Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 150/10
(730 ILCS 150/10)
(from Ch. 38, par. 230)
(a) Any person who is required to register under this
Article who violates any of the provisions of this Article and any person
who is required to register under this Article who seeks to change his or her
name under Article XXI of the Code of Civil Procedure is guilty of a Class 3
Any person who is convicted for a violation of this Act for a second or subsequent time is guilty of a Class 2 felony. Any person who is required to register under this Article who
knowingly or wilfully gives material information required by this Article that
is false is guilty of a Class 3 felony.
Any person convicted of a violation of any provision of this Article
shall, in addition to any other penalty required by law, be required to serve a
minimum period of 7 days confinement in the local county jail. The court shall
impose a mandatory minimum fine of $500 for failure to comply with any
provision of this Article. These fines shall be deposited in the Sex Offender
Registration Fund. Any sex offender, as defined in Section 2 of this Act,
or sexual predator who violates any
provision of this Article may be arrested and
tried in any Illinois county where the sex
offender can be located. The local police department or sheriff's office is not required to determine whether the person is living within its jurisdiction.
(b) Any person, not covered by privilege under Part 8 of Article VIII of the Code of Civil Procedure or the Illinois Supreme Court's Rules of Professional Conduct, who has reason to believe that a sexual predator is not complying, or has not complied, with the requirements of this Article and who, with the intent to assist the sexual predator in eluding a law enforcement agency that is seeking to find the sexual predator to question the sexual predator about, or to arrest the sexual predator for, his or her noncompliance with the requirements of this Article is guilty of a Class 3 felony if he or she:
(1) provides false information to the law enforcement
agency having jurisdiction about the sexual predator's noncompliance with the requirements of this Article, and, if known, the whereabouts of the sexual predator;
(2) harbors, or attempts to harbor, or assists
another person in harboring or attempting to harbor, the sexual predator; or
(3) conceals or attempts to conceal, or assists
another person in concealing or attempting to conceal, the sexual predator.
(c) Subsection (b) does not apply if the sexual predator is incarcerated in or is in the custody of a State correctional facility, a private correctional facility, a county or municipal jail, a State mental health facility or a State treatment and detention facility, or a federal correctional facility.
(d) Subsections (a) and (b) do not apply if the sex offender accurately registered his or her Internet protocol address under this Act, and the address subsequently changed without his or her knowledge or intent.
(Source: P.A. 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)