the recognizance shall constitute an offense subject to the penalty provided in Section 32-10 of the Criminal Code of 2012 for violation of bail bond.
    (g) The State may object to the referral of a case under Section 15 by providing written notice to the Cook County Sheriff's Office and the Office of the Public Defender.
    (h) The State may object to any order permitting release by personal recognizance or electronic monitoring.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15; 99-724, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 169/20

    (730 ILCS 169/20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 20. Repeal. This Act is repealed on June 30, 2019.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15; 99-724, eff. 1-1-17.)

730 ILCS 169/99

    (730 ILCS 169/99)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2019)
    Sec. 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect July 1, 2015.
(Source: P.A. 99-436, eff. 8-21-15.)