Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 550/10.3
(720 ILCS 550/10.3)
(from Ch. 56 1/2, par. 710.3)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on July 1, 2019)
(a) Every person convicted of a violation of this Act, and
every person placed on probation, conditional discharge, supervision or
probation under Section 10 of this Act, shall be assessed for each offense
a sum fixed at:
(1) $3,000 for a Class X felony;
(2) $2,000 for a Class 1 felony;
(3) $1,000 for a Class 2 felony;
(4) $500 for a Class 3 or Class 4 felony;
(5) $300 for a Class A misdemeanor;
(6) $200 for a Class B or Class C misdemeanor.
(b) The assessment under this Section is in addition to and not in lieu
of any fines, restitution costs, forfeitures or other assessments
authorized or required by law.
(c) As a condition of the assessment, the court may require that payment
be made in specified installments or within a specified period of time. If
the assessment is not paid within the period of probation, conditional
discharge or supervision to which the defendant was originally sentenced,
the court may extend the period of probation, conditional discharge or
supervision pursuant to Section 5-6-2 or 5-6-3.1 of the Unified Code of
Corrections, as applicable, until the assessment is paid or until
successful completion of public or community service set forth in
subsection (e) or the successful completion of the substance abuse
intervention or treatment program set forth in subsection (f). If a term
of probation, conditional discharge or supervision is not imposed, the
assessment shall be payable upon judgment or as directed by the court.
(d) If an assessment for a violation of this Act is imposed on an
organization, it is the duty of each individual authorized to make
disbursements of the assets of the organization to pay the assessment from
assets of the organization.
(e) A defendant who has been ordered to pay an assessment may petition
the court to convert all or part of the assessment into court-approved
public or community service. One hour of public or community service shall
be equivalent to $4 of assessment. The performance of this public or
community service shall be a condition of the probation, conditional
discharge or supervision and shall be in addition to the performance of any
other period of public or community service ordered by the court or required
(f) The court may suspend the collection of the assessment imposed
under this Section; provided the defendant agrees to enter a substance
abuse intervention or treatment program approved by the court; and further
provided that the defendant agrees to pay for all or some portion of the
costs associated with the intervention or treatment program. In this case,
the collection of the assessment imposed under this Section shall be
suspended during the defendant's participation in the approved
intervention or treatment program. Upon successful
completion of the program, the defendant may apply to the court to reduce
the assessment imposed under this Section by any amount actually paid
by the defendant for his participation in the program. The court shall not
reduce the penalty under this subsection unless the defendant
establishes to the satisfaction of the court that he has successfully
completed the intervention or treatment program. If the defendant's
participation is for any reason terminated before his successful completion
of the intervention or treatment program, collection of the entire
assessment imposed under this Section shall be enforced. Nothing in this
Section shall be deemed to affect or suspend any other fines, restitution
costs, forfeitures or assessments imposed under this or any other Act.
(g) The court shall not impose more than one assessment per complaint,
indictment or information. If the person is convicted of more than one
offense in a complaint, indictment or information, the assessment shall be
based on the highest class offense for which the person is convicted.
(h) All moneys collected under this Section shall be forwarded by the
clerk of the circuit court to the State Treasurer for deposit in the
Drug Treatment Fund and expended as provided in Section 411.2 of the
Illinois Controlled Substances Act.
(Source: P.A. 87-772. Repealed by P.A. 100-987, eff. 7-1-19.)