Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

EMPLOYMENT
(820 ILCS 205/) Child Labor Law.

820 ILCS 205/1

    (820 ILCS 205/1) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.1)
    Sec. 1. No minor under 16 years of age, except minors 14 or 15 years of age who are participating in federally funded work experience career education programs under the direction of the State Board of Education, at any time shall be employed, permitted or allowed to work in any gainful occupation in connection with any theater, concert hall or place of amusement, or any mercantile institution, store, office, hotel, laundry, manufacturing establishment, mill, cannery, factory or workshop, restaurant, lunchroom, beauty parlor, barber shop, bakery, or coal, brick or lumber yard, or in any type of construction work within this State; however, minors between 14 and 16 years of age may be employed, permitted, or allowed to work outside school hours and during school vacations but not in dangerous or hazardous factory work or in any occupation otherwise prohibited by law or by order or regulation made in pursuance of law. No minor under 12 years of age, except members of the farmer's own family who live with the farmer at his principal place of residence, at any time shall be employed, permitted or allowed to work in any gainful occupation in connection with agriculture, except that any minor of 10 years of age or more may be permitted to work in a gainful occupation in connection with agriculture during school vacations or outside of school hours.
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99.)

820 ILCS 205/2

    (820 ILCS 205/2) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.2)
    Sec. 2. Nothing in this Act applies to the work of a minor engaged in agricultural pursuits except for those persons restricted from working in a gainful occupation in connection with agriculture in Section 1 or in the sale and distribution of magazines and newspapers at hours when the schools of the district are not in session. Nothing in this Act applies to the employment of a minor outside school hours in and around a home at work usual to the home of the employer so long as that work is not in connection with or a part of the business, trade or profession of the employer.
    Nothing in this Act applies to the work of a minor in caddying at a golf course who is 13 or more years of age.
    Nothing in Section 9 of this Act applies to a minor, 14 or 15 years of age, during that part of the year from May 1 through September 30, in an occupational, vocational, or educational program funded by the Job Training Partnership Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-903.)

820 ILCS 205/2.5

    (820 ILCS 205/2.5)
    Sec. 2.5. Officiating youth activities. Nothing in this Act prohibits a minor who is 12 or 13 years of age from officiating youth sports activities for a not-for-profit youth club, park district, or municipal parks and recreation department if each of the following restrictions is met:
        (1) The parent or guardian of the minor who is
    
officiating or an adult designated by the parent or guardian shall be responsible for being present at the youth sports activity while the minor is officiating. Failure of the parent or guardian or designated adult to be present may result in the revocation of the employment certificate.
        (2) The employer must obtain certification as
    
provided for in Section 9 of this Act.
        (3) The minor may work as a sports official for a
    
maximum of 3 hours per day on school days and a maximum of 4 hours per day on non-school days, may not exceed 10 hours of officiating in any week, and may not work later than 9 p.m.
        (4) The participants in the youth sports activity
    
must be at least 3 years younger than the officiating minor, or an adult must be officiating the same youth sports activity. For the purposes of this subdivision (4), "adult" means an individual 16 years of age or older.
(Source: P.A. 92-592, eff. 6-27-02; 93-720, eff. 7-13-04.)

820 ILCS 205/3

    (820 ILCS 205/3) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.3)
    Sec. 3. Except as hereinafter provided, no minor under 16 years of age shall be employed, permitted, or allowed to work in any gainful occupation mentioned in Section 1 of this Act for more than 6 consecutive days in any one week, or more than 48 hours in any one week, or more than 8 hours in any one day, or be so employed, permitted or allowed to work between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. from Labor Day until June 1 or between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. from June 1 until Labor Day.
    The hours of work of minors under the age of 16 years employed outside of school hours shall not exceed 3 a day on days when school is in session, nor shall the combined hours of work outside and in school exceed a total of 8 a day; except that a minor under the age of 16 may work both Saturday and Sunday for not more than 8 hours each day if the following conditions are met: (1) the minor does not work outside school more than 6 consecutive days in any one week, and (2) the number of hours worked by the minor outside school in any week does not exceed 24.
    A minor 14 or more years of age who is employed in a recreational or educational activity by a park district, not-for-profit youth club, or municipal parks and recreation department while school is in session may work up to 3 hours per school day twice a week no later than 9 p.m. if the number of hours worked by the minor outside school in any week does not exceed 24 or between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. during that school district's summer vacation, or if the school district operates on a 12 month basis, the period during which school is not in session for the minor.
(Source: P.A. 92-592, eff. 6-27-02.)

