Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 10/) Child Care Act of 1969.

225 ILCS 10/1

    (225 ILCS 10/1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2211)
    Sec. 1.
    This Act shall be known and may be cited as the Child Care Act of 1969.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/2

    (225 ILCS 10/2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212)
    Sec. 2. Terms used in this Act, unless the context otherwise requires, have the meanings ascribed to them in the Sections following this Section and preceding Section 3.
(Source: P.A. 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

225 ILCS 10/2.01

    (225 ILCS 10/2.01) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.01)
    Sec. 2.01. Child. "Child" means any person under 18 years of age. For purposes of admission to and residence in child care institutions, group homes, and maternity centers, the term also means any person under 21 years of age who is referred by a parent or guardian, including an agency having legal responsibility for the person pursuant to the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987. Termination of care for such persons under 21 years of age shall occur no later than 90 days following completion of a public school secondary education program or the individual's eligibility for such a program.
(Source: P.A. 91-60, eff. 6-30-99.)

225 ILCS 10/2.01a

    (225 ILCS 10/2.01a) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.01a)
    Sec. 2.01a. "Homeless youth" has the same meaning as in Section 5 of "An Act creating the Department of Children and Family Services, codifying its powers and duties, and repealing certain Acts and Sections herein named", approved June 4, 1963, as amended.
(Source: P.A. 86-278; 86-386.)

225 ILCS 10/2.02

    (225 ILCS 10/2.02) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.02)
    Sec. 2.02.
    "Department" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/2.03

    (225 ILCS 10/2.03) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.03)
    Sec. 2.03.
    "Guardian" means the guardian of the person of a minor.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/2.04

    (225 ILCS 10/2.04) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.04)
    Sec. 2.04. "Related" means any of the following relationships by blood, marriage, or adoption: parent, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt, brother, sister, stepparent, stepbrother, stepsister, uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, or first cousin.
(Source: P.A. 80-459.)

225 ILCS 10/2.05

    (225 ILCS 10/2.05) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.05)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 2.05. "Facility for child care" or "child care facility" means any person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group, whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or arranges for care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator of the facility, apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of custody in any facility as defined in this Act, established and maintained for the care of children. "Child care facility" includes a relative who is licensed as a foster family home under Section 4 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 2.05. "Facility for child care" or "child care facility" means any person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group, whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or arranges for care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator of the facility, apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of custody in any facility as defined in this Act, established and maintained for the care of children. "Child care facility" includes a relative, as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act, who is licensed as a foster family home under Section 4 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-804, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 10/2.06

    (225 ILCS 10/2.06) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.06)
    Sec. 2.06. "Child care institution" means a child care facility where more than 7 children are received and maintained for the purpose of providing them with care or training or both. The term "child care institution" includes residential schools, primarily serving ambulatory handicapped children, and those operating a full calendar year, but does not include:
    (a) Any State-operated institution for child care established by legislative action;
    (b) Any juvenile detention or shelter care home established and operated by any county or child protection district established under the "Child Protection Act";
    (c) Any institution, home, place or facility operating under a license pursuant to the Nursing Home Care Act, the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013, or the ID/DD Community Care Act;
    (d) Any bona fide boarding school in which children are primarily taught branches of education corresponding to those taught in public schools, grades one through 12, or taught in public elementary schools, high schools, or both elementary and high schools, and which operates on a regular academic school year basis; or
    (e) Any facility licensed as a "group home" as defined in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-38, eff. 6-28-11; 97-227, eff. 1-1-12; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-104, eff. 7-22-13.)

225 ILCS 10/2.07

    (225 ILCS 10/2.07) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.07)
    Sec. 2.07.
    "Maternity center" means a facility in which any person, agency, or corporation other than one licensed as a foster family home or group home under this Act, receives, treats or cares for one or more unwed pregnant girls under 18 years of age, except that the term does not include any facility licensed under the "Hospital Licensing Act".
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/2.08

    (225 ILCS 10/2.08) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.08)
    Sec. 2.08. "Child welfare agency" means a public or private child care facility, receiving any child or children for the purpose of placing or arranging for the placement or free care of the child or children in foster family homes, unlicensed pre-adoptive and adoptive homes, or other facilities for child care, apart from the custody of the child's or children's parents. The term "child welfare agency" includes all agencies established and maintained by a municipality or other political subdivision of the State of Illinois to protect, guard, train or care for children outside their own homes and all agencies, persons, groups of persons, associations, organizations, corporations, institutions, centers, or groups providing adoption services, but does not include any circuit court or duly appointed juvenile probation officer or youth counselor of the court who receives and places children under an order of the court.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/2.09

    (225 ILCS 10/2.09) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.09)
    Sec. 2.09. "Day care center" means any child care facility which regularly provides day care for less than 24 hours per day for (1) more than 8 children in a family home, or (2) more than 3 children in a facility other than a family home, including senior citizen buildings. The term does not include (a) programs operated by (i) public or private elementary school systems or secondary level school units or institutions of higher learning that serve children who shall have attained the age of 3 years or (ii) private entities on the grounds of public or private elementary or secondary schools and that serve children who have attained the age of 3 years, except that this exception applies only to the facility and not to the private entities' personnel operating the program; (b) programs or that portion of the program which serves children who shall have attained the age of 3 years and which are recognized by the State Board of Education; (c) educational program or programs serving children who shall have attained the age of 3 years and which are operated by a school which is registered with the State Board of Education and which is recognized or accredited by a recognized national or multistate educational organization or association which regularly recognizes or accredits schools; (d) programs which exclusively serve or that portion of the program which serves handicapped children who shall have attained the age of 3 years but are less than 21 years of age and which are registered and approved as meeting standards of the State Board of Education and applicable fire marshal standards; (e) facilities operated in connection with a shopping center or service, religious services, or other similar facility, where transient children are cared for temporarily while parents or custodians of the children are occupied on the premises and readily available; (f) any type of day care center that is conducted on federal government premises; (g) special activities programs, including athletics, crafts instruction and similar activities conducted on an organized and periodic basis by civic, charitable and governmental organizations; (h) part day child care facilities, as defined in Section 2.10 of this Act; or (i) programs or that portion of the program which (1) serves children who shall have attained the age of 3 years, (2) is operated by churches or religious institutions as described in Section 501 (c) (3) of the federal Internal Revenue Code, (3) receives no governmental aid, (4) is operated as a component of a religious, nonprofit elementary school, (5) operates primarily to provide religious education, and (6) meets appropriate State or local health and fire safety standards.
    For purposes of (a), (b), (c), (d) and (i) of this Section, "children who shall have attained the age of 3 years" shall mean children who are 3 years of age, but less than 4 years of age, at the time of enrollment in the program.
(Source: P.A. 92-659, eff. 7-16-02.)

225 ILCS 10/2.10

    (225 ILCS 10/2.10) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.10)
    Sec. 2.10. "Part day child care facility" means a facility for which written notification has been filed pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 3 of this Act and which is conducted by a church, religious organization or social service agency in which individual children are provided care, on an intermittent basis, for up to 10 hours per seven day week. Any facility which provides intermittent care for up to 10 hours per 7 day week shall not provide such care for more than 8 hours in any given day during the 7 day week. Any facility which provides intermittent care for up to 10 hours per 7 day week shall provide at least one caregiver per 20 children. Any facility which operates for more than 10 hours per 7 day week or charges a fee for its services shall maintain written records indicating the parent's name, emergency phone numbers and the number of hours each child is served in order to verify that the facility is operating within the bounds set by this definition.
(Source: P.A. 87-724.)

225 ILCS 10/2.11

    (225 ILCS 10/2.11) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.11)
    Sec. 2.11. "Day care agency" means any person, group of persons, public or private agency, association or organization which undertakes to provide one or more day care homes with administrative services including, but not limited to, consultation, technical assistance, training, supervision, evaluation and provision of or referral to health and social services under contractual arrangement.
(Source: P.A. 83-126.)

225 ILCS 10/2.16

    (225 ILCS 10/2.16) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.16)
    Sec. 2.16. "Group home" means a child care facility which provides care for no more than 10 children placed by and under the supervision of a licensed child welfare agency with these homes being owned or rented, staffed, maintained and otherwise operated by the agency.
(Source: P.A. 79-1016.)

225 ILCS 10/2.17

    (225 ILCS 10/2.17) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.17)
    Sec. 2.17. "Foster family home" means a facility for child care in residences of families who receive no more than 8 children unrelated to them, unless all the children are of common parentage, or residences of relatives who receive no more than 8 related children placed by the Department, unless the children are of common parentage, for the purpose of providing family care and training for the children on a full-time basis, except the Director of Children and Family Services, pursuant to Department regulations, may waive the limit of 8 children unrelated to an adoptive family for good cause and only to facilitate an adoptive placement. The family's or relative's own children, under 18 years of age, shall be included in determining the maximum number of children served. For purposes of this Section, a "relative" includes any person, 21 years of age or over, other than the parent, who (i) is currently related to the child in any of the following ways by blood or adoption: grandparent, sibling, great-grandparent, uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, first cousin, great-uncle, or great-aunt; or (ii) is the spouse of such a relative; or (iii) is a child's step-father, step-mother, or adult step-brother or step-sister; "relative" also includes a person related in any of the foregoing ways to a sibling of a child, even though the person is not related to the child, when the child and its sibling are placed together with that person. The term "foster family home" includes homes receiving children from any State-operated institution for child care; or from any agency established by a municipality or other political subdivision of the State of Illinois authorized to provide care for children outside their own homes. The term "foster family home" does not include an "adoption-only home" as defined in Section 2.23 of this Act. The types of foster family homes are defined as follows:
    (a) "Boarding home" means a foster family home which receives payment for regular full-time care of a child or children.
    (b) "Free home" means a foster family home other than an adoptive home which does not receive payments for the care of a child or children.
    (c) "Adoptive home" means a foster family home which receives a child or children for the purpose of adopting the child or children.
    (d) "Work-wage home" means a foster family home which receives a child or children who pay part or all of their board by rendering some services to the family not prohibited by the Child Labor Law or by standards or regulations of the Department prescribed under this Act. The child or children may receive a wage in connection with the services rendered the foster family.
    (e) "Agency-supervised home" means a foster family home under the direct and regular supervision of a licensed child welfare agency, of the Department of Children and Family Services, of a circuit court, or of any other State agency which has authority to place children in child care facilities, and which receives no more than 8 children, unless of common parentage, who are placed and are regularly supervised by one of the specified agencies.
    (f) "Independent home" means a foster family home, other than an adoptive home, which receives no more than 4 children, unless of common parentage, directly from parents, or other legally responsible persons, by independent arrangement and which is not subject to direct and regular supervision of a specified agency except as such supervision pertains to licensing by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 92-318, eff. 1-1-02.)

225 ILCS 10/2.18

    (225 ILCS 10/2.18) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.18)
    Sec. 2.18. "Day care homes" means family homes which receive more than 3 up to a maximum of 12 children for less than 24 hours per day. The number counted includes the family's natural or adopted children and all other persons under the age of 12. The term does not include facilities which receive only children from a single household.
(Source: P.A. 87-674.)

225 ILCS 10/2.20

    (225 ILCS 10/2.20) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.20)
    Sec. 2.20. "Group day care home" means a family home which receives more than 3 up to a maximum of 16 children for less than 24 hours per day. The number counted includes the family's natural or adopted children and all other persons under the age of 12.
(Source: P.A. 87-675)

225 ILCS 10/2.21

    (225 ILCS 10/2.21) (from Ch. 23, par. 2212.21)
    Sec. 2.21. "Youth Emergency Shelter" means a child care facility licensed by the Department to provide overnight shelter, and referral for other services, to homeless youth under 18 years of age in accordance with the requirements of this Act and applicable rules of the Department.
(Source: P.A. 86-278; 86-386.)

225 ILCS 10/2.22

    (225 ILCS 10/2.22)
    Sec. 2.22. "Secure child care facility" means any child care facility licensed by the Department to provide secure living arrangements for children under 18 years of age who are subject to placement in facilities under the Children and Family Services Act and who are not subject to placement in facilities for whom standards are established by the Department of Juvenile Justice under Section 3-15-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections and which comply with the requirements of this Act and applicable rules of the Department and which shall be consistent with requirements established for child residents of mental health facilities under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 and the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code. "Secure child care facility" also means a facility that is designed and operated to ensure that all entrances and exists from the facility, a building, or a distinct part of the building are under the exclusive control of the staff of the facility, whether or not the child has the freedom of movement within the perimeter of the facility, building, or distinct part of the building.
(Source: P.A. 94-696, eff. 6-1-06.)

225 ILCS 10/2.23

    (225 ILCS 10/2.23)
    Sec. 2.23. "Adoption-only home" means a family home that receives only children whose parents' parental rights have been terminated or surrendered for the purpose of adoption only.
(Source: P.A. 92-318, eff. 1-1-02.)

