Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 550/10
(720 ILCS 550/10)
(from Ch. 56 1/2, par. 710)
Whenever any person who has not previously been convicted of, or placed
on probation or court supervision for, any offense under this Act or any
law of the United States or of any State relating to cannabis, or controlled
substances as defined in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, pleads
guilty to or is found guilty of violating Sections 4(a), 4(b), 4(c),
5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act, the court may, without entering a
judgment and with the consent of such person, sentence him to probation.
(b) When a person is placed on probation, the court shall enter an order
specifying a period of probation of 24 months, and shall defer further
the case until the conclusion of the period or until the filing of a petition
alleging violation of a term or condition of probation.
(c) The conditions of probation shall be that the person: (1) not violate
any criminal statute of any jurisdiction; (2) refrain from possession of a
or other dangerous weapon; (3) submit to periodic drug testing at a time and in
a manner as ordered by the court, but no less than 3 times during the period of
the probation, with the cost of the testing to be paid by the probationer; and
(4) perform no less than 30 hours of community service, provided community
service is available in the jurisdiction and is funded and approved by the
(d) The court may, in addition to other conditions, require
that the person:
(1) make a report to and appear in person before or
participate with the court or such courts, person, or social service agency as directed by the court in the order of probation;
(2) pay a fine and costs;
(3) work or pursue a course of study or vocational
(4) undergo medical or psychiatric treatment; or
treatment for drug addiction or alcoholism;
(5) attend or reside in a facility established for
the instruction or residence of defendants on probation;
(6) support his dependents;
(7) refrain from possessing a firearm or other
(7-5) refrain from having in his or her body the
presence of any illicit drug prohibited by the Cannabis Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, unless prescribed by a physician, and submit samples of his or her blood or urine or both for tests to determine the presence of any illicit drug;
(8) and in addition, if a minor:
(i) reside with his parents or in a foster home;
(ii) attend school;
(iii) attend a non-residential program for youth;
(iv) contribute to his own support at home or in
(e) Upon violation of a term or condition of probation, the
may enter a judgment on its original finding of guilt and proceed as otherwise
(f) Upon fulfillment of the terms and
conditions of probation, the court shall discharge such person and dismiss
the proceedings against him.
(g) A disposition of probation is considered to be a conviction
for the purposes of imposing the conditions of probation and for appeal,
however, discharge and dismissal under this Section is not a conviction for
purposes of disqualification or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of
a crime (including the additional penalty imposed for subsequent offenses under
Section 4(c), 4(d), 5(c) or 5(d) of this Act).
(h) Discharge and dismissal under this Section,
Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, Section 5-6-3.3 or 5-6-3.4 of the Unified Code of Corrections, or subsection (c) of Section 11-14 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 may occur only once
with respect to any person.
(i) If a person is convicted of an offense under this Act, the Illinois
Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act within 5 years
subsequent to a discharge and dismissal under this Section, the discharge and
dismissal under this Section shall be admissible in the sentencing proceeding
for that conviction
as a factor in aggravation.
(j) Notwithstanding subsection (a), before a person is sentenced to probation under this Section, the court may refer the person to the drug court established in that judicial circuit pursuant to Section 15 of the Drug Court Treatment Act. The drug court team shall evaluate the person's likelihood of successfully completing a sentence of probation under this Section and shall report the results of its evaluation to the court. If the drug court team finds that the person suffers from a substance abuse problem that makes him or her substantially unlikely to successfully complete a sentence of probation under this Section, then the drug court shall set forth its findings in the form of a written order, and the person shall not be sentenced to probation under this Section, but may be considered for the drug court program.
(Source: P.A. 98-164, eff. 1-1-14; 99-480, eff. 9-9-15.)