820 ILCS 205/4

    (820 ILCS 205/4) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.4)
    Sec. 4. No minor under sixteen (16) years of age shall be employed, or permitted to work in any gainful occupations mentioned in Section 1 of this Act for more than five (5) hours continuously without an interval of at least thirty (30) minutes for meal period, and no period of less than thirty (30) minutes shall be deemed to interrupt a continuous period of work.
(Source: Laws 1945, p. 754.)

820 ILCS 205/5

    (820 ILCS 205/5) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.5)
    Sec. 5. Every employer covered by this Act shall post in a conspicuous place where minors under 16 years of age are employed, or allowed to work, a printed abstract of this Act and a list of the occupations prohibited to such minors, to be furnished by the Department of Labor. Such employers shall post in a conspicuous place where minors under 16 years of age are employed, or allowed to work a printed notice stating the hours of commencing and stopping work, the hours when the time or times allowed for dinner or other meals, begin and end, and the Department's toll free telephone number established under Section 17.4. The printed form of such notice shall be furnished by the Department of Labor.
(Source: P.A. 88-365.)

820 ILCS 205/6

    (820 ILCS 205/6) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.6)
    Sec. 6. It shall be the duty of every employer of minors between the ages of 14 and 16 years employed for or in connection with any gainful occupation mentioned in Section 1 to keep a register upon the premises where the work is being done on which register shall be recorded the name, age and place of residence of every minor between the ages of 14 and 16 years. It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to hire or employ or to permit or allow to work in or for or in connection with any of the gainful occupations mentioned in Section 1, any minor between the ages of 14 and 16 years unless there is first procured and placed on file on the premises where the work is being done, employment certificates issued as hereinafter provided and accessible to the authorized officers and employees of the Department of Labor, and to the truant officers and other school officials charged with the enforcement of the compulsory education law.
(Source: P.A. 84-551.)

820 ILCS 205/7

    (820 ILCS 205/7) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.7)
    Sec. 7. No minor under 16 years of age shall be employed, permitted or allowed to work:
        1. In, about or in connection with any public
    
messenger or delivery service, bowling alley, pool room, billiard room, skating rink, exhibition park or place of amusement, garage, or as a bell-boy in any hotel or rooming house or about or in connection with power-driven machinery; except this subsection shall not apply to ice skating rinks owned and operated by a school or unit of local government;
        2. In the oiling, cleaning or wiping of machinery or
    
shafting;
        3. In or about any mine or quarry; provided that
    
office and messenger and other non-hazardous employment shall not be prohibited by this Act;
        4. In stone cutting or polishing;
        5. In or about any hazardous factory work;
        6. In or about any plant manufacturing explosives or
    
articles containing explosive components, or in the use or transportation of same; provided that office and messenger and other non-hazardous employment shall not be prohibited by this Act;
        7. In or about plants manufacturing iron or steel,
    
ore reduction works, smelters, foundries, forging shops, hot rolling mills or any other place in which the heating, melting, or heat treatment of metals is carried on; provided that office and messenger and other non-hazardous employment shall not be prohibited by this Act;
        8. In the operation of machinery used in the cold
    
rolling of heavy metal stock, or in the operation of power-driven punching, shearing, stamping, or metal plate bending machines;
        9. In or about sawmills or lath, shingle, or
    
cooperage-stock mills; provided that office and messenger and other non-hazardous employment shall not be prohibited by this Act;
        10. In the operation of power-driven woodworking
    
machines, or off-bearing from circular saws;
        11. In the operation of freight elevators or hoisting
    
machines and cranes;
        12. In spray painting or in occupations involving
    
exposure to lead or its compounds or to dangerous or poisonous dyes or chemicals;
        13. In any place or establishment in which
    