225 ILCS 10/2.24

    (225 ILCS 10/2.24)
    Sec. 2.24. "Adoption services" includes any one or more of the following services performed for any type of compensation or thing of value, directly or indirectly: (i) arranging for the placement of or placing out a child, (ii) identifying a child for adoption, (iii) matching adoptive parents with biological parents, (iv) arranging or facilitating an adoption, (v) taking or acknowledging consents or surrenders for termination of parental rights for purposes of adoption, as defined in the Adoption Act, (vi) performing background studies on a child or adoptive parents, (vii) making determinations of the best interests of a child and the appropriateness of adoptive placement for the child, or (viii) post-placement monitoring of a child prior to adoption. "Adoption services" does not include the following: (1) the provision of legal services by a licensed attorney for which the attorney must be licensed as an attorney under Illinois law, (2) adoption-related services performed by public governmental entities or entities or persons performing investigations by court appointment as described in subsection A of Section 6 of the Adoption Act, (3) prospective biological parents or adoptive parents operating on their own behalf, (4) the provision of general education and training on adoption-related topics, or (5) post-adoption services, including supportive services to families to promote the well-being of members of adoptive families or birth families.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/2.25

    (225 ILCS 10/2.25)
    Sec. 2.25. "Unlicensed pre-adoptive and adoptive home" means any home that is not licensed by the Department as a foster family home and that receives a child or children for the purpose of adopting the child or children.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/2.26

    (225 ILCS 10/2.26)
    Sec. 2.26. "Eligible agency" means a licensed child welfare agency that (i) is currently fully accredited by the Council on Accreditation for Children and Family Services (COA) for adoption services and (ii) has had no Department substantiated licensing violations or COA accrediting violations that affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children served by that agency for the 4 years immediately preceding a determination of eligibility.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/2.27

    (225 ILCS 10/2.27)
    Sec. 2.27. "Deemed compliant" means that an eligible agency is presumed to be in compliance with requirements, provided that the Department has determined that current COA standards are at least substantially equivalent to those requirements. This presumption of compliance may be rebutted by Department substantiated evidence to the contrary. The Department may require periodic certification of COA accreditation from eligible agencies.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/2.28

    (225 ILCS 10/2.28)
    Sec. 2.28. Non-licensed service provider. "Non-licensed service provider" means an individual or entity that contracts with the Department to provide child welfare services that enable the Department to perform its duties under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, the Child Care Act of 1969, and the Children and Family Services Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-570, eff. 8-27-13.)

225 ILCS 10/2.29

    (225 ILCS 10/2.29)
    Sec. 2.29. Volunteer. "Volunteer" means a person who performs a service willingly and without pay.
(Source: P.A. 98-570, eff. 8-27-13.)

225 ILCS 10/3

    (225 ILCS 10/3) (from Ch. 23, par. 2213)
    Sec. 3. (a) No person, group of persons or corporation may operate or conduct any facility for child care, as defined in this Act, without a license or permit issued by the Department or without being approved by the Department as meeting the standards established for such licensing, with the exception of facilities for whom standards are established by the Department of Corrections under Section 3-15-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections and with the exception of facilities defined in Section 2.10 of this Act, and with the exception of programs or facilities licensed by the Department of Human Services under the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act.
    (b) No part day child care facility as described in Section 2.10 may operate without written notification to the Department or without complying with Section 7.1. Notification shall include a notarized statement by the facility that the facility complies with state or local health standards and state fire safety standards, and shall be filed with the department every 2 years.
    (c) The Director of the Department shall establish policies and coordinate activities relating to child care licensing, licensing of day care homes and day care centers.
    (d) Any facility or agency which is exempt from licensing may apply for licensing if licensing is required for some government benefit.
(Source: P.A. 88-670, eff. 12-2-94; 89-507, eff. 7-1-97.)

225 ILCS 10/3.1

    (225 ILCS 10/3.1)
    Sec. 3.1. Licenses for secure child care facility. The Department shall establish standards for licensing secure child care facilities which comply with the requirements of this Act, Section 2-27.1 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, applicable requirements of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, and applicable rules of the Department. On or before January 1, 1999, the Department shall develop rules that set standards and the degree of need for licensed secure facilities. Within 90 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1998, the Director shall appoint an advisory committee to assist the Department in the development of these rules.
(Source: P.A. 90-608, eff. 6-30-98.)

225 ILCS 10/3.5

    (225 ILCS 10/3.5)
    Sec. 3.5. Group homes for adolescents diagnosed with autism.
    (a) Subject to appropriation, the Department of Human Services, Developmental Disabilities Division, shall provide for the establishment of 3 children's group homes for adolescents who have been diagnosed with autism and who are at least 15 years of age and not more than 18 years of age. The homes shall be located in 3 separate geographical areas of the State. The homes shall operate 7 days per week and shall be staffed 24 hours per day. The homes shall feature maximum family involvement based on a service and support agreement signed by the adolescent's family and the provider. An eligible service provider: (i) must have a minimum of 5 years experience serving individuals with autism residentially and have successfully supported individuals with challenging behaviors; (ii) must demonstrate that staff have equal experience in this regard; and (iii) must have a full-time Board-Certified Behavior Analyst on staff.
    (b) The provider shall ensure that the staff at each home receives appropriate training in matters that include, but need not be limited to, the following: behavior analysis, skill training, and other methodologies of teaching such as discrete trial and picture exchange communication system.
    (c) The homes shall provide therapeutic and other support services to the adolescents being served there. The therapeutic curriculum shall be based on the principles of applied behavior analysis.
    (d) An agreeable rate shall be established by the Department of Children and Family Services and the Department of Human Services, Developmental Disabilities Division.
(Source: P.A. 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)

225 ILCS 10/4

    (225 ILCS 10/4) (from Ch. 23, par. 2214)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 4. License requirement; application; notice.
    (a) Any person, group of persons or corporation who or which receives children or arranges for care or placement of one or more children unrelated to the operator must apply for a license to operate one of the types of facilities defined in Sections 2.05 through 2.19 and in Section 2.22 of this Act. Any relative who receives a child or children for placement by the Department on a full-time basis may apply for a license to operate a foster family home as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act.
    (a-5) Any agency, person, group of persons, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group providing adoption services must be licensed by the Department as a child welfare agency as defined in Section 2.08 of this Act. "Providing adoption services" as used in this Act, includes facilitating or engaging in adoption services.
    (b) Application for a license to operate a child care facility must be made to the Department in the manner and on forms prescribed by it. An application to operate a foster family home shall include, at a minimum: a completed written form; written authorization by the applicant and all adult members of the applicant's household to conduct a criminal background investigation; medical evidence in the form of a medical report, on forms prescribed by the Department, that the applicant and all members of the household are free from communicable diseases or physical and mental conditions that affect their ability to provide care for the child or children; the names and addresses of at least 3 persons not related to the applicant who can attest to the applicant's moral character; and fingerprints submitted by the applicant and all adult members of the applicant's household.
    (c) The Department shall notify the public when a child care institution, maternity center, or group home licensed by the Department undergoes a change in (i) the range of care or services offered at the facility, (ii) the age or type of children served, or (iii) the area within the facility used by children. The Department shall notify the public of the change in a newspaper of general circulation in the county or municipality in which the applicant's facility is or is proposed to be located.
    (d) If, upon examination of the facility and investigation of persons responsible for care of children, the Department is satisfied that the facility and responsible persons reasonably meet standards prescribed for the type of facility for which application is made, it shall issue a license in proper form, designating on that license the type of child care facility and, except for a child welfare agency, the number of children to be served at any one time.
    (e) The Department shall not issue or renew the license of any child welfare agency providing adoption services, unless the agency (i) is officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law) and (ii) is in compliance with all of the standards necessary to maintain its status as an organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law). The Department shall grant a grace period of 24 months from the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly for existing child welfare agencies providing adoption services to obtain 501(c)(3) status. The Department shall permit an existing child welfare agency that converts from its current structure in order to be recognized as a 501(c)(3) organization as required by this Section to either retain its current license or transfer its current license to a newly formed entity, if the creation of a new entity is required in order to comply with this Section, provided that the child welfare agency demonstrates that it continues to meet all other licensing requirements and that the principal officers and directors and programs of the converted child welfare agency or newly organized child welfare agency are substantially the same as the original. The Department shall have the sole discretion to grant a one year extension to any agency unable to obtain 501(c)(3) status within the timeframe specified in this subsection (e), provided that such agency has filed an application for 501(c)(3) status with the Internal Revenue Service within the 2-year timeframe specified in this subsection (e).
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 4. License requirement; application; notice.
    (a) Any person, group of persons or corporation who or which receives children or arranges for care or placement of one or more children unrelated to the operator must apply for a license to operate one of the types of facilities defined in Sections 2.05 through 2.19 and in Section 2.22 of this Act. Any relative, as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act, who receives a child or children for placement by the Department on a full-time basis may apply for a license to operate a foster family home as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act.
    (a-5) Any agency, person, group of persons, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group providing adoption services must be licensed by the Department as a child welfare agency as defined in Section 2.08 of this Act. "Providing adoption services" as used in this Act, includes facilitating or engaging in adoption services.
    (b) Application for a license to operate a child care facility must be made to the Department in the manner and on forms prescribed by it. An application to operate a foster family home shall include, at a minimum: a completed written form; written authorization by the applicant and all adult members of the applicant's household to conduct a criminal background investigation; medical evidence in the form of a medical report, on forms prescribed by the Department, that the applicant and all members of the household are free from communicable diseases or physical and mental conditions that affect their ability to provide care for the child or children; the names and addresses of at least 3 persons not related to the applicant who can attest to the applicant's moral character; and fingerprints submitted by the applicant and all adult members of the applicant's household.
    (c) The Department shall notify the public when a child care institution, maternity center, or group home licensed by the Department undergoes a change in (i) the range of care or services offered at the facility, (ii) the age or type of children served, or (iii) the area within the facility used by children. The Department shall notify the public of the change in a newspaper of general circulation in the county or municipality in which the applicant's facility is or is proposed to be located.
    (d) If, upon examination of the facility and investigation of persons responsible for care of children, the Department is satisfied that the facility and responsible persons reasonably meet standards prescribed for the type of facility for which application is made, it shall issue a license in proper form, designating on that license the type of child care facility and, except for a child welfare agency, the number of children to be served at any one time.
    (e) The Department shall not issue or renew the license of any child welfare agency providing adoption services, unless the agency (i) is officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law) and (ii) is in compliance with all of the standards necessary to maintain its status as an organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law). The Department shall grant a grace period of 24 months from the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly for existing child welfare agencies providing adoption services to obtain 501(c)(3) status. The Department shall permit an existing child welfare agency that converts from its current structure in order to be recognized as a 501(c)(3) organization as required by this Section to either retain its current license or transfer its current license to a newly formed entity, if the creation of a new entity is required in order to comply with this Section, provided that the child welfare agency demonstrates that it continues to meet all other licensing requirements and that the principal officers and directors and programs of the converted child welfare agency or newly organized child welfare agency are substantially the same as the original. The Department shall have the sole discretion to grant a one year extension to any agency unable to obtain 501(c)(3) status within the timeframe specified in this subsection (e), provided that such agency has filed an application for 501(c)(3) status with the Internal Revenue Service within the 2-year timeframe specified in this subsection (e).
(Source: P.A. 98-804, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 10/4.1

    (225 ILCS 10/4.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2214.1)
    Sec. 4.1. Criminal Background Investigations. The Department shall require that each child care facility license applicant as part of the application process, and each employee and volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider, as a condition of employment, authorize an investigation to determine if such applicant, employee, or volunteer has ever been charged with a crime and if so, the disposition of those charges; this authorization shall indicate the scope of the inquiry and the agencies which may be contacted. Upon this authorization, the Director shall request and receive information and assistance from any federal, State or local governmental agency as part of the authorized investigation. Each applicant, employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider shall submit his or her fingerprints to the Department of State Police in the form and manner prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the fingerprint records now and hereafter filed in the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history records databases. The Department of State Police shall charge a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited in the State Police Services Fund and shall not exceed the actual cost of the records check. The Department of State Police shall provide information concerning any criminal charges, and their disposition, now or hereafter filed, against an applicant, employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider upon request of the Department of Children and Family Services when the request is made in the form and manner required by the Department of State Police.
    Information concerning convictions of a license applicant, employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider investigated under this Section, including the source of the information and any conclusions or recommendations derived from the information, shall be provided, upon request, to such applicant, employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider prior to final action by the Department on the application. State conviction information provided by the Department of State Police regarding employees, prospective employees, or volunteers of non-licensed service providers and child care facilities licensed under this Act shall be provided to the operator of such facility, and, upon request, to the employee, prospective employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider. Any information concerning criminal charges and the disposition of such charges obtained by the Department shall be confidential and may not be transmitted outside the Department, except as required herein, and may not be transmitted to anyone within the Department except as needed for the purpose of evaluating an application or an employee or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider. Only information and standards which bear a reasonable and rational relation to the performance of a child care facility shall be used by the Department or any licensee. Any employee of the Department of Children and Family Services, Department of State Police, or a child care facility receiving confidential information under this Section who gives or causes to be given any confidential information concerning any criminal convictions of an applicant, employee, or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor unless release of such information is authorized by this Section.
    A child care facility may hire, on a probationary basis, any employee or volunteer of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider authorizing a criminal background investigation under this Section, pending the result of such investigation. Employees and volunteers of a child care facility or non-licensed service provider shall be notified prior to hiring that such employment may be terminated on the basis of criminal background information obtained by the facility.
(Source: P.A. 98-570, eff. 8-27-13.)

