Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

(110 ILCS 985/) Residence of Minors for Tuition Act.

110 ILCS 985/0.01

    (110 ILCS 985/0.01) (from Ch. 144, par. 40a.9)
    Sec. 0.01. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Residence of Minors for Tuition Act.
(Source: P.A. 86-1324.)

110 ILCS 985/1

    (110 ILCS 985/1) (from Ch. 144, par. 40b)
    Sec. 1. When a minor is emancipated and completely self-supporting and actually resides in this State, such minor, while attending any State supported school in this State, shall be considered a resident for the purpose of paying tuition fees, despite a residence outside this State of his parents or guardian.
    An emancipated minor shall be considered, for the purpose of this Act, to actually reside in this State when he has maintained a dwelling place within this State uninterruptedly for 12 consecutive months immediately prior to his registration in such State supported school, or for such shorter consecutive period of at least 6 months as is designated by the governing board of such State supported school.
(Source: P.A. 86-1189.)

110 ILCS 985/2

    (110 ILCS 985/2) (from Ch. 144, par. 40c)
    Sec. 2. The minor children of persons who, having resided in this State for at least 12 months immediately prior to such a transfer, are transferred by their employers to some location outside the United States shall be considered as Illinois residents for purposes of the computation and payment of tuition at any State supported school. However, this Section shall apply only when the minor children of such parents enroll in a State supported college or university within 5 years from the time their parents are transferred to some location outside the United States.
(Source: Laws 1967, p. 479.)