Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.
BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS815 ILCS 655/0.01
(815 ILCS 655/) Rental-Purchase Agreement Act.
(815 ILCS 655/2)
(from Ch. 121 1/2, par. 1802)
(a) A rental-purchase agreement must be written in
plain English and clearly and simply in any other language used by the
merchant in any oral or written advertisement related to the
rental-purchase agreement. Numerical amounts must be stated in figures.
(b) Disclosures required by this Act must be printed or typed in each
rental-purchase agreement in a size equal to at least 10 point bold-faced
(c) A rental-purchase agreement may not contain a provision:
(1) requiring a confession of judgment;
(2) authorizing a merchant or an agent of the
merchant to commit a breach of the peace in the repossession of merchandise;
(3) waiving a defense, counterclaim or right the
consumer may have against the merchant or an agent of the merchant;
(4) requiring the purchase of insurance from the
merchant to cover the merchandise;
(5) requiring the payment of a late charge or
reinstatement fee unless a periodic payment is delinquent for 3 days and the charge or fee is in an amount not more than $5; or
(6) requiring a payment at the end of the scheduled
rental-purchase term in excess of or in addition to a regular periodic payment in order to acquire ownership of the merchandise. In no event shall the consumer be required to pay a sum greater than the total amount to be paid to acquire ownership, as disclosed in item (3) of subsection (g) of this Section.
(d) Only one late charge or reinstatement fee may be collected on a
payment regardless of the period during which it remains in default.
(e) A rental-purchase agreement must provide that:
(1) a charge in addition to periodic payments, if
any, must be reasonably related to the service performed; and
(2) a consumer who fails to make a timely payment may
reinstate an agreement, without losing rights or options previously acquired, by taking the required action before the later of one week or half of the number of days in a regular payment period after the due date of the payment.
(f) Notice of the right to reinstate an agreement must be disclosed in
the agreement. This Act does not prevent a merchant from attempting
repossession of merchandise during the reinstatement period, in
accordance with the agreement, and the consumer's right to reinstate an
agreement does not expire because of such a repossession. If the
merchandise is returned to the merchant during the applicable reinstatement
period, other than through judicial process, the right to
reinstate the agreement shall be extended for a period of not less than 30
days if the consumer has paid less than 60% of the total amount to be paid to
acquire ownership of the merchandise and shall be extended for a period of not
less than 60 days if the consumer has paid 60% or more of the total amount to
be paid to acquire ownership of the merchandise. On reinstatement,
the merchant shall provide the consumer with the same merchandise or
substitute merchandise of comparable quality and condition. If substitute
merchandise is provided, the merchant shall also provide the consumer with the
disclosures required in subsection (g) of this Section.
(g) A rental-purchase agreement must disclose:
(1) whether the merchandise is new or used;
(2) the amount and timing of payments;
(3) the total number of payments necessary and the
total amount to be paid to acquire ownership of the merchandise;
(4) the amount and purpose of any payment, charge or
fee in addition to the regular periodic payments;
(5) whether the consumer is liable for loss or damage
to the merchandise, and, if so, the maximum amount for which the consumer may be liable;
(6) that the consumer does not acquire ownership
rights unless the consumer has complied with the ownership terms of the agreement; and
(7) the cash price of the merchandise, whether the
merchandise is new or used.
(Source: P.A. 87-256; 88-644, eff. 9-9-94.)
(815 ILCS 655/3)
(from Ch. 121 1/2, par. 1803)
(a) An advertisement for a rental-purchase
agreement that refers to or states the amount of a payment or the right to
acquire ownership of any one particular item under the agreement must
clearly and conspicuously state:
(1) that the transaction advertised is a
(2) the total amount and number of payments necessary
to acquire ownership; and
(3) that the consumer does not acquire ownership
rights unless the merchandise is rented for a specified number of payment periods.
(b) Every item of property displayed or offered for rental-purchase by a
merchant shall have attached to its front or displayed as prominently as if
attached to its front a tag disclosing the amount to be paid to acquire
ownership of the merchandise.
(Source: P.A. 88-644, eff. 9-9-94.)