225 ILCS 10/4.2

    (225 ILCS 10/4.2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2214.2)
    Sec. 4.2. (a) No applicant may receive a license from the Department and no person may be employed by a licensed child care facility who refuses to authorize an investigation as required by Section 4.1.
    (b) In addition to the other provisions of this Section, no applicant may receive a license from the Department and no person may be employed by a child care facility licensed by the Department who has been declared a sexually dangerous person under "An Act in relation to sexually dangerous persons, and providing for their commitment, detention and supervision", approved July 6, 1938, as amended, or convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following offenses stipulated under the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012:
        (1) murder;
        (1.1) solicitation of murder;
        (1.2) solicitation of murder for hire;
        (1.3) intentional homicide of an unborn child;
        (1.4) voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child;
        (1.5) involuntary manslaughter;
        (1.6) reckless homicide;
        (1.7) concealment of a homicidal death;
        (1.8) involuntary manslaughter of an unborn child;
        (1.9) reckless homicide of an unborn child;
        (1.10) drug-induced homicide;
        (2) a sex offense under Article 11, except offenses
    
described in Sections 11-7, 11-8, 11-12, 11-13, 11-35, 11-40, and 11-45;
        (3) kidnapping;
        (3.1) aggravated unlawful restraint;
        (3.2) forcible detention;
        (3.3) harboring a runaway;
        (3.4) aiding and abetting child abduction;
        (4) aggravated kidnapping;
        (5) child abduction;
        (6) aggravated battery of a child as described in
    
Section 12-4.3 or subdivision (b)(1) of Section 12-3.05;
        (7) criminal sexual assault;
        (8) aggravated criminal sexual assault;
        (8.1) predatory criminal sexual assault of a child;
        (9) criminal sexual abuse;
        (10) aggravated sexual abuse;
        (11) heinous battery as described in Section 12-4.1
    
or subdivision (a)(2) of Section 12-3.05;
        (12) aggravated battery with a firearm as described
    
in Section 12-4.2 or subdivision (e)(1), (e)(2), (e)(3), or (e)(4) of Section 12-3.05;
        (13) tampering with food, drugs, or cosmetics;
        (14) drug induced infliction of great bodily harm as
    
described in Section 12-4.7 or subdivision (g)(1) of Section 12-3.05;
        (15) hate crime;
        (16) stalking;
        (17) aggravated stalking;
        (18) threatening public officials;
        (19) home invasion;
        (20) vehicular invasion;
        (21) criminal transmission of HIV;
        (22) criminal abuse or neglect of an elderly or
    
disabled person as described in Section 12-21 or subsection (b) of Section 12-4.4a;
        (23) child abandonment;
        (24) endangering the life or health of a child;
        (25) ritual mutilation;
        (26) ritualized abuse of a child;
        (27) an offense in any other jurisdiction the
    
elements of which are similar and bear a substantial relationship to any of the foregoing offenses.
    (b-1) In addition to the other provisions of this Section, beginning January 1, 2004, no new applicant and, on the date of licensure renewal, no current licensee may operate or receive a license from the Department to operate, no person may be employed by, and no adult person may reside in a child care facility licensed by the Department who has been convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following offenses or an offense in any other jurisdiction the elements of which are similar and bear a substantial relationship to any of the following offenses:
 
(I) BODILY HARM

        (1) Felony aggravated assault.
        (2) Vehicular endangerment.
        (3) Felony domestic battery.
        (4) Aggravated battery.
        (5) Heinous battery.
        (6) Aggravated battery with a firearm.
        (7) Aggravated battery of an unborn child.
        (8) Aggravated battery of a senior citizen.
        (9) Intimidation.
        (10) Compelling organization membership of persons.
        (11) Abuse and criminal neglect of a long term care
    
facility resident.
        (12) Felony violation of an order of protection.
 
(II) OFFENSES AFFECTING PUBLIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND DECENCY

        (1) Felony unlawful use of weapons.
        (2) Aggravated discharge of a firearm.
        (3) Reckless discharge of a firearm.
        (4) Unlawful use of metal piercing bullets.
        (5) Unlawful sale or delivery of firearms on the
    
premises of any school.
        (6) Disarming a police officer.
        (7) Obstructing justice.
        (8) Concealing or aiding a fugitive.
        (9) Armed violence.
        (10) Felony contributing to the criminal delinquency
    
of a juvenile.

 
(III) DRUG OFFENSES

        (1) Possession of more than 30 grams of cannabis.
        (2) Manufacture of more than 10 grams of cannabis.
        (3) Cannabis trafficking.
        (4) Delivery of cannabis on school grounds.
        (5) Unauthorized production of more than 5 cannabis
    
sativa plants.
        (6) Calculated criminal cannabis conspiracy.
        (7) Unauthorized manufacture or delivery of
    
controlled substances.
        (8) Controlled substance trafficking.
        (9) Manufacture, distribution, or advertisement of
    
look-alike substances.
        (10) Calculated criminal drug conspiracy.
        (11) Street gang criminal drug conspiracy.
        (12) Permitting unlawful use of a building.
        (13) Delivery of controlled, counterfeit, or
    
look-alike substances to persons under age 18, or at truck stops, rest stops, or safety rest areas, or on school property.
        (14) Using, engaging, or employing persons under 18
    
to deliver controlled, counterfeit, or look-alike substances.
        (15) Delivery of controlled substances.
        (16) Sale or delivery of drug paraphernalia.
        (17) Felony possession, sale, or exchange of
    
instruments adapted for use of a controlled substance, methamphetamine, or cannabis by subcutaneous injection.
        (18) Felony possession of a controlled substance.
        (19) Any violation of the Methamphetamine Control
    
and Community Protection Act.
    (b-1.5) In addition to any other provision of this Section, for applicants with access to confidential financial information or who submit documentation to support billing, no applicant whose initial application was considered after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly may receive a license from the Department or a child care facility licensed by the Department who has been convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following felony offenses:
        (1) financial institution fraud under Section 17-10.6
    
of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (2) identity theft under Section 16-30 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (3) financial exploitation of an elderly person or a
    
person with a disability under Section 17-56 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (4) computer tampering under Section 17-51 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (5) aggravated computer tampering under Section 17-52
    
of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (6) computer fraud under Section 17-50 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (7) deceptive practices under Section 17-1 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (8) forgery under Section 17-3 of the Criminal Code
    
of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (9) State benefits fraud under Section 17-6 of the
    
Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (10) mail fraud and wire fraud under Section 17-24 of
    
the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (11) theft under paragraphs (1.1) through (11) of
    
subsection (b) of Section 16-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
    (b-2) Notwithstanding subsection (b-1), the Department may make an exception and, for child care facilities other than foster family homes, issue a new child care facility license to or renew the existing child care facility license of an applicant, a person employed by a child care facility, or an applicant who has an adult residing in a home child care facility who was convicted of an offense described in subsection (b-1), provided that all of the following requirements are met:
        (1) The relevant criminal offense occurred more than
    
5 years prior to the date of application or renewal, except for drug offenses. The relevant drug offense must have occurred more than 10 years prior to the date of application or renewal, unless the applicant passed a drug test, arranged and paid for by the child care facility, no less than 5 years after the offense.
        (2) The Department must conduct a background check
    
and assess all convictions and recommendations of the child care facility to determine if hiring or licensing the applicant is in accordance with Department administrative rules and procedures.
        (3) The applicant meets all other requirements and
    
qualifications to be licensed as the pertinent type of child care facility under this Act and the Department's administrative rules.
    (c) In addition to the other provisions of this Section, no applicant may receive a license from the Department to operate a foster family home, and no adult person may reside in a foster family home licensed by the Department, who has been convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following offenses stipulated under the Criminal Code of 1961, the Criminal Code of 2012, the Cannabis Control Act, the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, and the Illinois Controlled Substances Act:
 
(I) OFFENSES DIRECTED AGAINST THE PERSON

    (A) KIDNAPPING AND RELATED OFFENSES
        (1) Unlawful restraint.
 
    (B) BODILY HARM
        (2) Felony aggravated assault.
        (3) Vehicular endangerment.
        (4) Felony domestic battery.
        (5) Aggravated battery.
        (6) Heinous battery.
        (7) Aggravated battery with a firearm.
        (8) Aggravated battery of an unborn child.
        (9) Aggravated battery of a senior citizen.
        (10) Intimidation.
        (11) Compelling organization membership of persons.
        (12) Abuse and criminal neglect of a long term care
    
facility resident.
        (13) Felony violation of an order of protection.
 
(II) OFFENSES DIRECTED AGAINST PROPERTY

        (14) Felony theft.
        (15) Robbery.
        (16) Armed robbery.
        (17) Aggravated robbery.
        (18) Vehicular hijacking.
        (19) Aggravated vehicular hijacking.
        (20) Burglary.
        (21) Possession of burglary tools.
        (22) Residential burglary.
        (23) Criminal fortification of a residence or
    
building.
        (24) Arson.
        (25) Aggravated arson.
        (26) Possession of explosive or explosive incendiary
    
devices.

 
(III) OFFENSES AFFECTING PUBLIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND DECENCY

        (27) Felony unlawful use of weapons.
        (28) Aggravated discharge of a firearm.
        (29) Reckless discharge of a firearm.
        (30) Unlawful use of metal piercing bullets.
        (31) Unlawful sale or delivery of firearms on the
    
premises of any school.
        (32) Disarming a police officer.
        (33) Obstructing justice.
        (34) Concealing or aiding a fugitive.
        (35) Armed violence.
        (36) Felony contributing to the criminal delinquency
    
of a juvenile.

 
(IV) DRUG OFFENSES

        (37) Possession of more than 30 grams of cannabis.
        (38) Manufacture of more than 10 grams of cannabis.
        (39) Cannabis trafficking.
        (40) Delivery of cannabis on school grounds.
        (41) Unauthorized production of more than 5 cannabis
    
sativa plants.
        (42) Calculated criminal cannabis conspiracy.
        (43) Unauthorized manufacture or delivery of
    
controlled substances.
        (44) Controlled substance trafficking.
        (45) Manufacture, distribution, or advertisement of
    
look-alike substances.
        (46) Calculated criminal drug conspiracy.
        (46.5) Streetgang criminal drug conspiracy.
        (47) Permitting unlawful use of a building.
        (48) Delivery of controlled, counterfeit, or
    
look-alike substances to persons under age 18, or at truck stops, rest stops, or safety rest areas, or on school property.
        (49) Using, engaging, or employing persons under 18
    
to deliver controlled, counterfeit, or look-alike substances.
        (50) Delivery of controlled substances.
        (51) Sale or delivery of drug paraphernalia.
        (52) Felony possession, sale, or exchange of
    
instruments adapted for use of a controlled substance, methamphetamine, or cannabis by subcutaneous injection.
        (53) Any violation of the Methamphetamine Control and
    
Community Protection Act.
    (d) Notwithstanding subsection (c), the Department may make an exception and issue a new foster family home license or may renew an existing foster family home license of an applicant who was convicted of an offense described in subsection (c), provided all of the following requirements are met:
        (1) The relevant criminal offense or offenses
    
occurred more than 10 years prior to the date of application or renewal.
        (2) The applicant had previously disclosed the
    
conviction or convictions to the Department for purposes of a background check.
        (3) After the disclosure, the Department either
    
placed a child in the home or the foster family home license was issued.
        (4) During the background check, the Department had
    
assessed and waived the conviction in compliance with the existing statutes and rules in effect at the time of the hire or licensure.
        (5) The applicant meets all other requirements and
    
qualifications to be licensed as a foster family home under this Act and the Department's administrative rules.
        (6) The applicant has a history of providing a safe,
    
stable home environment and appears able to continue to provide a safe, stable home environment.
    (e) In evaluating the exception pursuant to subsections (b-2) and (d), the Department must carefully review any relevant documents to determine whether the applicant, despite the disqualifying convictions, poses a substantial risk to State resources or clients. In making such a determination, the following guidelines shall be used:
        (1) the age of the applicant when the offense was
    
committed;
        (2) the circumstances surrounding the offense;
        (3) the length of time since the conviction;
        (4) the specific duties and responsibilities
    
necessarily related to the license being applied for and the bearing, if any, that the applicant's conviction history may have on his or her fitness to perform these duties and responsibilities;
        (5) the applicant's employment references;
        (6) the applicant's character references and any
    
certificates of achievement;
        (7) an academic transcript showing educational
    
attainment since the disqualifying conviction;
        (8) a Certificate of Relief from Disabilities or
    
Certificate of Good Conduct; and
        (9) anything else that speaks to the applicant's
    
character.
(Source: P.A. 96-1551, Article 1, Section 925, eff. 7-1-11; 96-1551, Article 2, Section 990, eff. 7-1-11; 97-874, eff. 7-31-12; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

225 ILCS 10/4.3

    (225 ILCS 10/4.3) (from Ch. 23, par. 2214.3)
    Sec. 4.3. Child Abuse and Neglect Reports. All child care facility license applicants and all current and prospective employees of a child care facility who have any possible contact with children in the course of their duties, as a condition of such licensure or employment, shall authorize in writing on a form prescribed by the Department an investigation of the Central Register, as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, to ascertain if such applicant or employee has been determined to be a perpetrator in an indicated report of child abuse or neglect.
    All child care facilities as a condition of licensure pursuant to this Act shall maintain such information which demonstrates that all current employees and other applicants for employment who have any possible contact with children in the course of their duties have authorized an investigation of the Central Register as hereinabove required. Only those current or prospective employees who will have no possible contact with children as part of their present or prospective employment may be excluded from provisions requiring authorization of an investigation.
    Such information concerning a license applicant, employee or prospective employee obtained by the Department shall be confidential and exempt from public inspection and copying as provided under Section 7 of The Freedom of Information Act, and such information shall not be transmitted outside the Department, except as provided in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and shall not be transmitted to anyone within the Department except as provided in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and shall not be transmitted to anyone within the Department except as needed for the purposes of evaluation of an application for licensure or for consideration by a child care facility of an employee. Any employee of the Department of Children and Family Services under this Section who gives or causes to be given any confidential information concerning any child abuse or neglect reports about a child care facility applicant, child care facility employee, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, unless release of such information is authorized by Section 11.1 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
    Additionally, any licensee who is informed by the Department of Children and Family Services, pursuant to Section 7.4 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, approved June 26, 1975, as amended, that a formal investigation has commenced relating to an employee of the child care facility or any other person in frequent contact with children at the facility, shall take reasonable action necessary to insure that the employee or other person is restricted during the pendency of the investigation from contact with children whose care has been entrusted to the facility.
    When a foster family home is the subject of an indicated report under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, the Department of Children and Family Services must immediately conduct a re-examination of the foster family home to evaluate whether it continues to meet the minimum standards for licensure. The re-examination is separate and apart from the formal investigation of the report. The Department must establish a schedule for re-examination of the foster family home mentioned in the report at least once a year.
(Source: P.A. 91-557, eff. 1-1-00.)

225 ILCS 10/4.4

    (225 ILCS 10/4.4) (from Ch. 23, par. 2214.4)
    Sec. 4.4. For the purposes of background investigations authorized in this Act, "license applicant" means the operator or person with direct responsibility for daily operation of the facility to be licensed. In the case of facilities to be operated in a family home, the Department may, by rule, require that other adult residents of that home also authorize such investigations.
(Source: P.A. 84-158.)

