Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

EMPLOYMENT
(820 ILCS 160/) Employee Benefit Contribution Act.

820 ILCS 160/0.01

    (820 ILCS 160/0.01) (from Ch. 48, par. 39v.9)
    Sec. 0.01. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Employee Benefit Contribution Act.
(Source: P.A. 86-1324.)

820 ILCS 160/1

    (820 ILCS 160/1) (from Ch. 48, par. 39w)
    Sec. 1.
    Any employer who promises in writing to make payments to an employee welfare plan, vacation plan, health plan, dental plan, insurance plan, supplemental unemployment benefit plan, profit sharing plan, pension plan or any employee welfare plan, either by contract with an individual employee, by a collective bargaining agreement or by agreement with such employee plan, and who with intent to defraud the employees or their beneficiaries fails to make such payments within 30 days after they become due and payable, is guilty of a business offense for the first such failure for which the penalty is a $100 fine, and is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor for the second and subsequent such failure.
    The provisions of this Act shall not be applicable until and unless an authorized representative of the plan shall give 30 days written notice to the employer at his principal office by registered mail of any default in payment. The employer shall have 30 days upon receipt of written notice to make proper payment.
    In any criminal proceeding brought to enforce this Section, it shall be an affirmative defense that the employer was prohibited from fulfilling the duty to make such payments by order of a court of competent jurisdiction or by reason of pendency of proceedings in bankruptcy or by reason of natural catastrophe.
    Nothing in this Act shall be construed to relieve an employer from civil liability for failure to make such payments.
(Source: P.A. 78-912.)

820 ILCS 160/2

    (820 ILCS 160/2) (from Ch. 48, par. 39x)
    Sec. 2. Any employer who has agreed to make payments to an employee health insurance plan shall notify its employees of any failure to make such payments where such failure shall result in the total loss of insurance coverage so as to provide its employees a reasonable opportunity to replace such coverage at the time the employee health insurance plan terminates. The employer must provide written notification directly to each of its employees who are covered under the plan. Any employer who fails to provide timely notice of a prospective termination of a health insurance plan, which failure results in the deprivation of the opportunity to replace such coverage and which further results in damages to one or more employees arising from the loss of coverage, shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 92-126, eff. 1-1-02.)