Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 5/18-1
(720 ILCS 5/18-1)
(from Ch. 38, par. 18-1)
Robbery; aggravated robbery.
(a) Robbery. A person commits robbery when he or she knowingly takes property, except a
motor vehicle covered by Section 18-3 or 18-4,
from the person or presence of another by the use of force or by
threatening the imminent use of force.
(b) Aggravated robbery.
(1) A person commits aggravated robbery when he or
she violates subsection (a) while indicating verbally or by his or her actions to the victim that he or she is presently armed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon, including a knife, club, ax, or bludgeon. This offense shall be applicable even though it is later determined that he or she had no firearm or other dangerous weapon, including a knife, club, ax, or bludgeon, in his or her possession when he or she committed the robbery.
(2) A person commits aggravated robbery when he or
she knowingly takes property from the person or presence of another by delivering (by injection, inhalation, ingestion, transfer of possession, or any other means) to the victim without his or her consent, or by threat or deception, and for other than medical purposes, any controlled substance.
Robbery is a Class 2 felony, unless the victim is 60 years of age
or over or is a person with a physical disability, or the robbery is
in a school, day care center, day care home, group day care home, or part day child care facility, or place of worship, in which case robbery is a Class 1 felony. Aggravated robbery is a Class 1 felony.
(d) Regarding penalties prescribed in subsection
(c) for violations committed in a day care center, day care home, group day care home, or part day child care facility, the time of day, time of year, and whether
children under 18 years of age were present in the day care center, day care home, group day care home, or part day child care facility are irrelevant.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)