225 ILCS 10/4.5

    (225 ILCS 10/4.5)
    Sec. 4.5. Children with disabilities; training.
    (a) An owner or operator of a licensed day care home or group day care home or the onsite executive director of a licensed day care center must successfully complete a basic training course in providing care to children with disabilities. The basic training course will also be made available on a voluntary basis to those providers who are exempt from the licensure requirements of this Act.
    (b) The Department of Children and Family Services shall promulgate rules establishing the requirements for basic training in providing care to children with disabilities.
(Source: P.A. 92-164, eff. 1-1-02.)

225 ILCS 10/5

    (225 ILCS 10/5) (from Ch. 23, par. 2215)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 5. (a) In respect to child care institutions, maternity centers, child welfare agencies, day care centers, day care agencies and group homes, the Department, upon receiving application filed in proper order, shall examine the facilities and persons responsible for care of children therein.
    (b) In respect to foster family and day care homes, applications may be filed on behalf of such homes by a licensed child welfare agency, by a State agency authorized to place children in foster care or by out-of-State agencies approved by the Department to place children in this State. In respect to day care homes, applications may be filed on behalf of such homes by a licensed day care agency or licensed child welfare agency. In applying for license in behalf of a home in which children are placed by and remain under supervision of the applicant agency, such agency shall certify that the home and persons responsible for care of unrelated children therein, or the home and relatives responsible for the care of related children therein, were found to be in reasonable compliance with standards prescribed by the Department for the type of care indicated.
    (c) The Department shall not allow any person to examine facilities under a provision of this Act who has not passed an examination demonstrating that such person is familiar with this Act and with the appropriate standards and regulations of the Department.
    (d) With the exception of day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes, licenses shall be issued in such form and manner as prescribed by the Department and are valid for 4 years from the date issued, unless revoked by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. Licenses issued for day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes shall be valid for 3 years from the date issued, unless revoked by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing nature, the existing license shall continue in full force and effect for up to 30 days until the final agency decision on the application has been made. The Department may further extend the period in which such decision must be made in individual cases for up to 30 days, but such extensions shall be only upon good cause shown.
    (e) The Department may issue one 6-month permit to a newly established facility for child care to allow that facility reasonable time to become eligible for a full license. If the facility for child care is a foster family home, or day care home the Department may issue one 2-month permit only.
    (f) The Department may issue an emergency permit to a child care facility taking in children as a result of the temporary closure for more than 2 weeks of a licensed child care facility due to a natural disaster. An emergency permit under this subsection shall be issued to a facility only if the persons providing child care services at the facility were employees of the temporarily closed day care center at the time it was closed. No investigation of an employee of a child care facility receiving an emergency permit under this subsection shall be required if that employee has previously been investigated at another child care facility. No emergency permit issued under this subsection shall be valid for more than 90 days after the date of issuance.
    (g) During the hours of operation of any licensed child care facility, authorized representatives of the Department may without notice visit the facility for the purpose of determining its continuing compliance with this Act or regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
    (h) Day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes shall be monitored at least annually by a licensing representative from the Department or the agency that recommended licensure.
(Source: P.A. 89-21, eff. 7-1-95; 89-263, eff. 8-10-95; 89-626, eff. 8-9-96.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-804)
    Sec. 5. (a) In respect to child care institutions, maternity centers, child welfare agencies, day care centers, day care agencies and group homes, the Department, upon receiving application filed in proper order, shall examine the facilities and persons responsible for care of children therein.
    (b) In respect to foster family and day care homes, applications may be filed on behalf of such homes by a licensed child welfare agency, by a State agency authorized to place children in foster care or by out-of-State agencies approved by the Department to place children in this State. In respect to day care homes, applications may be filed on behalf of such homes by a licensed day care agency or licensed child welfare agency. In applying for license in behalf of a home in which children are placed by and remain under supervision of the applicant agency, such agency shall certify that the home and persons responsible for care of unrelated children therein, or the home and relatives, as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act, responsible for the care of related children therein, were found to be in reasonable compliance with standards prescribed by the Department for the type of care indicated.
    (c) The Department shall not allow any person to examine facilities under a provision of this Act who has not passed an examination demonstrating that such person is familiar with this Act and with the appropriate standards and regulations of the Department.
    (d) With the exception of day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes, licenses shall be issued in such form and manner as prescribed by the Department and are valid for 4 years from the date issued, unless revoked by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. Licenses issued for day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes shall be valid for 3 years from the date issued, unless revoked by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing nature, the existing license shall continue in full force and effect for up to 30 days until the final agency decision on the application has been made. The Department may further extend the period in which such decision must be made in individual cases for up to 30 days, but such extensions shall be only upon good cause shown.
    (e) The Department may issue one 6-month permit to a newly established facility for child care to allow that facility reasonable time to become eligible for a full license. If the facility for child care is a foster family home, or day care home the Department may issue one 2-month permit only.
    (f) The Department may issue an emergency permit to a child care facility taking in children as a result of the temporary closure for more than 2 weeks of a licensed child care facility due to a natural disaster. An emergency permit under this subsection shall be issued to a facility only if the persons providing child care services at the facility were employees of the temporarily closed day care center at the time it was closed. No investigation of an employee of a child care facility receiving an emergency permit under this subsection shall be required if that employee has previously been investigated at another child care facility. No emergency permit issued under this subsection shall be valid for more than 90 days after the date of issuance.
    (g) During the hours of operation of any licensed child care facility, authorized representatives of the Department may without notice visit the facility for the purpose of determining its continuing compliance with this Act or regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
    (h) Day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes shall be monitored at least annually by a licensing representative from the Department or the agency that recommended licensure.
(Source: P.A. 98-804, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 10/5.1

    (225 ILCS 10/5.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2215.1)
    Sec. 5.1. (a) The Department shall ensure that no day care center, group home or child care institution as defined in this Act shall on a regular basis transport a child or children with any motor vehicle unless such vehicle is operated by a person who complies with the following requirements:
        1. is 21 years of age or older;
        2. currently holds a valid driver's license, which
    
has not been revoked or suspended for one or more traffic violations during the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application;
        3. demonstrates physical fitness to operate vehicles
    
by submitting the results of a medical examination conducted by a licensed physician;
        4. has not been convicted of more than 2 offenses
    
against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles within a twelve month period;
        5. has not been convicted of reckless driving or
    
driving under the influence or manslaughter or reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle within the past 3 years;
        6. has signed and submitted a written statement
    
certifying that he has not, through the unlawful operation of a motor vehicle, caused an accident which resulted in the death of any person within the 5 years immediately prior to the date of application.
    However, such day care centers, group homes and child care institutions may provide for transportation of a child or children for special outings, functions or purposes that are not scheduled on a regular basis without verification that drivers for such purposes meet the requirements of this Section.
    (a-5) As a means of ensuring compliance with the requirements set forth in subsection (a), the Department shall implement appropriate measures to verify that every individual who is employed at a group home or child care institution meets those requirements.
    For every individual employed at a group home or child care institution who regularly transports children in the course of performing his or her duties, the Department must make the verification every 2 years. Upon the Department's request, the Secretary of State shall provide the Department with the information necessary to enable the Department to make the verifications required under subsection (a).
    In the case of an individual employed at a group home or child care institution who becomes subject to subsection (a) for the first time after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, the Department must make that verification with the Secretary of State before the individual operates a motor vehicle to transport a child or children under the circumstances described in subsection (a).
    In the case of an individual employed at a group home or child care institution who is subject to subsection (a) on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, the Department must make that verification with the Secretary of State within 30 days after that effective date.
    If the Department discovers that an individual fails to meet the requirements set forth in subsection (a), the Department shall promptly notify the appropriate group home or child care institution.
    (b) Any individual who holds a valid Illinois school bus driver permit issued by the Secretary of State pursuant to The Illinois Vehicle Code, and who is currently employed by a school district or parochial school, or by a contractor with a school district or parochial school, to drive a school bus transporting children to and from school, shall be deemed in compliance with the requirements of subsection (a).
    (c) The Department may, pursuant to Section 8 of this Act, revoke the license of any day care center, group home or child care institution that fails to meet the requirements of this Section.
    (d) A group home or child care institution that fails to meet the requirements of this Section is guilty of a petty offense and is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000. Each day that a group home or child care institution fails to meet the requirements of this Section is a separate offense.
(Source: P.A. 94-943, eff. 1-1-07.)

225 ILCS 10/5.2

    (225 ILCS 10/5.2)
    Sec. 5.2. Unsafe children's products.
    (a) A child care facility may not use or have on the premises, on or after July 1, 2000, an unsafe children's product as described in Section 15 of the Children's Product Safety Act. This subsection (a) does not apply to an antique or collectible children's product if it is not used by, or accessible to, any child in the child care facility.
    (b) The Department of Children and Family Services shall notify child care facilities, on an ongoing basis, including during the license application facility examination and during annual license monitoring visits, of the provisions of this Section and the Children's Product Safety Act and of the comprehensive list of unsafe children's products as provided and maintained by the Department of Public Health available on the Internet, as determined in accordance with that Act, in plain, non-technical language that will enable each child care facility to effectively inspect children's products and identify unsafe children's products. The Department of Children and Family Services shall adopt rules to maintain data on child care facilities without Internet access and shall ensure the child care facilities without Internet access register for available mailing lists of pertinent recalls distributed in paper form. Child care facilities must maintain all written information provided pursuant to this subsection in a file accessible to both facility staff and parents of children attending the facility. Child care facilities must post in prominent locations regularly visited by parents written notification of the existence of the comprehensive list of unsafe children's products available on the Internet. The Department of Children and Family Services shall adopt rules to carry out this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-82, eff. 7-15-13.)

225 ILCS 10/5.3

    (225 ILCS 10/5.3)
    Sec. 5.3. Lunches in day care homes. In order to increase the affordability and availability of day care, a day care home licensed under this Act may allow any child it receives to bring his or her lunch for consumption instead of or in addition to the lunch provided by the day care home.
(Source: P.A. 90-242, eff. 1-1-98.)

225 ILCS 10/5.5

    (225 ILCS 10/5.5)
    Sec. 5.5. Smoking in day care facilities.
    (a) The General Assembly finds and declares that:
        (1) The U.S. government has determined that
    
secondhand tobacco smoke is a major threat to public health for which there is no safe level of exposure.
        (2) The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently
    
classified secondhand tobacco smoke a Class A carcinogen, ranking it with substances such as asbestos and benzene.
        (3) According to U.S. government figures, secondhand
    
tobacco smoke is linked to the lung-cancer deaths of an estimated 3,000 nonsmokers per year.
        (4) Cigarette smoke is a special risk to children,
    
causing between 150,000 and 300,000 respiratory infections each year in children under 18 months old, and endangering between 200,000 and one million children with asthma.
        (5) The health of the children of this State should
    
not be compromised by needless exposure to secondhand tobacco smoke.
    (b) Beginning January 1, 1994, it is a violation of this Act for any person, on any day when the center is in operation, to smoke tobacco in any area of a day care center in which children are allowed, regardless of whether or not any children are present at that moment.
    (c) Beginning January 1, 1994, it is a violation of this Act for any person to smoke tobacco in any area of a day care home or group day care home in which day care services are being provided to children, while those children are present. This subsection does not prohibit smoking in the home in the presence of a person's own children or of children to whom day care services are not then being provided.
    (d) It is a violation of this Act for any person responsible for the operation of a day care center, day care home, or group day care home to knowingly allow or encourage any violation of subsection (b) or (c) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 88-95.)

225 ILCS 10/5.6

    (225 ILCS 10/5.6)
    Sec. 5.6. Pesticide and lawn care product application at day care centers.
    (a) Licensed day care centers shall abide by the requirements of Sections 10.2 and 10.3 of the Structural Pest Control Act.
    (b) Notification required pursuant to Section 10.3 of the Structural Pest Control Act may not be given more than 30 days before the application of the pesticide.
    (c) Each licensed day care center, subject to the requirements of Section 10.3 of the Structural Pest Control Act, must ensure that pesticides will not be applied when children are present at the center. Toys and other items mouthed or handled by the children must be removed from the area before pesticides are applied. Children must not return to the treated area within 2 hours after a pesticide application or as specified on the pesticide label, whichever time is greater.
    (d) The owners and operators of licensed day care centers must ensure that lawn care products will not be applied to day care center grounds when children are present at the center or on its grounds. For the purpose of this Section, "lawn care product" has the same meaning as that term is defined in the Lawn Care Products Application and Notice Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-424, eff. 8-13-09.)

225 ILCS 10/5.7

    (225 ILCS 10/5.7)
    Sec. 5.7. Fire inspections; authority.
    (a) Per the requirements of Public Act 96-1141, on January 1, 2011 a report titled "Streamlined Auditing and Monitoring for Community Based Services: First Steps Toward a More Efficient System for Providers, State Government, and the Community" was provided for members of the General Assembly. The report, which was developed by a steering committee of community providers, trade associations, and designated representatives from the Departments of Children and Family Services, Healthcare and Family Services, Human Services, and Public Health, issued a series of recommendations, including recommended changes to Administrative Rules and Illinois statutes, on the categories of deemed status for accreditation, fiscal audits, centralized repository of information, Medicaid, technology, contracting, and streamlined monitoring procedures. It is the intent of the 97th General Assembly to pursue implementation of those recommendations that have been determined to require Acts of the General Assembly.
    (b) For child care facilities licensed under this Act, the Office of the State Fire Marshal shall provide the necessary fire inspection to comply with licensing requirements. The Office of the State Fire Marshal may enter into an agreement with another State agency to conduct this inspection if qualified personnel are employed by that agency. Code enforcement inspection of the facility by the local authority shall only occur if the local authority having jurisdiction enforces code requirements that are more stringent than those enforced by the State Fire Marshal. Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a local fire authority from conducting fire incident planning activities.
(Source: P.A. 97-321, eff. 8-12-11.)

