Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
730 ILCS 5/3-3-4
(730 ILCS 5/3-3-4)
(from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-4)
Preparation for Parole Hearing.
(a) The Prisoner Review Board shall consider the parole
of each eligible person committed to the Department of Corrections at
least 30 days prior to the date he or she shall first become
eligible for parole, and shall consider the aftercare release of each
person committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice as a delinquent
at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the first year
(b) A person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall, no less than 15 days in advance of
his or her parole interview, prepare a parole or aftercare release plan in accordance
with the rules of the Prisoner Review Board. The person
shall be assisted in preparing his or her parole or aftercare release plan by personnel
of the Department of Corrections, or the Department of Juvenile Justice in the case of a person committed to that Department, and may, for this purpose, be released
on furlough under Article 11 or on authorized absence under
Section 3-9-4. The appropriate Department shall also provide
assistance in obtaining information and records helpful to
the individual for his or her parole hearing. If the person eligible for parole or aftercare release has a petition or any written submissions prepared on his or her behalf by an attorney or other representative, the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release must serve by certified mail the State's Attorney of the county where he or she was prosecuted with the petition or any written submissions 15 days after his or her parole interview. The State's Attorney shall provide the attorney for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release with a copy of his or her letter in opposition to parole or aftercare release via certified mail within 5 business days of the en banc hearing.
(c) Any member of the Board shall have access at all
reasonable times to any committed person and to his or her master
record file within the Department, and the Department shall
furnish such a report to the Board
concerning the conduct and character of any such person prior to his or her parole interview.
(d) In making its determination of parole or aftercare release, the Board
(1) material transmitted to the Department of
Juvenile Justice by the clerk of the committing court under Section 5-4-1 or Section 5-10 of the Juvenile Court Act or Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987;
(2) the report under Section 3-8-2 or 3-10-2;
(3) a report by the Department and any report by the
chief administrative officer of the institution or facility;
(4) a parole or aftercare release progress report;
(5) a medical and psychological report, if requested
(6) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
other electronic means in the form of a recording submitted by the person whose parole or aftercare release is being considered;
(7) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
other electronic means in the form of a recording or testimony submitted by the State's Attorney and the victim or a concerned citizen pursuant to the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act; and
(8) the person's eligibility for commitment under the
Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act.
(e) The prosecuting State's Attorney's office shall receive from the Board reasonable
written notice not less than 30 days prior to the parole or aftercare release interview and may
submit relevant information by oral argument or testimony of victims and concerned citizens, or both, in writing, or on film, video tape or other
electronic means or in the form of a recording to the Board for its
consideration. Upon written request of the State's Attorney's office, the Prisoner Review Board shall hear protests to parole, or aftercare release, except in counties of 1,500,000 or more inhabitants where there shall be standing objections to all such petitions. If a State's Attorney who represents a county of less than 1,500,000 inhabitants requests a protest hearing, the inmate's counsel or other representative shall also receive notice of such request.
This hearing shall take place the month following the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview. If the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview is rescheduled then the Prisoner Review Board shall promptly notify the State's Attorney of the new date. The person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall be heard at the next scheduled en banc hearing date. If the case is to be continued, the State's Attorney's office and the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release will be notified of any continuance within 5 business days. The State's Attorney may waive the written notice.
(f) The victim of the violent crime for which the prisoner has been
sentenced shall receive notice of a parole or aftercare release hearing as provided in paragraph
(4) of subsection (d) of Section 4.5 of the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses
(g) Any recording considered under the provisions of subsection (d)(6),
(d)(7) or (e) of this Section shall be in the form designated by the Board.
Such recording shall be both visual and aural. Every voice on the
recording and person present shall be identified and the recording shall
contain either a visual or aural statement of the person submitting such
recording, the date of the recording and the name of the person whose
parole or aftercare release eligibility is being considered. Such recordings shall be retained by
the Board and shall be deemed to be submitted at any subsequent parole or aftercare release hearing
if the victim or State's Attorney submits in writing a declaration clearly
identifying such recording as representing the present position of the
victim or State's Attorney regarding the issues to be considered at the parole or aftercare release
(h) The Board shall not release any material to the inmate, the inmate's attorney, any third party, or any other person containing any information from the victim or from a person related to the victim by blood, adoption, or marriage who has written objections, testified at any hearing, or submitted audio or visual objections to the inmate's parole, or aftercare release, unless provided with a waiver from that objecting party. The Board shall not release the names or addresses of any person on its victim registry to any other person except the victim, a law enforcement agency, or other victim notification system.
(Source: P.A. 97-523, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1075, eff. 8-24-12; 97-1083, eff. 8-24-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14; 98-717, eff. 1-1-15