Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 5/26.5-5
(720 ILCS 5/26.5-5)
(a) Except as provided in
subsection (b), a
person who violates any of the provisions of
Section 26.5-1, 26.5-2, or 26.5-3 of this Article
is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
Except as provided
in subsection (b), a second or subsequent
violation of Section 26.5-1, 26.5-2, or 26.5-3 of this
Article is a Class A
misdemeanor, for which the
shall impose a minimum of 14 days in
jail or, if public or
community service is established in the county in which the offender was
convicted, 240 hours of public or community service.
(b) In any of the following circumstances, a person who violates Section 26.5-1, 26.5-2, or 26.5-3 of this Article shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony:
(1) The person has 3 or more prior violations in the
last 10 years of harassment by telephone, harassment through electronic communications, or any similar offense of any other state;
(2) The person has previously violated the harassment
by telephone provisions, or the harassment through electronic communications provisions, or committed any similar offense in any other state with the same victim or a member of the victim's family or household;
(3) At the time of the offense, the offender was
under conditions of bail, probation, conditional discharge, mandatory supervised release or was the subject of an order of protection, in this or any other state, prohibiting contact with the victim or any member of the victim's family or household;
(4) In the course of the offense, the offender
threatened to kill the victim or any member of the victim's family or household;
(5) The person has been convicted in the last 10
years of a forcible felony as defined in Section 2-8 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
(6) The person violates paragraph (5) of Section
26.5-2 or paragraph (4) of Section 26.5-3; or
(7) The person was at least 18 years of age at the
time of the commission of the offense and the victim was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense.
(c) The court may order any person
convicted under this Article to submit to a psychiatric examination.
(Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)