225 ILCS 10/5.8

    (225 ILCS 10/5.8)
    Sec. 5.8. Radon testing of licensed day care centers, licensed day care homes, and licensed group day care homes.
    (a) Effective January 1, 2013, licensed day care centers, licensed day care homes, and licensed group day care homes shall have the facility tested for radon at least once every 3 years pursuant to rules established by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.
    (b) Effective January 1, 2014, as part of an initial application or application for renewal of a license for day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes, the Department shall require proof the facility has been tested within the last 3 years for radon pursuant to rules established by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.
    (c) The report of the most current radon measurement shall be posted in the facility next to the license issued by the Department. Copies of the report shall be provided to parents or guardians upon request.
    (d) Included with the report referenced in subsection (c) shall be the following statement:
        "Every parent or guardian is notified that this
    
facility has performed radon measurements to ensure the health and safety of the occupants. The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) recommends that all residential homes be tested and that corrective actions be taken at levels equal to or greater than 4.0 pCi/L. Radon is a Class A human carcinogen, the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers, and the second leading cause of lung cancer overall. For additional information about this facility contact the licensee and for additional information regarding radon contact the IEMA Radon Program at 800-325-1245 or on the Internet at www.radon.illinois.gov.".
(Source: P.A. 97-981, eff. 1-1-13.)

225 ILCS 10/6

    (225 ILCS 10/6) (from Ch. 23, par. 2216)
    Sec. 6. (a) A licensed facility operating as a "child care institution", "maternity center", "child welfare agency", "day care agency" or "day care center" must apply for renewal of its license held, the application to be made to the Department on forms prescribed by it.
    (b) The Department, a duly licensed child welfare agency or a suitable agency or person designated by the Department as its agent to do so, must re-examine every child care facility for renewal of license, including in that process the examination of the premises and records of the facility as the Department considers necessary to determine that minimum standards for licensing continue to be met, and random surveys of parents or legal guardians who are consumers of such facilities' services to assess the quality of care at such facilities. In the case of foster family homes, or day care homes under the supervision of or otherwise required to be licensed by the Department, or under supervision of a licensed child welfare agency or day care agency, the examination shall be made by the Department, or agency supervising such homes. If the Department is satisfied that the facility continues to maintain minimum standards which it prescribes and publishes, it shall renew the license to operate the facility.
    (c) If a child care facility's license is revoked, or if the Department refuses to renew a facility's license, the facility may not reapply for a license before the expiration of 12 months following the Department's action; provided, however, that the denial of a reapplication for a license pursuant to this subsection must be supported by evidence that the prior revocation renders the applicant unqualified or incapable of satisfying the standards and rules promulgated by the Department pursuant to this Act or maintaining a facility which adheres to such standards and rules.
(Source: P.A. 86-554.)

225 ILCS 10/7

    (225 ILCS 10/7) (from Ch. 23, par. 2217)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-817)
    Sec. 7. (a) The Department must prescribe and publish minimum standards for licensing that apply to the various types of facilities for child care defined in this Act and that are equally applicable to like institutions under the control of the Department and to foster family homes used by and under the direct supervision of the Department. The Department shall seek the advice and assistance of persons representative of the various types of child care facilities in establishing such standards. The standards prescribed and published under this Act take effect as provided in the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, and are restricted to regulations pertaining to the following matters and to any rules and regulations required or permitted by any other Section of this Act:
        (1) The operation and conduct of the facility and
    
responsibility it assumes for child care;
        (2) The character, suitability and qualifications of
    
the applicant and other persons directly responsible for the care and welfare of children served. All child day care center licensees and employees who are required to report child abuse or neglect under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act shall be required to attend training on recognizing child abuse and neglect, as prescribed by Department rules;
        (3) The general financial ability and competence of
    
the applicant to provide necessary care for children and to maintain prescribed standards;
        (4) The number of individuals or staff required to
    
insure adequate supervision and care of the children received. The standards shall provide that each child care institution, maternity center, day care center, group home, day care home, and group day care home shall have on its premises during its hours of operation at least one staff member certified in first aid, in the Heimlich maneuver and in cardiopulmonary resuscitation by the American Red Cross or other organization approved by rule of the Department. Child welfare agencies shall not be subject to such a staffing requirement. The Department may offer, or arrange for the offering, on a periodic basis in each community in this State in cooperation with the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or other appropriate organization, voluntary programs to train operators of foster family homes and day care homes in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
        (5) The appropriateness, safety, cleanliness and
    
general adequacy of the premises, including maintenance of adequate fire prevention and health standards conforming to State laws and municipal codes to provide for the physical comfort, care and well-being of children received;
        (6) Provisions for food, clothing, educational
    
opportunities, program, equipment and individual supplies to assure the healthy physical, mental and spiritual development of children served;
        (7) Provisions to safeguard the legal rights of
    
children served;
        (8) Maintenance of records pertaining to the
    
admission, progress, health and discharge of children, including, for day care centers and day care homes, records indicating each child has been immunized as required by State regulations. The Department shall require proof that children enrolled in a facility have been immunized against Haemophilus Influenzae B (HIB);
        (9) Filing of reports with the Department;
        (10) Discipline of children;
        (11) Protection and fostering of the particular
    
religious faith of the children served;
        (12) Provisions prohibiting firearms on day care
    
center premises except in the possession of peace officers;
        (13) Provisions prohibiting handguns on day care home
    
premises except in the possession of peace officers or other adults who must possess a handgun as a condition of employment and who reside on the premises of a day care home;
        (14) Provisions requiring that any firearm permitted
    
on day care home premises, except handguns in the possession of peace officers, shall be kept in a disassembled state, without ammunition, in locked storage, inaccessible to children and that ammunition permitted on day care home premises shall be kept in locked storage separate from that of disassembled firearms, inaccessible to children;
        (15) Provisions requiring notification of parents or
    
guardians enrolling children at a day care home of the presence in the day care home of any firearms and ammunition and of the arrangements for the separate, locked storage of such firearms and ammunition; and
        (16) Provisions requiring all licensed child care
    
facility employees who care for newborns and infants to complete training every 3 years on the nature of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID), sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), and the safe sleep recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics.
    (b) If, in a facility for general child care, there are children diagnosed as mentally ill, intellectually disabled or physically handicapped, who are determined to be in need of special mental treatment or of nursing care, or both mental treatment and nursing care, the Department shall seek the advice and recommendation of the Department of Human Services, the Department of Public Health, or both Departments regarding the residential treatment and nursing care provided by the institution.
    (c) The Department shall investigate any person applying to be licensed as a foster parent to determine whether there is any evidence of current drug or alcohol abuse in the prospective foster family. The Department shall not license a person as a foster parent if drug or alcohol abuse has been identified in the foster family or if a reasonable suspicion of such abuse exists, except that the Department may grant a foster parent license to an applicant identified with an alcohol or drug problem if the applicant has successfully participated in an alcohol or drug treatment program, self-help group, or other suitable activities.
    (d) The Department, in applying standards prescribed and published, as herein provided, shall offer consultation through employed staff or other qualified persons to assist applicants and licensees in meeting and maintaining minimum requirements for a license and to help them otherwise to achieve programs of excellence related to the care of children served. Such consultation shall include providing information concerning education and training in early childhood development to providers of day care home services. The Department may provide or arrange for such education and training for those providers who request such assistance.
    (e) The Department shall distribute copies of licensing standards to all licensees and applicants for a license. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall distribute copies of the appropriate licensing standards and any other information required by the Department to child care facilities under its supervision. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall maintain appropriate documentation of the distribution of the standards. Such documentation shall be part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by authorized representatives of the Department.
    (f) The Department shall prepare summaries of day care licensing standards. Each licensee or holder of a permit for a day care facility shall distribute a copy of the appropriate summary and any other information required by the Department, to the legal guardian of each child cared for in that facility at the time when the child is enrolled or initially placed in the facility. The licensee or holder of a permit for a day care facility shall secure appropriate documentation of the distribution of the summary and brochure. Such documentation shall be a part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by an authorized representative of the Department.
    (g) The Department shall distribute to each licensee and holder of a permit copies of the licensing or permit standards applicable to such person's facility. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall make available by posting at all times in a common or otherwise accessible area a complete and current set of licensing standards in order that all employees of the facility may have unrestricted access to such standards. All employees of the facility shall have reviewed the standards and any subsequent changes. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall maintain appropriate documentation of the current review of licensing standards by all employees. Such records shall be part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by authorized representatives of the Department.
    (h) Any standards involving physical examinations, immunization, or medical treatment shall include appropriate exemptions for children whose parents object thereto on the grounds that they conflict with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or religious organization, of which the parent is an adherent or member, and for children who should not be subjected to immunization for clinical reasons.
    (i) The Department, in cooperation with the Department of Public Health, shall work to increase immunization awareness and participation among parents of children enrolled in day care centers and day care homes by publishing on the Department's website information about the benefits of immunization against vaccine preventable diseases, including influenza and pertussis. The information for vaccine preventable diseases shall include the incidence and severity of the diseases, the availability of vaccines, and the importance of immunizing children and persons who frequently have close contact with children. The website content shall be reviewed annually in collaboration with the Department of Public Health to reflect the most current recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). The Department shall work with day care centers and day care homes licensed under this Act to ensure that the information is annually distributed to parents in August or September.
(Source: P.A. 96-391, eff. 8-13-09; 97-83, eff. 1-1-12; 97-227, eff. 1-1-12; 97-494, eff. 8-22-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-817)
    Sec. 7. (a) The Department must prescribe and publish minimum standards for licensing that apply to the various types of facilities for child care defined in this Act and that are equally applicable to like institutions under the control of the Department and to foster family homes used by and under the direct supervision of the Department. The Department shall seek the advice and assistance of persons representative of the various types of child care facilities in establishing such standards. The standards prescribed and published under this Act take effect as provided in the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, and are restricted to regulations pertaining to the following matters and to any rules and regulations required or permitted by any other Section of this Act:
        (1) The operation and conduct of the facility and
    
responsibility it assumes for child care;
        (2) The character, suitability and qualifications of
    
the applicant and other persons directly responsible for the care and welfare of children served. All child day care center licensees and employees who are required to report child abuse or neglect under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act shall be required to attend training on recognizing child abuse and neglect, as prescribed by Department rules;
        (3) The general financial ability and competence of
    
the applicant to provide necessary care for children and to maintain prescribed standards;
        (4) The number of individuals or staff required to
    
insure adequate supervision and care of the children received. The standards shall provide that each child care institution, maternity center, day care center, group home, day care home, and group day care home shall have on its premises during its hours of operation at least one staff member certified in first aid, in the Heimlich maneuver and in cardiopulmonary resuscitation by the American Red Cross or other organization approved by rule of the Department. Child welfare agencies shall not be subject to such a staffing requirement. The Department may offer, or arrange for the offering, on a periodic basis in each community in this State in cooperation with the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or other appropriate organization, voluntary programs to train operators of foster family homes and day care homes in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
        (5) The appropriateness, safety, cleanliness and
    
general adequacy of the premises, including maintenance of adequate fire prevention and health standards conforming to State laws and municipal codes to provide for the physical comfort, care and well-being of children received;
        (6) Provisions for food, clothing, educational
    
opportunities, program, equipment and individual supplies to assure the healthy physical, mental and spiritual development of children served;
        (7) Provisions to safeguard the legal rights of
    
children served;
        (8) Maintenance of records pertaining to the
    
admission, progress, health and discharge of children, including, for day care centers and day care homes, records indicating each child has been immunized as required by State regulations. The Department shall require proof that children enrolled in a facility have been immunized against Haemophilus Influenzae B (HIB);
        (9) Filing of reports with the Department;
        (10) Discipline of children;
        (11) Protection and fostering of the particular
    
religious faith of the children served;
        (12) Provisions prohibiting firearms on day care
    
center premises except in the possession of peace officers;
        (13) Provisions prohibiting handguns on day care home
    
premises except in the possession of peace officers or other adults who must possess a handgun as a condition of employment and who reside on the premises of a day care home;
        (14) Provisions requiring that any firearm permitted
    
on day care home premises, except handguns in the possession of peace officers, shall be kept in a disassembled state, without ammunition, in locked storage, inaccessible to children and that ammunition permitted on day care home premises shall be kept in locked storage separate from that of disassembled firearms, inaccessible to children;
        (15) Provisions requiring notification of parents or
    
guardians enrolling children at a day care home of the presence in the day care home of any firearms and ammunition and of the arrangements for the separate, locked storage of such firearms and ammunition; and
        (16) Provisions requiring all licensed child care
    
facility employees who care for newborns and infants to complete training every 3 years on the nature of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID), sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), and the safe sleep recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics.
    (b) If, in a facility for general child care, there are children diagnosed as mentally ill, intellectually disabled or physically handicapped, who are determined to be in need of special mental treatment or of nursing care, or both mental treatment and nursing care, the Department shall seek the advice and recommendation of the Department of Human Services, the Department of Public Health, or both Departments regarding the residential treatment and nursing care provided by the institution.
    (c) The Department shall investigate any person applying to be licensed as a foster parent to determine whether there is any evidence of current drug or alcohol abuse in the prospective foster family. The Department shall not license a person as a foster parent if drug or alcohol abuse has been identified in the foster family or if a reasonable suspicion of such abuse exists, except that the Department may grant a foster parent license to an applicant identified with an alcohol or drug problem if the applicant has successfully participated in an alcohol or drug treatment program, self-help group, or other suitable activities.
    (d) The Department, in applying standards prescribed and published, as herein provided, shall offer consultation through employed staff or other qualified persons to assist applicants and licensees in meeting and maintaining minimum requirements for a license and to help them otherwise to achieve programs of excellence related to the care of children served. Such consultation shall include providing information concerning education and training in early childhood development to providers of day care home services. The Department may provide or arrange for such education and training for those providers who request such assistance.
    (e) The Department shall distribute copies of licensing standards to all licensees and applicants for a license. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall distribute copies of the appropriate licensing standards and any other information required by the Department to child care facilities under its supervision. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall maintain appropriate documentation of the distribution of the standards. Such documentation shall be part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by authorized representatives of the Department.
    (f) The Department shall prepare summaries of day care licensing standards. Each licensee or holder of a permit for a day care facility shall distribute a copy of the appropriate summary and any other information required by the Department, to the legal guardian of each child cared for in that facility at the time when the child is enrolled or initially placed in the facility. The licensee or holder of a permit for a day care facility shall secure appropriate documentation of the distribution of the summary and brochure. Such documentation shall be a part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by an authorized representative of the Department.
    (g) The Department shall distribute to each licensee and holder of a permit copies of the licensing or permit standards applicable to such person's facility. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall make available by posting at all times in a common or otherwise accessible area a complete and current set of licensing standards in order that all employees of the facility may have unrestricted access to such standards. All employees of the facility shall have reviewed the standards and any subsequent changes. Each licensee or holder of a permit shall maintain appropriate documentation of the current review of licensing standards by all employees. Such records shall be part of the records of the facility and subject to inspection by authorized representatives of the Department.
    (h) Any standards involving physical examinations, immunization, or medical treatment shall include appropriate exemptions for children whose parents object thereto on the grounds that they conflict with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or religious organization, of which the parent is an adherent or member, and for children who should not be subjected to immunization for clinical reasons.
    (i) The Department, in cooperation with the Department of Public Health, shall work to increase immunization awareness and participation among parents of children enrolled in day care centers and day care homes by publishing on the Department's website information about the benefits of immunization against vaccine preventable diseases, including influenza and pertussis. The information for vaccine preventable diseases shall include the incidence and severity of the diseases, the availability of vaccines, and the importance of immunizing children and persons who frequently have close contact with children. The website content shall be reviewed annually in collaboration with the Department of Public Health to reflect the most current recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). The Department shall work with day care centers and day care homes licensed under this Act to ensure that the information is annually distributed to parents in August or September.
    (j) Any standard adopted by the Department that requires an applicant for a license to operate a day care home to include a copy of a high school diploma or equivalent certificate with his or her application shall be deemed to be satisfied if the applicant includes a copy of a high school diploma or equivalent certificate or a copy of a degree from an accredited institution of higher education or vocational institution or equivalent certificate.
(Source: P.A. 97-83, eff. 1-1-12; 97-227, eff. 1-1-12; 97-494, eff. 8-22-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-817, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 10/7.1