intoxicating alcoholic liquors are served or sold for consumption on the premises, or in which such liquors are manufactured or bottled, except as follows:
            (A) bus-boy and kitchen employment, not otherwise
        
prohibited, when in connection with the service of meals at any private club, fraternal organization or veteran's organization shall not be prohibited by this subsection;
            (B) this subsection 13 does not apply to
        
employment that is performed on property owned or operated by a park district, as defined in subsection (a) of Section 1-3 of the Park District Code, if the employment is not otherwise prohibited by law;
        14. In oil refineries, gasoline blending plants, or
    
pumping stations on oil transmission lines;
        15. In the operation of laundry, dry cleaning, or
    
dyeing machinery;
        16. In occupations involving exposure to radioactive
    
substances;
        17. In or about any filling station or service
    
station;
        18. In construction work, including demolition and
    
repair;
        19. In roofing operations;
        20. In excavating operations;
        21. In logging operations;
        22. In public and private utilities and related
    
services;
        23. In operations in or in connection with
    
slaughtering, meat packing, poultry processing, and fish and seafood processing;
        24. In operations which involve working on an
    
elevated surface, with or without use of equipment, including but not limited to ladders and scaffolds;
        25. In security positions or any occupations that
    
require the use or carrying of a firearm or other weapon; or
        26. In occupations which involve the handling or
    
storage of human blood, human blood products, human body fluids, or human body tissues.
(Source: P.A. 95-180, eff. 1-1-08.)

820 ILCS 205/8

    (820 ILCS 205/8) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.8)
    Sec. 8. Authority to issue employment certificates.
    (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of this Act, the City or County Superintendent of Schools, or their duly authorized agents, are authorized to issue an employment certificate for any minor under sixteen (16) years of age, said certificate authorizing and permitting the appearance of such minor in a play or musical comedy with a professional traveling theatrical production on the stage of a duly licensed theatre wherein not more than two performances are given in any one day and not more than eight performances are given in any one week, or nine when a holiday occurs during the week, or in a musical recital or concert: Provided, that such minor is accompanied by his parent or guardian or by a person in whose care the parent or guardian has placed the minor and whose connection with the performance or with the operation of the theatre in which the minor is to appear is limited to the care of such minor or of minors appearing therein: And provided further, that such minor shall not appear on said stage or in a musical recital or concert, attend rehearsals, or be present in connection with such appearance or rehearsals, in the theatre where the play or musical comedy is produced or in the place where the concert or recital is given, for more than a total of six (6) hours in any one day, or on more than six (6) days in any one week, or for more than a total of twenty-four (24) hours in any one week, or after the hour of 11 postmeridian; and provided further, no such minor shall be excused from attending school except as authorized pursuant to Section 26-1 of the School Code. Application for such certificate shall be made by the manager of the theatre, or by the person in the district responsible for the musical recital or concert, and by the parent or guardian of such minor to the City or County Superintendent of Schools or his authorized agent at least fourteen (14) days in advance of such appearance. The City or County Superintendent of Schools or his agent may issue a permit if satisfied that adequate provision has been made for the educational instruction of such minor, for safeguarding his health and for the proper moral supervision of such minor, and that proper rest and dressing room facilities are provided in the theatre for such minor.
    (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of this Act, the City or Regional Superintendent of Schools, or their duly authorized agents, are authorized to issue an employment certificate for any minor under 16 years of age, such certificate authorizing and permitting the appearance of such minor as a model or in a motion picture, radio or television production: Provided, that no such minor shall be excused from attending school except as authorized pursuant to Section 26-1 of The School Code. The Department of Labor shall promulgate rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of this subsection. Such rules and regulations shall be designed to protect the health and welfare of child models or actors and to insure that the conditions under which minors are employed, used or exhibited will not impair their health, welfare, development or proper education.
    (c) In situations where a minor from another state seeks to obtain an Illinois employment certificate, the Department shall work with a City or Regional Superintendent of Schools, or the State Superintendent of Education, or his or her duly authorized agents, to issue the certificate. The Superintendent may waive the requirement in Section 12 of this Act that a minor submit his or her application in person, if the minor resides in another state.
(Source: P.A. 96-1247, eff. 7-23-10.)

