Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 5/33G-8

    (720 ILCS 5/33G-8)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on June 11, 2022)
    Sec. 33G-8. Limitations. Under this Article, notwithstanding any other provision of law, but otherwise subject to the periods of exclusion from limitation as provided in Section 3-7 of this Code, the following limitations apply:
    (a) Any action, proceeding, or prosecution brought under this Article must commence within 5 years of one of the following dates, whichever is latest:
        (1) the date of the commission of the last occurrence
    
of predicate activity in a pattern of that activity, in the form of an act underlying the alleged violation of this Article; or
        (2) in the case of an action, proceeding, or
    
prosecution, based upon a conspiracy to violate this Article, the date that the last objective of the alleged conspiracy was accomplished, defeated or abandoned (whichever is later); or
        (3) the date any minor victim of the violation
    
attains the age of 18 years or the date any victim of the violation subject to a legal disability thereafter gains legal capacity.
    (b) Any action, proceeding, or prosecution brought under this Article may be commenced at any time against all defendants if the conduct of any defendant, or any part of the overall violation, resulted in the unlawful death of any person or persons.
(Source: P.A. 97-686, eff. 6-11-12.)