    (225 ILCS 10/7.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2217.1)
    Sec. 7.1. (a) (1) A facility described in Section 2.09, 2.10, or 2.18 shall retain on file a list provided by the legal guardian of each child under its care, designating persons to whom it may release custody of such child, including:
    (A) a primary list containing the names of persons to whom the facility can expect to usually release custody of the child, and
    (B) a contingency list containing the names of persons to whom the facility can expect to occasionally release custody of the child, and setting forth the manner in which such child may leave the facility in the custody of any such person.
    (2) No such facility shall release custody of any child under its care in any manner not authorized by the child's guardian, or to any person who is not known to the operators of the facility as, or cannot present sufficient identification proving himself to be, an individual listed by the child's guardian as one to whom custody of the child may be released.
    (b) Each such facility shall keep a daily departure record for each child under its care who leaves the facility with a person included on the contingency list, and record thereon the times the child leaves the facility, the manner of departure and the persons with whom such child leaves.
(Source: P.A. 84-1358.)

225 ILCS 10/7.2

    (225 ILCS 10/7.2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2217.2)
    Sec. 7.2. Employer discrimination. (a) For purposes of this Section, "employer" means a licensee or holder of a permit subject to this Act. "Employee" means an employee of such an employer.
    (b) No employer shall discharge, demote or suspend, or threaten to discharge, demote or suspend, or in any manner discriminate against any employee who:
    (1) Makes any good faith oral or written complaint of any employer's violation of any licensing or other laws (including but not limited to laws concerning child abuse or the transportation of children) which may result in closure of the facility pursuant to Section 11.2 of this Act to the Department or other agency having statutory responsibility for the enforcement of such laws or to the employer or representative of the employer;
    (2) Institutes or causes to be instituted against any employer any proceeding concerning the violation of any licensing or other laws, including a proceeding to revoke or to refuse to renew a license under Section 9 of this Act;
    (3) Is or will be a witness or testify in any proceeding concerning the violation of any licensing or other laws, including a proceeding to revoke or to refuse to renew a license under Section 9 of this Act; or
    (4) Refuses to perform work in violation of a licensing or other law or regulation after notifying the employer of the violation.
    (c)(1) A claim by an employee alleging an employer's violation of subsection (b) of this Section shall be presented to the employer within 30 days after the date of the action complained of and shall be filed with the Department of Labor within 60 days after the date of the action complained of.
    (2) Upon receipt of the complaint, the Department of Labor shall conduct whatever investigation it deems appropriate, and may hold a hearing. After investigation or hearing, the Department of Labor shall determine whether the employer has violated subsection (b) of this Section and it shall notify the employer and the employee of its determination.
    (3) If the Department of Labor determines that the employer has violated subsection (b) of this Section, and the employer refuses to take remedial action to comply with the determination, the Department of Labor shall so notify the Attorney General, who shall bring an action against the employer in the circuit court seeking enforcement of its determination. The court may order any appropriate relief, including rehiring and reinstatement of the employee to his or her former position with backpay and other benefits.
    (d) Except for any grievance procedure, arbitration or hearing which is available to the employee pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement, this Section shall be the exclusive remedy for an employee complaining of any action described in subsection (b).
    (e) Any employer who wilfully refuses to rehire, promote or otherwise restore an employee or former employee who has been determined eligible for rehiring or promotion as a result of any grievance procedure, arbitration or hearing authorized by law shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 85-987.)

225 ILCS 10/7.3

    (225 ILCS 10/7.3)
    Sec. 7.3. Children placed by private child welfare agency.
    (a) Before placing a child who is a ward of the Department in a foster family home, a private child welfare agency must ascertain (i) whether any other children who are wards of the Department have been placed in that home and (ii) whether every such child who has been placed in that home continues to reside in that home, unless the child has been transferred to another placement or is no longer a ward of the Department. The agency must keep a record of every other child welfare agency that has placed such a child in that foster family home; the record must include the name and telephone number of a contact person at each such agency.
    (b) At least once every 30 days, a private child welfare agency that places wards of the Department in foster family homes must make a site visit to every such home where it has placed a ward. The purpose of the site visit is to verify that the child continues to reside in that home and to verify the child's safety and well-being. The agency must document the verification in its records. If a private child welfare agency fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection, the Department must suspend all payments to the agency until the agency complies.
    (c) The Department must periodically (but no less often than once every 6 months) review the child placement records of each private child welfare agency that places wards of the Department.
    (d) If a child placed in a foster family home is missing, the foster parent must promptly report that fact to the Department or to the child welfare agency that placed the child in the home. If the foster parent fails to make such a report, the Department shall put the home on hold for the placement of other children and initiate corrective action that may include revocation of the foster parent's license to operate the foster family home. A foster parent who knowingly and willfully fails to report a missing foster child under this subsection is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (e) If a private child welfare agency determines that a ward of the Department whom it has placed in a foster family home no longer resides in that home, the agency must promptly report that fact to the Department. If the agency fails to make such a report, the Department shall put the agency on hold for the placement of other children and initiate corrective action that may include revocation of the agency's license.
    (f) When a child is missing from a foster home, the Department or private agency in charge of case management shall report regularly to the foster parent concerning efforts to locate the missing child.
    (g) The Department must strive to account for the status and whereabouts of every one of its wards who it determines is not residing in the authorized placement in which he or she was placed.
(Source: P.A. 93-343, eff. 7-24-03.)

225 ILCS 10/7.4

    (225 ILCS 10/7.4)
    Sec. 7.4. Disclosures.
    (a) Every child welfare agency providing adoption services and licensed by the Department shall provide to all prospective clients and to the public written disclosures with respect to its adoption services, policies, and practices, including general eligibility criteria, fees, and the mutual rights and responsibilities of clients, including biological parents and adoptive parents. The written disclosure shall be posted on any website maintained by the child welfare agency that relates to adoption services. The Department shall adopt rules relating to the contents of the written disclosures. Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this subsection (a).
    (b) Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall provide to all applicants, prior to application, a written schedule of estimated fees, expenses, and refund policies. Every child welfare agency providing adoption services shall have a written policy that shall be part of its standard adoption contract and state that it will not charge additional fees and expenses beyond those disclosed in the adoption contract unless additional fees are reasonably required by the circumstances and are disclosed to the adoptive parents or parent before they are incurred. The Department shall adopt rules relating to the contents of the written schedule and policy. Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this subsection (b).
    (c) Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services must make full and fair disclosure to its clients, including biological parents and adoptive parents, of all circumstances material to the placement of a child for adoption. The Department shall adopt rules necessary for the implementation and regulation of the requirements of this subsection (c).
    (c-5) Whenever a licensed child welfare agency places a child in a licensed foster family home, the agency shall provide the following to the caretaker:
        (1) Available detailed information concerning the
    
child's educational and health history, copies of immunization records (including insurance and medical card information), a history of the child's previous placements, if any, and reasons for placement changes, excluding any information that identifies or reveals the location of any previous caretaker.
        (2) A copy of the child's portion of the client
    
service plan, including any visitation arrangement, and all amendments or revisions to it as related to the child.
        (3) Information containing details of the child's
    
individualized educational plan when the child is receiving special education services.
        (4) Any known social or behavioral information
    
(including, but not limited to, criminal background, fire setting, perpetration of sexual abuse, destructive behavior, and substance abuse) necessary to care for and safeguard the child.
    The agency may prepare a written summary of the information required by this subsection, which may be provided to the foster or prospective adoptive parent in advance of a placement. The foster or prospective adoptive parent may review the supporting documents in the child's file in the presence of casework staff. In the case of an emergency placement, casework staff shall at least provide information verbally, if necessary, and must subsequently provide the information in writing as required by this subsection. In the case of emergency placements when time does not allow prior review, preparation, and collection of written information, the agency shall provide such information as it becomes available.
    The Department shall adopt rules necessary for the implementation and regulation of the requirements of this subsection (c-5).
    (d) Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall meet minimum standards set forth by the Department concerning the taking or acknowledging of a consent prior to taking or acknowledging a consent from a prospective biological parent. The Department shall adopt rules concerning the minimum standards required by agencies under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05; 94-1010, eff. 10-1-06.)

225 ILCS 10/7.5

    (225 ILCS 10/7.5)
    Sec. 7.5. Adoptive parent training program. Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall provide prospective adoptive parents with a training program that includes counseling and guidance for the purpose of promoting a successful adoption in conjunction with placing a child for adoption with the prospective adoptive parents and which must be completed to the satisfaction of the licensed child welfare agency prior to the finalization of the adoption. The training may be provided by an agent or independent contractor of the child welfare agency or by a Department-approved training individual or entity. The Department shall adopt rules concerning minimum hours, content, and agency documentation of the training and rules concerning the approval of individuals or entities conducting training under this Section. Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/7.6

    (225 ILCS 10/7.6)
    Sec. 7.6. Annual report. Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall file an annual report with the Department and with the Attorney General on forms and on a date prescribed by the Department. The annual reports for the preceding 2 years must be made available, upon request, to the public by the Department and every licensed agency and must be included on the website of the Department. Each licensed agency that maintains a website shall provide the reports on its website. The annual report shall include all of the following matters and all other matters required by the Department:
        (1) a balance sheet and a statement of income and
    
expenses for the year, certified by an independent public accountant; for purposes of this item (1), the audit report filed by an agency with the Department may be included in the annual report and, if so, shall be sufficient to comply with the requirement of this item (1);
        (2) non-identifying information concerning the
    
placements made by the agency during the year, consisting of the number of adoptive families in the process of obtaining a foster family license, the number of adoptive families that are licensed and awaiting placement, the number of biological parents that the agency is actively working with, the number of placements, and the number of adoptions initiated during the year and the status of each matter at the end of the year;
        (3) any instance during the year in which the agency
    
lost the right to provide adoption services in any State or country, had its license suspended for cause, or was the subject of other sanctions by any court, governmental agency, or governmental regulatory body relating to the provision of adoption services;
        (4) any actions related to licensure that were
    
initiated against the agency during the year by a licensing or accrediting body;
        (5) any pending investigations by federal or State
    
authorities;
        (6) any criminal charges, child abuse charges,
    
malpractice complaints, or lawsuits against the agency or any of its employees, officers, or directors related to the provision of adoption services and the basis or disposition of the actions;
        (7) any instance in the year where the agency was
    
found guilty of, or pled guilty to, any criminal or civil or administrative violation under federal, State, or foreign law that relates to the provision of adoption services;
        (8) any instance in the year where any employee,
    
officer, or director of the agency was found guilty of any crime or was determined to have violated a civil law or administrative rule under federal, State, or foreign law relating to the provision of adoption services; and
        (9) any civil or administrative proceeding instituted
    
by the agency during the year and relating to adoption services, excluding uncontested adoption proceedings and proceedings filed pursuant to Section 12a of the Adoption Act.
    Failure to disclose information required under this Section may result in the suspension of the agency's license for a period of 90 days. Subsequent violations may result in revocation of the license.
    Information disclosed in accordance with this Section shall be subject to the applicable confidentiality requirements of this Act and the Adoption Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/7.7

    (225 ILCS 10/7.7)
    Sec. 7.7. Certain waivers prohibited. Licensed child welfare agencies providing adoption services shall not require biological or adoptive parents to sign any document that purports to waive claims against an agency for intentional or reckless acts or omissions or for gross negligence. Nothing in this Section shall require an agency to assume risks that are not within the reasonable control of the agency.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/7.8

    (225 ILCS 10/7.8)
    Sec. 7.8. Preferential treatment in child placement prohibited. No licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services may give preferential treatment to its board members, contributors, volunteers, employees, agents, consultants, or independent contractors or to their relatives with respect to the placement of a child or any matters relating to adoption services. The Department shall define "preferential treatment" by rule and shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this Section. Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/7.9

    (225 ILCS 10/7.9)
    Sec. 7.9. Excessive fees in adoption services prohibited. Adoption services fees must be based on the costs associated with service delivery, and clients may be charged fees only for services provided. The Department shall define "excessive fees" by rule and shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this Section. Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/7.10