820 ILCS 205/8.1

    (820 ILCS 205/8.1) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.8-1)
    Sec. 8.1. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of this Act, minors under 16 years of age may be employed as models, or as performers on live or pre-recorded radio or television, or in motion pictures, or in other entertainment-related performances, subject to reasonable conditions to be imposed by rule of the Department of Labor. This Section shall not apply to employment covered under Section 8 of this Act.
    (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of this Act, an employer who employs a minor under 16 years of age in a television, motion picture, or related entertainment production may apply to the Director of Labor, or his or her authorized representative, for a special waiver from that portion of Section 3 of this Act that prohibits the employment of a minor under 16 years of age between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. from Labor Day to June 1 or between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. from June 1 until Labor Day. An employer applying for the waiver shall submit to the Director of Labor, or his or her authorized representative, a completed application on the form that the Director of Labor provides. The Director of Labor, or his or her authorized representative, shall issue the waiver if, after investigation, he or she is satisfied that (i) the employment will not be detrimental to the health or welfare of the minor, (ii) the minor will be supervised adequately, and (iii) the education of the minor will not be neglected. The waiver shall contain signatures that show the consent of a parent or legal guardian of the minor, the employer, and an authorized representative of a collective bargaining unit if a collective bargaining unit represents the minor upon employment. The Department of Labor shall promulgate and publish all necessary rules for the enforcement of this Section, in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1994.
(Source: P.A. 88-594, eff. 8-26-94.)

820 ILCS 205/9

    (820 ILCS 205/9) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.9)
    Sec. 9. Except in occupations specifically exempted by Section 2 and agriculture, no minor under 16 years of age shall be employed, permitted or allowed to work in any gainful occupation unless the person, firm or corporation employing such minor procures and keeps on file an employment certificate.
(Source: P.A. 84-551.)

820 ILCS 205/10

    (820 ILCS 205/10) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.10)
    Sec. 10. Employment certificates shall permit employment during the school vacation or outside of school hours. The employment certificate shall be signed by the City or County Superintendent of Schools or their duly authorized agents and shall be in such a form as to show on its face the information and evidence required by Section 11 to be filed before the certificate is issued. An original certificate and 3 copies of the certificate shall be issued and the person issuing it shall:
        (i) mail the original to the minor's employer,
        (ii) send copies to the State Department of Labor and
    
to the minor's parent or legal guardian, and
        (iii) retain a copy in his files.
(Source: P.A. 88-365.)

820 ILCS 205/11

    (820 ILCS 205/11) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.11)
    Sec. 11. Employment certificate issuance; duration; revocation.
    (a) The employment certificate shall be issued by the City or County Superintendent of Schools or by their duly authorized agents and shall be valid for a period of one year. The person issuing these certificates shall have authority to administer the oaths provided for herein, but no fee shall be charged. It shall be the duty of the school board or local school authority, to designate a place or places where certificates shall be issued and recorded, and physical examinations made without fee, as hereinafter provided, and to establish and maintain the necessary records and clerical services for carrying out the provisions of this Act.
    The issuing officer shall notify the principal of the school attended by the minor for whom an employment certificate for out of school work is issued by him.
    The parent or legal guardian of a minor, or the principal of the school attended by the minor for whom an employment certificate has been issued may ask for the revocation of the certificate by petition to the Department of Labor in writing, stating the reasons he believes that the employment is interfering with the best physical, intellectual or moral development of the minor. The Department of Labor shall thereupon revoke the employment certificate by notice in writing to the employer of the minor.
    (b) In situations where a minor from another state seeks to obtain an Illinois employment certificate, the Department shall work with a City or Regional Superintendent of Schools, or the State Superintendent of Education, or his or her duly authorized agents, to issue the certificate. The Superintendent may waive the requirement in Section 12 of this Act that a minor submit his or her application in person, if the minor resides in another state.
(Source: P.A. 96-1247, eff. 7-23-10.)

