Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

755 ILCS 35/5

    (755 ILCS 35/5) (from Ch. 110 1/2, par. 705)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 101-163)
    Sec. 5. Revocation.
    (a) A declaration may be revoked at any time by the declarant, without regard to declarant's mental or physical condition, by any of the following methods:
        (1) By being obliterated, burnt, torn or otherwise
    
destroyed or defaced in a manner indicating intention to cancel;
        (2) By a written revocation of the declaration signed
    
and dated by the declarant or person acting at the direction of the declarant; or
        (3) By a oral or any other expression of the intent
    
to revoke the declaration, in the presence of a witness 18 years of age or older who signs and dates a writing confirming that such expression of intent was made.
    (b) A revocation is effective upon communication to the attending physician by the declarant or by another who witnessed the revocation. The attending physician shall record in the patient's medical record the time and date when and the place where he or she received notification of the revocation.
    (c) There shall be no criminal or civil liability on the part of any person for failure to act upon a revocation made pursuant to this Section unless that person has actual knowledge of the revocation.
(Source: P.A. 85-860.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 101-163)
    Sec. 5. Revocation.
    (a) A declaration may be revoked at any time by the declarant, without regard to declarant's mental or physical condition, by any of the following methods:
        (1) By being obliterated, burnt, torn or otherwise
    
destroyed or defaced in a manner indicating intention to cancel;
        (2) By a written revocation of the declaration signed
    
and dated by the declarant or person acting at the direction of the declarant, regardless of whether the written revocation is in electronic or hard copy format;
        (3) By an oral or any other expression of the intent
    
to revoke the declaration, in the presence of a witness 18 years of age or older who signs and dates a writing confirming that such expression of intent was made; or
        (4) For an electronic declaration, by deleting in a
    
manner indicating the intention to revoke. An electronic declaration may be revoked electronically using a generic, technology-neutral system in which each user is assigned a unique identifier that is securely maintained and in a manner that meets the regulatory requirements for a digital or electronic signature. Compliance with the standards defined in the Electronic Commerce Security Act or the implementing rules of the Hospital Licensing Act for medical record entry authentication for author validation of the documentation, content accuracy, and completeness meets this standard.
    (b) A revocation is effective upon communication to the attending physician by the declarant or by another who witnessed the revocation. The attending physician shall record in the patient's medical record the time and date when and the place where he or she received notification of the revocation.
    (c) There shall be no criminal or civil liability on the part of any person for failure to act upon a revocation made pursuant to this Section unless that person has actual knowledge of the revocation.
(Source: P.A. 101-163, eff. 1-1-20.)