    (225 ILCS 10/7.10)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-839)
    Sec. 7.10. Progress report.
    (a) For the purposes of this Section, "child day care licensing" or "day care licensing" means licensing of day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes.
    (b) No later than September 30, 2013, the Department shall provide the General Assembly with a comprehensive report on its progress in meeting performance measures and goals related to child day care licensing.
    (c) The report shall include:
        (1) details on the funding for child day care
    
licensing, including:
            (A) the total number of full-time employees
        
working on child day care licensing;
            (B) the names of all sources of revenue used to
        
support child day care licensing;
            (C) the amount of expenditures that is claimed
        
against federal funding sources;
            (D) the identity of federal funding sources; and
            (E) how funds are appropriated, including
        
appropriations for line staff, support staff, supervisory staff, and training and other expenses and the funding history of such licensing since fiscal year 2010;
        (2) current staffing qualifications of day care
    
licensing representatives and day care licensing supervisors in comparison with staffing qualifications specified in the job description;
        (3) data history for fiscal year 2010 to the current
    
fiscal year on day care licensing representative caseloads and staffing levels in all areas of the State;
        (4) per the DCFS Child Day Care Licensing Advisory
    
Council's work plan, quarterly data on the following measures:
            (A) the percentage of new applications disposed
        
of within 90 days;
            (B) the percentage of licenses renewed on time;
            (C) the percentage of day care centers receiving
        
timely annual monitoring visits;
            (D) the percentage of day care homes receiving
        
timely annual monitoring visits;
            (E) the percentage of group day care homes
        
receiving timely annual monitoring visits;
            (F) the percentage of provider requests for
        
supervisory review;
            (G) the progress on adopting a key indicator
        
system;
            (H) the percentage of complaints disposed of
        
within 30 days;
            (I) the average number of days a day care center
        
applicant must wait to attend a licensing orientation;
            (J) the number of licensing orientation sessions
        
available per region in the past year; and
            (K) the number of Department trainings related to
        
licensing and child development available to providers in the past year; and
        (5) efforts to coordinate with the Department of
    
Human Services and the State Board of Education on professional development, credentialing issues, and child developers, including training registry, child developers, and Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS).
    (d) The Department shall work with the Governor's appointed Early Learning Council on issues related to and concerning child day care.
(Source: P.A. 97-1096, eff. 8-24-12.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-839)
    Sec. 7.10. Progress report.
    (a) For the purposes of this Section, "child day care licensing" or "day care licensing" means licensing of day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes.
    (b) No later than September 30th of each year, the Department shall provide the General Assembly with a comprehensive report on its progress in meeting performance measures and goals related to child day care licensing.
    (c) The report shall include:
        (1) details on the funding for child day care
    
licensing, including:
            (A) the total number of full-time employees
        
working on child day care licensing;
            (B) the names of all sources of revenue used to
        
support child day care licensing;
            (C) the amount of expenditures that is claimed
        
against federal funding sources;
            (D) the identity of federal funding sources; and
            (E) how funds are appropriated, including
        
appropriations for line staff, support staff, supervisory staff, and training and other expenses and the funding history of such licensing since fiscal year 2010;
        (2) current staffing qualifications of day care
    
licensing representatives and day care licensing supervisors in comparison with staffing qualifications specified in the job description;
        (3) data history for fiscal year 2010 to the current
    
fiscal year on day care licensing representative caseloads and staffing levels in all areas of the State;
        (4) per the DCFS Child Day Care Licensing Advisory
    
Council's work plan, quarterly data on the following measures:
            (A) the percentage of new applications disposed
        
of within 90 days;
            (B) the percentage of licenses renewed on time;
            (C) the percentage of day care centers receiving
        
timely annual monitoring visits;
            (D) the percentage of day care homes receiving
        
timely annual monitoring visits;
            (E) the percentage of group day care homes
        
receiving timely annual monitoring visits;
            (F) the percentage of provider requests for
        
supervisory review;
            (G) the progress on adopting a key indicator
        
system;
            (H) the percentage of complaints disposed of
        
within 30 days;
            (I) the average number of days a day care center
        
applicant must wait to attend a licensing orientation;
            (J) the number of licensing orientation sessions
        
available per region in the past year; and
            (K) the number of Department trainings related to
        
licensing and child development available to providers in the past year; and
        (5) efforts to coordinate with the Department of
    
Human Services and the State Board of Education on professional development, credentialing issues, and child developers, including training registry, child developers, and Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS).
    (d) The Department shall work with the Governor's appointed Early Learning Council on issues related to and concerning child day care.
(Source: P.A. 97-1096, eff. 8-24-12; 98-839, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 10/8

    (225 ILCS 10/8) (from Ch. 23, par. 2218)
    Sec. 8. The Department may revoke or refuse to renew the license of any child care facility or child welfare agency or refuse to issue full license to the holder of a permit should the licensee or holder of a permit:
        (1) fail to maintain standards prescribed and
    
published by the Department;
        (2) violate any of the provisions of the license
    
issued;
        (3) furnish or make any misleading or any false
    
statement or report to the Department;
        (4) refuse to submit to the Department any reports or
    
refuse to make available to the Department any records required by the Department in making investigation of the facility for licensing purposes;
        (5) fail or refuse to submit to an investigation by
    
the Department;
        (6) fail or refuse to admit authorized
    
representatives of the Department at any reasonable time for the purpose of investigation;
        (7) fail to provide, maintain, equip and keep in safe
    
and sanitary condition premises established or used for child care as required under standards prescribed by the Department, or as otherwise required by any law, regulation or ordinance applicable to the location of such facility;
        (8) refuse to display its license or permit;
        (9) be the subject of an indicated report under
    
Section 3 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act or fail to discharge or sever affiliation with the child care facility of an employee or volunteer at the facility with direct contact with children who is the subject of an indicated report under Section 3 of that Act;
        (10) fail to comply with the provisions of Section
    
7.1;
        (11) fail to exercise reasonable care in the hiring,
    
training and supervision of facility personnel;
        (12) fail to report suspected abuse or neglect of
    
children within the facility, as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act;
        (12.5) fail to comply with subsection (c-5) of
    
Section 7.4;
        (13) fail to comply with Section 5.1 or 5.2 of this
    
Act; or
        (14) be identified in an investigation by the
    
Department as an addict or alcoholic, as defined in the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act, or be a person whom the Department knows has abused alcohol or drugs, and has not successfully participated in treatment, self-help groups or other suitable activities, and the Department determines that because of such abuse the licensee, holder of the permit, or any other person directly responsible for the care and welfare of the children served, does not comply with standards relating to character, suitability or other qualifications established under Section 7 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05; 94-1010, eff. 10-1-06.)

225 ILCS 10/8.1

    (225 ILCS 10/8.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2218.1)
    Sec. 8.1. The Department shall revoke or refuse to renew the license of any child care facility or refuse to issue a full license to the holder of a permit should the licensee or holder of a permit:
    (1) fail to correct any condition which jeopardizes the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children served by the facility;
    (2) fail to correct any condition or occurrence relating to the operation or maintenance of the facility comprising a violation under Section 8 of this Act; or
    (3) fail to maintain financial resources adequate for the satisfactory care of children served in regard to upkeep of premises, and provisions for personal care, medical services, clothing, education and other essentials in the proper care, rearing and training of children.
(Source: P.A. 83-1362.)

225 ILCS 10/8.2

    (225 ILCS 10/8.2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2218.2)
    Sec. 8.2. The Department may issue a conditional license to any child care facility which currently is licensed under this Act. The conditional license shall be a nonrenewable license for a period of 6 months and the Department shall revoke any other license held by the conditionally licensed facility. Conditional licenses shall only be granted to facilities where no threat to the health, safety, morals or welfare of the children served exists. A complete listing of deficiencies and a corrective plan approved by the Department shall be in existence at the time a conditional license is issued. Failure by the facility to correct the deficiencies or meet all licensing standards at the end of the conditional license period shall result in immediate revocation of or refusal to renew the facility's license as provided in Section 8.1 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 85-216.)

225 ILCS 10/8.3

    (225 ILCS 10/8.3)
    Sec. 8.3. Tax exempt agency.
    (a) The Department shall revoke or refuse to renew the license of any child welfare agency providing adoption services that is not (i) officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law) and (ii) in compliance with all of the standards necessary to maintain its status as an organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law).
    (b) The Department shall grant a grace period of 24 months from the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly for existing child welfare agencies providing adoption services to obtain 501(c)(3) status. The Department shall permit an existing child welfare agency that converts from its current structure in order to be recognized as a 501(c)(3) organization as required by this Section to either retain its current license or transfer its current license to a newly formed entity, if the creation of a new entity is required in order to comply with this Section, provided that the child welfare agency demonstrates that it continues to meet all other licensing requirements and that the principal officers and directors and programs of the converted child welfare agency or newly organized child welfare agency are substantially the same as the original. The Department shall have the sole discretion to grant a one year extension to any agency unable to obtain 501(c)(3) status within the timeframe specified in this Section, provided that such agency has filed an application for 501(c)(3) status with the Internal Revenue Service within the 2-year timeframe specified in this Section.
    (c) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensed child welfare agency from using the services of any person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group as an independent contractor to perform services on behalf of the licensed agency, provided that the licensed agency has a written agreement with the independent contractor specifying the terms of remuneration, the services to be performed, the personnel performing those services, and the qualifications of the personnel, in addition to any other information or requirements the Department may specify by rule. The licensed agency is not exempt, by reason of the use of the contractor, from compliance with all of the provisions of this Act. The Department has the authority to disapprove the use of any contractor if the Department is not satisfied with the agency's agreement with the contractor, the personnel of the contractor who are performing the services, or the qualifications of the personnel or if the contractor violates any provision of this Act or the Adoption Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/8.4

    (225 ILCS 10/8.4)
    Sec. 8.4. Cessation or dissolution of an agency. In the event that a licensed child welfare agency ceases to exist or dissolves its corporate entity as an agency, and in so doing ceases to provide adoption services as defined in this Act, all records pertaining to adoption services, as that term is defined in Section 2.24 of this Act, shall be forwarded to another licensed child welfare agency with notice to the Department or to the Department within 30 days after such cessation or dissolution. This Section shall be interpreted in a manner consistent with rules adopted by the Department governing child welfare agencies.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/9

    (225 ILCS 10/9) (from Ch. 23, par. 2219)
    Sec. 9. Prior to revocation or refusal to renew a license, the Department shall notify the licensee by registered mail with postage prepaid, at the address specified on the license, or at the address of the ranking or presiding officer of a board of directors, or any equivalent body conducting a child care facility, of the contemplated action and that the licensee may, within 10 days of such notification, dating from the postmark of the registered mail, request in writing a public hearing before the Department, and, at the same time, may request a written statement of charges from the Department.
    (a) Upon written request by the licensee, the Department shall furnish such written statement of charges, and, at the same time, shall set the date and place for the hearing. The charges and notice of the hearing shall be delivered by registered mail with postage prepaid, and the hearing must be held within 30 days, dating from the date of the postmark of the registered mail, except that notification must be made at least 15 days in advance of the date set for the hearing.
    (b) If no request for a hearing is made within 10 days after notification, or if the Department determines, upon holding a hearing that the license should be revoked or renewal denied, then the license shall be revoked or renewal denied.
    (c) Upon the hearing of proceedings in which the license is revoked, renewal of license is refused or full license is denied, the Director of the Department, or any officer or employee duly authorized by him in writing, may administer oaths and the Department may procure, by its subpoena, the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books and papers.
    (d) At the time and place designated, the Director of the Department or the officer or employee authorized by him in writing, shall hear the charges, and both the Department and the licensee shall be allowed to present in person or by counsel such statements, testimony and evidence as may be pertinent to the charges or to the defense thereto. The hearing officer may continue such hearing from time to time, but not to exceed a single period of 30 days, unless special extenuating circumstances make further continuance feasible.
(Source: P.A. 83-1362.)

225 ILCS 10/9.1

    (225 ILCS 10/9.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2219.1)
    Sec. 9.1. Before the Department initiates a full-scale investigation of any complaint received regarding a child care facility the Department may, when appropriate, provide procedures for the substantiation of the complaint.
(Source: P.A. 87-265.)

225 ILCS 10/9.1a

    (225 ILCS 10/9.1a)
    Sec. 9.1a. Complaint registry.
    (a) The Department shall establish a complaint registry to assist in the monitoring of licensed child welfare agencies providing adoption services, which shall record and track the resolution and disposition of substantiated licensing violations.
    (b) The Department shall establish and maintain a statewide toll-free telephone number and post information on its website where the public can access information contained in the complaint registry, as it pertains to the past history and record of any licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services. This information shall include, but shall not be limited to, Department substantiated licensing violations against a child welfare agency providing adoption services and Department findings of any license violations against a child welfare agency providing adoption services.
    (c) Information disclosed in accordance with this Section shall be subject to the applicable confidentiality requirements of this Act and the Adoption Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/9.1b

    (225 ILCS 10/9.1b)
    Sec. 9.1b. Complaint procedures. All child welfare agencies providing adoption services shall be required by the Department to have complaint policies and procedures that shall be provided in writing to their prospective clients, including biological parents, adoptive parents, and adoptees that they have served, at the earliest time possible, and, in the case of biological and adoptive parents, prior to placement or prior to entering into any written contract with the clients. These complaint procedures must be filed with the Department within 6 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly. Failure to comply with this Section may result in the suspension of licensure for a period of 90 days. Subsequent violations may result in licensure revocation. The Department shall adopt rules that describe the complaint procedures required by each agency. These rules shall include without limitation prompt complaint response time, recording of the complaints, prohibition of agency retaliation against the person making the complaint, and agency reporting of all complaints to the Department in a timely manner. Any agency that maintains a website shall post the prescribed complaint procedures and its license number, as well as the statewide toll-free complaint registry telephone number, on its website.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/9.2

    (225 ILCS 10/9.2)
    Sec. 9.2. Toll free number; day care information. The Department of Children and Family Services shall establish and maintain a statewide toll-free telephone number that all persons may use to inquire about the past history and record of a day care facility operating in this State. The past history and record shall include, but shall not be limited to, Department substantiated complaints against a day care facility and Department staff findings of license violations by a day care facility. Information disclosed in accordance with this Section shall be subject to the confidentiality requirements provided in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 90-671, eff. 1-1-99.)