820 ILCS 205/12

    (820 ILCS 205/12) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.12)
    Sec. 12. The person authorized to issue employment certificates shall issue a certificate only after examining and approving the written application and other papers required under this Section. The application shall be signed by the applicant's parent or legal guardian. The application shall be submitted in person by the minor desiring employment. The minor shall be accompanied by his or her parent, guardian, or custodian. The following papers shall be submitted with the application:
    1. A statement of intention to employ signed by the prospective employer, or by someone duly authorized by him, setting forth the specific nature of the occupation in which he intends to employ such minor and the exact hours of the day and number of hours per day and days per week during which the minor shall be employed.
    2. Evidence of age showing that the minor is of the age required by this Act, which evidence shall be documentary, and shall be required in the order designated, as follows:
        a. a birth certificate or transcript thereof
    
furnished by the State or County or a signed statement of the recorded date and place of birth issued by a registrar of vital records, or other officer charged with the duty of recording births, such registration having been completed within 10 years after the date of birth;
        b. a certificate of baptism, or transcript thereof,
    
duly certified, showing the date of birth and place of baptism of the child;
        c. other documentary proof of age (other than a
    
school record or an affidavit of age) such as a bona fide record of the date and place of the child's birth, kept in the Bible in which the records of births, marriages and deaths in the family of the child are preserved; a certificate of confirmation or other church ceremony at least one year old, showing the age of the child and the date and place of the confirmation or ceremony; or a certificate of arrival in the United States, issued by the United States Immigration Officer, showing the age of the child; or a life insurance policy at least one year old showing the age of the child;
        d. If none of the proofs of age described in items a,
    
b and c are obtainable, and only in that case, the issuing officer may accept a certificate signed by a physician, who shall be a public health officer or a public school physician, stating that he has examined the child and that in his opinion the child is at least of the age required by this Act. The certificate shall show the height and weight of the child, the condition of the child's teeth, and any other facts concerning the child's physical development revealed by the examination and upon which his opinion as to the child's age is based, and shall be accompanied by a school record of age.
    3. A statement on a form approved by the Department of Labor and signed by the principal of the school that the minor attends, or during school holidays when the principal is not available, then by the regional superintendent of schools or by a person designated by him for that purpose, showing the minor's name, address, social security number, grade last completed, and the names of his parents, provided that the statement shall be required only in the case of a minor who is employed on school days outside school hours, or on Saturdays or other school holidays during the school term.
    4. A statement of physical fitness signed by a public health or public school physician who has examined the minor, certifying that the minor is physically fit to be employed in all legal occupations or to be employed in legal occupations under limitations specified. If the statement of physical fitness is limited, the employment certificate issued thereon shall state clearly the limitations upon its use, and shall be valid only when used under the limitations so stated.
    In any case where the physician deems it advisable he may issue a certificate of physical fitness for a specified period of time, at the expiration of which the person for whom it was issued shall appear and be re-examined before being permitted to continue work.
    Examinations shall be made in accordance with the standards and procedures prescribed by the State Director of the Department of Labor, in consultation with the State Director of the Department of Public Health and the State Superintendent of Education, and shall be recorded on a form furnished by the Department of Labor. When made by public health or public school physicians, the examination shall be made without charge to the minor. In case a public health or public school physician is not available, a statement from a private physician who has examined the minor may be accepted, provided that the examination is made in accordance with the standards and procedures established by the Department of Labor.
    If the issuing officer refuses to issue a certificate to a minor, the issuing officer shall send to the principal of the school last attended by the minor the name and address of the minor and the reason for the refusal to issue the certificate.
(Source: P.A. 87-895; 88-365.)

820 ILCS 205/13

    (820 ILCS 205/13) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.13)
    Sec. 13.
    Every employer, during the period of employment of a minor under 16 years of age, shall keep on file at the place of employment an employment certificate issued for such minor. Any employer, upon termination of the employment of such minor, shall immediately return the certificate issued to the issuing officer. An employment certificate shall be valid only for the employer for whom issued, and a new certificate shall not be issued for the employment of a minor under 16 years of age except on the presentation of a new statement of intention to employ. The failure of any employer to produce for inspection such employment certificate for each minor in his establishment shall be prima facie evidence that the minor is employed without a certificate.
(Source: P.A. 78-607.)

