Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(730 ILCS 5/5-3-4)
(from Ch. 38, par. 1005-3-4)
Disclosure of Reports.
(a) Any report made pursuant to this Article or Section 5-705
of the Juvenile
Court Act of 1987 shall be filed of record with the court in a sealed envelope.
(b) Presentence reports shall be open for inspection only as follows:
(1) to the sentencing court;
(2) to the state's attorney and the defendant's
attorney at least 3 days prior to the imposition of sentence, unless such 3 day requirement is waived;
(3) to an appellate court in which the conviction or
sentence is subject to review;
(4) to any department, agency or institution to which
the defendant is committed;
(5) to any probation department of whom courtesy
(6) to any probation department assigned by a court
of lawful jurisdiction to conduct a presentence report;
(6.5) to the victim of a crime under paragraph (13)
of subsection (c-5) of Section 4.5 of the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act;
(7) to any other person only as ordered by the court;
(8) to any mental health professional on behalf of
the Illinois Department of Corrections or the Department of Human Services or to a prosecutor who is evaluating or investigating a potential or actual petition brought under the Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act relating to a person who is the subject of a presentence report or the respondent to a petition brought under the Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act who is the subject of the presentence report sought. Any records and any information obtained from those records under this paragraph (8) may be used only in sexually violent persons commitment proceedings.
(c) Presentence reports shall be filed of record with the court within
60 days of a verdict or finding of guilty for any offense involving an
illegal sexual act perpetrated upon a victim, including but not limited to
offenses for violations of Article 12 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or any offense determined by the court or the probation department to be sexually motivated, as defined in the Sex Offender Management Board Act.
(d) A complaint, information or indictment shall not be quashed or
dismissed nor shall any person in custody for an offense be discharged from
custody because of noncompliance with subsection (c) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 99-413, eff. 8-20-15.)