Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
770 ILCS 50/1.5
(770 ILCS 50/1.5)
Storage fees; notice to lienholder of record.
(a) Any person, firm, or private corporation seeking to impose fees in connection with the furnishing of storage for a vehicle in the person's, firm's, or corporation's possession must provide written notice, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the lienholder of record prior to the assessment and accrual of such fees, regardless of whether it enforces a lien under this Act. The notice shall be effective upon mailing and include the rate at which fees will be incurred, and shall provide the lienholder with an opportunity to inspect the vehicle on the premises where the vehicle is stored within 2 business days of the lienholder's request. For impounded vehicles, the date on which the assessment and accrual of storage fees may commence is the date of the impoundment of the vehicle, subject to any applicable limitations set forth by a municipality authorizing the vehicle removal, if the notification required under this Section is sent to the lienholder of record within 2 business days. Payment of the storage fees by the lienholder may be made in cash or by cashier's check, certified check, debit card, credit card, or wire transfer, at the option of the lienholder taking possession of the vehicle. The person, firm, or private corporation seeking to impose storage fees shall furnish a copy of the certified mail receipt to the lienholder upon request.
(b) The notification requirements in subsection (a) of this Section apply in addition to any lienholder notice requirements under the Illinois Vehicle Code relating to the removal or towing of an abandoned, lost, stolen, or unclaimed vehicle. If a person, firm, or private corporation fails to comply with the notification requirements set forth in subsection (a) of this Section, storage fees shall not be assessed and collected and the lienholder shall be entitled to injunctive relief for possession of the vehicle without the payment of any storage fees.
(c) If the notification required under subsection (a) was not sent and a lienholder discovers its collateral is in the possession of a person, firm, or private corporation by means other than the notification required in subsection (a) of this Section, the lienholder is entitled to recover any storage fees paid to the person, firm, or private corporation to reclaim possession of its collateral.
(d) An action under this Section may be brought by the lienholder against the person, firm, or private corporation in the circuit court.
(e) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in this Act or the Illinois Vehicle Code, a person, firm, or private corporation seeking to impose storage fees for a vehicle in its possession may not foreclose or otherwise enforce its lien under this Act unless it first complies with the lienholder notification requirements set forth in subsection (a) of this Section.
(f) If the vehicle that is incurring storage fees is registered in a state other than Illinois, the assessment and accrual of storage fees may commence on the date that the request for lienholder information is filed with the applicable administrative agency or office in that state by the person, firm, or private corporation seeking to impose fees, if the following conditions are met: (i) the person, firm, or private corporation furnishes the lienholder with a copy or proof of filing of the request for lienholder information; (ii) the person, firm, or private corporation provides to the lienholder of record the notification required by this Section within one business day after receiving the requested lienholder information; and (iii) the assessment of storage fees complies with any applicable limitations set forth by a municipality authorizing the vehicle removal.
(g) This Section does not apply to a municipality with 1,000,000 or more inhabitants that is seeking to impose storage fees for a vehicle in its possession.
(Source: P.A. 99-759, eff. 8-12-16; 100-311, eff. 11-23-17