820 ILCS 205/14

    (820 ILCS 205/14) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.14)
    Sec. 14. Upon request, the issuing officer shall issue a certificate of age to any person between sixteen (16) and twenty (20) years of age upon presentation of the same proof of age as is required for the issuance of employment certificates under this Act.
(Source: Laws 1945, p. 754.)

820 ILCS 205/15

    (820 ILCS 205/15) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.15)
    Sec. 15. Any certificate duly issued in accordance with this Act shall be prima facie evidence of the age of the minor for whom issued in any proceeding involving the employment of the minor under the Child Labor Law of the State, as to any act occurring subsequent to its issuance, or until revoked.
(Source: Laws 1945, p. 754.)

820 ILCS 205/16

    (820 ILCS 205/16) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.16)
    Sec. 16. The Department of Labor shall make, promulgate and enforce such reasonable rules and regulations relating to the administration and enforcement of the provisions of this Act, including the issuance of certificates authorized under this Act, as may be deemed expedient. The Department shall promulgate and publish all necessary rules for the enforcement of this Act, in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1991. In order to promote uniformity and efficiency of issuance, it shall in consultation with the State Superintendent of Education formulate the forms on which certificates shall be issued and also forms needed in connection with such issuance, and it shall supply such forms to the issuing officers. The Department of Labor, its deputies and inspectors, may suspend any certificate as an emergency action imperatively required for the public health, safety and welfare of minors if in their judgment it was improperly issued or if the minor is illegally employed. If the certificate is so suspended the employer and all interested parties shall be notified of such suspension in writing and such minor shall not thereafter be employed, permitted, or allowed to work until a final order is issued by the Department of Labor after a hearing either reinstating or revoking the certificate. The hearing shall commence within 21 days after the date of any such suspension. If the certificate is revoked the minor shall not thereafter be employed, permitted or allowed to work until a new certificate for the minor's employment has been obtained.
(Source: P.A. 87-139.)

820 ILCS 205/17

    (820 ILCS 205/17) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17)
    Sec. 17. It shall be the duty of the Department of Labor to enforce the provisions of this Act. The Department of Labor shall have the power to conduct investigations in connection with the administration and enforcement of this Act and the authorized officers and employees of the Department of Labor are hereby authorized and empowered, to visit and inspect, at all reasonable times and as often as possible, all places covered by this Act. Truant officers and other school officials authorized by the board of education or school directors shall report violations under this Act to the Department of Labor, and may enter any place in which children are, or are believed to be employed and inspect the work certificates on file. Such truant officers or other school officials also are authorized to file complaints against any employer found violating the provisions of this Act in case no complaints for such violations are pending; and when such complaints are filed by truant officers or other school officials the State's attorneys of this state shall appear for the people, and attend to the prosecution of such complaints. The Department of Labor shall conduct hearings in accordance with "The Illinois Administrative Procedure Act", approved September 22, 1975, as amended, upon written complaint by an investigator of the Department of Labor, truant officer or other school official, or any interested person of a violation of the Act or to revoke any certificate under this Act. After such hearing, if supported by the evidence, the Department of Labor may issue and cause to be served on any party an order to cease and desist from violation of the Act, take such further affirmative or other action as deemed reasonable to eliminate the effect of the violation, and may revoke any certificate issued under the Act and determine the amount of any civil penalty allowed by the Act. The Director of Labor or his authorized representative may compel by subpoena, the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of books, payrolls, records, papers and other evidence in any investigation or hearing and may administer oaths to witnesses.
(Source: P.A. 80-1482.)

820 ILCS 205/17.1

    (820 ILCS 205/17.1) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17-1)
    Sec. 17.1. Any party to a proceeding under the Act may apply for and obtain judicial review of an order of the Department of Labor entered under this Act in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Review Law, as amended, and the Department in proceedings under this Section may obtain an order of court for the enforcement of its order.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

820 ILCS 205/17.2

    (820 ILCS 205/17.2) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17-2)
    Sec. 17.2. Whenever it appears that any employer has violated a valid order of the Department of Labor issued under this Act the Director of Labor may commence an action and obtain from the court an order upon the employer commanding him to obey the order of the Department or be adjudged guilty of contempt of court and punished accordingly.
(Source: P.A. 80-1482.)