225 ILCS 10/10

    (225 ILCS 10/10) (from Ch. 23, par. 2220)
    Sec. 10. Any circuit court, upon application either of the person requesting a hearing or of the Department, may require the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books and papers before the Department in any hearing relating to the refusal or revocation of licenses. The refusal or neglect to obey the order of the court compelling the attendance or production, is punishable as in other cases of contempt.
(Source: P.A. 83-334.)

225 ILCS 10/11

    (225 ILCS 10/11) (from Ch. 23, par. 2221)
    Sec. 11. Whenever the Department is advised, or has reason to believe, that any person, group of persons or corporation is operating a child welfare agency or a child care facility without a license or permit, it shall make an investigation to ascertain the facts. If the Department is denied access, it shall request intervention of local, county or State law enforcement agencies to seek an appropriate court order or warrant to examine the premises. A person or entity preventing the Department from carrying out its duties under this Section shall be guilty of a violation of this Act and shall be subject to such penalties related thereto. If it finds that the child welfare agency or child care facility is being, or has been operated without a license or permit, it shall report the results of its investigation to the Attorney General, and to the appropriate State's Attorney for investigation and, if appropriate, prosecution.
    Operating a child welfare agency or child care facility without a license constitutes a Class A misdemeanor, followed by a business offense, if the operator continues to operate the facility and no effort is made to obtain a license. The business offense fine shall not exceed $10,000 and each day of a violation is a separate offense.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/11.1

    (225 ILCS 10/11.1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2221.1)
    Sec. 11.1. Referrals to law enforcement.
    (a) If the Department has reasonable cause to believe that any person, group of persons, corporation, agency, association, organization, institution, center, or group is engaged or about to engage in any acts or practices that constitute or will constitute a violation of this Act, the Department shall inform the Attorney General or the State's Attorney of the appropriate county, who may initiate the appropriate civil or criminal proceedings. Upon a proper showing, any circuit court may enter a permanent or preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order without bond to enforce this Act or any rule or regulation prescribed thereunder in addition to the penalties and other remedies provided in this Act.
    (b) If the Department has reasonable cause to believe that any person, group of persons, corporation, agency, association, organization, institution, center, or group is engaged or is about to engage in any act or practice that constitutes or may constitute a violation of any rule adopted under the authority of this Act, the Department may inform the Attorney General or the State's Attorney of the appropriate county, who may initiate the appropriate civil or criminal proceedings. Upon a proper showing, any circuit court may enter a permanent or preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order without bond to enforce this Act or any rule prescribed under this Act, in addition to the penalties and other remedies provided in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/11.2

    (225 ILCS 10/11.2) (from Ch. 23, par. 2221.2)
    Sec. 11.2. Whenever the Department expressly finds that the continued operation of a child care facility, including such facilities defined in Section 2.10 and unlicensed facilities, jeopardizes the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children served by the facility, the Department shall issue an order of closure directing that the operation of the facility terminate immediately, and, if applicable, shall initiate revocation proceedings under Section 9 within ten working days. A facility closed under this Section may not operate during the pendency of any proceeding for the judicial review of the decision of the Department to issue an order of closure or to revoke or refuse to renew the license, except under court order.
(Source: P.A. 85-216.)

225 ILCS 10/12

    (225 ILCS 10/12) (from Ch. 23, par. 2222)
    Sec. 12. Advertisements.
    (a) In this Section, "advertise" means communication by any public medium originating or distributed in this State, including, but not limited to, newspapers, periodicals, telephone book listings, outdoor advertising signs, radio, or television.
    (b) A child care facility or child welfare agency licensed or operating under a permit issued by the Department may publish advertisements for the services that the facility is specifically licensed or issued a permit under this Act to provide. A person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group who advertises or causes to be published any advertisement offering, soliciting, or promising to perform adoption services as defined in Section 2.24 of this Act is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months imprisonment for each advertisement, unless that person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group is (i) licensed or operating under a permit issued by the Department as a child care facility or child welfare agency, (ii) a biological parent or a prospective adoptive parent acting on his or her own behalf, or (iii) a licensed attorney advertising his or her availability to provide legal services relating to adoption, as permitted by law.
    (c) Every advertisement published after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly shall include the Department-issued license number of the facility or agency.
    (d) Any licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services that, after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, causes to be published an advertisement containing reckless or intentional misrepresentations concerning adoption services or circumstances material to the placement of a child for adoption is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and is subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months imprisonment for each advertisement.
    (e) An out-of-state agency that is not licensed in Illinois and that has a written interagency agreement with one or more Illinois licensed child welfare agencies may advertise under this Section, provided that (i) the out-of-state agency must be officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law), (ii) the out-of-state agency provides only international adoption services and is covered by the Intercountry Adoption Act of 2000, (iii) the out-of-state agency displays, in the advertisement, the license number of at least one of the Illinois licensed child welfare agencies with which it has a written agreement, and (iv) the advertisements pertain only to international adoption services. Subsection (d) of this Section shall apply to any out-of-state agencies described in this subsection (e).
    (f) An advertiser, publisher, or broadcaster, including, but not limited to, newspapers, periodicals, telephone book publishers, outdoor advertising signs, radio stations, or television stations, who knowingly or recklessly advertises or publishes any advertisement offering, soliciting, or promising to perform adoption services, as defined in Section 2.24 of this Act, on behalf of a person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, institution, center, or group, not authorized to advertise under subsection (b) or subsection (e) of this Section, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and is subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months imprisonment for each advertisement.
    (g) The Department shall maintain a website listing child welfare agencies licensed by the Department that provide adoption services and other general information for biological parents and adoptive parents. The website shall include, but not be limited to, agency addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, website addresses, annual reports as referenced in Section 7.6 of this Act, agency license numbers, the Birth Parent Bill of Rights, the Adoptive Parents Bill of Rights, and the Department's complaint registry established under Section 9.1a of this Act. The Department shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this Section.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/13

    (225 ILCS 10/13) (from Ch. 23, par. 2223)
    Sec. 13.
    Whenever a child is placed in or with a child care institution or in or with a child welfare agency, the placement shall, whenever practicable, be to, with or in the custody of a child care facility as is under the control of persons of the same religious faith as that of the child. Whenever a child is placed in a group care home or in a foster family home, the placement must, if practicable, be made with a person or persons of the same religious faith as that of the child.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/14.5

    (225 ILCS 10/14.5)
    Sec. 14.5. Offering, providing, or co-signing a loan or other credit accommodation. No person or entity shall offer, provide, or co-sign a loan or other credit accommodation, directly or indirectly, with a biological parent or a relative of a biological parent based on the contingency of a surrender or placement of a child for adoption.
(Source: P.A. 93-1063, eff. 6-1-05.)

225 ILCS 10/14.6

    (225 ILCS 10/14.6)
    Sec. 14.6. Agency payment of salaries or other compensation.
    (a) A licensed child welfare agency may pay salaries or other compensation to its officers, employees, agents, contractors, or any other persons acting on its behalf for providing adoption services, provided that all of the following limitations apply:
        (1) The fees, wages, salaries, or other compensation
    
of any description paid to the officers, employees, contractors, or any other person acting on behalf of a child welfare agency providing adoption services shall not be unreasonably high in relation to the services actually rendered. Every form of compensation shall be taken into account in determining whether fees, wages, salaries, or compensation are unreasonably high, including, but not limited to, salary, bonuses, deferred and non-cash compensation, retirement funds, medical and liability insurance, loans, and other benefits such as the use, purchase, or lease of vehicles, expense accounts, and food, housing, and clothing allowances.
        (2) Any earnings, if applicable, or compensation paid
    
to the child welfare agency's directors, stockholders, or members of its governing body shall not be unreasonably high in relation to the services rendered.
        (3) Persons providing adoption services for a child
    
welfare agency may be compensated only for services actually rendered and only on a fee-for-service, hourly wage, or salary basis.
    (b) The Department may adopt rules setting forth the criteria to determine what constitutes unreasonably high fees and compensation as those terms are used in this Section. In determining the reasonableness of fees, wages, salaries, and compensation under paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (a) of this Section, the Department shall take into account the location, number, and qualifications of staff, workload requirements, budget, and size of the agency or person and available norms for compensation within the adoption community. Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall provide the Department and the Attorney General with a report, on an annual basis, providing a description of the fees, wages, salaries and other compensation described in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3) of this Section. Nothing in Section 12C-70 of the Criminal Code of 2012 shall be construed to prevent a child welfare agency from charging fees or the payment of salaries and compensation as limited in this Section and any applicable Section of this Act or the Adoption Act.
    (c) This Section does not apply to international adoption services performed by those child welfare agencies governed by the 1993 Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Cooperation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption and the Intercountry Adoption Act of 2000.
    (d) Eligible agencies may be deemed compliant with this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)

225 ILCS 10/14.7

    (225 ILCS 10/14.7)
    Sec. 14.7. Payments to biological parents.
    (a) Payment of reasonable living expenses by a child welfare agency shall not obligate the biological parents to place the child for adoption. In the event that the biological parents choose not to place the child for adoption, the child welfare agency shall have no right to seek reimbursement from the biological parents, or from any relative of the biological parents, of moneys paid to, or on behalf of, the biological parents, except as provided in subsection (b) of this Section.
    (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this Section, a child welfare agency may seek reimbursement of reasonable living expenses from a person who receives such payments only if the person who accepts payment of reasonable living expenses before the child's birth, as described in subsection (a) of this Section, knows that the person on whose behalf they are accepting payment is not pregnant at the time of the receipt of such payments or the person receives reimbursement for reasonable living expenses simultaneously from more than one child welfare agency without the agencies' knowledge.
(Source: P.A. 94-586, eff. 8-15-05.)

225 ILCS 10/15

    (225 ILCS 10/15) (from Ch. 23, par. 2225)
    Sec. 15. Every child care facility must keep and maintain such records as the Department may prescribe pertaining to the admission, progress, health and discharge of children under the care of the facility and shall report relative thereto to the Department whenever called for, upon forms prescribed by the Department. All records regarding children and all facts learned about children and their relatives must be kept confidential both by the child care facility and by the Department.
    Nothing contained in this Act prevents the sharing or disclosure of information or records relating or pertaining to juveniles subject to the provisions of the Serious Habitual Offender Comprehensive Action Program when that information is used to assist in the early identification and treatment of habitual juvenile offenders.
    Nothing contained in this Act prevents the disclosure of information or records by a licensed child welfare agency as required under subsection (c-5) of Section 7.4.
(Source: P.A. 94-1010, eff. 10-1-06.)

225 ILCS 10/16

    (225 ILCS 10/16) (from Ch. 23, par. 2226)
    Sec. 16.
    (a) Any child care facility receiving a child for care or supervision from a foreign state or country shall report that child to the Department in the same manner as is required for reporting other children.
    (b) A person, agency or organization, other than a licensed child care institution or child welfare agency, may not receive a foreign child without prior notice to and approval of the Department.
    (c) In all instances the Department may require a guaranty that a child accepted for care or supervision from a foreign state or country will not become a public charge upon the State of Illinois.
    (d) Reports to the Department must be made, as required.
    (e) The Department may enter into agreements with public or voluntary social agencies headquartered in states adjacent to the State of Illinois, regarding the placement of children in licensed foster family homes within the boundaries of Illinois, if the agencies meet the standards and criteria required for license as a child welfare agency in Illinois. The agreements may allow foreign agencies to place and supervise children for whom they have responsibility within the State of Illinois, without regard to paragraph (a) of this Section. These agreements must, however, include a requirement that the agencies cooperate fully with the Department in its inquiry or investigation into the activities and standards of those agencies, and provide that the Department may, at any time upon 15 days written notice to an agency by registered mail, void the agreement and require the observance of paragraph (a) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/17

    (225 ILCS 10/17) (from Ch. 23, par. 2227)
    Sec. 17. The Administrative Review Law and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, applies to and governs all proceedings for the judicial review of final administrative decisions of the Department. The term "administrative decision" is defined as in Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 82-783.)

225 ILCS 10/18

    (225 ILCS 10/18) (from Ch. 23, par. 2228)
    Sec. 18. Any person, group of persons, association or corporation who
    (1) conducts, operates or acts as a child care facility without a license or permit to do so in violation of Section 3 of this Act;
    (2) makes materially false statements in order to obtain a license or permit;
    (3) fails to keep the records and make the reports provided under this Act;
    (4) advertises any service not authorized by license or permit held;
    (5) publishes any advertisement in violation of this Act;
    (6) receives within this State any child in violation of Section 16 of this Act; or
    (7) violates any other provision of this Act or any reasonable rule or regulation adopted and published by the Department for the enforcement of the provisions of this Act, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and in case of an association or corporation, imprisonment may be imposed upon its officers who knowingly participated in the violation.
    Any child care facility that continues to operate after its license is revoked under Section 8 of this Act or after its license expires and the Department refused to renew the license as provided in Section 8 of this Act is guilty of a business offense and shall be fined an amount in excess of $500 but not exceeding $10,000, and each day of violation is a separate offense.
    In a prosecution under this Act, a defendant who relies upon the relationship of any child to himself has the burden of proof as to that relationship.
(Source: P.A. 83-1362.)

225 ILCS 10/19

    (225 ILCS 10/19) (from Ch. 23, par. 2229)
    Sec. 19.
    Any license issued under the "Child Care Act", approved July 10, 1957, as amended, remains valid until its expiration date or until revoked by the Department under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)

225 ILCS 10/20

    (225 ILCS 10/20) (from Ch. 23, par. 2230)
    Sec. 20.
    Should any Section, subdivision, clause, phrase or provision of this Act be held unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, that holding shall not affect the validity of the remaining portions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 76-63.)