820 ILCS 205/17.3

    (820 ILCS 205/17.3) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17-3)
    Sec. 17.3. Any employer who violates any of the provisions of this Act or any rule or regulation issued under the Act shall be subject to a civil penalty of not to exceed $5,000 for each such violation. In determining the amount of such penalty, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the business of the employer charged and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. The amount of such penalty, when finally determined, may be
        (1) recovered in a civil action brought by the
    
Director of Labor in any circuit court, in which litigation the Director of Labor shall be represented by the Attorney General;
        (2) ordered by the court, in an action brought for
    
violation under Section 19, to be paid to the Director of Labor.
    Any administrative determination by the Department of Labor of the amount of each penalty shall be final unless reviewed as provided in Section 17.1 of this Act.
    Civil penalties recovered under this Section shall be paid into the Child Labor and Day and Temporary Labor Services Enforcement Fund, a special fund which is hereby created in the State treasury. Moneys in the Fund may be used, subject to appropriation, for exemplary programs, demonstration projects, and other activities or purposes related to the enforcement of this Act or for the activities or purposes related to the enforcement of the Day and Temporary Labor Services Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

820 ILCS 205/17.4

    (820 ILCS 205/17.4) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17-4)
    Sec. 17.4. The Department of Labor shall establish a toll free telephone number to facilitate: (a) information requests concerning the issuance of certificates under this Act, and (b) the reporting of violations of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-139.)

820 ILCS 205/17.5

    (820 ILCS 205/17.5) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.17-5)
    Sec. 17.5. The Department of Labor shall conduct ongoing outreach and education efforts concerning this Act targeted toward school districts, employers, and other appropriate community organizations. The Department shall, to the extent possible, coordinate these outreach and education activities with other appropriate State and federal agencies.
(Source: P.A. 87-139.)

820 ILCS 205/17.6

    (820 ILCS 205/17.6)
    Sec. 17.6. Reports of work related death, injury, or illness. If an employer is required to file a report with the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission under Section 6 of the Workers' Compensation Act or Section 6 of the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, and the report relates to the work related death, injury, or illness of a minor, the employer shall file a copy of the report with the Department of Labor. The Department may, by rule, require other employers to submit reports of work related deaths, injuries and illnesses of minors to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 93-721, eff. 1-1-05.)

820 ILCS 205/18.2

    (820 ILCS 205/18.2)
    Sec. 18.2. Annual report. The Department shall file with the General Assembly, no later than January 1 each year, a report of its activities regarding administration and enforcement of this Act for the preceding fiscal year.
(Source: P.A. 88-365.)

820 ILCS 205/19

    (820 ILCS 205/19) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.19)
    Sec. 19. Whoever wilfully employs or permits or allows any minor to be employed or to work in violation of this Act, or of any rule, regulation, order or ruling issued under the provisions of this Act, or whoever obstructs the Department of Labor, its inspectors or deputies, or any other person authorized to inspect places of employment under this Act, or whoever wilfully fails to comply with the provisions of Sections 5 and 6 of this Act, and whoever having under his, her or its control or custody any minor, wilfully permits or allows a minor to be employed or to work in violation of this Act, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. Each day during which any such violation of this Act continues shall constitute a separate and distinct offense, and such employment of any minor in violation of the Act shall, with respect to each minor so employed, constitute a separate and distinct offense. Whenever in the opinion of the Department of Labor such a violation of the Act has occurred it shall report said violation to the Attorney General of this State who shall prosecute all such violations reported.
(Source: P.A. 84-551.)

820 ILCS 205/21

    (820 ILCS 205/21) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.21)
    Sec. 21. If any part of this Act is decided to be unconstitutional and void, such decision shall not affect the validity of the remaining parts of this Act unless the part held void is indispensable to the operation of the remaining parts.
(Source: Laws 1945, p. 754.)

820 ILCS 205/22

    (820 ILCS 205/22) (from Ch. 48, par. 31.22)
    Sec. 22.
    This Act may be known and cited as the "Child Labor Law".
(Source: Laws 1945, p. 754.)